Diane von Furstenberg

Tootsie Dot Dress

$30 – $40 rental ?
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have them seeing spots when you walk in wearing this ultra chic dress by Diane von Furstenberg. Pair with accessories like Gerard Yosca’s Pearl Princess Earrings for a modern ladylike look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor polka dot cotton (100% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with hidden slit and button closure detail. Shift body with hidden front pockets. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

173 reviews

Fit
Small 37
True to Size 120
Large 3
Photos 74
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

Great, comfortable dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I initially tried this dress on at the RTR pop-up shop near me, then rented for eater weekend. Other than the fact that it was a little snug in the bust area, it was really comfortable. The material is textured and a little thicker, which made it a good choice for a cool March weekend. I LOVED the pockets in this dress - I think they make the dress really versatile in terms of formality and really comfortable. I would definitely recommend this DVF - I would totally buy it for myself if I could find it!
Katy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 29, 2013

Cute dress with a 70's flair-- I received compliments all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a banquet and was not disappointed! The bust runs tight, so you need to wear a push up bra to fight that or size up. The waist makes you look skinny! Very flattering dress. I love DVF & RTR!
DK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 5, 2013

Flattering and comfortable sheath dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a work event. Modest enough to be professional with a great retro pattern and fit for some flair. The material was moderate weight, definitely warm enough for cold Chicago nights in March.
Flavia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2013

Perfect fit, classy and fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I could NOT have asked for a better dress. I wore it to my boyfriends graduation, where I'd be meeting his parents for the first time, so I needed something that was tasteful but still represented my personality. This dress was it. I'm usually a size 4 but I found that going down to a 2 was much more flattering, since the material is a bit thick and can look bulky in some areas. I'm so glad I got the size down because the 2 fit like a glove, especially at the waist and bust (which I was worried about). Got so many compliments on it, I wish I could keep it! (Also, this was my first rental) Definitely recommend!
Deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

I love this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner, and I felt great in it! The material is a thick cotton, so it was a little more casual than it looks in the pictures. I loved the fit though, and got tons of compliments. I'm definitely going rent this dress again in the future!
Lizzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 3, 2013

Very retro 1960's style.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was true to size. The fabric was bit heavier than I expect but it worked out well since the wedding was outside and very chilly! I loved the pockets and would recommend for a winter or fall event.
kaleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

Patterns & Pockets!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is great for a formal affair or a wedding. I wore it to both my engagement party, paired with black heels and to a daytime wedding, paired with summery accessories. The dress material is rich and expensive looking. It's a bit on the thicker side, but still looked great on two very hot summer days in August. The cut is very very fitted on the top (be careful if you are busty or have a wide rib cage) and then looser around the hips, which makes it totally flattering. My waist was accentuated and the less fitted skirt was very flattering. Also, this dress has an interesting pattern which really pops in photos. All in all, a great dress - classy and modern!
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding in Greenwich CT last week. As other reviews note it is heavy material so looks a little more formal. I rented the 2 and 4 and was able to fit into the 2. It is definitely tight and slimming in the waist and up area. It has pockets -- unpopular opinion, I don't love pockets; their practicality is overrated and they tend just to add a lot of fabric in the hip area unnecessarily. The black in it makes it easy to match. You can undo the button at the top to make it a little less formal / conservative. Overall I liked this dress and would rent again.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

I loved the detailing on the dress but the pockets combined with my curvy figure made me look larger

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I actually really loved this dress and got many compliments. However, especially in photographs the pockets made me look bigger in my hips. I had a back up in a size 2 but it was entirely too tight in the chest even without a bra. If you,re curvy like me just be careful by either getting a back up size or give yourself enough time to get another dress shipped over night.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Comfy, professional, fun

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was a great dress for a client dinner where I didn't want to be too buttoned-up (at Southfork Ranch from "Dallas" - see photo). I'm standing in a way that makes it look "pooched" in front -- that's me; not the dress! The dress was very flattering, comfortable, and cute. The keyhole neck is fun but not too revealing. The 8 was a bit loose (comfy for dancing). Material is heavy ponte so it doesn't tug anywhere. Would rent again.
Michaela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

