Elie Tahari

Colorful Canvas Sheath

$52 rental
$298 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stand out at the cocktail party by wearing this fab Elie Tahari brushstroke sheath. A colorful and flirty style to turn heads. Go with classic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor brushstroke printed stretch cotton. Crew neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

81 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 60
Large 3
Photos 38
Julia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jun 9, 2012

Love it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
i normally wear 0. but this size-2 fits my like it is made for me. got great compliments from people. definitely a beautiful dress. I wish I could buy it off...but i guess they won't let me.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Jun 21, 2012

Gorgeous but snug on hips

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a curvy size 12 and this dress didn't have enough give for me in the hips. The dress is positively GORGEOUS, and I loved it, but if you need any give in the hips, size up!
Joanne
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 10, 2012

First time renter

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress! I normally wear either a size 8 or 10 depending on the cut of the dress. I wound up wearing a size 10 which fit perfectly!
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Could not zip. #defeated

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear an 8, but went larger on this dress because of my chest. I didn't end up wearing it because I couldn't zip it up past my chest. I think the fit would be have been perf in terms of snug-ness (is that a word?), but I couldn't (even with spanx) get the zipper over my 36D's. It was a great length and cut, but just didn't zip. And I'm not an enormous woman-- I am athletic (run marathons) and have a chest. I was really looking forward to this one, too.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Classy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little tight in the bust but still fit. I would go up a size next time.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Beautiful dress, didn't fit

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Lovely dress, would certainly receive many compliments but I didn't find the fabric all that forgiving. Also, I'm quite short waisted and this didn't seem to cinch me in the right place. Perhaps because I'm larger busted? Overall, lovely dress but it didn't fit my body style well.
rena
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my husband's client appreciation dinner and felt like a million bucks!
Malikah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

I LOVE RTR!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I wore this dress for my aunts 80th Birthday Party and received so many compliments that I felt like a star!! RTR is the best!!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Not Your Typical Fit

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to my brother's graduation. It fits a little strange; not as tight fitting around the waist/hips as I thought from looking at the picture. But I felt good in it. It is tight in the bust, so if you are larger than an A you may want to get a size up.
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Fabulous dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for a Rehearsal Dinner. It is prettier on than in the photo or even in the hangar. Great fit -- I have a straight shape. I don't thinnk it would work well on someone with curves/hips. Very striking and unusual -- received lots of compliments.
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Formal Wedding - church part

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented it for the church ceremony of the wedding and I was very pleased with the fit. I am 5'10" and it cut me off at the knee similarly to the picture. I wish it came an inch or so longer but oh well. Also I have a very small waist as compared to my hips and I had some room. There is no way to adjust the belt as it is sown on. It wasn't obvious to anybody though.
Toi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Beautiful

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to my bridal shower. I was a tiny bit disappointed in the colors. In the picture it looks very vibrant, but in person it's not quite as bright. It is still very gorgeous though. It fit like a glove and I got a lot of compliments. I would wear this dress again in a heartbeat.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

An understated statement

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Beautiful colors and a nice fit and classic shape, with an appropriate length for a family engagement dinner with my boyfriend's parents. The one thing I will say is the bust ran tight on me as the fabric doesn't have any give. I am an hourglass and typically wear a 6 in Tahari dresses, but I had to wear the 8 to comfortably clasp the attached "belt" (it's hook and eye in the back) and so I didn't completely flatten my chest.
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

Sexy Sheath

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner in California wine country. It was gorgeous and comfortable.
rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 2, 2012

great fit. beautiful dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
flattering for curves. perfect length beautiful print
Suzi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Lovely dress - perfect for an office party event on the bay.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Body hugging but not too tight - would buy it in a second.
Becca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

Wore it to a wedding, looooooove this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a summer wedding in Maine. It was perfect.
kuta-san
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 13, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for Easter and got so many compliments on the dress. Could easily wear during the day in the office and then out in the evening. Beautiful dress...and would rent it again.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

the dress is great quality and a perfect fit, if i were just a little skinnier. i couldn't breathe

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
i'm probably about 5 lbs heavier right now, and i could get it zipped but i felt too uncomfortable in it to wear it around Las Vegas.
mg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Nice dress for professional evening event. The colors were a bit faded than in picture.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Waist is small so make sure to go up a size if you are in between.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Very pretty dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. I had hoped the colors would be a bit more vibrant, but they are true to what is pictured. I only gave it four stars because it wrinkles easily near the groin area. I wore it with red shoes and though it went really well together. I really like the dress a lot and got a lot of compliments on it. The length was great on me. It hit either right at or right below my knees. It was a tiny bit snug in the chest but I'm a 32D and wore a Victoria secret push-up bra with it.
Rosa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

This was my back-up dress, but I wound up wearing it to a casual birthday party. Loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm short, but with heels this was still a good length on me. It was tight at the waist and the belt kept coming unsnapped. It was also more of a cotton material, not shiny like it appears in the pictures. So the colors were not as bright which is why I felt comfortable wearing it to a more casual party.
Jose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

work fete

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for a work semi-fancy event. Got many compliments. It is not form fitting, especially at the waist so I went a size down.
Ashlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 12, 2013

