Diane von Furstenberg

Ernestina Lace Dress

$75 rental
$465 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate lace party dress? This lace inset shift by Diane von Furstenberg is the perfect mix of sweet and sexy. Dress it up with accessories like Gerard Yosca’s Starry Skies Tassel Earrings and House of Harlow 1960’s Sundial Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Burgundy shift (100% polyester). Long sleeves with lace detail. Boat neckline. Shift body with removable belt. Hidden side zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

102 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 66
Large 16
Photos 42
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Great dress! Perfect for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size, it's very snug and hugs your curves. I was disappointed the sash was not included, thankfully my sis-in-law had a white house black market belt to complete the outfit. I received compliments from friends, family and random girls in the bathroom! The dress really is beautiful and great for special events in the winter time. I found myself pulling the dress down a lot and straightening out the top. My chest size was almost too big for the dress so I had some bunching issues. Overall, I would rent this dress again. I would go up a size, for proper chest fit, and find a sash!
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 6, 2015

Sorry this silly pic is the best full length picture I have of the dress. Overall, loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have a small top and larger hips, and it was pretty snug around the hips, though not uncomfortably or noticeably so (as far as I know). I might have gotten a larger size for the hips. It's either silk, or some type of silk-material, so it will cling to your body and show off lumps, etc., so if you're concerned about that, you might want to consider spanx of some sort. All of that said, I loved wearing it and got so many compliments! It was perfect for a relatively informal fall wedding. Most importantly, it was comfortable to dance in!
SR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

Beautiful lace work on the sleeves.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Forgiving fit because of the sash.
alex
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 31, 2015

Wore this dress to a formal dance and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits amazingly and looks so beautiful! In person the color isn't as quite that burgundy reddish tint its really like a dark plum , but beautiful none the less.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Gorgeous dress! I wore it to my graduation ceremony and received tons of compliments

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
This dress fits true to size. Definitely not as short as it appears on the model.
Meredith
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Rented this great DVF dress for a November wedding at a yacht club on Long Island.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Could not have been happier with my first RTR experience.. Both the 0 and 2 fit, but the 2 was a little too long for my petite height. Was perfect for the season and received many compliments!
Noelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

I wore this dress on Christmas and everyone loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was difficult to get on because you have to dive into it with both arms. It is very tight in the shoulders. Once I got the dress over my shoulders, it fell very nicely and fit the rest of my body like a glove. The belt ties a little below your natural waist then drapes in the perfect spot to hide any gut from lots of holiday eating! The lace detail is extraordinary. The fabric is high quality and people asked where I bought the dress all night. I was able to wear a normal bra without it being too obvious through the lace.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Unique, beautiful and tasteful dress for a work event...and the fabric has give!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a semi-formal company anniversary party. I ordered the 2 and the 4...there is not too much difference, but I would definitely say that the 4 was true to size. The uneven scalloped lace detail on the bottom is especially nice--you can see a little leg, but not too much. The only minor complaint I have is that because it lacks structure and is thin fabric (the sash totally defines the shape) it rode up a bit around the chest, and got a little wrinkly on the skirt, as seen in the photo. BUT the fabric is stretchy, so that was a nice surprise considering the fact that I always eat all available food when it's free.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 11, 2014

Perfect for a fall wedding. Very comfortable.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress. Somewhat tight in the chest area but otherwise fit great. It came with the belt but i actually preferred not to wear the belt.
Erena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Lacey!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable, I belted because I'm bigger on bottom than on top so top was a little loose since I needed the bigger size for the bottom.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 12, 2014

The perfect dress for an October wedding in the South

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! The model photo is an accurate representation of the fit, though it was obviously longer on me, which was fine. I loved the lace detail and the color. I wore it to attend a wedding in Georgia in October, so I wanted something that would fit the occasion and the season without being too hot or summery at the same time. I added a black sash to the middle instead of the oxblood-colored one, but I would definitely recommend this dress.
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Everyone gave me compliments all night long!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Although there was an unfortunate shipping error from RTR, they did everything in their power to get me this dress on time and also send a pair of earring and another option if this dress didn't work out! Talk about customer service! This dress is great, a little snug in the bust area but lots of dresses are on me. I had great range of movement, it wasn't too short or too long. Absolute class!
Alexis
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Unique dress- lots of compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in September and it was perfect. It's a relatively warmer dress because of the sleeves so it was nice for the evening because I didn't have to wear a coat or wrap. I ended up wearing some spanx and black pantyhose and I'm glad I did because the bottom of the dress was very fitted on me... But I do have big hips and a booty. The top fit me well- I am small on top. I liked the length- not too short for this tall girl. I wore it with the belt. I feel like without it the dress might looks baggy and strange. The only thing that was disappointing about this dress was the material. The lace was nice but the fabric looked a little cheap for my taste. I guess because its a DVF I anticipated something nicer. But all around I would recommend this style. I got lots of compliments and nobody else had a dress like it.
j
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Oct 8, 2013

I wore this dress for my rehearsal / rehearsal dinner !

