Night in Barcelona Gown

$53 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a daring and trendy look for your black tie affair. People will be starring if you rent this David Meister gown. Accessorize with insane jewelry like Lulu Frost's Crystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black burnout over nude silk. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleating at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
272 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size232
Small31
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2013
Pretty, but not my cup of tea
I rented this dress for a black tie charity gala I was attending for work. I ended up wearing my back up dress (which I loved!) because I thought the burn out pattern of this dress was not as elegant as I would have liked. The ruching also did not flatter the part of my torso I was hoping it would. It is a pretty dress, however just not my style. Length wise, the long was a better fit for the shoes I would have worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 19, 2013
meh
Dress looks cheaper in person, the fabric doesn't come across that great. I thought it was ok, but if you have any front tummy this accentuates it A LOT. I ordered as a backup and did not wear it
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
March 14, 2013
The perfect dress for any formal event!
I wore this dress to a fundraising ball. It was elegant, chic and VERY comfortable! I wish I could've kept it!!! I received tons of compliments all evening. I ordered both the 10L and 8L since I have a larger bust and don't have much of a waist after recently having a baby. I was worried the 8L might be too tight in the midsection. However, the 8L fit me perfectly, even in the waist. I was a little nervous about ordering a long length and tripping over the hem all night (I'm 5'6'') but the length was perfect with my 3 1/2" heels. The regular length would probably have worked with flats or very low kitten heels. This was my first time ordering from RTR and I will definitely do it again. I highly recommended the site to many of my friends. It was easy to find what I needed on the site and there was a huge selection, the stylists were EXTREMELY helpful in guiding me to the correct size, and returning the dress was a snap! I love that RTR recommends accessories to go with the dress. I wore my own accessories this time, but I'll definitely consider renting the recommended jewelry/clutches in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 8, 2013
I loved this dress!!!
Other than the zipper sticking initially, the dress was AWESOME!! It was very comfortable and the perfect length. I received compliments from everyone and I felt beautiful.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 7, 2013
Great dress for a great night
I wore this to the Gala event for my job for which I was Mistress of Ceremonies. I got tons of compliments and felt like a star. Dress was very comfortable to wear. The size 4 fit but given all I had to do for the evening (including a sprint back to the car a few blocks away) I'm glad I went with he backup dress a size up. Length was perfect! Thanks RTR!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
March 6, 2013
Made me feel beautiful!!!
This dress fit just like it should and hugged in all the right places. It was a little difficult to zip but not because it was tight. Overall this dress was gorgeous and my date loved it too!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 6, 2013
Lovely elegant dress
I am 5'1" and 110 lbs and I wore the 2R. It was a little long on me with 3 inch heels (with a 1/2" platform). The dress is structured very well, and would hide your hips if you were trying to hide a pear shape. The only problem I had was that thie zipper (which runs up the side) was very stubborn and I had to work really hard to get it up, even though the dress was not tight on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 4, 2013
I did not wear this dress, but I did love the one I rented and wore
I did not wear this dress, it was too tight and just did not fit my proportions well at all - I returned it unworn (luckily I also ordered another dress as back up)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
March 1, 2013
Wore it to my boyfriend's 100th day ball. It was so comfy because of the stretch it has.
Stretchy and totally comfy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2013
great dress,
comfortable and long enough... only concern was i am biggest in my stomach and the folds at the hip didnt flatter that section...
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 20, 2013
My mom actually wore this to my wedding.It was very beautiful
Very good fit and very stunning dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 18, 2013
I got so many compliments!
I loved this dress! I got a 4L and a 6L. The 4L wouldn't fit with the bra I had planned to wear, but that was ok because you really don't need a bra with this dress. You're pretty well supported without it. I got so many compliments on how gorgeous the dress was. My only complaint about the dress was that it was a little tight around the shoulder, but if I switched to the 6L, I would have been holding the dress up all night so I wouldn't trip. However, it wasn't unbearably tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 13, 2013
Glamorous! Received a lot of compliments. Fit like a glove hugging & outlining all the right curves.
