Magnetic Attraction Dress

$118 to buy
$698 retail
Stylist Notes

Shimmer and shine in this beaded bombshell dress by Diane Von Furstenberg. Add a clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this head turning mini.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace with silver beading (90% cotton, 10% polyamide) Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
398 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(282)
Small
(45)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 25, 2012
Felt like a glamour queen
First of all, I received so many compliments on this dress. Everyone wanted to know where I got it. The dress itself is very fine quality and I loved the beadwork. Sparkly without looking like a disco ball. Great for a night on the town or New Years. Wear it will heels, minimal jewelry. Va-va-voom!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
November 27, 2012
Different take on the LBD. Great for formal event with dancing. Well constructed.
Rented this for a night bar mitzvah. Actual real pieces of metal are sewn to lace fabric. Did not expect heavy type metal pieces, but it was comfortable. Looks great with low lights and on a dance floor. Would be a little strange for a daytime event. For me, the dress was true to size. It hit me mid-thigh. Wore it with shimmerfy silver hose and black sandals. Would also make a nice work-related holiday party dress - not too exposed. Neckline is wide, so requires strapless bra or no bra. for the small chested.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 27, 2012
.
dress runs a little large, like most DVF clothing. but beautiful dress, the beading is amazing. i would wear it again!
LizNovember 28, 2012
i am thinking of getting this dress for NYE - do you have any photos of you in it? I am the same height as you, how short was it? Was the length comfortable?
ChristinaDecember 3, 2012
Same question! I'm 5'9" and don't want this dress to be super short. Where did it fall on you for length?
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2012
Classy and sexy!
Loved this dress! It was perfect for our company's holiday party. I'm 5'5'' and it came to about mid-thigh, so it's not too short. The dress was very comfortable and easy to move around and dance in. I think it runs true to size, but I suggest getting a size down as a backup size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 7, 2012
I wanted a showstopper for my 30th birthday party, and this dress SLAYED it. Compliments all night!
First of all, this dress is exquisite from top to bottom. Details like the silver beading and lace overlay are well crafted and unique, which gives you the feeling that you are wearing something special. The cut is flattering—loved the boatneck collar and the length was perfect. The one thing I will note is that this dress is not very forgiving in the tummy area. I personally felt more comfortable once I put on some shapewear undies. Beyond that, I had no issues. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
December 7, 2012
Glamour and comfort
If you want a comfortable party dress, this DVF number is for you. I ate, danced and walked around in this dress for hours. The lining is so comfortable and the fabric has great movement. I wore the size 0 and found the sizing to be on the generous side; the length was perfect for me because I'm short. I also rented the chandelier earrings and a gold/black ring, which made for a perfect ensemble.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
December 9, 2012
Loved it!
Beautiful dress! The dress was comfortable and elegant. Personally, I felt a little uncomfortable with the way it clung to my tummy. After some spanx, I felt much better. The boatneck requires either a bra with straps far apart or strapless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2012
The dress was beautiful but a little "high maintenance."
I loved the look but hated the "high maintenance.". First, the neck line didn't always lay flat, and I had to tug at the length and sleeves to keep the front neck line from gaping. Next, there were two hanger straps that kept creeping out of the dress at the shoulders. Either I was tucking them in or someone standing near me was. It was annoying. If I owned this dress, I would have cut those out as you didn't really need them to keep the dress on the hanger. I was worried about the dress being too short, but it was perfect. Note: you need a strapless bra as the neck is cut wide.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
Just enough sparkle to grab their eye...
I absolutely loved this dress. I chose 2 different styles and ended up wearing this one. BUT, it was a hard decision. The neckline is perfect for someone with a long neck or wide shoulders. Also very flattering to your collarbones. I would recommend wearing your hair swept to one side or all the way up as to not hide the neckline. The fit was comfortable. I rented a 2 and it fit loosely. It wasn't too loose but just enough that it draped on me. I could've easily worn a 0 had I rented that instead and I'm sure it would've still fit wonderfully. This is one dress, though, that I'd choose a size DOWN instead of up as your backup size. I also thought the length of the dress was perfect. A size smaller wouldn't have made it too short either. I have long legs, but I'm sure someone shorter would still find it an appropriate length for almost any event. The beads on the dress are incredible. They sparkle just enough to be beautiful and classy without being too "in-your-face" sparkly like some sequin dresses. These are not sequins at all; they are beautiful beads sewn into the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164lbs
December 10, 2012
The sparkles!
Super fun dress with the beading details. Gives a girl some sparkle without being over the top. If you are larger chested ( I am 36 Ddd) you might want to size up. Comfortable and fun for a night out for dinner and drinks in NYC. I recommend strapless bra for the neckline. Also spanx given the dress silhouette. I was looking for something that worked with tights and booties which it did.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 11, 2012
Received incredible compliments and the dress was a winner!
