Tootsie Dot Dress

$40 rental
$325 retail
Stylist Notes

Have them seeing spots when you walk in wearing this ultra chic dress by Diane von Furstenberg.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multi-color polka dot cotton (100% Cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with hidden slit and button closure detail. Sheath bodice. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
305 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(173)
Small
(62)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 14, 2016
Wedding rehearsal dinner dress

I am 2 months post-partum and I thought this dress was very flattering. Does not accentuate "problem areas." The pattern is a pretty light blue, pink and black so almost any shoe and jewelry combination would work. I think this dress would work well in a professional setting but I also felt pretty at a party.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 15, 2016
Loved the fabric

Wore this for a night out with the girls. Felt classy in this dress. The fabric was thick and pockets were a great touch.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 17, 2016
Great pattern, fun dress but a little faded

I wore this to a high school reunion and it was perfect for the event. As others have noted it is a thick fabric and runs small so I sized up. I love the pattern, the shape, and pockets. The only 2 issues were that it looks faded, the black dots are almost gray... And it stunk from the dry cleaning. Those were the only reasons I didn't give it 5 stars

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
July 21, 2016
Great

Comfortable to wear. Very flattering.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 8, 2016
Beautiful dress!

Fit was great nice heavy fabric. Didn't end up wearing it only because the other dress was a better choice but loved it nevertheless!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2016
Overall I liked the dress

I did like this dress but it wasn't quite what I expected. I normally wear an 8 but could have used a 10. Fit a little snug on ribs and chest ( I am a 36D). Material is tweed like so not as much wiggle room as other fabrics.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 10, 2016
Quality fabric and cut

It fit everywhere but my bust. I should have sized up to 6. I will definitely rent this again - really wanted to wear it. It couldn't zip up past bust line. Fabric has no stretch.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 13, 2016
Great classic dress!

Loved this dress! The thick fabric is very flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2017
Classy DVF dress

I rented this for my sons baptism and it was perfect. A classy, timeless DVF dress. I wore a little black blazer on top during the mass of church and it looked great. It's a heavier material dress, so it was perfect for a cool October day. Highly recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 17, 2017
Great fit, great fabric

Fantastic fit. Flattering but conservative

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2017
8 fit but 10 more comfortable

I'm usually an 8 but this ran a bit small. Not my favorite but good for the morning PR event I attended.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 18, 2017
Great dress, but not a lot of give.

Dress was a bit snug through the chest, but otherwise fit great. Perfect length and just a bit of cleavage (only bc of the tight fit). Great dress and would rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 1, 2017
Loved the print in person

The length difference between the 4 and the 6 was pretty drastic. The 4 was too short and too small. It wouldn't even zip over my chest (34DD). I'm usually a 4 so if you're busty I'd definitely size up. Even in the 6 the chest was tight. But the fabric and print are great in person and the pockets made it

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 13, 2017
Okay dress.

Despite the great pattern, found the tweed and Material to be a little run-of-the-mill. Awesome fit, if tweed is your thing you'll love the dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2017
Charity dinner

Very comfortable fabric. Fit great and loved the pockets. Liked the thicker fabric so I wasn't cold all night (but doesn't make you too warm either)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2017
Great dress to transition from work to dinner out

Office appropriate style but a little on short side so I wore with flats and a cardigan and then paired with low heels for dinner out. DVF so far seems to be consistently TTS for me. Nice tailoring. Fabric was a bit heavy but worked for what I needed. A little tight in bodice but not so much that I was uncomfortable wearing it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 26, 2017
Great pattern, small in the chest

I really liked the pattern, but the fit was a little small in the chest. Not to the point I had to size up, but enough to probably prevent me from renting again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2017
LOVE!

one of the only RTR dresses I've actually ordered twice! super cute for work with a navy blazer and nude heels. I always get compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 21, 2017
Classic style

I wore this to my cousin's baby shower (excuse the boots-this was pre-party leg warm up!). It is snug, the fabric isn't stretchy, and true to size, so if you're in between sizes definitely size up. Length was great, even for being 5'4. Zipper, of course, was an issue.. loved the pockets! One of my favorite dresses!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 31, 2017
Fun pattern, great fit

Loved the thick fabric and the pockets! It is a very flattering cut and style!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 2, 2017
Cute dress good for work or going out!

I wore this dress to work although I think it's Pretty versatile and could be worn on a night out as well. Great fit. It is quite short if you are tall so be aware if you do wear it for work. It has cool pockets which I love! Will rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 2, 2017
Love this dress- will rent again

This dress was great. The colors are better in person and being short the length was perfect. The 8 was a little bit tight in the bust so I would size up to a 10 next time. Pockets!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
February 26, 2018
Flattering!

