David Meister

Lady in Red Dress

$30 rental
$460 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

114 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 87
Large 14
Photos 69
Parvin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Jun 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fits beautifully. I ended up not using any tape, but it might have helped to keep the dress in place. Generally, I did not have any problems with the dress staying in place. It has some boning that nicely holds up top part of the dress. The red is a great bright red color. It really complemented my olive skin tone. I thought the diagonal bow might look a bit awkward, but it sits just perfectly on the dress. I received tons of compliments and would definitely wear it again.
Amanda
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a friend's evening wedding and it was perfect. I felt sexy but still conservative. I'm between a 4 and 6 but because the material is fairly light weight and stretchy, I was able to size down. Perfect for large busts and somehow the bow is actually slimming. My only problem was that the black hanger strap kept popping up, nothing some fashion tape couldn't fix though. I highly recommend this one!
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I really enjoyed this dress and received lots of compliments! It fit snug at the beginning of the night, which is good for a strapless, but stretched a little as the night went on. Also, the straps to hang the dress are black and kept popping up -- I'd recommend fashion tape for the next person who wears it.
Redhead
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Perfect dress for an evening wedding. Color was alittle deeper red than show in the picture. Very sophisticated & elegant. Only issue were the hanger straps showing. However, fit was perfect. Would order again.
Carmel Valley Mom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got so-o-o many compliments on this dress! I ordered a size 6 and it was slightly roomy on top (32D) but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix. This also kept everything in place so I wasn't hiking up the sides all night! Very class and beautiful color. Has some stretch so fit nicely over the hips. Loved this dress!!
Beach girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a fabulous dress - received lots of compliments!
Joan
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Fantastic dress! It's stretchy so it fits beautifully and you don't have to hold in your tummy all night. I got lots of compliments and it's very comfortable. The only problem was back hanger strap kept popping out. I'd suggest taping it down before you put the dress on.
Kaitlin
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE this dress! Beautifully made and fits wonderfully. Super comfortable.
purrrrttyinpink
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this as my back up dress, and did not end up wearing it for my event. The material is rather thin and stretchy, which is great in that it is comfortable, but showed any imperfection I have. Definitely needed Spanx underneath! Pretty dress, I think I am just too hip-y for the material.
Katie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 13, 2011

Amazing Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for my brothers wedding, in which I was an usher. I got so many compliments on it! The actual color is not quite as bright as it looks on the model but its still a very bold red. The form in side the dress that gives it the shape and holds the bow sideways is a bit uncomfortable. It was sort of like under-wire poking me in the side all night but other than that I loved the dress! I would definitely rent this dress again!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

Runs Large

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was a gorgeous dress; however, it ran very large! I typically wear a size 2-4. I have a tiny waist but large hips. The dress fit well every where else except around my waist, wayy to much extra fabric. If you have a tiny waist i would def recommend sizing down.
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 19, 2011

So sad didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a six and an eight in this dress and neither fit. The six fit up top, but a bit snug in the hips, the eight was too big up top but fine in the hips. Odd and I usually never have a "too big on top" situation. The dress was super cute though. I wore my other choice which was FAB!
E.B.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2012

Nice dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a little stretchy with a silky lining. It fit perfectly in the hips but was a little big in the waist and way too big in the bust for me so I was worried about it falling down. Still wearable but I wouldn't recommend unless your bust and hip measurements are close together.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 5, 2012

great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
gorgeous dress on, nice fabric. classy
Natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 22, 2012

perfect for engagement party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
best dress ever. i am a true size 6 and it fit like a glove for my engagement party. the company was great as far as shipping it on time and it was such an easy return. i am about to rent another dress for the 2nd time using the company and am 100% confident in the company and the dress that i will rent. great fit for a girl with an A size cup, true size 6 and a little more of a butt and thighs type of girl figure. 5 stars!
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 14, 2012