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress ! The color was perfect for fall and the lace was just the right amount of sexy. It fit true to size. I used a black velvet piece of ribbon as a belt to keep things simple. My only problem was the length - rather long for us shorter girls ! On the model it was mid thigh... on me it was mid calf. But, I loved it nonetheless!
sillynilly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 21, 2014

This DVF was a hit for my best friend's rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The material was thinner than I expected (spanx were necessary.) But overall, I loved the fit and got several compliments on the dress.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Elegant dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress so I never got a chance to wear it. If I order it again to wear for real I'll probably order the size 2.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 22, 2014

Fun dress for a girls night out

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was very elegant and easy to wear. The lace was beautiful. The fit was a little awkward but I got use to it. The sash is a definite must since the dress itself does not have much shape. All in all a lovely dress for dinner date
Christyna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

LOVE this dress!! Fits true to DVF size.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
No cons to this dress. Falls perfectly, extremely comfortable. I danced the night away and didn't feel constricted at all.
Betsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

DIfferent spin on a winter dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The details were lost in the dark color; photographed much darker than what's shown online.
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

Beautiful and Comfortable Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. Not only is it beautiful, but it's very comfortable to wear. This picture was taken at the end of the night, so you can see that it does't wrinkle badly - and I sat for at least 1/3 of the 4 hr event. My friends father even told me I was the most beautiful girl at the party!! ;-) I ordered a sz 4 and 6. The 4 fit pretty well, but I chose to wear the 6 because I was a bit more comfortable in it. I'd put on a few extra lbs over the holidays and didn't have any spanx that were short enought not to show through the lace. The material is beautiful but is very thin and it shows lumps and bumps pretty well. The 6 flowed a little more around my lower half so I could wear it without the spanx. Regular black bra works best (least noticeable through the lace) and there are strap holders around the neckline to prevent your straps from showing. Great feature!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 12, 2014

Beautiful Dress, But Not Fitted

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the style of this dress! The lace detail gives it a very unique look. However, I was a little disappointed with the fit. The dress seems more like a shift, and even with the belt, it's difficult to achieve a perfect fit. If you're looking a dress that has room and is more forgiving, then this is the dress for you. If you want something more snug, I would opt for something else.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2013

Most beautiful and elegant dress I have ever worn

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have never seen anyone wear anything like this, and it stood out incredibly at a formal work holiday party at the Italian Consulate in NYC. The lace is so elegant that the little bit of skin just appears classy. Very fancy and INCREDIBLE!!! My mother is an embroidery and lace designer and she fell in love with this dress too! I wore a black belt for a little more definition, it wasn't too tight that I couldn't wear some stockings (because it was 20 degrees). The material is silky with some stretch so it hugged very nicely. It has a thin lining as well. do yourself a favor and rent this!!!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

Beautiful, elegant, compliments all night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first experience with RTR and I am officially hooked. I am NEVER buying an expensive dress/ gown again! The dress came as promised, beautiful condition. I had planned on wearing the size 8, but fortunately I also had the extra size 10. The 10 fit perfectly. It is a silk sheath, no zipper, so I had to wiggle to get it over my chest, but once it was on it looked like it was made for me. Incredibly elegant. The lace gives the dress something really special. In a sea of black and gray ensembles, the beautiful color really made a splash. I got compliments the entire night! The length was perfect. I am a new RTR devotee!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Perfect for a Formal Night on the Town

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I wore this to a Grad School Masquerade Ball that had a Formal Attire dress code. Rather than wear a gown I wanted something short and comfortable. This dress is SO comfortable. It originally didn't come with the sash which was frustrating because it absolutely needs it to give the dress a little shape. It worked out though because I called Customer Service and they were so helpful and fast they shipped me one the next day! The sash transformed the dress completely and it was perfect for the night. The color was so pretty and the lace inset was amazing. It does wrinkle easily so beware if you're wearing it to an event you'll be sitting a lot at. Also, I would definitely recommend wearing some type of shape wear underneath to smooth everything out since the fabric is a little clingy. I would definitely rent again!!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

Perfect for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing. I really wish I could keep it! I got tons of compliments :) I think this dress ran fairly true to size. I usually wear a 6 but based on past reviews some said it ran large, so I ordered a 4 as the backup. I winded up wearing the 6 and it was the perfect fit. It does not come with the sash in the photo, but because of how it fit me, I winded up not needing a belt or anything with it. It was form-fitting on me, probably because I'm slightly pear-shaped. I could see though why shorter girls would say the dress was a little long. Being 5'9", it was the perfect length for me. It does wrinkle slightly if you are sitting for a while. Not a huge deal. Also, the lace cut-out across the dress came a little low for me, so I recommend wearing either a black or nude strapless bra with this so it's not noticeable. Highly recommend this dress!! Thanks again RTR :)
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

