David Meister

Lady in Red Dress

$30 rental
$460 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

124 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 93
Large 14
Photos 75
Kathleen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

A stand out dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A classic head turner, this dress was impossible not to notice. At the same time, it was very comfortable and not over the top.
DanielleJoyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Perfectly Red for a Christmas party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was very excited to wear this dress to my friend's 30th birthday/ Christmas party. I recieved so many compliments! People particularly loved the bow on this dress. I origionally rented the Badgley Mischka Gem Ruched Dress in a 6 and an 8. The 6 became unavailable a few days before my rental. RTR emailed and called to let me know and to give me the option of renting another dress no charge. I chose this one. It actually worked out really well because I had this party as well as my work party in the same night. So I changed in between events. I loved both dresses so much and still could not decide which one I favored. This dress was great because there is wiring in the bust and I did not have to wear a strapless bra. Very comfortable, classy, and festive!
Mo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

Festive holiday dress in an amazing color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for a holiday party. I received a ton of compliments -- several people said it looked "stunning"! The fabric has a little stretch to it, so it was very comfortable to wear. The only reason this dress doesn't get 5 stars is the straps inside were tough to keep in place; I used fashion tape but had to readjust during the evening. The color is so bright -- great for the holidays!
Chrissy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

I was told I looked like a present! The dress was gorgeous and perfect for a holiday party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm a true pear- size 6 on top and size 8 on the bottom. The size 6 dress was pretty tight across my hips and butt but fit me in the bust. The 8 was slightly better fitting in the bottom of the dress but I was swimming in the top. I put on my tightest pair of Spanx and made it work with the 6. The material is pretty thick with some stretch and the boning in the top gives the dress some form fitting elements in the top. Overall it was a gorgeous dress and I loved wearing it!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Nov 9, 2012

Wear this and you'll steal the spotlight wherever you are.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a 500 person banquet I planned. My first time using RTR, this was a treat for the months of blood, sweat and tears that went into this event. The dress fit between true to size and a little large because I typically wear a 6/8. I literally can't even count the compliments and "eyes" I got while wearing this dress. If there had been an option to buy it would be mine right now. I feel like a million bucks and that translated to a confident woman who ran an amazingly successful event. I highlt recommend this dress!
Shannan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

This dress was PERFECT for San Antonio Fashion Week's "The Red Party!"

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The thing I noticed immediately about the dress was the designer quality and structure of the dress. It fit like a glove and the color was bold and made a statement! Exactly what I look for in a dress for a special event. I would recommend Rent The Runway to anyone; I think it's fabulous!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

This dress is absolutely gorgeous!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful! It runs a little big in size and the wiring that goes up and down your breast dug into my armpit area all night so it was more annoying and made the skin pugg out so it looked funny. But otherwise this dress was awesome! I got so many compliments and I even liked how I looked!! It is very very comfortable and I will Forsure rent it again!!
Brenna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

I got so many compliments on the fit and the color, the dress definitely made the night memorable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Most reviews said the dress ran true to size, so I ordered a 4. Some comments said that the bust area was small and suggested ordering a size up so I wasn't sure what back-up size to get but I ended up going with the 2. The 4 ended up being too big, so I wore the 2 and if I hadn't been dancing all night, it would have been perfect. However, I did have to constantly pull it up. I don't know if the 0 would have been too tight, but I wish I had ordered a 2 and 0 instead of a 4 and 2. Also, the hanger straps were in awkward places, but I bought some fashion tape and that took care of those for the most part. The bow did a fantastic job of accentuating my curves. I would recommend Spanx or something similar, the fabric of the dress does not hide panty lines, at all. Overall, I was so pleased and it worked out beautifully. I would definitely recommend this dress, it's gorgeous!
Angela
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Stunning!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely eye catching! It is a bright vibrant red with a great detailed bow. The dress makes you like your wrapped in a pretty package. The compliments kept coming the entire night. It was comfortable to dance and move in. The black hanger straps do need to be taped down or they will come out. I usually wear a 0 but this dress didnt come in a zero and wasnt as snug as I would prefer it to be at the top and slightly all over. It does run a little longer but I am short and runs a little bit below the knee. Perfect for a formal event. I wore this to a retro red event.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Pretty with some sizing issues