Perfect for a fall, "garden party" wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sorry I didn't get a better picture...but the dress was a hit! The colorful pattern makes it stand out, and the quality material is thick enough to keep you warm on a chilly fall evening. It was classy, chic and fit like a glove. Would definitely recommend!
Iris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Beautiful pattern with minor issues

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this dress for a wedding in January and I was pleasantly surprised that the dress is a heavier material. The pattern itself is much darker and pronounced than in the RTR picture but it's beautiful. I wore the 2 but changed into the 4 as my underarms started hurting from the tightness of the dress. I paired the dress with a tangerine cardigan and black tights and heels. Cons Because the dress is heavier and more quilt like, it bunches when you sit down. If I hadn't had black tights on, some folks might have seen my underwear when sitting. The pockets on the side were great but it also made the bottom half of the dress balloon out. This wasn't a huge deal since my hips are small but could make someone with larger hips or a butt seem bottom heavy. I also recommend sizing up since the stiffness of the dress doesn't give much room to move or eat fully without feeling a bit uncomfortable.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Jan 17, 2014

Great dress for dinner at a special restaurant.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Love DVF dresses. This works for any season. I wore it in late summer but it would work in fall/winter with black tights or boots. Comfortable and love the pockets!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

Perfect country club dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I received the dress it smelled heavily of chemicals from what must have been a terrible dry cleaning job. I was surprised because at first glance I didn't recognize the dress. The fabric looked to be curtain fabric. Also the pink in the dress looked brighter than it does when photographed. I received compliments from my family about the dress but didn't get feedback from strangers (which is what I've grown used to when I rent a dress with RTR). I didn't want/ or need a showstopping dress as we were celebrating my Granddaddy's 90th birthday plus I was able to wear this dress again on Sunday for church paired with a black cardigan. Overall I thought this dress hit a happy medium about being formal enough but not too formal either.
Heather
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

This was my first RTR experience so I was nervous. The dresses came on time and all that I hoped for

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress so much that I want to buy it. You can dress it up with heels or wear it with tights and boots. Diane Von Furstenberg just knows how to make the perfect dresses for women!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 8, 2014

Loved this dress for my bridal shower

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was very comfortable. I wasn't expecting a thicker material and thought it would have more flow. It fit great in all the right places. I received a ton of compliments and overall was very pleased with the dress.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Mar 24, 2014

Great luncheon dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to the anniversary party of a ladies service organization. The fabric is very thick and the dress is lined, so definitely not for warm weather. I wore black pumps and a cardigan, but you could also pair it with tights and boots. It is a very flattering cut! Although the 6 fit it was snug, so I went with the 8 for a longer length and due to the older audience at the event. I received so many compliments and plan on renting this dress again!
Megan Rokicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Wore at my jack & Jill shower and got lots of compliments. But...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress and I loved my first RTR experience overall. I didn't give it 5 stars b/c there was an issue with the zipper where the teeth were missing right where the waist seam was so it was almost impossible to zip. If my fiancé and friend hadn't helped me I never would have gotten it on. It definitely runs a little small in the best, but otherwise had a great fit. I got tons of compliments & it was very comfortable. Some of the dots in the pattern are salmon colored which was not clear from the photo but luckily it still looked good on my pale skin. Fabric is very thick so would not be good for outdoor event in summer but was great for an indoor event in March. Overall a good dress!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Loved wearing this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress! I ordered a 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 6 - like other review have noted, the bust area is a bit tight, but it wasn't too uncomfortable. If you're taller, I'd size up - even though I wore it, the 6 was maybe a tad too short for my liking. I had to very carefully monitor the skirt placement all night! Overall though, I absolutely loved this dress. It's so unique, the keyhole in the front is adorable, and I got so many compliments on the dress. Would definitely rent again!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 27, 2014

Great fit - perfect for a work event or something that requires biz casual.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. It was very flattering and was perfect for a Christening. I wouldn't recommend for a wedding as it's more so for business casual events. I'd definitely rent again though. You can wear it with our without tights, so it' a good year round dress!
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 2, 2014

Great dress for business type event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is true to fit and looks better in person than it does in pictures. The pockets did not bulge and were, actually, a nice touch. I did find the chest was form fitting so go up a size if this is a problem area for you. I wore this to a religious/conservative engagement party and it was well received. I think it's perfect for business parties or conservative events were you want to still be "fun".
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2014

