David Meister

Lady in Red Dress

$30 rental
$460 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
February 2, 2014
This was the perfect dress for my black tie optional event!
I absolutely loved this dress! The overall fit was pretty true to size. I was a little worried that the size 8 would be too small but it actually worked out because the top was a little too big for my bust area. To fix that problem I simply just used double sided tape. I would definitely recommend this dress for a cocktail event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 2, 2014
I felt sexy yet classy in this dress!
True to size and hugs your curves,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
January 27, 2014
Gorgeous dress with a big impact!
The beautiful color makes this dress a head turner no matter what size you're wearing. I rented a Kate Spade necklace that went perfectly and truly felt like a million bucks! Would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2014
perfect Christmas party dress. very flattering.
highly recommend...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 21, 2013
Elegant with a Twist
This otherwise ordinary dress is made unique by the gorgeous bow detail in the front. I wore this to a black tie event and got compliments all throughout the night. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 18, 2013
Fun, comfy red dress.
I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner. It fit perfect, had a little stretch, a nice red color and the bow was both flattering and fun. I actually sized down to make it a little more snug and sexy, the 10 was not coming in at the waist as much as it looked like it would. The material is not nice though. The dress did not look like an expensive dress because of it. It was a good thing my rehearsal dinner was casual (jeans and pizza casual) or it wouldn't have worked.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
Dress was stretchy and flattering, bow hid my middle section well, overall good dress.
The only thing I didn't like about this dress was that it kept rotating while I was dancing. I'm not sure if it would have been different were it not for my spanx underneath. The fabric was so similar to the slip under the dress that I think they were getting tangled. I was constantly fixing my dress to the front. I wore it for a holiday party with a black jacket and black tights and it was the perfect look. Definitely would recommend this dress, just be careful of your underpinnings!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
Great Dress for a Holiday Party!
This is a great dress. It's not satin which was good for my body type. The fabric gives and showed my shape. Very conformtable and I didn't have to tug to keep my chest covered. I would rent this dress again. I received a lot of compliements. Pefect color for a holiday party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2013
Great looking dress
I usually wear a size 0 and this dress didn't come in anything smaller than a 2. It was a bit loose in the bust. I'm a 32D. I think it runs true to size. It didn't feel tight anywhere and was very comfortable. I did tape down the straps as others said they kept coming out. This solved that problem. This was not the original dress I ordered, and when the other one didn't fit, RTR sent this out and I had it the next day. I love that!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 17, 2013
It was the perfect birthday dress!
The 2 fit great, and i love that i didn't have to worry about any tummy issues because the bow detail camouflaged that area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2013
This dress is a TEN. I wish I could wear it all the time. It was so fun and sexy.
I wore this to a graduation party. Easy to dance it, excellent fit. I'm curvy so it was very flattering on my shape. I received so many compliments. Loved the color and style. Very unique.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 9, 2013
This dress was great!
It was extremely flattering and the length was just right. The size 2 was a bit big in the chest and butt, but still looked great. I used a little extra tape up top and the it turned out just fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 22, 2013
The bow added that extra something
This was my first RTR rental so I read tooonnss of reviews to get the sizing. I normally wear a 6, so I settled on the 6 with the 4 as my backup. I am so glad I went a size down. The 6 fit and it would have worked, but the bottom rode up as I walked around. The 4 fit perfectly. I did have to use the fashion tape to tape down the hanger straps, but that was no problem. The dress was so comfortable and everyone complimented me on it. I did not wear a strapless bra because mine showed in the back, but you easily could wear one.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 27, 2013
Nice dress, however needs constant readjustments
Because the dress is made out of stretchy polyester it fits great, however it rolls up as you walk. I would recommend it if you are going to be mostly sitting. I had to walk back and forth to the restroom with my children so I had to constantly pull it down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 5, 2013
Beautiful
My first time using RTR and I can't believe how easy this was. This is a gorgeous dress, as it's simple but has a small bit of flair. Unfortunately, the hanger straps were dancing around every time I moved, and it made for a very uncomfortable experience. I was constantly wondering if the straps were showing, and 9 times out of 10, they were. Next time I will use the fashion tape included in the rental, but I didn't even realize there was any until I had already returned the dress! I also only ordered the size 2 because I knew a 4 would be too big, and the dress does not come in a 0. The dress is fairly long, as it comes right above the knee. However, this could also have been the case for me simply because the dress was too large. I paired this with the Kate Spade Heavenly Cluster neckace, and it was a perfect match.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress was really beautiful. The color is much deeper than the picture. I actually did not end up wearing it because the other dress I ordered was too perfect. This dress hit me at my knee and I am quite tall, so keep that in mind if you want a shorter dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
Love this dress! The red is killer and I received lots of compliments throughout the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2013
Nice dress
The dress was comfortable, fit well, and the color was nice. The one thing I did notice is that the top flap of the bow had been repaired. It appeared to have torn away from the dress in the past and was sewn back on. The tip of the upper bow was also rounded while the lower tip was pointed. It seems kind of strange, and isn't that visible in the picture, but I just kept fussing wit it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 5, 2013
love the bow!
