Jenn's Jaguar Dress

$47 to buy
$535 retail
Stylist Notes

Rock this insane hot little black dress by D&G by Dolce and Gabbana, with a bold bracelet for a great going out look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up - built in underwire at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - flattering fabric cinches in waist - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips; bust has built-in underwire
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up - built in underwire at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - flattering fabric cinches in waist - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips; bust has built-in underwire
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk satin. Square neckline. Black satin inset. Adjustable straps. Exposed back zipper. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
150 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2011
This dress is incredible, extremely flattering and not your typical LBD. I would suggest sizing up if you have a larger chest-built in bra is smaller
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2011
Fantastic dress! Wore it in Vegas and received many compliments. I loved it so much that I just purchased this dress in the leopard print.Very flattering.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2011
LOVE,LOVE, LOVE! very flattering on and hugs in all the right places.. this dress is super comfortable too! I got tons of compliments on it too!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 12, 2011
This dress was AWESOME! The bust is pretty small though- I had a size 6 (which is one size up from what I usually am) and am a C- I should have gone one more size up. It was ok, but I felt pretty self concious about the boobs. The good thing about this dress is that it hugs nicely and the material is such that I think it would still fit great in a larger size. So flattering- made me look like I had hips!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 14, 2011
I loved this dress! it definitely has Vavavoom. Tried to buy it but could only find a size 0 so it was great to be able to rent a size 2. I will rent this dress again, I am addicted to it. Cup size runs a little small but onlookers did not seem to mind! :)))))
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 20, 2011
My girlfriends told me their dates wouldn't stop commenting on how great I looked in this dress
LOVE this dress! I was worried about the fit, but the fabric really does stretch in all the right places. I wore the 46 (size 10) and I tend to range from a size 6-10 depending on the style of a dress, I'd definitely recommend going up if you have big hips. (I'm 40 inches at the hips and size 46 was just right) The upper bra is WAY too small (I'm a D cup), but I just wore a strapless underneath and it didn't matter. I was told I was "stunning," "fabulous", "beautiful" and "whooooooooa". Get this dress, it'll do wonders.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 29, 2011
this dress is fits amazing. it is sophisticated yet sexy . i was so happy with the rental process and willl be back
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 6, 2011
The dress has a built in bra, which if your on the larger side does not support well at all. I had to improvise and add a bra and remove the straps and it worked. I received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
April 25, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this dress. It's sexy, feels awesome on your body and simply stunning. I wore this item to a boxing match up at Foxwoods and got numerous compliments. If you have a larger chest size (C and up), it really highlights your chest--meaning the built it makes it stand out. I dont think you need to size it up though. I paired this with a black blazer and silver heels/accessories. I will definitely order this dress again--or perhaps buy it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
April 25, 2011
I rented this dress in a 38(2), and 40(4)the size 38(2) fit the best but is really small in the bust area because of the built in bra. I ended up wearing the size 40(4). I felt so sexy and got tons of compliments. This dress hugs you in all the right places. If you rent this dress and you are bigger busted I would definilty order a back up size. If i would of worn the smaller size I don't think i would of felt as comfortable due to the size of the built in bra. But all in all if you are looking for a sexy yet sophisticated dress this is the one. I will definitly rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2011
Loved it! I have a very small chest and this gave me a little lift :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
June 8, 2011
I want to own this dress! its THE go to LBD. really accentuates your figure. its confortable and the material is rich and well made. Gotta love D&G!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
July 5, 2011
LOVE this dress. Would rent again any day and thinking about buying. Snug in all the right places, it will definitely show off your curves!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
August 29, 2011
I LOVED this dress!! The fabric is beautiful and the fit is absolutely perfect! The only sad part is that you have to return it at the end. The length is nice and it has just the right amount of cling. This was my first experience with RTR and I will definitely be back!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
September 1, 2011
Amazign fit and wowed the crowd. The built-in bra is small which is why I noted the dress runs small. I was unable to fit a strapless bra underneath though it fit like a glove everywhere else. You will feel like a pin-up girl!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
September 25, 2011
Fits like a glove, hugs curves, great length, very sexy, but classy at the same time!
This was my first rental from Rent the Runway.com & it has made me a 'believer' in the power of the dress rental! Part of my selecting this dress was from the reviews I read, so I am now doing my part by giving feedback. This dress was actually my first rental ever, but I rented it again as my backup dress for a Nicole Miller dress that did not fit & wound up wearing it again, but with no regrets. Picture shown is the second time I wore it. Dress fit perfectly, I choose a 44 & did not have a backup size sent, so I was very fortunate. I am tall & the length was perfect, hit right at the knees as shown in the photo. The only slight negative may have been the torso length. I have a long torso, so this is an issue with a lot of dresses, it gathers a bit in the waist area & was not as smooth when I was moving around as it appears in this photo. The built in cups didn't line up with my breasts, but this was easily fixed with a strapless bra & ultimately gave me some awesome clevage. The best part of this dress was that it was so flattering, I have a tiny waist & full hips & it really plays up the hourglass figure.
