Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Lady in Red Dress

$30 rental
$460 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size97
Small10
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
March 7, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress, I always usually wear black , this dress was a show stopper
This dress fit true to size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
March 1, 2013
Lady in Red!!!!
Overall, this was a really great dress. I wish it came in a size "0" and that would have probably made it a perfect dress! I have a rather large bust in comparison to my smaller frame so I had to literally tape myself in the dress to keep it in place and keep it from sliding down. I received tons of compliments and felt very pretty in it all night long! This dress has the perfect amount of sass and class!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 17, 2013
This was my first time renting on RTR and I felt amazing in it.
The fit was perfect. It fit like a glove. The material was stretchy so it curved to my body. The color wasn't a bright red it was a nice tone. There were no cons to this dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 2, 2013
I wore this dress to a cocktail affair at my college, I received loads of complements!
The fit was fine, I ordered a 4 and a 6 but I honestly can't remember which one I went with. I think it was the 4 (my usual size), the fabric is stretchy so it was easy to get on and was very comfortable. I ended up using the sticky strips provided to keep my dress up since it would slide down against my bra. But it was perfect, I loved wearing it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
A stand out dress
A classic head turner, this dress was impossible not to notice. At the same time, it was very comfortable and not over the top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Perfectly Red for a Christmas party!
I was very excited to wear this dress to my friend's 30th birthday/ Christmas party. I recieved so many compliments! People particularly loved the bow on this dress. I origionally rented the Badgley Mischka Gem Ruched Dress in a 6 and an 8. The 6 became unavailable a few days before my rental. RTR emailed and called to let me know and to give me the option of renting another dress no charge. I chose this one. It actually worked out really well because I had this party as well as my work party in the same night. So I changed in between events. I loved both dresses so much and still could not decide which one I favored. This dress was great because there is wiring in the bust and I did not have to wear a strapless bra. Very comfortable, classy, and festive!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
December 15, 2012
Festive holiday dress in an amazing color!
This dress was perfect for a holiday party. I received a ton of compliments -- several people said it looked "stunning"! The fabric has a little stretch to it, so it was very comfortable to wear. The only reason this dress doesn't get 5 stars is the straps inside were tough to keep in place; I used fashion tape but had to readjust during the evening. The color is so bright -- great for the holidays!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
December 11, 2012
I was told I looked like a present! The dress was gorgeous and perfect for a holiday party.
I'm a true pear- size 6 on top and size 8 on the bottom. The size 6 dress was pretty tight across my hips and butt but fit me in the bust. The 8 was slightly better fitting in the bottom of the dress but I was swimming in the top. I put on my tightest pair of Spanx and made it work with the 6. The material is pretty thick with some stretch and the boning in the top gives the dress some form fitting elements in the top. Overall it was a gorgeous dress and I loved wearing it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2012
I wore this dress for my companys end of the year party, a perfect color and style!
The color of this dress is fantatsic, the material has some give and was comfortable, and the bow lays really well. There is some boning in the top part, but no build in cups- a strapless bra worked well with this dress. I wore a size 4 and the top was close to perfect but it was more snug than I would have preferred at the hips and butt. I think becaue of this, the dress pulled down a little throughout the night. The black hanger straps didnt want to stay tucked in, but nothing a small safety pin couldnt take care of!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
December 4, 2012
I Love this dress. Wore it for a wedding and got so many compliments.
Fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 28, 2012
"You look like a movie star"
Really this dress is just perfect. I was worried because I hadn't been keeping up my gym routine right before this event, but this dress was perfect! The giant bow does wonders for a few lumps and bumps and the color is so vibrant. The top was great, not too tight to give you the weird skin folds in your armpits some strapless dresses do. I took fellow RTR reviewers advice and taped the hanger straps inside the dress with double sided tape and had no problems.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
-
The fabric was not as forgiving as I had hoped. I typically wear a size 4 and needed a size 8 or so to feel comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
November 9, 2012
Wear this and you'll steal the spotlight wherever you are.
