Tootsie Dot Dress

$40 rental
$325 retail
Stylist Notes

Have them seeing spots when you walk in wearing this ultra chic dress by Diane von Furstenberg.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multi-color polka dot cotton (100% Cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with hidden slit and button closure detail. Sheath bodice. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
288 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(167)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 102lbs
April 18, 2013
Great, comfortable dress!
I initially tried this dress on at the RTR pop-up shop near me, then rented for eater weekend. Other than the fact that it was a little snug in the bust area, it was really comfortable. The material is textured and a little thicker, which made it a good choice for a cool March weekend. I LOVED the pockets in this dress - I think they make the dress really versatile in terms of formality and really comfortable. I would definitely recommend this DVF - I would totally buy it for myself if I could find it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 23, 2013
I wore this dress to work for a client meeting and I got so many compliments!
Fit true to size, the fabric was a good thickness and I loved the pockets
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 29, 2013
Cute dress with a 70's flair-- I received compliments all night!
I rented this dress for a banquet and was not disappointed! The bust runs tight, so you need to wear a push up bra to fight that or size up. The waist makes you look skinny! Very flattering dress. I love DVF & RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2013
Flattering and comfortable sheath dress
I wore this dress to a work event. Modest enough to be professional with a great retro pattern and fit for some flair. The material was moderate weight, definitely warm enough for cold Chicago nights in March.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
great fit + pockets!
Loved the way this dress fit me. I wish I had pictures. I wore it to work and out to a nice happy hour and felt great. The fabric is much thicker and more stiff than I had realized, but I liked that because it really kept its shape throughout the day. I am also just generally a sucker for any dress with pockets, so that was a major plus.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
May 21, 2013
Conservative attractive dress - perfect for the occassion!
I rented this dress for a Spring dinner event with my husband's company. It was the perfect look for the occasion - very well made and attractive! I agree with other reviews that the top is extremely tight for those with a bust - I wore a padded push up so that I was not flat up top! Probably better for 'athletic' body types than 'hourglass', but overall a good fit and length for a buttoned-up affair.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2013
Perfect fit, classy and fun!
I could NOT have asked for a better dress. I wore it to my boyfriends graduation, where I'd be meeting his parents for the first time, so I needed something that was tasteful but still represented my personality. This dress was it. I'm usually a size 4 but I found that going down to a 2 was much more flattering, since the material is a bit thick and can look bulky in some areas. I'm so glad I got the size down because the 2 fit like a glove, especially at the waist and bust (which I was worried about). Got so many compliments on it, I wish I could keep it! (Also, this was my first rental) Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2013
Made my night!
This dress was the perfect dress for the wedding I attended in Connecticut. It was chilly, but the fabric stood up really well in the cold. My husband even admitted that he wished I could keep this dress. It was classy and gorgeous. The 8 was comfortable but I wish I would have tried the 6 for a little tighter fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
June 25, 2013
Celebrate in style
I wore this dress to celebrate my friend's 30th birthday. I styled it with black tights and black pumps because we celebrated in NYC in March - brrr. The dress was super comfortable and fit great. The fabric is on the thicker side, so I wouldn't recommend this for the summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
June 26, 2013
Cute Retro look!
Loved the look of this dress and got tons of compliments, I don't think it photographs as well. The top runs very small, I ordered a 4 and 6 and had to go up to accommodate my bust, which was basically smashed to my collar bone in the 4 (but otherwise fit every where). Its a great fabric, and suitable for a lot of occasions!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 29, 2013
Makes your waist look tiny!
I didn't end up wearing this dress as I thought the high neckline was a bit too conservative on me (and I'm pretty conservative!), but it has a great fit, fun pattern, and very flattering at the waist!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2013
Great dress!
