David Meister

Navy Sequin Sultry Gown

$78 to buy
$620 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Stunning! Rent this navy sequin David Meister gown. You will knock all the other gowns out of the park at the black tie event! Accessorize with a classic bracelet like the Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, except shorter in length. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knotted detail
HIPS: Fitted - sequin material enhances hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Navy sequins( 95% viscose 5% elastane). One shoulder neckline. Twist detail at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
186 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(158)
Small
(5)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2014
The dress was beautiful. I will definitely rent again
The dress fit like a glove. The 8L was the prefect length for a 3 1/2 inch heel.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 29, 2014
I didn't wear the dress.
The dress is really short, I am 5"7 and the size 12 barely hit my ankles. It fit much smaller than the other reviews stated. It was also much more tight and form-fitting than I thought it would be. I was very underwhelmed with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
February 10, 2014
Needed a dress for a formal dance and I was tired of recycling the same old dresses!
The dress ran true to size. I also had the 6L to try but it was a little large through the bust but the 4L fit perfectly. It was almost too short for me, being 5'9, but I opted for a 2" heel and it worked out perfectly. Dress was extremely comfortable for the most part...I danced the night away in it without a problem...it did rub a little around the arm hold because of sequins, but nothing terrible. Lot's of compliments on color and fit. This was my first rental with RTR and it will not be my last! Great service!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 29, 2014
I felt like a million bucks!
The dress fit great. I had ordered a 2L and 4L. Either one would have worked, but I like the 2 because the length worked better with my shoes. The dress was very comfortable. No worries about anything. The other girl’s dress in the photo also rented from RTR. We were both very happy with the experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 13, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress and felt fabulous!
I was a little nervous because the next size up wasn't available and I didn't pick a back up dress so I was thrilled that the dress fit true to size with the exception of being a little tight in the chest.... But once the zipper was up, it looked and felt great. This was my first time renting and I will never buy a gown again! This was a great first time experience. I'll be renting again in October for another Gala!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 18, 2014
Simple: The dress makes you feel and look amazing
Wore 4R, did not even tried 6R that i got complimentary. It was a perfect fit, i danced, i walked, i floated! Hair up do it is a most for a perfect look in my opinion if you have long hair. First time with this designer. Wont be my last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
April 29, 2014
first Rent The Runway dress!
Gorgeous, right out of the bag! Fit was great! I ordered a 6 and an 8, and the 6 fit perfectly. Wore strapless bra and Commando thong so no panty lines. The dress is a great weight, for it falls beautifully over the body.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2014
This dress is Amazing!!
Rented this dress for a wedding and didn't want to take it off! Dress is fully lined and stretchy so it is beyond comfortable and very light weight. It literally fit me perfectly and I received one compliment after the next all night long. There was no bunching or gathering anywhere, it did not rub under the arm pits (like some other reviews have noted), it was just gorgeous and I will definitely be renting this dress again! I wore 3 inch heals and the dress was the perfect length. Also, I was able to wear a regular convertible bra with it that has straps you can adjust based on the top you are wearing and the dress covered it perfectly and stayed in place all night, even on the dance floor. I also rented earrings to go with it that were so elegant and stunning, I seriously felt like a million bucks!! I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
May 9, 2014
The CEO of a MAJOR fashion designer complimented me on this dress! If he only knew it was a rental!
Fit true to form and was very comfortable.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2014
Glimmering and Glamorous
I've never worn a head-to-toe sequined dress before and wanted to try it! I was very happy with the old-Hollywood look that obscured my extra 10 lbs. quite well. I have a 32D chest and the 4R I wore (the smaller of the two dresses I requested) fit with room to spare. I would say this is a good look for hourglass figures. The length was perfect for me in 3 inch heels.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2014
This dress fit amazing....the comments I received all night... "you look good, you look REALLY good"
I wore this dress to a military ball. This dress is on the shorter side. I am 5'3" and the 8R was the perfect length for 4"heels. I was a little worried about the chest fitting, but it fit like a glove! This was also one of the most comfotable dresses I have ever worn. If you want to look REALLY good, this is the dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2014
Unflattering
Unfortunately this dress did not look nice on me. I am relatively small-waisted, and the cut made me look like I had a belly pooch. The whole thing was just off. I rented a size 4, and I kept thinking it would look better if my body was just elongated. Also the top is cut really high, was just not flattering on my athletic arms. All the ladies in these reviews look fabulous, but the dress just didn't work for me!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 18, 2014
beautiful but not for me
I didn't end up wearing this dress but I did try it on. I didn't like the cut of the neckline once I had it on. It fit well and was beautiful but I just wasn't feeling it.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 13, 2014
The event was a wonderful black tie gala at my job with a Broadway/MET Gala theme.
The dress I ordered was suddenly available in my back up size, and I didn't see the email until after I needed to ask for a new dress so I was sent something similar. It turns out my first choice was too big, and the second choice looked even better on me. This dress was very comfortable. I was worried about the one shoulder but it never gave me problems. Tons of compliments all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2013
A diamond in the rough!
