David Meister

Sass Meets Class Dress

$60 rental
$450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off your waistline at the rehearsal dinner wearing this body slimming David Meister style. Add the Lee Angel Entwined Pearl and Chain Necklace to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra due to boat neckline
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra due to boat neckline
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue knit (45% rayon, 45% nylon, 10% metallic). Three quarter length sleeve. Square neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

196 reviews

Fit
Small 57
True to Size 130
Large 2
Photos 98
patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

Stunning Dress, beautiful color, extremely elegant and sophisticated

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is beautiful and clingy to every curve, so I wore the 12 instead of the intended size 10. The lace hemline came right below the knee and is a beautiful detail on the dress. I enjoyed the feel and look of this flattering dress and would rent it again.
Kara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

Definetely lived up to 'Sass meets Class' dress! Got lots of compliments when wearing it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little bit of Gold sparkles in the dress made long dangling gold earrings a perfect match. Loved that the sleeves of the dress were a bit see-thru. Wished it was mine to keep!
Milada
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

It is beautiful dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is fit nicely .
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Beautiful dress! I loved wearing it, I swear (even though I look so unhappy in the picture)!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It is tight, so I recommend getting the additional size a size bigger than what you usually wear. It's made in a way that is extremely flattering, but I just appreciated having the little extra breathing room!
Traci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Very Classy Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is far more beautiful in person than it looks in the photo. The gold accent in the dress is very prominent and pretty. The fit was perfect. Its is a very flattering dress due to the subtle ruching on the side. The length was great for a conservative event and also for my height. There were some small holes on the arm where the side zipper was - I think the zipper must snag it. But because the dress is lace the holes were not noticeable. I loved the dress!!
Erica L.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

Knowing that I don't have to go shopping for a dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Out of all the dresses I've rented from the RTR, this has been my least favorite. It looked nice on and I received compliments all night but it was not my best choice. The dress is definitely true to size but if you have broader shoulders and muscular arms, it's a little tight but not to the point of being uncomfortable- just a little snug. Overall a gorgeous dress as usual.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Makes you feel like a princess!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect for tea with the Queen, this dress is the epitome of class. Would be a great fit for a formal wedding (or an event where you are hanging with the guy's parents), or an outside soiree in the winter, you will feel both classic and sexy in this dress. Two thumbs way up!
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

Worn for my birthday dinner, this dress let me be the "It" girl for the evening.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Worn for my birthday dinner in Vegas, the wide neck and length of this dress made me feel like Joan from Mad Men. The zipper was tricky and had to be coaxed up, but the lace was beautiful. Perfect for an evening of indulgence.
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Look great without spending a lot

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is wonderful but form fitting so I would suggest going-up a size. I usually wear 8-10 but they sent the dress in a 12...fit great with room to move.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Chic dress with gorgeous details, just a little on the tight side.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a work holiday party at an art museum. It's a beautiful dress with really gorgeous detail. The length and sleeves make it great for winter and more conservative occasions. However, it was tight! I'm pretty evenly split between 2 and 4, but even the 4 made me wish for a little more breathing room. I would definitely size up for the back-up size.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

I loved this dress & got so many complements on it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit perfectly! I wore it with the necklace shown on the model and gold glitter pumps! One thing I didn't realize till my sleeve got a little caught on it was that there is a side zipper, I shimmied into it without using the zipper, which would have made it easier to get on. Overall i loved my first Rent the Runway experience! Will definitely rent again!
Francesca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 25, 2012

Classy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Just above knee in length. You should consider sizing up if you have thick arms or have large shoulders.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

RTR made choosing a dress for the wedding I went to a breeze. It arrived early & fit perfectly.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs true to size, but as I am 5'1" it hit me just below the knee. Keep in mind if you have a curvier figure (as I do) this dress really accentuates your curves (which I thought looked great but not everyone likes to show their curves off!) Perfect for an upscale evening wedding, I chose to pair it with pearls & nude pumps.
alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Felt and looked fabulous!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was soft, comfortable, had a good shape and was true to size. I did wear a Flexees waist cincher, and think proper undergarments are must for this dress for anyone who isn't a model. Had a great time dancing, and didn't want the night to end because I'd have to take the dress off! Color is a true navy like online dress shown, but with flash photography it showed up a brighter blue in one of my shared photo. It is navy though. Paired with champagne gold pearl necklace, bracelet and earrings, and champagne gold sparkly evening flats.
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Wedding with future In-laws

