Pebble Illusion Dress

$90 – $100 rental
$598 retail
Stylist Notes

So runway chic! This Diane von Furstenberg pebble print sheath is beyond words. Earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Ruby Red Drops are the final piece to this fashion puzzle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Lace (51% Viscose, 49% Polyamide lining, 97% Polyester, 3% Spandex). Long Sleeves. Mock neck. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 42” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
122 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2013
many compliments
many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 26, 2013
Stunning on! Was noticed and regarded as the Belle of the Ball! Flawless! Def Rich and Famous!
Fit well however the line in back moved about all night! Slip showed all night! Could have worn the 8 or the 10 however the 8 had a huge hole down the side. The 10 had a small hole on the arm which I masked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 30, 2013
The dress is great quality and arrived in perfect condition.
Unfortunately, the shape of the dress just did not sit well on my body. The 4 was extremely fitted but there is not much give so any movement made me feel like I might bust out. The 6 fit more comfortably where the 4 was too tight - hips/bust - but was much too loose around my waist/lower back. The length was PERFECT for my height so it was disappointing that when I walked around a bit the dress rode up slightly (may have been because of the poor fit on me). Overall, the dress is great and I would recommend it for someone more inclined to be comfortable in a fitted dress with limited range of motion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 1, 2014
The dress it like a glove!
Pro: Youll look amazing in it, it shows all your curves Con: NOne!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2014
First RTR experience was perfect.
Dress was well made. I thought it was more grey but it was a black lace over an ivory slip. The sleeves are tight unless you have pencil arms. The dress length and arm length was perfect and the cut was very flattering. I received the dress early, it was in perfect condition, and I will be using RTR for my next event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
January 23, 2014
The design is very tasteful and flattering to hug any body type!
I loved this dress, it was very flattering on me although my waist is a little slimmer than my hips so it fit a bit loose there but other than that it fit pretty well! Overall loved the dress and the long sleeve on it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 20, 2014
I looked fabulous...no one else had this dress....and three women stopped to say how stunning it was
it is a form fitting dress...so no lumps or bumps...wear your spanx...the sleeves are tight, but I have thin toned arms so it was not an issue. if you have "plumper" arms...maybe not for you. the dress is comfortable and easy to move it...you don't feel like a stuffed sausage...I ordered the 6 and 8....I am 5' 8" and weigh 130 lbs. the 6 was perfect...the 8 was huge.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
February 22, 2014
I loved the dress, runs a little small and doesn't stretch, also a little too long for me.
Runs small, a little too long other than that very sexy dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
February 24, 2014
The look on my husband's face when he saw me in the dress was unforgettable!
Fits like a glove. I was expecting a print fabric but the design is actually from the lace overlay. Still a lovely dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 18, 2014
Sexy dress that hugs the curves
Overall, amazing dress! I run between a size 10-12. Would have liked to have worn the 10, but it was in a little rough shape (some snags and underslip hem undone), but this way I was super comfy all evening. This dress shows off all the curves in all the best ways. Underslip could drop below hemline, but totally fixed with fashion tape affixing to "spanx slip". Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 2, 2014
LOVE this dress! Super simple, very flattering, super sexy with out being 'hootchie'.
This is a style that works best on tall, athletic shapes. The fabric is thin and the fit snug so unless you want to be sucking in your stomach all night - do your crunches before renting! The arms are also on the snug side so if you are VERY muscular or bigger in the arm this dress won't work. The fabric is a sort of pebble-lace design which adds interest but not overly patterned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
April 18, 2014
A barrage of compliments
I wasn't prepared for all the compliments i rec'd on this dress! I picked it because it covered me from my neck to my knees, needing modesty for a corporate evening event. However it is also fashionably form-fitting (w/o being overtly sexy) and it was obviously a hit judging from all the positive feedback. The size 4 fit well except around the neck which had to be pinned tighter to keep it from sagging. It is true the sleeves could be tight if your arms aren't small but this wasn't an issue i had. The dress was a thin material, was comfortable, and didn't wrinkle even after being seated for several hours. I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
April 28, 2014
Liked the dress but did not wear it. Fit not great on me.
I usually wear a medium. But this dress I needed a large. It was tight in the shoulders and the zipper buckled in the back and would not lay down. I am hourglass and maybe if I did not have the curves it would have layed down properly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
June 26, 2014
Fabulous
this dress fit like a dream. Had to wear the smaller back up dress due to the Med had a hole in the sleeve that couldn't be hidden, but worked out. Unique design,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2013
My first rental-Loved it! Classy chic
This was my first rental. VERY happy! Runs true to size. I read it was tight in the arms, so even thought I wear normally a 2 or 4, I reserved the 4&6. The 4 fit like a glove. Many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
June 17, 2014
The pattern
Great fit
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2014
It was an amazing dress! Got tons of compliments and fits perfectly! Would highly recommend!
Great dress for any affair! Not too tight and very comfortable especially for a taller female!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 2, 2014
I got so many complements. It was comfortable and had the wow factor. Love this dress.
Fits tight but has some give.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 4, 2014
Eh..if it weren't for the arms...
The dress is definitely beautiful and unique...however, as others have mentioned - the arms have zero stretch. I have an athletic build so my arms are not skinny - unfortunately, I had to return the dress. Even going a size up didn't help.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
November 20, 2014
Conservative show-stopper!