Beautiful dress for a fall wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a zero and a two and ended up wearing the zero (at 3 months pregnant) so I would suggest ordering a size smaller than usual as this dress runs a little big. Also, although the dress is shown with a belt, it didn't come with one so keep that in mind. Overall, I adored this dress. It was comfortable to wear and I received so many compliments. I would highly recommend this!
Rachel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 19, 2013

Beautiful lace, comfortable, classic.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 6 and was able to wear a size 4 in this dress because of the sleeve length and the length of the dress. I couldn't order a size 6 because they weren't available, so I ordered a size 4 and size 8 and because I'm 5'3", the size 8 was too long on me. The only disappointment I had with this dress was that it didn't come with the sash shown in the picture.
Kaelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Lovely dress for a fall wedding, I got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress as it was sent however, it was supposed to come with a belt (and did not), which was fine for me as I am pretty tall so the length without the belt was perfect. The dress does wrinkle pretty easily as well. I would definitely rent from RTR again!
Tanaya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Gorgeous lace detailing

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Where do I even begin with this dress!? I rented it for a good friend's wedding in Dallas and it was just stunning. It was a late September wedding, so this was the perfect dress to transition to fall, but keep me cool enough in the hot Dallas weather. The color is so rich and the dress is just subtly sexy bc of all the lace. I decided to wear the sash and tie it in the back to accentuate my waist, but I could see someone wear this as a true shift without the sash if you are more straight up and down. LOVED IT.
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 14, 2013

Beautiful, Comfortable & Flattering!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great experience with RTR all the way around. The dress was a really beautiful shade of dark purple. I had no trouble finding shoes and accessories that matched. The dress was really comfortable. I don't remember getting the belt with the dress (unless I just overlooked it in the packaging) - but, it looked just fine without it. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Lisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

Perfect for a fall wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I am typically a size 4, but I ordered both the 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2. I wish I would have ordered the 0. The dress was long and a little baggy. It did not come with the wrap that is shown in the picture. I used a thin black belt to tighten it up and make it a little shorter. The color was also a little more plum colored than the picture of the model revealed. Over all I still really liked this dress and it was really comfortable to wear all night at the wedding.
Corey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 6, 2013

Beautiful, but way too big!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the color and the lace, but if I didn't have a black belt, I wouldn't have been able to wear this. I have worn a DVF 0 before without an issue. This dress was just huge! Also, wearing a belt helped to shorten it.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 2, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress, it truly is gorgeous!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I thought it fit true to size, maybe a touch on the small size, but I didn't think it was too bad.
denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
May 26, 2015

Unique dress with lace cutouts.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Very elegant and comfortable dress. Slightly snug in the hips for curvier girls. I received a lot of compliments on this dress.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
May 1, 2015

Perfect for the holidays

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a work holiday party and I got a ton of compliments! Everyone loved the dress and it was so comfortable to wear. The detailing is truly beautiful and the rich color is perfect for the holiday season. I paired it with black earrings, a simple black purse and glittery pumps. Super gorgeous and I would definitely wear it again.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Great material and beautiful fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress fits slim with a slight amount of give around the edges. This is good if you want to show your shape without wearing something so skin tight that every bump will show. The length is modest and yet still very sexy.
MacKenzie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 18, 2015

Perfect for a cocktail attire work Holiday Party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very loose throughout the middle of the dress- I used a velvet piece of fabric from Michaels and just tied it in a bow in the back. It fit great, just wrinkles slightly easier because of the fabric. The lace details completely made the dress. I loved it!
Colleen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 12, 2015

Great, classy dress that I wore for a Wine Tasting party we hosted. Got a lot of compliments on it!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a size 6 dress, but had to go with the 8. The size six was really tight in the chest area.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 16, 2015

Gorgeous lace details!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this to wear to a fall wedding and was not disappointed by the quality of the fabric and color. I ended up not wearing it because it was unseasonably hot the day of her wedding. The only thing I would note is that the dress is much longer than shown on the model. It looked a bit matronly on my because it was knee length and long sleeve. Probably looks stunning on someone a bit taller!
Samantha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Stylish and appropriate

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress for the fall wedding I attended. The lace inserts made it sexy, but the sleeves and hem length made it feel seasonally appropriate and demure enough for the church. The lace insert at the top is low enough that it will definitely expose a bit of your bra. I wore a nude bra with no embellishment, and it was fine.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×