Extremely well constructed. Material is a thicker, almost woolen thickness so not really for a night out in my opinion. I wore it to a formal brunch and it was perfect. I felt very high end.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 24, 2013
Thick and Hot
I rented this for a summer wedding, but could not wear it. It runs very small, and the material is really thick and upholstery-like.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Body type: Petite
July 27, 2013
Loved this dress
When I first saw the material and the colors it was different then expected...but as soon as I put it on a loved it! Extremely comfortable all night. Fit great - many compliments...love the pockets
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2013
I love this dress!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner, and I felt great in it! The material is a thick cotton, so it was a little more casual than it looks in the pictures. I loved the fit though, and got tons of compliments. I'm definitely going rent this dress again in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 145lbs
September 3, 2013
Patterns & Pockets!
This dress is great for a formal affair or a wedding. I wore it to both my engagement party, paired with black heels and to a daytime wedding, paired with summery accessories. The dress material is rich and expensive looking. It's a bit on the thicker side, but still looked great on two very hot summer days in August. The cut is very very fitted on the top (be careful if you are busty or have a wide rib cage) and then looser around the hips, which makes it totally flattering. My waist was accentuated and the less fitted skirt was very flattering. Also, this dress has an interesting pattern which really pops in photos. All in all, a great dress - classy and modern!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 16, 2013
Comfy, but tight in bust.
This dress fit great, except it was a little tight in the bust. I Chose to wear the 8 bc it fit everywhere else and the 10 was a little too big on me. Loved the pockets too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2013
.
I wore this to a wedding in Greenwich CT last week. As other reviews note it is heavy material so looks a little more formal. I rented the 2 and 4 and was able to fit into the 2. It is definitely tight and slimming in the waist and up area. It has pockets -- unpopular opinion, I don't love pockets; their practicality is overrated and they tend just to add a lot of fabric in the hip area unnecessarily. The black in it makes it easy to match. You can undo the button at the top to make it a little less formal / conservative. Overall I liked this dress and would rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
September 24, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress! It was also so comfy, and very easy to dance in.
The fit was true to form, but the bust was a little tight. As long as you're not wearing a padded bra you should be fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2013
Wish I had gotten a picture...
I really liked this dress. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and got lots of compliments. I ordered the zero and the two, but the day before they were due to arrive RTR called me and told me the zero had been ruined. They offered to overnight me an extra dress, and let me pick any style I wanted. The one I picked didn't fit so I emailed them and they overnighted me yet another dress in the next size up. Awesome customer service! I wish I had gotten a picture in this dress - if I find one that someone else took I will add it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 2, 2013
I loved the detailing on the dress but the pockets combined with my curvy figure made me look larger
I actually really loved this dress and got many compliments. However, especially in photographs the pockets made me look bigger in my hips. I had a back up in a size 2 but it was entirely too tight in the chest even without a bra. If you,re curvy like me just be careful by either getting a back up size or give yourself enough time to get another dress shipped over night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2013
It was a flattering fit, super comfortable, the pockets were a bonus and I got a lot of compliments.
I'm 5'3". My measurements are 36" bust, 28.5" hips, 40.5" waist. I ordered the 2 and the 4 based on other reviews and ended up wearing the 4. I actually had one other woman approach me at my office party to ask if my dress was from RTR because she was thinking about renting it after seeing it on me. Just make sure you check the pockets before you seal up the return envelope.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2013
The dress was beautiful but it did not fit.
When renting this dress keep in mind that the tightest part of this dress is the waistline. The previous comments stated its the chest area but that is incorrect. Good luck!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 29, 2014
Perfect for a dinner party!
Unique pattern, fit well, good length. Was perfect for a dinner party but wouldn't have been dressy enough for a formal affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2013
Fantastic Dress!
I rented this to wear to a rehearsal dinner & wound up wearing it to go on a date the night before too! This is a great dress. Flattering fit & cute print. I wore it with gladiator sandals & fun earrings.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2013
Elegant and timeless style
Tight on the bust!!! I had to go up one size just to fit my chest and it was still a little snug. Overall I really loved it and I got plenty of compliments at my pinning ceremony for nursing school.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
December 30, 2013
Super cute, but more casual than I was hoping
Perfect fit and length - i rented the size 0, super cute, but the fabric is shape is a bit informal - i could have worn this to a nice brunch or baby shower - otherwise it was great. I would consider renting it again for a less formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 4, 2014
This dress was my backup but it should have been my first selection
This dress was warm for winter and looked so cute with some knee high brown boots. Everyone complimented it all evening and I was fashionable even during a chilly Denver night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2014
Meeting the parents in style!
