David Meister

Gold Lela Lace Dress

$30 rental
$575 retail
Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine at the gala wearing this stunning David Meister gold lace sheath. Stack bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Crystal Snake Eye Bangle Set to finish your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed slits in back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold metallic lace. Bateau neckline. Double cut-out back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
339 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(213)
Small
(80)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
November 15, 2014
Beautiful dress and easy process... This was my first transaction with RTR.
Too short for me... Also, you can tell this dress had been worn many times..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
November 24, 2014
I loved this dress!
Sorry I didn't get a better picture, but complete strangers were stopping me in the street to tell me how beautiful this dress was. I was a little worried about the fit. I am very pear shaped so tight and light colored dresses worry me but this dress was so flattering. I wore it to a wedding and it moved and stretched just enough to dance around and be comfortable. I wore one of the adhesive bras with no back and it worked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 14, 2014
This dress was absolutely stunning and I received so many compliments!!! Definitely worth renting!
The dress was very hard to put on, give yourself some extra time to get ready, you have to contort yourself to get in it! The zipper was also very hard to zip up, I needed extra help. Once I was in the dress it was absolutely stunning!! I received so many compliments and felt like a star :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 28, 2014
Even more gorgeous in person!
Absolutely stunning dress! Received compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 10, 2015
Always great to rent and feel amazing!
I fit in the 4 and 6 but felt more comfortable in the 6. I was able to wear a strapless bra so that was a plus. The sparkles did rub at my arm pits leaving a mark the next day. But I dealt with it for the evening. The slip hung down quite a bit which was annoying, I should have taped it up. I received a lot of compliments and it worked perfect for NYE, but probably would not rent this dress agIn.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 23, 2015
Dress arrived in plenty of time and was even more beautiful in person than online.
Fit is on the small side- I have been wearing 4's in most of my clothes, but after reading reviews I ordered a 6 and an 8 and the 6 worked fine. I'm 5'3, 130 lbs. Gorgeous dress! Comfortable to wear and didn't require any special bra, etc.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2015
Love this dress!
Love this dress! I received so many compliments, I was asked to be a bridesmaid only had two weeks to find a gold dress and went to RTR. The dress looks so much prettier in person. You are able to wear a strapless bra without it showing in the open back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 30, 2015
The dress is great but the fit was off on me.
I really loved this dress. Great for a tall person because it shows some leg. Unfortunately I couldn't wear it. I'm a rock climber so my upper back is a bit wider than normal. The 8 was too big but the 6 was too tight in the upper back :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2014
Loved the sparkle!
The dress was a hit and easy to dance in. It was fitted but didn't stop me from eating and enjoying the party. I received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 14, 2015
Loves this dress!
It fit pretty true to size. The bust was on the smaller side, I didn't wear a bra so that made the fit easier but something to keep in mind if you're bustier (I am not). Only downfall was, like other reviews, it was itchy under the arms. The zipper was also tough to maneuver, perhaps from a lot of wear. Otherwise, I was really happy with this dress. It was my first RTR and it was definitely a success. The dress was comfortable enough to wear through a long wedding and dance in without a problem. I would definitely recommend it or even rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 21, 2015
Got several comments on it!
Hurt my underarms after awhile due to sequins. Must be worn with spanx! lol But overall I am happy I rented this dress. Def order the size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 6, 2015
This was a great dress to wear as a bridesmaid. It was classy but also sexy. Loved it!
I had no issues with fit. The only thing that bothered me slightly was that it was tight under the armpits but I didn't notice after a glass of wine. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
August 11, 2015
This dress made me feel beautiful, was comfortable to dance in, & I got a lot of compliments on it!
I got a size four and it was a little loose in some areas, but overall fit very well. The sequins weren't scratchy at all and the length was perfect for my personal attendant duties. However, the slip was longer than the sequins so I had to pin up the slip so it didn't show. It was also a little difficult to hide my bra in the back. #summerwedding #PersonalAttendant #lovethisdress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
August 29, 2015
This dress was stunning, it was a hit, everyone loved all the sparkles!