Great Charity Event Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have a wide rib cage but smaller bust and this dress fit perfectly! I received many compliments and the rich red went well with my dark hair.
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

pretty great

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm normally a size 4 or 6. The size 4 was too large. Size down in this dress. Other than that, loads of compliments and wore for a wedding!
elaine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

love the dress !!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i wear this dress for my bestfriends wedding and i loved the way it fit ...its a beautiful red not to bright love love the color ...i also have to say that everyone had to do with this dress all my friends were asking were did i get it ....i recommand this dress to every girl that wants all eyes on her
O
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Love this dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits my curves perfectly, would definitely recommend. I felt very beautiful and elegant.
ser
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

My mother-in-law ran around the wedding telling everyone that I had rented the dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A standout in the sea of black cocktail dresses. I had at least 5 people comment on it.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

This dress fit very well.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to work at a formal gala. It was comfortable, and the red color was beautiful.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 12, 2012

A dress that makes a statement.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is very fitted throughout hips.
Liv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2012

Stunning You WILL make an entrance in this one Be prepared

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's body conscious - spanx and a good strapless!
Corey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress and it runs true to size, but unfortunately my waist is not
HR
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

-

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fabric was not as forgiving as I had hoped. I typically wear a size 4 and needed a size 8 or so to feel comfortable.
Trish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

"You look like a movie star"

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really this dress is just perfect. I was worried because I hadn't been keeping up my gym routine right before this event, but this dress was perfect! The giant bow does wonders for a few lumps and bumps and the color is so vibrant. The top was great, not too tight to give you the weird skin folds in your armpits some strapless dresses do. I took fellow RTR reviewers advice and taped the hanger straps inside the dress with double sided tape and had no problems.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Dec 4, 2012

I Love this dress. Wore it for a wedding and got so many compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well.
Lexy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

I wore this dress for my companys end of the year party, a perfect color and style!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress is fantatsic, the material has some give and was comfortable, and the bow lays really well. There is some boning in the top part, but no build in cups- a strapless bra worked well with this dress. I wore a size 4 and the top was close to perfect but it was more snug than I would have preferred at the hips and butt. I think becaue of this, the dress pulled down a little throughout the night. The black hanger straps didnt want to stay tucked in, but nothing a small safety pin couldnt take care of!
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 2, 2013

I wore this dress to a cocktail affair at my college, I received loads of complements!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was fine, I ordered a 4 and a 6 but I honestly can't remember which one I went with. I think it was the 4 (my usual size), the fabric is stretchy so it was easy to get on and was very comfortable. I ended up using the sticky strips provided to keep my dress up since it would slide down against my bra. But it was perfect, I loved wearing it!
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

Wedding Reception Stand-Out!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my back-up rental for a wedding. I loved both rentals, but my boyfriend liked the other dress better, so I wore my main rental to the wedding. I changed into this for the evening reception - and we BOTH loved it! It is more flattering on than it looks on the hanger. (Wish I had pictures, but didn't take any - sorry!) The fit was perfect, the fabric feels great, and the bow detail is attention getting without being overwhelming. It might have been too much for the church ceremony, but it was perfect for the evening. I hated to return it!
A.H.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 6, 2013

Nice dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was comfortable, fit well, and the color was nice. The one thing I did notice is that the top flap of the bow had been repaired. It appeared to have torn away from the dress in the past and was sewn back on. The tip of the upper bow was also rounded while the lower tip was pointed. It seems kind of strange, and isn't that visible in the picture, but I just kept fussing wit it.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress! The red is killer and I received lots of compliments throughout the night!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was really beautiful. The color is much deeper than the picture. I actually did not end up wearing it because the other dress I ordered was too perfect. This dress hit me at my knee and I am quite tall, so keep that in mind if you want a shorter dress.
megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
May 5, 2013

Beautiful

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
My first time using RTR and I can't believe how easy this was. This is a gorgeous dress, as it's simple but has a small bit of flair. Unfortunately, the hanger straps were dancing around every time I moved, and it made for a very uncomfortable experience. I was constantly wondering if the straps were showing, and 9 times out of 10, they were. Next time I will use the fashion tape included in the rental, but I didn't even realize there was any until I had already returned the dress! I also only ordered the size 2 because I knew a 4 would be too big, and the dress does not come in a 0. The dress is fairly long, as it comes right above the knee. However, this could also have been the case for me simply because the dress was too large. I paired this with the Kate Spade Heavenly Cluster neckace, and it was a perfect match.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×