Magnetic Attraction Dress

$40 rental
$698 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Shimmer and shine in this beaded bombshell dress by Diane Von Furstenberg. Add a clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this head turning mini.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with silver beading (90% cotton, 10% polyamide) Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
394 reviews
Fit
Large27
True to Size279
Small44
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
March 10, 2016
Tons of compliments!
I wore this for an awards gala for my local chamber of commerce and as a board member, I wanted to snazz it up a bit as it was our first one. Needless to say I got a boatload of compliments!! Everyone asked where I got the dress and I told them RTR and how great it is! Only downfall of the dress was it being a little tight in my biceps and then the lining occasionally hung longer than the dress. But I loved it regardless!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
March 8, 2016
Everyone complimented and love the dress, and how well it matched my body type perfectly.
The fit was absolutely perfect and true to size. Fit great in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Weight: 133lbs
February 10, 2016
Stylist Review!
I wore this dress to a holiday work party and received so many compliments! I loved the fit as it was fitted but super comfortable. I also loved the long sleeves and silver accents - it matched perfectly with my silver and black heels. This is a great option for an evening event and can be easily dressed up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 3, 2016
I wore this to an event during my homecoming reunion. Definitely one of the best dressed there!
Normally I wear a 10 but it wasn't available. The 8 fit comfortably, the length was just too short for my long legs. I was pulling the dress down all night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2016
This dress was the perfect mix of fun but classy for a military holiday party.
The dress fit pretty well, although it was a little tight in the shoulders for me and it is short (I'm only 5'2" and it was well above my knee). It was also starting to lose some beads, but it photographed really nicely, I got lots of compliments and it was comfortable to wear all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Weight: 135lbs
January 21, 2016
I love the length for a little black party dress but keeping it modest with the sleeves.
The dress was beautiful! Got a few compliments! It was short and sexy...the back was really pretty too. I felt very pretty in it. Some of the negatives about this dress is that I feel like the beads had fallen off before I got it and this particular dress seemed to have seen better days. You can't really tell that all the beads make circles, but because some of them are missing beads, they are making just half circles. Not a big deal...but maybe something to get a seamstress to look at!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Age: 15
January 17, 2016
I felt like one of the hottest girls at the party with this dress!
I wore this dress to my friend's semi-formal 18th birthday party. It's fitted and very comfortable and moveable in, although the sleeves were an inch too short- reaching my wrists. It hits a little above midthigh so a tad short. It looked great on me though and I got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 13, 2016
Great, fun black dress
I wore this to my husbands xmas party. It's always hard to find a cute long sleeve cocktail dress for the winter but this is a good option. It was a good dress but didn't totally blow me away. It was a safe dress being black. It hit me mid thigh which was perfect and not too short. I wore black sheer tights with it. If I did not wear tights it might have been a bit too much leg. It wasn't tight but not too loose either. I think this dress could be too short for taller girls but it is a good option for petite girls. If you need to play it safe, this is a good dress to not be "too much".
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 6, 2016
Perfect dress for a NYE wedding, however it may be time to have it retired
This dress was exactly what I wanted for a New Years Eve wedding. Something with some sparkle and long sleeve to keep me warm(ish) in the midwest. However, when it arrived it was clear that this dress has been worn by many women as I had to spend time getting off all the loose strings from all the beading that had fallen off or was cracked and about to fall off. I also needed to spend time adjusting the liner (as noted in many other reviews) because it would fall below the dress and looked weird. By looking though other reviews, some dating back to 2012, it may be time to retire this dress as it is becoming more obvious how many times it has been worn.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 39
January 5, 2016
Fun and Flirty! I had lots of compliments on this great dress.
This dress is very fun and sexy. Not quite a show stopper but definitely a head turner. It was fairly comfortable and easy to wear, but it is short. The only real down side is the material. It wasn't scratchy, but the netting-type material caught on things through the night. If you are ready to show some leg, this is a dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
January 4, 2016
Not as interesting as I'd hoped
I agree with the prior reviewers that the sleeves were really tight on this dress and it's pretty short. It was an interesting twist on a plain black dress and it was fine for the party I went to, but not my favorite RTR rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2016
This dress was perfect for the NYE Black & White Bash!
