Tootsie Dot Dress

$40 – $70 rental
$325 retail
Stylist Notes

Have them seeing spots when you walk in wearing this ultra chic dress by Diane von Furstenberg.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multi-color polka dot cotton (100% Cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with hidden slit and button closure detail. Sheath bodice. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
298 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(172)
Small
(59)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 7, 2017
Great material! Perfect for work event
I received this dress a bit late, so I didn't get the chance to take a photo in it, but it was perfect for my work event! The material was nice and thick, perfect for October with a light jacket. The bodice is not very forgiving, especially right below the bust. The 0 fit well, but wouldn't move around my ribs. It would have been fine for a shorter event, but knowing I'd be wearing it for 10+ hours, I decided to wear the 2, which fit well except the skirt, which was slightly too wide on me, but still looked great! The colors are even better in person - there's some blue in the dress that's hard to see in the photo. Great dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
November 3, 2017
Great silhouette
As described in other reviews, the material was fairly heavy which made it work appropriate. I'm 5'3 and it hit right in mid thigh which was on the margin of what I'd consider professional so taller ladies may want to be aware for work type events. Nevertheless, the silhouette was super flattering and the pockets were a nice bonus.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 16, 2017
Cute work dress
I got this as a free backup since I was a first time renter, and I didn't end up wearing it. The pattern of the dress was really cute and the cut was comfortable, but the heavy fabric made it more of a work dress than a party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 2, 2017
Professional and flattering
I'd wear this dress again for work or a more conservative event like a baby shower. Its a warmer fabric so I do not suggest you wear it in the summer. Its very flattering so I think any body type would look nice. In clothes I wear an 8 but for dresses with a zipper up the back or side I always size up because I have a larger rib cage. With this dress I wore the 10 and the zipper barely made it past the beginning of my ribs. If I ordered it again I'd get the 12 just to be safe.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
September 19, 2017
I felt great in this dress
I received a lot of compliments on this dress. It runs a bit small in the rib cage area so I went with a size 2. For reference I am 5'0 and between 100-105lbs. It is very classy and comfortable. The material is a tweed so it is a thicker material than what appears in pictures. The size 0 seemed a bit more faded than the 2 but it was still nice. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 13, 2017
Comfortable. Well Made.
I rented this dress for a more casual wedding. The dress is cuter on than it looks online. The material is thicker and had a nice fit. True to size. I am smaller on top, so this might be a bit tight on someone bustier. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 6
Age: 35
August 9, 2017
didn't wear it
I hated the fabric and the print up close - sent it back without wearing it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 2, 2017
Love this dress- will rent again
This dress was great. The colors are better in person and being short the length was perfect. The 8 was a little bit tight in the bust so I would size up to a 10 next time. Pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 2, 2017
Cute dress good for work or going out!
I wore this dress to work although I think it's Pretty versatile and could be worn on a night out as well. Great fit. It is quite short if you are tall so be aware if you do wear it for work. It has cool pockets which I love! Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 31, 2017
Fun pattern, great fit
Loved the thick fabric and the pockets! It is a very flattering cut and style!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
June 21, 2017
Classic style
I wore this to my cousin's baby shower (excuse the boots-this was pre-party leg warm up!). It is snug, the fabric isn't stretchy, and true to size, so if you're in between sizes definitely size up. Length was great, even for being 5'4. Zipper, of course, was an issue.. loved the pockets! One of my favorite dresses!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2017
LOVE!
one of the only RTR dresses I've actually ordered twice! super cute for work with a navy blazer and nude heels. I always get compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2017
Cute dress
Perfect for work, thick material but not hot, great for a warm spring day. The dress is a bit on the short size, but not sooo short it couldn't be worn to work. Received a few "cute dress" compliments, but nothing over the top. The dress has a keyhole neckline which I hadn't noticed in any of the pictures. Adds a nice element to the overall style, but my nursing bra kept showing at the bottom of the opening. I would have been more comfortable in an 8 as the 6 was a little snug through the ribcage and felt I had to frequently suck in my stomach. Also, I found the tag to be itchy, maybe because of the dress size. The dress did have a strong dry cleaning smell that surprisingly did not go away over the course of wearing it for the day. All in all a nice dress that likely would have been a great day a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 26, 2017
Great pattern, small in the chest
I really liked the pattern, but the fit was a little small in the chest. Not to the point I had to size up, but enough to probably prevent me from renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2017
Great dress to transition from work to dinner out
Office appropriate style but a little on short side so I wore with flats and a cardigan and then paired with low heels for dinner out. DVF so far seems to be consistently TTS for me. Nice tailoring. Fabric was a bit heavy but worked for what I needed. A little tight in bodice but not so much that I was uncomfortable wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2017
Charity dinner
Very comfortable fabric. Fit great and loved the pockets. Liked the thicker fabric so I wasn't cold all night (but doesn't make you too warm either)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 13, 2017
Okay dress.