After a minor mishap with my original order, I worked via online chat with Melanie R. at RTR to find a new dress. She was so very helpful and offered many wonderful suggestions for a replacement. Based on what I told her I was looking for, we decided that this was the dress for me, and I definitely did not feel like I "settled." I can usually wear a 10 (and on rare occasions, an 8), but the 12 was the only size available on such short notice. While there was a little bit of extra fabric around the middle, it was something only I noticed. I loved this dress. It looked great and felt so nice, and the length was exactly how it's pictured. My husband said I looked "fantastic!" We had to stand for 30-45 minutes while people walked through a receiving line and shook our hands, and I never felt the need to adjust my dress -- and that's aways a good thing! I'm actually glad I ended up with the 12 after reading comments from others that the arms were tight because I felt comfortable all evening. The slip showed a little while I was seated, but I don't think it's a big deal.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2014
.
Spanx worthy dress. Loved it. All comments here are right on regarding the slip lining;.Shows below the hem. So annoying. I taped it up all around. Problem solved. Still, it's crazy DVF would have designed such a flaw. Overall, great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2014
Wanted to like it more, but didn't
Took a risk and tried this one, but chose not to wear it because I didn't like the "snake-like" look of the pattern on me. Also was a little creeped out with the Morticia-like sleeves. Thought it looked great on others, just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2014
Flattering classy and sexy
Def would have worn the 10. The 12 was too big especially around the neck and back. You will not be raising the roof in this dress because the shoulders don't have too much give. But if was flattering and classy sexy. The slip did show when I sat but it didn't matter. I was covering some extra weight and it helped! I looked great in person and in photos.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 5, 2015
It was a great party, pretty dress got a lot of compliments. It was a bit tight for me.
It was tight, i felt as though my stomach and butt were out for the world to see. I still did get a lot of compliments, its a beautiful dress made well. I wish I had ordered the 4 and 6 to try on, not the 2 and 4, but usually I am a 2. At the same time, it was such a different dress, not something you see on most people.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
March 16, 2015
Amazing! The most beautiful dress
Perfectly fitted dress. Prettier in person than in photographs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2015
Sophisticated lace and wow-factor
DVF size 6 always fits me dead on which made this dress extra flattering. As others have said, the arms do run small. That worked well for me but ladies with muscular arms take note. Minus one star because the slip shows at the hem unless you tackle it with fashion tape. I skimmed past the details and originally thought the dress had a graphic print. It's actually gorgeous lace detailing, which creates a polished, elegant look. Combined with the tailored silhouette it's quite a high impact piece. It was definitely a head turner and perfect for my date to the Symphony!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2015
Cool dress
I love this dress and it fit like a glove. Like I read in others reviews the arms were a little tight for my muscles!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 8, 2015
.This was a great dress to wear to a local charity fundraiser
I normally would have worn the size zero, but I sized up to get more room in my sleeves - if you work your arms out, I'd recommend you do the same.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 25, 2015
loved the dress.
Wore it for my birthday dinner. Runs small around the arms. Not much stretch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2015
My fav RTR dress ever!
If you have curves, you'll be a show stopper in this dress. I usually wear an 8 or 10, but I sized up to a 12, because of the reviews. I didn't find the sleeves to be very tight, and I'm actually someone who is very self conscious about my arms. Im a 34DDD, so I knew anything form fitting would require a larger size as well. The dress was comfortable and I danced all night in it! This was my favorite dress I've ever rented and it looks amazing! The pics do it no justice!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 24, 2015
Amazing dress!
This dress is definitely prettier in person. The lace is delicate and intricate. I needed a dress that was fun, but still fairly conservative - this fit the bill. I wore the 12, but I could have gotten away with the 10. Great fit and pretty forgiving, the pattern sort of "blurs" any problem areas. I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
November 26, 2015
I definitely needed a smaller size- unlimited selected this size for me
Great designer, fits a little bigger in the lower back than I would have liked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 13, 2016
Pebbles = Lace
I thought this dress would be textured since it was called "pebbles" but is really this beautiful lace instead. Was surprised but a great dress and very pretty. Sexy although covered.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 3, 2016
Beautiful dress
I rented a 6 based on reviews but should have gotten my normal size of a 4 because it was a little big on me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 16, 2016
Felt like a million bucks! The look on my BF's face was worth it ALL!!
It's a BAD picture. It looks twisted & tight, but it was not. This dress was extremely comfortable. I took the advice in the other reviews as the sleeves run tight and my upper arms run big. So I went with the 8, even thought the 6 probably would have fit. I also did have to tape up the lining as it runs past the dress itself. Like other reviewers have said, you can't tell from the picture, but the dress is a beautiful lace, not polka dots. I was turning heads in AC all night! This one is a winner.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 26, 2016
Absolutely Gorgeous!
This is a really tight fitting dress. The sleeves are VERY tight. I had to ask for a replacement, as the dress I go has a ripped elbow - which is understandable. But it is a stunning dress. I got so many compliments, even got told I looked like a model in it. Maybe a little tight for work, but great for a party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2016
.
fits true to size everywhere else except the arms, and i have tiny arms with no muscles and i felt like they might break through the delicate lace any moment. Still loved this dress though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2016
Fit a little odd
I sized up because other reviewers mentioned that the arms were tight and the dress is not stretchy. It ended up being too snug around the chest (I'm at 34D), too big around the waist, and okay in the rear. The arms were very tight, even in the 10. Not a good dancing dress, but fine for an evening at the ballet. It arrived too late for my event so unfortunately, I didn't get a chance to wear it. Note that as many others have said, the slip is WAY too long - hangs out a good two inches. It also looked like mine had been hemmed and re-hemmed, and there were strings hanging out all over the place. The dress is STUNNING, but the odd fit and slip problem make it a 4 start for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
February 17, 2016
na
na
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
March 4, 2016
fany dress for work. The length was longer than i thought. Great for work and night out
snug fit --- the neck line was shorter did not feel like a turtleneck.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×