David Meister

Picture Frame Sheath

$35 rental
$505 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel ravishing in this intricately cut LBD by David Meister. This dress will give you a perfect hourglass for that first date! Go with a classic clutch like Whiting & Davis’ Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Stretch Crepe. (85% Viscose, 15% Polyamide). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Pencil skirt with center front slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

157 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 109
Large 27
Photos 68
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Worn for a college reunion event- so many compliments! Comfortable, easy to wear, has some give.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I would buy this dress if I could! I love it, and I got so many compliments on it. The fit was flattering on my hourglass. Love!
Cindy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

LOVED THIS DRESS,

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pleased at the superior quality and fit of this fabulous dress. Pictures hardly do this dress justice. I would rent again without hesitation!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 29, 2014

A knockout LBD

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for the quite formal spring wedding I needed to attend! The neckline was gorgeous, and I didn't have a problem with cleavage at all. I couldn't get the slit to sit quite right, but looking at the photo now it makes sense to go over the leg, I think I was trying to put it in the middle which made it pucker a bit (lesson learned, let the dress do its thing). The fabric doesn't have a lot of stretch or give to it, but the crepe material was very forgiving on the curves and with spanx I had a nice curvy figure. It was a fun dress and I got tons of compliments!
RTR Customer
May 21, 2014

Great service & shipping was on time!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly. I received many compliments and loved the way it made me look & feel!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
May 17, 2014

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for my boyfriends college graduation, love love love the neck detail! He goes to a religious college so the length was just conservative enough-any other event I would have said it was a hair too long and I'm 5'7. The front slit was interesting, overall I really liked this dress it was super classy and makes you look great!
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 13, 2014

The dress was elegant and classic. I received compliments all night.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. The dress has a bit of stretch so it hugs every curve great. It was absolutely true to size and very flattering.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 4, 2014

I wore this to the Kentucky Oaks, made me feel like Audrey Hepburn!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This is the perfect LBD! Of all dresses I've rented from RTR this is the one I wish I could keep. Runs a bit large on top for pear shaped girls, sized down and there was sufficient stretch in the dress to fit my hips and show my curves without being too tight. Thank you RTR!!
Olympic Shopper
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Felt like $1 million bucks!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit good. It was waiting for me as I arrived home after work. I went with the size 10. It was a little snug in the bodice, but you need that to get the hourglass figure. The size 12 just didn't hit my curves right. The material is like a gabardine fabric with a slight texture. If you look close you will see it. If fit perfect everywhere else. The armholes are the right size and I didn't have to adjust the dress throughout the night. I wore a regular bra which did not peek through anywhere, and no spanx. I didn't feel I needed it. Make sure you have the right underwear so you don't have pantylines. I also rented a cuff and felt it had it's day with this dress. I did not rent a necklace because I didn't want to take away from the gorgeous neckline. I already rented again with RTR. It is so easy!!!!! Love it!!! I feel like all the added photos from everyone really helped my selection, so I just had to share!! This is a great dress.
Nish
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 7, 2014

I ended up wearing another RTR dress but this one was lovely and VERY comfortable.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material is stretchy, yet fitted. Very comfortable. Loved the neckline. Size up if you have a full bust.
Rhode
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Very elegant LBD for a charity fundraiser.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The 4 had a little extra room on top and was a little big in the waist. The 2 was better on top but didn't look as nice through the hips so I ended up wearing the 4. Someone with a bigger bust would likely find this dress true to size. The dress has a nice texture and a little stretch. It's very comfortable to wear and the length was just right for me since it hit me just below the knee. It's hard to tell from the picture but that little slit is right in the middle. My only issue was with the little internal straps used for securing the dress to a hanger. I would recommend pinning them to the inside of the dress so they don't come out. The rental experience was very easy. I originally rented the 4 with a 6 as backup. I called RTR when I thought the 4 might be too big and they sent the 2 overnight. I will definitely do this again.
Louise
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Cute, classic dress, doesn't show too much and doesn't fit too tight.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This fit well. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 the 4 was a little loose on me which was nice since I wore it to a seven course wine pairing. It was classy and a good length (to my knee) and doesn't show any real cleavage or leg.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2014

Classy and simple

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This wasn't the knockout dress I was hoping for, but it was a very easy-to-wear look (no outrageous bras, etc needed) that was flattering and fun to pair with my more out-there accessories. Perfect for a night that's not YOUR night but you still want to look pulled together.
Clare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

Perfect LBD: ideal balance of ladylike and sexy.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fits like a dream, stretchy and forgiving but holds its shape well. I'm a 36DDD, and the top fit perfectly (without any unflattering compression). The neckline was gorgeous and shows off cleavage without looking trashy. The fabric is crepe textured, which I did not expect, but it felt and looked great on. Hemline hit right at my knee and made me look taller and leaner. I'm a standard size 14 and this fit me everywhere without bulges or pulling. Shoulders are cut wide enough to cover a bra without having to worry that a strap will peek out. I'm seriously thinking about buying it. A sensational LBD.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Great dress. Got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a perfect dress for a work event in which I would be on stage. The neckline was sexy but subtle and the dress hugged the curves, but not too tightly. Probably wouldn't be my first choice for an event where I wanted to strut my stuff a little more - but a perfect dress for an affair that called for conservative classy.
Margaux
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 22, 2013

Love the neckline of this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit me well! As someone with bigger hips and a smaller waist, I noticed that it hugged my hips and gave me room in the midsection. This is something I would wear again to an office party or family affair!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Wore for a work party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress definitely runs large, so size down if you can. A more conservative neckline than I am used to, or expected, but would be good for people with larger chests who aren't into hanging the ladies out there. Nice fabric and good stretch.
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 16, 2013

I loved this dress, it was absolutely perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For an hourglass figure it was perfect and fit in all the right spots!
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 18, 2015

Too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I was not able to wear this dress as it was way too big. Loved the collar - beautiful high quality dress! Runs large.
H.M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

Dress is comfortable, light, and shows just enough. Very elegant.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The Dress fit very well. I usually wear an 8 and the 8 was spot on. The dress was light and airy and I could wear it all night without feeling like I can't move. The cleavage area is modest and classy and shows just enough. I would rent this dress again and again...
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 11, 2015

Comfortable, fun yet conservative enough for a work event.

