David Meister

Picture Frame Sheath

$35 rental
$505 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel ravishing in this intricately cut LBD by David Meister. This dress will give you a perfect hourglass for that first date! Go with a classic clutch like Whiting & Davis’ Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Stretch Crepe. (85% Viscose, 15% Polyamide). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Pencil skirt with center front slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

119 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 88
Large 22
Photos 54
Nish
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 7, 2014

I ended up wearing another RTR dress but this one was lovely and VERY comfortable.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material is stretchy, yet fitted. Very comfortable. Loved the neckline. Size up if you have a full bust.
Olympic Shopper
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Felt like $1 million bucks!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit good. It was waiting for me as I arrived home after work. I went with the size 10. It was a little snug in the bodice, but you need that to get the hourglass figure. The size 12 just didn't hit my curves right. The material is like a gabardine fabric with a slight texture. If you look close you will see it. If fit perfect everywhere else. The armholes are the right size and I didn't have to adjust the dress throughout the night. I wore a regular bra which did not peek through anywhere, and no spanx. I didn't feel I needed it. Make sure you have the right underwear so you don't have pantylines. I also rented a cuff and felt it had it's day with this dress. I did not rent a necklace because I didn't want to take away from the gorgeous neckline. I already rented again with RTR. It is so easy!!!!! Love it!!! I feel like all the added photos from everyone really helped my selection, so I just had to share!! This is a great dress.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 4, 2014

I wore this to the Kentucky Oaks, made me feel like Audrey Hepburn!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This is the perfect LBD! Of all dresses I've rented from RTR this is the one I wish I could keep. Runs a bit large on top for pear shaped girls, sized down and there was sufficient stretch in the dress to fit my hips and show my curves without being too tight. Thank you RTR!!
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 13, 2014

The dress was elegant and classic. I received compliments all night.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. The dress has a bit of stretch so it hugs every curve great. It was absolutely true to size and very flattering.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
May 17, 2014

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for my boyfriends college graduation, love love love the neck detail! He goes to a religious college so the length was just conservative enough-any other event I would have said it was a hair too long and I'm 5'7. The front slit was interesting, overall I really liked this dress it was super classy and makes you look great!
RTR Customer
May 21, 2014

Great service & shipping was on time!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly. I received many compliments and loved the way it made me look & feel!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 29, 2014

A knockout LBD

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for the quite formal spring wedding I needed to attend! The neckline was gorgeous, and I didn't have a problem with cleavage at all. I couldn't get the slit to sit quite right, but looking at the photo now it makes sense to go over the leg, I think I was trying to put it in the middle which made it pucker a bit (lesson learned, let the dress do its thing). The fabric doesn't have a lot of stretch or give to it, but the crepe material was very forgiving on the curves and with spanx I had a nice curvy figure. It was a fun dress and I got tons of compliments!
Cindy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

LOVED THIS DRESS,

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pleased at the superior quality and fit of this fabulous dress. Pictures hardly do this dress justice. I would rent again without hesitation!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Worn for a college reunion event- so many compliments! Comfortable, easy to wear, has some give.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I would buy this dress if I could! I love it, and I got so many compliments on it. The fit was flattering on my hourglass. Love!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Felt amazing in a classy, cute dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely loved this dress. I wore it to an industry awards show, and even in the midst of a million LBDs, this one stood out. I thought the fabric would be basic and plain, but it was actually textured and thicker than expected. The length was appropriate for a work event, but the slit gave it a little sass. I could wear a normal bra, which is always awesome, and while my cleavage was visible, it wasn't on full display. The dress did run a little big and I probably could have gone a size smaller, and since it's a shift dress, it slid around a little bit. Only thing that was borderline annoying was that the hanger holder strings were falling out all night. I eventually had to wrap them around my bra strap and tie them into place. Other than that, it was a great experience. Highly recommend.
samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress because I was presenting at a conference. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable even though I was constantly sitting and standing. It's a simple dress, but the cut out detail on top makes it fun and flirty without showing too much.
Lanisse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

The front cut was unique and stood out

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a 4 or medium but the 2 fit perfectly. Actually it runs a bit large. I wish I had a better picture. The cut was so beautiful. And I belted it to give it an extra pop. It's sexy but in a classic formal way. The material has a thick sweater feel, but it still feels light. I felt I stood out and I loved it.
Sendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