I wore this to a 500 person banquet I planned. My first time using RTR, this was a treat for the months of blood, sweat and tears that went into this event. The dress fit between true to size and a little large because I typically wear a 6/8. I literally can't even count the compliments and "eyes" I got while wearing this dress. If there had been an option to buy it would be mine right now. I feel like a million bucks and that translated to a confident woman who ran an amazingly successful event. I highlt recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 29, 2012
This dress was PERFECT for San Antonio Fashion Week's "The Red Party!"
The thing I noticed immediately about the dress was the designer quality and structure of the dress. It fit like a glove and the color was bold and made a statement! Exactly what I look for in a dress for a special event. I would recommend Rent The Runway to anyone; I think it's fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 26, 2012
Great dress
Beautiful dress and it runs true to size, but unfortunately my waist is not
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 50
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Stunning You WILL make an entrance in this one Be prepared
It's body conscious - spanx and a good strapless!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2012
This dress is absolutely gorgeous!!!!
This dress is beautiful! It runs a little big in size and the wiring that goes up and down your breast dug into my armpit area all night so it was more annoying and made the skin pugg out so it looked funny. But otherwise this dress was awesome! I got so many compliments and I even liked how I looked!! It is very very comfortable and I will Forsure rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2012
I got so many compliments on the fit and the color, the dress definitely made the night memorable.
Most reviews said the dress ran true to size, so I ordered a 4. Some comments said that the bust area was small and suggested ordering a size up so I wasn't sure what back-up size to get but I ended up going with the 2. The 4 ended up being too big, so I wore the 2 and if I hadn't been dancing all night, it would have been perfect. However, I did have to constantly pull it up. I don't know if the 0 would have been too tight, but I wish I had ordered a 2 and 0 instead of a 4 and 2. Also, the hanger straps were in awkward places, but I bought some fashion tape and that took care of those for the most part. The bow did a fantastic job of accentuating my curves. I would recommend Spanx or something similar, the fabric of the dress does not hide panty lines, at all. Overall, I was so pleased and it worked out beautifully. I would definitely recommend this dress, it's gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2012
A dress that makes a statement.
The dress is very fitted throughout hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 11, 2012
This dress fit very well.
I wore this to work at a formal gala. It was comfortable, and the red color was beautiful.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
October 3, 2012
Stunning!
This dress was absolutely eye catching! It is a bright vibrant red with a great detailed bow. The dress makes you like your wrapped in a pretty package. The compliments kept coming the entire night. It was comfortable to dance and move in. The black hanger straps do need to be taped down or they will come out. I usually wear a 0 but this dress didnt come in a zero and wasnt as snug as I would prefer it to be at the top and slightly all over. It does run a little longer but I am short and runs a little bit below the knee. Perfect for a formal event. I wore this to a retro red event.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
My mother-in-law ran around the wedding telling everyone that I had rented the dress!
A standout in the sea of black cocktail dresses. I had at least 5 people comment on it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 19, 2012
Love this dress!!
This dress fits my curves perfectly, would definitely recommend. I felt very beautiful and elegant.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
love the dress !!!!
i wear this dress for my bestfriends wedding and i loved the way it fit ...its a beautiful red not to bright love love the color ...i also have to say that everyone had to do with this dress all my friends were asking were did i get it ....i recommand this dress to every girl that wants all eyes on her
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 17, 2012
My bf said there was no way to get a cab on a busy Fri night. I got one in 30 secs in this dress!
Really hugged my curves but had enough stretch in the fabric to move around comfortably. I felt extremely classy but sexy at the same time. I got the most attention in every room or situation. The big bow was a huge plus after I ate a huge italian dinner because it elegantly concealed my midsection. I wore it with black patent leather heels with lizard skin detail and black earrings. I definitely recommend fashion tape and strategically hiding the black hanger straps. They did poke out throughout the night but I think if I spent more time taping and tucking it beforehand it wouldn't have been a problem. Get this dress. It's gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 4, 2012
Was able to rent a one of a kind dress without going broke
I was so happy with this dress! It was perfect for a wedding, and fit very comfortably. I go back and forth between a 4 and a 6, but the 4 fit better on the top. Also rented Kate Spade earrings and Nicole Miller clutch. Will absolutely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 2, 2012
Lots of options for Red Dresses.