I wore this dress to a wedding where I met my bf's parents for the first time. The dress got rave reviews. The length and fabric were very classy/appropriate, but the color/fit/keyhole at the top added the right amount of sexy. It was also comfortable for dancing during the reception, with no need to skip the cake.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 8, 2014
Beautiful pattern with minor issues
I got this dress for a wedding in January and I was pleasantly surprised that the dress is a heavier material. The pattern itself is much darker and pronounced than in the RTR picture but it's beautiful. I wore the 2 but changed into the 4 as my underarms started hurting from the tightness of the dress. I paired the dress with a tangerine cardigan and black tights and heels. Cons Because the dress is heavier and more quilt like, it bunches when you sit down. If I hadn't had black tights on, some folks might have seen my underwear when sitting. The pockets on the side were great but it also made the bottom half of the dress balloon out. This wasn't a huge deal since my hips are small but could make someone with larger hips or a butt seem bottom heavy. I also recommend sizing up since the stiffness of the dress doesn't give much room to move or eat fully without feeling a bit uncomfortable.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
January 17, 2014
Great dress for dinner at a special restaurant.
Love DVF dresses. This works for any season. I wore it in late summer but it would work in fall/winter with black tights or boots. Comfortable and love the pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 23, 2014
Great for a late summer or fall wedding.
This dress was a replacement NYE dress as my original dress was sadly stained upon arrival. The dress was not a good match for the occasion but it did fit well. The fabric is on the thicker side and I would definitely consider renting it again for a late summer or fall wedding/event in the Northeast.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
February 19, 2014
Rehearsal dinner dress
Ordered a 2 and a 4 ended up with the 2 as the 4 was a little big. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 2, 2014
This was my first RTR experience so I was nervous. The dresses came on time and all that I hoped for
I LOVED this dress so much that I want to buy it. You can dress it up with heels or wear it with tights and boots. Diane Von Furstenberg just knows how to make the perfect dresses for women!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 6, 2014
Classy dress!
This was my backup dress and I did not end up wearing it, but it fit like a glove and looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
March 9, 2014
Loved the dress. I rented it for my engagement photos and my fiancé thought it looked great on me!
If you are busty, the top can be a bit snug.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 30, 2014
Wore at my jack & Jill shower and got lots of compliments. But...
I really liked this dress and I loved my first RTR experience overall. I didn't give it 5 stars b/c there was an issue with the zipper where the teeth were missing right where the waist seam was so it was almost impossible to zip. If my fiancé and friend hadn't helped me I never would have gotten it on. It definitely runs a little small in the best, but otherwise had a great fit. I got tons of compliments & it was very comfortable. Some of the dots in the pattern are salmon colored which was not clear from the photo but luckily it still looked good on my pale skin. Fabric is very thick so would not be good for outdoor event in summer but was great for an indoor event in March. Overall a good dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 8, 2014
Loved the dress. Very comfortable and classy. Lots of compliments!
Runs small in the chest. Loved the pockets and thick material. Would rent again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
April 9, 2014
The dress was a hit!
The material is very good quality and I loved how it fit. Very comfortable yet elegant
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 21, 2014
Loved wearing this dress!
I loved this dress! I ordered a 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 6 - like other review have noted, the bust area is a bit tight, but it wasn't too uncomfortable. If you're taller, I'd size up - even though I wore it, the 6 was maybe a tad too short for my liking. I had to very carefully monitor the skirt placement all night! Overall though, I absolutely loved this dress. It's so unique, the keyhole in the front is adorable, and I got so many compliments on the dress. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×