Elie Tahari

Loolu Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$750 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

101 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 70
Large 28
Photos 37
Brittany
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 16, 2012

A women in the middle of mass stopped me to tell me how gorgeous my dress was!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my brother's confirmation and it was absolutely perfect. It was sophisticated but yet so sexy. There was a slit up the back that add that little wink to the dress. I would absolutely rent this dress for another occasion.
EBF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Best. Dress. Ever.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely the most gorgeous, flattering, sophisticated dress I have ever had the pleasure of putting on my body. I got this dress as a back up and when I put it on, there was no way the other (also stunning) dress had a chance. The dress is beautifully detailed in a heavier than expected lace pattern with a thin lining inside so your skin peeks through in all the right places. It fell right below my knee and I am 5'8". I would suggest to getting the extra size smaller rather than larger since I wore a 10 and could have easily gone with the 8. Bottom line, if you need a sure thing, rent this dress. It's an A+ all the way.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 3, 2012

this is the perfect dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i got about two million compliments on this dress. the lace is gorgeous and not so delicate that i was worrying about getting caught on people all night. i liked that it was heavy enough that i didn't need to pull it down whenever i stood up. it fit well up top and in the waist although i'd prefer something with a little stretch to hug the booty more. as a tall girl i'm always worried about hemlines and this dress landed in the perfect spot. definitely will rent this one again, it looked awesome and i felt awesome in it.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

I felt like I was channeling Michelle Obama a little in this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing. When I first tried it on, I was nervous it looked too long on me. I showed a few friends who insisted the below knee length was very chic, and once I put on a pair of nude Louboutins and the Kate Spade clutch I couldn't agree more. It runs a bit big, so the 0 worked well on me but could've use a smaller size if they made one. I received tons of compliments all night and enjoyed wearing something more sophisticated.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Oct 13, 2012

Gorgeous lace

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a fall wedding and loved the lace- it has some stretch in it so its a pretty easy fit. I recommend it for someone going for a sophisticated look.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 154 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

It was a very classy dress that I received several compliments on.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I thought the dress ran on the large size. I am a tall girl and it hit around mid-knee. I wish it would have been a few inches shorter. The size of the dress also runs large.
Amanda
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 31, 2012

I received so many compliments the entire night. It really made me feel like I was beautiful

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fits perfectly, I was afraid it was going to be too long but it was the perfect length for a classy and sophisticated look. I rented this dress as a back up but once I put it on I knew it was the first choice. The lace is stunning in that it is very think and soft. Dress is very flattering and I paired it with gold sparkly heels for a little flare. I will absolutely be renting this dress again!!!
Lizzy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Pretty dress, just too long!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was pretty, if a bit boring. It overwhelmed my 5'2" frame and looked a bit too funereal.
NBM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 26, 2012

This dress was amazing! Soo many compliments, so comfortable

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Saturday night Wedding reception
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Beautiful, classy dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress does run large. I'm very glad I went with the 2 and 0, instead of the 4 and 2. I would definitely suggest going down a size as your second pick. It is long, the lace overlay went to my shins. However, the black "slip" only went to my knees, which still looked fine. I had to be careful when I pulled the dress down after sitting to not expose my strapless bra. A lot of skin up top was showing, but, luckily, the lace covers plenty. Depending on your bust size, and if you're comfortable with it, you could probably go with out wearing a bra. Even though the lace covers plenty of skin, I personally don't like to see bra straps. While sitting, it did bunch up and stick out at my upper back, but with my hair down it wasn't noticeable. I think that's normal for most dresses, unless it's tailored to your body. Also, as the night went on, the slit in the back bunched up where the black "slip" and lace attach. But, people told me it wasn't noticeable. I always notice the little things that ONLY bother me! Haha :) Overall, it is beautiful and well made. Paired up with leather round toe platform pumps and a black satin clutch, I felt very elegant, and you will too!
Lydia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Beautiful lace, excellent LBD

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful dress. Like other reviewers, I found the dress long. I am 5'5 1/2", and it hit me just below the knee. (But for my age, it was good.) I had difficulty with the lining to the dress. The lining is only tacked at one point in the shoulder area, so the lining shifted and many times I could see the top of my bra cup. The lining is cut low so that the lace shows off your upper chest area. This lining needs to be tacked in so that it doesn't shift while wearing. Otherwise, I found the dress to be a solid weight, which was very good for an evening in December in the Houston, Texas area. It would be too warm to wear in another season. I am curvy, and the dress fit nicely. I did wear a heavy control garment thorugh the waist and hips to smooth the look, and wore pantyhose. I wore just a bracelet, earrings and rings because the lace is so intricate and I didn't want to spoil the effect. A small black Chanel evening bag finished my look. I did receive compliments.
Khalia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

