Tootsie Dot Dress

$40 rental
$325 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Have them seeing spots when you walk in wearing this ultra chic dress by Diane von Furstenberg.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multi-color polka dot cotton (100% Cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with hidden slit and button closure detail. Sheath bodice. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
278 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(166)
Small
(55)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2015
Great dress!
This dress runs small, I normally wear a 4, but sized up after reading the reviews and I am glad I did. Wore to the office and got several compliments. At the end of the day the material around my bottom looked weird, it could be that it was due to me sitting all day at the office. Because of this I gave it a 4, but it was fine.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
November 16, 2015
I was the perfect dress for a day time charity event
I'm generally somewhere between an 8 and 10 so I ordered both but the 10 just barely fit in the ribs. It was perfect through my bust and hips. I loved the fit though! the slight flare was perfect. I'm short, so the length worked for me but any shorter and I think it would have been too short for the charity event I wore it to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 26
November 5, 2015
I couldn't find a dress anywhere for weeks before my event. This saved the day.
Fit like a glove. Very well made and looked great on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
November 2, 2015
Thick material
This dress is made from thick material. I didn't mind because I tend to get cold easily. The zipper was a little bit of a problem. I almost broke a sweat trying to zip it up. Beware of zipper! It was perfect for work and once again I'm satisfied.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
October 28, 2015
Great dress, but looks worn.
Thick material, so great for the fall/winter.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
October 21, 2015
Great for a luncheon, shower, etc
I wore this dress to a bridesmaids lunch with pointy flats. Very cute pattern, sturdy fabric that covered any flaws, and flattering a-line skirt. That being said I was seriously considering ordering the 4 and I am very glad I did not (the 4 wasn't available) as the 6 fit like a glove and had it been any tighter on my chest it would have been very unflattering. So, I would say this dress runs small if you are hourglass curvy like me/true to size if you are on the slender side.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 18, 2015
Wish I didn't have to send it back?
As an FYI, this was my first RTR and I have some mixed feelings about it. First off, I loved this dress. This was an awesome dress for a fall wedding! Fit perfectly and very true to size. I wasn't able to get a free 2nd size so I was glad this one worked out. The cut and color (dark blue, nude pink and lighter blue pattern) was great and loved the secret pockets! Normally with a pocketed dress it adds weight but these didn't at all. The fabric was also very think and laid wonderfully. The reason I did not give it the full 5 stars was because I was disappointed in the fact that I had no back up (and since this was my first RTR, I would have liked to be a little more protected) and...the state of the dress. The fabric was pilled and looked as though in a few areas had pulls, but I am not sure. You could, most definitely tell that it has been worn ALOT though. The other reviewers stated that it was made of a thick material and they are very correct. I was able to wear it and not feel like like the polling was too noticeable. But I was kind of sad that my first designer dress to rent was not as I expected and seemed like it may have been on its last leg on the rent scene. But I guess that's how all of these dresses work. I was very lucky that the size I picked worked because there was no backup and that the wear didn't show up too much. I hope going forward to have a few more fail-safe options in place so in case the dress is in real bad shape or doesn't fit, to know I have options. All around, a semi pleasant first time. Thank you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2015
Snug
The pattern and color is modern and cute. The material is thicker than I anticipated. Thick thickness makes the dress fit a little snug.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 57
October 13, 2015
Loved this dress
This dress was very well made and looked great on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 9, 2015
Cute but not bump friendly
Pattern and cut are very flattering but this didn't zip over my baby bump
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2015
Sophisticated, textured dress, great for work or a cocktail party
Very comfortable, loved the pockets. Was a little tight on the hips, so might have gone up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
October 8, 2015
Cute dress but tight in the chest area
Cute dress but very tight through chest area and I consider myself to be on the smaller side in that area. I typically wear size 0 and had to wear a 2 in this because it was so tight in the chest (I'm a 32c). I recommend ordering a size up. I got lots of compliments on this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2015
Cute dress, it is a thicker material as others had noted, it was too small for me though.
