Rent the Runway

Diane von Furstenberg

Tootsie Dot Dress

$40 rental
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have them seeing spots when you walk in wearing this ultra chic dress by Diane von Furstenberg. Pair with accessories like Gerard Yosca’s Pearl Princess Earrings for a modern ladylike look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor polka dot cotton (100% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with hidden slit and button closure detail. Shift body with hidden front pockets. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

210 reviews

Fit
Small 45
True to Size 136
Large 5
Photos 95
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

Great, comfortable dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I initially tried this dress on at the RTR pop-up shop near me, then rented for eater weekend. Other than the fact that it was a little snug in the bust area, it was really comfortable. The material is textured and a little thicker, which made it a good choice for a cool March weekend. I LOVED the pockets in this dress - I think they make the dress really versatile in terms of formality and really comfortable. I would definitely recommend this DVF - I would totally buy it for myself if I could find it!
Katy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 29, 2013

Cute dress with a 70's flair-- I received compliments all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a banquet and was not disappointed! The bust runs tight, so you need to wear a push up bra to fight that or size up. The waist makes you look skinny! Very flattering dress. I love DVF & RTR!
DK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 5, 2013

Flattering and comfortable sheath dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a work event. Modest enough to be professional with a great retro pattern and fit for some flair. The material was moderate weight, definitely warm enough for cold Chicago nights in March.
Flavia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2013

Perfect fit, classy and fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I could NOT have asked for a better dress. I wore it to my boyfriends graduation, where I'd be meeting his parents for the first time, so I needed something that was tasteful but still represented my personality. This dress was it. I'm usually a size 4 but I found that going down to a 2 was much more flattering, since the material is a bit thick and can look bulky in some areas. I'm so glad I got the size down because the 2 fit like a glove, especially at the waist and bust (which I was worried about). Got so many compliments on it, I wish I could keep it! (Also, this was my first rental) Definitely recommend!
Deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

I love this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner, and I felt great in it! The material is a thick cotton, so it was a little more casual than it looks in the pictures. I loved the fit though, and got tons of compliments. I'm definitely going rent this dress again in the future!
Lizzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 3, 2013

Very retro 1960's style.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was true to size. The fabric was bit heavier than I expect but it worked out well since the wedding was outside and very chilly! I loved the pockets and would recommend for a winter or fall event.
kaleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

Patterns & Pockets!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is great for a formal affair or a wedding. I wore it to both my engagement party, paired with black heels and to a daytime wedding, paired with summery accessories. The dress material is rich and expensive looking. It's a bit on the thicker side, but still looked great on two very hot summer days in August. The cut is very very fitted on the top (be careful if you are busty or have a wide rib cage) and then looser around the hips, which makes it totally flattering. My waist was accentuated and the less fitted skirt was very flattering. Also, this dress has an interesting pattern which really pops in photos. All in all, a great dress - classy and modern!
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding in Greenwich CT last week. As other reviews note it is heavy material so looks a little more formal. I rented the 2 and 4 and was able to fit into the 2. It is definitely tight and slimming in the waist and up area. It has pockets -- unpopular opinion, I don't love pockets; their practicality is overrated and they tend just to add a lot of fabric in the hip area unnecessarily. The black in it makes it easy to match. You can undo the button at the top to make it a little less formal / conservative. Overall I liked this dress and would rent again.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

I loved the detailing on the dress but the pockets combined with my curvy figure made me look larger

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I actually really loved this dress and got many compliments. However, especially in photographs the pockets made me look bigger in my hips. I had a back up in a size 2 but it was entirely too tight in the chest even without a bra. If you,re curvy like me just be careful by either getting a back up size or give yourself enough time to get another dress shipped over night.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Comfy, professional, fun

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was a great dress for a client dinner where I didn't want to be too buttoned-up (at Southfork Ranch from "Dallas" - see photo). I'm standing in a way that makes it look "pooched" in front -- that's me; not the dress! The dress was very flattering, comfortable, and cute. The keyhole neck is fun but not too revealing. The 8 was a bit loose (comfy for dancing). Material is heavy ponte so it doesn't tug anywhere. Would rent again.
Michaela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

Perfect for a fall, "garden party" wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sorry I didn't get a better picture...but the dress was a hit! The colorful pattern makes it stand out, and the quality material is thick enough to keep you warm on a chilly fall evening. It was classy, chic and fit like a glove. Would definitely recommend!
Iris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Beautiful pattern with minor issues

