Diane von Furstenberg

Dark Roses Dress

$75 rental
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want the perfect prom dress? Rent this adorable Diane von Furstenberg dress. .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black pleated chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Full skirt with rosette detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 26'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

81 reviews

Fit
Small 22
True to Size 49
Large 10
Photos 32
Olivia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Feb 20, 2012

RTR had great customer service that answered any question I had!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal date party and loved it!! It was super flattering! My only complaint - the size 2 was stretched out in the bust. My best advice for small busted girls like me would be to use a stick-on bra (because the dress rides low and you would be able see the strap across the back) and then pin/tape the dress to the bra.
Ann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Feb 20, 2012

This dress was the perfect mix of sassy and sweet. Don't forget your hot pink lipstick!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I wore it to my engagement party. It was such a fun party dress and so comfortable to wear throughout the evening. I must note that the top does not have boning so there is little structure to support your chest. Perhaps not the best choice if you are larger up top. Overall, a great dress!
Sonya Wright
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 5, 2012

It gave me the opportunity to wear a gorgeous dress and bag for a fraction of the cost.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt super sexy in this dress, the layers don't read on camera but are delightful in person. My husband was beyond proud to have me on his arm. I have noticed I wear a size up in designer dresses, the curse of "vanity sizing." The size 2 was an exact fit, but the 4 allowed extra room for a strapless bra. I would not recommend this dress for anyone over a "B" cup. I wore a petty coat under the dress to amp up the volume, I would highly recommend the same for a cute party look.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2012

I danced in this dress all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress. It was really comfortable and flattering. The top sits really low and you NEED Hollywood tape. One inch higher and that's the reason I gave it 4 stars. The sexy top is evened out by the flirty bottom of the skirt. The texture doesn't photograph well at all, but in person it is amazing. Size up because it is a bit tight like the other reviews mention.
Donna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 8, 2012

trying to decide which shoes to wear with it! so in love with this dress! i never wanted to take it off! <3

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this was my first time using Rent the Runway and i could not be happier! i will never buy a formal dress ever again!!!! This dress is gorgeous!! It fit great! The only little complaint i have is that some of the ruffles were folded the wrong way and i was too terrified to try to iron it, so i just left it. Otherwise, it was perfect! The skirt is a little longer in the back than the front so that was nice. The top fit however if you have a larger bust, we all know there is more of an issue with things staying in place, but none more than usual. Overall, i was so so happy with this dress and hated to have to return it!!
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great party dress. The volume of the skirt was fantastic and I loved the texture of the fabric. I found the length to be perfect. It ran a little big, however and I needed to use fashion tape to make sure the top didn't slip on me. The 0 probably would have fit better, but wasn't available. I added my own belt to tighten the fit around my waist a little and I was happy with the fit for a night. Overall, the dress was fun enough to make these modifications worth it.
Andrea
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 22, 2012

Amazing and super cute dress! Perfect for any formal affair!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a black tie affair that many celebrities and retail exectives attended.Knowing that high profile guest would be at this gala, it was important that I find the perfect dress. When ordered this dress I was nervous about how it would fit, but it ended up being true to size. My only issue was that the chest kept sliding down, but the free Hollywood tape RTR provided fixed the problem! I definitely recommed this dress!
ra
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Great dress to dance in!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually vary between a 0 and 2 in DVF but for this dress I was absolutely a 2. So thankful that they give the option of sending a 2nd sizes or I would have been in big trouble. If you have a bigger chest and are debating between 2 sizes - go up to the next size. Dress was a lot of fun and received a lot of compliments. I usually wear fitted dresses but this was a nice change.
Marcella
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 27, 2012

I loved how fun and flirty this dress was...it was so much more than a little black dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Diane Von Furstenberg's dresses tend to run on the smaller side, especially if you have a larger bust like myself. I had to size up for this dress. I normally wear an 8/10 in dresses and the size 10 would not zip up the bust. Other than that, the dress was great and I got a lot of compliments on it! I'd definitely rent it again!
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Unique twist on the traditional LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
DVF never disappoints! I rented this dress for a romantic birthday dinner with my husband and it was so fun and flirty! The only thing that I could say about this dress is that the bust could have used a little more support. I had to use double sided tape to keep from having a wardrobe malfunction - other than that it was great! The waist fits true to size, so the size 0 fit my waist great, but the 2 was better on the bust so I went with that size. Definitely recommended, but get yourself some double sided tape and you will be good to go!
Tessa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 30, 2012

Loved the dress, looked great, and got tons of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Top of the dress does not stay without fabric tape. This became very bad at the end of the night, especially if you are doing lots of dancing. Size fit like a glove. Also does not photograph very well, but the texture of the dress in person is fabulous.
Tasha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

