David Meister

Lady in Red Dress

$30 rental
$460 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

123 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 93
Large 14
Photos 74
Judy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

The color was vibrant. The design is flattering. I received many compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I am 110 pounds, 5'4" and chose size 2. It fit perfectly. Dress length was right at the top of my knee. The material was great, very stretchy and comfortable. Only negative was the black straps showing from time to time.I used fashion tape to keep them in place but they still poked out.
Sp
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

Very flattering dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, simple yet great details that make it stand out, and hide any figure flaws. Was totally freaked out when the dress was not available until the day before my event, and to make matters worse it arrived with what looked like burn marks (iron?) on the top of the 'bow'. Thankfully I was able to use the fashion tape sample to fold it over and cover the marks. Worked out perfectly. Was told many times during the evening how great the dress looked.
Jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

I felt sexy yet classy in this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size and hugs your curves,
Nina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Great Dress for a Holiday Party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress. It's not satin which was good for my body type. The fabric gives and showed my shape. Very conformtable and I didn't have to tug to keep my chest covered. I would rent this dress again. I received a lot of compliements. Pefect color for a holiday party.
Linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

Great looking dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a size 0 and this dress didn't come in anything smaller than a 2. It was a bit loose in the bust. I'm a 32D. I think it runs true to size. It didn't feel tight anywhere and was very comfortable. I did tape down the straps as others said they kept coming out. This solved that problem. This was not the original dress I ordered, and when the other one didn't fit, RTR sent this out and I had it the next day. I love that!
Danielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 17, 2013

It was the perfect birthday dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The 2 fit great, and i love that i didn't have to worry about any tummy issues because the bow detail camouflaged that area.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

This dress was great!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was extremely flattering and the length was just right. The size 2 was a bit big in the chest and butt, but still looked great. I used a little extra tape up top and the it turned out just fine!
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

The bow added that extra something

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR rental so I read tooonnss of reviews to get the sizing. I normally wear a 6, so I settled on the 6 with the 4 as my backup. I am so glad I went a size down. The 6 fit and it would have worked, but the bottom rode up as I walked around. The 4 fit perfectly. I did have to use the fashion tape to tape down the hanger straps, but that was no problem. The dress was so comfortable and everyone complimented me on it. I did not wear a strapless bra because mine showed in the back, but you easily could wear one.
Betty
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 27, 2013

Nice dress, however needs constant readjustments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Because the dress is made out of stretchy polyester it fits great, however it rolls up as you walk. I would recommend it if you are going to be mostly sitting. I had to walk back and forth to the restroom with my children so I had to constantly pull it down.
megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
May 5, 2013

Beautiful

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
My first time using RTR and I can't believe how easy this was. This is a gorgeous dress, as it's simple but has a small bit of flair. Unfortunately, the hanger straps were dancing around every time I moved, and it made for a very uncomfortable experience. I was constantly wondering if the straps were showing, and 9 times out of 10, they were. Next time I will use the fashion tape included in the rental, but I didn't even realize there was any until I had already returned the dress! I also only ordered the size 2 because I knew a 4 would be too big, and the dress does not come in a 0. The dress is fairly long, as it comes right above the knee. However, this could also have been the case for me simply because the dress was too large. I paired this with the Kate Spade Heavenly Cluster neckace, and it was a perfect match.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was really beautiful. The color is much deeper than the picture. I actually did not end up wearing it because the other dress I ordered was too perfect. This dress hit me at my knee and I am quite tall, so keep that in mind if you want a shorter dress.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress! The red is killer and I received lots of compliments throughout the night!
A.H.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 6, 2013

Nice dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was comfortable, fit well, and the color was nice. The one thing I did notice is that the top flap of the bow had been repaired. It appeared to have torn away from the dress in the past and was sewn back on. The tip of the upper bow was also rounded while the lower tip was pointed. It seems kind of strange, and isn't that visible in the picture, but I just kept fussing wit it.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

Wedding Reception Stand-Out!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my back-up rental for a wedding. I loved both rentals, but my boyfriend liked the other dress better, so I wore my main rental to the wedding. I changed into this for the evening reception - and we BOTH loved it! It is more flattering on than it looks on the hanger. (Wish I had pictures, but didn't take any - sorry!) The fit was perfect, the fabric feels great, and the bow detail is attention getting without being overwhelming. It might have been too much for the church ceremony, but it was perfect for the evening. I hated to return it!
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 2, 2013

I wore this dress to a cocktail affair at my college, I received loads of complements!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was fine, I ordered a 4 and a 6 but I honestly can't remember which one I went with. I think it was the 4 (my usual size), the fabric is stretchy so it was easy to get on and was very comfortable. I ended up using the sticky strips provided to keep my dress up since it would slide down against my bra. But it was perfect, I loved wearing it!
Lexy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

