David Meister

Time Will Tell Sheath

$45 rental
$550 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Start a spark on your next night out in this David Meister sheath. You will glow as your eyes meet his under the spotlights. Bring out the sequin sparkle with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple Ombre Sequins (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook and eye closure. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

111 reviews

Fit
Small 38
True to Size 64
Large 1
Photos 80
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Rented for a night out at Light in Vegas.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas and it was perfect! I don't usually go for purple, but the ombre was beautiful. I got a ton of compliments on this dress. It runs pretty true to size, but was a little tight at the bottom so that the slip part kept peeking out. There isn't really any stretch to this dress so go with your street size and a size up for the backup. The underarm part can get a little itchy, but overall it wasn't that irritating. Perfect for dancing the night away!
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

This dress was so beautiful on. I received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was form-fitting and the perfect color. It was a little short sitting down, but beyond that it was amazing. The sequins were not at all scratchy or uncomfortable.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Jul 27, 2014

I rented at the Vegas store and they were wonderful! Smaller selection than online.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a 4/6 but needed an 8 in this one to fit comfortably. I have a small waist but bigger butt and legs, so the 8 worked perfectly. The only down side are the sequence under the arms were rubbing some. Everyone loved the dress!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 28, 2014

Beautiful color, but the slip shows -- a lot

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was a lot of fun and got rave reviews from my friends. I wore it for a night out dancing in Vegas. However, it is not great for curvy girls. I got a 12 and a 14 (I'm usually a 10 or 12) and had to wear the 14. The 12 fit, but was too snug in the hips and chest. The 14 fit in the hips and chest (a little tight in both, but passable), but was very pouchy around the waist. Also, this dress shows a lot of cleavage. Fine for Vegas, maybe not for everywhere else. Being all sequins, wearing it for a long time can be uncomfortable. It irritated a little throughout the night but it wasn't until the next day that I noticed little scrapes on my arms from the sequins. The most irritating thing, though, is that the slip kept showing at the bottom of the dress. When sitting, the sequin overlay would ride up a good three inches above the slip. All-in-all, I do think this is a good dress, and I enjoyed wearing it. For being all sequin, it is much more classy than tacky (thanks to the ombre). I just want to stress that it is probably better suited for straighter figures.
Dash
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

I am a repeat renter and this may be my favorite of them all.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect. The color was beautiful. It start as a lavender purple but gets darker as it goes down. it had 3 shades of purple from light to dark. Ombre in reverse. BeforeI rented, I read another review for the dress that said it doesn't work if you have large breast. Large breast can mean many things to different people, but I have a full 32 D cup and I was told my breast looked great in the dress by the stylist at the photo shoot. The dress was fitted but not tight. It may be a good idea to wear your hair up, because my hair kept getting caught in the sequence. Overall 2 thumbs up!
Gloria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Fun dress to wear to a fun party

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress looked awesome and fit really well. The only issue is that it rides up a bit and I kept having to pull my skirt down all night. It also can cause a little bit of chaffing by the armpits because of the material. But i really loved wearing the dress and felt really pretty in it.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

Best 2nd choice ever! RTR customer service rocks!! The dress was sent overnight and perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress does fit true to size and if you are curvier, choose the next size up so the slip doesn't peek out the bottom.
natalie
Age: 33
Aug 10, 2014

Perfect dress for a night out in Vegas!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Dress runs small, I'm usually a 12 but ended up wearing a size 16 in this dress, but that's ok because the size 16 fit to a T, hugged curves in all the right places and I received sooo many compliments on it! Only downfall is that the black slip lining it longer than the actual dress and closer up I didn't like seeing the lining, but from a small distance it blended in with dress and you couldn't tell. I would def order this dress again because I felt so good in it!
Therese
Age: 30
Aug 14, 2014

Stunning head turner!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect. It fit great, I felt beautiful and got a ton of compliments on it! Would wear it again for another event for sure!
jessica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Simple Design, Major Head-Turner

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Got this for my 30th birthday party. Pros: it's such a simple design. With the pink and black ombré effect, matched with sequins it's a statement dress. I received lots of compliments. Cons- the lining kept showing from underneath. Definitely go a size up because it runs extremely small. As usual, I'll be back to RTR.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 190 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Fun Dress perfect for Birthday

