Rent the Runway

David Meister

Navy Sequin Sultry Gown

$78 to buy
$620 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stunning! Rent this navy sequin David Meister gown. You will knock all the other gowns out of the park at the black tie event! Accessorize with a classic bracelet like the Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, except shorter in length. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knotted detail
HIPS: Fitted - sequin material enhances hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, except shorter in length. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knotted detail
HIPS: Fitted - sequin material enhances hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy sequins( 95% viscose 5% elastane). One shoulder neckline. Twist detail at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

183 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 156
Large 20
Photos 134
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141 lbs
Feb 27, 2012

nice dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my "backup" dress. It fit very well. It is a very flattering dress, but it was too short for me. I decided to go with my first choice. By the way, the process of renting from RTR could not have gone smoother. I will definitely rent again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157 lbs
Mar 24, 2012

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! The color was gorgeous, somewhere between royal blue and navy. The fit was spot on and forgiving (I'm busty and curvy), and the stretch made it comfortable, which was important to me because I had to wear it for 12 hours. I got the regular size and it did run short, but I wanted to wear very low heels with it, so it was perfect. It was my first RTR purchase, and I'll definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 27, 2012

An elegant jaw-dropper

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loathe shopping for dresses because they never fit me quite right. RTR fit guides are very helpful and take hours off of the shopping process. This dress, although a bit wrinkled upon arrival, fit as described. I have very narrow shoulders but a large bust, and it was still a little roomy up top. I had to use a safety pin and tape to keep my strapless bra from showing. But, the dress is so elegant and has a great va-va-voom factor! My husband loved it, and it was very comfortable for a formal black tie event. Would definitely use RTR again!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
May 14, 2012

Overall great dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous. The color was perfect. The seams where the sequin panels were sewn together were well hidden. Overall a good fit. Would have needed a size 0 because the 2 was a bit large.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 15, 2012

My engagement party dress!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a dream and the fit was true to size. I was cynical at first never having rented a dress before, but this proved to be one of the best decisions ever! Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 9, 2012

Ouch!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit me (8L) except underneath my left arm. (I have broad athletic shoulders.) Could only wear dress for 5 minutes and then had to get out of it because it was digging into my armpit. I tried on the 10L and it fit too loose for my taste. It didn't flatter my figure. But it didn't dig into my skin either. Fortunately I selected a back up dress when I placed my initial order (Carlos Miele Catarina Bombshell. My review: A Night in San Diego) Highly recommend ordering a second dress as a backup. So worth it for the small cost. Pretty dress. Material is a deep blue elegant sequin material. I definitely will use RTR again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Nice

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the fit but it was tight under the boobs. It is a little looser at the "pooch" area which helped cover that up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

runs large

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up selecting another dress as this one seemed shapeless and baggy on me.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Knockout Dress!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is incredible! I wore it for a performance recital and I couldn't have been happier! I was worried the dress would be long on me since I am petite, but I wore a 3 1/2 heel and it hit the floor just right so I wasn't worried about tripping or anything! I also tried on a size 2, and it could have worked, but I needed breathing room, so the 4 worked better for the occasion. I was also worried the sequins might give me a bit of a rash, but it wasn't abrasive at all! This is such a fabulous dress. A must rent for any occasion!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

The way the dress moves

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love it
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

Saw the same dress afterwards on Real Housewives of Orange County.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress, lots of sparkle. The fabric was heavier than expected. It was a little large for my frame.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Amazing dress!!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the size 4 as my back up size because some of the reviews said the dress ran big. I ended up wearing the 6. The 4 would have fit perfectly except the top part was a bit tight and the sequins scratched a bit. So I went with the 6,it had just a tad but more room then the 4 but was perfect also. This dress photographs beautifully at night, the sparkle is subtle yet stands out. Great pick for a formal event or wedding.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

I LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am 5'5 and i got it in the long... But even with wearing 5 in heels is was still way to long! I have a tiny waist so it was a little large. But i have a big bust and it worked perfectly! Loved this dress! SO pretty and got tons of compliments of it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

This dress fit like a dream! It has a bit of stretch to hug your curves. Loved it!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, with a little stretch. Sequins are a bit itchy by nature (especially under bare arms) but pretty tolerable when you look like a million bucks! I was complemented over and over again on how beautiful I looked, how awesome my dress was. I will definitely rent again! So worth it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

This was my first time renting, and it was better than I expected!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit very well. I was afraid it might be too big or low in the bust, but it wasn't. And dang, it was a wonderful dress. It looked and felt luxurious! And it didn't need much jewelry because of that. It was comfortable to wear and I felt comfortable in it! Also, RTR was incredible to work with. It was truly a seamless transaction and I loved that it saved me money!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 98
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

comfortable and easy!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would rent this again and again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

A great dress! Lots of compliments

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Comfortable and nice fit. Was a bit long on me - but used some double sided tape and it worked fine. Would rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

fantastically flattering dress & photographs well

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
after a brief almost disaster with the original dress I ordered and an incredibly fantastic customer service experience, I was recommended this dress. i'm 5'5 and wore 5" heels and wore the 4L - the length was perfect. I also highly suggest wearing a strapless padded bra - it never hurts.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

