David Meister

Lady in Red Dress

$30 rental
$460 retail
Stylist Notes

Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
159 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(111)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 17, 2014
Dress for Delta Theta Sigma Event - I have to wear red and this dress got lots of compliments!

I am usually a street size 10, but I went up one size in this dress since it is form-fitting. It gave me just the extra amount of room to feel comfortable. Overall, I loved the fit of the dress and I got a ton of compliments. I would definitely rent this dress for another formal occasion. Love!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2014
Not what I expected. : (

The material was not what I expected--it was thin, with a slight sheen, which was reminiscent of a bad bridesmaid's dress. I also wouldn't call the color a true red; more like and orange red. It runs small, but does have some stretch. Not the best fit for a pear shaped girl like me--even when going up a size, the bust was too roomy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
Just wasn't a good fit

While beautiful, this dress runs a bit small. It is stretchy but just didn't fit well. On the upside, RTR was awesome. They mailed me a different dress to my hotel & it was perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 1, 2014
Beautiful, but runs small

I had to return this one, I'm a normal size 8, but this was quite tight and couldn't be zipped all the way, go at least one size up from normal. Possibly 2 sizes. Also if you are busty, this may not be for you.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 18, 2015
I love the way this dress fit. It felt appropriate for a semi-formal event & was super comfortable!

I am an athletic build with a bit of a belly I like to hide. This dress would have been the perfect fit however, the boning in the left-side bust was bent and made for an awkward shape. There was also discoloring where the boning stuck out from the dress. I wore it to my event but was constantly adjusting the top of the dress. The bow detail is great for disguising a bit of a belly and the material is was appropriately dressy. All in all though the service was great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 21, 2016
Very flattering front so you could eat whatever you wanted that night!

Runs small

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
December 19, 2011
So sad didn't fit

I ordered a six and an eight in this dress and neither fit. The six fit up top, but a bit snug in the hips, the eight was too big up top but fine in the hips. Odd and I usually never have a "too big on top" situation. The dress was super cute though. I wore my other choice which was FAB!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 23, 2014
A real show stopper!

This dress is definitely a "notice me" dress. The material is very stretchy, but the cut is very straight. I toe the line between being pear and hourglass shape - basically I have a booty - and this dress was a little tighter than I would have liked on the bottom, but going up a size would have made the top too loose (and there wasn't a 10 available when I ordered). It was still a great, fun dress and I got a lot of compliments!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
September 27, 2015
Great dress! Unique and eye catching!

Loved everything about this dress. The bright red color was fun and the front bow design was a unique twist. The length was perfect (right at knee). It wasn't overly tight anywhere, so I felt comfortable to eat, drink and dance. Received many compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 27, 2013
Nice dress, however needs constant readjustments

Because the dress is made out of stretchy polyester it fits great, however it rolls up as you walk. I would recommend it if you are going to be mostly sitting. I had to walk back and forth to the restroom with my children so I had to constantly pull it down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 18, 2016
Wore to a Broadway show. Fit well.

Dress had some stretch to it which was nice, the bow in the front wasn't what I was anticipating, but still a pretty dress.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2016
Loved this dress- super comfortable

It is a little large in the chest. I probably could hve worn a 4 but this was my back up dress and I loved it more than my first option

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 8, 2016
Cute and comfortable!

I usually wear black dresses but decided to go for some color. This dress was comfortable and flattering. I have a small chest and was worried about it being too big on top but it wasn't really a problem. I got the 4 for a backup but didn't bother trying it. I didn't do any dancing so maybe it would have shifted around a bit? I did eat in it though and it was great for that!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2016
Amazing Color - Very comfortable

Great dress. Very easy to wear. Comfortable even for a strapless. The color was vibrant, the fabric had give. Got a ton of complements. Length was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 38DDD/E
December 2, 2016
Just bought this to try it on, didn't have an event

Great material, loved the fit and how the bow helped hide areas I'm not completely comfortable with. Would definitely rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
December 20, 2016
Beautiful dress

I wish I could keep it! It fit perfectly, and I got compliments all night. It's a much softer red than what you see in the photos. It still stands out, though. The dress was a bit big in the bust, but fashion tape easily took care of that issue. Also, make sure you have really good fashion tape on hand to tape down the hanger straps. I would definitely rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Age: 22
March 22, 2017
Made me look like a Christmas present

I wore this for a Christmas party and loved it- I looked like a present! It stayed up perfectly and was just the right length.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2011
Stand out color , beautiful fit.

This was my initially meant to be my back up dress but when I tried it on I was amazed at how well it fit. I was worried that the size 6 may be too small but it fit perfectly. The color is also much more vibrant than the photo lets on. I wore it to a Saturday evening wedding and received so many compliments. I would definitely rent this one again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
June 24, 2011

This dress fits beautifully. I ended up not using any tape, but it might have helped to keep the dress in place. Generally, I did not have any problems with the dress staying in place. It has some boning that nicely holds up top part of the dress. The red is a great bright red color. It really complemented my olive skin tone. I thought the diagonal bow might look a bit awkward, but it sits just perfectly on the dress. I received tons of compliments and would definitely wear it again.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2011

I really enjoyed this dress and received lots of compliments! It fit snug at the beginning of the night, which is good for a strapless, but stretched a little as the night went on. Also, the straps to hang the dress are black and kept popping up -- I'd recommend fashion tape for the next person who wears it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2011

