Tootsie Dot Dress

$40 rental
$325 retail
Stylist Notes

Have them seeing spots when you walk in wearing this ultra chic dress by Diane von Furstenberg.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multi-color polka dot cotton (100% Cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with hidden slit and button closure detail. Sheath bodice. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
288 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(167)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 27, 2014
Great fit - perfect for a work event or something that requires biz casual.
I loved this dress. It was very flattering and was perfect for a Christening. I wouldn't recommend for a wedding as it's more so for business casual events. I'd definitely rent again though. You can wear it with our without tights, so it' a good year round dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2014
Excellent Rental!!
Loved this dress. I thought it was a little tight for a 12, but overall a perfect fit. I loved the think material as it made the need for spanx less necessary. I did receive several compliments too. The length was perfect. If I were any taller I think I might be concerned about it being too short. I would absolutely rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 2, 2014
Great dress for business type event
This dress is true to fit and looks better in person than it does in pictures. The pockets did not bulge and were, actually, a nice touch. I did find the chest was form fitting so go up a size if this is a problem area for you. I wore this to a religious/conservative engagement party and it was well received. I think it's perfect for business parties or conservative events were you want to still be "fun".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
May 6, 2014
Great colors and fit!
The fit was great! Only issue: If you're planning on wearing it for a long wedding or event, consider getting a size smaller. The dress tends to stretch as the night goes on. The event I wore this to began at 2 and went until midnight. By the end of the evening, it was practically hanging off me. Great, cute dress, got a million compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 7, 2014
So many compliments on this dress.
The dress is true to size, but I am a DD so it was a little tight on my chest. The fabric of the dress is thick so I wouldn't wear it on a hot day. I wore it on a cool day and was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2014
Great for a birthday dinner and a couples wedding shower!
A great easy dress! The print was fun! The dress fit true to size and made me feel slim. I love DVF
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 17, 2014
Great dress.
Rented for a rehearsal dinner. A little heavier fabric than I would normally choose for spring weather but great fit. Forgiving since the fabric is so heavy and there are pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 176lbs
May 18, 2014
I ordered this dress 2 sizes up and it still didn't fit. Pretty thought...
Extremely short and way too tight in the hips. This dress is meant for a very thin frame
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014
Compliments All Day!
I got this dress to wear on a busy work day with lots of meetings and interacting with people I didn't usually. I also got it to wear out to drinks with girlfriends that night. I received compliments all day from co-workers and then that night both of my friends asked me where I got my dress! Great choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
May 23, 2014
So I ended up not wearing this dress.
I almost always am a 2 sometimes even a 0 but I hardly could breath once I zipped this dress up. The material really does not give at all, so just be mindful there is no stretch. Overall the dress is fine, but I opted not to wear it since it really didn't do anything for me and decided to go with a backup I had in my closet. The colors were pretty but more muted in person than the vibrant colors they look in the photos. I'd probably opt for one of the other amazing dresses RTR has over this one
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 29, 2014
Great dress for any party!
I wore this dress for my engagement party and some engagement photos. It was fantastic. Great fit, looked fabulous, but not just a LBD. Love the keyhole at the neck!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110lbs
June 1, 2014
Comfortable & flattering with pockets!
Overall, I really liked the dress and had fun wearing it. I rented this dress for my brothers high school graduation in Florida. The material was a bit heavy for summer, being a thick wool, but luckily the graduation was inside in an air conditioned building. The fit is great and the dress is very flattering for curves. The chest area is tight so if you're busty like me, go a size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2014
I wore this for an interview. It looked good- but way too short for the occasion.
Slightly large on top- I normally wear a 6, but I wanted a longer length. The dress was the perfect style and the fabric was heavy, but looked great. This dress would be so cute in the winter or fall with tights and boots for a more casual look. Overall, it was fine and worked out for me. I looked good, but I didn't love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2014
Cute dress and very comfortable
I rented this dress for a casual outdoor wedding, it is super cute and very comfortable. Love the pockets! The fabric is a bit heavier than expected but still a great summer dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
June 10, 2014
loved the dress!