erin December 14, 2011
Thank you for sharing your vital stats - so helpful to be able to compare one's own stats to be able to suss out whether the dress will work, especially when there's no backup size! I don't know why more people won't list their weight and size - it's not like anyone can see you and know who you are unless you publish a photo!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
October 14, 2011
When I opened the box and saw the dress, I wondered what all the rave reviews were about. Then I put it on and I swear I felt like a movie star. My normal size fit, but I was glad I had the size up because it was more comfy and still fit like a glove. I received non stop compliments all night. LOVED IT. PS - I wore it with the spanx micro fishnets and that was all the shapewear I needed.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
October 18, 2011
This was my very first order with RTR (ordered 2 days before so options/sizes were limited) but this dress fit perfect! I lucked out that it worked because I wasn't able to get any backup sizes. I received so many compliments on this dress!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182lbs
November 1, 2011
I wore this dress in VEGAS! This dress is so comfortable. It would fit any shape. I have a full bust (DD) and it was ok for Vegas (anything goes) but I would not recommend it for a formal party if you have a large bust. Definitely is an awesome LBD!
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 10, 2011
Fabulous!!
This dress is fabulous! I wore it to an evening wedding, and it was a hit! I received so many compliments! (And a few hater looks, lol) I was concerned about the dress being too long on me, but it hit right below the knee. The dress is classy and sophisticated, yet very sexy and revealing -- perfect combination! I loved it so much that I am trying to find it at retail to buy (no luck, yet). This was my first RTW experience, and I will definitely be back to rent again! Btw, being able to order a second size is a life saver!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2011
I wore this for my 29th Birthday and felt amazing in it!
This dress is so sexy and flattering, especially for hourglass figures. Accentuates in all the right places and the material is forgiving. It does have minimal stretch so I did opt to wear the larger size. The only downfall was that the larger size had a broken underwire and it was poking my skin throughout the night. I remedied the situation with a little fabric tape.
JJJuly 20, 2015
what color shoes did you wear? thanks
AlexaJuly 20, 2015
Thank you so much! They are called the Desta High Heel by Ivanka Trump.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2011
Didn't go with it
This was my backup dress. I wound up going with the other style I ordered. This style fit perfectly, but it was too similar to a dress I already owned and had worn a bunch of times. I liked the other style better (the Vena Cava cap sleeve dress, LOVED it) and it was a little more grown up and classier for the occasion (afternoon wedding).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2011
Picking an outfit is a snap when you have Rent the Runway at your fingertips!
I wore this to a huge NYE party and had many people ask me who it was and where I got it. Comfortable fit (a little tight in the bust), great silhouette.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2011
Sexy AND comfortable. I was sad when it came time to return this dress!
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 15, 2011
Fabulous!!
I was so worried this dress wasn't going to fit for my office holiday party and was elated to discover that it was extremely stretchy and comfortable and hugged in all the right places. Such a flattering, gorgeous dress! The bra insert was hilariously small for my large chest, but with a little shoving and fluffing and adjusting, it looked just right anyway. :) Anyone blessed with curves of their own (or looking to create some!) would absolutely love this dress!
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 114
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2012
I felt amazing wearing a dress so luxuriously constructed! This satin, sleek number made me feel like my best.
My best friend saw this dress hanging next to the others I packed and said, "Hmmm, I wonder if this can fit ME...maybe I can wear it." Once she saw it on me she said, "Who makes that dress?!? I have to buy it!" I felt like the belle of the ball as we danced the night away on New Year's Eve. Many thanks to Rent The Runway! Fit Note: I have a small frame and large natural breasts. It can be very difficult to find dresses that fit. With the right strapless bra, the dress was fitting enough that it acted as a corset. Yet, it had enough stretch to fit my friend who is almost a foot taller than me and has a slightly wider frame.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2012
I was able to wear this dress without spanx and helped reinforce that all the hard work I've been doing on the treadmill is paying off. I've never felt sexier!
I wore this for NYE and the reason I rented it was because all of the reviewers said how amazing it made them feel. So true!!! I have never felt as sexy as I did in that dress. It fit like a glove. I was worried that the length might hit me in the wrong spot (as dresses tend to do when you are short) but it was perfect. Hit right below the knee. It is very formfitting, so if you are thinking of renting this and wearing spanx under it you may want to think again. You will be able to see whatever you have on underneath. Just a warning. It was my first rental and I can't wait until my next one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
January 13, 2012
wish my size was available
I ordered a 44 and a 48 in this dress as the 46 was not available and had my fingers crossed. I am a true size 10 with a full bust 36D. The 44 was too tight and the 48 too large but I think the style of the dress is retro, glam and sexy! I will try and order again in the correct size, I think it will be great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2012
Wanted to Keep this dress !!