Could have gone down a size to a 4. Would have fit much more snugly, but still a great dress to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 12, 2012
I felt like a super star. Everyone loved my dress!
Fit great, very comfortable dress. Danced all night long in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Easy sparkle, instant outfit
I received so many compliments on this dress! The fit was great. The mini was offset by the long sleeves, so it was sexy without being slutty. I loved that I could wear a standard bra underneath. The sequins on the dress were actually machined metal pieces, which had a little bit of machined oil/metal odor to them the first time out of the package. Aired it out overnight & it was fine.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 12, 2012
Gorgeous dress. Fit perfectly and received so many compliments!
I ordered a size 4 and size 6. The 4 was perfect. I wore it to my office holiday party. It was perfect for the outside setting. Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
December 12, 2012
Pretty dress but runs big. Long sleeves are a nice plus so you can look cute but not be cold.
I wasn't able to wear this dress for my event because both sizes I ordered were too large. I would recommend going a size down for your backup size, especially if you are small waisted. It was a very generous size 0 - more like an average 2, I'd say. Also, I'd rate this dress on the conservative side of things, overall. Good for an office event or a formal occasion with family.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
I wore this to my bachelorette party. It was great for winter night on the town.
The dress runs true to size, and works for an hourglass figure. It was actually really comfortable & had just the right amount of sparkle. I love it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2012
Great dress worn at a company holiday party. Lots of compliments!
Wasn't as sparkly as I thought it was going to be, which was a positive. Extremely comfortable dress to wear, felt like a jersey material on/against the skin which I will credit to the lining. Tried a 6 and an 8, at 5'10" the 6 was way too short, but the 8 was perfect. Two thumbs up for this dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
December 16, 2012
Great dress!
This is a beautiful dress. I probably could have worn it and gotten compliments all night, but this was my back up dress and I liked the other one better. I'm short and the dress came about too my knees which I thought, for me, was a little long. The sleeves also were too long but could have been tucked under. I'm really picky about how my dresses fit. I'm short, hours glass figure and not really thin so I didn't love the way the dress fit on hips. I thought it made my hips look really broad, but I'm sure if I were a bit taller, I would have loved it! I would still recommend this dress to anyone wanted to try it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Loved this dress so much, got compliments on it all night, and I felt beautiful and sexy in it!
This dress was great for a winter wedding! I wasnt too hot or too cold. It was a perfect length for a short girl who can rock 4 inch heels. I loved it so much and wish I could afford it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
December 17, 2012
It was the perfect dress for my company's holiday party. Comfortable, stylish and festive.
The dress fit true to size and was very comfortable. I'm not used to wearing such a short dress, but with black sheer hose and pumps it looked good and I felt confident wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2012
The dress was so fun and different, everyone loved it and was crazy about the design!
I'm only 5'4'' and pretty straight up and down, this dress was a little long on me and bulky in the hips. On the plus side it was extremely comfortable and and well made! Fit great in the bust and wasn't tight in the upper arms or back-- as dresses usually are because of my bust. I would have had this dress altered in a few ways for me (always have to because of my bust!), my midsection is usually a 4, I would've had the dress taken in and shortened. But for the night it was perfect for me! Beautiful dress!! Highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 19, 2012
Appropriate and classy, perfect for company holiday party
Although this isn't the typical style that I opt for, I decided to give it a try. I was able to try on the dress at Scoop and realized that the fit is rather generous. So instead of ordering the usual 10, I got a 8 (and 6 as backup). When the day arrived, the 6 felt a tad too snug -- especially around the arms and waist. The 8 looked about the same, except I could actually breathe. So I went with the 8. The quality of the dress was superb. The metal pieces are really fun, but not overly cumbersome. It was easy to move around and dance in this dress. Many compliments were given -- but I'd recommend pairing it with some really sexy shoes or (in my case) statement-making tights! Pros: + Comfortable, easy to wear -- the chest area is the only place that was a bit snug, so to avoid looking flat, wear a push up bra underneath + Unique look -- the metal really shines in photos! + Tasteful -- front is covered, back is covered, but since it's form fitting, it still feels sexy Cons: + Metal pieces on the arms can snag + When flash photography is being used, the inside lining looks a bit too white/pasty for me + Boatneck has a bit of loose fabric that feels a bit strange/distracting + Not a "huggable" dress
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
December 26, 2012
I wore this dress on 12-12-12 for a friends birthday. Dress was so comfortable and everyone loved it
The dress is amazing. It has a little stretch so for a larger bust this dress is perfect. The sleeve length is perfect I have long limbs and was afraid the sleeves would be too short but they were perfect. The dress in the picture looked like gems but it was more of a metal which I loved it made it a bit more edgy with a holiday appeal! Loved the dress! It is true to size for a designer dress which seem to always run smaller
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 30, 2012
Beautiful Dress, Beautiful Fit!!