Perfect dress for a winter wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a winter wedding. Great fit, runs maybe a bit large. I'm an 8, but a 6 could have worked. A hint of stretch, which was nice. The dress had a few threads loose and I didn't like that, but overall great pick!
Marcie
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Feb 16, 2013

Perfect Dress!!!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: The dress was my back up and the moment I put it on I knew it was the one. The event was a semi-formal/formal event and I felt classy and sophisticated. I am 5'11 and the length was perfect for me. If you are in between sizes I would recommend you wear the smaller size. Mine was a little loose in the back but after dinner I appreciated that fact. lol. It came with a nice built in slip, so a regular bra can be worn. Very nice plus for me, I am not a fan of strapless bras. Con: Only one con is the dress came with some of the embroidering undone, thank goodness it was black so it was not very noticeable.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 29, 2013

Absolutely beautiful dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fits great, although a little long. I'm 5'11 and this dress was almost to my knees! But otherwise the lace detail was beautiful and this dress definitely appeared new. I'm including the second picture to show the up close detail by my neck. I loved it. Another great rental from RTR!
Mal
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 12, 2013

I rented this dress for my 10 year reunion and loved it! I got a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress was very figure flattering. However, the straps of the under garment were a little big so I had to pin it which was fine and no one noticed. Definitely a good choice if you want a sure thing! I am usually an 8 but got a 10. I could have gone with an 8, but the 10 was fine.
Lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 14, 2013

Rocked out my quarterly client meeting with sophistication and flawless NYC style!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress was a showstopper! I was heading to my client meeting in the the rain but this dress still turned so many heads, men and women alike. It's black, it's long enough to wear in a business setting and it's very elegant which added up to an absolutely timeless look. I never want to give it back! One note is that this definitely runs large so keep that in mind when ordering your backup size. I'm usually a 6 but the 4 hugged my curves a lot better with this dress.
laney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would definitely recommend this dress for someone tall because it fell exactly on my knees where it should have. The material is also very thick and a bit heavy so be prepared for that. The dress fit me perfectly and I enjoyed wearing it!
v10k8
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 9, 2013

A perfect classy dress for taller ladies

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I received my first of many complements on this dress. It was classy but the lace kept it on trend. Normally I would have rented an 8 and 10, but since the 8 was out for the weekend I ordered the 10 without a backup size. It was perfect. I struggle with dresses being inappropriately short for formal weddings since I am 6'0''. This dress hit me about 2-3 inches above the knee. The dress was so comfortable. I would love to rent this again.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

Fit perfectly (10), was completely right for the event - a formal dinner for our son's wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a tad long - falls below the knee, but sometimes that's just the perfect length, as it was for our son's post- wedding dinner - beautiful, very small, formal dinner. Elegant and perfect.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 17, 2013

Beautiful dress, great quality, order a size down

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for an event or wedding-- well made. Great experience
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Loved this dress!! Comfortable and classy... Perfect for the Christmas party I attended!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's work Christmas party, and it was perfect! I am tall, so I wanted to make sure that the dress I picked was long enough so that it would still be appropriate to meet coworkers. It ended up hitting about 1-2 inches above my knee, which was perfect. There is a slit in the back that went higher, but was still classy. The other reviews that I had read said that the dress runs big, but my normal size fit perfectly. The detail in the material is really pretty, and you couldn't see the nude-colored bra that I wore at all. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Dec 24, 2013

This dress was a perfect mix of classy and feminine!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my work holiday party and to a friend's engagement party. In both instances, this dress was a stylish pick. The lace is beautiful and the fabric is heavy enough that it was a great choice for the winter months. I'm 5'11" and this dress fell about mid-thigh on me. Overall, I would definitely rent again!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

Everyone loved it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I must say I didn't love this dress simply because it isn't my style. However, I was with my whole family for my Dad's wedding and his bride picked this for me and they all loved it! Which made me feel very good. The dress fit well and did look pretty, not my style. Very grown up and perfect for my family.
Lisa
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

THE BEST: comfortable AND sexy/glamorous!!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress feels like a nightgown (seriously comfy!!) but looks red-hot. Beautiful fabric, soft and thick with very lovely embroidery. Hides minor bumps and flaws while making every curve look fantastic. I can't recommend this dress enough. I didn't want to take it off when the evening was over, because I looked so good and felt so great. It's somewhat covered-up but looks very elegant/sexy at the same time. I really wanted to keep it!
Devon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 4, 2014