This dress was so beautiful. I recently had a baby and wasn't completely down to size yet. I was feeling anxious and wasn't sure if i wanted to go to the party. I rented this dress, and it fit perfectly. The fabric is form fitting and made me look slender, I loved this dress! I received so many compliments and it made me feel great about myself again. At the time of the party i was 5 ' 5" and weighed aprox 145 pounds. I rented size 40 and 42 to be on the safe size. The bra top was not quite big enough for C - D cup but i was able to wear a black strapless bra and it looked perfect. I would definitely rent this dress again!~ loved it.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2012
My very-stylish friend told me that this was the best dress she's ever seen me wear! :)
As with many reviewers, I only wish I could find this dress in stores somewhere so I could buy it! I have an athletic/straight-ish body shape and this gave me all the curves I could ask for, along with many compliments. I was at a day-to-night wedding, so I wore a little cardigan over it at the church and took that off later for dancing! I got a size 40 and 42 and I probably could have made the 40 work in a pinch, but the 42 was just right. My only complaint is that the construction in the bust is kind of baffling: there is a separate piece of fabric on the inside of the bust to create a layered look, but it isn't sewn into one place on the bottom edge. This made it kind of hard to keep it in place in relation to the outer piece (it kept sliding up and down), so I was adjusting the inner piece often throughout the night. I don't know if that makes sense, but it was weird. Also, I wouldn't wear this if you're going to an event where you'll be sitting a lot because the fabric wrinkles quite a bit. By the way, I'm 36/28/38.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2012
feeling sexy
I am in love with this dress!! only one complaint, the top does run a little small as there is built in bra with under wire and has a tendency to smush your boobs a little bit. My spanks and the dress material disagreed a little bit as well and I had to pull down the dress while dancing, it just kept riding up. I am a little larger on bottom (thankfully the material is stretchy) than I am on top and the dress was very slimming at the high waist point and gave me this killer hour glass figure. But I got literally TONS of compliments all night long and I felt so incredibly sexy! I would love to buy this dress so I could wear it over and over!
KristiOctober 8, 2012
Hi Becca, I am 5'1" also, and considering this dress. Did you use hem tape on this dress or was the length ok for you? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 30, 2012
Smokin'!
This dress is absolutely amazing, I was getting compliments all night. I would love, love, love to own it. I'd say the biggest fit factor in this dress is the bust--both the 10 and the 12 would've fit fine and had some give in the waist and hips, but I don't quite have the chest to fill out the 12, so I went with the 10.
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
July 12, 2012
I felt amazing..
Ok...I just got this dress in the mail today. I rented it for a very important photo shoot..I am a size 10 (46)normally, however this dress was nt available in tht size. I got the 8(44) w/ no back up size..my shape is like most african american women..big hips(44 1/2) small waist(32) small bust(36B)...my concern was my hips and thighs my bust is small so i knew tht wouldnt be a problem...I had my fingers crossed..slipped it on today..and hoooooooooney! Let me teeeellll u.....perfect! im wearing this 8...there is a gr8 amount of stretch!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
July 13, 2012
Vavavoom!
Loved this dress! It accentuated my curves and my husband really loved it. I felt super sexy for my Birthday celebration!
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
July 23, 2012
Sexy dress
I rented this dress for a wedding. Everyone kept telling me how hot and gorgeous I looked. The dress fit like a glove. If you have an hour glass or pear shape this dress really shows your Assets. Can't wait for my next rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
August 5, 2012
Great quality
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas but ended up not wearing it. I liked the length (It nearly covered my knees) but my bust was just not big enough to support the top while fitting my hips. I really wish I weren't so oddly shaped because I definitely wanted to wear it :( The material was high quality and I loved the feel of it.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 10, 2012
Almost Fantastic
This was my backup dress and I'm glad I got 2 sizes in the first dress. Although this dress is sleek and feels great, the built-in bra is impossible. I went a size up and my 36Ds were still spilling over the side. The bra part of the dress is not ideal, I wish they had left the cups out. If your breasts are small or medium, this will probably be a great dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 13, 2012
Knowing that no where else in Iowa, did anyone else have this dress!
I rented this for my cousin's wedding. I was a little intimidated when picking a size because I'm usually a 0 or 2 and and the sizes it recommended were 38 and 40. I actually had to go with the 40 because I couldn't even zip the other one up. It had some type of built in slip/ bralette so I had to wear a non padded strapless in order to fit my chest into the dress. It was tight around my hips as well. It was probably a little tighter than what should be worn to a wedding, but I felt so sexy in it. It is definatly a bit naughty so be prepared to turn heads.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2012
Hot dress looks great!
Wore it to a bachelorette and then for a sexy engagement-shoot outfit! It's great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 21, 2012
Knockout dress
I wore this to a Spring evening wedding and the fit was amazing. The only downside is the built in bra that I found to be a bit snug for my 34D breast but I wore a strapless bra that contained them. Otherwise, it was a hit and I received several compliments.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×