David Meister

Night in Barcelona Gown

$53 to buy
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a daring and trendy look for your black tie affair. People will be starring if you rent this David Meister gown. Accessorize with insane jewelry like Lulu Frost's Crystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black burnout over nude silk. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleating at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

265 reviews

Fit
Small 31
True to Size 227
Large 4
Photos 141
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Feb 1, 2012

Loved this dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this dress for a Mardi Gras ball in New Orleans. Perfect length for me (5'4''). Very comfortable - lots of compliments. Great first experience with this site. Will never buy another cocktail or formal dress again! Be careful when ordering for event. I had to get an extension for return because I ordered the dress too soon. The company was happy to oblige.
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 5, 2012

Perfect!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very pretty, and very comfortable! Easy to move around in. Glad you can size up because I went with my back up size. I usually wear between a 4 and a 6, and the 6L fit just right. The 4 was just a little tight up top (I am a 34D) and just a touch too short. The 6L was Perfect!! The length was long enough to wear with my 4 1/2 in heals. Great dress!!
Wifey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Feb 13, 2012

Subtly Beautiful

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so pretty on! And it was brand new, as I got to cut the tags off! There's actually two layers to the dress: a nude layer, topped with a sheer black that has faint hints of metallic thread peeking out. It was very subtle but gorgeous. The material was soft and I was comfortable all night, but it was very long. (I am 5'5 and wore 4" heels and there was still a teensy bit of draping. It looked great, but I just had to pay attention and make sure I was lifting the skirt for walking or dancing.) I would recommend ordering a size up if you are hourglass or pear-shaped like me, since the larger size was much more flattering through the hips and thighs. I was sad to send this one back!
Lauren
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

Flattering.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It bunches up so nicely and is pretty flattering. It's a nice heavy dress of good quality. Did not end up wearing because it was a bit too short, but most dresses are too short on me.
KK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 18, 2012

Gorgeous and Comfy!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTW experience and definitely won't be my last. I couldn't have been happier with the fit and I received many compliments throughout the night. I wore 3.5" heels and the length was perfect. Thank you for such a seamless rental experience!
Alexa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 21, 2012

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. It arrived on time and fit me exactly as I had hoped. It looked so incredibly gorgeous on me and I received a great deal of compliments throughout the evening. Definitely worth renting.
Danielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 19, 2012

Officiated wedding in style

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had a wardrobe change during event, this dress was fabulous. Comfortable, so pretty. Everyone commented on it. Accomodated my breasts.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 26, 2012

Beautiful dress, fit perfectly

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress in the 6R and it was perfect. I ordered the 8R just in case and while it was a tad bigger, the 6 fit better in the top. Got tons of compliments and the pics were great. It was my first RTRW dress and I'll definitely rent again!
L.
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 10, 2012

B-e-a-utiful

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress lays gorgeously on the body, and has a very high-quality feel to it. $100 is a bargain. I ordered this dress in 4R and 6R, and noticed that the 6R was noticeably longer, by at least 3 inches, than the 4. (I'm 5'5" and with 3-inch heels, the 6R dress *just skimmed* the floor).
elissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 16, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was gorgeous but very true to fit. I am a 2R but found that zippering the dress up through the bust was very difficult even though everything fit perfectly.
alexis
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 16, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect dress for a black tie event. I was worried about the length being too short, but the long length was perfect with heels. Very comfortable. Received lots of compliments. Highly recommend!
gosia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 20, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable dress

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I agree with the other reviews that addressed bust size. I am a 32-34C, any larger and I would have had to size up in the dress. I was not uncomfortable though. Also, the dress does have plenty of give in the midsection. The way the fabric collects on the side of the dress hides any bulge/bump a woman may have. This was great for me since I was 4 1/2 months pregnant at my event. Overall, great classy dress. Length was also good for my height, and I wore 3 inch heels.
Debra
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
May 21, 2012

Amazing!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and loved it!! I got a ton of compliments. It fit my body perfectly and the length was just right with my high heels. The arm hole was a little tight as others mentioned but it didn't bother me much.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
May 29, 2012

PERFECT

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately, no photos yet, but I rented two gowns and this one was actually my second choice for $25 gown. The fit was perfect, including the length. It was unique at the event, which is what I wanted. It was also comfortable. I received quite a few compliments on it and felt terrific. I mostly wear size 8, but depending on the manufacturer, it's sometimes a 10. I also recently lost 16 lbs so I feel like I am in between sizes.
Susan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 8, 2012

Nice Dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 2R and 4R and they both fit nicely, they were just too short. I am 5'5 and I couldn't wear heels with it. It was okay, because my date was short and I wasn't planning on it anyway, but I wish I would've gotten the 2L and 4L instead. Overall very nice dress! I got a lot of compliments that night with it
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Aug 11, 2012

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments in this dress! I usually wear a 4 but the 4 was too tight...glad I also got the 6. I highly recommend this dress!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Tight in chest

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wear a 34D bra and couldn't zip the 4 over my chest even without a strapless bra, but the 6 was huge in the waist/in general and looked like a bag on me. I immediately returned the dresses for the "neither fits" refund and was very happy with that aspect of the RTR service even if I was disappointed the dress didn't work out. The black overlay is beautiful in person.
Rose
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is BEAUTIFUL! I wore this dress to my cousin's wedding and received tons of compliments on it. It is super comfortable, has great upper body support and is easy to walk in. I would definitely recommend this dress to any who is looking for a formal evening gown. Thank you RTR!
RoRo
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Great dress for black tie

