Patriotic Wonder Gown

$51 to buy
$575 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this classic, embellished shoulder dress by David Meister to your black tie event! You'll look breathtaking!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline. Beaded embellishment on shoulder and on double back strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
78 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
August 22, 2012
Clam Digging
I rented this with hopes to wear it to a wedding. I am 5'10" and I was excited to try this dress knowing it came in long. Even in the longer length, it didn't even make it to my ankles. The dress is beautifully made and fit me nicely aside of the length. All in all, a beautiful dress, just not long enough.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 21, 2012
More amazing than all of the compliments during the night was how glamorous I felt. I couldn't believe that it was me in the pictures!
I loved this dress. I had tried it on in a store and fell in love with the fit. It is snug, but in a comfortable and flattering way. But the price was not something I could ever afford for a one night work event. Then I found RTR! I was so excited to get to order this dress. I ordered and 2 and a 4 because I wasn't sure what would fit best after a few months. The 4 was perfect and I am typically a size 4. The length was just right for average heels. I am only 5'4". I got so many compliments on the dress. I am excited to start planning for next years Gala and picking my RTR dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2012
Length was too short
I am 5'9" and should have gotten the longer length! It hit me above my ankles. Overall beautiful color and stone work details. Too bad it was short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 25, 2012
Very pretty and flattering
Due to a recent back injury, I wore small black patent leather wedge heels and the "regular" length was perfect. This is a great dress - unique but not super flashy. Perfect for a black tie wedding. Flattering even for those who are not stick thin (though, as others have said, definitely wear the right undergarments)! The placement of the strap actually allowed me to wear a convertible bra in the one-shoulder configuration, which added to the overall comfort immensely! The bust area is definitely the "limiting factor" for size considerations. Great dress - it's staying on my favorites list!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
May 4, 2012
Beautiful dress
This was my back up dress. I didn't end up wearing it although it is very beautiful. I'm a 10/12 (more 12) and I ordered it only in the 10. It was just a little tight on my arm / shoulder and too short. I should have ordered the long. Although I didn't wear it, I would order a size up and try again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2012
Wonderful 1st RTR experience!
Perfect fit! Got tons of compliments. I ordered the 4R but it was too tight in the bust (I'm a 32F) and too short. If I was any taller than 5'6" the 6R length might have been too short. The 6R was slightly snug in the bust. Material felt good- heavy and not cheap.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 2, 2012
Gorgeous Color
I rented this dress for an awards banquet and it was exquisite!! The color was a very pretty navy and the beading made the dress so beautiful. The dress does run true to size, HOWEVER, it is somewhat loose fitting in the bodice because of the type of fabric. So if you like things a little more form fitting I would recommend sizing down for your backup dress. If I do not wear something form fitting, I look large because I have large hips but a small waist. I rented the 4L and the length was great with 3 1/2" heels. Overall, I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
April 1, 2012
I made it through the day!
I wore this dress at 34 weeks pregnant and felt fabulous. I'm usually a 4 but due to my bump I wore a 10L. An 8L would have fit better but the 8L was unavailable. I ordered the 8R as my backup and it fit great, except it was way too short! The 10L was just a hair long on me with kitten heels but overall I was happy with the fit and received lots of compliments. Best of all I was comfortable and I felt like the dark color helped me look smaller than I felt. The stretchy fabric was also a plus.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 20, 2012
Awesome dress
i loved, loved this dress. The fit was perfect. I wore it to a recent gala and received many compliments. My experience with rtr was flawless. The dress arrived exactly as promised. This was the easiest event to plan for and I had the best dress by far. Thank you.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 15, 2012
Lots of compliments!
Overall great dress - very comfortable and easy to wear. Agree though with all comments about the length. I am 5'4", and the R touched the floor with no shoes on. As soon as I tried to wear any of my heels, the dress become too short. I ended up purchasing a dressy pair of flats, and then the length was fine. I'm wondering though if the long would be too long (without really high heels) though? Only other problem is the popularity of RTR - there was another woman wearing my dress at the event, and I saw another woman there in my backup dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 4, 2012
My husband got a lot of "You definitely married up!" all night!