At first, I did not like the dress. I was so upset. However, I had no choice but to wear it. The night of the event, I FELL IN LOVE! The dress was the PERFECT length, very comfortable, and matched the event and my husband's uniform perfectly. I LOVED THIS DRESS!!!! The only draw back is the shoulder sequins dug into my skin all night and left a fairly large red mark around my entire arm the next day!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 11, 2014
This dress was absolutely stunning
I ordered a 4L and a 6L as back up. I ended up going with the 4L. Its true to size. Im 5'3 and based on the reviews, i ordered a Long because i wanted to play it safe. Turns out, it was a bit longer than i wanted it. But other than that, it was divine. I received so many compliments. I felt like a mermaid. This is my first time ordering from RTR and its definitely not my last. Im already looking into thanksgiving outfits!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 19, 2014
Wonderful Shiny dress
Fits true to size. Has some stretch. is lightweight and comfortable.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2014
Everything about the whole process was smooth and easy!
The dress came hours before expected, which was nice. I tried on both dresses and had no issues. The dress was as expected although it seemed a little worn, which from what I'd read knew it could be the case. I got an 8R and a 10R and the length was perfect on both. The only issue for me on both dresses was the bust was a little loose. I'm smaller busted, so had I worn the 10 I would have needed to use a safety pin to tighten up the material because it was too stretched out. The 8R was just a tiny bit tight on me in the waist area, but nothing that bad. I did notice that when I sat down that the bust on the 8R was a little saggy; so again, if you're smaller busted you might notice the same issue. I think I'm the only one who noticed it though; nobody else seemed to see the flaws. I got tons and tons of compliments. For jewelry, I wore sparkly silver stuff. I went for the extra surprise bling and probably would not do that again. I thought the print said it was $15 extra for a $30+ piece, but the bracelet I got was only ok in my book. And I think the rental for it was only $20, so it wasn't that much of a savings. It was a pretty piece, but a little dull and lackluster to me. I did have issues with the drop box. I don't know why it says to have the return in the box by noon, but the first one I got to was jammed. Someone had placed a larger package in the opening, and it got stuck so the door would not open all the way for me to put my package in. So had to go to a second UPS drop box location. Be sure you have a backup available, or don't leave it till the last minute! Thanks Rent the Runway!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 24, 2014
FAB-U-LOUS.
I wore this dress to a dear friend's black-tie wedding reception at the penthouse suite of the San Francisco Fairmont. It was nearly perfect. As you can see from the photo there's a little tricky spot...can't remember what they call it when you have that little boob spillage over the side of a strapless neckline, but whoomp there it is! Still, over all, it was elegant and comfortable. I felt like a million bucks. The color is a beautiful navy and I'd ordered some shimmery, navy snakeskin high-heeled sandals that went perfectly with it. Loved the dress and was very happy with my first RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2014
Ordered wrong size and rr was so great getting me a dress for my event on time.
Listen to the reviews. The 4 fit perfect but was too short to wear with heels. I am 5ft 4 but accidentally ordered the regular not the long. Will order this for a formal event in the future. The dress is more beautiful in person.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 1, 2015
Gorgeous and flattering.
Gorgeous dress. Super flattering. I ordered the 4 and 6 R first but while they both fit, they were short. I called RTR and they shipped me a 6L since they were out of 4L. I'm 5'4'' and the R didn't hit the ground when I was barefoot. I was able to wear the 6L with 3 inch heels and it just hit the ground just like it does on the model in the RTR image. The 6L was just a tad loose on top so I had to at times pull the dress up to make sure it was in place, it didn't bug me though and never looked odd. A 4L would have likely been a bit more snug and stayed in place better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Definitely a standout dress and everyone loved it! The color was perfect, the fit was flattering and the length worked for me
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
January 19, 2015
I bought this dress from your clearance sale, and its truly gorgeus!
I would recommend this dress to anybody, it fits gently around body, it doesnt scratch, and Ive got it in almost new condition. If youre thinking about purchasing or renting this dress, dont think twice, rent it! Its very good quality, its heavy a little bit but just enough so dress stands straight (like on model picture), it has zipper on left side. 2L size is just enough for me, i can only wear 2-3'' shoes but thats it (Im 172cm tall) so careful if youre taller..
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 14, 2015
Fit is flawless for bootylicious babes
I usually wear a 6/8 and I ended up with the 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 6, 2015
Very elegant!
I rented the regular and as you can see, my shoes were slightly visible. This wasn't important to me but should be considered. I'm 5'4" and wore 2 1/2 inch heels so if you're any taller get the long. The fabric had stretch which is essential for my shape which is very much a pear and curvy. Size 12 Dresses are usually snug on the bottom half and roomy on the top and this was no different so I'd call it true to size. It was comfortable and very sparkly even in the dark. If you're looking for something conservative yet fun I'd recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
May 16, 2015
Gorgeous. A stunning gown. I think it ran true to size and didn't have any issues.