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Work
I loved this dress and will definitely rent again. It was perfect for a cocktail party for work as it was fun and comfortable yet not too sexy or low cut. In could have worn the 10, but went with the 12 because it fit more comfortably. It flatters curves, but spanx is a must as it is quite fitted.
RAS
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

Nice simple black dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit well, fabric was different than expected (textured) and was a bit difficult to get the wrinkles out of it. Otherwise, great cut and fit.
T-bird
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Fun spin on the LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the material, and it was a very easy-to-wear dress ... no special undergarments needed.
ashlee
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
May 29, 2015

Wedding with friends

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The top was a little big while the rest of the dress was snug. I had ordered the 14 as well, but the top was much too large while the rest of the dress fit me better I wound up wearing the 12 due to the top.
Ceceilia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 21, 2015

Great dress for formal business meetings or cocktail parties!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
The front slit isn't too high and the neckline isn't too low. Fit perfectly. The fabric feels thick and drapey--very forgiving--without losing the flow of crepe. I wore it with a cardigan, but it would work with a scarf, blazer, or fur in winter. Great dress.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 210 lbs
May 21, 2015

Nice dress, flexible fabric.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a nice dress, but I may be running closer to a size 16, so I had to pull the skirt down throughout the night.
Jules
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
May 17, 2015

This dress fit beautifully.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was extremely flattering even though I am apple shaped. I received tons of compliments all night. I felt sexy without revealing too much skin. The dress was comfortable all night. My only complaint is that I had to send it back after my rental was over!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 5, 2015

Great cocktail dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The neckline makes this dress unique. I would recommend sizing down one size. If you don't, there's extra fabric in the back that bunches, and the length is a little too long. The fabric is thicker than you expect, so be mindful of that fact if planning to wear it when it's warmer out.
Liz
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 4, 2015

Great LBD

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED the neck line. Super fun. The front slit in the skirt rides up quite a bit when you sit down showing a little too much. I was counting on a table cloth at dinner to keep me modest but had to settle for a napkin.
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 2, 2015

Beautiful while somewhat conservative but runs big in the middle

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
I wanted to love this dress because it would have been perfect for an evening work event but it ran a little big. It wasn't falling off of me but just hung a little baggy. Since the fabric is on the thicker side it would have been great to be a little tighter and hug my curves.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

The neckline makes this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this on a date with my fiancé for his bday dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. The dress had some stretch and was comfortable but aside from the neckline it's a little forgettable. A serviceable dress that got the job done but no wow factor hiding anywhere.
Lo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 7, 2015

So, so flattering.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is so incredibly flattering, especially if you have curves. I gained a little weight over the winter and am feeling a little fluffier than I'd like to be. I was nervous about picking up a body conscious dress but this truly was sexy, slimming and flattering.
Kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 6, 2015

This was the perfect dress for a cocktail attire fundraiser!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was the perfect LBD: very simple and basic so as not to be flashy (I was staffing the event and speaking), but the neckline and the slit in the skirt made it interesting and flirty. I wore it with a chunky mixed pearl necklace and got a TON of compliments! The dress fit true to size and was incredibly flattering. I am 5'5" and 115; I wear a size 2 in most clothing and the 2 fit like a dream.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 5, 2015

Ran a bit large, very conservative.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Though the condition of the dress was great, this one did not work out for me. I am usually a 2 in most RTR dresses, regardless of the brand. This one swallowed me. I was worried it would be too snug because I have a larger rear-end, but it was not at all. The top was too large for a 34B, and the rest of the dress was also not as fitted as the photo. Also note the length - pretty long on a shorter gal. The zero may have worked out, but it was not available for my event. Nice dress, but ended up sending it back. As always, RTR customer service was awesome and helped me find a replacement.
jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 3, 2015

Beautiful well constructed dress worn to formal event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 6 and 8 as a backup, felt the 6 ran a little large and could have gone with a 4. Recommend get a smaller size as a backup.
Maryellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Elegant and classy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I needed a striking dress for a serious business-related date, but also something elegant and classy. This really accomplished all of that. The neckline is very feminine without being too revealing. And the slit in the bottom of the narrow skirt made it easy to walk in. A great pair of heels, clutch, and simple pearl drop earrings was all that was needed. I would love to this travel with! It doesn't wrinkle, folds up small, isn't heavy, and stops traffic in the streets!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 20, 2015

Runs large in the hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress is pretty, but it fits large in the hips and bust. I would order a size down.
D
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Classic Understated, Yet Interesting, Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: Gorgeous, simple, understated but not boring. Fits true to size. Cons: The material has an interesting texture and wasn't as thick as I expected. I had to be careful with the front center slit, but it wasn't an issue since I was seated at a table with a tablecloth.
Whitney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

This was a great dress that looked and fit exactly how I expected it to!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I am usually somewhere between a size 2 and a size 4, but the size 2 was a perfect fit. It hit just below the knee and was flattering through the waist. I would definitely recommend it.
Anna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Material fit great! Perfect LBD.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Material was perfect. Loved it. I'm a taller girl and it hit just below my knees which was exactly what I wanted.
ringer4life
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 23, 2015

Great look and a show stopper.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ordered this dress for New Year's parties and received many compliments. The size is true fit and very comfortable.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×