Diane von Furstenberg

Tootsie Dot Dress

$40 rental
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have them seeing spots when you walk in wearing this ultra chic dress by Diane von Furstenberg. Pair with accessories like Gerard Yosca’s Pearl Princess Earrings for a modern ladylike look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor polka dot cotton (100% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with hidden slit and button closure detail. Shift body with hidden front pockets. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

166 reviews

Fit
Small 36
True to Size 118
Large 3
Photos 72
MC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 13, 2014

Worked well for graduation I had in the morning, and wedding I had that afternoon.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was tight in the chest, but I was wearing a size smaller than usual, because RTR didn't have a 4 available. The fabric is very thick- almost tweed-like, but I liked the structure the thickness gave the dress, and it made the dress work well for a day to night events. The bottom had a little bit a bubble shape to the bottom which gave me plenty of room to dance at the reception. I would definitely rent it again- but probably a 4 just to have a little more room up top.
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 14, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit and quality. Fabric was a little heavy but was fine for a September evening wedding in Cali. Retro-feel.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 176 lbs
May 18, 2014

I ordered this dress 2 sizes up and it still didn't fit. Pretty thought...

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Extremely short and way too tight in the hips. This dress is meant for a very thin frame
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2014

Classy, flattering, and comfortable dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
First, as some other reviewers have stated, the dress is made out of a thicker almost twill-like fabric but it was perfect for a cool spring evening wedding. I did find that the bust area was a bit tight, but I just ended up going bra-less and it was perfect. The key hole opening at the bust shows just enough skin to be subtly sexy, but not too much. This is a more modest dress, I could see shorter women getting away with wearing it to business or more formal events, however, for me being 5'10" I felt it would've been too short for me in those situations. I usually run between an 8 and 10, and the 10 fit perfectly! Overall, it was a comfortable and flattering dress and I would definitely rent it again.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014

Compliments All Day!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got this dress to wear on a busy work day with lots of meetings and interacting with people I didn't usually. I also got it to wear out to drinks with girlfriends that night. I received compliments all day from co-workers and then that night both of my friends asked me where I got my dress! Great choice!
Shaina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
May 23, 2014

So I ended up not wearing this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I almost always am a 2 sometimes even a 0 but I hardly could breath once I zipped this dress up. The material really does not give at all, so just be mindful there is no stretch. Overall the dress is fine, but I opted not to wear it since it really didn't do anything for me and decided to go with a backup I had in my closet. The colors were pretty but more muted in person than the vibrant colors they look in the photos. I'd probably opt for one of the other amazing dresses RTR has over this one
Celeste
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

I wore this for an interview. It looked good- but way too short for the occasion.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Slightly large on top- I normally wear a 6, but I wanted a longer length. The dress was the perfect style and the fabric was heavy, but looked great. This dress would be so cute in the winter or fall with tights and boots for a more casual look. Overall, it was fine and worked out for me. I looked good, but I didn't love it.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Jun 10, 2014

loved the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved the dress but unfortunatley wasn't very happy with the sizing. I received my usual size 4 and for my extra I went with the 6. The fitting of the dress wasn't awful but if you have a larger chest like I do, it may be tight. The 4 didn't fit me at all, and the 6 just barely did. I also had some problems with the zipper on the dress as it kept getting stuck in the fabric. All in all, the dress was beautiful and perfect for my afternoon wedding. The material was thick, but not too warm given it being summer.
Kathrine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Comfortable and Beautiful

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I absolutely loved this dress. It accentuated my figure nicely and a I got quite a few compliments it. I ordered the 4 and the 6 thinking the 4 would fit the best. I really didn't notice much of a difference between the two sizes aside from a little (and I mean little) extra room in the stomach and rib area. I ended up wearing the 6 with the thought process I would be eating a lot that day and wanted to be comfortable. The pockets are a great addition and I didn't feel like they made my hips look any wider. Like other reviewers have said, the material is a fairly thick knit. We got a surprise heat wave the day of my bridal shower; 100 degree weather and this dress did not mesh too well. Thankfully we were able to move inside for a portion of the day.
Deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 16, 2014

Great pattern and fabric., easy to wear. Would rent again. Wore it for dressed up business meeting

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Perfect fit for athletic body. Great length...a touch shorter than the knee but appropriate for any business function.
Maryjo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Great fit, great dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fits great and is comfortable. Fabric was a little thicker than I was expecting it to be and therefore was a little warm at the summer wedding I wore it too. The pockets are a nice touch and I received several compliments on this dress.
Cyndie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Fun & professional. Perfect conference or dinner dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Loved the dress but it ran smaller across the chest than I'm accustomed to for this designer. I was only able to wear by unbuttoning the top which caused a slight loss to the dress's charm. If you are larger than a C cup I'd recommend ordering a size up.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