I wore this dress for my companys end of the year party, a perfect color and style!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress is fantatsic, the material has some give and was comfortable, and the bow lays really well. There is some boning in the top part, but no build in cups- a strapless bra worked well with this dress. I wore a size 4 and the top was close to perfect but it was more snug than I would have preferred at the hips and butt. I think becaue of this, the dress pulled down a little throughout the night. The black hanger straps didnt want to stay tucked in, but nothing a small safety pin couldnt take care of!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Dec 4, 2012

I Love this dress. Wore it for a wedding and got so many compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well.
Trish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

"You look like a movie star"

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really this dress is just perfect. I was worried because I hadn't been keeping up my gym routine right before this event, but this dress was perfect! The giant bow does wonders for a few lumps and bumps and the color is so vibrant. The top was great, not too tight to give you the weird skin folds in your armpits some strapless dresses do. I took fellow RTR reviewers advice and taped the hanger straps inside the dress with double sided tape and had no problems.
HR
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

-

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fabric was not as forgiving as I had hoped. I typically wear a size 4 and needed a size 8 or so to feel comfortable.
Corey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress and it runs true to size, but unfortunately my waist is not
Liv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 50
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2012

Stunning You WILL make an entrance in this one Be prepared

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's body conscious - spanx and a good strapless!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 12, 2012

A dress that makes a statement.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is very fitted throughout hips.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

This dress fit very well.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to work at a formal gala. It was comfortable, and the red color was beautiful.
ser
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

My mother-in-law ran around the wedding telling everyone that I had rented the dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A standout in the sea of black cocktail dresses. I had at least 5 people comment on it.
O
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Love this dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits my curves perfectly, would definitely recommend. I felt very beautiful and elegant.
elaine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

love the dress !!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i wear this dress for my bestfriends wedding and i loved the way it fit ...its a beautiful red not to bright love love the color ...i also have to say that everyone had to do with this dress all my friends were asking were did i get it ....i recommand this dress to every girl that wants all eyes on her
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

pretty great

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm normally a size 4 or 6. The size 4 was too large. Size down in this dress. Other than that, loads of compliments and wore for a wedding!
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 14, 2012

Great Charity Event Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have a wide rib cage but smaller bust and this dress fit perfectly! I received many compliments and the rich red went well with my dark hair.
Natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 22, 2012

perfect for engagement party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
best dress ever. i am a true size 6 and it fit like a glove for my engagement party. the company was great as far as shipping it on time and it was such an easy return. i am about to rent another dress for the 2nd time using the company and am 100% confident in the company and the dress that i will rent. great fit for a girl with an A size cup, true size 6 and a little more of a butt and thighs type of girl figure. 5 stars!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 5, 2012

great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
gorgeous dress on, nice fabric. classy
E.B.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2012

Nice dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a little stretchy with a silky lining. It fit perfectly in the hips but was a little big in the waist and way too big in the bust for me so I was worried about it falling down. Still wearable but I wouldn't recommend unless your bust and hip measurements are close together.
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 19, 2011

So sad didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a six and an eight in this dress and neither fit. The six fit up top, but a bit snug in the hips, the eight was too big up top but fine in the hips. Odd and I usually never have a "too big on top" situation. The dress was super cute though. I wore my other choice which was FAB!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

Runs Large

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was a gorgeous dress; however, it ran very large! I typically wear a size 2-4. I have a tiny waist but large hips. The dress fit well every where else except around my waist, wayy to much extra fabric. If you have a tiny waist i would def recommend sizing down.
Katie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 13, 2011

Amazing Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for my brothers wedding, in which I was an usher. I got so many compliments on it! The actual color is not quite as bright as it looks on the model but its still a very bold red. The form in side the dress that gives it the shape and holds the bow sideways is a bit uncomfortable. It was sort of like under-wire poking me in the side all night but other than that I loved the dress! I would definitely rent this dress again!
purrrrttyinpink
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this as my back up dress, and did not end up wearing it for my event. The material is rather thin and stretchy, which is great in that it is comfortable, but showed any imperfection I have. Definitely needed Spanx underneath! Pretty dress, I think I am just too hip-y for the material.
Kaitlin
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE this dress! Beautifully made and fits wonderfully. Super comfortable.
Joan
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Fantastic dress! It's stretchy so it fits beautifully and you don't have to hold in your tummy all night. I got lots of compliments and it's very comfortable. The only problem was back hanger strap kept popping out. I'd suggest taping it down before you put the dress on.
Beach girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a fabulous dress - received lots of compliments!
Carmel Valley Mom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got so-o-o many compliments on this dress! I ordered a size 6 and it was slightly roomy on top (32D) but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix. This also kept everything in place so I wasn't hiking up the sides all night! Very class and beautiful color. Has some stretch so fit nicely over the hips. Loved this dress!!
Redhead
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Perfect dress for an evening wedding. Color was alittle deeper red than show in the picture. Very sophisticated & elegant. Only issue were the hanger straps showing. However, fit was perfect. Would order again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×