I loved the material! I

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was simple and beautiful. Very comfortable. I was actually surprised that the 14 fit.
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Best LBD...chic and sophisticated...looked and felt great on!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to the funeral of a life long friends wife. It was perfect for the occasion. The dress is the perfect length, it's perfectly classy, it has a perfect neckline. This dress is classic and elegant. It is so easy to wear and runs true to size. The fabric has a little weight to it, so it hangs just right; there is enough stretch that it hugs where it should hug without being to revealing. I wore a regular bra and did not need additional undergarments because the fabric and the cut were flawless. Now, can we talk about customer service...this is not my first RTR experience, and they go above and beyond EVERY time...but this time was over the top!!! I rented the dress on very short notice (as we were going to an unexpected funeral), I live in Arizona and the funeral was in Florida in 2 days. I had the dresses sent to the hotel. In my haste, I ordered it for the wrong day(delivery day set for the day of the funeral), I called RTR and they adjusted the arrival day and immediately shipped my dresses. Crisis diverted...right? Ummmm...no! I had given them the WRONG hotel address...again, I called back, the dresses had already been shipped...they over-nighted a new set of dresses to the correct address and the package arrived before I did! RTR is amazing and calmed, comforted and assured me every step of the way. Thank you RTR for helping me when I obviously could not help myself....your staff is as amazing as your dresses. I am a customer for life!!!
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Classic black with a twist

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Classic (probably-should-own-it) black dress. The unique neckline and the front slit keep it modern instead of matronly. The neckline almost makes me think of 'genie in a bottle'. :) The fabric was so comfortable with lots of give. I enjoyed wearing this dress!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 19, 2014

Next time I'll rent the 2, and there will be a next time!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
As another reviewer put it, this is a great dress but lacks the "wow!" factor, so reserve it for something where you want to look great but it's not necessarily "YOUR" night (birthday, shower, etc). In terms of size, I usually wear a 4 unless the top is tight and then I need a 6. I rented the 4 and 6, and wish I had the two. The 4 fit great on top but was a little loose in the midsection (I don't have wide hips at all, I wish it were more fitted here).
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

I was auctioned off for charity at a Chamber event.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I ordered a 6 & 8 and the 8 definitely fit better. The material had "give" for a very comfortable fit. The neckline was very flattering but conservative enough for a Chamber event.
Milena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Very comfortable and classic LBD

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress fits the curves in all the right places and fabric is very forgiving. Absolutely perfect and classy yet low key.
RTR Customer
Aug 9, 2014

The entire experience was wonderful. The dress was perfect and the reviews were a great help.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful. Loved the material. I was worried about the length but it came to my knee and the slit was perfect. The neckline made the dress look very elegant and classy. The dress was very comfortable for sitting and dancing. I will definitely be renting from Rent the Runway for all my formal events.
Talia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Hugs the curves, Provides some Give, Looks Elegant

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am normally between a size 12 and 14. Of course, every designer is different, so its a gamble on what size will be perfect. This was actually a backup dress as the other one I rented was too big. They only had a 12 available, and based on the reviews, I decided to give the 12 a chance. I'm glad I did. Although the 14 would have been a little more loose, I was happy that this was a bit more fitted. It was easy to sit in, the texture of the dress is beautiful (as others stated there is a texture to it), the neckline is so different from anything I have seen. There was some slight give in the dress, so it made it comfortable to sit for extended periods of time (up to an hour during a wedding ceremony at least). However, it was a bit difficult to dance in. The slit was a bit bothersome because it moved during the night, anywhere from the center to the right leg, but it wasn't annoying enough to keep from being happy with my choice. The other nice thing is you can wear this with any standard bra. I hate having to try and find a bra that will work properly.
Tanya
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

I received tons a compliments all night. This dress is sexy yet sophisticated.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was actually my add on option. Which luckily I did, because my first dress did not have a chance with my "girls" in the way. I am a 38DD and this dress fit like a glove. I would have probably been a little more comfortable in a size up, but over all I was happy with the dress.
Adriana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

Simple yet sexy LBD

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress for like a glove and was so comfy! Loved the dress
Arlene
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

great dress that is so easy to dress up...wrinkle free fabric is a A+++

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
very comfortable dress ...love the fabric
Kaitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Perfect subtle flare for a formal rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My boyfriend was a groomsman in a wedding, so we had plenty of events to attend, one of which being a rehearsal dinner in a private room at one of San Francisco's nicer restaurants - clearly I had to look good! I wanted something simple and elegant, but with a little pizzazz, and this little black dress did the trick. Knee length with a slit, to keep it classy, and the neckline was stunning! I could wear it with my normal bra and it showed just the appropriate amount of cleavage. The shoulders were a little tight for me, but I tend to have broader shoulders than most, and hips were a little snug, but with some (very light!) spanx, it all worked out perfectly. Even with all eyes on the bride-to-be, my boyfriend's friends couldn't stop complimenting.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