Great dress for dressy occasion where you want to be relaxed.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal dinner, and it was perfect! The fabric is thick as some reviews mentioned, but I think that is a good thing. It hides some of the flaws us ladies want to cover. I could bend over, slouch, and sit comfortably without having to worry about a little gut showing at the wrong time. I was constantly on view and under the camera lens! The pockets are nice, but they are too small to actually carry anything. They don't pucker out at all so it doesn't exaggerate your hips. I rented the size 4 and it fit perfectly. I received a ton of compliments on the dress. It was short enough that it made me feel sexy, but not too short that it was scandalous or I had to worry about leaning over. It hit about mid thigh. I paired it with blue suede high heels for a pop of color!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 17, 2014

Super fun and flirty!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress has a great shape. It was super flattering and the not too short. I would've worn the 10 but it was too tight in the bust. The material is thicker than it looks it in the picture, but I really liked the structure it provided.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Jul 20, 2014

Great Customer Service Experience!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
First of all, let me just say how incredible the customer service is at RTR! I typically wear a 4 or a 6 in almost every dress I've worn. However, when I received the dress I couldn't get into either of the sizes. I have the wonderful problem of having a small waist but a larger bust size. I could zip up the dress only past my waist, but there is NO give in the bust area of this dress. I wrote an email to RTR asking them to send a size 8 and they had it overnighted to me just in time for the wedding rehearsal/dinner I was attending!! That being said, if you have a bigger bust size, I would suggest sizing up. This dress has absolutely no stretch. Another thing to note is that the fabric is pretty heavy. I rented this in July and it was a little too hot for the temp outside. However, I got many compliments on the dress and I would definitely rent again for a fall wedding!
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Fun, Quality Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a retirement party at a museum, so I wanted something conservative, but fun. This was perfect. As other reviewers mentioned, this dress runs TIGHT in the chest. The 4 was a little loose in the waste, but the 2 was too short for my height (the armpits, waste, and hem came up too high on me) and I would have had to smash my chest into the dress and go braless. Ultimately the 4 was fine, since I ate a big dinner afterwards. The fabric is high quality, and the print is peppy. I received lots of compliments, and my sister loved the dress so much, she said she wished she owned it!
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Pretty But Runs Small and Fabric is Thick

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is very cool, but I didn't get to wear it because both sizes were too small. I normally wear a size 0 or 2, and both the 0 and 2 were too small. The website did say to order up a size, but I thought the 2 would be my order-up size. The fabric is very thick, so if I ordered this for another occasion I would probably wait until Fall or Winter and wear it with tights. It is also quite short, even on me and I'm only 5'2."
Lynne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Looked great online, but not in person

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'd rented this dress for a friend's rehearsal dinner, but ended up not wearing it. I'm usually a 12 but had a difficult time getting the zipper past some of the seams in the back of the dress. Also, the black polka dots on the dress were very faded, probably due to extensive dry cleaning, so the dress looked old and worn. Maybe it would have looked better if the peachy-colored polka dots were more prominent. As other reviewers have noted, the fabric is thicker than expected, so I'd recommend this as a fall-only dress.
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Classic Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a formal work dinner with my husband and wanted something a bit conservative but not the typical black dress. It fit the bill. I got both a 6 and an 8 but ended up wearing the 8 since the bust was a bit tight in the 6. The 6 did fit but the 8 was a bit more flattering in the bust. The fabric is a bit heavy which I liked since there was no cling factor. Overall it was a good option for a work dinner. It was not very fancy so I would not have chosen it for a more cocktail type event. Again using RTR was great- dress arrived early and both were in good condition.
Abbie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Very tasteful, yet fun dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
High quality, heavier fabric with a great texture (perfect for early spring wedding). Found the fit to be super flattering; pockets were a great bonus; didn't think they added bulk. Length was perfect; front zipper provided versatility. I opted to leave zipped and wore a peach statement necklace. Great option to wear to a more conservative (church) wedding!
Ames
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

I wore this to my friend's post-wedding brunch and it was very cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the pattern and the fit is flattering! I will definitely rent this again for a Bridal or Baby Shower or another post-wedding brunch.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Getting fancy in Diane Von Furstenberg