You can buy BodyGlide at a sports/running store. Put it under your arms and around edges of dress to keep the sequins from hurting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
November 27, 2015
Great dress! The color is stunning. His is definitely a glamorous showstopper. I was very pleased.
Excellent stretch to ensure a great fit! I'm glad I got two sizes for length because there was a significant difference.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 26, 2016
Nice to know I didn't have to stress about the dress. This was my first choice and it was perfect!
I loved this dress!. I was a beautiful fit and I felt very comfortable in it. It hugs all of your curves perfectly!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2011
Delivery and return, perfect. Accidentally booked for the wrong weekend, but the customer service girl was awesome. Excellent experience will do agin :)
First let me say I wore this to a Holiday Army Ball and the Sargent Major (big deal) went out of his way to come tell me I looked BeautifulI :) I ordered a 10L and a 12S, should have went a size down not up an 8 would've been perfect.(been hitting the gym, didn't realize I'd toned up so much) Needless to say this gown is stunning and with some double sided tape I was ok. Definitely go with a long in your size if your doing heels mine were 3.5-4 inches and it hit the floor just like in the picture. The sequence didn't bother my arms at all, color stunning, and the sparkle wow...Loved It :)
PrincessMarch 21, 2012
the color looks stunning on you! how was the length?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
February 21, 2012
I got too many compliments to count, and the dress just sparkled in the light on the dance floor. I have never felt so incredible!!
I rented this for a ball at my university, and I cannot express how much I loved wearing it! It was SO comfortable and fit like a glove- hugs in all the right places and the sequins are very forgiving! I got compliments all night and felt so beautiful. The picture of the dress on the model does not do it justice. You won't regret renting this dress!! I typically wear a 6 in dresses and an 8 in pants and the 6 long was perfect. I'm 5'8 and wore 3-4 in heels and it was just right. RENT IT!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 11, 2012
Heard over & over "it's the most gorgeous dress at the ball" 2nd from R next to daughter.
Wore 6L - perfect length for 3" heels. Tried on at Saks a few weeks ago, almost purchased!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
September 6, 2012
Smashing!
This was my backup dress, but it flattered my shape more than my first choice. Wore the 2R to a gala (with pointy flats, shh!) so I could dance all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2012
I went to the even with my husband and my 16 year and son.
Love the dress, I got a size 4 it fill great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 9, 2012
AMAZING!
What a gorgeous dress. I wore this for a concerto performance with orchestra. It was beautiful on stage. The fit was true to size and the length was perfect with 4 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 28, 2012
Gorgeous!!!
This dress is even prettier in person than it looks it the picture. I was worried about the fit because my back up size wasn't available, but it fit perfect. I'm a classic pear shape and on the short side, 5'2", and the 6R was just right if you want your shoes to show. I recieved tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks!!! As soon as I walked in the room someone said how beautiful the dress was. Thanks RTR...the experience was perfect. Can't wait for my next occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
January 18, 2013
Overall it was a nice dress.
I rented this dress for my husband's Military Ball.I ordered the larger size which was a size 8 since I was worried about the weight I gained over the holidays.I didn't need the size 8 I wore the size 6.It was very comfortable and classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
April 21, 2013
Not your basic black dress!
I ordered the 4L and the 6L, there really wasn't much difference between the sizes. I went with the 4L because it fit better up top. As the other reviews mentioned, this dress runs short. The length for me was perfect. I wore 2-3" heels and the dress was not dragging on the floor - which I loved. Makes it much easier when you hit the dance floor!!! Tons of compliments. Form fitting but not revealing. The picture of the dress really doesn't do it justice. It is really beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 21, 2013
Looks great on
I was worried about renting a dress since my event was out of town but the back up size eased my mind a bit. This dress is much prettier in person and has a great sparkle to it. I did read reviews ahead of time so I bought 2in heels to go with it and they worked great. I wore this dress for about 5hrs and it did get a bit itchy in the arm area at the end of the night but not enough to make it unbearable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 1, 2013
Worth it for the endless stream of compliments alone
I loved this dress at first sight on Rent the Runway and it disappoint. It was comfortable and so glamorous. Perfect strangers said "You look beautiful" when I walked by and women were ooh-ing and aah-ing at the dress. The fit was smooth and flattering without being cheap or clingy. I wore the 6 long, which was just long enough in my 3 1/2" heels. I'm 5'9". Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 21, 2013
Dress was very flattering and forgiving for a momma-to-be!
Dress ran true to size through bust and waist but had enough room to give to allow a 5-month pregnant belly to squeeze into the dress. I felt very glamorous without having to feel maternity frumpy. Fabric was a little scratchy on the outside but was fine on the inside. Had to be careful I didn't catch my jewelry. Loved the deep blue color (while a few other women also were in similar blue, this dress did stand apart). Got lots of compliments.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×