David Meister

Picture Frame Sheath

$30 – $50 rental
$505 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel ravishing in this intricately cut LBD by David Meister. This dress will give you a perfect hourglass for that first date! Go with a classic clutch like Whiting & Davis’ Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Stretch Crepe. (85% Viscose, 15% Polyamide). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Pencil skirt with center front slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
336 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(193)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 30, 2014
Best LBD...chic and sophisticated...looked and felt great on!

I wore this dress to the funeral of a life long friends wife. It was perfect for the occasion. The dress is the perfect length, it's perfectly classy, it has a perfect neckline. This dress is classic and elegant. It is so easy to wear and runs true to size. The fabric has a little weight to it, so it hangs just right; there is enough stretch that it hugs where it should hug without being to revealing. I wore a regular bra and did not need additional undergarments because the fabric and the cut were flawless. Now, can we talk about customer service...this is not my first RTR experience, and they go above and beyond EVERY time...but this time was over the top!!! I rented the dress on very short notice (as we were going to an unexpected funeral), I live in Arizona and the funeral was in Florida in 2 days. I had the dresses sent to the hotel. In my haste, I ordered it for the wrong day(delivery day set for the day of the funeral), I called RTR and they adjusted the arrival day and immediately shipped my dresses. Crisis diverted...right? Ummmm...no! I had given them the WRONG hotel address...again, I called back, the dresses had already been shipped...they over-nighted a new set of dresses to the correct address and the package arrived before I did! RTR is amazing and calmed, comforted and assured me every step of the way. Thank you RTR for helping me when I obviously could not help myself....your staff is as amazing as your dresses. I am a customer for life!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
July 9, 2014
Solid Little Black Dress

The fabric was forgiving and comfortable. It fit well, and was just right for a rehearsal dinner at my brother's wedding. Would probably look a little better on those with a defined waist, but was still flattering even though I do not have an hourglass figure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173lbs
July 12, 2014
Classic black with a twist

Classic (probably-should-own-it) black dress. The unique neckline and the front slit keep it modern instead of matronly. The neckline almost makes me think of 'genie in a bottle'. :) The fabric was so comfortable with lots of give. I enjoyed wearing this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 14, 2014
Sexy, classy and comfortable - amazing!

I have a large chest, and this dress showed it off without looking trashy or making me worry about my neckline all night. The fabric is stretchy and comfortable, great to dance in, no feeling like you are a sausage when you sit down. Able to wear normal underwear, defines the waist well, and looks lux. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
July 19, 2014
Next time I'll rent the 2, and there will be a next time!

As another reviewer put it, this is a great dress but lacks the "wow!" factor, so reserve it for something where you want to look great but it's not necessarily "YOUR" night (birthday, shower, etc). In terms of size, I usually wear a 4 unless the top is tight and then I need a 6. I rented the 4 and 6, and wish I had the two. The 4 fit great on top but was a little loose in the midsection (I don't have wide hips at all, I wish it were more fitted here).

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2014
Loved it!

Fit my figure perfectly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 23, 2015
Great look and a show stopper.

Ordered this dress for New Year's parties and received many compliments. The size is true fit and very comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 27, 2014
I love this dress! It is the third time I've rented it.

I ordered a 6 & 8 and the 8 definitely fit better. The material had "give" for a very comfortable fit. The neckline was very flattering but conservative enough for a Chamber event.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 28, 2014
Sarah saved my day by sending three replacement dresses overnight!

This dress would fit anyone - it is simple but very elegant!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 2, 2014
Classy and sexy

I originally ordered a different dress, but the dress size was not available. I received this dress as an alternate. So glad I was sent this dress. The dress is classy and sexy! The fit was perfect for me, 34D and hourglass figure. The length fit to the top of my knees, 5'4", which was perfect because when you sit down the dress moves up slightly and causes the front slit to open. The dress is not sheer and is fully lined. It has a textured feel to the material. The bodice of this dress is beautiful. The only problems with the dress were the clothing straps and back zipper. The clothing straps are located at the shoulder area, not under the armpit and kept coming out. In hindsight, I should have used tape to keep them down. The zipper was difficult slide up and down. Luckily for me, I had my hubby take care of that for me. I received so many compliments on this dress! I might rent this one Again!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 5, 2014
Loved the dress. I normally wear an 8 or 10 but ended up wearing a 6 and it fit perfectly.