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this dress for a wedding in January and I was pleasantly surprised that the dress is a heavier material. The pattern itself is much darker and pronounced than in the RTR picture but it's beautiful. I wore the 2 but changed into the 4 as my underarms started hurting from the tightness of the dress. I paired the dress with a tangerine cardigan and black tights and heels. Cons Because the dress is heavier and more quilt like, it bunches when you sit down. If I hadn't had black tights on, some folks might have seen my underwear when sitting. The pockets on the side were great but it also made the bottom half of the dress balloon out. This wasn't a huge deal since my hips are small but could make someone with larger hips or a butt seem bottom heavy. I also recommend sizing up since the stiffness of the dress doesn't give much room to move or eat fully without feeling a bit uncomfortable.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Jan 17, 2014

Great dress for dinner at a special restaurant.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Love DVF dresses. This works for any season. I wore it in late summer but it would work in fall/winter with black tights or boots. Comfortable and love the pockets!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

Perfect country club dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I received the dress it smelled heavily of chemicals from what must have been a terrible dry cleaning job. I was surprised because at first glance I didn't recognize the dress. The fabric looked to be curtain fabric. Also the pink in the dress looked brighter than it does when photographed. I received compliments from my family about the dress but didn't get feedback from strangers (which is what I've grown used to when I rent a dress with RTR). I didn't want/ or need a showstopping dress as we were celebrating my Granddaddy's 90th birthday plus I was able to wear this dress again on Sunday for church paired with a black cardigan. Overall I thought this dress hit a happy medium about being formal enough but not too formal either.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

This was my first RTR experience so I was nervous. The dresses came on time and all that I hoped for

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress so much that I want to buy it. You can dress it up with heels or wear it with tights and boots. Diane Von Furstenberg just knows how to make the perfect dresses for women!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 8, 2014

Loved this dress for my bridal shower

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was very comfortable. I wasn't expecting a thicker material and thought it would have more flow. It fit great in all the right places. I received a ton of compliments and overall was very pleased with the dress.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Mar 24, 2014

Great luncheon dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to the anniversary party of a ladies service organization. The fabric is very thick and the dress is lined, so definitely not for warm weather. I wore black pumps and a cardigan, but you could also pair it with tights and boots. It is a very flattering cut! Although the 6 fit it was snug, so I went with the 8 for a longer length and due to the older audience at the event. I received so many compliments and plan on renting this dress again!
Megan Rokicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Wore at my jack & Jill shower and got lots of compliments. But...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress and I loved my first RTR experience overall. I didn't give it 5 stars b/c there was an issue with the zipper where the teeth were missing right where the waist seam was so it was almost impossible to zip. If my fiancé and friend hadn't helped me I never would have gotten it on. It definitely runs a little small in the best, but otherwise had a great fit. I got tons of compliments & it was very comfortable. Some of the dots in the pattern are salmon colored which was not clear from the photo but luckily it still looked good on my pale skin. Fabric is very thick so would not be good for outdoor event in summer but was great for an indoor event in March. Overall a good dress!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Loved wearing this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress! I ordered a 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 6 - like other review have noted, the bust area is a bit tight, but it wasn't too uncomfortable. If you're taller, I'd size up - even though I wore it, the 6 was maybe a tad too short for my liking. I had to very carefully monitor the skirt placement all night! Overall though, I absolutely loved this dress. It's so unique, the keyhole in the front is adorable, and I got so many compliments on the dress. Would definitely rent again!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 27, 2014

Great fit - perfect for a work event or something that requires biz casual.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. It was very flattering and was perfect for a Christening. I wouldn't recommend for a wedding as it's more so for business casual events. I'd definitely rent again though. You can wear it with our without tights, so it' a good year round dress!
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 2, 2014

Great dress for business type event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is true to fit and looks better in person than it does in pictures. The pockets did not bulge and were, actually, a nice touch. I did find the chest was form fitting so go up a size if this is a problem area for you. I wore this to a religious/conservative engagement party and it was well received. I think it's perfect for business parties or conservative events were you want to still be "fun".
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 7, 2014

So many compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is true to size, but I am a DD so it was a little tight on my chest. The fabric of the dress is thick so I wouldn't wear it on a hot day. I wore it on a cool day and was very comfortable.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2014

Great for a birthday dinner and a couples wedding shower!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A great easy dress! The print was fun! The dress fit true to size and made me feel slim. I love DVF
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 14, 2014

Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was such a perfect fit and look for a graduation -- modest cut yet still very figure-flattering. And the pockets are such a fun feature! Got tons of compliments on this one.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
May 17, 2014

