Ernestina Lace Dress

$84 to buy
$465 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate lace party dress? This lace inset shift by Diane von Furstenberg is the perfect mix of sweet and sexy. Dress it up with accessories like Gerard Yosca’s Starry Skies Tassel Earrings and House of Harlow 1960’s Sundial Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Burgundy shift (100% polyester). Long sleeves with lace detail. Boat neckline. Shift body with removable belt. Hidden side zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
107 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
January 26, 2016
Cute care package with my first rental

Fit to size appropriately. The belt can create and unflattering cinching. Felt the need to wear spanx because this material shows everything.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 1, 2015
Beautiful lace work on the sleeves.

Forgiving fit because of the sash.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 26, 2015
Unique dress with lace cutouts.

Very elegant and comfortable dress. Slightly snug in the hips for curvier girls. I received a lot of compliments on this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 22, 2015
Long & lean!

I felt beautiful in this dress as a petite and curvy woman this dress made me feel long and lean! It was just at the knee for me and the lace cutouts contrasting with the burgundy color was perfect done. The belt that came with it was essential to create shape within the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
December 20, 2015
Loved the dress, comfortable, fit great, gorgeous lace!

The dress was supposed to come with a ribbon belt, as pictured, but it was missing when I received the dress. It looked fine without it though.

Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2015
Gorgeous dress! I wore it to my graduation ceremony and received tons of compliments

This dress fits true to size. Definitely not as short as it appears on the model.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2015
Super cute!

Wore this dress to a winter wedding in December. The lace was a little work down but overall I was happy with my selection!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
December 2, 2014
Not able to wear

Sleeves were very tight and the length may be a bit on the short side for some. Beautiful material wish it was a better fit

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2014
Gorgeous lace!

This dress fits true to size. It is gorgeous and figure flattering. I normally wear a 4-8 depending on the designer and the 8 fit comfortably (not too right but not baggy). I didn't send up wearing this dress because it was damaged but I'd love to re-rent it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 6, 2013
Beautiful, but way too big!

I loved the color and the lace, but if I didn't have a black belt, I wouldn't have been able to wear this. I have worn a DVF 0 before without an issue. This dress was just huge! Also, wearing a belt helped to shorten it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 6, 2013
Beautiful unique dress

This is a gorgeous dress. It is out of synthetic fabric so it retains its color and structure so well. Got tons of compliments. I usually wear a 6 but ended up wearing the 4 instead. Large arms and fabric has stretch.

ErinOctober 6, 2013
Do you have any pictures?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 143lbs
October 6, 2013
Great for a wedding, I felt sexy.

The fit was good, but maybe not the greatest for a curvy girl, The dress just hangs and doesn't accent anything but great legs. The lace detail is sexy. It is a beautiful classy dress.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2013
Perfect for a fall wedding

Loved this dress! I am typically a size 4, but I ordered both the 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2. I wish I would have ordered the 0. The dress was long and a little baggy. It did not come with the wrap that is shown in the picture. I used a thin black belt to tighten it up and make it a little shorter. The color was also a little more plum colored than the picture of the model revealed. Over all I still really liked this dress and it was really comfortable to wear all night at the wedding.

ErinOctober 7, 2013
Do you have any other pictures?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
October 19, 2013
Beautiful lace, comfortable, classic.

I usually wear a size 6 and was able to wear a size 4 in this dress because of the sleeve length and the length of the dress. I couldn't order a size 6 because they weren't available, so I ordered a size 4 and size 8 and because I'm 5'3", the size 8 was too long on me. The only disappointment I had with this dress was that it didn't come with the sash shown in the picture.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
October 19, 2013
Gorgeous dress in a great color, Runs big though!

I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and unfortunately was sick so I never got to wear it. I tried it on and it's a beautiful dress, definitely runs big though. I should have listened to the other reviewers when they said it didn't come with the belt that's in the picture. Until I got sick that afternoon, I had every intention of wearing it but was scrambling that day trying to find a belt to cinch the waist. For me, it was completely not wearable without a belt.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 10, 2013
Beautiful dress for a fall wedding

I ordered a zero and a two and ended up wearing the zero (at 3 months pregnant) so I would suggest ordering a size smaller than usual as this dress runs a little big. Also, although the dress is shown with a belt, it didn't come with one so keep that in mind. Overall, I adored this dress. It was comfortable to wear and I received so many compliments. I would highly recommend this!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2013
Could have been better

Dress arrived wrinkled. Nice dress but it really needs to be belted. I wish the dress had come with the belt like it does in the picture.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2013
Did not come with pictured sash - could not wear.

The dress didn't come with the pictured waistband sash and ended up being unwearable because the dress' general smockiness, combined with it's length (I'm shorter) made me look like an Italian widow. It could work with a belt but I ordered this for a destination wedding and didn't have anything available. The lace detailing was very beautiful, but I think this is best for taller women.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2014
Wish I was taller,..

This dress look short on the model but when I tried it on, it was past my knee. I love to show off my legs so this wasn't a keeper for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 28, 2014
It was a beautiful dress

Although the dress was a bit long on me, the overall fit was perfect! It was simple and elegant. A perfect piece for a wedding!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 27, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress although it was quite cute

I didn't wear it

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 12, 2014
Beautiful Dress, But Not Fitted

I loved the style of this dress! The lace detail gives it a very unique look. However, I was a little disappointed with the fit. The dress seems more like a shift, and even with the belt, it's difficult to achieve a perfect fit. If you're looking a dress that has room and is more forgiving, then this is the dress for you. If you want something more snug, I would opt for something else.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 22, 2014
Elegant dress

This was my backup dress so I never got a chance to wear it. If I order it again to wear for real I'll probably order the size 2.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2013
Too big; not flattering; sash not included

The fabric of this dress was wonderful: very high quality lace and body of the dress. However, the sleeves were too long and the cut around the hip was a little larger than expected. The sash pictured with this dress was not included as promised. As a result, I decided to return this dress and RTR has been awesome through that process.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 17, 2014
Looks way better on the model.