Wore this to a NYE party. Perfect short length and very comfortable! Bonus: You can wear a regular bra! Dress is gorgeous in person!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
December 17, 2015
Rent the Runway saved the day with this stunner!
I had ordered another dress which I didn't like and Rent the Runway sent me this one overnight. It's a great style and fits true to size. The only things I didn't like was that some of the details were starting to come off so there were random strings peeking out. The lining also hangs out of the bottom of the dress. Even with those minor downfalls, I received tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
December 8, 2015
Tight arms; odd fit.
The size 2 was true to size, but much shorter than anticipated. I'm only 5'4 and it was rather short. I do have long legs, but I was still surprised. It also must work better for someone without a butt because the lining was clinging oddly and sticking out of the bottom. The arms were ridiculously tight. I do have muscular arms and the lace did loosen up a bit, but if I bent my elbows too much, I was concerned I would tear the fabric. The same must be true for others because the armpit was already torn on the size 2. If I were going to just sit somewhere and not move my arms, I probably could've worn it, but since I was going to the ballet with my children where I knew I'd have to carry them or other items, I didn't want to risk it. The mirrored effect also wasn't quite what I was expecting. If you have tiny arms and no butt, this dress will be perfect. For me, it didn't work so I chose not to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
December 8, 2015
Comfortable, compliments throughout the night!
Nice dress...not as flashy as I had hoped. Although I did get compliments on it throughout the night. I would have liked a bit tighter fit as well but it was appropriate for a work party. LOVE RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
December 7, 2015
Company Holiday Party
This was my first RTR experience and I was so excited to try it out. The delivery service was great- everything arrived on time and as promised- but the dress was such a disappointment. The fit was strange on me, which I was not expecting for a dress that seems to have such a simple cut. It was weirdly saggy in certain places and weirdly tight in others. Also, something about the color/shade of this dress totally washed me out (I'm quite tan, so this is quite hard to do), and it was unflattering. When I wore it, it simply looked "okay" and did not make me feel confident and awesome, so I ended up going with an old dress of mine that made me feel better.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 39
December 6, 2015
Perfect dress for a work holiday party!
Great dress for a work party - fit well, was comfortable and not too revealing. As others have said, the lining does hang out the bottom a bit. I ordered the 4 and 6. Luckily the 4 fit because the 6 was unwearable with how much the lining was hanging down. There was also a small hole in the lace in the inside of the arm but not noticeable. You could tell the dress has had a lot of wear. I still loved it though and got lots of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
December 5, 2015
I wore this dress for my 20th high school reunion.
The dress fit well and was a nice change-up to the little black dress. The actual dress was a little worn though - fraying in the lace and strings hanging.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 19, 2015
Loved feeling beautiful in this dress!
Great fall/winter dress! The only negatives were that the lining sometimes showed and it wasn't the most flexible fabric to dance in. Overall I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2015
This dress is surprisingly easy to dance in! Super form fitting, but sexy in a tasteful way.
I ordered the 2 and 4, as I was concerned about my bust fitting properly, but there is plenty of room in this dress. The lining does tend to peek out from the bottom of the dress, and there was a small hole in the lace. But other than that, I loved the dress, and received many compliments. It is pretty form fitting and unforgiving however!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 13, 2015
Understated & fun!
Perfect for an early fall wedding, though it did get a bit warm as the evening progressed. I recommend it for anyone who, like me, prefers to show either a good deal of leg or shoulder area /bust, but not both at the same time! The fabric did not cling and created a flattering silhouette. Sized up for a bit of extra length because of my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103lbs
November 12, 2015
Glitz & Glamour
Loved this dress....DVF always hits the mark. Covered up for a winter wedding but very glamorous. The fabric has a lot of give to it and is forgiving. Small silver jets all over make it sparkle nicely. I paired it with a black fox shawl. Highly reccommend
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 9, 2015
Dancing!
Really fun, flattering dress. Several compliments throughout the night. I ordered the 2 and the 0 and the 0 was just a bit too tight and short for my style. There were some pulls and loose threads around the beading but you couldn't really tell.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 146lbs
November 9, 2015
Comfortable but really short
This was a nice, comfy dress, but both sizes that were shipped looked quite worn. I was very surprised how short it was. I am 5'1" and it came to my mid thigh. It ran true to size, but I would suggest ordering up a size for your back up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
October 20, 2015
I love this dress! It made me feel sexy and elegant at the same time
Right fit, no problems at all
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2015
The delivery and return was so easy
This dress was so perfect for a loft black and white tie wedding. I got so many compliments all night. The fit was rest not too tight and I was able to dance all night in it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2015
Good, not great.