Great dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented for a rehearsal dinner. A little heavier fabric than I would normally choose for spring weather but great fit. Forgiving since the fabric is so heavy and there are pockets.
CCO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 29, 2014

Great dress for any party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my engagement party and some engagement photos. It was fantastic. Great fit, looked fabulous, but not just a LBD. Love the keyhole at the neck!
Limor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Comfortable & flattering with pockets!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall, I really liked the dress and had fun wearing it. I rented this dress for my brothers high school graduation in Florida. The material was a bit heavy for summer, being a thick wool, but luckily the graduation was inside in an air conditioned building. The fit is great and the dress is very flattering for curves. The chest area is tight so if you're busty like me, go a size up.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Cute dress and very comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a casual outdoor wedding, it is super cute and very comfortable. Love the pockets! The fabric is a bit heavier than expected but still a great summer dress.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Wedding Shower

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my wedding shower. I loved this dress. I got so many compliments on it, people asked me where they could buy one. The only issue I had was it dug into my armpits a little making it unflattering at certain angles. It was conservative enough for my family and fun enough for my friends. A great party dress. Would definitely recommend and rent again.
Kaitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Very flattering

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for a cool spring day. The material was thicker, so it covered up imperfections. It has pockets, but it definitely doesn't make you look wider. I really liked it!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Beautiful print!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented both the 2 and 4, and based on other DvF dresses I own and have worn, this one runs a little small. Both sizes fit, but the 2 was really tight around the ribcage. I wanted to be comfortable for dinner so I opted to wear the larger size. This print on this dress is adorable, and I loved the thicker, textured fabric. The length was about 4 inches above my knee, so it was perfect for a nice dinner out. I only have one complaint: the dresses I received both looked a bit worn out. One of them had a slight snag in the fabric, and on both dresses the darker colors in the print were noticeably faded (probably from dry cleaning). It might be time to retire this style soon.
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Such a great dress. I received endless compliments all night. My only critique is that it flattened my chest a bit, that said I am a 32F. It wasn't bad though.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Perfect for a country club wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I actually wore the looser-fitting size 4 to work the day before the wedding since it arrived early, and the tighter 2 to the wedding itself. It was perfect - classy, yet sexy. The dress came to just above my knees, would've liked it a little bit shorter, but was still able to keep a little sexiness with the "optional" cleavage! Was fitted in the ribs and looser in the hips for me. Great rental!
Nicole
Age: 34
Jun 28, 2014

I got so many compliments on the style of the dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Loved the pockets.
Kelly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Very cute! Great colors

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was great for a summer wedding. Fit was perfect and the colors are so beautiful in person! Definitely a quality dress! Material is thicker, but still worked well for a late afternoon/early evening wedding.
christina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress definitely fit true to size and I found it to be very flattering. I wore it to my cousin's rehearsal dinner and it was very comfortable and appropriate for the night. One thing to note --- the dress had a very strong dry cleaning smell to it..
RTR Customer
Aug 11, 2014

The compliments!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I don't believe it is acceptable to punish the dress because, I messed up. I usually wear a size 4 or 6-the size 6 was too tight around the ribcage and was uncomfortable. I didn't look at the size chart only the reviews and what I usually wear. My fault. I'm not sure what scent was left on the dress but when I took it out of the bag, it smelt of faint smoke. I guess one downside to renting a dress. But I will rent again!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

My first RTR was a pleasant experience. I will be purchasing again soon!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit was a bit snug around the rib cage and bust area. I am normally a 2 and had to go with a 4 to fit that area. The problem was that the bottom half was a looser fit bc I went a size up. The fabric is heavier and textured, and would not recommend for outdoor summer events. Overall, I felt it was well worth it and had fun with the experience.
Erin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2015

Loved the style

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, I loved the style of this dress and got many compliments!!! It was borderline short - came down to my fingertips - but I felt the high neck balanced out the lack of length. And most dresses are short on me anyway. I wish I had taken a picture of the fabric to show that it is a textured, woven fabric. I really liked it but it was different than I expected. The colors in the fabric are lighter than they appear on the website but they also photograph darker in real life. Personally I felt like it could have been some fading due to dry cleaning but everyone else that saw it loved the colors. Dress fit like a glove but I'd suggest sizing up if you have a bigger bust. A great first RTR dress.
Leandra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 9, 2015

I wore it to work event.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Work
Agree with others, dress runs true to small in the bust but large in the hips. I did like having the pockets. I like the fabric thickness and color. I wore it with a pair of nude pumps.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×