Classy black dress perfect for a wedding. Originally ordered an 8 and 10. I ordered the 6 and it arrived at 8 am in the morning and fit perfectly!! I forgot to get a picture taken of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 6, 2014
Very comfortable and classic LBD

The dress fits the curves in all the right places and fabric is very forgiving. Absolutely perfect and classy yet low key.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 6, 2014
I think the dress looks elegant -- perfect for an outdoor wedding.

I thought the dress looked great. However I do think it runs just a little small -- The description on the website recommended that I choose a size up for my back-up and I should have listened. Typically size 12 fits me fine -- this dress was a little snug, but I don't think anyone noticed but me. I chose size 10 for my back-up -- in some brands I am a 10, so I thought I was safe. There is no way I could have fit into it -- good thing the 12 fit OK.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
August 6, 2014
Not great for large chests

The fabric was heavier than I was expecting - not great for a summer wedding. There is also a seam that runs under the bust, which didn't fit me quite right.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 15, 2014
Worn to wedding in Texas - Dress perfect for occasion - not to hot not to cool

Comfy and Fit beautifully to the curves...Just be cautious - lots of chest landscape on display! Regular bra works great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
August 18, 2014
Hugs the curves, Provides some Give, Looks Elegant

I am normally between a size 12 and 14. Of course, every designer is different, so its a gamble on what size will be perfect. This was actually a backup dress as the other one I rented was too big. They only had a 12 available, and based on the reviews, I decided to give the 12 a chance. I'm glad I did. Although the 14 would have been a little more loose, I was happy that this was a bit more fitted. It was easy to sit in, the texture of the dress is beautiful (as others stated there is a texture to it), the neckline is so different from anything I have seen. There was some slight give in the dress, so it made it comfortable to sit for extended periods of time (up to an hour during a wedding ceremony at least). However, it was a bit difficult to dance in. The slit was a bit bothersome because it moved during the night, anywhere from the center to the right leg, but it wasn't annoying enough to keep from being happy with my choice. The other nice thing is you can wear this with any standard bra. I hate having to try and find a bra that will work properly.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
September 2, 2014
This was a great dress. Very flattering and perfect for almost any event.

I normally wear a 16 just because of my large chest (38DDD or 38G depending on store) but this did not come in 16 and I loved it so I thought I'd try it. It was fantastic with the right undergarments (just a camisole shaper smoothed out everything). There was some elasticity to the fabric so the fit was perfect for the waist and down and also for my bust which is the main problem area to get to fit!! It was elegant and sexy at the same time.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 3, 2014
Perfect subtle flare for a formal rehearsal dinner!

My boyfriend was a groomsman in a wedding, so we had plenty of events to attend, one of which being a rehearsal dinner in a private room at one of San Francisco's nicer restaurants - clearly I had to look good! I wanted something simple and elegant, but with a little pizzazz, and this little black dress did the trick. Knee length with a slit, to keep it classy, and the neckline was stunning! I could wear it with my normal bra and it showed just the appropriate amount of cleavage. The shoulders were a little tight for me, but I tend to have broader shoulders than most, and hips were a little snug, but with some (very light!) spanx, it all worked out perfectly. Even with all eyes on the bride-to-be, my boyfriend's friends couldn't stop complimenting.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 16, 2014
So Classy!

This dress looked great. The fit was perfect and it hugged every curve. I added a bronzed belt to match my purse and it just set the dress off even more.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 19, 2014
Great LBD!

Great fit, even on big hips. Wore this for a work event, perfect, understated elegance.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 21, 2014
Beautiful dress!

Lots of compliments.. But did not fit me well. I am pear shaped. This dress would be better on an hour glass figure. I

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2014
Good Rental!

This dress was nice. There was nothing particularly special about it, but it was classic and fit well. I wore it to a wedding, and my goal was not to "stand out" anyways (so "classic" was perfect). The dress fit well. I rented the size 4 as well and could have worn it, but chose to wear the 6 to give myself a little more room. The material has some give to it and the dress is great quality. I recommend this to anyone looking for a nice, simple dress.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2014
LBD with Style

The neckline on this dress has just the right amount of sass without being too flashy. I still felt like a lady, just with a little extra va-voom.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 15, 2014
Unfortunately sent it back

Okay, preface; it's an ABSOLUTELY gorgeous dress! I loved the fabric, it's a thicker material with a bit of texture so it so it's not just a flat, matte black. The neckline was absolutely stunning. It is lined which is always a plus. However, it just did not fit my body type. I have fairly wide shoulders (thanks to 10+ years of athletics) but a narrow waist so the 8 fit just right in the bust and hips but ended up having nearly 4 inches of extra fabric at the waist. I could literally grab a handful of material hanging loose around my waist line. If it were my own, personal dress, I'd tailor and rocked this baby every chance I could! Unfortunately, as a rental, that isn't an option. Hoping RTR will be kind enough to give me a credit for this as I do see myself renting from them at least once a year for the foreseeable future.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 17, 2014
Stunning dress- compliments the entire evening.