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress. Sequins hurt a little but was perfect for the event.
Donna
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 167 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

Perfect look for my Girls Day Out Photo Shoot!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is snug in the waist. I went with the 14 because of snug waist. The lining on the 14 hung from under the hemline. I had to keep adjusting it. Other then the lining, beautiful and comfortable dress.
maura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Made me feel like a rock star in Vegas!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party in vegas and it was perfect! I felt sexy and received several compliments. The only thing I would change is its a little scratchy from all the sequins.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Aug 31, 2014

I got complements all night

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a size 8 with curves and and bust. I ordered a size 10 and 12 because the reviews said it ran small. I felt beautiful in this dress. I ended up wearing the size 12.
Robyn
Age: 24
Sep 1, 2014

Perfect dress for Vegas!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I loved this dress. It fit perfectly and I felt amazing in it. Only downside is it can get a little scratchy around the shoulders but it wasn't bad at all
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

Love it. Looked great on

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
No itchy and fit great. Went with the size up so I could eat an drink.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Fun and beautiful dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! We rented dresses in the Vegas store (SO FUN) for my friends 30th birthday. It was a beautiful purple ombré color that was very unique. It does fit slightly small (I wore an 8 but was a 6 in the other dresses I tried on there) and the sequins do rub a bit, but that was fine after a few cocktails!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 9, 2014

Fun!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for my bachelorette party and LOVED IT! Purple is "my color" all the girls who came were asked to wear purple out for out big night on the town Saturday night. I also LOVE to sparkle. This dress was perfect! I put it's true to size, which is mostly true, I am between and 8 and a 10 right now and had to wear the 10 cause the 8 was a little snug. Additionally I noticed the black lining under the dress seemed to creep out at times under the sequins. This bothered me at first, but by the end of the night I didn't care :) Also, as with any sequin dress, it can be a little scratch under the arms, but since this wasn't my first sequin dress this did not surprise me. Highly recommend this dress!
Mel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

I rented this dress for my sister's bridal shower, the color and style were PERFECT!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was super excited to get this dress, I had been planning this night forever. The fit was perfect, which is amazing since I had a baby almost a year ago and my body is still not what it used to be. I loved how this dress made me look and feel. It was slimming through the stomach and hip due to the ombre from light to dark. I would wear this again!
RTR Customer
Sep 16, 2014

Makes you stand out in a crowd of formal wear

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well my only complaint is that it was a bit itchy under the arms as other buyers have mentioned
Erika
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

The wedding was young, fun, hip, and classy. I felt all of that in this dress. Beautiful!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It runs TRUE TO SIZE. It was super comfortable, I didnt feel it to be too short, I was able to dance with no problem. The sequins did NOT bother me at all. The different tones of the dress made it easy for me to find shoes to go with it. This dress made me want to continue renting through RTR. So many compliments...my husband couldnt stop staring! :)
Hannah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36A
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

The sparkles were so pretty and the ombré fade was gorgeous

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress it fit great but I felt as the night went on it started to loosen up on my body. Still happy with it though!
mc
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Perfect for anniversary dinner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this to wear for my anniversary and WOW, what a great pick! I loved it, my boyfriend loved it, random people at the restaurant loved it. The 4 fit me better in the bust but I wore the 6 because I planned on eating a ton and I didn't want to be uncomfortable. I wore a regular slightly padded bra. This dress is SUPER short when you sit down, but a perfect length when standing. I'll definitely be renting again!
stacy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Loved the dress, it was perfect for our Whimsical Bachelorette party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit fine, got many compliments. Although a little itchy in the underarm area.
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress runs small if you have a smaller bust. A size 2 fit perfectly! I loved the dress although the sequins got a little itchy under my arms after a while.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Perfect dress for a Vegas wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I made an appointment to find something to wear to a Vegas wedding at the store in the Cosmopolitan. The stylist had so many gorgeous options for me to try and all the dresses fit beautifully. I actually got compliments on this one from many of the other women in the store and those in the dressing room. It fit so nicely and was comfortable enough to move and dance in. Got TONS of compliments from wedding guests and the bride. Husband gave it a thumbs up and was one of his top 2 picks from the ones I tried on in the store.
Morgan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Wore the dress for a costume and received a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the way the dress looked and felt! Was a little small in the chest area, but the rest of the fit was great! I would definitely recommend ordering a size up if you have a larger bust. Received a ton of compliments all night on the dress and this would make an awesome Vegas dress. Only downfall of the dress is the sequins in the chest/arm area scratched a bit, but I think if I ordered a size up that would reduce the scratching. Loved it!
Laura
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