Nice print.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The overall fit wasn't bad. It was roomy in the hips. It was annoying that the back did come unsnapped twice. I would rent again.
Andi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 1, 2013

classy but fun dress for a bridal shower

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Both the 8 and 10 fit ok, though the 10 gave me a bit more room in the bust and waist that was nice for a party that involved noshing on cupcakes. The fabric was very high quality and the dress was beautiful.
marina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
May 3, 2013

this dress fit great and looked fabulous on! no complaints!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fit good. no issues with sizing.
Heather
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 7, 2013

wearing a comfortable but attractive dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
it appears the dress may have gotten smaller with a wash, the lining was showing at the hem and pulling at the neckline. I recommend getting two sizes just in case you don't get a brand new dress. Added a belt - doesn't come with it.
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 22, 2013

Classy and sophisticated

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a summer cocktail event. The length was perfect, hitting me at just above the knee, and the fit is very true to size. I am 5'7 and 145 pounds, and usually wear a size 8, and every once in a while a size 6 dress, but the size 8 was perfect. It's easy to wear because you don't need any special undergarments either!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 23, 2013

Loved, but had to send back

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my daugher's Communion. Although I loved it - quality construction, beautiful colors- I had to send it back and unfortunetly weren't able to get an alternate size when I placed the order. The issue was with the sewn on belted empire waistband (snaps in back) which made it difficult to breathe although the rest of the dress fit fine. I could have made it work, but decided to forgo it because I didn't want to be uncomfortable for the day.
Kristina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Jun 11, 2013

would wear this dress to every formal event!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
uber comfortable. extremely flattering. i'm tall and have gained about 10 pounds over the past 6 months. i've always been a bit bottom heavy, and this dress knows how to fit an ample bottom. it's lined, and comfortable, and a little stretchy. perfect length. i have nothing bad to say. well, only that i had to return it!
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 17, 2013

RTR is so easy for those one time events when I don't want to spend a lot of time shopping!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect for the class reunion (40th!) when you want to look nice but not too formal. Its a classic dress, classic length and it flatters your waist line! For me, it was a tad tight across the chest and around my ribcage so that when I moved, the belt unsnapped in the back. It was plenty roomy in the hip and waist line and comfortable. Its a heavy fabric so I was glad I was not hot outside. On this occasion, this was the perfect answer for me.
j.r.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 30, 2013

Unusual Colors

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a fun dress. Pros: the color is splashy and fun. I wore it to my niece's baptism and paired a yellow blazer with it and it was nice and colorful. Cons: I would have liked the skirt to be much more fitted. It poofs out a bit and doesn't have the streamlined look I usually go for. I enjoyed this dress, but it definitely wasn't my favorite rental.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

Everything as promises from RTR

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As you have read the service and deliver from RTR are great. I had two dresses to choose from for my event, and as experienced during a previous rental - they will send you a new dress in time if doesn't fit. As for this dress, it fit pretty true to size. It was lovely for a suburban country club wedding. Both appropriate for the 4 pm service in an unairconditioned church on July 6 and for the evening wedding. My only issue with this dress is that the sash around the middle is attached to the dress, but has a snap to shut it in the back. This is located right at the bottom of your rib cage so if you move to quickly or breath to deeply it would unsnap. I swear that the dress fit me fine all over and I had no problem zipping it, so it wasn't the fit. But this is an area on all dresses that is usually snug, so maybe it was me after all.
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jul 9, 2013

i didn't wear this.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
it ran large in the hips (i am narrow) and overall i thought was 'meh.'
Tracy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Negative turned POSITIVE

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately, the dress that I chose for my daughter's bridal shower arrived in perfect time but the sizing was smaller than I expected. I contacted RTR and was offered an OVERNIGHT dress of my choice to replace this one. Unfortunately, I was traveling the day before the event so I could not accept the offer. I returned the dress the day after I received it and accepted a credit for my next rental The staff of RTR went above and beyond to remedy my situation. I will continue to use RTR for my special occasion dressing.
casey.cowan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Everything about this dress is very average:(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 10 & the 12 for a wedding. Dresses came and the 10 (which I normally wear) did fit, but wasn't as flattering as I imagined, even though the material is very structured. The hem was super long, almost to my knees. The color was way more subdued than I thought it'd be; just all in all was a little matronly for my taste. I sent it back and did a last minute shopping trip to find something else to wear.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Nice dress, but a bit faded.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Looks cute on, but the colors seemed VERY faded, not vibrant like it looks in the photo. The waist was also a bit large on me, but I got the smallest size possible. The length was perfect, hit just above my knees, which was good since I ended up wearing it to church with my boyfriend's family!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

Lovely dress for my bridal shower

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was fortunate enough to have two bridal showers thrown for me I wore this one for the second, knowing it was going to be more of a formal and traditional shower. (FYI I wore the Kate Spade Bow Tie dress for my other shower and LOVED it). This dress is sophisticated and comfortable. The length was dress for having to sit in a chair and open gifts in front of people - I definitely didn't want something that would be short and ride up, this stayed put and I felt very ladylike. The waist cinches in beautifully and I felt very tall and long. A few other reviews said it had room in the chest but I found the opposite. I'm a large B/small C and thought it was pretty tight in the chest - though, still perfectly comfortable. I would definitely recommend this dress for a fun but classy event.
Adria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 31, 2013

Compliments galore!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I felt chic, ladylike and crisp in this elegant yet fun dress. I received tons of compliments and was very pleased with the fit. The dress also stood up to a long car ride without getting wrinkled. I thought the colorful details would be a little brighter, but they looked absolutely great anyway. I wore this dress with gold sandals.
Deana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 31, 2013

Great dress! Nice fabric!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly! Great length for a classy look. The belt was super annoying. When I would sit down they would unsnap so people had to keep snapping me back in. Other than that loved it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×