David Meister

Navy Sequin Sultry Gown

$78 to buy
$620 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Stunning! Rent this navy sequin David Meister gown. You will knock all the other gowns out of the park at the black tie event! Accessorize with a classic bracelet like the Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, except shorter in length. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knotted detail
HIPS: Fitted - sequin material enhances hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Navy sequins( 95% viscose 5% elastane). One shoulder neckline. Twist detail at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
186 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(158)
Small
(5)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 25, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior prom and LOVED it! It is stunning in person!
The dress fits true to size. The color is also true to the picture. The quality is outstanding; when you wear the dress you can feel how heavy it is because it is well made and worth every penny. The sequins are not scratchy and they don't catch on other clothes. The zipper didn't even get caught! I highly recommend this dress for any event!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2013
I got tons of compliments even from people in similar dresses!
I needed a dress for to attend an inauguration gala and a friend suggested RTR. I ordered a 4R & 2L and wore the 2L. It was still a tad long with 3 inch heals but the 4R would have been too short. The color is also much more beautiful in person. It has purple tones from the sequins which I loved. Overall I loved the dress and the stylist surprise earrings made the outfit. I felt glamourous and had an unforgettable night. Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
I rented this dress for the Marine Corps Ball. Great thing about renting, only I had this dress!
This dress fit amazing. I wore super high heels because I'm short (5'3") and did not want to spend the night stepping on the dress. I chose a size 6 & 8. I miss judged how much weight I had lost, and might have been able to go with a 4 because the chest was made for a bit more than I have now. But this was so easy, and the dress looked great, I'm going to do RTR from now on!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2013
Great look for any time of year! Wore it to a military ball and it was perfect.
Only con to share is that I am 5'8" and got the long and I wish it was a little longer. Not terrible, but I definitely could not have worn more than a kitten heel under it without showing too much shoe for my liking. Luckily my husband is my height, so I was able to rock flats without anyone noticing. Other than that wonderful cut and look. My husband loved it!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 13, 2013
Loved it!
I loved this dress. It looked like blue lisuid in the pictures. I wear between and 10 and a 12 but the 10 fit me very well and was even a little large on top, perhaps a size down may have fit the bust perfectly. But I got compliments all night. Dress photogaphs beautifully. It was also my first experience using RTR and so efficient and everything worked beautifully in terms of getting to me and returns. There was even a complimentary bag of handy dress adjustment goodies like seamtape and body tape. thank you RTR for the great service.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 20, 2013
Elegant color, fantastic fit!
I got this dress originally but picked another due to the type of event. The dress was gorgeous though and just the right royal blue to be elegant but not flashy. Fit was phenomenal. My husband was speechless!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 24, 2013
Affordable elegance meets old Hollywood glamour
Wow! My fist RTR experience was a hit! I got a 4R as backup to a 6R. The 4R fit like a glove and with 3 inch heels hit the floor! So the length was good which worried me at first since I am short. I felt like a Hollywood starlet! Perfect for Oscar weekend an my Husband's TN National Guard Ball! He said I was smoking hot in the dress and I got many complements. It's a big difference in quality compared with what others were wearing. It was comfortable too. And I am back into my pre-baby size! I loved this gown! Thanks RTR. Will be renting from you from now on!,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 4, 2013
Loved everything about my RTR experience. I am hooked.I will use RTR for everything!
Fit perfect, nice stretch to it and made my "B"s look like big "C"s!!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 10, 2013
Best Dress Ever!
From the moment I put this dress on I felt amazing! It is such a beautiful color, very comfortable to wear and very flattering. I am 5'2" and the dress was the perfect length with 4" heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2013
Poise, grace, and a perfect fit.