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Gold thread throughout material, I enjoyed this dress but the arms were significantly tighter than anticipated, so I had to go up in sizes only based on the arms. I liked the length for the occasion but some of the lace looked a bit worn when I got it. Obviously this dress is well liked and worn, but I was a bit disappointed in the odd sizing.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 1, 2013

GORGEOUS and so COMFORTABLE!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like a glove. I LOVE IT!!! I wore it to a mardi gras ball with gold heels and some rented bangles from RTR. I got compliments all night! It as a gold shimmery thread running through the fabric that adds a hint of glamour. Such a classy and sexy look all in one!
Tracy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Perfect dress for a cocktail attire event - comfortable too!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 4, but the 4 was tight, so I was grateful to have the 6 as a backup. Beautiful color - received lots of compliments. Very comfortable and the gold threading is a nice touch. Would have looked much better with a pushup strapless bra and Spanx (I didn't wear either). I also rented the earrings shown on the model. They were a perfect match, but VERY heavy. Worked out great and the return process was so easy. Glad I decided to rent.
Penny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

I went to a theater opening, tons of complements on my dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a snug fit. I usually wear a 4 and got a 6 for backup. I didn't realize there was a hidden side zipper (duh) at first and found the 4 almost impossible to get into, so wore the 6. Then, the next evening, had another event to go to and wore the 4. As with any lace dress, you have to be careful about snagging the material on your jewelry, which I was. I found Spanx were a must. Once you're in it, very comfortable. Like the length very much.
Cheryl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

Classy/sophisticated yet quite sexy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit incredibly well. It's easy to wear and extremely comfortable. The color looks amazing with the gold threading running through it. As with many lace dresses, there is potential for snagging, so be careful about the necklace you chose to wear with it.
Michaela
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

I felt like this dress was perfect for the occasion, form fitting yet classy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought the sleeves were going to bother me because they were tight on my arms, but they didn't, and the tight fit looked great. The length was relatively long, but I liked that because it gave it a more mature look, perfect for a wedding. I recommend spicing it up with some interesting high heels.
Mary Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 26, 2013

My first RTR experience. Loved this dress. Very flattering, I got soooo many compliments on it!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore nude pumps with gold and pearl accessories. The dress is very form fitting, I planned on wearing a girdle but changed my mind last minute bc it didn't make that much of a difference and the lace pattern on the dress helped hide some unwanted curves. The length was perfect for me, it looks really long on the model, which is why I liked it because dresses are usually way too short for me. This was definately shorter in person, but stil very appropriate. I loved it!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

First RTR experience and I got so many compliments on my dress, including the wedding photographer

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress does run a tad small, spanx do help, I ordered a 4 and a 6 and wore the size 6. You can't tell from the picture but there is gold threading throughout the lace, good to know for planning your jewelry, shoes and purse.
mom1223
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Classy wedding number

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful, stunning dress. It was a little more fitting than I thought it would be, especially in the arms. There is a beautiful gold tone in the dress as well. Felt very glamorous and received many compliments.
Eva
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 30, 2013

Very comfortable and flattering

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 6 and had this dress as a back-up in size 8. It felt more like a 6. Regardless, it's a very comfortable dress to wear. It drapes nicely around the body. Loved the texture of this dress. The boat-neck is very flattering. Sleeves are super comfortable and good in spring while it's still cool out. Overall I recommend it.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 6, 2013

Classy and unique!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A bit longer than it looks on the model, but still a very pretty dress! Minimal stretch to the fabric, so not for those who are trying to hide any "body issues!" I loved it!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Perfect dress for an engagement party!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was awesome! I wore it for my brother's engagement party and it was perfect. I got so many compliments on the dress and felt amazing! I ended up wearing my normal size, but it did run on the smaller end, so I recommend ordering your backup size a size up just in case. Highly recommend this dress!!
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Lots of complements and really comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress b/c of the side zip since I didn't have anyone to help me zip the other dress I rented, but it worked out great and I really felt beautiful and comfortable! It was a long night... wedding at 7, but trolley to the church started at 6... dinner reception, dancing and midnight snack. Needless to say I felt great even at 2 in the morning. I got lots of complements all night and my hubby loved the dress. Sorry about the picture. This is the only one I taken of me that night! (Crazy, it's with our university mascot!) But the hubby was in the wedding so it was more about the bridal party than me, which is how it should be.
Polina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013