The dress fit great! I wish I had a smaller size, but I got another dress for another event and used my 2nd size with that one. I can see where everyone says they had issues with the length. I'm 5' and wore it with 3" heels, and it was the perfect length. The dress was comfortable and, with the weight of the material, it fell perfectly. Definitely recommend the right undergarments though because it will show everything if you don't. Got tons of compliments all night, and have yet to be disappointed with a dress from RTR!
KatherineApril 4, 2012
Love the photo! I'm on here trying to find a dress that will complement my husband's dress blues and this looks great. Thank you for posting the great photo and your review -- it really helps.
RTR CustomerNovember 10, 2012
I am also trying to find a dress for my husband's Battalion Ball, and want something that will look good but not be too fancy. You are about my size, and I love that you have a picture with him in his dress blues, as that is what my husband will be wearing. Thanks so much!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 30, 2012
Looks great and very comfy!
This dress fit very nicely, although it was a little shorter than I normally wear. The dress was comfortable to wear all night and was great for dancing. The only problem I had was someone at the event had on the exact same dress from RTR...
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 28, 2012
Lots of compliments!
This dress ran true to size, but was really clingy. You need to wear the appropriate undergarments, because it shows every curve of your body. The material is heavy, and I kept having to pull it up (even though it had a strap). The sparkles are blue and clear, so silver shoes and jewelry would go well.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2012
Debutante Ball
I wore this dress to a Debutante Ball and it was perfect. Got lots of compliments on the dress and fit. David Meister is one of my favorite designers and his dresses run true to size and fit well. I am 5'7" tall and on the slim side. Dress fit perfectly. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2012
Within the span of five minutes, a teenager and an older woman separately complimented this dress - everyone is a fan!
I wore this to a New Year's wedding and received lots of compliments. The front is lovely, but the back is truly spectacular. Plan to wear your hair up to highlight the detail in the back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
December 19, 2011
Perfect for a Military Ball
This dress is classy and beautiful. It fit true to size, and the length was just right in three inch heels for me (5'4)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 11, 2011
Amazing Dress
I wore this to prom and loved it. It looked really great, I also wore the Badgley Mischka Falling Leaf earrings and the Chamak Balinese Bliss Bangle Set.
mariaFebruary 5, 2012
so this dress was comfortable to dance in? I think i might wear this one to my prom also.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2011
The strap detailing was beautiful
Loved this gown. It was a great fit, I did need someone else to zip me in, but it was perfect otherwise. the detail on the strap is an eye catcher, I received compliments all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2011
Just enough bling ...
Loved this dress. Wore it to a very formal black tie event. It was very comfortable -- the fabric has enough give to it and the arms were cut neither too low nor too high. I wish I had worn my hair up to give the beautiful beading on the shoulder the full effect. As other reviews have noted it is short. I am 5'8" and wore 4" heels, and the dress was easily 4" off the floor. I wish I had ordered the LONG version, but it was not so short as too be awkward. I am fairly large in the chest, and it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 25, 2011
Too short!
