David Meister

Time Will Tell Sheath

$45 rental
$550 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Start a spark on your next night out in this David Meister sheath. You will glow as your eyes meet his under the spotlights. Bring out the sequin sparkle with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple Ombre Sequins (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook and eye closure. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

119 reviews

Fit
Small 39
True to Size 69
Large 1
Photos 84
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Fun party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Light and easy fit
erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 174 lbs
Dec 21, 2013

I felt like a movie star

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved this dress, though you may want to eat light when you wear it. With the downward view, (me looking down) i thought, no way, muffin top. but from looking in a mirror, or someone else looking at it, they were like "you look so tiny!" i think it was the ombre effect of the colors that left you looking slim...just make sure to watch out for the sequins, they can rub your arms the wrong way if you're not careful. sized up to a 12 for backup since its tight, but really, it was just more roomy in the bust and looked weird on me, so wore the 10 and had a great night in it!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

Very fun dress for NYE! Loads of compliments !

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the 6 for comfort-,but the 4 fit. Very comfortable and stretchy. Sequins under the arms kind of painful by the end of the night- otherwise a great dress.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

A sparkly New Year's Eve stunner

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was very form-fitting and flashy--perfect for NYE! However, there was a bit of extra room in the chest of the dress--I had to wear the most padded bra I own and pull down the front of the dress just a little bit to avoid the extra fabric up top drooping. Like another RTR user, I also noticed that the black slip under the dress kept peeking out of the bottom (it did this on both the size 8 and size 10 dress), but I wore it on NYE so it was dark enough that no one could really tell anyway! Overall, the dress worked pretty well for what I rented it for.
Cassie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Goregous and perfectly flattering!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress last minute as my intended dress did not work out. I placed the order at 1 PM and recieved it in the mail before 24 hours had even passed. Very convenient! I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for New Years Eve. It really flatters your body well. I received compliments left and right. If I could afford to, I would buy this dress and wear it again and again! I WILL order from RTR again! Such a great service :-)
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Perfect Dress for a NYE Wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I love love loved this dress! It was so pretty and sparkly, perfect for the NYE Wedding I went to. I'm in between an 8 and 10 and can usually fit comfortably in a size 8, but the 10 fit like a glove. I loved the rouching on the stomach, it helped to hide my tummy flub. I would definitely rent this dress again if ever the opportunity arose. So pretty and glamorous, I felt gorgeous and sexy all night.
Tricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

Great dress for NYE

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a really fun dress to wear for NYE. It had the perfect amount of sparkle. It fit nicely, and I received lots of compliments. It was a little itchy in the underarm area, but it was nothing a couple of margaritas couldn't fix! I'm smaller on top, so it was a little loose, but otherwise it was great!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 10, 2014

Great color but size UP for curves, esp hips.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My mistake was betting on the wearers who said this ran large. If you have an athletic figure or otherwise can't fill out a low V neck, it may seem large in the bust, but it is NOT large throughout. I wear a 12 at Ann Taylor, a 14 most other places, but a 16 in many designers. Because of the many comments that this ran large, I chose size 12/14. The neckline was fine, but the shell didn't stretch although the mesh sequined overlay did; that meant the sequined mesh rode up but the shell did not, and inches of the shell were visible at the hem below the sequins. The sequined mesh also puckered in the back at the shoulders. Also, the mesh that is the basis for the sequins is very fragile, and was not holding up well after previous wears. Some of the mesh had broken and the loose threads needed to be tied off. I wore it because I was traveling for NYE and had a too-casual back up outfit. The color and ombre was beautiful, and I got compliments from people who saw me sitting or didn't look down at the hem; but I was lamenting that I didn't just go for the 16. Also, the sequins run high under the arms and after the NYE champagne wore off, I realized the skin there was raw/red, as other commenters have noted
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Beautiful, fun dress -- Perfect for a NYE wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress for a NYE wedding in Arizona! Super comfortable. Form fitting but not tight. My only complaint was the sequins rubber under my arms getting a little uncomfortable by the end of the night!
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Unique and stunning! Perfect for a party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a night out in Las Vegas and it was perfect! I loved the gradient violet that sparkled - truly a unique choice over the basic black dress! Fit wise, I tend to wear anything from XS to M based on how it fits across the back (I'm built like a swimmer with a broad back and shoulders) and I was not able to zip up the size 2, while the size 4 fit well across the back and still fit nicely in the waist and hips. I loved that it had a sexy cut, but I could still wear it wear a normal bra. As with all sequin dresses, I had expected and endured abrasiveness on the inside of my arms while dancing, but we tend to dance with our arms up in the air anyway, right? Highly recommended dress. I also loved the Badgley Mischka Necklace I wore with it, but would recommend a piece in a darker shade to better compliment this dress. Also, one of my pictures shows my girlfriend wearing a Herve Leger dress (Lady Moscow), which was stunning and I have reserved to wear for another occasion in a size small.
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 23, 2014