Perfect dress for an evening wedding. Color was alittle deeper red than show in the picture. Very sophisticated & elegant. Only issue were the hanger straps showing. However, fit was perfect. Would order again.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2011

I got so-o-o many compliments on this dress! I ordered a size 6 and it was slightly roomy on top (32D) but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix. This also kept everything in place so I wasn't hiking up the sides all night! Very class and beautiful color. Has some stretch so fit nicely over the hips. Loved this dress!!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
September 28, 2011

This is a fabulous dress - received lots of compliments!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Body type: Full Bust
October 12, 2011

Fantastic dress! It's stretchy so it fits beautifully and you don't have to hold in your tummy all night. I got lots of compliments and it's very comfortable. The only problem was back hanger strap kept popping out. I'd suggest taping it down before you put the dress on.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 13, 2011
Amazing Dress

Rented this dress for my brothers wedding, in which I was an usher. I got so many compliments on it! The actual color is not quite as bright as it looks on the model but its still a very bold red. The form in side the dress that gives it the shape and holds the bow sideways is a bit uncomfortable. It was sort of like under-wire poking me in the side all night but other than that I loved the dress! I would definitely rent this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 29, 2011
Feeling beautiful in a gorgeous dress!

I really loved this dress and got many compliments wearing it! I wore it to a November wedding in downtown Chicago so it was a perfect choice. Great color.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2011
This dress made me feel elegant yet sassy. It was the perfect dress to wear to a wedding!

This dress was a show stopper at a wedding! Everyone asked me where I got it because they said it looked so elegant and expensive. The fit was great, and it was SO comfortable. I didn't have to keep adjusting it with every dance move.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
December 7, 2011
Lots of compliments

I wore this to my office Holiday party and got a lot of compliments. I don't have any better photos of the dress, I didn't have my camera, but it was very flattering. The 4 fit better shape wise, but the material was a little pully, so I wore the six, I had to keep pulling the top up, but other than that it was fine. Very festive, and not too revealing. The bow is very flattering.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 22, 2012
perfect for engagement party

best dress ever. i am a true size 6 and it fit like a glove for my engagement party. the company was great as far as shipping it on time and it was such an easy return. i am about to rent another dress for the 2nd time using the company and am 100% confident in the company and the dress that i will rent. great fit for a girl with an A size cup, true size 6 and a little more of a butt and thighs type of girl figure. 5 stars!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 14, 2012
College friend's wedding where beer was served in giant mugs.

First and foremost, hanger loops!!! Their placement created a lot of frustration for me as there are several pictures where they are peeking out. If you rent this dress, make sure you have some dress tape to stick these puppies down, I wish I had some. I'm not sure where the reviews are coming from that this dress runs big, it does not. I typically wear a 4 and there is no way I could have worn the smaller size I rented based on the reviews. I would say if you are on the bigger chested side, there may be a better pick out there for you as this definitely adds interest to that area. I also can't stress enough that if you rent this dress you will definitely need spanx. While I had room in my midsection, it fit me very clean across the butt and thighs and if you have as much as a slightly raised mole, the fabric will show it. Overall though this is a very classy and pretty dress with a few disclaimers.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
The customer service was so helpful and the quality of the dress was impeccable. I can't wait to rent again.

I rented this dress for my friend's wedding and I absolutely loved the style, color and fit. David Meister is an amazing designer and after wearing this dress I went out and bought one of his creations.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 10, 2012
I received several compliments in this dress. I felt attractive and one of the better dressed people in the room.

The dress was true to size, be careful though about what your second size is. If you are a heavier size, I'd suggest getting a back up larger instead of smaller. The dress has a little more sheen to it than it shows in the model's picture. There was a tiny pea sized stain on the bow, but it was in one of the creases, so I arranged it so it wasn't noticeable. One of the hanger straps also came broken, but that wasn't an issue. I was at a wedding and danced a lot and the dress did like to slide down some, so I'd recommend fashion tape. The hanger straps also like to peak out (I taped them).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 14, 2012
Great Charity Event Dress

I have a wide rib cage but smaller bust and this dress fit perfectly! I received many compliments and the rich red went well with my dark hair.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 4, 2012
Was able to rent a one of a kind dress without going broke

I was so happy with this dress! It was perfect for a wedding, and fit very comfortably. I go back and forth between a 4 and a 6, but the 4 fit better on the top. Also rented Kate Spade earrings and Nicole Miller clutch. Will absolutely be renting again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2012
great dress

gorgeous dress on, nice fabric. classy

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 17, 2012
My bf said there was no way to get a cab on a busy Fri night. I got one in 30 secs in this dress!

Really hugged my curves but had enough stretch in the fabric to move around comfortably. I felt extremely classy but sexy at the same time. I got the most attention in every room or situation. The big bow was a huge plus after I ate a huge italian dinner because it elegantly concealed my midsection. I wore it with black patent leather heels with lizard skin detail and black earrings. I definitely recommend fashion tape and strategically hiding the black hanger straps. They did poke out throughout the night but I think if I spent more time taping and tucking it beforehand it wouldn't have been a problem. Get this dress. It's gorgeous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
My mother-in-law ran around the wedding telling everyone that I had rented the dress!

A standout in the sea of black cocktail dresses. I had at least 5 people comment on it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2012
A dress that makes a statement.

The dress is very fitted throughout hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 17, 2012
Stunning You WILL make an entrance in this one Be prepared

It's body conscious - spanx and a good strapless!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 26, 2012
Great dress

Beautiful dress and it runs true to size, but unfortunately my waist is not

See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×