David Meister

Picture Frame Sheath

$35 rental
$505 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel ravishing in this intricately cut LBD by David Meister. This dress will give you a perfect hourglass for that first date! Go with a classic clutch like Whiting & Davis’ Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Stretch Crepe. (85% Viscose, 15% Polyamide). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Pencil skirt with center front slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

131 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 94
Large 25
Photos 59
Kirsten
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 16, 2013

I loved this dress, it was absolutely perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For an hourglass figure it was perfect and fit in all the right spots!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Wore for a work party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress definitely runs large, so size down if you can. A more conservative neckline than I am used to, or expected, but would be good for people with larger chests who aren't into hanging the ladies out there. Nice fabric and good stretch.
Margaux
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 22, 2013

Love the neckline of this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit me well! As someone with bigger hips and a smaller waist, I noticed that it hugged my hips and gave me room in the midsection. This is something I would wear again to an office party or family affair!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Great dress. Got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a perfect dress for a work event in which I would be on stage. The neckline was sexy but subtle and the dress hugged the curves, but not too tightly. Probably wouldn't be my first choice for an event where I wanted to strut my stuff a little more - but a perfect dress for an affair that called for conservative classy.
Clare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

Perfect LBD: ideal balance of ladylike and sexy.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fits like a dream, stretchy and forgiving but holds its shape well. I'm a 36DDD, and the top fit perfectly (without any unflattering compression). The neckline was gorgeous and shows off cleavage without looking trashy. The fabric is crepe textured, which I did not expect, but it felt and looked great on. Hemline hit right at my knee and made me look taller and leaner. I'm a standard size 14 and this fit me everywhere without bulges or pulling. Shoulders are cut wide enough to cover a bra without having to worry that a strap will peek out. I'm seriously thinking about buying it. A sensational LBD.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2014

Classy and simple

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This wasn't the knockout dress I was hoping for, but it was a very easy-to-wear look (no outrageous bras, etc needed) that was flattering and fun to pair with my more out-there accessories. Perfect for a night that's not YOUR night but you still want to look pulled together.
Louise
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Cute, classic dress, doesn't show too much and doesn't fit too tight.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This fit well. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 the 4 was a little loose on me which was nice since I wore it to a seven course wine pairing. It was classy and a good length (to my knee) and doesn't show any real cleavage or leg.
Rhode
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Very elegant LBD for a charity fundraiser.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The 4 had a little extra room on top and was a little big in the waist. The 2 was better on top but didn't look as nice through the hips so I ended up wearing the 4. Someone with a bigger bust would likely find this dress true to size. The dress has a nice texture and a little stretch. It's very comfortable to wear and the length was just right for me since it hit me just below the knee. It's hard to tell from the picture but that little slit is right in the middle. My only issue was with the little internal straps used for securing the dress to a hanger. I would recommend pinning them to the inside of the dress so they don't come out. The rental experience was very easy. I originally rented the 4 with a 6 as backup. I called RTR when I thought the 4 might be too big and they sent the 2 overnight. I will definitely do this again.
Nish
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 7, 2014

I ended up wearing another RTR dress but this one was lovely and VERY comfortable.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material is stretchy, yet fitted. Very comfortable. Loved the neckline. Size up if you have a full bust.
Olympic Shopper
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Felt like $1 million bucks!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit good. It was waiting for me as I arrived home after work. I went with the size 10. It was a little snug in the bodice, but you need that to get the hourglass figure. The size 12 just didn't hit my curves right. The material is like a gabardine fabric with a slight texture. If you look close you will see it. If fit perfect everywhere else. The armholes are the right size and I didn't have to adjust the dress throughout the night. I wore a regular bra which did not peek through anywhere, and no spanx. I didn't feel I needed it. Make sure you have the right underwear so you don't have pantylines. I also rented a cuff and felt it had it's day with this dress. I did not rent a necklace because I didn't want to take away from the gorgeous neckline. I already rented again with RTR. It is so easy!!!!! Love it!!! I feel like all the added photos from everyone really helped my selection, so I just had to share!! This is a great dress.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 4, 2014

I wore this to the Kentucky Oaks, made me feel like Audrey Hepburn!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This is the perfect LBD! Of all dresses I've rented from RTR this is the one I wish I could keep. Runs a bit large on top for pear shaped girls, sized down and there was sufficient stretch in the dress to fit my hips and show my curves without being too tight. Thank you RTR!!
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 13, 2014

The dress was elegant and classic. I received compliments all night.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. The dress has a bit of stretch so it hugs every curve great. It was absolutely true to size and very flattering.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
May 17, 2014

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for my boyfriends college graduation, love love love the neck detail! He goes to a religious college so the length was just conservative enough-any other event I would have said it was a hair too long and I'm 5'7. The front slit was interesting, overall I really liked this dress it was super classy and makes you look great!
Sandy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Loved the dress! I wore it for a funeral.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was a great fit and very comfortable. I got a lot of compliments on how it looked.
Karin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

stretchy but thick material so it fits really well. I received a lot of compliments

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the zipper didn't work on the Size 12 but I didn't need that size afterall
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 5, 2014

Classy and Conservative with an interesting neckline

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was for a formal work gala where I needed that LBD that wasn't boring. the material was substantial with a nice texture, got tons of complements. the 12 fit, but since it was a work function I went loose. Would totally rent again!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