It's a very pretty dress but not a bright red like the image. I was expecting something brighter. I did enjoy the dress anyway.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2012
pretty great
I'm normally a size 4 or 6. The size 4 was too large. Size down in this dress. Other than that, loads of compliments and wore for a wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 14, 2012
Great Charity Event Dress
I have a wide rib cage but smaller bust and this dress fit perfectly! I received many compliments and the rich red went well with my dark hair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Wore this to a wedding and loved it! I wore my smaller backup size and even that was a little big - definitely had to pull the dress up a couple times while on the dance floor. The fabric was great but very stretchy. Received many compliments! Just order a size or two down!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 10, 2012
I received several compliments in this dress. I felt attractive and one of the better dressed people in the room.
The dress was true to size, be careful though about what your second size is. If you are a heavier size, I'd suggest getting a back up larger instead of smaller. The dress has a little more sheen to it than it shows in the model's picture. There was a tiny pea sized stain on the bow, but it was in one of the creases, so I arranged it so it wasn't noticeable. One of the hanger straps also came broken, but that wasn't an issue. I was at a wedding and danced a lot and the dress did like to slide down some, so I'd recommend fashion tape. The hanger straps also like to peak out (I taped them).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
The customer service was so helpful and the quality of the dress was impeccable. I can't wait to rent again.
I rented this dress for my friend's wedding and I absolutely loved the style, color and fit. David Meister is an amazing designer and after wearing this dress I went out and bought one of his creations.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 14, 2012
College friend's wedding where beer was served in giant mugs.
First and foremost, hanger loops!!! Their placement created a lot of frustration for me as there are several pictures where they are peeking out. If you rent this dress, make sure you have some dress tape to stick these puppies down, I wish I had some. I'm not sure where the reviews are coming from that this dress runs big, it does not. I typically wear a 4 and there is no way I could have worn the smaller size I rented based on the reviews. I would say if you are on the bigger chested side, there may be a better pick out there for you as this definitely adds interest to that area. I also can't stress enough that if you rent this dress you will definitely need spanx. While I had room in my midsection, it fit me very clean across the butt and thighs and if you have as much as a slightly raised mole, the fabric will show it. Overall though this is a very classy and pretty dress with a few disclaimers.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 22, 2012
perfect for engagement party
best dress ever. i am a true size 6 and it fit like a glove for my engagement party. the company was great as far as shipping it on time and it was such an easy return. i am about to rent another dress for the 2nd time using the company and am 100% confident in the company and the dress that i will rent. great fit for a girl with an A size cup, true size 6 and a little more of a butt and thighs type of girl figure. 5 stars!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2012
great dress
gorgeous dress on, nice fabric. classy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2012
Nice dress.
This dress is a little stretchy with a silky lining. It fit perfectly in the hips but was a little big in the waist and way too big in the bust for me so I was worried about it falling down. Still wearable but I wouldn't recommend unless your bust and hip measurements are close together.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2012
Pretty with some sizing issues
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and it was extremely figure flattering. However, it did have some size problems. The bust was loose, I am a 34C and found both the 4 and the 6 to be quite big. Most frustrating was the black hanger straps which spent half the evening annoying me, or just plain sticking out for the world to see. I recommend taping those down if possible, however, you will have to spring for fabric tape as regular didn't work. Other than that, the dress was really pretty - the red was vibrant and the bow was flattering. Lots of compliments, but I wouldn't recommend the dress for dancing, you would spend the whole night hiking it up and then pulling down at the hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
December 19, 2011
So sad didn't fit
I ordered a six and an eight in this dress and neither fit. The six fit up top, but a bit snug in the hips, the eight was too big up top but fine in the hips. Odd and I usually never have a "too big on top" situation. The dress was super cute though. I wore my other choice which was FAB!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
December 7, 2011
Lots of compliments
I wore this to my office Holiday party and got a lot of compliments. I don't have any better photos of the dress, I didn't have my camera, but it was very flattering. The 4 fit better shape wise, but the material was a little pully, so I wore the six, I had to keep pulling the top up, but other than that it was fine. Very festive, and not too revealing. The bow is very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2011
This dress made me feel elegant yet sassy. It was the perfect dress to wear to a wedding!
This dress was a show stopper at a wedding! Everyone asked me where I got it because they said it looked so elegant and expensive. The fit was great, and it was SO comfortable. I didn't have to keep adjusting it with every dance move.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×