Cute, comfortable dress in a beautiful bright red. The fabric was forgiving and comfortable, and the bow made a great statement (and helps hide your belly). I really liked this dress and it worked well for the occasion, although I definitely don't think it was a WOW dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 1, 2013
Wedding Reception Stand-Out!
This dress was my back-up rental for a wedding. I loved both rentals, but my boyfriend liked the other dress better, so I wore my main rental to the wedding. I changed into this for the evening reception - and we BOTH loved it! It is more flattering on than it looks on the hanger. (Wish I had pictures, but didn't take any - sorry!) The fit was perfect, the fabric feels great, and the bow detail is attention getting without being overwhelming. It might have been too much for the church ceremony, but it was perfect for the evening. I hated to return it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
March 7, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress, I always usually wear black , this dress was a show stopper
This dress fit true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
March 1, 2013
Lady in Red!!!!
Overall, this was a really great dress. I wish it came in a size "0" and that would have probably made it a perfect dress! I have a rather large bust in comparison to my smaller frame so I had to literally tape myself in the dress to keep it in place and keep it from sliding down. I received tons of compliments and felt very pretty in it all night long! This dress has the perfect amount of sass and class!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 17, 2013
This was my first time renting on RTR and I felt amazing in it.
The fit was perfect. It fit like a glove. The material was stretchy so it curved to my body. The color wasn't a bright red it was a nice tone. There were no cons to this dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 2, 2013
I wore this dress to a cocktail affair at my college, I received loads of complements!
The fit was fine, I ordered a 4 and a 6 but I honestly can't remember which one I went with. I think it was the 4 (my usual size), the fabric is stretchy so it was easy to get on and was very comfortable. I ended up using the sticky strips provided to keep my dress up since it would slide down against my bra. But it was perfect, I loved wearing it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
A stand out dress
A classic head turner, this dress was impossible not to notice. At the same time, it was very comfortable and not over the top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Perfectly Red for a Christmas party!
I was very excited to wear this dress to my friend's 30th birthday/ Christmas party. I recieved so many compliments! People particularly loved the bow on this dress. I origionally rented the Badgley Mischka Gem Ruched Dress in a 6 and an 8. The 6 became unavailable a few days before my rental. RTR emailed and called to let me know and to give me the option of renting another dress no charge. I chose this one. It actually worked out really well because I had this party as well as my work party in the same night. So I changed in between events. I loved both dresses so much and still could not decide which one I favored. This dress was great because there is wiring in the bust and I did not have to wear a strapless bra. Very comfortable, classy, and festive!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
December 15, 2012
Festive holiday dress in an amazing color!
This dress was perfect for a holiday party. I received a ton of compliments -- several people said it looked "stunning"! The fabric has a little stretch to it, so it was very comfortable to wear. The only reason this dress doesn't get 5 stars is the straps inside were tough to keep in place; I used fashion tape but had to readjust during the evening. The color is so bright -- great for the holidays!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
December 11, 2012
I was told I looked like a present! The dress was gorgeous and perfect for a holiday party.
