Lady in Red Dress

$30 rental
$460 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size97
Small10
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 27, 2014
Fits like a glove
A bit longer for 5'2"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
Just wasn't a good fit
While beautiful, this dress runs a bit small. It is stretchy but just didn't fit well. On the upside, RTR was awesome. They mailed me a different dress to my hotel & it was perfect!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 14, 2014
Okay, but not for a pear body type
This dress had serious potential. Loved the color, the bow, and the stretchy material, but it wasn't tight enough on my chest (easy to remedy with a nice padded strapless bra) and it pulled/wrinkled at my thighs. In other words, too loose up top and too tight on the bottom. A size 4 would have fit my chest and a size 8 would have fit my hips. The size 6 was a compromise, but it just didn't work as well as I hoped. In the end I ended up going with a backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 151lbs
May 21, 2014
Very flattering dress!
Wore this to my boyfriend's company gala. Received so many compliments on this dress, especially from the boyfriend. Very elegant dress, but sexy at the same time. Gathers at the waist, so it compliments the mid-section. Both the 6 and the 8 fit, however I went with the bigger size cause I thought we would be sitting most of the time. Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
May 16, 2014
Perfect wow factor without sacrificing comfort!
Loved just about everything about this dress! The only downside was how the bow would pucker some; but other than that, the cut, color and fit were perfect!
KeshaMay 20, 2014
beautiful
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
May 13, 2014
Second time rental!
Second time renting this dress. Love the fit. Material is stretchy so it has some give to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2014
The box was damaged and the dress was wrinkled but over it's a pretty dress
When the dress came it was a little wrinkled, but a little steam got it out. The dress was very comfortable and flattering for my body shape. The length was perfect. Not to short, and not long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 15, 2014
was a great dress fun and classy
was a great fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2014
Not what I expected. : (
The material was not what I expected--it was thin, with a slight sheen, which was reminiscent of a bad bridesmaid's dress. I also wouldn't call the color a true red; more like and orange red. It runs small, but does have some stretch. Not the best fit for a pear shaped girl like me--even when going up a size, the bust was too roomy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2014
Great fit and comfortable
Loved this dress. It really is a tasteful dress but a standout at the same time. It has a great fit and comfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2014
Nice Dress!!
This dress runs true to size. Because I'm bootylicious, I was afraid this dress wouldn't fit. Not only did it fit, it was comfortable! Also, the bow in the front hides any problem areas. I would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 23, 2014
A real show stopper!
This dress is definitely a "notice me" dress. The material is very stretchy, but the cut is very straight. I toe the line between being pear and hourglass shape - basically I have a booty - and this dress was a little tighter than I would have liked on the bottom, but going up a size would have made the top too loose (and there wasn't a 10 available when I ordered). It was still a great, fun dress and I got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
March 9, 2014
A beautiful dress, great fit!!
The dress fits perfectly, exactly as described. My favorite dress ever!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
March 7, 2014
Very complimentary & comfortable dress!
I usually wear between a 2 and a 4 in dresses and opted for a 4 and it fit perfectly! I would not have gone a size smaller or a size larger.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2014
The bow really made the dress!
Really loved this. It was different and kind of edgy but still felt really classic. I got so many compliments on it. I wore it to my cousin's wedding and was really happy with it being in all the family pics. The red really pops, too. It's a bright red, like in the picture, and really stood out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 20, 2014
Great dress for a NYC wedding --
I wore this dress to a downtown NYC wedding, and was so happy with this dress! I rented the 2 & 4 and ended up wearing the 4. I was a little worried about the fit, but the silhouette and bow was very flattering with my hourglass figure. I paired this with a Lauren Merken clutch from RTR and had the perfect outfit for a classy NYC evening!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 17, 2014
Dress for Delta Theta Sigma Event - I have to wear red and this dress got lots of compliments!
I am usually a street size 10, but I went up one size in this dress since it is form-fitting. It gave me just the extra amount of room to feel comfortable. Overall, I loved the fit of the dress and I got a ton of compliments. I would definitely rent this dress for another formal occasion. Love!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
February 10, 2014
The color was vibrant. The design is flattering. I received many compliments.
I am 110 pounds, 5'4" and chose size 2. It fit perfectly. Dress length was right at the top of my knee. The material was great, very stretchy and comfortable. Only negative was the black straps showing from time to time.I used fashion tape to keep them in place but they still poked out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2014
Very flattering dress.
I loved this dress, simple yet great details that make it stand out, and hide any figure flaws. Was totally freaked out when the dress was not available until the day before my event, and to make matters worse it arrived with what looked like burn marks (iron?) on the top of the 'bow'. Thankfully I was able to use the fashion tape sample to fold it over and cover the marks. Worked out perfectly. Was told many times during the evening how great the dress looked.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 3, 2014
This dress made my night, I literally never stopped getting compliments! People said I was stunning!
The fit was great, the dress is stretchy in a way that makes it comfortable to wear for a long time and easy to dance the night away in. The material shines in such a way that it looks great in pictures. It's also very bump friendly. It was an overall success!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
February 2, 2014
This was the perfect dress for my black tie optional event!
I absolutely loved this dress! The overall fit was pretty true to size. I was a little worried that the size 8 would be too small but it actually worked out because the top was a little too big for my bust area. To fix that problem I simply just used double sided tape. I would definitely recommend this dress for a cocktail event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 2, 2014
I felt sexy yet classy in this dress!