My second time renting from RTR and once again I was beyond impressed. Based on the reviews I went with the long length. At 5'4 I think either the long OR the regular length would have been fine, but I threw on some extra high heels so that I wouldn't trip. Based on photos I thought the dress would be heavy and scratchy, but it was neither. The dress gave me the confidence and poise I needed to get through a very emotional and powerful evening.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2013
Stunning but not too Flattering
I ordered this as my back up and thank goodness my first pick was perfect. The dress looked amazing but the knot/twist of fabric over the stomach area made me look wider than I really am. However the dress was in amazing shape - usually sequin dresses like this can have missing patches or "backwards" sequins. You can tell RTR takes great care of their dresses!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
August 30, 2011
This dress is absolutely beautiful. It was my backup dress, and I didn't end up wearing it, because my original was also beautiful, but I wanted to! It fit like a glove and was very figure flattering!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2011
Great dress, fit like a glove, although a little too wrinkled from thigh level to bottom. I ordered the length that was suggested for my height (regular) but should have order the long, the bottom landed at my ankles. This was a black tie event, so I needed it to be floor length. I had a back up dress and wore that instead. I ordered the Elizabeth Cole earrings, and the Chamak By Priya Kakkar 2 bangle set...GORGEOUS and elegant. The Earrings weren't heavy or too big. Both added the right amount of sparkle and style to my one shoulder neckline dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2011
I tried this exact dress on in Bloomingdales, the 4R and it was much longer than the dress I rented. The 4R was about 5 inches shorter than the store dress and showed my shoes (it was like it was hemmed for someone shorter). But other than that, the dress fit perfect and I got lots of compliments! If you are 5'5'' or taller, and plan on wearing any heel length, get the long length in this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
October 8, 2011
This dress looked amazing!! I got lots of rave reviews! I got size 2 and 4. I ended up wearing the size 2. I weigh 127 pounds. The arm hole was a little tight and itchy from the sequins but manageable. I got the long size and it fit perfect with 2 inch heels. Very nice dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2011
At my height, the 8L was just above the floor in two inch heels. That sad the dress is beautiful. It's definitely a stand out. If you on the fence about this dress, go for it! It's a great choice.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 17, 2011
Gorgeous dress. I didn't end up wearing it to the event as the back up that I ordered fit better, but I will try ordering this again. I was sent the 10L, which was just a bit too long on my 5'8" frame, even with 4" heels. I'll order the 10R next time.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 53
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 25, 2011
Loved the dress!! I'm 5'9" weigh 150 and the 8 fit perfectly. The length was perfect too while wearing 3" heels. When the dress arrived it was very wrinkled - had to steam it from the inside out. Sequins kind of hurt under the arm but it was totally worth it when I received at least 30 compliments. Really! It's a winner!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2011
This dress is just gorgeous. I ordered the 4 & 6. Ended up wearing the 4, as the 6 was a little loose around the bust, but I do not have a large chest. Received many compliments. the fabric is soft and glossy. i wore 3" heels and the long length fitted perfectly. Front is very flattering to the stomach. Just lovely.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 2, 2011
I recently wore this gown at a formal wedding party and I would not exaggerate in saying that I was among the "best dressed". It is an absolutely, absolutely stunning item and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to feel and look special at a formal event.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Body type: Apple
November 7, 2011
Loved the color and fit. The off the shoulder style is gorgeous and the fact that it hides the tummy is an added bonus
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
November 19, 2011
I was walking across the ballroom and a woman literally stopped her friends, pointed and said WOW look at her. Awesome feeling.
I wore this to the Marine Corps Ball and let me say, the picture does NOT do it justice. I am 5'5" about 128 pounds with a bigger chest and little waist and the 2L fit PERFECTLY with about 4 inch heels (So I was 5'9" and the dress was skimming the floor, not dragging at all) The color is incredible in person, and if you get the right size it fits like a GLOVE. So amazing. All night as I was walking past people I was hearing "WOW. Look at HER dress". Amazing!!
giaJuly 25, 2012
I am looking at this dress for teh upcoming USMC ball- I usually wear black or red- how did it look with the uniform? Was it the right color blue? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
October 24, 2011
Felt beautiful in the dress!
This dress is very elegant!I'm just under 5'5" and about 135lbs. The 8R fit great. Very comfortable and lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2011
This dress is absolutely stunning. I bought it for a black tie affair and received many compliments. The dress is extremely comfortable.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 8, 2011
Show Stopper
I ordered this dress for a very formal company party. It was perfect! Fits true to size, easy to wear, comfortable and beautiful. I received a ton of compliments from everyone at the party plus hotel staff and vendors. Every guy in the room noticed me and made the effort to compliment me. If you want a dress to make you stand out, this is it!
NicholeDecember 12, 2011
Hello, I'm thinking of this dress for a pageant and I'm 5'3 110 lbs. And usually wear a size 0. Was the 2 form fitting on you? How was the length with heels? Would you mind posting a picture since we are very similar in body type? I would really really appreciate it!! Thank you :)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103lbs
December 19, 2011
Holiday Party success
I rented this for my office holiday party. I wanted to look great but didn't want to be too exposed so this dress was ideal. There were lots of lovely complements but no co-workers talking to my cleavage. The dress runs large. I am usually a size 4 but the size 2 was a much better fit. The 2R is a bit longer than I thought. I was wearing 3.5 inch heels and the hew touched the floor so I made sure that I had a hand on it when I was walking. All in all I think this was a great dress and I felt wonderful in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 20, 2011
Perfect
I wore this to a Wedding in NYC- i got compliments from a so many people, even the bride and groom! I was sad to have to send it back but the whole experience was seamless. Paired this with my 'mystery' bling which were the KJL Crystal drop earrings, which i want to own too... over all, perfect! Fit - true to size, wore with 2" heels, length was just above the ground, exposing my toes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
December 20, 2011
Words simply can't describe this elegant, beautiful, and sexy dress! The dress fit perfectly and I felt like a million bucks the entire night! The dress takes your breath away and I can't wait to wear something like this again! The entire experience was as simple as could be. Thank you RTR!
Words simply can't describe this elegant, beautiful, and sexy dress! The dress fit perfectly and I felt like a million bucks the entire night! The dress takes your breath away and I can't wait to wear something like this again! The entire experience was as simple as could be. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2011
Nice for a Beauty Pageant
Nice dress, but felt too much like something for a beauty pageant. The "R" length was great, but I'm 5'2" and was wearing 3" heels, so anyone taller may have a problem with length! Went with my back-up dress instead.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 22, 2011
I felt like a princess, & looked like one too!