I absolutely loved the dress but unfortunatley wasn't very happy with the sizing. I received my usual size 4 and for my extra I went with the 6. The fitting of the dress wasn't awful but if you have a larger chest like I do, it may be tight. The 4 didn't fit me at all, and the 6 just barely did. I also had some problems with the zipper on the dress as it kept getting stuck in the fabric. All in all, the dress was beautiful and perfect for my afternoon wedding. The material was thick, but not too warm given it being summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 14, 2014
Comfortable and Beautiful
I absolutely loved this dress. It accentuated my figure nicely and a I got quite a few compliments it. I ordered the 4 and the 6 thinking the 4 would fit the best. I really didn't notice much of a difference between the two sizes aside from a little (and I mean little) extra room in the stomach and rib area. I ended up wearing the 6 with the thought process I would be eating a lot that day and wanted to be comfortable. The pockets are a great addition and I didn't feel like they made my hips look any wider. Like other reviewers have said, the material is a fairly thick knit. We got a surprise heat wave the day of my bridal shower; 100 degree weather and this dress did not mesh too well. Thankfully we were able to move inside for a portion of the day.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 15, 2014
Beautiful print!
I rented both the 2 and 4, and based on other DvF dresses I own and have worn, this one runs a little small. Both sizes fit, but the 2 was really tight around the ribcage. I wanted to be comfortable for dinner so I opted to wear the larger size. This print on this dress is adorable, and I loved the thicker, textured fabric. The length was about 4 inches above my knee, so it was perfect for a nice dinner out. I only have one complaint: the dresses I received both looked a bit worn out. One of them had a slight snag in the fabric, and on both dresses the darker colors in the print were noticeably faded (probably from dry cleaning). It might be time to retire this style soon.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2014
Great pattern and fabric., easy to wear. Would rent again. Wore it for dressed up business meeting
Perfect fit for athletic body. Great length...a touch shorter than the knee but appropriate for any business function.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 23, 2014
So many compliments!
Such a great dress. I received endless compliments all night. My only critique is that it flattened my chest a bit, that said I am a 32F. It wasn't bad though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
June 28, 2014
I got so many compliments on the style of the dress.
Fit true to size. Loved the pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 7, 2014
Great fit, great dress.
Dress fits great and is comfortable. Fabric was a little thicker than I was expecting it to be and therefore was a little warm at the summer wedding I wore it too. The pockets are a nice touch and I received several compliments on this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 15, 2014
Very cute! Great colors
Dress was great for a summer wedding. Fit was perfect and the colors are so beautiful in person! Definitely a quality dress! Material is thicker, but still worked well for a late afternoon/early evening wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 15, 2014
Great dress!
The dress definitely fit true to size and I found it to be very flattering. I wore it to my cousin's rehearsal dinner and it was very comfortable and appropriate for the night. One thing to note --- the dress had a very strong dry cleaning smell to it..
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2014
Great dress for dressy occasion where you want to be relaxed.
I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal dinner, and it was perfect! The fabric is thick as some reviews mentioned, but I think that is a good thing. It hides some of the flaws us ladies want to cover. I could bend over, slouch, and sit comfortably without having to worry about a little gut showing at the wrong time. I was constantly on view and under the camera lens! The pockets are nice, but they are too small to actually carry anything. They don't pucker out at all so it doesn't exaggerate your hips. I rented the size 4 and it fit perfectly. I received a ton of compliments on the dress. It was short enough that it made me feel sexy, but not too short that it was scandalous or I had to worry about leaning over. It hit about mid thigh. I paired it with blue suede high heels for a pop of color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
July 20, 2014
Great Customer Service Experience!
First of all, let me just say how incredible the customer service is at RTR! I typically wear a 4 or a 6 in almost every dress I've worn. However, when I received the dress I couldn't get into either of the sizes. I have the wonderful problem of having a small waist but a larger bust size. I could zip up the dress only past my waist, but there is NO give in the bust area of this dress. I wrote an email to RTR asking them to send a size 8 and they had it overnighted to me just in time for the wedding rehearsal/dinner I was attending!! That being said, if you have a bigger bust size, I would suggest sizing up. This dress has absolutely no stretch. Another thing to note is that the fabric is pretty heavy. I rented this in July and it was a little too hot for the temp outside. However, I got many compliments on the dress and I would definitely rent again for a fall wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
July 31, 2014
Pretty But Runs Small and Fabric is Thick
This dress is very cool, but I didn't get to wear it because both sizes were too small. I normally wear a size 0 or 2, and both the 0 and 2 were too small. The website did say to order up a size, but I thought the 2 would be my order-up size. The fabric is very thick, so if I ordered this for another occasion I would probably wait until Fall or Winter and wear it with tights. It is also quite short, even on me and I'm only 5'2."