The 4 was a little tight, so I put on the 6 which was a little big but more comfortable... Buttttt the zipper was broken so i ended up wearing the 4 anyway. The dress looked great, and I felt fantastic in it. It's one downside would have to be that after a while the sequins started to irritate my arms from brushing back and forth against them all day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
September 11, 2015
Attention grabbing sparkler!
Honestly both sizes looked the same on, but between the 2 and 4, the 4 was easier to wear and had less bunching. Comfortable. The cinching on the one side looks more like a mistake than an intention. But nobody noticed it because the dress is so sparkly and I got a ton of compliments on it. Yes the sequins are scratchy when dancing. My VS bra peeked through the corner of one of the cut outa all night I think - wear a backless bra instead if you can.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 5, 2015
Great dress!
This was my first time using RTR. Loved the dress and got lots of compliments. I usually wear an 8, so I ordered an 8 and 10, but wore the 10 since it was so fitted. I could have worn the 8 if I absolutely had to., it just would have been really tight. The slip was a little long so I just pinned it up a few inches so it wouldn't show. I didn't wear a bra because I didn't want to have to keep checking if it was showing all night. Overall, great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
December 20, 2015
Great first RTR experience, tons of compliments on the dress!
I wore this to a company holiday party and got lots of compliments! The dress fit great and was perfect for dancing. Sequins do rub a bit on the arms. I was able to wear a regular bra too which was a plus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
February 18, 2016
Great and comfy!
Dress was great! I got numerous compliments. It was also stretchy which made it very comfortable. I normally wear a six and had to wear my backup, the 8, so it runs small.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 13, 2016
Great dress
I got both a 4 and a 6. The 4 was super tight, the 6 fit great. I was a little self conscious in it, which I'm usually not and the sequins under my arms were a little annoying. But overall great dress. I always love RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
March 28, 2016
Fun dress for a wedding - sequin bomb!
Glad I sized up! Although both fit I preferred the look of the larger size for the wedding we attended. The lining did show a bit on the bottom throughout the night and the back was tricky with a bra. I used safety pins and fashion tape to secure it and it wasn't an issue all night. Received many compliments and it photographed great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
April 12, 2016
This dress gave me the shine and sparkle I wanted for the party!
It fit very well, a comfortable party dress. The only part I didn't enjoy was the sequins and detail around the arm holes would scratch me. No biggie after being in it for a bit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 21, 2016
So many sparkles!
This thing was so scratchy! My arm pits were burning by the end of the night :( Pros: the sequins are in a lace pattern. Very unique and beautiful detail. It is a unique look for a common dress type because of the back. It wasn't too short (I'm 5'4"). Cons: the slip shows out the bottom and it doesn't look good. I saw other reviews said this so I took a chance it would be fixed. It wasn't. I ended up pinning it which wasn't too difficult. It's hard to get on through the side zipper - no stretch to the fabric. It runs a little small - I had to wear the size up. Overall - I'm happy with how I looked at this event I helped to host. I wouldn't rent this again but I don't regret this rental. It definitely was a great price for a upscale dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 24, 2016
Not my favorite
This is my least favorite rent the runway I've done. I got a 4 and a 6 and the 6 was surprisingly tight. I usually fit just fine into a 6. The liner is longer than the dress (from too much dry cleaning) and showed in both the front and back. The sequins will turn your arms bright red from scratching near the arm openings. One plus is that you can wear a regular bra. Wouldn't recommend this dress. I've rented other sparkly dresses from RTR that are much better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 120lbs
January 25, 2015
Great dress!
This dress received lots of compliments all night! I never felt so confident in how I looked! The only flaw was that the lining hung lower and had to be pinned up. This dress ran a little small and the size 6 ended up just fitting. Definitely a classy yet sexy dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2015
Accommodated my baby bump for a summer wedding!
I wore this dress to a wedding where I was 22 weeks pregnant. The fabric had a little give to it- sans baby bump I would have been a size 2 but I didn't want the dress to fit too tightly. The fabric was a little scratchy which was the only downside... only really bothered me under my arms. My husband loved it which is an added bonus ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
November 8, 2015
This dress was a big hit! Lots of compliments and I felt beautiful in it!
