Tootsie Dot Dress

$40 rental
$325 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have them seeing spots when you walk in wearing this ultra chic dress by Diane von Furstenberg. Pair with accessories like Gerard Yosca’s Pearl Princess Earrings for a modern ladylike look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor polka dot cotton (100% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with hidden slit and button closure detail. Shift body with hidden front pockets. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
264 reviews
Fit
Large5
True to Size159
Small55
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2016
Classy, professional, stylish!
The reviews of this dress were spot on. Allow me to summarize what I found to be true from other reviews: 1) Dress smells funky out of the bag. The smell will disappear with a little air and breathing time. 2) The material is very thick, it is a woven type material...almost like a tweed 3) Some of the dark dots do seems to show some signs of "wear" as evidence by threads in them looking a bit gray. However, this may be because of the fabric type itself. It is not noticeable from any reasonable distance. 4) The dress is tight around the rib cage I rented this dress for a professional awards ceremony and it was a perfect pick. I am usually a size 2 in J Crew dresses, but went with a size 4 because of the rib cage. I consider myself to have a wider rib cage compared to my frame. The dress was snug around the rib cage. I likely could have made the size 2 work as I had extra room around my hips and bust, but it may have felt constricting. On my height, the dress is conservative in length and I also like that it has full back and chest coverage which keeps it professional. Despite the longer length on me, be aware that the dress felt quite short when sitting. Overall, the dress hung beautifully and definitely would camouflage any problem spots. I paired the dress with nude heels and gold jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2016
Great dress!
I actually thought the fabric was silky and light from the picture but it's fairly thick and heavy. While it wasn't ideal for a summer wedding, it was good quality and I was able to not wear a bra because of it (which I can rarely do with a full chest). The dress had pockets too which was great. The fit was true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 9, 2016
Flattering, but worn.
This dress was very flattering, but the fabric was so worn! There wasn't much stretch, so I would recommend sizing up if you are on the cusp!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 8, 2016
Beautiful dress!
Fit was great nice heavy fabric. Didn't end up wearing it only because the other dress was a better choice but loved it nevertheless!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
July 21, 2016
Great
Comfortable to wear. Very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 17, 2016
Great pattern, fun dress but a little faded
I wore this to a high school reunion and it was perfect for the event. As others have noted it is a thick fabric and runs small so I sized up. I love the pattern, the shape, and pockets. The only 2 issues were that it looks faded, the black dots are almost gray... And it stunk from the dry cleaning. Those were the only reasons I didn't give it 5 stars
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 15, 2016
Loved the fabric
Wore this for a night out with the girls. Felt classy in this dress. The fabric was thick and pockets were a great touch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 14, 2016
Wedding rehearsal dinner dress
I am 2 months post-partum and I thought this dress was very flattering. Does not accentuate "problem areas." The pattern is a pretty light blue, pink and black so almost any shoe and jewelry combination would work. I think this dress would work well in a professional setting but I also felt pretty at a party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 9, 2016
Very Nice and Practical
I wore to a dressy banquet and got quite a few nice compliments. I am 5'3" and the dress hit right above my knees. Fit was perfect too. I don't have much of a waist, but this dress accentuated it nicely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 22, 2016
Comfortable and has pockets
Loved this dress for a spring wedding. The pattern, cut and style are really cute, the dress has pockets, and fits very comfortably. I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2016
Great customer service
When dress arrived it was not what I had imagined from the pictures. The material was more flat than I expected and dress was a little tight. Returned
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 25, 2016
Loved this dress
Rented a size 8 and it fit perfectly. My dress was faded and there was a tear in the seam by the pocket, but it wasn't noticeable to anyone else. The zipper was also hard to zip. Other than that, great fit and fabric although it is a heavier fabric. It's a textured fabric, which you don't see in the picture. Great dress to dress up or down- wish I could own this one (aside from the tear).
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
April 18, 2016
Formal Presentation
I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for my research presentation and worked great with a black blazer and heels. I received a ton of compliments on it and I will definitely be ordering it again for other events!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 8, 2016
First timer and it's so easy!
This dress has a cute shape but is modest too. The material is thick and had no give. So if you are between sizes, go a size up. And it has pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
March 24, 2016
This dress fit perfectly!
I loved this dress, and it was perfect for the event - a semi-formal party in a large event venue. The fabric is thick, and this worked to my advantage as I'm often cold in venues like this. It kept me warm enough that I could go sleeveless without needing a sweater. It's very slimming and was not at all tight across the chest, which is a problem I have with a lot of other dresses. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2016
Felt sophisticated and classy.
Great fit. Makes your waist look great! I felt so sophisticated in it. Very classy. The material was a little thick for a outside event in the spring.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 26, 2016
Great print!
Great for work for someone with a small bust line. I received several compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2016
Super cute and unique pattern, great quality fabric!
I rented this dress as part of my unlimited subscription to change up my winter work wardrobe. I absolutely adored the dot pattern and the high quality fabric. It is nice and thick and great for cold weather. The fit was perfect! The zipper stuck a little bit and was a pinch hard to zip all the way on my own, but I managed with some maneuvering and twisting about. I got quite a few compliments at work. Looked great with tights and booties.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 19, 2016
Texture, fabric and print are fantastic
Very narrow on the rib cage. I am a 6, ordered an 8 and it did not fit.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Everyday
Age: 36
February 16, 2016
Adorable...runs short.