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 31, 2014
Looked great online, but not in person
I'd rented this dress for a friend's rehearsal dinner, but ended up not wearing it. I'm usually a 12 but had a difficult time getting the zipper past some of the seams in the back of the dress. Also, the black polka dots on the dress were very faded, probably due to extensive dry cleaning, so the dress looked old and worn. Maybe it would have looked better if the peachy-colored polka dots were more prominent. As other reviewers have noted, the fabric is thicker than expected, so I'd recommend this as a fall-only dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
October 12, 2014
So classy
This was a fabulous dress! Loved the pockets and the peep up top. Fit great in the bust and dresses usually run tight in that area for me. Super cute and classy. I would definitely rent again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 32
March 16, 2015
Many compliments!
Wore this for a friends bridal shower and I worked out perfect! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 3, 2014
Classic Dress
I rented this for a formal work dinner with my husband and wanted something a bit conservative but not the typical black dress. It fit the bill. I got both a 6 and an 8 but ended up wearing the 8 since the bust was a bit tight in the 6. The 6 did fit but the 8 was a bit more flattering in the bust. The fabric is a bit heavy which I liked since there was no cling factor. Overall it was a good option for a work dinner. It was not very fancy so I would not have chosen it for a more cocktail type event. Again using RTR was great- dress arrived early and both were in good condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 4, 2014
Very tasteful, yet fun dress!
High quality, heavier fabric with a great texture (perfect for early spring wedding). Found the fit to be super flattering; pockets were a great bonus; didn't think they added bulk. Length was perfect; front zipper provided versatility. I opted to leave zipped and wore a peach statement necklace. Great option to wear to a more conservative (church) wedding!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
August 11, 2014
The compliments!!!
I don't believe it is acceptable to punish the dress because, I messed up. I usually wear a size 4 or 6-the size 6 was too tight around the ribcage and was uncomfortable. I didn't look at the size chart only the reviews and what I usually wear. My fault. I'm not sure what scent was left on the dress but when I took it out of the bag, it smelt of faint smoke. I guess one downside to renting a dress. But I will rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
August 11, 2014
I wore this to my friend's post-wedding brunch and it was very cute!
Loved the pattern and the fit is flattering! I will definitely rent this again for a Bridal or Baby Shower or another post-wedding brunch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2014
Getting fancy in Diane Von Furstenberg
I have an exceptionally large rib cage and, because of an long ago accident that cracked a rib, often freak out if something is too constricting in that area. I was worried that this would be too stiff up top but found it very comfortable and it also helped me to maintain good posture all night. It was a little shorter than I expected but that worked out well. I think if the length was any longer it would sway towards a work dress. The fabric is very thick so I would recommend this for an indoor or spring/fall event. Overall, a great dress that I would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2014
Cute--not formal enough for some weddings
It was a cute dress, flattering on as well--just not fancy enough for a downtown wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
August 18, 2014
My first RTR was a pleasant experience. I will be purchasing again soon!
The fit was a bit snug around the rib cage and bust area. I am normally a 2 and had to go with a 4 to fit that area. The problem was that the bottom half was a looser fit bc I went a size up. The fabric is heavier and textured, and would not recommend for outdoor summer events. Overall, I felt it was well worth it and had fun with the experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 19, 2014
reminded me of business attire
very thick, ihcy not for the summer
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 19, 2014
Fit perfectly!
The fabric was a little thicker than I was expecting, but it ended up being perfect weather for a summer wedding, so it didn't bother me at all. It fit me perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2014
Tons of compliments! Tad bit too heavy material for summer wedding
The pattern and shape of the dress is gorgeous and comfortable. The material was pretty heavy and reminded me more of curtains than dress fabric. Still a great dress overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2014
Great dress for a shower and a chilly day!
I rented this dress for an early September bridal shower. My rental got off to a rough start- I was unhappy when it arrived smelling like Windex and nothing could get the smell out! But it was too cute not to wear! The fabric is very thick and perfect for a chilly day. The navy/ white/ pale pink pattern is different and fun. My favorite aspect of the dress was the pockets! I wished it was a tad shorter, but all in all it worked out great and made for a fun afternoon.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×