I rented this for a wedding. When I got it in the mail it was brand new with the tags still on it, but there was no belt on either size I got. I called rent the runway about it, and they would have immediately sent me one, however I'm not sure it would have helped. It looked like a hanging, way to big bag, sheet, whatever bad you could think of, but the sleeves and shoulders were tight. I'm 6 feet tall, and it was really long on me too. It just wasn't my cup of tea at all. However, rent the runway is amazing and overnighted me another dress in a different style I liked and that one worked out awesome.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 1, 2013
Gorgeous dress!

The dress was sooooo pretty, which made it an added bummer that neither size fit. I am rather busty, and seeing as how this dress has no zipper, it was almost impossible to pull it over my head. I would NOT recommend this dress if you are larger up top, it'll flatten you like a pancake.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2013
Pretty dress - bummed it didn't fit me

I went back and forth on this dress for weeks before deciding to rent it. My normal size is an 8 so after reading lots of reviews that said it ran a little big or true to size, I rented an 8 and a 6. The 8 was way too tight in the thigh and stomach area. The photo of the model makes it look like it might be a shift dress with the way it's belted, but it's definitely a figure-hugging dress. AND the sash does not come with it. I was really disappointed because it is a beautiful dress! The lace and the color are great - just not for my body. If you're pear-shaped and conscious about your rear and stomach, this might not be the dress for you.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2013
Great for a fall wedding

I got so many compliments with this chic and sexy dress! I rented this for a formal Thanksgiving wedding. I am anywhere between a 4 and an 8 and wore the 8. I have a bit of a tummy and some hips so the 6 was too tight. The 8 was form-fitting, but I wore it with Spanx and it looked very flattering with the belt cinched at the waist. I wore a black strapless bra because a regular bra would have shown through the lace. The color was gorgeous and different from the basic black I usually choose. Very chic and sexy, but appropriate for a church wedding. I would definitely recommend this dress for a semi-formal or formal event, but size up if you are curvy. (I did not have an issue with the arms being too tight like some of the other reviewers mentioned.)

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2014
This dress looks better in person. The silk is so soft.

I didn't wear this dress because even with spanx on the bottom was a bit tight. It pulled right at my thighs and stomach. I still will order this again if I loose a little on the hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 18, 2014
I sent this dress back.

Dress ran very small especially thru the hips. Missing belt which is pictured. Too bad. I really liked this dress online. RTR made sure I wasn't stuck with a dress that didn't work. Love this service!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 19, 2014
A vision in plum!

This dress runs a bit small on curvier body types. It comes with the belt to highlight your waist. I felt that it was too form-fitting for me (ladies, get your spans ready) but it's a beautiful color that's complimentary to all skin tones. The black lace detailing was totally intact and not frayed, and is a neat contrast against the purple of the dress. I'd suggest black almond-toe heels with minimal jewelry- go for stud earrings and a dark colored cuff but pass on a necklace- the detailing is enough!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 21, 2014
Everyone complimented me on this dress at the wedding!

This dress was gorgeous in person except the material was a little more clingy than I had anticipated. And the cut was straight so if you have curves like me you may want to size up unless you like things tight. Overall I was very happy with it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 6, 2014
Not a great fit.

No stretch, and does not come with belt. I am a little hippy and it made me lose my waist.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 20, 2014
Didn't Fit

I ordered a size 8 and a 10 in this dress. The fit was so off, the 8 was way too small in the chest and the 10 was still too small in the chest but was way too long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2014
Wearing this color dress in Napa Valley was perfect!

This dress was perfect for a night out in wine country. It was a formal 1920's theme so it worked nicely with adding some 20's inspired accessories. I had gained some weight so it was a bit snug. Overall, great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2014
Not good

Didn't care for the material. My arms were too big and it was clingy. Not good for athletic body

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2015
Sorry this silly pic is the best full length picture I have of the dress. Overall, loved it!

I have a small top and larger hips, and it was pretty snug around the hips, though not uncomfortably or noticeably so (as far as I know). I might have gotten a larger size for the hips. It's either silk, or some type of silk-material, so it will cling to your body and show off lumps, etc., so if you're concerned about that, you might want to consider spanx of some sort. All of that said, I loved wearing it and got so many compliments! It was perfect for a relatively informal fall wedding. Most importantly, it was comfortable to dance in!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2014
Cute cocktail dress!

This was a backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. But I tried it on and it was very cute. I'm a 4 in DVF but for a shift dress that isn't a wrap I would always recommend going a size up. I would definitely rent this again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 23, 2014
Quality of the fabric is not what I expected

On the picture the dress looks beautiful, but in real it is not the best quality in my opinion. But luckily I ordered 2 other dresses! Dress runs true to the size, does not stretch at all and has slightly tight in the upper sleeves. But what I did not like is the material, because it is very easy to get wrinkles. So I did wear my back up dress instead and loved it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 12, 2015
Great, classy dress that I wore for a Wine Tasting party we hosted. Got a lot of compliments on it!!

I normally wear a size 6 dress, but had to go with the 8. The size six was really tight in the chest area.

See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×