This dress is adorable. It was the perfect length on me at 5'3", but it would probably be a little short if you're taller than that. I have a broad back and a larger chest, so getting the zipper up in the back was a little tough. I took my bra off, and it fit. Consider sizing up if you have a larger chest or a broad back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 49
January 30, 2016
Cute and festive
I wore this dress to a banquet and loved it. However, beware that the chest is very tight and it may be worth sizing up.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
January 28, 2016
Very flattering. Good fabric. I thought at first it would be too short, but it was perfect!
Great for broad shoulders. Narrow waist with room in the hips for those crossfire thighs!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
January 5, 2016
Great quality - thick material and has pockets.
Pros: Length and size was perfect for me (4'11" and size 10-12 dresses). Dressed it with a black cardi, so it was perfect for a winter day in So Cal. Cut was flattering and very comfortable. The material was thick. Pockets are the best - not obvious, but added to the weight of the dress. Cons: Colors were a bit faded. If it was warmer weather, this dress material might be too thick.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Weight: 135lbs
December 29, 2015
A great party dress...
I had to wear my size up because the eight was a bit tight across the chest. Wearing the 10 did make the skirt a bit fuller but it was very comfortable and looked great. I loved the pockets...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
December 23, 2015
So flattering!
Worn for a summer bridal shower, fit was amazing and definitely hides midsection imperfections. Didn't take any full body pics (sorry) but the pockets add a nice touch and the cut is very flattering. Thick fabric so might be a bit warm but overall an amazing dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 28, 2015
Perfect with a blazer for a work function
I wanted a modest but fun dress for a work event, and this dress delivered! The quality fabric and construction felt special and professional. I added a blazer to cover my arms. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2015
Great dress!
This dress runs small, I normally wear a 4, but sized up after reading the reviews and I am glad I did. Wore to the office and got several compliments. At the end of the day the material around my bottom looked weird, it could be that it was due to me sitting all day at the office. Because of this I gave it a 4, but it was fine.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
November 16, 2015
I was the perfect dress for a day time charity event
I'm generally somewhere between an 8 and 10 so I ordered both but the 10 just barely fit in the ribs. It was perfect through my bust and hips. I loved the fit though! the slight flare was perfect. I'm short, so the length worked for me but any shorter and I think it would have been too short for the charity event I wore it to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 25
November 5, 2015
I couldn't find a dress anywhere for weeks before my event. This saved the day.
Fit like a glove. Very well made and looked great on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
November 2, 2015
Thick material
This dress is made from thick material. I didn't mind because I tend to get cold easily. The zipper was a little bit of a problem. I almost broke a sweat trying to zip it up. Beware of zipper! It was perfect for work and once again I'm satisfied.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
October 28, 2015
Great dress, but looks worn.
Thick material, so great for the fall/winter.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
October 21, 2015
Great for a luncheon, shower, etc
I wore this dress to a bridesmaids lunch with pointy flats. Very cute pattern, sturdy fabric that covered any flaws, and flattering a-line skirt. That being said I was seriously considering ordering the 4 and I am very glad I did not (the 4 wasn't available) as the 6 fit like a glove and had it been any tighter on my chest it would have been very unflattering. So, I would say this dress runs small if you are hourglass curvy like me/true to size if you are on the slender side.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 18, 2015
Wish I didn't have to send it back?
As an FYI, this was my first RTR and I have some mixed feelings about it. First off, I loved this dress. This was an awesome dress for a fall wedding! Fit perfectly and very true to size. I wasn't able to get a free 2nd size so I was glad this one worked out. The cut and color (dark blue, nude pink and lighter blue pattern) was great and loved the secret pockets! Normally with a pocketed dress it adds weight but these didn't at all. The fabric was also very think and laid wonderfully. The reason I did not give it the full 5 stars was because I was disappointed in the fact that I had no back up (and since this was my first RTR, I would have liked to be a little more protected) and...the state of the dress. The fabric was pilled and looked as though in a few areas had pulls, but I am not sure. You could, most definitely tell that it has been worn ALOT though. The other reviewers stated that it was made of a thick material and they are very correct. I was able to wear it and not feel like like the polling was too noticeable. But I was kind of sad that my first designer dress to rent was not as I expected and seemed like it may have been on its last leg on the rent scene. But I guess that's how all of these dresses work. I was very lucky that the size I picked worked because there was no backup and that the wear didn't show up too much. I hope going forward to have a few more fail-safe options in place so in case the dress is in real bad shape or doesn't fit, to know I have options. All around, a semi pleasant first time. Thank you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2015
Snug
The pattern and color is modern and cute. The material is thicker than I anticipated. Thick thickness makes the dress fit a little snug.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 57
October 13, 2015
Loved this dress
This dress was very well made and looked great on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 9, 2015
Cute but not bump friendly
Pattern and cut are very flattering but this didn't zip over my baby bump
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2015
Sophisticated, textured dress, great for work or a cocktail party
Very comfortable, loved the pockets. Was a little tight on the hips, so might have gone up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
October 8, 2015
Cute dress but tight in the chest area
Cute dress but very tight through chest area and I consider myself to be on the smaller side in that area. I typically wear size 0 and had to wear a 2 in this because it was so tight in the chest (I'm a 32c). I recommend ordering a size up. I got lots of compliments on this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2015
Cute dress, it is a thicker material as others had noted, it was too small for me though.
The dress, although was very cute, I wished it fit; I normally wear a size 6 in J.Crew and the dress was too tight in the midsection - I wasn't able to zip the dress up; my mom tried it on as well, she normally wears a size 4 in J.Crew and also wasn't able to have the dress zip up. I am going to try it 2 sizes up, not sure if the dress was just one that had an off-sizing....I wished it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
October 5, 2015
Didn't wear it - too short
Cute dress, but too short for my 5'8" frame. The fabric is a nice weave, but it's a rather boring pattern.
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×