The dress, although was very cute, I wished it fit; I normally wear a size 6 in J.Crew and the dress was too tight in the midsection - I wasn't able to zip the dress up; my mom tried it on as well, she normally wears a size 4 in J.Crew and also wasn't able to have the dress zip up. I am going to try it 2 sizes up, not sure if the dress was just one that had an off-sizing....I wished it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
October 5, 2015
Didn't wear it - too short
Cute dress, but too short for my 5'8" frame. The fabric is a nice weave, but it's a rather boring pattern.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 5, 2015
I rented this dress for an early fall wedding and overall it worked well.
This dress worked well and the low rental fee was great, however it was not my favorite dress I've gotten from RTR. The dress looks a much different color in person than it does on the model and in pictures. The peach dots are much more pronounced. I almost thought I had been sent the wrong dress because it seemed so pink on the hanger. The 6 fit great up top, but it was big on the bottom. I would have liked to try the 4. However, the bust would have probably been too tight and the length too short. I'm 5'8" and even the 6 was a little short. The extra room made it very comfortable though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
October 1, 2015
Fun color! Pockets are key!
Fit was tight through ribs. Fun color and great length bride requested "tea length" not too long as I am 5'1
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
September 21, 2015
Bridal Shower
Loved this dress! I wore this to a friends bridal shower over the weekend. The material is a little bit on the heavier side so it is perfect for fall. I also loved that it had pockets! I ordered the size 6 & 8 & ended up wearing the size 6. The 8 was just a tad too loose around the waistline. Pro's: The dress is pretty true to size. It a dress you can dress up or down. It worked very well with my body shape. I'm a little smaller on top & more round on the bottom. It was very figure flattering. Con's: I loved everything about the dress - but when I received it, it had a very distinct smell. I'm not sure if RTR is using new dry cleaning. But I had to make sure to air it out before the shower on Sunday.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 11, 2015
.
I loved the overall cut and fit of this dress. It ran very true to size and it had pockets! The fabric is very heavy, so be mindful of that for summer event rentals. One plus to the heavy fabric is that it doesn't wrinkle! I wore it for a rehearsal dinner.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 7, 2015
Perfect dress for casual wedding
Love this dress. I would rent it again. The fabric is a bit thick but it definitely hid a lot of my curves. Didn't even need to wear spanx!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
August 31, 2015
Amazing customer service
Lovely fabric, thick and high quality. Dress was very slimming and flattering.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Weight: 150lbs
August 30, 2015
Awesome fit, beautiful dress!
The dress fit true to size. I didn't need to wear a bra... And it photographed beautifully! I received compliments all night. Similar to another review, the material was a bit heavier so it hides everything in your middle, especially if you're a bit curvier- which I am.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 46
August 21, 2015
Great dress for a business dinner at a private beach club!
I usually wear a size 0 but decided to added the 2 as a back-up since DVF runs a little different on me depending on the cut. The 0 fit so perfect there was no need to even try the 2 on. I wore this to a business dinner my husband was hosting at a private beach club. It was appropriate for the event, fit perfect and I felt great in it. The material feels thick but it was not hot or too much, just well made as with all DVF items. Pockets were a great addition and the key-hole cut is a nice touch without being too over the top. I just wish I had taken a picture. This was my first rental with RTR and a wonderful experience. Can't wait to rent again for my next event!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
August 16, 2015
I loved the dress even more in person and got many compliments!
I return this dress in the morning and am already bummed. My husband even offered to buy it for me because he knew how much I loved it and how comfortable I kept saying it was. I'm 5'0 and it was the perfect length - right above the knee - which was something I worried about.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2015
This was a simple, great looking dress
I liked this dress a lot for a wedding. The materially was a little bit thicker than I thought it would be and the dress I wore did not have very much give. Overall it was a nice dress but I'm not sure I would rent it again as it wasn't as festive as I thought it would be.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
August 7, 2015
great dress, lots of compliments
The dress fits perfectly, and the thick material makes it super comfortable and forgiving. This is a great dress, you can't go wrong for any kind of event. Has a fun pattern and shape. And pockets! Awesome dress, would totally rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 6, 2015
It fit like a glove
I wore this to a work conference and it was perfect. It was just the right combination of trendy and professional. It was just above the knee on me. The construction was great and I loved the fact that it was lined.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 31, 2015
Unfortunately, I didn't wear but....