I am 5'2'' and wore 2 regular. I would recommend wearing 2 Short.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 11, 2013
Second choice dress, was first rate!
This dress was a stylist recommended back up for an original I ordered and did not fit, it was AMAZING! A great choices for ladies who may be shaped a little curvier. the long is a must since I am 5'10 but the fit was perfect to highlight my curves and I got so many compliments all night long, highly recommend this dress as your first pick!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
February 11, 2013
I actually didn't end up wearing this for my event (I ordered 2 dresses and went with the other)
Fit was great, the zipper was a little tricky but fit was ideal. Super light, soft and very comfortable. The gather at the waist did a great job of hiding my little tummy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
February 11, 2013
Loved the dress! Got great complements throughout the night.
So happy with this dress! I have a large ribcage and because there is some give to the fabric (and the strong zipper :-), I was able to fit into the gown. "Yea" for that, as the 12R wasn't available and my backup dress didn't fit. I did not need a bra, but I did breakout the Spanx to smooth the tummy area. The 10R length was perfect with my 4" heels. I was comfortable all evening and I received many complements. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
February 11, 2013
Perfect for the prom
Great fit. Looked amazing,
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 8, 2013
This was the perfect dress for a fashion shoot under the evening light in the woods.
The dress was amazing and perfectly fit the young woman who modeled for me. Because of where it gathers and flows, just generally how it's structured, it helped to elongate her body and give her that tall, statuesque look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2013
great fit
perfect fit right out of the box.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 6, 2013
Loved this dress!!
Dress is true to size, I read the reviews and ordered a 6R and 6L for my two sizes. I did end up going with the 6L and it was the perfect length with 3" heels. I received so many complements all night. The dress is comfortable, but is very form fitting so if you don't like clothing that is tight around your waste/bust area then this is not the dress for you. I also rented the earrings that were recommended and wore a simple bracelet. Overall I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2013
Great dress...super comfortable...6r fit every where but my chest so I had to size up.
See above
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 3, 2013
I felt beautiful
This was my backup dress and I'm glad I got one. Fit great everywhere and was actually quite comfortable. I am 5'7" and wore 4" heels - the long size was perfect, about an inch off the ground.No built in bra but with my small chest i didn't need one. For a girl on the large end in the hips and thighs area, this dress helped me look more straight up and down by really balancing out my curves. People were complimenting me instead of the dress, but I think that is perfect - it means the dress helped me look fantastic without sticking out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
February 3, 2013
Fabulous experience. This gown fit perfect and was stunning on. It's incredibly comfortable.
I wore 4 inch heels and the dress just skimmed the floor. The zipper was tricky, but I didn't panic since others had commented on this. It just takes a little time and patience. It's not that the dress was a tight fit, but rather the zipper is just very difficult to slide. Accessories made the look! Wanted to keep the Cara cuff. It's even more gorgeous in person. Can't say enough about RTR customer service. The clutch I rented arrived missing several gemstones. When I called, RTR overnighted a new clutch which arrived in time and in perfect condition.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 31, 2013
Great Dress!
This is a great dress. If you are above 5.5 and plan to wear heels definitely go for the long rather than the regular. Note also that although the dress is a little shimmery in the picture, in reality, this is a sheer black fabric (with a shimmer) over a nude underlying. The nude underlying is prominent (so prominent that I considered wearing nude shoes).
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 28, 2013
Very comfortable and classy!
I wore this to a formal black tie affair. It was very comfortable and I danced the night away in it. I'd say that the dress fits to size, but looks better with the sleekness of spanx.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 27, 2013
Backup dress, but it didn't fit.
I usually wear an 8 for David Meister, but this one was just too small. I don't think it's for us ladies who are have a bit more on the bottom. In the picture of the model the draping of the fabric adds a bit more hip than I cared to have. It's a beautiful dress, just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2013
Looked like a star
Loved the fit of the dress - flatters any figure. Only problem is that with the lace overlay - it can photograph a little too sexy where the nude part underneath shows quite a bit. Other than that it's one of my favorite RTR dresses!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 26, 2013
This is a beautiful gown and it's perfect for a formal affair!