So Classy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked great. The fit was perfect and it hugged every curve. I added a bronzed belt to match my purse and it just set the dress off even more.
Alanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

My last sorority recruitment ended with this beautiful knockout that caught everyone's eye!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Once again, I should have orders a smaller size but the dress worked! The neckline is what catches everyone's eye. It makes your décolletage look very pretty and something as simple as a silver necklace just added to the beauty. It's a dress that can definitely show your curves if you order the correct size. The fabric felt nice and safe. It ended up being a perfect dress to say goodbye to recruitment season in. Another almost perfect RTR experience
Virginia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

The dress was wonderful! Perfect fit, perfect level of sophistication for the event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly! I paired it with silver jewelry, silver/gray shoes and a wrap with a silver sheen. I felt like a million dollars!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

I wore this dressy to the Midwest News Emmy's in Chicago. Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great. Knee length dress, with very minimal slit... Perfect for semi-formal events. I was able to wear a regular bra and the straps were hidden which is always a plus!
LoRo
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

This was my first event postpartum and this dress was perfect.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well and the material was stretchier than I thought it would be, but still looked formal, and was very comfortable. I was able to dance the whole night and wasn't pulling on anything. This was my first formal outing postpartum! The neckline was what I loved about this dress originally because it made a simple black dress a little more. Everything fit well throughout the bust (was worried about too much cleavage) and there were no gaps. I wore dress with nylons and didn't need any kind of slip because of the lining in the dress. Perfect!
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 210 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Stunning neckline!!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my company holiday party, and people couldn't stop complimenting me. The material is a little thicker so it was perfect for a winter event. My one note is that I have a bigger chest and the dress was VERY snug up top. If you'd prefer a looser fit, definitely size up.
Lynne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Dec 18, 2014

Simple elegance; love the neckline!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Other
I got nice compliments on this dress. It fit nicely overall and was comfortable to wear. Fabric has a little stretch to it, but not too much, just enough to make it form fitting without too revealing.
Elise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Dec 22, 2014

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for my 6th anniversary dinner. It was really cold out and rainy, the kind of night where you really just want to stay in. This dress fit very well, and had just the right amount of stretch. For me, the 8 and 10 both fit but I wore the 10 because I knew I would be eating a lot. I'm 5'6" and the dress hit just at my knee. The material is pretty thick where it was appropriate to be wearing in November in Boston. it was the perfect dress for a winter night out. Oh, and that neckline is killer, love it!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

perfect blend of sexy and sophisticated.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
the neckline of this dress is TO DIE FOR and the dress itself is the perfect combination of sexy and classy - a sophisticated look for any formal event. i usually wear a 10, and the 10 fit OK, but was a little roomy at the top (i have a fairly large chest, so this isn't usually an issue). i ended up wearing the 8 and it was perfect. i was a little iffy about renting a dress for this wedding, but am so glad i did!
Glory Rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 17, 2015

Classic and Boring

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
My husband picked this and he loved it. I prefer a dress with color. The dress was comfortable. I didn't like the excess fabric in the back, it didn't lie flat, but rather bubbled. I won't rent this again.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Was professional and still sexy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This fit me perfectly! I loved the length, and the fit. I wanted to buy this dress.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 181 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

It hugs all your curves!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Date
There really are no cons, this dress was comfortable and chic all on it's own, definitely turned heads! Perfect little black dress, felt very breakfast at Tiffany's.
Amanda
Age: 43
Feb 15, 2015

Perfect for Valentine's Day date night!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Other
Very well made! Fitted but with some give to it. Beautiful neckline and classy dress altogether.
Kristin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

Comfortable but too old for me.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was nice, and very comfortable. It was really true to size. However, I am 27 and I felt like I was wearing a dress for a 47 year old. Very conservative. Material was interesting though with the texture.
Amy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Classic cut, interesting neckline

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i. loved. this. dress. I wore it to my boyfriend's brother's wedding. And this was perfect for that, especially since the whole family was going to be there. The dress hit right at the knee. I would've liked it about 2 inches higher, but I'm short (5'4") so it was normal. The slit made it easy to walk around in and material was breathable, a bit stretchy even. The main thing I loved about it was the neckline. It takes a twist on a black dress while still keeping it classic and timeless. I wish I could buy this dress because I would wear it all the time.
Kylie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Soooo many compliments!!!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a work awards banquet and dinner party. I had so many compliments. This dress was very fitted. I ordered a 12 and a 10 as my normal size is a 12 but I've lost a bit of weight recently. I ended up wearing the 10 which was a little snug but not unbearable by any means. The size 12 had WAY too much room up top to even consider wearing and I'm a full 36C. Overall I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×