I rented this dress for a beauty pageant, and although I didn't place, many people went out of their way to tell me that I looked amazing. I was worried about the hem because I had on 4-inch heels, but it ended up working perfectly because I'm only 5'3. I felt like a princess, & it worked great for my curvy body type!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 31, 2011
Loved how easy the rental process is and how detailed the descriptions of the garments are! Was very easy to trust the garment I was renting was going to fit exactly as it said.
This dress was my first rental from your company and it was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! It fit true to its detail, description, and size! It hugged every curve and showed off my figure perfectly. I felt radiant and absolutely flawless! Thank you so much for a great experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 1, 2012
I felt like a million bucks in this dress. Now a fan of David Meister... and of course, RTR!
This dress is amazing! The moment I put it on, I KNEW - this was it. I felt like royalty - fit like a glove - as if it had been tailored to me. Head's will turn when you walk in the room in this gown. The color is a beautiful navy blue and the sequins capture the light and shimmer as you move. My husband was impressed. Absolutely beautiful. Lots of compliments all night. And the rental process from start to finish was sooo easy! I'm a forever fan ~ Thank you RTR!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2012
Comfortable and Lovely
I usually wear a size 6, but ordered the 6 and 8. I am 5'6 135 lb and I'd say an hourglass shape. The 6 was a perfect fit--with plenty of room so I could enjoy dinner and cocktails too! The dress was unique and flattering and definitely comfortable. I ordered the R length instead of L because I knew I would be dancing. The dress came to my ankles and that worked out perfectly--I didn't trip once! ;-) Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
January 4, 2012
Among all of the compliments I received the best one was when my boyfriend told me "That really is a gorgeous dress"
I wore this to a black tie Navy Ball and got so many compliments. It was simple yet so elegant and flattering for any size. I am thin so the waist was not as fitted as I expected it to be but it still fit very nicely throughout.
SFebruary 7, 2012
If you don't mind me asking, what is your waist size? Did it fit tight? I have similar weight and height but I'm straight waisted.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
January 7, 2012
We reserved a table upfront at my husbands New Year's Eve party where he is the GM at a casino here in Arizona. It was also his Birthday and we usually stay home for New Year's but decide to go because they were featuring the "Rat Pack" impersonators.Not ong into the show this elderly gentleman seated to my left suddenly spilled his offee down my thgh. Apparently he liked my dress so much he forgot what he was doing. No harm done though, I excused myself and went to rinse it out in the rest room after I blotted it dry you couldn't even tell where it was. His wife was much more embarrassed than he was for sure!
This dress has to be without a doubt the most luxurious dress I've had the pleasure of wearing. I felt like a princess in it! The picture does not due it justice and it is a heavy dress and very well made. The only thing I would have to agree with that others have posted is that the way the wrap comes around the front it made me look like I had a little pooch and I've always prided myself with have a rock hard belly and athletic look. I'm 5ft.3" and ordered the 4L and think I should have ordered the 4R because I kept stepping on the front even with 4 inch heels on. Overall this dress gets 5 stars in my book. You can't go wrong!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2012
great dress!
This dress was a perfect fit and very comfortable for a long evening. I had to wear 4" heels so the dress wouldn't hit the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 19, 2012
Both my friend and I did the surprise jewelry extra and loved it.
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and received a lot of compliments. It runs true to size but can accommodate a larger bust which is usually why I wear a size 4. Here I wore the 2 and it fit like a glove. The only caution I have is that depending on your torso length the knot may hit you at a funny spot. I felt like that portion could have been a little higher on me but I'm also overly critical about how things look on my body. The sequins are small so they look expensive. Good rental. My friend in the photo is wearing a Badgley Mischka from RTR that she was also very happy with.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 29, 2012
Beautiful dress
This is a stunning dress. It was very comfortable and not at all heavy. Fantastic dress for someone who's athletic or straight & narrow. The gathering at the side defines the waist and the single shoulder showcases great collarbones. Loved it.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
February 7, 2012
Stunning Dress
I wore size 4L in this dress. I'm 5'5 and 130 lbs. I have a fuller bust (D cup) and I am more of a curvy bodytype. The dress fits perfectly on my body and I received so many compliments at the company holiday party, it is very elegant and attention grabber. Spanx is a recommended. The underarm is a little tight, but it is tolerable throughout the whole night. Side note: If you are over 5'2, simply get size L instead of R. L is actually the regular size of the dress. I think RTR tailored them short for customers who are shorter in heights and they called it Regular for some reason.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 7, 2012
When everyone turned and stared, I knew it was me in that dress that floored them :)
I looked fabulous in this gown. My husband and I begin to turn heads as soon as we walked into the venue. I felt glamorous. As far as the gown's fit goes, if I had gotten a size 4L instead of the 6L it would have hugged my body flawlessly. But it still looked gorgeous on. I am very pleased overall with my choice and I thank the creators of RTR for giving me the opportunity to rent this beautiful gown and for creating this site. Why rent a gown you would only where once?!?
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×