Great modest dress with a bit of sex appeal

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was easy to pair with accessories. Its a pretty navy blue but the surprise is the gold underlay of the dress. I was able to pair it with champaign heels with a few crystals. Worked perfectly. Dress meets right at the knee. I ordered a 10 and a 12, and depending on the brand I usually fall between the 2. I ended up wearing the 12 because its a stretch material and hugs your curves. Has side pickups which are slimming and helps the pattern. Fantastic choice for events where you want to look modest yet give off a bit of bombshell.
Shauna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 11, 2013

Gorgeous dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED wearing this dress! I ordered a 4 and a 6 because some of the reviews said it ran big. The 4 was WAY too small but the 6 fit like a GLOVE. The sleeves were snug but not overly tight. I wore it with nude pumps and jewelry similar to what I saw on the model on the website. I received compliments on it all night and it held up through hours of dancing. Can't wait to rent another dress!
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2013

I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
People were even going up to my husband and saying how great the dress was! Fit is true to size, but the dress is form fitting. I actually wore the bigger size, but it didn't look baggy or ill-fitting. This dress is modest and very flattering! Loved the lady-like feel of the length- it hit me just below the knee when I was in heels (about 5'10" in heels).
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
May 30, 2013

First time RTR user. Dress shipped exactly as promised, and super easy return.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was absolutely beautiful- it was great to have two sizes available. Lovely lace, very comfortable to wear throughout the evening for dining and dancing. I received so many great compliments. Will definitely use RTR again!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 16, 2013

Comfortable, chic and super-stylish!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress for a cocktail party, wedding, or other formal event. Very comfortable, easy to move and dance in, and very stylish and fashion-forward. The gold thread running throughout is a gorgeous detail that doesn't show up very well in pictures, unfortunately, but is very evident in person, so make sure you have gold jewelry to go with! Loved it!
Lady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 20, 2013

Someone at the very big wedding I attended told me my dress was the most beautiful dress there!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress hugs the body like a second skin. Spanks and a strapless bra were best. Gold jewelry goes best because there are metallic gold threads through the dress which are difficult to see in a picture, but they sparkle in person. Be very careful about a bracelet. I only wore a gold bangle because there is no clasp to catch on the lace. I LOVED wearing this dress and hated taking it off at the end of the night. It was very comfortable and a beautiful color.
Wendy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Jun 25, 2013

I wanted to find a blue dress to match my shoes that I had to wear to a wedding.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Out of the 3 dresses I selected this was perfect!!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Comfortable & Elegant!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a wedding and felt great the whole night. Lots of compliments! The color is beautiful (matched really nicely with OPI Eurso Euro on my nails) with little gold specks throughout. Ordered a 2 and a 4, went with the 4 because the arms were a little tight on the 2 - had some space in the waist but it was nice to be comfortable. Went well with nude/gold accessories and a high bun. This dress is fitted to your silhouette but doesn't really hold you in, which I thought was a good thing. The dress came below my knee and was more conservative than it seemed on the model.
Marybeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable, elegant dress I rented for my mother for a party.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wanted to share the RTR experience with my mother. We decided on the David Meister Sass meets Class dress and the rental was a success. My mother looked truly awesome in the blue lace dress.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Many compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got many compliments on this dress. I wore it to an evening wedding. It fit well and was comfortable. I wore a strapless slip because straps would've showed. I was worried the gold accents would be too disco but it turned out fine. The bracelet was a perfect accessory. My only caution would be that the overlay is lacy and can catch on jewelry.
Paula
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 19, 2013

Sexy and classy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, super comfortable. I got a lot of compliments. Will wear it again.
Vanessa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2013

Great dress, classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a weekday wedding and would work for any formal affair. I had ordered two sizes, 4 and 6. My husband preferred me in the size 4 because it hugged my curves and made the dress look a little sexy. The size 6 would've worked as well if a I wanted a bit of a looser fit.
Lana
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

So easy and convenient!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for the wedding of my fiance's brother. I got several compliments on the dress. It's classy and was long enough for my 5'9 frame. I am normally as 8/10 and the 12 was the perfect fit for me so size up!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×