True to size and hugs your curves,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
January 27, 2014
Gorgeous dress with a big impact!
The beautiful color makes this dress a head turner no matter what size you're wearing. I rented a Kate Spade necklace that went perfectly and truly felt like a million bucks! Would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2014
perfect Christmas party dress. very flattering.
highly recommend...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 21, 2013
Elegant with a Twist
This otherwise ordinary dress is made unique by the gorgeous bow detail in the front. I wore this to a black tie event and got compliments all throughout the night. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 18, 2013
Fun, comfy red dress.
I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner. It fit perfect, had a little stretch, a nice red color and the bow was both flattering and fun. I actually sized down to make it a little more snug and sexy, the 10 was not coming in at the waist as much as it looked like it would. The material is not nice though. The dress did not look like an expensive dress because of it. It was a good thing my rehearsal dinner was casual (jeans and pizza casual) or it wouldn't have worked.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
Dress was stretchy and flattering, bow hid my middle section well, overall good dress.
The only thing I didn't like about this dress was that it kept rotating while I was dancing. I'm not sure if it would have been different were it not for my spanx underneath. The fabric was so similar to the slip under the dress that I think they were getting tangled. I was constantly fixing my dress to the front. I wore it for a holiday party with a black jacket and black tights and it was the perfect look. Definitely would recommend this dress, just be careful of your underpinnings!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
Great Dress for a Holiday Party!
This is a great dress. It's not satin which was good for my body type. The fabric gives and showed my shape. Very conformtable and I didn't have to tug to keep my chest covered. I would rent this dress again. I received a lot of compliements. Pefect color for a holiday party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2013
Great looking dress
I usually wear a size 0 and this dress didn't come in anything smaller than a 2. It was a bit loose in the bust. I'm a 32D. I think it runs true to size. It didn't feel tight anywhere and was very comfortable. I did tape down the straps as others said they kept coming out. This solved that problem. This was not the original dress I ordered, and when the other one didn't fit, RTR sent this out and I had it the next day. I love that!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 17, 2013
It was the perfect birthday dress!
The 2 fit great, and i love that i didn't have to worry about any tummy issues because the bow detail camouflaged that area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2013
This dress is a TEN. I wish I could wear it all the time. It was so fun and sexy.
I wore this to a graduation party. Easy to dance it, excellent fit. I'm curvy so it was very flattering on my shape. I received so many compliments. Loved the color and style. Very unique.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 9, 2013
This dress was great!
It was extremely flattering and the length was just right. The size 2 was a bit big in the chest and butt, but still looked great. I used a little extra tape up top and the it turned out just fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 22, 2013
The bow added that extra something
This was my first RTR rental so I read tooonnss of reviews to get the sizing. I normally wear a 6, so I settled on the 6 with the 4 as my backup. I am so glad I went a size down. The 6 fit and it would have worked, but the bottom rode up as I walked around. The 4 fit perfectly. I did have to use the fashion tape to tape down the hanger straps, but that was no problem. The dress was so comfortable and everyone complimented me on it. I did not wear a strapless bra because mine showed in the back, but you easily could wear one.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 27, 2013
Nice dress, however needs constant readjustments
Because the dress is made out of stretchy polyester it fits great, however it rolls up as you walk. I would recommend it if you are going to be mostly sitting. I had to walk back and forth to the restroom with my children so I had to constantly pull it down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 5, 2013
Beautiful
My first time using RTR and I can't believe how easy this was. This is a gorgeous dress, as it's simple but has a small bit of flair. Unfortunately, the hanger straps were dancing around every time I moved, and it made for a very uncomfortable experience. I was constantly wondering if the straps were showing, and 9 times out of 10, they were. Next time I will use the fashion tape included in the rental, but I didn't even realize there was any until I had already returned the dress! I also only ordered the size 2 because I knew a 4 would be too big, and the dress does not come in a 0. The dress is fairly long, as it comes right above the knee. However, this could also have been the case for me simply because the dress was too large. I paired this with the Kate Spade Heavenly Cluster neckace, and it was a perfect match.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress was really beautiful. The color is much deeper than the picture. I actually did not end up wearing it because the other dress I ordered was too perfect. This dress hit me at my knee and I am quite tall, so keep that in mind if you want a shorter dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
Love this dress! The red is killer and I received lots of compliments throughout the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2013
Nice dress
The dress was comfortable, fit well, and the color was nice. The one thing I did notice is that the top flap of the bow had been repaired. It appeared to have torn away from the dress in the past and was sewn back on. The tip of the upper bow was also rounded while the lower tip was pointed. It seems kind of strange, and isn't that visible in the picture, but I just kept fussing wit it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
April 5, 2013
love the bow!
Cute, comfortable dress in a beautiful bright red. The fabric was forgiving and comfortable, and the bow made a great statement (and helps hide your belly). I really liked this dress and it worked well for the occasion, although I definitely don't think it was a WOW dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 1, 2013
Wedding Reception Stand-Out!
This dress was my back-up rental for a wedding. I loved both rentals, but my boyfriend liked the other dress better, so I wore my main rental to the wedding. I changed into this for the evening reception - and we BOTH loved it! It is more flattering on than it looks on the hanger. (Wish I had pictures, but didn't take any - sorry!) The fit was perfect, the fabric feels great, and the bow detail is attention getting without being overwhelming. It might have been too much for the church ceremony, but it was perfect for the evening. I hated to return it!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×