This dress is a knock out!! I wore it to a formal wedding and received tons of complements! I rented the 4 and the 6. I ended up wearing the 6, but the 4 fit as well. I am so hooked on this service! First class all the way! Rent this one for sure!
gigiSeptember 20, 2013
Just wondering why you gave it 3 stars?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 30, 2012
It was just a beautiful, beautiful dress and it fit perfectly, lots of compliments!!!!!
No Cons at all, as I said above, just Beautiful and fit me like it was made just for me - I cannot wait to rent for the next event - I told everyone who complimented to check out RTR, awesome resource.
dianaFebruary 20, 2013
Looks good on you!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 31, 2012
This dress fit perfectly true to size, was beautiful, and very comfortable. I loved it.
The length was just as I expected, the quality it great, and the detailing is gorgeous! Would highly recommend this DVF!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 1, 2013
Loved this dress!!!
The dress has a wide neckline, is short, and fits like a glove. The sleeves are very classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
January 1, 2013
An infusion of elegant and sexy!
This dress was stunning! I wore it for New Years, and my boyfriend was a fan! I love the long sleeves and the beads were a subtle glitz of glamor. It was a bit long for me since I am 5'0, but I strongly suggest this dress to anyone. I loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 1, 2013
prefect party dress
Loved how comfortable this dress was and how many compliments I got on it. A bit clingy in the hip region, but totally workable. This was the first time I've worn a long sleeved dress like this. I expected to feel a bit restrained, but the lacy fabric in this dress has some give.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 1, 2013
the perfect LBD with sparkle
I LOVED this DVF dress. Just absolutely beautiful. I wore it on NYE and I received compliments on it all night. The shape and cut is very conservative, but with the sheer/knit fabric and the silver beading, the effect is anything but. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 2, 2013
I would recommend this dress
This was a bit large on me. Size 2 are usually a bit snug and this was definitely not. It hit middle thigh so it wasn't too short though. It is nice quality and exactly as I expected from the picture.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Perfect amount of shine!
I loved this dress! It was so beautiful and had just the right amount of sparkle & shine for my husband's Christmas Party. And I loved that it had long sleeves! I ended up wearing the 4 because it was a little longer in length, but the 2 fit perfectly everywhere else. Such a perfect dress for a formal event in the winter!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2013
Fit perfectly, and was so beautiful and unique!
This was my very first rental from RTR, and I could not be happier! I tend to go between sizes 6 and 8 in dresses, so I ordered this dress in both sizes. I could have gotten away with the 6, and it fit fine, but I opted for the 8 so I could have a little more room to move around comfortably all night. The length was perfect too, just short enough to show a little leg, but not so short that I had to worry about flashing anyone! It hit about three inches or so above my knees. I wish I had a better picture from the night I wore it to really do it justice! This dress is so unique and gorgeous, I couldn't stop obsessing over it. I wore it on NYE from 5:00pm until about 2:00am, and I was completely comfortable the entire time. (I wish I could say the same for my heels!). I would most definitely recommend this dress, and I can even see myself renting it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
January 3, 2013
Wore this for New Year's Eve... comfortable and true to size!
I ordered a second size to be safe but the 10 was good, a little short for my age :) but YOLO!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2013
Fabulous dress. Very flattering fit. I'm 5'10 and was worried it would be too short but fit great!
Great for those who want conservative on top and sexy on bottom. Perfect dress for long legs, small bust.
DanielleJanuary 25, 2013
You look great! I am 5'10 too but a size 10 would love to see a full body shot of you in this dress!! How were the sleeves? Where did the fall with arms to your sides?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2013
Comfortable and classy - Perfect Combination!
I loved this dress... it was very comfortable, perfect length, perfect amount of detail as far as the lace and beading. I wore it out to dinner to a Brazilian rodizio in NYC and I had room left over in the stomach area of the dress (thank god). Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 5, 2013
Loved the dress!
Wore the for a work holiday party and it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
January 6, 2013
I wore this dress to my friend's bachelorette party. It was super comfy and stylish.
Fit true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 7, 2013
Super chic!
I really like this dress. It's both fun and flirty but super classy. I wore it to NYE and it sparkled in person (not so much in pictures, though). The fit is very nice, tight but not clingy. It was short but not uncomfortably short, though it does ride up a little when you raise your arms. So if you plan on dancing with your arms in the air all night, you might want to get some tights for peace of mind.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
January 10, 2013
Comfortable and Glamorous!
The overall fit was perfect. I loved the long sleeves! Perfect the occasion. We stayed at a 5 star resort during New Year's and I wore this New Year's Day for dinner. Lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×