I wore this dress for my bachelorette party! Felt like a princess, great color comfortable to wear!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits true to size. The sequins will bother your arms for the first few mins but nothing that would make me not rent it again. Comfortable to dance the night away!
Nisha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 31, 2014

Great party dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 24th birthday in Atlantic City. I usually wear either an 8 or a 10 so I ordered both (highly recommend doing this) and the 10 fit perfectly. The only downside was the black slip underneath kept popping out. Otherwise it is a great party dress!
Amelia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Formal dance party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs very true to size, fun party dress!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Sequins irritated my arms a little but otherwise a perfect party dress!
Sidney
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Great dress for a formal, fun occasion!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit seemed pretty true to size to me, maybe slightly on the bigger side as it isn't meant to hug the body too much. I loved the color and sequins were a lot of fun with the sparkle. The only issue for me was that the sequins rubbed when I had my arms to my sides so that was a tad annoying but not enough to make it not worth the dress. The ombre coloring is pretty awesome. I would recommend it!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

So sparkly and fun for a bachelorette party in AC

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore the 6, and it was snug, but hugged the places with the sparkles camouflaged all the areas I'm most self conscious about (belly!) The liner at the bottom kept coming out as the other reviews mentioned, but other than that, it was great. Loved it!
Dana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 4, 2014

Dress was flattering and perfect for a Vegas wedding! Size was true to size. I felt very sparkly.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit good, sequins rubbed a little under arm.
Starr
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2014

This dress was amazing! Exactly what I wanted for my big Vegas Bachelorette party!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for night two of my joint bachelor/bachelorette party in Vegas and it was perfect! It was super comfortable to wear, I went for the bigger size only because the size 10 hips seemed small because the dress kept bunching in the mid section. But, the bigger size also fit just fine. It wasn't too short so I didn't expose myself getting in and out of the limo and I was able to dance until 5AM in it with no problems. The next morning I had some scratches under my underarm where the sequins rubbed but nothing too painful. All my girls wore their best LBD and I stood out like the Rock Star I was in this dress! I highly recommend it for any big party!
Andrea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 18, 2014

My husband thought I looked hot and I felt very confident!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I am usually either a size 6 or 8 depending on designer and cut. I probably could have done a 6 but they only had 8 in the store. I really liked the length. Not too short but short enough to be hot! I also don't usually go for purple but the ombre effect was really pretty. The sequins just felt a little scratchy and the dress seemed like it was nearing the end of it's life.
b
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Jun 3, 2014

Perfect for a pageant contestant!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The cocktail party theme set the tone for the community event I was wearing it to. Not too showy, yet it caught many second glances! Plus, the length was perfect for sitting on top of a float!
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

I wore this to a wedding in Vegas and it was a big hit!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great and i got a lot of compliments on it! I wore a size above what I usually do mostly because it was super short. Despite this, there is a little bit of room in the stomach which made me very comfortable. The dress still is short and for some reason the black slip underneath sticks out a little at the bottom but I don't think that it mattered because the sequins are the thing that most people were looking at!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

This dress was PERFECT

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented the dress for my bachelorette party, and it was just amazing. It fit perfectly, and highlighted my best features. I'm 5'6" but wore 5-6 inch heels. My only complaint about the dress is that the sequins rubbed my armpits. But it was so worth it. The dress breathed well, stretched, and was so comfortable. I wish I could have afforded to actually just BUY the dress but hhey. Whatever. Awesome dress, seriously.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 6, 2014

Perfect for a night out in Vegas!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this in Vegas for a bachelorette party. I loved it! It was perfect for the occasion. I am usually a 6 or an 8. The 8 was definitely a little big - the 6 fit perfectly.
Kitsy Verona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Fun sequins lit up the night!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing to wear and was a great fit! The dress runs a little small and is also cut pretty short so be ready for that. Otherwise, it's a fun dress to wear!
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