I felt stunning!!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for my birthday night in Vegas!! The reviews I read were pretty accurate, there was a little irritation under my arms from the sequins (but what do you expect with sequins, lol) and the bottom of the dress was about 2'' shorter than the lining so the lining showed but it was black on black and I woe it at night to a show so it didn't bother me. In fact I was a little grateful because it probably buffered the scratchy sequins edge from my skin. However while the fit was great it wasn't stretchy at all so standing was fine but when I went to sit it pulled really tight.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

Perfect for my date night in Las Vegas!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a night out in Las Vegas and it was great. As other reviews said the sequence was a little bit itchy under the arms but as the night went on I noticed it less. I wore the 14 over the 12 to have a little bit of extra length. It made the dress a little big in the bust but not that big of a deal for me. I thought this dress was perfect for a fun night out and I got lots of compliments. Would definitely rent again.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Perfect dress for a "purple" themed holiday party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: super pretty ombre - the top starts off a little more mauve than purple (a little different from the picture) and then gets darker to black. Pretty flattering and easy to get on. Cons: sequins irritated my underarms. Dress was quite a bit shorter than I was anticipating (and I'm only 5'4!) and the lining was about 1.5 inches longer than the dress, so I had to hollywood tape up the hem of the lining so it didn't show. I'm a street size 4 and the 4 fit perfectly.
Mimi
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

It was great!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit perfectly.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Beautiful sequins, runs small

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 10 and I needed a 12 and it was still tight. The purple is amazing!! The cuts on the front and back are not too revealing. I don't have a large chest and I wasn't worried about showing my girls.
Tiff
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 28, 2014

Absolute PERFECT dress for a Mardi Gras themed party in Vegas!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I've had a love affair with this dress since I laid eyes on it on the website. Picked it up at the Vegas store (crazy convenient and awesome customer service, btw), and it did not disappoint!!! Flattering color, sexy fit, attention grabbing, everything you need in a Vegas party dress. I would rent this dress over and over again. My 5th RTR gown and by far my favorite one yet!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous dress but does run small. I'm usually a 2-4 and thought the 4 was a bit tight
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Perfect party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit well and complimented my petite frame. My fiance loved the neckline and I got tons of compliments on the dress throughout the night! The size 2 fit, but was a little tight across my chest. I could have worn it, but the 4 was a tiny bit more comfortable and didn't cause as much irritation under my arms. Perfect NYE dress!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Not the best for comfort

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
It was a pretty dress and I got tons of compliments but the sequins irritated the underneath of my arms when they rubbed against the dress.
Talia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

Fun Dress for Bachelorette Party

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my bachelorette party. The dress fit well, but as others have said, the top sequin layer kept riding up showing the bottom layer constantly Also, the sequins started to irritate under my arms but it wasn't unbearable. I did not wear spanx or anything like it under this dress. It was not necessary. The dress was comfortable and was easy to sit in. It was short at times after walking around, but nothing that was irritating. Would rent again.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

Great dress to wear out for my 29th birthday!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Order a size up if you're bigger on bottom. Loved the color! It was a great dress for a fancy birthday dinner that easily transitioned for a night out on the town. It paired well with tights for the cold Chicago winter.
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

It was a nice valentine dress

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Date
It wasn't very comfortable, kept pulling it down and the sequins rubbed my underarms. The dress is a head turner and very pretty!
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

Great fit but I forgot that sequins hurt!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I wore this for an art fundraiser so I wanted something with color. It fit snug and was comfortable, except for the sequins rubbing my underarms raw all night long. This is completely normal for sequin dresses, I just forgot about it ahead of time, or I would have put lotion or something on my underarms. It is SHORT and I'm under 5'3". Definitely would be way too short on a taller person.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×