Navy Sequin Sultry Gown

$78 to buy
$620 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stunning! Rent this navy sequin David Meister gown. You will knock all the other gowns out of the park at the black tie event! Accessorize with a classic bracelet like the Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, except shorter in length. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knotted detail
HIPS: Fitted - sequin material enhances hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, except shorter in length. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knotted detail
HIPS: Fitted - sequin material enhances hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy sequins( 95% viscose 5% elastane). One shoulder neckline. Twist detail at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
185 reviews
Fit
Large20
True to Size157
Small5
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2013
I like being able to wear something a little expensive and not pay the price.
Fit was great, it moved great for dancing. I received lots of compliments and felt wonderful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
October 22, 2013
I was unable to wear this dress because it ran too large, by far.
This was probably my most disappointing RTR experience. I called a stylist to talk about the fit of the dress and make sure that there was a good chance it would fit me. I was assured that it ran small and that it'd be great. Well, as it turned out, the top of the dress was so baggy that the neckline hit below the girls. Unbelievable. The next morning, a scramble to find a mailbox to drop off this dress (the only way to not get charged for a rental is to return it right away--and they mean RIGHT away). If you are very petite, don't chance it with the long dresses here. I still gave the dress three stars because it was pretty, and I don't want to blame the dress for the bad advice I got over the phone. I gave my measurements and everything, and it was like the MO was just to reassure me that it would work--instead of actually thinking about it critically.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 21, 2013
Dress was very flattering and forgiving for a momma-to-be!
Dress ran true to size through bust and waist but had enough room to give to allow a 5-month pregnant belly to squeeze into the dress. I felt very glamorous without having to feel maternity frumpy. Fabric was a little scratchy on the outside but was fine on the inside. Had to be careful I didn't catch my jewelry. Loved the deep blue color (while a few other women also were in similar blue, this dress did stand apart). Got lots of compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
October 19, 2013
Nice at night
A little loose
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2013
Perfect for FLAT chest!!
This was actually the alternate dress that my stylist sent because my back-up dress was too damaged to send in time for my event. So, great service!! This dress accentuated all my curves and was actually comfortable to wear. It is a beautiful, shimmering color. I am 5'7 1/2" and wore 3" heels, so I probably could've gone with a 2R and wore less heel. Overall, great dress!! Would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 25, 2013
Very Nice dress for someone with shorter torso!
I am 5'9" and 155 lb athletic built with 34D bust. I liked the quality of the dress. It was a backup dress and I decided to wear my original dress because it made me look heavier in the waist! Overall very nice dress!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2013
This was my first dress from RTR and surprised at how new it looked and felt!
I wish they had a size 0R because that would have been perfect! The size I got was still doable for me (2R), but still a bit too loose.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2013
"That dress really stands out in a crowd!"
Unusually a size 4 and the 2 long fit perfectly. Photos do not do it justice, it is stunning in person and turns heads. Was the perfect choice for an Air Force ball. I received compliment after compliment from men and women, but the best was a gentleman who went out of his way because he just had to tell me that I really stood out in a crowd, in a good way. My husband standing right next to me agreed. I have never seen a man so genuinely overwhelmed by a dress! The sequins give it a very expensive look, but don't add weight. I was surprised how light and comfortable it was. It managed to be sexy yet classy - a winning combination!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2013
A diamond in the rough!
At first, I did not like the dress. I was so upset. However, I had no choice but to wear it. The night of the event, I FELL IN LOVE! The dress was the PERFECT length, very comfortable, and matched the event and my husband's uniform perfectly. I LOVED THIS DRESS!!!! The only draw back is the shoulder sequins dug into my skin all night and left a fairly large red mark around my entire arm the next day!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
August 12, 2013
Sure to get noticed in a good way!
This dress fit perfectly true to size. The sequin gave it a great sparkle without being over the top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 5, 2013
This dress made me the talk of my husband's 30th year high school reunion with many compliments!
I was scared that the top of the dress was not going to fit because I have a small bust and large hips. If I wore my normal bra, then it would not have fit. Using my add 2 cups size bra worked like magic. I could even get away with 3 inch heels if I wanted it to brush the ground, but I opted for 4 inch heels only to give me height.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 1, 2013
Worth it for the endless stream of compliments alone
I loved this dress at first sight on Rent the Runway and it disappoint. It was comfortable and so glamorous. Perfect strangers said "You look beautiful" when I walked by and women were ooh-ing and aah-ing at the dress. The fit was smooth and flattering without being cheap or clingy. I wore the 6 long, which was just long enough in my 3 1/2" heels. I'm 5'9". Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
July 23, 2013
All the compliments!