I LOVED THIS DRESS! Material is so soft and pretty, amazing detail too. Best time dancing in it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The bust area is of course a little loose, but with the double sided tape it looks great. I could even fit a strapless bra underneath, so that made it even better! I'm a 34c, so not too big, but I didn't see too many problems with it. The pros most definitely outweigh the cons. The top of the dress sits pretty low on the chest, but not enough to make you look inappropriate. It bares the chest just enough to make you feel really confident and sexy! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS DRESS!!
Q
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 16, 2013

Fab dress!! Received compliments all night long, definitely made the event very memorable.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was delivered in a timely fashion and Although I ordered the alternate size bigger because several reviews said it ran small it wasn't necessary. The fit was true to size and no garment tape was needed. I was able to wear a nice VS strapless bra and had no slipping or wardrobe mishaps. As I mentioned earlier I received compliments all night long but the kicker was when someone stopped me on the dance floor and said I had to tell you your dress is stunning and people have been admiring it all throughout the night. I was truly happy overall with my RTR experience and I will definitely utilize their site again. I highly recommend their services.
Leah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Mar 17, 2013

Great Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was definitely skeptical about renting a dress, but it worked out perfectly. I found a Diane Von Ferstenberg size chart online and measured myself just to make sure I was getting the right size. My measurements were for a size 8 and it fit perfectly. Based on the stylist tips on RTR I got a size 6 as a backup size, but it was too small, I couldn't even zip it up. The only thing is that it does run a teeny bit large in the bust, and the dress sits pretty low on your chest, so it when I first put it on it felt like it was going to fall off. I fixed this by wearing a strapless bra and using fashion tape to tape the dress on securely. It stayed on with no problems and I got tons of compliments all night!
Madeleine
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

I loved this dress; it was fun, flirty, and I got a lot of compliments on it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to make sure my boobs were still in the dress because of the balconette style top.
ARS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Great dress, lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore it for a wedding that I was in this past weekend. It's a darling dress. Runs a little big...normally DVF runs small, so I ordered a 6, with an 8 as a backup and it was pretty lose up top. The bust area wouldn't stay up without Hollywood tape, but all in all a fun dress to wear to a wedding. The organza material was a little worn out and wouldn't stay down along the waistline. You can see it in the picture.
Krisha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

This was for the opening night of Motown the Musical on Broadway.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt beautiful in this dress and would recommend RTR to everyone and use them for every event. I placed my order at midnight and it was delivered by 4pm the next day. I did pay for same day delivery. Enjoy!
Chloe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
May 9, 2013

I couldn't stop twirling

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit very well and was still in great condition. I wore a pair of fun and crazy heels to make the dress less formal and more appropriate for my event.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 17, 2013

I was so glad I decided to go dressy to a hotel's 25th anniversary party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly except for in the top. Runs very small in the bust.
Susannah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 26, 2013

I felt absolutely gorgeous in this dress! Like a princess.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress itself is beautiful - the shape, the texture, everything. It was incredibly flattering. It made my waist look tiny. The main problem (which was my fault, not the dress's) is that I'm fairly full-chested and the dress was very low cut. I taped it and it stayed up for photos, for the most part, but as soon as it tried to dance it fell down and my boobs were falling out all night. Other than that, I have nothing to complain about. I felt incredible all night.
Clare
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Jun 5, 2013

So many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up taking a risk and ordering a 6 when I normally wear a size 8 (RTR didn't have an 8 the day I wanted to rent one). Though the 6 was a little tight, it worked well because the top of the dress is naturally loose (and I have a small bust). I had to use double sided tape to keep it up all night, but I would wear the dress again in a second. It's the perfect little black party dress. One thing to be aware of is that the dress doesn't photograph all that well because the camera has a hard time picking up the texture/design of the dress. In person though the dress is stunning!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Beautiful dress perfect for pear shapped women!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my junior prom and I loved it! I ordered a size 2 and 6. The size six fit better but there was a rip next to the zipper and it ended up not zipping up or down which made it quite the hassel to get out of. But I was able to squeeze into the size 2. The bust runs a bit large but other then that it's pretty true to it's size. It looked great and I got compliments all night! I would recommend this dress and RTR who anyone who hasn't tried it before!
Audge
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 8, 2013

Perfect "Little Black Dress"!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my sister's Bachelorette Party in New York with the theme "Little Black Dress". It was great! The bust is definitely low cut but a gorgeous neck line. The body fit fine on the smaller sizes I originally tried, but only was too small in the bust. Even if it fits you well up top, I recommend fashion tape. Super cute and flattering over all... I got tons of compliments!
kar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Too short