The 6 was too short and tight for me, but I really liked the dress in person. It was a sturdy material perfect for the daytime outdoor wedding in the mountains we were attending. I'd like to maybe try on the size 8 to see if that would fit me, as I did really like the pattern and fit of the dress otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
July 27, 2015
loved it but wasn't able to wear
I liked this dress a lot, I was going to wear it to a work event. After reading the reviews I ordered a 4 instead of a 2 but it wouldn't even zip over my rib cage. I am never a 6 but it was so snug I wonder if that even would have worked… The other issue is that the length and fit everywhere else on the 4 was perfect so I wonder if I went up another size or two if I would just end up compromising the fit elsewhere i.e. it would be too long and way too much fabric elsewhere. Nice structure and well made though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
June 30, 2015
Versatile and elegant
I wore this to work and to a dinner with co-workers. I felt great in it, and got plenty of compliments. The fit was just right, with no gaps around the arms or too-tiny waist. The higher neck makes it perfect for work-related events; it's somehow modest and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 28, 2015
Great dress!
I ended up wearing the 6. Dress was perfect - comfy, had pockets (which I love!) and recieved great compliments on it! Would totally rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 28, 2015
Cute and stylish!
This dress was the perfect dress for a rehearsal dinner! Got a lot of compliments. It was fairly heavy so I wouldn't recommend for an outdoor summer event but it was perfect for an evening inside. Would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 23, 2015
Perfect for work
I rented this dress for a conference for work and not only was it comfortable, I received a number of compliments. I ended up wearing the smaller of the two sizes I rented. My only complaints would be that the material is much thicker than I expected and that the fabric seemed to retain the smell from the drycleaning. Loved that it had pockets.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2015
Love the Pockets!
Great Fit, Very Comfortable... This dress was perfect for a winter party. The material is heavy and thick. I paired it with black stockings and pump (it was a cold night).
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 14, 2015
Super comfy and fits like a glove - pockets are super cute and add no bulk !
Tight thru ribs but loose in tummy - short but not too short - conservative but cute ! Lined and felt fab
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 9, 2015
I wore it to work event.
Agree with others, dress runs true to small in the bust but large in the hips. I did like having the pockets. I like the fabric thickness and color. I wore it with a pair of nude pumps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 7, 2015
Fun print!
I love the print on this dress, it was perfect for a summer wedding! The fit was great, and the pockets are a nice touch. My only issue was that the material was really thick which wasn't great for an outdoor wedding in 90 degree weather. Other than that though it was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2015
Perfect dress for the occasion.
The dress came before the day it was scheduled to arrive, so I had plenty of time to find the perfect shoes (blush color) and accessories (gold) to match. The dress was a heavier fabric, perfect for a spring wedding in WNY. Though the material looked like the dress has been washed a few times, it was still beautiful and a great fit. This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be using it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2015
Loved the style
Overall, I loved the style of this dress and got many compliments!!! It was borderline short - came down to my fingertips - but I felt the high neck balanced out the lack of length. And most dresses are short on me anyway. I wish I had taken a picture of the fabric to show that it is a textured, woven fabric. I really liked it but it was different than I expected. The colors in the fabric are lighter than they appear on the website but they also photograph darker in real life. Personally I felt like it could have been some fading due to dry cleaning but everyone else that saw it loved the colors. Dress fit like a glove but I'd suggest sizing up if you have a bigger bust. A great first RTR dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2015
The dress was comfortable and classy and I recieved many complements at the luncheon.
Nice fabric, very flattering for my curves and often hard to fit figure. This dress was perfect for a daytime luncheon event. Love it. The colors are better in person than the photo. The pattern has much more pretty blue than what shows in the photo. However, here is a defect in the fabric weave on the right side of the dress. No one else noticed. This would have 5 stars otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2015
Wore it for my graduation!
Really cute dress, my only problems were the fabric was heavy for an outdoor summer event and it was a bit short when sitting (I'm 5'9"). The pattern was very pretty, it has pockets(!), overall a great dress!
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×