How perfectly this dress fit, from length to bust to waist! So glam, I felt fabulous!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved how this dress fit overall! It didn't hurt that I fit into the 4 when I normally wear a 6, and this was perfect for disguising the fact that I am not in the shape I'd like to be in, particularly in the stomach/upper thigh area. Also, as a shorter woman, I was able to wear heels of a reasonable height (approx. 2") - usually I have to practically wear stilts or have dresses altered because they are so long. Also, I often have to wear larger sizes just to accommodate my bustiness, and this dress fit perfectly in that area (the little bit of stretch it has in it is great). David Meister clearly appreciates curvy women, and I in turn appreciate him!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Love it!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am in love with this dress! Everyone was giving me compliments about how beautiful it was at the event I was at! It was so hard for me to ship the dress back! I wish that I could buy it! I would definitely recommend this dress and would definitely rent it again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 17, 2012

Very classy and it looked great!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress definitly is a little short in length and I ordered a regular in length. I'm 5'3" and wore 3 inch heels and the dress was off the floor about 3 inches.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 23, 2012

Nice, but nicer on the model

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A really pretty dress - sequins are subtle but not quite as subtle as they look in the picture. The model is VERY curvy and fits her like a glove - I work a 2 and found it for fitting but not va-va-voom like I would have liked. Would have worn a 0 if they had it. All in all, comfortable and pretty, but not a show stopper on me. Long worked well on me (5'7" with 3.5 inch heels)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Having a few dresses in case!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'10'' and this was very short on me, without any heel. I ended up wearing the dress I was hoping to. Otherwise, fit was good. This was my backup dress as it was.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

Very pretty, but wasn't my favorite.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit ok for being a size bigger than I needed. I went with my first choice dress since it was my absolute favorite and fit perfect. My only complaint was the flat sequins were less than stunning, especially compared to the Badgley gown I wore, and they felt cheap on.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Looks great on stage

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to emcee a pageant and it looked GREAT for stage but was also appropriate (I feel like a lot of female emcees look like they're trying to look like they're competing). Even though it was long, I felt it ran a bit short. I only worse 3" heels and I was glad to spend most of my time behind the podium. I think the ideal height for the long is a 5'9/5'10 lady (I'm closer to 6'). I knew there was a chance it would be a bit short so I wasn't disappointed :) Fit great in the body!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

This dress was so glamorous!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the look and feel of this dress. Exceptionally comfortable, and minimized my bust, so I felt very classy and gorgeous. I would rent this again and again! Wore to a black tie wedding.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Perfect!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. It was perfect for a black-tie affair. I received so many compliments--even the bartender at the event said it was the best dress she had seen in a long time! The one little problem was that the beading was slightly irritating near the armpits.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

Many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit true to size, like a glove
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

Great look for any time of year! Wore it to a military ball and it was perfect.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Only con to share is that I am 5'8" and got the long and I wish it was a little longer. Not terrible, but I definitely could not have worn more than a kitten heel under it without showing too much shoe for my liking. Luckily my husband is my height, so I was able to rock flats without anyone noticing. Other than that wonderful cut and look. My husband loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Elegant color, fantastic fit!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this dress originally but picked another due to the type of event. The dress was gorgeous though and just the right royal blue to be elegant but not flashy. Fit was phenomenal. My husband was speechless!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Affordable elegance meets old Hollywood glamour

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wow! My fist RTR experience was a hit! I got a 4R as backup to a 6R. The 4R fit like a glove and with 3 inch heels hit the floor! So the length was good which worried me at first since I am short. I felt like a Hollywood starlet! Perfect for Oscar weekend an my Husband's TN National Guard Ball! He said I was smoking hot in the dress and I got many complements. It's a big difference in quality compared with what others were wearing. It was comfortable too. And I am back into my pre-baby size! I loved this gown! Thanks RTR. Will be renting from you from now on!,
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Loved everything about my RTR experience. I am hooked.I will use RTR for everything!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfect, nice stretch to it and made my "B"s look like big "C"s!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Mar 10, 2013

Best Dress Ever!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
From the moment I put this dress on I felt amazing! It is such a beautiful color, very comfortable to wear and very flattering. I am 5'2" and the dress was the perfect length with 4" heels.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

Awesome dress

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Awesome dress. Fit well in all the right places! I was afraid it would be a bit loose in the waist because of my smaller waist, but the stretchy material gave it an amazing, body hugging fit (all over). Great dress for a formal event!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

Stunning but not too Flattering

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this as my back up and thank goodness my first pick was perfect. The dress looked amazing but the knot/twist of fabric over the stomach area made me look wider than I really am. However the dress was in amazing shape - usually sequin dresses like this can have missing patches or "backwards" sequins. You can tell RTR takes great care of their dresses!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Mar 26, 2013

Everyone else seemed to like the dress

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was shinny and fun, the sequins were a little irritating under the arm but nothing major. It was comfortable to wear and the long was good for me.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 10, 2013

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 10L and the 12R and ended up wearing the 10L. I would have been a little more comfortable in the 12, but I had to go with the 10L for the length. I am 5'7" and the long length was barely long enough for me, even wearing very short heels. But I wore this dress to an Air Force Military Ball and it was beautiful!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 1, 2013

Wonderful!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was simply amazing looking. I loved everything about it, but it sadly did not like me. It was a little snug all over, but nothing Spanx couldn't have fixed. Except for my chest area.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 12, 2013

The customer service Emily provided was amazing. This gown was sent to me as a back up because my or

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit nicely. I am athletic (with zero hips), the dress looked nice on me. My only complaint is that the zipper was worn so it made it very difficult to get on and off.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 16, 2013

Beautiful color, but unflattering fit.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The deep midnight blue was breathtaking; it shimmered and changed shades in the light. However the fit was rather loose and overall rather baggy in places that shouldn't be loose (like the backside). This was my backup dress, so I ended up not wearing it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×