Dress fit true to size... I didn't have to wear a bra which was nice! The zipper was hard to get up because of the material but besides that it came in great condition and was fun to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 21, 2015
This dress is beautiful... But ran way too small in the bust.
I usually wear a 2-4, but even the 6 was way too small in the chest. The dress was a solid three inches from zipping up. Sad. The fit info says fine for large bust, but it's really far from. Not really stretchy enough either. Fit well everywhere else.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
June 19, 2016
Classy Glitz Dress
This dress fit well, the 4 was tight under my arms so I wore the 6, the back was the best part of the dress. It's very pretty, classy with glam :) I didn't have issues with it scratching me like others did. Recommended.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 28, 2016
Arm holes too small
I'm normally a size 6-8 and the 8 was the only one available. I wouldn't say I have the skinniest of arms but when I put the dress on, it cut all the way up into my armpits. It was a beautiful dress though, wish I could have worn it. Definitely need to size up 1 or 2 for this one.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2016
Great, comfy dress!
This was my first RTR dress. I loved it!! I didn't think it would fit because 4's are usually pretty snug on me but it was the only size left! It actually fit. It kind of gathers in the stomach area which I wasn't expecting. I could definitely tell it had been worn before and was a tad bit stretched out. I got lots of complements and it was super comfy and not itchy at all!! Perfect for the black tie wedding I attended!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 29, 2016
Great dress!
Wore this dress to a black tie optional work event. The size 4 was definitely too snug so I went with the size 6, which fit perfectly! Very happy with my first RTR order.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2017
Black & Gold New Year's Eve
I rented this dress to wear to our work NYE party. Themed "classy Jazz," employees were asked to dress in black, gold or red formal attire. I had rented late so my preferred size and any back up size was unavailable. I took my chances on the available 4. The dress runs pretty true to size. I had expected a fit problem in the hips & thighs however the bust was my biggest issue. It took 3 people to close the last 2" of the zipper but once I was in the dress it was relatively comfortable. Spanx & a NuBra were absolutely necessary for me. By the end of the night the sequins did start to rub my arms slightly but it wasn't significant. The dress itself was in fair condition. The lining issue other reviewers mentioned was apparent but I was prepared to tack it up if necessary. There was some wear along the seams of both the neckline & the back. However no one noticed & it photographed beautifully. The dress was far more sparkly than I anticipated. I received many complements & 'best dressed' kudos from coworkers & guests. Overall I was happy with the choice & customer service provided.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2017
Loved the sparkle ... bra strap stuck out of the back
Loved the tight fit and sparkle of this dress! It was perfect for a night wedding with a fun bride and groom. My only complaint was my bra strap poking through the cut outs in the back. Fashion tape could be handy for this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
February 26, 2017
Beautiful
Beautiful and fun dress, tons of compliments, would rent again
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
March 28, 2017
Stunning
I received tons of compliments on this dress! I actually rented it a second time for another occasion. It compliments a curvy frame perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
May 2, 2017
Sexy gold dress!
I didn't end up wearing this dress for my birthday, as it was a little bit sexier than I was going for. It runs small, especially in the arms. Also the liner was longer than the dress, so not the best quality wise, I felt like it was an older dress. Also the back is a bit funky with the liner, I didn't have a bra that quite worked with it. I
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2017
Beautiful, but too small
Beautiful dress but runs really small. Even my backup larger size was way too small. Otherwise, I think it would have been great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2017
Tiny in waist so size up!
This dress was gorgeous and fun but the waist was so snug I couldn't even zip it and I have gone two sizes up from my normal size due to other reviews and still no such luck! Thankfully it fit my friend who was on vacation with me so did not go to waist but a bummer I couldn't make it work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
August 24, 2017
Gorgeous sequined dress
I wore this for a Gatsby themed wedding and it was perfect. Not too over the top but still within the theme. I got so many compliments! There is fabric in the back so I could wear a normal strapless bra. Loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 8, 2017
Love the back of this dress
Runs small order a size bigger I wish I got the next size up would have been so much more comfortable if I did.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×