Elie Tahari

Loolu Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
March 16, 2012
A women in the middle of mass stopped me to tell me how gorgeous my dress was!
I rented this dress for my brother's confirmation and it was absolutely perfect. It was sophisticated but yet so sexy. There was a slit up the back that add that little wink to the dress. I would absolutely rent this dress for another occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
July 11, 2012
Beautiful and classic!
The fabric on this dress is whatbmakes it so special. The lace is very thick, fine quality, and the tailoring is first rate. Even if you have several LBDs in your closet, this one is very special when you neednsomething classic. In wore it two times on an opera weekend in San Francisco. To the evening performance I added the RTR multiple-strand pearls with my own Stuart Weitzman red patent high heel pumps, super sheer stockings, and a Chinese red and black silk evening bag (The opera was Nixon in China!). The next afternoon I wore the same dress to the matinee (Attila) with Alexis Bittar hoops, no necklace, bare legs, and black open toe sling back high-heeled sandals plus an edgy wristlet purse. I got several compliments from strangers about how flattering the dress was as to cut and style for someone who is curvy, but well-proportioned. I will definitely rent again, if not try to find & buy the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 17, 2012
Elegant LBD
I wore this dress for my birthday in Las Vegas and received lots of compliments. The dress is fully lined with hints of skin showing through the lace at the neck, sleeves and hem. I paired the dress with a dazzling pair of statement earrings (also from RTR). This is a sexy and sophisticated dress for any occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 66
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable
I rented a 6 and 4, and both sizes would have worked. But I wore the size 6 because it was a little more comfortable through the chest and shoulders, although a little too long. With very high platform heels that didn't matter. The dress is beautiful with a heavy (looks crocheted) lace over a black slip. Yet it wasn't too warm to wear to a June wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 22, 2012
Sophisticated!
Wore this dress to a wedding, and received many compliments. It definitely sticks out from the "typical black dress." The detailing of this dress is lovely. I would recommend this dress to a wedding, or a work event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 9, 2012
Elegant Dress
This dress was perfect for a fancy dinner out. The restaurant was a little conservative so the cutouts were the perfect amount of skin. The material was heavy and fell right -- dress felt expensive. A pearl and gold necklace really fished off this look.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was amazing!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it made me feel like a million dollars. This dress fit me perfectly. It hugged all my curves but still kept me looking classy and beautiful. I was recieving complimentes all day from everyone!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
This was a fabulous, classic dress.
The size six fit me perfectly. It fell just below my knees. It was very comfortable and elegant. A great dress for a wedding or an evening out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 27, 2012
Beautiful Mad Men style dress for black tie wedding.
I wore this to a black tie wedding in DC that was featured in Martha Stewart Weddings. Wore with magenta J.Crew dress shoes and a teal satin BCBG envelope clutch. Truly fantastic dress and incredibly slimming. Loved the tea length (below knee) even though I am fairly tall. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 3, 2012
this is the perfect dress.
i got about two million compliments on this dress. the lace is gorgeous and not so delicate that i was worrying about getting caught on people all night. i liked that it was heavy enough that i didn't need to pull it down whenever i stood up. it fit well up top and in the waist although i'd prefer something with a little stretch to hug the booty more. as a tall girl i'm always worried about hemlines and this dress landed in the perfect spot. definitely will rent this one again, it looked awesome and i felt awesome in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 13, 2012
Gorgeous lace
I wore this to a fall wedding and loved the lace- it has some stretch in it so its a pretty easy fit. I recommend it for someone going for a sophisticated look.
AlisonOctober 26, 2012
I think this is my favorite RTR rental for you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2012
A Lovely Dress!
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding and the weather turned very cold so I wore my back up dress (long sleeved) instead. This dress fit like a glove. It is very well made and comfortable. I wll rent it again.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2012
I received so many compliments the entire night. It really made me feel like I was beautiful
Dress fits perfectly, I was afraid it was going to be too long but it was the perfect length for a classy and sophisticated look. I rented this dress as a back up but once I put it on I knew it was the first choice. The lace is stunning in that it is very think and soft. Dress is very flattering and I paired it with gold sparkly heels for a little flare. I will absolutely be renting this dress again!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 14, 2012
Pretty dress, just too long!
This dress was pretty, if a bit boring. It overwhelmed my 5'2" frame and looked a bit too funereal.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2012
I had a woman track me down to tell me what a beautiful dress it was.
Lovely and elegant dress- a little worn, but not noticeable to anyone else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
This dress was amazing! Soo many compliments, so comfortable
Saturday night Wedding reception
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Great dress! Beautiful material and very elegant!
The dress is somewhat fitted around the waist, but is true to size. The material is somewhat thicker than it appears in the photograph and hit below the knee on me (I'm 5' 3). Overall beautiful dress and very elegant. Received numerous compliments and would consider renting it for another event again!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
A beautiful dress for a beautiful wedding
The dress is beautiful and fits true to size - people were telling me how gorgeous it was all night! The only negative was that the lace looked like it was starting to fray on the hem and on the sleeves - just goes to show how many people love this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 11, 2013
Classic and gorgeous!
I had been looking for a reason to rent this dress for almost a year - finally, I decided it was perfect for my rehearsal dinner the night before my wedding. WOW, I was so sad to send this back - what a stunning dress! The length is about knee-length, and the cut is just so flattering. The details, especially on the neckline and sleeves are just beautiful. I have a soft spot for anything and everything lace, and this is the best lace number I've ever worn! This is an LBD you'll wish you own. Runs very true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
Loved it
It was so cute. I wore it with a jeweled belt to accentuate my waist. Great fit! I received a ton of compliments!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
February 16, 2013
Perfect Dress!!!