This is a beautiful dress that I wasn't able to wear because it was too short! I am 5' 5" and when I put on 3 inch heels, the bottom of the dress only fell at my ankles. Maybe it's just my own preference, but a floor-length gown should hit the floor! Good thing I ordered a second dress for $25!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 21, 2011
Even better in person
Had second thoughts after I ordered this dress, thinking it might not be nice enough for my event. It was stunning in person! Great dark blue color, which I paired with pewter/dark silver 3" heels. Wore the 2R as the 4R was a little loose and notably longer. Fabric is slinky, so choose undergarments carefully, and tape down the garment straps. Will likely rent this again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
October 11, 2011
Loved wearing this dress! It's gorgeous, flattering, and very comfortable. I didn't realize the dress is navy, not black, which turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Recevied many complements from people I didn't even know. I ordered both the regular and the longer length and could have worn either with my 4 in heels.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2011
Runs true to size, size six fit like a glove but comfortably stretched and moved. But still too short! I am just shy of 5'8'' and the size long was several inches off of the ground in my two inch heels, this was very disappointing. If you're my height, I would ask if they could do an even longer size? Or wear kitten heels.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2011
I wore this dress to my senior prom and so many people were complimenting me that night! As simple as this dress it, it goes a long way. I wore 5 inch heels with this dress, so I got the long size according to my fit and it fit perfectly!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
September 21, 2011
This dress is spectacular! Looks better than the picture. I got it in a regular size and wished it was just a little bit longer. I am 5'6 and wore 2 inch heels and I could see my heels. I actually had gotten this dress as my backup and ended up wearing this instead. Got alot of compliments and the dress is very dark. Overal= great!:)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2011
This dress was beautiful but TOO short for anyone who is 5'8" and taller. I ordered the 8L and it fit perfectly except in height. I only wore two inch heels and you could almost see my ankles!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2011
I rented this dress as my 'back up' dress and truly loved it! The picture online doesn't give this dress any justice. I have an hour glass figure in a size 12 and this dress looked gorgeous on me and the fit was amazing! I can't say enough about this gown, the jewel details are stunning. I was complimented all night on the gown. I wish that more engagements to attend because I would have bought this gown outright. I wore it with simple earrings and silver shoes. For anyone looking for an evening gown, this dress is it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 23, 2011
I can wear anything from a size 4 to a size 8 depending on the designer. The 6 just fit. The dress although I ordered the long came to my ankle. I was able to wear it with really high heels and it just looked like I had the dress shortened so I could dance. It is a very beautiful dress
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2011
I had the privilege of walking my daughter down the aisle on her wedding day. This dress looked amazing. Everone said I looked gorgeous in the dress. It was true to size, comfortable and the length was perfect. I don't think I could have found a better dress for me. The ease of renting and the help from their staff will make me a long time customer.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 12, 2011
The dress is really pretty, but very short! I ordered a 4L and a 2L- the 2L fit great in everything but length. I'm just under 5'8" and the dress barely grazed the ground with NO shoes. By the time I put on two inch heels it was a good 2-3 inches off the ground- too awkward to wear, so I'm sending it back.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 22, 2011
I wore this to a black tie wedding and received a ton of compliments! This is true to size, but I would rent the longer dress if you're 5'5" and up and plan to wear heels.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
June 8, 2011
I rented this in the regular size and it just hit the floor without heels, long would have been way too long! loved the color and one shoulder. easy to move in. i wore it to prom and everyone had big poofy dresses so i could move easily in it. lightweight. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2011
I rented this one for my daughter's senior prom. Jaws dropped - it is such a sophisticated and gorgeous dress! It clings in all the right places. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. My daughter is 5'7" and wore a 3" heel and the 2L was perfect!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
June 2, 2011
I got this dress as a back-up to a slinkier option. I ended up wearing it as it is a forgiving dress and that day I needed one. It is still a stunner, and I still got many many compliments even though technically it was my fail-safe. It isn't the most stand-outish dress there is but it does the job. I would get it as a back up again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 2, 2011
This dress is great - it's fabulously comfortable, draped beautifully, and runs true to size. I'm of medium height (5'6'') and I wore this with big heels (4'') and I rented a long version, so I'd recommend doing this if you're tall or of medium height and planning to wear big shoes. The hook closure below the arm does scratch a little, so it may be worth using a little tape underneath the closure to make it more comfy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2011
This dress is amazing. It's really comfortable and the jewel detail is beautiful. I actually found this dress on RTR's "bump friendly" page and wore it when I was 34 weeks pregnant to a wedding. Since this dress is made out of a jersey material I rented one size up from my regular size. The dress clung in all the right places and I received a lot of compliments. Made me feel stunning even in my super-rotund state of being. Oh, and I'm 5'2", so I loved that RTR had a petite size option to rent... the length was perfect with my 2" heels.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2011
I wore this to a black-tie Broadway opening and it couldn't have been more perfect. Several guests at the after party commented on how "elegant" and "stunning" the dress is and they were complete strangers! I loved it and would definitely rent it again. Worth noting too that I am the same coloring as the model wearing in the photo. A great color for pale-skinned blonds.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 21, 2011
This was my backup and i'm so glad it was. Its perfect true to size. You wont be sorry if you rent this dress
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×