I got the 10R and the 12R-- ended up in the 12R, my normal size. I wish I had gotten the long though!!! It was long enough, but the long would have looked better. IF YOU'RE TALL, GET THE LONG!! Even though I was a little self conscious about the length, I received TONS of compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 22, 2013
Loved it! Great choice.
I wore the dress for my first Army Ball. I knew I needed a gown that was conservative, but not boring. This dress fit the bill as sexy and classy. You can easily wear a strapless bra and not worry about tugging it up all night. The dress is roomie in the mid-section so you can eat and breathe easy. I thought it would have been more fitted, but it was better for me that it wasn't. The dress did not chafe under my arms, and I felt quite lovely. From a side silhouette it does not make you look thin, but the front give a great shape and that's what you see in photographs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Definitely a standout dress and everyone loved it! The color was perfect, the fit was flattering and the length worked for me
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 4, 2013
Nice dress - not for me though!
I would have liked this dress to be tighter, as a usual size 0 I felt that it overtook my body and didn't really suit my body shape. Otherwise, the sequin detail is pretty and the material is substantial - you feel like you are wearing something sturdy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2013
A colorful alternative to the black dress.
This dress is a much brighter blue than the picture shows. It was a little to large on the top, chest area, for me.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 21, 2013
Looks great on
I was worried about renting a dress since my event was out of town but the back up size eased my mind a bit. This dress is much prettier in person and has a great sparkle to it. I did read reviews ahead of time so I bought 2in heels to go with it and they worked great. I wore this dress for about 5hrs and it did get a bit itchy in the arm area at the end of the night but not enough to make it unbearable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 16, 2013
Beautiful color, but unflattering fit.
The deep midnight blue was breathtaking; it shimmered and changed shades in the light. However the fit was rather loose and overall rather baggy in places that shouldn't be loose (like the backside). This was my backup dress, so I ended up not wearing it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 12, 2013
The customer service Emily provided was amazing. This gown was sent to me as a back up because my or
The dress fit nicely. I am athletic (with zero hips), the dress looked nice on me. My only complaint is that the zipper was worn so it made it very difficult to get on and off.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
May 9, 2013
I wore this dress to my junior/senior prom and I received compliment after compliment all night!
Okay so I'm a I-need-the-smallest-size-you've-got kinda girl. I ordered the 2R and the 2L since 2 was the smallest size available. Neither of them fit right. I should have known that though. The problem was the length of the shoulder strap. They were both too long. I made it work though- my sister and I pinned it up and it fit perfectly and no one knew the difference! Since the pinning made it a little shorter, The 2L was the perfect length with my 5 inch heels. The dress was absolutely stunning! The color was so rich and the sequins were perfect! It wasn't too flashy but very elegant. I don't think I've ever received so many compliments on a dress before! The return process was so easy as well! I will definitely be renting from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 1, 2013
Wonderful!
This dress was simply amazing looking. I loved everything about it, but it sadly did not like me. It was a little snug all over, but nothing Spanx couldn't have fixed. Except for my chest area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
April 21, 2013
Not your basic black dress!
I ordered the 4L and the 6L, there really wasn't much difference between the sizes. I went with the 4L because it fit better up top. As the other reviews mentioned, this dress runs short. The length for me was perfect. I wore 2-3" heels and the dress was not dragging on the floor - which I loved. Makes it much easier when you hit the dance floor!!! Tons of compliments. Form fitting but not revealing. The picture of the dress really doesn't do it justice. It is really beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Amazing dress for a Navy ball!!
The pictures don't do this dress justice! The sequins are gorgeous and it has such a flattering fit and classy style. I went with the 4L and it was the perfect length. I really didn't want to return it!!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I ordered the 10L and the 12R and ended up wearing the 10L. I would have been a little more comfortable in the 12, but I had to go with the 10L for the length. I am 5'7" and the long length was barely long enough for me, even wearing very short heels. But I wore this dress to an Air Force Military Ball and it was beautiful!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
April 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Loved the fit and ease of RTR transaction.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Perfect fit!