I wore this to a birthday brunch in Feb. The material is heavier, so perfect for a California "winter". I loved the pockets!! I was definitley between the 6 and 8 and chose to wear the 6 as it made my waist look small. Very comfortable

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
April 13, 2018
Great fit for small chests, amazing fabric & pockets but too short for work

I LOVED the fabric which is thick and comfortable! The cut for me was so well done I felt like I was wearing a tailored dress. I am a 34A and the little cut out laid perfectly, you could not see any cleavage. It was classy. If my boobs were any bigger though, I don't think it would have worked as well. There is no give in the fabric but the waist was a perfect fit so I didn't mind. And yay pockets! I wore this to work so it meant my phone had a perfect place to be. The ONLY downside for me was the length. I am a pretty conservative person at a conservative company and it was too short for my liking. I felt self conscious especially when I sat down. Pairing it with a navy blue jacket gave it a more professional feel despite the short length. The colors are perfect for my complexion. I would own this dress and rent again in spring and summer!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2018
Perfect for an outdoor, spring bridal shower!

True to size, I wore a 6. Not too short, loved the texture. Shows a little cleavage but conservative with the top button. My favorite part about this dress...of course the pockets!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2013
Perfect fit, classy and fun!

I could NOT have asked for a better dress. I wore it to my boyfriends graduation, where I'd be meeting his parents for the first time, so I needed something that was tasteful but still represented my personality. This dress was it. I'm usually a size 4 but I found that going down to a 2 was much more flattering, since the material is a bit thick and can look bulky in some areas. I'm so glad I got the size down because the 2 fit like a glove, especially at the waist and bust (which I was worried about). Got so many compliments on it, I wish I could keep it! (Also, this was my first rental) Definitely recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2013
Made my night!

This dress was the perfect dress for the wedding I attended in Connecticut. It was chilly, but the fabric stood up really well in the cold. My husband even admitted that he wished I could keep this dress. It was classy and gorgeous. The 8 was comfortable but I wish I would have tried the 6 for a little tighter fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 19, 2014
reminded me of business attire

very thick, ihcy not for the summer

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 9, 2015
I wore it to work event.

Agree with others, dress runs true to small in the bust but large in the hips. I did like having the pockets. I like the fabric thickness and color. I wore it with a pair of nude pumps.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 23, 2015
Perfect for work

I rented this dress for a conference for work and not only was it comfortable, I received a number of compliments. I ended up wearing the smaller of the two sizes I rented. My only complaints would be that the material is much thicker than I expected and that the fabric seemed to retain the smell from the drycleaning. Loved that it had pockets.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 29, 2013
Cute dress with a 70's flair-- I received compliments all night!

I rented this dress for a banquet and was not disappointed! The bust runs tight, so you need to wear a push up bra to fight that or size up. The waist makes you look skinny! Very flattering dress. I love DVF & RTR!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
June 26, 2013
Cute Retro look!

Loved the look of this dress and got tons of compliments, I don't think it photographs as well. The top runs very small, I ordered a 4 and 6 and had to go up to accommodate my bust, which was basically smashed to my collar bone in the 4 (but otherwise fit every where). Its a great fabric, and suitable for a lot of occasions!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 24, 2013
Thick and Hot

I rented this for a summer wedding, but could not wear it. It runs very small, and the material is really thick and upholstery-like.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 2, 2013
I loved the detailing on the dress but the pockets combined with my curvy figure made me look larger

I actually really loved this dress and got many compliments. However, especially in photographs the pockets made me look bigger in my hips. I had a back up in a size 2 but it was entirely too tight in the chest even without a bra. If you,re curvy like me just be careful by either getting a back up size or give yourself enough time to get another dress shipped over night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2013
The dress was beautiful but it did not fit.

When renting this dress keep in mind that the tightest part of this dress is the waistline. The previous comments stated its the chest area but that is incorrect. Good luck!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2013
Fantastic Dress!

I rented this to wear to a rehearsal dinner & wound up wearing it to go on a date the night before too! This is a great dress. Flattering fit & cute print. I wore it with gladiator sandals & fun earrings.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 4, 2014
This dress was my backup but it should have been my first selection

This dress was warm for winter and looked so cute with some knee high brown boots. Everyone complimented it all evening and I was fashionable even during a chilly Denver night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2014
Meeting the parents in style!

I wore this dress to a wedding where I met my bf's parents for the first time. The dress got rave reviews. The length and fabric were very classy/appropriate, but the color/fit/keyhole at the top added the right amount of sexy. It was also comfortable for dancing during the reception, with no need to skip the cake.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 30, 2014
Wore at my jack & Jill shower and got lots of compliments. But...

I really liked this dress and I loved my first RTR experience overall. I didn't give it 5 stars b/c there was an issue with the zipper where the teeth were missing right where the waist seam was so it was almost impossible to zip. If my fiancé and friend hadn't helped me I never would have gotten it on. It definitely runs a little small in the best, but otherwise had a great fit. I got tons of compliments & it was very comfortable. Some of the dots in the pattern are salmon colored which was not clear from the photo but luckily it still looked good on my pale skin. Fabric is very thick so would not be good for outdoor event in summer but was great for an indoor event in March. Overall a good dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 8, 2014
Loved the dress. Very comfortable and classy. Lots of compliments!

Runs small in the chest. Loved the pockets and thick material. Would rent again.

See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×