Great for a birthday dinner and a couples wedding shower!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A great easy dress! The print was fun! The dress fit true to size and made me feel slim. I love DVF
Deja
Age: 24
Dec 8, 2014

Even though my back up dress was unavailable in the size I asked for, they sent something similar!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Worn for a baby shower and it was perfect for the day.The fit was perfect but was a little shorter than I expected, but wasn't too bad. Got lots of compliments. Unable to take photos because I forgot my phone :(
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is really thick and heavy... I wore it in Florida for a fall wedding but luckily didn't get too overheated. It looked amazing and it fit in well to work between the "casual" and "cocktail" dress code.
Sayaka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Good fit, ok fabric and color

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was nice, but the fabric was really thick and kind of like a old tweed. There are pink dots on here as well that didn't work with my skin tone. Not quite the holiday party dress.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
Wore this to a baptism and it was perfect for the occasion.
BL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Very comfortable and flattering

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really nice quality dress. Easy to wear and style. Would rent again.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Well made, very pretty, lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful, somewhat casual. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner, I did feel it was a bit short for my height (5'8") standing up was fine, but when I saw down and had to scoot over in a car, I'm afraid I showed a little too much to my boyfriend's grandmother. I'm not sure this dress would work for someone with a bust. I have none and it was a bit tight. Overall, I really liked the dress and would rent it again.
AR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jan 10, 2015

Fun dress for maid-of-honor at rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a fitted, heavy material, and reached above the knee on me. It was very comfortable to wear.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Not exactly what I expected

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I chose this dress for a free RTR Pro birthday rental and it was just fine. Definitely check the DVF size chart, because it runs a bit smaller than some other brands - but I did find it to be accurate. The 4 fit as well (more snugly), but since I was going to my birthday dinner I wanted to have plenty of room to enjoy dessert. When I say it wasn't what I expected, I didn't anticipate the fabric being almost like a weighty upholstery. Also, the colors are fairly muted. This was definitely not my favorite rental, but it was free... so I would say it was worth what I paid for it. I'd recommend it for a work conference or something since it's pretty conservative and still comfortable.
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

The dress was good quality,

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size. The 2 fit me like a glove but had to end up wearing the 4 because the zipper broke on the 2. :( The dress was beautiful well made quality however it had a plastic smell to it.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 10, 2015

Perfect for winter bridal shower!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
The 4 and the 6 fit but since there's no stretch to the material, the 6 was more comfortable. I wore it with tights and booties and the material was warmer than typical dress material. Loved it!
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Casual, cool, comfy, pretty!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress. I wanted to wear something that was more on the casual side so I could match it with my navy boots and this worked perfectly for that. The dress was not too short, which is a problem I usually run into being 5'10. GREAT dress.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Favorite rental so far!! Loved this dress!! Didn't want to send it back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

I am 5'7", it was a little too short but would look fine if worn with dark tights.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
structured / thick material. but felt more like a "work" dress than a party dress.
Amanda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 5, 2015

Fabric is too thick and makes the zipper tough!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Rented this for a date night - I normally wear a 10 and *might* have fit in a 12... If it's at all snug, you won't be able to zip because the fabric is so thick and heavy!
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 9, 2015

Perfect Fit!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I love the color, the fit, and of course the pockets! This is a great dress for a day event or a business event too.
Sandra
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

Loved the dress! It has pockets!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress looked great with some blue heels. I have a rather large bust (36DDD), so it was very snug in the chest. I had to get help to zip it up. Also, I have a petite figure which caused the shoulders to be large. However, the dress did show off my hourglass figure perfectly.
Melissa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Rented this dress for my cousins bridal shower. Perfect dress for a shower, loved the pockets!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Really cute dress. Material is a little heavy - perfect for a winter or early spring event. Good length for someone who is 5'4". I rented both the size 0 and size 2. Both fit but I went with the 2 because it gave me a little more room under my arm pits and in the bust area.
Katie
Age: 26
Mar 23, 2015

Lots of compliments !

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Ran a little tight in the bust , but not too bad . Definitely well-made. The material is actually more like a tweed. Everyone loved it !
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×