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress! Very unique dress. This was my second choice, had a hard time picking between the 2 dresses. Can't wait to rent this dress for my next black tie affair : )
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Beautiful fabric, strange fit

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love the length and style of this dress, however, I felt that it fit loosely in the waist and snug in the bust. I tried wearing a strapless bra and I looked "smushed" so I ended up wearing a regular pushup and adjusted the straps. I wear size 8 normally, but I had hoped to we're the size 6 I ordered for a more waist synching effect. The zippers on both dresses were VERY difficult to use, and I ended up wearing the 8 even though it was too big because I couldnt unzip the 6. All in all, the dress is beautiful, flowy, and the fabric is comfortable.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Much prettier in person

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered the 8 and 10. The 8 fit like a glove. The length was perfect with 4" heels. Would recommend!
Danielyn
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 6, 2012

Great Dress!!!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was an awesome dress, it fit great and i got compliments all night long. The only thing even with 5" heals it was really long but granted I'm 5'2. The fit was great, it was tight in the tummy area but it didn't overemphasize it, it was perfect!
Not You
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Nothing special

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a standard black dress. Nothing really special. Was a bit tight under the arm pit.
Ruby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 19, 2012

Nice formal gown

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Not a crazy showstopper in my opinion, but a great dress for a black tie event where I didn't want to be in the loudest dress in the room. Fit very well and was comfortable!
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

GORGEOUS

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit absolutely perfectly. It hugs in all the right places. I have not felt this amazing in a dress since my wedding day. There is no way you can wear this and not feel incredible. I got so many compliments on it. I hate that I have no picture to post; pictures don't do the dress justice anyway. I cannot wait until my next formal so I can wear it again.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 2, 2012

True to size and got a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable and figure flattering!
Kari
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Oct 6, 2012

Gorgeous, super flattering fit.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I couldn't have been more happy with this dress. My husband loved me in it! He couldn't stop staring. Also the return process was super simple. I will do this again and again with such a great first time experience!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Dress definitely has the "ooh la la" factor.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits close to the body through the abdomen, which made it unflattering on me. The side ruching looks very cool, but the extra fabric around the waist creates bulk. The dress may look better over Spanx or something that smooths out a tummy. It's beautiful fabric and a great combination of colors - this has clearly been a winner for a lot of ladies, just not for me.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Beautiful dress, and flattering for straighter body shapes

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress, and flattering for straighter body shapes. I wore to a black tie event and it was just the right level of formal. I have a smaller chest, but the top was tight - I would suggest a size up.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 19, 2012

LOVED IT!!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie gala that I was working. It was very comfortable and allowed me to move around quite easily and I felt great in it! I am 5'6" and wore 4-5" heels and the long length was perfect.
Maureen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 25, 2012

I felt great, looked great, i wish my size wasnt ripped. Runs long. Would rent again

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm glad I got two sizes because the size 12 L that came was ripped. I wore the size 14L instead. It was a little loose but looked great and was really comfortable. I'm 5'8 and wore 3 inch heals and it was still a little long. Next time I would order the regular. But the dress looked great, I felt great, and I got compliments all night.
Olivia
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 26, 2012

No such luck :( But really a stunning dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this dress for a wedding i had out of town. It arrived on time and fit pretty well throughout my waist and butt area ( which i was VERY concerned about considering I was blessed with awesome italian hips..) but I couldn't get it zipped up with a bra on, so tried without the bra and still no luck. By the time someone was able to help me with the zipper, it wouldn't go up past all the bunching of fabric thats on the side, so just a little annoying. My point, if you have a large chest, this probably isn't the dress for you. I ended up returning it within 24 hrs, called and left a voicemail and still had not received my credit well into the week. I emailed them and within a few hours I had a credit for the dress! I definitely will try again for another wedding i have, maybe something with a little different material.
cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 54
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

I was very pleased overall.The dress was really high quality.Having 2 sizes to chose from is key!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A friend recommended this site to me and it was everything she said! From the ordering to the returning it was so smooth and everything it promised. This dress ran a little small in the bust so I had to go one size up but It looked and felt great all night and I received many compliments! The long length was perfect with 4 inch heals.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

Loved it

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved that this dress was not just solid black and has some color to it without being flashy. Very comfortable to wear. My heels were about 3 inches and the length was good, it did not drag or get in the way. It also hangs down further on the one side that has more detail.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

gorgeous, flattering

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
wore this for a wedding--very flattering and elegant...got TONS of compliments. the right armhole cut in a tad but it wasn't unbearable. very satisfied with this rental.
Devin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 16, 2012

Everyone else had on short dresses and I felt that this was a ball gown for the black tie wedding!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and it wasn't too sheer which was nice for a formal black tie wedding.
megan
Age: 38
Nov 19, 2012

It was terrifc. Great dress, great website service.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very flattering. I'll be back
Ashly Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Gorgeous dress, but didn't fit:(

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately, the dress was just too tight, and since I didn't order an extra size (I won't make THAT mistake again!) I couldn't wear it for the wedding I'd rented it for. But that's ok, because I have two more dresses coming for my boyfriend's graduation!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

I didn't end up wearing this dress. it was my back up.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The part that covers your chest is wider than i imagined so it covered my chest completely. this made me look matronly and i did not like it,
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Although I did not chose to wear this dress to my event, it was fun to try it on. Fits a body well.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this as my back up dress for a black tie wedding. The size 6R fit, however I'm 5'0 and it was still long on me with 4 inch heels. I was going to try the 4R that was my second size, but unfortunately there was a small tear in the material near the zipper so I did not wear this dress. However it fit my body nicely and I would have been happy to wear it had it been a tad bit shorter.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×