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and it was extremely figure flattering. However, it did have some size problems. The bust was loose, I am a 34C and found both the 4 and the 6 to be quite big. Most frustrating was the black hanger straps which spent half the evening annoying me, or just plain sticking out for the world to see. I recommend taping those down if possible, however, you will have to spring for fabric tape as regular didn't work. Other than that, the dress was really pretty - the red was vibrant and the bow was flattering. Lots of compliments, but I wouldn't recommend the dress for dancing, you would spend the whole night hiking it up and then pulling down at the hips.
Irene
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

My bf said there was no way to get a cab on a busy Fri night. I got one in 30 secs in this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really hugged my curves but had enough stretch in the fabric to move around comfortably. I felt extremely classy but sexy at the same time. I got the most attention in every room or situation. The big bow was a huge plus after I ate a huge italian dinner because it elegantly concealed my midsection. I wore it with black patent leather heels with lizard skin detail and black earrings. I definitely recommend fashion tape and strategically hiding the black hanger straps. They did poke out throughout the night but I think if I spent more time taping and tucking it beforehand it wouldn't have been a problem. Get this dress. It's gorgeous!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 4, 2012

Was able to rent a one of a kind dress without going broke

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was so happy with this dress! It was perfect for a wedding, and fit very comfortably. I go back and forth between a 4 and a 6, but the 4 fit better on the top. Also rented Kate Spade earrings and Nicole Miller clutch. Will absolutely be renting again!
Mya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 2, 2012

Lots of options for Red Dresses.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's a very pretty dress but not a bright red like the image. I was expecting something brighter. I did enjoy the dress anyway.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding and loved it! I wore my smaller backup size and even that was a little big - definitely had to pull the dress up a couple times while on the dance floor. The fabric was great but very stretchy. Received many compliments! Just order a size or two down!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 10, 2012

I received several compliments in this dress. I felt attractive and one of the better dressed people in the room.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was true to size, be careful though about what your second size is. If you are a heavier size, I'd suggest getting a back up larger instead of smaller. The dress has a little more sheen to it than it shows in the model's picture. There was a tiny pea sized stain on the bow, but it was in one of the creases, so I arranged it so it wasn't noticeable. One of the hanger straps also came broken, but that wasn't an issue. I was at a wedding and danced a lot and the dress did like to slide down some, so I'd recommend fashion tape. The hanger straps also like to peak out (I taped them).
Lorena
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 22, 2012

The customer service was so helpful and the quality of the dress was impeccable. I can't wait to rent again.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my friend's wedding and I absolutely loved the style, color and fit. David Meister is an amazing designer and after wearing this dress I went out and bought one of his creations.
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 14, 2012

College friend's wedding where beer was served in giant mugs.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
First and foremost, hanger loops!!! Their placement created a lot of frustration for me as there are several pictures where they are peeking out. If you rent this dress, make sure you have some dress tape to stick these puppies down, I wish I had some. I'm not sure where the reviews are coming from that this dress runs big, it does not. I typically wear a 4 and there is no way I could have worn the smaller size I rented based on the reviews. I would say if you are on the bigger chested side, there may be a better pick out there for you as this definitely adds interest to that area. I also can't stress enough that if you rent this dress you will definitely need spanx. While I had room in my midsection, it fit me very clean across the butt and thighs and if you have as much as a slightly raised mole, the fabric will show it. Overall though this is a very classy and pretty dress with a few disclaimers.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2011

Stand out color , beautiful fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my initially meant to be my back up dress but when I tried it on I was amazed at how well it fit. I was worried that the size 6 may be too small but it fit perfectly. The color is also much more vibrant than the photo lets on. I wore it to a Saturday evening wedding and received so many compliments. I would definitely rent this one again!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Dec 7, 2011

Lots of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my office Holiday party and got a lot of compliments. I don't have any better photos of the dress, I didn't have my camera, but it was very flattering. The 4 fit better shape wise, but the material was a little pully, so I wore the six, I had to keep pulling the top up, but other than that it was fine. Very festive, and not too revealing. The bow is very flattering.
Erynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 30, 2011

This dress made me feel elegant yet sassy. It was the perfect dress to wear to a wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a show stopper at a wedding! Everyone asked me where I got it because they said it looked so elegant and expensive. The fit was great, and it was SO comfortable. I didn't have to keep adjusting it with every dance move.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 29, 2011

Feeling beautiful in a gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress and got many compliments wearing it! I wore it to a November wedding in downtown Chicago so it was a perfect choice. Great color.
RTR Customer
May 18, 2015