Long dresses don't usually fit me well, but this one was great. Comfortable too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 26, 2013
Everyone else seemed to like the dress
It was shinny and fun, the sequins were a little irritating under the arm but nothing major. It was comfortable to wear and the long was good for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2013
Stunning but not too Flattering
I ordered this as my back up and thank goodness my first pick was perfect. The dress looked amazing but the knot/twist of fabric over the stomach area made me look wider than I really am. However the dress was in amazing shape - usually sequin dresses like this can have missing patches or "backwards" sequins. You can tell RTR takes great care of their dresses!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2013
Poise, grace, and a perfect fit.
My second time renting from RTR and once again I was beyond impressed. Based on the reviews I went with the long length. At 5'4 I think either the long OR the regular length would have been fine, but I threw on some extra high heels so that I wouldn't trip. Based on photos I thought the dress would be heavy and scratchy, but it was neither. The dress gave me the confidence and poise I needed to get through a very emotional and powerful evening.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 12, 2013
Awesome dress
Awesome dress. Fit well in all the right places! I was afraid it would be a bit loose in the waist because of my smaller waist, but the stretchy material gave it an amazing, body hugging fit (all over). Great dress for a formal event!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 10, 2013
Best Dress Ever!
From the moment I put this dress on I felt amazing! It is such a beautiful color, very comfortable to wear and very flattering. I am 5'2" and the dress was the perfect length with 4" heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 4, 2013
Loved everything about my RTR experience. I am hooked.I will use RTR for everything!
Fit perfect, nice stretch to it and made my "B"s look like big "C"s!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 24, 2013
Affordable elegance meets old Hollywood glamour
Wow! My fist RTR experience was a hit! I got a 4R as backup to a 6R. The 4R fit like a glove and with 3 inch heels hit the floor! So the length was good which worried me at first since I am short. I felt like a Hollywood starlet! Perfect for Oscar weekend an my Husband's TN National Guard Ball! He said I was smoking hot in the dress and I got many complements. It's a big difference in quality compared with what others were wearing. It was comfortable too. And I am back into my pre-baby size! I loved this gown! Thanks RTR. Will be renting from you from now on!,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 20, 2013
Elegant color, fantastic fit!
I got this dress originally but picked another due to the type of event. The dress was gorgeous though and just the right royal blue to be elegant but not flashy. Fit was phenomenal. My husband was speechless!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 13, 2013
Loved it!
I loved this dress. It looked like blue lisuid in the pictures. I wear between and 10 and a 12 but the 10 fit me very well and was even a little large on top, perhaps a size down may have fit the bust perfectly. But I got compliments all night. Dress photogaphs beautifully. It was also my first experience using RTR and so efficient and everything worked beautifully in terms of getting to me and returns. There was even a complimentary bag of handy dress adjustment goodies like seamtape and body tape. thank you RTR for the great service.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2013
Great look for any time of year! Wore it to a military ball and it was perfect.
Only con to share is that I am 5'8" and got the long and I wish it was a little longer. Not terrible, but I definitely could not have worn more than a kitten heel under it without showing too much shoe for my liking. Luckily my husband is my height, so I was able to rock flats without anyone noticing. Other than that wonderful cut and look. My husband loved it!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
I rented this dress for the Marine Corps Ball. Great thing about renting, only I had this dress!
This dress fit amazing. I wore super high heels because I'm short (5'3") and did not want to spend the night stepping on the dress. I chose a size 6 & 8. I miss judged how much weight I had lost, and might have been able to go with a 4 because the chest was made for a bit more than I have now. But this was so easy, and the dress looked great, I'm going to do RTR from now on!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2013
I got tons of compliments even from people in similar dresses!
I needed a dress for to attend an inauguration gala and a friend suggested RTR. I ordered a 4R & 2L and wore the 2L. It was still a tad long with 3 inch heals but the 4R would have been too short. The color is also much more beautiful in person. It has purple tones from the sequins which I loved. Overall I loved the dress and the stylist surprise earrings made the outfit. I felt glamourous and had an unforgettable night. Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 25, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior prom and LOVED it! It is stunning in person!
The dress fits true to size. The color is also true to the picture. The quality is outstanding; when you wear the dress you can feel how heavy it is because it is well made and worth every penny. The sequins are not scratchy and they don't catch on other clothes. The zipper didn't even get caught! I highly recommend this dress for any event!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×