This dress amps up the LBD just a bit to make it extra special, but sadly the dress I received was in fairly bad shape, with torn lace and the lining not laying right. It was a lot shorter than expected, and the lining issues caused the lining to be longer than the dress. I liked the dress, but definitely did not love it. Customer service, as always, was incredibly responsive and helpful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 22, 2015
Great for a fashion show
I wore this gorgeous dress to the Neiman Marcus Fall Fashion Preview, and received compliments from all. Dress is true to size, good length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 20, 2015
I got a ton of compliments
It was a beautiful dress ....
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 41
September 18, 2015
Tons of compliments!
First RTR experience and it was great. Prior reviews were helpful and dress fit true to size. Tons of compliments and people couldn't believe I'm a mama of 4! I felt young and flirty and fabulous. The liner does hang out of the bottom a bit but other than that it was comfortable and easy to move around in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 18, 2015
Great dress for Vegas!
I wore this dress for a night out in Vegas. It was flashy without being trashy. The only downside was it arrived kind of stretched out, and there was a small hole in the right elbow. I was able to get a replacement, though, and the second dress was in much better condition. Loved it overall!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
September 17, 2015
Great dress!
The 10 fit perfect, but it doesn't stretch so I was worried about being comfortable dancing all night long. I had to be careful to not snag some of the beading on the dress, as it already had a little wear to it.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 22
September 13, 2015
We went downtown in November and it was a pretty chilly night, so this dress provided some warmth
I went with the larger size because it fit my arms a little better. I thought it was sequins on the dress because that's what it looked like in photographs but they are actually cylinder beads sewn together to make that pattern. It wasn't as fun for a 21st as I would've hopped, but it did the job!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 29, 2015
Engagement party
Perfect fit and comfortable all night
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 44
July 28, 2015
What happens in Vegas......
The dress was exactly how I expected it to look from the pictures. It doesn't have sequins that sparkle, but has small metal embellishments that shine. For me, the length was perfect, and the neckline and hem stayed straight. I wore flats because I expected to be on my feet for hours, but heels would definitely look sexy. The size 8 was in fantastic shape, however the size 6 needs a seamstress to make it look good again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 23, 2015
This dress was unreal. I got so many compliments.
The dress was the perfect length and fit, great for a formal wedding.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 30, 2015
Perfect Fall or Winter dress. Black is always flattering and elegant.
Flattering fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2015
Really liked how it combined lace & sparkles! Perfect for a holiday party.
The fit was pretty true to size. It worked perfect for the occasion. Only issue I had with it was it seemed to snag my tights and grab my hair.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
June 8, 2015
This dress was remarkable. Compliments all night. Sparkle and Shine, Classy and Sassy.
This dress was perfect for an evening wedding reception marked for Cocktail Dress Attire. I have long legs and a shorter torso, the hemline hit at a great spot just above the knee and was not too short when seated. I have slim arms and the sleeves fit just right on me. This could be an issue on someone who is a little heavier on the top as there is not much give there. The fact that the dress has beads and not just cheap sequins, really brings it up a notch. I paired it with the Ella Carter Ainsley Earrings, and I got a little accessory bag with some mints and hand lotion which I thought was a great touch- those went straight into my handbag! Next time RTR should throw in some business cards to hand out, I lost count of how many times I told other guests my source. I cannot wait to find another occasion to rent this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
June 1, 2015
Fun but classy winter dress
I rented this dress for a cocktail reception during my company's annual meeting on a cold January night. The longsleeves were a bonus. I have an athletic build and didn't find the sleeves to be at all tight. Since I'm not very tall, I didn't find the dress to be at all short like some of the other reviewers. If this is a concern, I would recommend wearing black tights with the dress. I noticed very little difference between the 0 and the 2, so I wore the 0. Yes, some of the metallic pieces do fall off, but it wasn't noticeable in my case.
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×