More conservative than expected

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The neckline is interesting, but is really a lot higher than it seems on the model. The longer length and lack of cleavage made it a bit more conservative than i expected. I also noticed that the slit was actually not on the side as it seems in the picture - it is right up and down the middle of your legs in the front, which is kind of award. The material is nice and thick, but not very stretchy and is very textured, which was also unexpected.
Alexis
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Perfect for my niece's wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 12 with a backup of a size 10 (as I am always somewhere in between) and was very pleased with the fit of the 10. It was elegant and I had tons of compliments and felt very glamorous! This is my first Rent the Runway experience, certainly won't be my last. Super easy return, too!
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

beautiful neckline and front split- beautiful but conservative- good for work event-simply beautiful

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
fit well all around a bit big in the waist but a size small would have been too tight in hips-
L
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wish I owned this dress I would wear it for all my events. I love it and it looked great!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Perfect dress for my husband's business party.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really fit like a dream. Very comfortable for a business party.
Susan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit my figure perfectly.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Classic black dress with a great neckline.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wish I owned this dress. It was the second time I rented it. It fits beautifully. I could have worn either the 8 or 6, but found the 6 to be more flattering.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Chose this dress because I was going to dinner and then a black tie party. Perfect for both.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The highlight is the neck, which is just beautiful. Otherwise, a bit plain. And for a 5'2" person, is very long. Runs a tiny bit big. Still, the kind of dress you can't go wrong with.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

The dress was not as flattering as I had hoped - it looks much better on the stock photo model

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Neckline is very conservative - actually cut higher than the photo shows. The material was different and not what I expected but actually fine - it was a heavy-weight crepe-like fabric. Also the body of the dress was just not very flattering.,. actually made me feel larger than I was. Not really satisfied with the dress but I unfortunately had to settle because I didn't have any other options.
Gretchen
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Dress looked great!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a company executive dinner and thought it was great although perhaps a tad too revealing for me for the occasion. The zipper was a little tough to pull up even when the dress wasn't on and seemed a bit worn. Looked and fit great though!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Body type: Apple
Dec 23, 2014

Perfect dress for business holiday party

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was great. My middle body is my worse feature. The dress worked well for me!
Leslie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2015

H

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit great! Lots of compliments and was comfortable. I usually wear a 10 but the 12 gave a little more room in my stomach area
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

It was comfortable which was great because it was a LONG day

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pretty good fit. A little tight in the hips. I did love the neckline.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Did not get to wear, Nice dress, but a little too informal for the party I was attending

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to fit dress, I am a 38DD in the chest and very petite, size 10 or 12
ringer4life
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 23, 2015

Great look and a show stopper.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ordered this dress for New Year's parties and received many compliments. The size is true fit and very comfortable.
Anna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Material fit great! Perfect LBD.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Material was perfect. Loved it. I'm a taller girl and it hit just below my knees which was exactly what I wanted.
Whitney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

This was a great dress that looked and fit exactly how I expected it to!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I am usually somewhere between a size 2 and a size 4, but the size 2 was a perfect fit. It hit just below the knee and was flattering through the waist. I would definitely recommend it.
D
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Classic Understated, Yet Interesting, Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: Gorgeous, simple, understated but not boring. Fits true to size. Cons: The material has an interesting texture and wasn't as thick as I expected. I had to be careful with the front center slit, but it wasn't an issue since I was seated at a table with a tablecloth.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 20, 2015

Runs large in the hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress is pretty, but it fits large in the hips and bust. I would order a size down.
Maryellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Elegant and classy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I needed a striking dress for a serious business-related date, but also something elegant and classy. This really accomplished all of that. The neckline is very feminine without being too revealing. And the slit in the bottom of the narrow skirt made it easy to walk in. A great pair of heels, clutch, and simple pearl drop earrings was all that was needed. I would love to this travel with! It doesn't wrinkle, folds up small, isn't heavy, and stops traffic in the streets!
jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 3, 2015

Beautiful well constructed dress worn to formal event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 6 and 8 as a backup, felt the 6 ran a little large and could have gone with a 4. Recommend get a smaller size as a backup.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 5, 2015

Ran a bit large, very conservative.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Though the condition of the dress was great, this one did not work out for me. I am usually a 2 in most RTR dresses, regardless of the brand. This one swallowed me. I was worried it would be too snug because I have a larger rear-end, but it was not at all. The top was too large for a 34B, and the rest of the dress was also not as fitted as the photo. Also note the length - pretty long on a shorter gal. The zero may have worked out, but it was not available for my event. Nice dress, but ended up sending it back. As always, RTR customer service was awesome and helped me find a replacement.
Kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 6, 2015

This was the perfect dress for a cocktail attire fundraiser!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was the perfect LBD: very simple and basic so as not to be flashy (I was staffing the event and speaking), but the neckline and the slit in the skirt made it interesting and flirty. I wore it with a chunky mixed pearl necklace and got a TON of compliments! The dress fit true to size and was incredibly flattering. I am 5'5" and 115; I wear a size 2 in most clothing and the 2 fit like a dream.
Lo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 7, 2015

So, so flattering.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is so incredibly flattering, especially if you have curves. I gained a little weight over the winter and am feeling a little fluffier than I'd like to be. I was nervous about picking up a body conscious dress but this truly was sexy, slimming and flattering.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×