Cute but very thick

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a bridal shower. The dress fit true to size but with the liner and thick lAce, it felt a little bulky.
Jen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Perfect dress, great party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually an 8 and the 10 fit perfectly. I wore this for my husband's office's Christmas party and got so many compliments! The neckline and lace are so beautiful you really don't need to do much with it - I wore my hair up and sparkly earrings and it was perfect.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I ordered sizes 6 and 8, and the 8 fit best. The fabric is surprisingly thick with the lace detail. Sadly, that lace detail isn't as apparent as I had hoped, just looks like a black dress because the black lining. It was very comfortable to wear, and would be appropriate for a conservative event; it is not sexy or flashy. I did get a couple of compliments from strangers, but that might be because I was dressed up and dressing up is not as common; who knows. I would order this dress again.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 10, 2014

Rented for Honor Society Induction, Great Dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my induction into a school honor society, which involved a formal cocktail hour and dinner. I'd had my eye on the dress for a while and it lived up to expectations! The dress is really beautiful with very thick lace (just be careful putting it on because the lace is held together with very thin strands!). Required minimal accessories but made a big impact. I felt really beautiful in it. :)
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 28, 2014

Very comfortable. Perfect LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my best friends bridal shower. I was very happy with the dress. The only down side was that the slip kept ridding up, so occasionally I would have to reach under and pull it down. Otherwise I found the dress to be very comfortable and flattering.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Great classy dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for graduation and it was perfectly classy and elegant! It hits at the knees and the top layer is a bit longer than the lining. True to size.
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Beautiful lace.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful! I was surprised at how comfortable it was. The lace fabric had some stretch to it. I wore my normal size 0 and it fit perfectly. An ideal length for tall girls :-)
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 15, 2014

Super comfortable - sad to see this one go!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was nervous about the fit, as my backup size wasn't available but I was so pleasantly surprised at how much I loved this dress! I have broader shoulders and did not feel restricted by the armholes on this dress (as opposed to other lace dresses). The material was a little thicker, so I was happy the weather was a bit cooler. Felt amazing and got many complements..if you're thinking about renting this one - do it!!
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Classic Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the neckline and the cap sleeves, I only wished that the lace wasn't so thick. It was more of a crochet. I wore a size 2 which was fitted at the chest.. I'm a 34B. The fit would have been perfect if the dress wasn't so loose around the hips and thighs. This could be because so many people have rented the dress.
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Understated yet flattering

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a work function gala. I wanted to look classy and sophisticated without drawing too much attention to myself. This was form fitting in an appropriate way. It felt really good on and was comfortable. I have larger bust and hips but this fit perfect in all areas. The lining is low cut in the chest area but the lace offers good coverage. I was able to zip and unzip this dress by myself. I got instant compliments and they continued throughout the evening. Another RTR dress that did not disappoint! LOVE IT!
anne
Age: 25
Jul 17, 2014

..

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit is great, the crochet is heavier than it looks in pictures
jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

Great Dress, Beware of Slit in back

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful, flattering, and classy. It was perfect for a wedding in which I was a bridesmaid bc it was very flattering but not distracting. One thing I noticed after i tried it on and had walked around for a while is that there was a huge slit down the middle, my butt was showing and I had to pin the upper part, big con for me personally. But it is a fabulous dress. Def worked for my occasion.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Oct 3, 2014

Not only was it a beautiful dress but actually really comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous but a tad bit heavy for dancing! The slit was a little too high in the back and I kept having to tank it down! Other than that, I received a ton of compliments and would definitely recommend this dress!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Elegent but fun!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely stunning. I recieved so many compliments about the uniquness and style. It was very elegent but with the crocheted layer it was still super fun because it allowed for skin to peek through in all the right places. When my daughter first saw me in the dress, her exact words were "You look like a commercial!"
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Perfect Little Black Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was such a classy, perfect LBD to wear to a party. I really loved it. If you're looking for something classy and timeless, this dress is it. It is a heavier material, so it can be a little hot if you're dancing and moving around a lot. It doesn't hug too tightly and was true to size for me. I noticed others talked about the slit in the back but it was not a problem at all for me. Did not show anything but my legs.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

This is a cute dress with a pretty, very thick, lace pattern.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress has a really well-defined waist, so it will not fit you if you have a long torso. I couldn't wear it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×