Lots of compliments. Photographs well.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Stretchy material
Meaghan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 5, 2015

The dress was perfect being a volunteer at a charity event and having to run around.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was a little too loose in the bust and waist for me, I wish the size 4 had been available to rent as well. Had to keep pulling the dress up all night.
Marcia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

This was my first rental and RTR was great! Very pleased with the service.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Remember this is a strapless dress so if you are larger in the chest say C or more you may have a difficult time with the sizing. I am a 32D and wore size 2 but felt like it was a bit large and I was pulling up the dress periodically throughout the evening. GREAT color and very flattering.
haydee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

THE perfect birthday dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it for my birthday. Made me look slim and fancy. Hid my spare tire of a tummy.
Catherine
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 3, 2015

Flatters all of the right places.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit with fabric that has some give to it. The bow adds a great feature piece to this dress without being over the top. I got complimented on this dress so many times. Definitely going to rent it again.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Beautiful, but runs small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had to return this one, I'm a normal size 8, but this was quite tight and couldn't be zipped all the way, go at least one size up from normal. Possibly 2 sizes. Also if you are busty, this may not be for you.
Joyce
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 20, 2014

Fabulous! Got so many compliments and it looked so adorable.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The bow was fantastic added so much to the dress
Faye
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Hot dress; stood out!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was awesome and fit perfectly. I didn't have any problems keeping it up and the bow in the front helped cover up my problem area (stomach). The only thing I didn't like is - the dress had definitely been worn a lot. The red looked a little worn and even the fabric felt like it had been dry cleaned one too many times. Would i wear it again? Yes, but would opt for one that hasn't been worn so many times.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 24, 2014

New Years Eve!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for New Years Eve party, got a ton of compliments on it! The dress fit true to size, although the hanger straps did keep popping up and I had to shove them back down. overall great dress and i would rent it again.
Cathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

Fits like a glove

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A bit longer for 5'2"
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Just wasn't a good fit

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
While beautiful, this dress runs a bit small. It is stretchy but just didn't fit well. On the upside, RTR was awesome. They mailed me a different dress to my hotel & it was perfect!
Sidney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Okay, but not for a pear body type

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress had serious potential. Loved the color, the bow, and the stretchy material, but it wasn't tight enough on my chest (easy to remedy with a nice padded strapless bra) and it pulled/wrinkled at my thighs. In other words, too loose up top and too tight on the bottom. A size 4 would have fit my chest and a size 8 would have fit my hips. The size 6 was a compromise, but it just didn't work as well as I hoped. In the end I ended up going with a backup dress.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 151 lbs
May 21, 2014

Very flattering dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to my boyfriend's company gala. Received so many compliments on this dress, especially from the boyfriend. Very elegant dress, but sexy at the same time. Gathers at the waist, so it compliments the mid-section. Both the 6 and the 8 fit, however I went with the bigger size cause I thought we would be sitting most of the time. Highly recommend this dress!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
May 13, 2014

Second time rental!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Second time renting this dress. Love the fit. Material is stretchy so it has some give to it.
Jazmin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Not what I expected. : (

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material was not what I expected--it was thin, with a slight sheen, which was reminiscent of a bad bridesmaid's dress. I also wouldn't call the color a true red; more like and orange red. It runs small, but does have some stretch. Not the best fit for a pear shaped girl like me--even when going up a size, the bust was too roomy.
Nee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2014

Nice Dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs true to size. Because I'm bootylicious, I was afraid this dress wouldn't fit. Not only did it fit, it was comfortable! Also, the bow in the front hides any problem areas. I would definitely rent again.
ALR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

A real show stopper!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is definitely a "notice me" dress. The material is very stretchy, but the cut is very straight. I toe the line between being pear and hourglass shape - basically I have a booty - and this dress was a little tighter than I would have liked on the bottom, but going up a size would have made the top too loose (and there wasn't a 10 available when I ordered). It was still a great, fun dress and I got a lot of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 9, 2014

A beautiful dress, great fit!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits perfectly, exactly as described. My favorite dress ever!!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Great dress for a NYC wedding --

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a downtown NYC wedding, and was so happy with this dress! I rented the 2 & 4 and ended up wearing the 4. I was a little worried about the fit, but the silhouette and bow was very flattering with my hourglass figure. I paired this with a Lauren Merken clutch from RTR and had the perfect outfit for a classy NYC evening!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×