David Meister

Lady in Red Dress

$30 rental
$460 retail
Stylist Notes

Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
155 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(108)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 1, 2013
Wedding Reception Stand-Out!
This dress was my back-up rental for a wedding. I loved both rentals, but my boyfriend liked the other dress better, so I wore my main rental to the wedding. I changed into this for the evening reception - and we BOTH loved it! It is more flattering on than it looks on the hanger. (Wish I had pictures, but didn't take any - sorry!) The fit was perfect, the fabric feels great, and the bow detail is attention getting without being overwhelming. It might have been too much for the church ceremony, but it was perfect for the evening. I hated to return it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 5, 2013
love the bow!
Cute, comfortable dress in a beautiful bright red. The fabric was forgiving and comfortable, and the bow made a great statement (and helps hide your belly). I really liked this dress and it worked well for the occasion, although I definitely don't think it was a WOW dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2013
Nice dress
The dress was comfortable, fit well, and the color was nice. The one thing I did notice is that the top flap of the bow had been repaired. It appeared to have torn away from the dress in the past and was sewn back on. The tip of the upper bow was also rounded while the lower tip was pointed. It seems kind of strange, and isn't that visible in the picture, but I just kept fussing wit it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
Love this dress! The red is killer and I received lots of compliments throughout the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress was really beautiful. The color is much deeper than the picture. I actually did not end up wearing it because the other dress I ordered was too perfect. This dress hit me at my knee and I am quite tall, so keep that in mind if you want a shorter dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 5, 2013
Beautiful
My first time using RTR and I can't believe how easy this was. This is a gorgeous dress, as it's simple but has a small bit of flair. Unfortunately, the hanger straps were dancing around every time I moved, and it made for a very uncomfortable experience. I was constantly wondering if the straps were showing, and 9 times out of 10, they were. Next time I will use the fashion tape included in the rental, but I didn't even realize there was any until I had already returned the dress! I also only ordered the size 2 because I knew a 4 would be too big, and the dress does not come in a 0. The dress is fairly long, as it comes right above the knee. However, this could also have been the case for me simply because the dress was too large. I paired this with the Kate Spade Heavenly Cluster neckace, and it was a perfect match.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 9, 2013
This dress was great!
It was extremely flattering and the length was just right. The size 2 was a bit big in the chest and butt, but still looked great. I used a little extra tape up top and the it turned out just fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2013
This dress is a TEN. I wish I could wear it all the time. It was so fun and sexy.
I wore this to a graduation party. Easy to dance it, excellent fit. I'm curvy so it was very flattering on my shape. I received so many compliments. Loved the color and style. Very unique.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 17, 2013
It was the perfect birthday dress!
The 2 fit great, and i love that i didn't have to worry about any tummy issues because the bow detail camouflaged that area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2013
Great looking dress
I usually wear a size 0 and this dress didn't come in anything smaller than a 2. It was a bit loose in the bust. I'm a 32D. I think it runs true to size. It didn't feel tight anywhere and was very comfortable. I did tape down the straps as others said they kept coming out. This solved that problem. This was not the original dress I ordered, and when the other one didn't fit, RTR sent this out and I had it the next day. I love that!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
Great Dress for a Holiday Party!
This is a great dress. It's not satin which was good for my body type. The fabric gives and showed my shape. Very conformtable and I didn't have to tug to keep my chest covered. I would rent this dress again. I received a lot of compliements. Pefect color for a holiday party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
Dress was stretchy and flattering, bow hid my middle section well, overall good dress.
The only thing I didn't like about this dress was that it kept rotating while I was dancing. I'm not sure if it would have been different were it not for my spanx underneath. The fabric was so similar to the slip under the dress that I think they were getting tangled. I was constantly fixing my dress to the front. I wore it for a holiday party with a black jacket and black tights and it was the perfect look. Definitely would recommend this dress, just be careful of your underpinnings!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 18, 2013
Fun, comfy red dress.
I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner. It fit perfect, had a little stretch, a nice red color and the bow was both flattering and fun. I actually sized down to make it a little more snug and sexy, the 10 was not coming in at the waist as much as it looked like it would. The material is not nice though. The dress did not look like an expensive dress because of it. It was a good thing my rehearsal dinner was casual (jeans and pizza casual) or it wouldn't have worked.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 21, 2013
Elegant with a Twist
This otherwise ordinary dress is made unique by the gorgeous bow detail in the front. I wore this to a black tie event and got compliments all throughout the night. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2014
perfect Christmas party dress. very flattering.
highly recommend...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
January 27, 2014
Gorgeous dress with a big impact!
The beautiful color makes this dress a head turner no matter what size you're wearing. I rented a Kate Spade necklace that went perfectly and truly felt like a million bucks! Would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 2, 2014
I felt sexy yet classy in this dress!
True to size and hugs your curves,
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 3, 2014
This dress made my night, I literally never stopped getting compliments! People said I was stunning!