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have an exceptionally large rib cage and, because of an long ago accident that cracked a rib, often freak out if something is too constricting in that area. I was worried that this would be too stiff up top but found it very comfortable and it also helped me to maintain good posture all night. It was a little shorter than I expected but that worked out well. I think if the length was any longer it would sway towards a work dress. The fabric is very thick so I would recommend this for an indoor or spring/fall event. Overall, a great dress that I would definitely rent again.
Bell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I need to buy this dress. I loved it and so did everyone else. It's a great day dress and even could have been worn to the office. I definitely recommend it. True to size. Fabric is thick but not in am unflattering way.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Cute--not formal enough for some weddings

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a cute dress, flattering on as well--just not fancy enough for a downtown wedding.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

reminded me of business attire

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
very thick, ihcy not for the summer
M.Mac
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

I got a lot of compliments on wearing the dress, and I was really happy with how well it fit!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'4", so the hem length hit me right at the knee (unlike the model's photo). As a 36DD, a size 12 accommodated my chest just enough without feeling like I would rip the dress. But since there is a slit at the chest, be prepared for people to sneak glances at your cleavage.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 1, 2014

Wasn't able to wear

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I actually wasn't able to wear this dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6 but neither one would zip up past my chest and I'm not a big busted girl. It's made beautifully and the colors are nice. The fabric was a little thick for a summer wedding
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 3, 2014

Tons of compliments! Tad bit too heavy material for summer wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The pattern and shape of the dress is gorgeous and comfortable. The material was pretty heavy and reminded me more of curtains than dress fabric. Still a great dress overall.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

The dress fit perfect, and was great for the wedding venue on the beach! Very preppy :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit really well, nice material, in great condition. Received a ton of compliments, and can't wait for my next RTRT!!
Terri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Fabric heavier than expected.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really enjoyed this dress, but the fabric was heavier that I had expected. I was at a work function and got a bit sweaty. Liked the style and pattern.
ann
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Dress was comfortable and fashionable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fun and colorful. I wore black hosiery and accessorized with silver earrings for a work event.
RTR Customer
Sep 23, 2014

Classic and comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sorry for no pictures - the only one I took was in the midst of packing/moving madness. But this dress is awesome! I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding. The heavy fabric was perfect because it was a chillier day than expected. I paired it with a black short sleeve crop cardigan and nude heels. Ended up wearing the 8 because the 6 was too tight in the waist. But the 8 was too loose into hips. Still a great fit. You don't necessarily need a bra because it is a pretty heavy, right on the top dress. I would definitely rent this dress again. But for another fall, cooler weather event due to the heaviness of the fabric. Such a classic piece!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 24, 2014

Comfortable and easy dress to wear at a wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was comfortable and I received many compliments on it at the wedding I wore it to.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Cute pattern and classic fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress as a backup and did not end up wearing it because I liked the other dress better. I ordered a size 2 and it fit well through the hips but tight in the chest. The pattern is much cuter and more colorful in person and the heavier fabric was nice for the Fall.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 11, 2014

Love the versatility of this dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this at a cocktail party but could have easily worn for a daytime event as well. Nothing like finding a great dress that is not black! I was worried the dress would be tight in the chest as other reviewers had reported but I felt the 8 still was roomy in the bust. The only thing that I noticed was that it slightly pinched the area between my chest and arm but would still rent again. #nothinglikertr #newdress
Morgan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Beautiful, but not what I expected.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
We rented this for my sister to wear to a cocktail party. The fit and cut were great, we're roughly the same height/weight and it fit well on both of us. What had us weirded out was the material. We were expecting something more dressy and its a very thick fabric, rough, almost like canvas. It would've been gorgeous for a dressy business occasion, but it was underwhelming for a cocktail dress. Also, it appears black and white or very pale pink in the photo, it person it has black, white, navy, and pink. Again, very pretty, just not appropriate for the occasion so no one wore it.
Maia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Beautiful, comfy dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked this dress! When I first received it, I wasn't sure if it was going to look that good because I thought the pattern was kind of weird, but once I put it on I really liked it! It's super comfy and looks great.
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

Professional Beauty!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful in person, but was extremely tight in the bust area. The 8 fit great but I couldn't get it zipped over my upper back, so I went with the 10, which was still a little constricting. Overall, great dress, just not the perfect fit for someone chesty.
Ellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

Fun and classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is fun, classy, versatile and comfortable. Fit is very good and is forgiving if you are pear shaped as the skirt is on the looser side while the top is more fitted.
Chelsea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Ended up not wearing it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I sized down based on some reviews for this dress (I am between a 2-4) and it was way too tight on my rib cage but still loose on the hips. The material is heavy as others have said and it has a bell shaped skirt so this might work for some but was not what I needed.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×