Pros: The dress was my back up and the moment I put it on I knew it was the one. The event was a semi-formal/formal event and I felt classy and sophisticated. I am 5'11 and the length was perfect for me. If you are in between sizes I would recommend you wear the smaller size. Mine was a little loose in the back but after dinner I appreciated that fact. lol. It came with a nice built in slip, so a regular bra can be worn. Very nice plus for me, I am not a fan of strapless bras. Con: Only one con is the dress came with some of the embroidering undone, thank goodness it was black so it was not very noticeable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2013
Great dress for a reunion
I wore this for my 5 year law school reunion and it was perfect - sexy and modest at the same time. I got a lot of compliments. The dress itself is true to size, and was comfortable all evening. The lace pattern is really lovely, and overall it is a very flattering dress. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 29, 2013
Absolutely beautiful dress
It fits great, although a little long. I'm 5'11 and this dress was almost to my knees! But otherwise the lace detail was beautiful and this dress definitely appeared new. I'm including the second picture to show the up close detail by my neck. I loved it. Another great rental from RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
April 1, 2013
Perfect for the evening!
I wore this for the opening performance of Don Giovanni at Opera Colorado. The weather was cool and windy, so the dress was perfect as it is a heavier lace. I'd rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2013
Very classy, elegant dress!
Very nice fabric, quite heavy so not recommended for an "outside in the summer" type of event. A little long but still very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 9, 2013
Did not get to wear it,yet the 4 fit quite well and was in beautiful condition.
Fit well. will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2013
Classic LBD silhouette with a crocheted knit feel.
Very comfortable dress. It has a crocheted knit overlay so it has a bit of stretch to it. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 8, 2013
A conservative option.
I think this dress would be great for smaller girls who don't have many curves (and want to create some) and still want a classy yet sexy option. My issue with this dress is the bulk factor, it is season-less but is so heavy I think it would be better for cooler months. A very high neckline for busty girls, felt like I was being choked (but that happens with all high collar dresses) I would note that there is a giant rose right where the cleavage hits naturally. The dress is lined and that is always a plus for me. Tahari is a great designer in general. High quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 20, 2013
Great for cooler weather!
Rented this for Valentine's Day and was glad I wasn't cold! It almost feels like a carpet but looks beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
September 23, 2013
Beautiful dress
I would definitely recommend this dress for someone tall because it fell exactly on my knees where it should have. The material is also very thick and a bit heavy so be prepared for that. The dress fit me perfectly and I enjoyed wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
September 30, 2013
It was heavier than I thought it would be. but was very comfortable.
The dress came with the shoulder lining strap broke off, so I had to pin it. Did not have time to tack it, and was not sure if that would be considered altering the dress. I did put a note on my return of the problem that should be fixed before sending out to the next person. I wore it with larger pearl accessories for an elegant look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 9, 2013
A perfect classy dress for taller ladies
The moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I received my first of many complements on this dress. It was classy but the lace kept it on trend. Normally I would have rented an 8 and 10, but since the 8 was out for the weekend I ordered the 10 without a backup size. It was perfect. I struggle with dresses being inappropriately short for formal weddings since I am 6'0''. This dress hit me about 2-3 inches above the knee. The dress was so comfortable. I would love to rent this again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2013
Fit perfectly (10), was completely right for the event - a formal dinner for our son's wedding.
The dress is a tad long - falls below the knee, but sometimes that's just the perfect length, as it was for our son's post- wedding dinner - beautiful, very small, formal dinner. Elegant and perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
October 28, 2013
Love how easy it was to have a dress ready for the wedding and an easy return process.
This dress is true to size. I am petite so the dress hit right at the knees but I got a lot of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2013
Easy, great, fit, comfortable dress - made for a fun night!
Beautiful, classic look but with enough detail to make it special. Fabric is quite heavy but great to hide flaws, very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
November 11, 2013
Great dress! Looked fancy without having to spend a lot of money!!
Wore this to my boyfriend sister's wedding. It was comfortable, and looked great. the black slip underneath was a little too large and I had to tug it up to where my bra wouldn't show. Great dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 22, 2013
Wore for firm holiday dinner. Good length and style for work party.
Fit was especially good through the waist and hip (I am long waisted).Length was almost to the knee. Dress was of a heavy material, but not hot. Good for November in Florida.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
December 12, 2013
Loved this dress!! Comfortable and classy... Perfect for the Christmas party I attended!
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's work Christmas party, and it was perfect! I am tall, so I wanted to make sure that the dress I picked was long enough so that it would still be appropriate to meet coworkers. It ended up hitting about 1-2 inches above my knee, which was perfect. There is a slit in the back that went higher, but was still classy. The other reviews that I had read said that the dress runs big, but my normal size fit perfectly. The detail in the material is really pretty, and you couldn't see the nude-colored bra that I wore at all. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
December 24, 2013
This dress was a perfect mix of classy and feminine!
I wore this dress to my work holiday party and to a friend's engagement party. In both instances, this dress was a stylish pick. The lace is beautiful and the fabric is heavy enough that it was a great choice for the winter months. I'm 5'11" and this dress fell about mid-thigh on me. Overall, I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2013
Everyone loved it!
I must say I didn't love this dress simply because it isn't my style. However, I was with my whole family for my Dad's wedding and his bride picked this for me and they all loved it! Which made me feel very good. The dress fit well and did look pretty, not my style. Very grown up and perfect for my family.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×