I'm a true pear- size 6 on top and size 8 on the bottom. The size 6 dress was pretty tight across my hips and butt but fit me in the bust. The 8 was slightly better fitting in the bottom of the dress but I was swimming in the top. I put on my tightest pair of Spanx and made it work with the 6. The material is pretty thick with some stretch and the boning in the top gives the dress some form fitting elements in the top. Overall it was a gorgeous dress and I loved wearing it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2012
I wore this dress for my companys end of the year party, a perfect color and style!
The color of this dress is fantatsic, the material has some give and was comfortable, and the bow lays really well. There is some boning in the top part, but no build in cups- a strapless bra worked well with this dress. I wore a size 4 and the top was close to perfect but it was more snug than I would have preferred at the hips and butt. I think becaue of this, the dress pulled down a little throughout the night. The black hanger straps didnt want to stay tucked in, but nothing a small safety pin couldnt take care of!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
December 4, 2012
I Love this dress. Wore it for a wedding and got so many compliments.
Fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 28, 2012
"You look like a movie star"
Really this dress is just perfect. I was worried because I hadn't been keeping up my gym routine right before this event, but this dress was perfect! The giant bow does wonders for a few lumps and bumps and the color is so vibrant. The top was great, not too tight to give you the weird skin folds in your armpits some strapless dresses do. I took fellow RTR reviewers advice and taped the hanger straps inside the dress with double sided tape and had no problems.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2012
-
The fabric was not as forgiving as I had hoped. I typically wear a size 4 and needed a size 8 or so to feel comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
November 9, 2012
Wear this and you'll steal the spotlight wherever you are.
I wore this to a 500 person banquet I planned. My first time using RTR, this was a treat for the months of blood, sweat and tears that went into this event. The dress fit between true to size and a little large because I typically wear a 6/8. I literally can't even count the compliments and "eyes" I got while wearing this dress. If there had been an option to buy it would be mine right now. I feel like a million bucks and that translated to a confident woman who ran an amazingly successful event. I highlt recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 29, 2012
This dress was PERFECT for San Antonio Fashion Week's "The Red Party!"
The thing I noticed immediately about the dress was the designer quality and structure of the dress. It fit like a glove and the color was bold and made a statement! Exactly what I look for in a dress for a special event. I would recommend Rent The Runway to anyone; I think it's fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 26, 2012
Great dress
Beautiful dress and it runs true to size, but unfortunately my waist is not
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 51
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Stunning You WILL make an entrance in this one Be prepared
It's body conscious - spanx and a good strapless!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2012
This dress is absolutely gorgeous!!!!
This dress is beautiful! It runs a little big in size and the wiring that goes up and down your breast dug into my armpit area all night so it was more annoying and made the skin pugg out so it looked funny. But otherwise this dress was awesome! I got so many compliments and I even liked how I looked!! It is very very comfortable and I will Forsure rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2012
I got so many compliments on the fit and the color, the dress definitely made the night memorable.
Most reviews said the dress ran true to size, so I ordered a 4. Some comments said that the bust area was small and suggested ordering a size up so I wasn't sure what back-up size to get but I ended up going with the 2. The 4 ended up being too big, so I wore the 2 and if I hadn't been dancing all night, it would have been perfect. However, I did have to constantly pull it up. I don't know if the 0 would have been too tight, but I wish I had ordered a 2 and 0 instead of a 4 and 2. Also, the hanger straps were in awkward places, but I bought some fashion tape and that took care of those for the most part. The bow did a fantastic job of accentuating my curves. I would recommend Spanx or something similar, the fabric of the dress does not hide panty lines, at all. Overall, I was so pleased and it worked out beautifully. I would definitely recommend this dress, it's gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2012
A dress that makes a statement.
The dress is very fitted throughout hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 11, 2012
This dress fit very well.
I wore this to work at a formal gala. It was comfortable, and the red color was beautiful.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×