I usually wear either a 2 or 4 depending on how it's made. For this gown, the 4R fit perfectly. The stretchy material hugs in all the right places and gives someone like me that isn't all that curvy a nice silhouette.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
January 25, 2013
Lovely dress
I typically wear a size 10 or 12. In this dress, the 12 was the one that fit, which led to my fit rating above. Despite the ruching, the midsection on this dress is pretty unforgiving, so apple figures -- beware! I'm tall at 5'10", and the long size was just barely long enough, grazing the floor in bare feet. I ended up wearing my alternate sequined dress rather than this one since I was going for a little more bling, but this one would definitely have worked.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 24, 2013
Wore this to one of the 2012 inauguration balls. Definitely felt like a belle!
The fit was great, nearly perfect. The dress chafed a bit on the one shoulder, right in the armpit area, but I used a little bodyglide and that helped a lot. The length was perfect with 4 inch heels; I had enough clearance so I didn't have to keep lifting the skirt (apart from on stairs), but wasn't short. I'm a little hippy and the cut of this dress was perfect; accentuating curves without over-emphasizing them. Great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 23, 2013
Pretty dress, nice fit and comfortable. Nothing super special but simple and elegant.
Fits true to size, great length for me (I'm 5'3" and got the R length and wore low heels). A feminine and flattering dress although I didn't think it was amazing.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2013
Great service when I needed to return the dress.
Beautiful dress but it was much too tight around my chest (34C) and the ruching around the stomach makes you look larger than you are. I am 5'9" and it was borderline too short with 2.5 inch heels.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 21, 2013
Great service, great dress! Got lots of compliments! Will definitely rent from RTR again.
In 3-inch heels the 4R was the perfect length and did not drag on the ground. I'm glad I got two sizes because I ended up wearing the larger size - the 2R was too tight across my ribs/chest. I was comfortable all night from dinner and all throughout the ball I was attending. The cut/draping of the dress across the chest is very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 19, 2013
Order this as my backup dress.
The dress was very nice and comfy. The only problem was the zipper very hard to get it zipped. When I finally got it zipped I couldn't get it unzipped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 19, 2013
Rented as a back up dress.
This was my back up dress. I didn't use it, but it was certainly beautiful. Fit perfectly, length was great. The only draw back, the color. The picture looks like black over gold, in person it looks more nude.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
January 18, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it.
It was a great dress, but not for those of us with a short torso. I ended up not wearing it.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 16, 2013
Beautiful Dress, will rent again!
I rented dress for a business Black Tie dinner. I wanted to order the second size but it was not in stock at the time so I took a chance with the size 10. It fit very well and I am very curvy. I did wear a boby shaper and that gave it a very smooth fit. It was very comfortable to wear and very well made. I received alot of attention that evening. The lenght was just right. I wore 3 inch heels and it just touched the floor. I pared it with long gloves and a fur cape and vinage earrings and bracelet. It was a very "Old Hollywood look... Fun! The zipper was tricky but with the help of a friend it went up fine and I was able to unzip myself. I will use RTR again! In fact I will use for all my formal events from now on!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2013
A gorgeous dress... for another time
I ordered this as my primary dress for a formal work event, and had the David Meister "Royal Highness" dress as my backup. As it turned out, I preferred the backup and wore that one instead. This dress, however, is stunning in it's own way. The fabric is comfortable, while still elegant, and the fit was very flattering. The cascade of fabric off the hip is a fun detail for an otherwise safe look.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
January 14, 2013
This dress was my first choice. Count not wear it (12R); runs very small.
Beautifu dress, but not suited for my body frame.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 12, 2013
Beautiful dress for a birthday date at The Signature Room
The dress was stunning. I got so many compliments. I felt like the zipper was tough to get up, even though there was more than enough room for me in the dress. It was definitely not a deal breaker, though! I am 5'7 and ordered the long and had planned on wearing heels. I didn't really like how the heels looked with the dress and ended up wearing flats which worked way better for me. I didn't feel like the dress was too long and only picked it up out on the streets of Chicago cause it was a little wet! Overall, I felt amazing in the dress and it made my birthday date night even more perfect.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×