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Too short for me to wear to the wedding. Top was stretched out
Marie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Jul 31, 2013

Super cute, wish I could have worn it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
While this dress is super cute and looked great on a lot of the girls who rented it on the RTR site, unfortunately when I got it, it was just too short. I am 5'7" with long legs and a long torso and sad to say it was just not long enough to cover my butt and my chest at the same time, if I wanted to be able to sit down at all. Unfortunate because it is a really adorable dress, makes me wish I was a few inches shorter because I think this dress would look great on any body type just not any height...
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 17, 2013

Hard to go wrong with a black dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The style of the dress was nice and I enjoyed wearing it however there was a tear in the body of the dress and it clearly had been worn one too many times.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

Cute dress, fun skirt, bust fit weird.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs small in the waist and large in the bust--not the cups but the top seam of the dress was too loose, like maybe it had been stretched out. Also the side zipper puckered right below the waist, which was unflattering. But if it had fit better, it was a cute dress with a fun, swishy skirt. It wasn't nearly as short on me as on others, I'm 5'3" and it hit at the top of my knee.
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

A little stressful waiting for a dress that I had never tried on, but a great experience. SO happy.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Would have preferred the size 8, but it wasn't available. Fit well and was young and flirty without being trashy. Lots of compliments.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Pretty dress but ended up not wearing it...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 4 and 6 and ended up receiving a 2 and 6. The 2 was too small and the 6 was too big. I ended up not wearing the dress since I didn't get the right sizes. I wrote to RTR and they immediately credited my account! Great customer service and will continue to use RTR!!
Piper
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 30, 2013

Adorable

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as a backup dress. I am a size 4 but they only had a size 6 available the weekend I needed it so unfortunately the dress was too big around my bust and ribcage! If I could have gotten it in a size 4 I definitely would have worn it instead of my original dress. This dress is so cute I was obsessed with it. Definitely would recommend
Krystal
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Great Dress. Everyone loved it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it for my Birthday Party and the dress was a hit.
mea17
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Gorgeous dress, but unfortunately arrived damaged so I was unable to wear it.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is absolutely beautiful and fit well for a petite figure, but unfortunately arrived damaged for my event.
Stacy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

I wore this to a wedding after flying in the morning of from an international trip, it was perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
PROS: I wore this to a wedding after flying in the morning of from an international trip. I wanted something that was comfortable and cute. This dress was both! The top line is super cute and the length was wedding appropriate!!! CONS: Fit too big. I am usually between a 6 and a 4. The 4 would have fit much better and I think I would have loved the dress rather then thinking it was just ok. By the end of the night it stretched out a little and kept falling down.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Great little black dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wasn't sure about this dress, so when I ordered a different dress for a bachelorette party I threw this one in too, at the reduced price. I was happy I did! It was a great little party dress! It was a bit shorter on me than I would normally wear, but for the occasion it worked out alright. The texture doesn't photograph as well, but in person it is an intricate dress.
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

This is prettier in person...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is such a pretty and fun dress, I really wanted it to fit, but again I just could not get the zipper around my bustline. However, it has a good amount of room up top, so I think if I had been able to order the size larger I would not have filled it out. If you are narrower in the waist this will look great - it will hide all manner of sins in the hips!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

REALLY SHORT.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'7" and am not afraid to wear dresses on the shorter side. The fit was perfect. However, this dress arrived and was so short it made me blush. I didn't end up wearing it. Renter beware! You don't want to be flashing anyone at your formal functions!
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 25, 2014

Cute dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding but when I got it--it was way too short to wear to a wedding (regardless of the season). If you have a butt--it will make it even shorter! This would be a really cute dress for a different type of party (birthday party, bachelorette party...) just not a wedding.
Anai
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

This dress started my love affair with DVF

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR dress and what a stunner! This dress has such a flattering fit! Only negative thing I can say is that I have a medium sized chest and I was busting out of the top a little. I would not recommend this dress to very busty ladies. However, if you want to look busty this one is for you! The material feels very luxurious and the detail (which unfortunately you can't see in the photo) is beautiful. Highly recommend!
Jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 18, 2014

Too Short, Too showing - not good for tall girls

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding & unfortunately had to return it- because it was un-wearable. It was sooo short on me i wasn't able to move w/o showing off private parts. There was no room to pull it down because the dress was so low cut. This is definitely a risky dress & i would not recommend.
Liz
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Was a great dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress but the top was a little big and needed double stick tape so it didn't pucker out. Dress was shorter than expected.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×