Despite the great pattern, found the tweed and Material to be a little run-of-the-mill. Awesome fit, if tweed is your thing you'll love the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
April 8, 2017
Nice daytime dress
I wore this to a baby shower and then also to work. The dress is conservative enough for both. The pattern is unique and makes a statement. But the dress made me look a bit bigger than I am, as the material is quite heavy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 4, 2017
I rented this dress for a symphony matinee.
The dress was beautiful and I received several compliments! I loved the thick material and pockets. In terms of fit, I had to size up. The bust was smaller and the dress was shorter than I expected. For my event, the larger size was more appropriate. Overall, I would rent this dress again (in a different color, of course)!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 1, 2017
Loved the print in person
The length difference between the 4 and the 6 was pretty drastic. The 4 was too short and too small. It wouldn't even zip over my chest (34DD). I'm usually a 4 so if you're busty I'd definitely size up. Even in the 6 the chest was tight. But the fabric and print are great in person and the pockets made it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2017
Perfect Wedding Guest Dress
I am between a 2 and 4 but went with the 4 for a little more dancing room :) I had so many complements on this dress! It's a little tight in the bust. I did not button it in front creating a bit of a V-neck.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 18, 2017
Great dress, but not a lot of give.
Dress was a bit snug through the chest, but otherwise fit great. Perfect length and just a bit of cleavage (only bc of the tight fit). Great dress and would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2017
8 fit but 10 more comfortable
I'm usually an 8 but this ran a bit small. Not my favorite but good for the morning PR event I attended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 64
March 7, 2017
nice compliments
super fit
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Age: 49
January 21, 2017
My first RTR and I loved how easy the whole process was! I will definitely be renting again!
Wore this for a charity event with dinner and dancing. The fit was perfect and the pockets held my phone and lip gloss so I could leave my cluch at home. Very comfortable! I added a black leather jacket and loved the look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 17, 2017
Great fit, great fabric
Fantastic fit. Flattering but conservative
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2017
Classy DVF dress
I rented this for my sons baptism and it was perfect. A classy, timeless DVF dress. I wore a little black blazer on top during the mass of church and it looked great. It's a heavier material dress, so it was perfect for a cool October day. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 28, 2016
Look great for Work!
Interesting fabric and nice cut and fit. This is a great work dress. Classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 27, 2016
Loved this dress and so did my finance! The perfect dress for multiple occasions.
The bust was a tad bit tight on me but it wasn't uncomfortable. The rest was true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2016
So cute!
I love the heavier fabric, which makes this a perfect fall or winter dress with the right layers. Cute print and flattering cut! I wore this to work and drinks afterward.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 13, 2016
Great classic dress!
Loved this dress! The thick fabric is very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 10, 2016
Quality fabric and cut
It fit everywhere but my bust. I should have sized up to 6. I will definitely rent this again - really wanted to wear it. It couldn't zip up past bust line. Fabric has no stretch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2016
Great dress!
Dress was made of a more casual fabric than I was expected but worked great for the event I attended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 8, 2016
So flattering!
The material is similar to a heavy curtain. Very beautiful and looked amazing on. The material appears very worn and had BO smell that I did not notice until the garment warmed up. That being said, this dress looked so good on and felt so comfortable, I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2016
Overall I liked the dress
I did like this dress but it wasn't quite what I expected. I normally wear an 8 but could have used a 10. Fit a little snug on ribs and chest ( I am a 36D). Material is tweed like so not as much wiggle room as other fabrics.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2016
Classy, professional, stylish!
The reviews of this dress were spot on. Allow me to summarize what I found to be true from other reviews: 1) Dress smells funky out of the bag. The smell will disappear with a little air and breathing time. 2) The material is very thick, it is a woven type material...almost like a tweed 3) Some of the dark dots do seems to show some signs of "wear" as evidence by threads in them looking a bit gray. However, this may be because of the fabric type itself. It is not noticeable from any reasonable distance. 4) The dress is tight around the rib cage I rented this dress for a professional awards ceremony and it was a perfect pick. I am usually a size 2 in J Crew dresses, but went with a size 4 because of the rib cage. I consider myself to have a wider rib cage compared to my frame. The dress was snug around the rib cage. I likely could have made the size 2 work as I had extra room around my hips and bust, but it may have felt constricting. On my height, the dress is conservative in length and I also like that it has full back and chest coverage which keeps it professional. Despite the longer length on me, be aware that the dress felt quite short when sitting. Overall, the dress hung beautifully and definitely would camouflage any problem spots. I paired the dress with nude heels and gold jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2016
Great dress!
I actually thought the fabric was silky and light from the picture but it's fairly thick and heavy. While it wasn't ideal for a summer wedding, it was good quality and I was able to not wear a bra because of it (which I can rarely do with a full chest). The dress had pockets too which was great. The fit was true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 9, 2016
Flattering, but worn.
This dress was very flattering, but the fabric was so worn! There wasn't much stretch, so I would recommend sizing up if you are on the cusp!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 8, 2016
Beautiful dress!
Fit was great nice heavy fabric. Didn't end up wearing it only because the other dress was a better choice but loved it nevertheless!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
July 21, 2016
Great
Comfortable to wear. Very flattering.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×