I am between a size 4 and 6, I tried on the six first and didn't bother trying on the size 4 until right before the event- realizing that the smaller size actually fit better and hugged my curves beautifully. If you're between sizes, I'd recommend sizing down if you want it to look as figure hugging as it does on the model. Be careful when sitting down because the dress becomes SIGNIFICANTLY shorter and the slit at the front makes it very revealing. I got stopped the entire evening by people who loved the dress. The dress is great for busty girls because even though I sized down, nothing was too revealing up at the top and nothing was "spilling" out of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2014
I actually rented this dress twice for 2 separate weddings! I absolutely loved it!

I wore the size 4 but I felt that I could have worn the size 2 - there is a lot of give in the dress.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2014
stretchy but thick material so it fits really well. I received a lot of compliments

the zipper didn't work on the Size 12 but I didn't need that size afterall

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
October 25, 2014
My last sorority recruitment ended with this beautiful knockout that caught everyone's eye!

Once again, I should have orders a smaller size but the dress worked! The neckline is what catches everyone's eye. It makes your décolletage look very pretty and something as simple as a silver necklace just added to the beauty. It's a dress that can definitely show your curves if you order the correct size. The fabric felt nice and safe. It ended up being a perfect dress to say goodbye to recruitment season in. Another almost perfect RTR experience

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 28, 2014
The dress was wonderful! Perfect fit, perfect level of sophistication for the event!

The dress fit perfectly! I paired it with silver jewelry, silver/gray shoes and a wrap with a silver sheen. I felt like a million dollars!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2014
Classy and Conservative with an interesting neckline

This was for a formal work gala where I needed that LBD that wasn't boring. the material was substantial with a nice texture, got tons of complements. the 12 fit, but since it was a work function I went loose. Would totally rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2014
More conservative than expected

The neckline is interesting, but is really a lot higher than it seems on the model. The longer length and lack of cleavage made it a bit more conservative than i expected. I also noticed that the slit was actually not on the side as it seems in the picture - it is right up and down the middle of your legs in the front, which is kind of award. The material is nice and thick, but not very stretchy and is very textured, which was also unexpected.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 20, 2014
Perfect for my niece's wedding.

I ordered the 12 with a backup of a size 10 (as I am always somewhere in between) and was very pleased with the fit of the 10. It was elegant and I had tons of compliments and felt very glamorous! This is my first Rent the Runway experience, certainly won't be my last. Super easy return, too!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 4, 2014
This was my first event postpartum and this dress was perfect.

The dress fit well and the material was stretchier than I thought it would be, but still looked formal, and was very comfortable. I was able to dance the whole night and wasn't pulling on anything. This was my first formal outing postpartum! The neckline was what I loved about this dress originally because it made a simple black dress a little more. Everything fit well throughout the bust (was worried about too much cleavage) and there were no gaps. I wore dress with nylons and didn't need any kind of slip because of the lining in the dress. Perfect!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
December 7, 2014
beautiful neckline and front split- beautiful but conservative- good for work event-simply beautiful

fit well all around a bit big in the waist but a size small would have been too tight in hips-

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
December 7, 2014
Stunning neckline!!

I wore this dress for my company holiday party, and people couldn't stop complimenting me. The material is a little thicker so it was perfect for a winter event. My one note is that I have a bigger chest and the dress was VERY snug up top. If you'd prefer a looser fit, definitely size up.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
December 9, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE

Wish I owned this dress I would wear it for all my events. I love it and it looked great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 9, 2014
Perfect dress for my husband's business party.

Really fit like a dream. Very comfortable for a business party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 13, 2014
Classic black dress with a great neckline.

Wish I owned this dress. It was the second time I rented it. It fits beautifully. I could have worn either the 8 or 6, but found the 6 to be more flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 16, 2014
Chose this dress because I was going to dinner and then a black tie party. Perfect for both.

The highlight is the neck, which is just beautiful. Otherwise, a bit plain. And for a 5'2" person, is very long. Runs a tiny bit big. Still, the kind of dress you can't go wrong with.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
December 22, 2014
Dress looked great!

I wore this dress to a company executive dinner and thought it was great although perhaps a tad too revealing for me for the occasion. The zipper was a little tough to pull up even when the dress wasn't on and seemed a bit worn. Looked and fit great though!

See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×