This dress is a head turner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs true to size. Very comfortable for dancing the night away! Sequins around the arm holes were a tiny but itchy but not too terrible! Gives a good hourglass shape but fabric is forgiving in the middle, so have that extra slice of cake! ;-). Absolutely loved this dress!
Natasha
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

perfect for a VIP event, sexy yet classy.. felt like a star!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I loved the shape and the fit, the purple color was unique and fun it's the perfect length for a shorter girl it might be too short on a taller girl though, it does show off your bust nicely if you have a bigger bust, I could even wear my regular bra with it! I fit a size 10 but wore the size 12 because it was tight in the hip area...it does ride up and the black slip shows a little but it really isn't too noticeable, I thought it would scratch my underarms more but it was really just a minor issue
aml
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

NA

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress for great and was sparkly and eye catching. My issue was the lining hanging out from under the dress. Other reviews had stated this same problem but I had hoped it would be ok. I called when it arrived to tell then this issue did exist and was told a new dress was being sent. It never came and I ended up wearing this one anyhow. Rent the runway has great customer service and I will use them again but beware of this issue. I tried both dresses that had been sent to me and they both did that.
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Rented for a night out at Light in Vegas.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas and it was perfect! I don't usually go for purple, but the ombre was beautiful. I got a ton of compliments on this dress. It runs pretty true to size, but was a little tight at the bottom so that the slip part kept peeking out. There isn't really any stretch to this dress so go with your street size and a size up for the backup. The underarm part can get a little itchy, but overall it wasn't that irritating. Perfect for dancing the night away!
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

This dress was so beautiful on. I received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was form-fitting and the perfect color. It was a little short sitting down, but beyond that it was amazing. The sequins were not at all scratchy or uncomfortable.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Jul 27, 2014

I rented at the Vegas store and they were wonderful! Smaller selection than online.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a 4/6 but needed an 8 in this one to fit comfortably. I have a small waist but bigger butt and legs, so the 8 worked perfectly. The only down side are the sequence under the arms were rubbing some. Everyone loved the dress!
Dash
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

I am a repeat renter and this may be my favorite of them all.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect. The color was beautiful. It start as a lavender purple but gets darker as it goes down. it had 3 shades of purple from light to dark. Ombre in reverse. BeforeI rented, I read another review for the dress that said it doesn't work if you have large breast. Large breast can mean many things to different people, but I have a full 32 D cup and I was told my breast looked great in the dress by the stylist at the photo shoot. The dress was fitted but not tight. It may be a good idea to wear your hair up, because my hair kept getting caught in the sequence. Overall 2 thumbs up!
CC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Couldn't zip it up

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was my back-up dress. It was a beautiful dress with a purple to black ombre but I wasn't able to zip it up. The dress runs small from the waist up. I usually wear a size 4 dress size.
Pamela
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

This was my first rental and the dresses arrived on time and in perfect shape.

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
The top fit really well. The length was perfect except I did experience what others reported. The place lining showed due to the sequined material riding up.
shanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 26, 2015

beautiful dress but ran very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was so pretty however it ran very small and I was unable to wear it.
adriana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

The dress stole the night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a semi formal work event. I was looking for something that would get noticed, in an "appropriate" way. This dress was perfect! I received compliments on the dress from people I don't even know. I was surprised by all the attention! Now the dress has no give at all. I almost didn't wear it because it was a tight squeeze, especially in the chest area. I required an extra set of hands to zipper it up. However, once it was on, it was comfortable and I danced the night away. The sequins are scratchy under the arms but that's been my experience with sequins in general. Highly recommend!
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

Such a fun dress! You will get compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This is a great dress for those times when you want some sparkle, but don't necessarily want to look like a disco ball. It's hard to see in the model picture, but there is some subtle rouching across the tummy, too, which is very flattering. It was also a great length if you have athletic thighs - high enough to be flirty, not so high that you look like you just rolled out of crossfit class. I paired it with black tights and some black booty heels (no pictures, sorry, was having too much fun!) because it was a cold night and got many compliments! Would definitely rent again.
gwenevere
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 19, 2015

very very short but super pretty dress.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you have short legs this is the dress for you or if you have long legs and don't mind a short dress this is the dress for youl
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

My birthday dress! Lots of complements...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED the way it fit - Could wear a bra with it which was also a nice touch. I rented the dress and the necklace that was pictured with it and it was all great!
TJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 29, 2015

Too small

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Date
This dress was too small, so I had to exchange it. Also, for the few min I had it on, the sequins around the arm holes irritated my skin. Lastly, I didn't notice in the photo, it is ruched on one side. It made it look funny. Too bad, because the colors were pretty!
Kathleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

So many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got so many compliments. I wore this to a formal fundraiser. I was comfortable and the sequin were not itchy or bothersome at all!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×