The fit was great, the dress is stretchy in a way that makes it comfortable to wear for a long time and easy to dance the night away in. The material shines in such a way that it looks great in pictures. It's also very bump friendly. It was an overall success!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 17, 2014
Dress for Delta Theta Sigma Event - I have to wear red and this dress got lots of compliments!
I am usually a street size 10, but I went up one size in this dress since it is form-fitting. It gave me just the extra amount of room to feel comfortable. Overall, I loved the fit of the dress and I got a ton of compliments. I would definitely rent this dress for another formal occasion. Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2014
The bow really made the dress!
Really loved this. It was different and kind of edgy but still felt really classic. I got so many compliments on it. I wore it to my cousin's wedding and was really happy with it being in all the family pics. The red really pops, too. It's a bright red, like in the picture, and really stood out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
March 7, 2014
Very complimentary & comfortable dress!
I usually wear between a 2 and a 4 in dresses and opted for a 4 and it fit perfectly! I would not have gone a size smaller or a size larger.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
March 9, 2014
A beautiful dress, great fit!!
The dress fits perfectly, exactly as described. My favorite dress ever!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2014
Nice Dress!!
This dress runs true to size. Because I'm bootylicious, I was afraid this dress wouldn't fit. Not only did it fit, it was comfortable! Also, the bow in the front hides any problem areas. I would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2014
Great fit and comfortable
Loved this dress. It really is a tasteful dress but a standout at the same time. It has a great fit and comfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2014
Not what I expected. : (
The material was not what I expected--it was thin, with a slight sheen, which was reminiscent of a bad bridesmaid's dress. I also wouldn't call the color a true red; more like and orange red. It runs small, but does have some stretch. Not the best fit for a pear shaped girl like me--even when going up a size, the bust was too roomy.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 15, 2014
was a great dress fun and classy
was a great fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
May 13, 2014
Second time rental!
Second time renting this dress. Love the fit. Material is stretchy so it has some give to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
May 16, 2014
Perfect wow factor without sacrificing comfort!
Loved just about everything about this dress! The only downside was how the bow would pucker some; but other than that, the cut, color and fit were perfect!
KeshaMay 20, 2014
beautiful
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 151lbs
May 21, 2014
Very flattering dress!
Wore this to my boyfriend's company gala. Received so many compliments on this dress, especially from the boyfriend. Very elegant dress, but sexy at the same time. Gathers at the waist, so it compliments the mid-section. Both the 6 and the 8 fit, however I went with the bigger size cause I thought we would be sitting most of the time. Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
Just wasn't a good fit
While beautiful, this dress runs a bit small. It is stretchy but just didn't fit well. On the upside, RTR was awesome. They mailed me a different dress to my hotel & it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 27, 2014
Fits like a glove
A bit longer for 5'2"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2014
New Years Eve!
Wore this for New Years Eve party, got a ton of compliments on it! The dress fit true to size, although the hanger straps did keep popping up and I had to shove them back down. overall great dress and i would rent it again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
October 13, 2011
LOVE this dress! Beautifully made and fits wonderfully. Super comfortable.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2014
Fabulous! Got so many compliments and it looked so adorable.
The bow was fantastic added so much to the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2014
Cute dress, just not for me.
I chose to wear this to a Mixer & Elixir event that we have at our Science Museum. It was a very cute dress. I took quite a bit of pix, but unfortunately I didn’t find many of them to be very flattering. The full frontal and side pictures added an extra poof in the stomach area because of the bow, and I didn’t really need help in that area. All around this is a beautiful dress and is true to size. I just didn’t really know how to pose in it and therefore felt slightly awkward in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
September 2, 2014
Wore it to my husband's Christmas party. Vibrant red color!
Fits true to size. Didn't have any problems staying up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 5, 2014
LOVE! Hides the belly! Makes me look more stylish than I really am! Hanger straps were annoying.
Rarely do strapless dresses work with bigger bust but this one really does! Super slimming and disguised my muffin top. Stretchy material made for really comfortable evening (both sitting at dinner and moving on the dance floor). Only con: The hanger straps are black and obvious -- I was constantly tucking them in. I will undoubtedly rent this dress again in the future! Don't mess with the bow, its supposed to poof up like that.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2014
Beautiful dress! Loved it!
This dress fit perfectly, and I stood out just enough. I wore it to my boyfriend's brother's wedding, so I wanted to look classy and well dressed. My only complaint is that it was a bit tight in my chest area, but I am a 36D. I wasn't able to wear a bra with the dress, but it's structured so it kept the girls up all night! Even better, it was very comfortable to dance in. Would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 1, 2014
Beautiful, but runs small
I had to return this one, I'm a normal size 8, but this was quite tight and couldn't be zipped all the way, go at least one size up from normal. Possibly 2 sizes. Also if you are busty, this may not be for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 3, 2014
Love the color and the detail in the front! However, It felt a little loose on the top.
I am petite but the length was perfect for this formal event! Very classy. A little loose on the top but not really noticeable because of the detail on top.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×