Blue Nile Falls Gown

$61 to buy
$695 retail
Stylist Notes

Try lace for your next formal event wearing this gorgeous blue gown by David Meister. Bring out the beautiful royal blue hues with Oscar de la Renta's Globetrotter Earrings and finish off your look with Jules Smith’s Tribal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women, stretchy fabric allows extra room for fuller hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women, stretchy fabric allows extra room for fuller hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Royal blue lace (80% cotton, 20% nylon). Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
131 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
BEAUTIFUL DRESS!!!!!!!! Would rent again!
I wore this dress for a black tie formal wedding. The color is stunning! The fit was true to size. Received tons of compliments. Would highly recommend it!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 9, 2014
LOVE this dress!
Love, love, love this dress! Wish I could have gotten the longer size, but the regular was ok (the hem didn't quite hit the floor, so my heels just peeked out a little - I'd recommend the long if you're tall and it's available though). Very comfortable, and definitely a compliment magnet. The gathering at the hip and two layers of fabric work well to camouflage unwanted curves, but just be aware that it is still formfitting down to the mid-thigh. Also, I'm a 34DD and had no problems at all with the top of the dress. I rented the necklace pictured with the dress also, and the two are stunning together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 12, 2014
Dress is pretty.
This was a stylist pick for me to replace another dress which was unable to be shipped to me. I normally wear a 12 and tried a 12R. I'm fairly large in the chest and this was a bit big on me. The rest of the dress shows any lumps and bumps you have, so spanx are a must! I definitely would have needed a long in this dress had I worn it. With the right length and undergarments I could have made this work if needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
May 13, 2014
Lots of compliments!!
True to size, loved the blue and patterns on this dress. I felt very comfortable in it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
May 20, 2014
Tons of compliments
I waited until last minute to buy my dress and this was the only one available. Dress fit okay. I would have preferred a 4 but could get away with wearing a 6. I wore a strapless bra and used a tiny bit of fashion tape to keep my bra from showing where it draped under my arm. I'm pretty short (5'1) and wore 3 inch heels and it was just a tad long, but nothing that anyone would notice. The dress felt pretty plain so I added a statement necklace to dress it up. It shows your curves so I think it would look better on someone more stick thin. Not really my style dress but I received tons of compliments from everyone so I guess it worked out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2014
A knockout!
This dress is gorgeous and sexy. I got the 8, which is my regular size, and it fit absolutely perfectly, like a glove. It shows off all the right curves (booty especially) and the one shoulder is so elegant. The lace and the bright blue color are incredible too. i actually did not end up wearing this (I ordered it for prom) but I will definitely rent it again to wear to something else!!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful color and fabric
Being 5'10 I wish this were a few inches longer, with heels on it didn't reach the floor. Other then that, loved it. Comfortable, beautiful color, stretchy fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
June 9, 2014
They were so helpful and the dress was easily delivered and I LOVE MY DRESS
Everything was beautiful and I absolutely love my dress, and would definitely go to here again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
June 15, 2014
Felt so pretty in it
It was perfect, rouched at waist, no need to wear bra. Spanx were a must, it is form fitting. Felt so comfortable in it, dances the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2014
Very Beautiful
This was a very beautiful dress, I had allot of great compliments through out the night
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 3, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this dress!
This dress was very comfortable, and it fits true to side. I was complemented on it all night long. The color is very vibrant. Overall, it is a great dress; if I found it in a store I would purchase it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2014
Wedding in Newport, RI.
This dress made me feel like a movie star! The color is gorgeous and the dress is very comfortable. I'm usually a size 12 but the 14 was roomier around the waist and longer so I opted for that size. Great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2014
The constant compliments of my daughter and I looking fabulous.
This dress was amazing, I was afraid it wouldn't look right or fit well since the royal sweet 16 was four days away, but was so excited when I put it on and became ecstatic! I received so many compliments all night of the dress and danced just great in it :) totally worth it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 31
May 22, 2014
Great experience was easy and reliable.
Size runs a little large.
AngelaSeptember 17, 2014
You look stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2014
Beautiful, flattering dress!
Dress looked great! Fit nicely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 245lbs
November 20, 2014
Everything was perfect
I wore this dress to my cousins wedding this past June. I loved it. I am not a dressy dress gal but I loved every bit of this dress.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
July 26, 2014
Everyone complimented on how beautiful the color was of the dress. It is a really bright royal blue!
Dress is extremely roomy. Great fit! On the 10 the length was a little short so I wore flats and I am 5'4 if you wanted to wear heels I suggest going with a bigger size. Love rtr!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2014
The most perfect dress that made me feel so comfortable attending my first wedding ever!
This dress was so perfect! The royal blue color and lacey design were complimenting. Since the dress didn't fit so snug they you can't breath, I was able to eat (so much food at the wedding-yes!). The dress was a little long but once I put on my heels the bottom just ever so slightly grazed the floor. I love it and would definitely rent it again (ugh dear my friends, please hurry up and get married so I can have another chance to wear it!! )
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 195lbs
August 1, 2014
Military Ball
I didn't end up wearing this dress, it was very pretty though. Definitely body hugging, so needs spanx. I wish the blue was a little richer looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 21, 2014
Too short and has an odd bottom to the dress.
I really didn't like the bottom of this dress. It was way too short too. Just looked odd. May work for shorter people
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 21, 2014
Awesome! Made my evening!
I wore this to a black tie optional awards event and felt amazing and confident in it. I had a baby four months ago so I was worried about how it would look and fit-- turns out there was no need to worry, it was great! Even the bust fit well, and that is usually my biggest problem area for formalwear (I'm a 38DD). One tiny complaint is that the dress was a bit short. I am 5'4" and got the regular length, and it only just touched the floor with no shoes on. Overall, though, super-satisfied!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2014
Pretty dress but I am not sure it was worth the $90+ to rent.
I am about 5'6 and the 2 Long was a perfect length with the small heels I wore. I am 120lbs and usually wear a 2-4 in pants and 4-6 in dress but this 2 was a little big in the top (I am a 34B) and loose in the waist but that I didn't mind because I was comfortable. The blue is beautiful and the lace was in great condition. I think I could have purchased something similar. But rent the runway was a great a experience and I will try it again. The shipment arrived on time and was easy to return.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 4, 2014
My husband thought I looked beautiful & sexy!
This dress fit very well, and my husband loved it. I was concerned about it staying up, but needn't have worried. It stayed put without any tugging or adjusting. It was slightly shorter than I expected. I was able to wear it with a pair of kitten heels, but it would have been fine with flats as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 11, 2014
This dress definitely grew on me!
I rented this dress for my sister in laws wedding and it wasn't love at first sight. I didn't initially like the dress, it was a little big on me and didn't give me as much shape as I hoped for. I called RTR and they sent me several replacement dresses, fantastic customer service, and I ended up going with this dress after all. It was a little less formal than the runner up. I received SO many compliments on this dress, I was on cloud 9 by the end of the night! The length was perfect with my 4" heels. Definitely order down for back up. I'm long and lean and I really could have used a 0L in the dress!! I am so pleased with RTR, this was my first experience and even though I didn't have the best luck with sizes, I'll definitely be renting for my next wedding/event!! So much fun!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
October 18, 2014
Hey ladies! This was my very 1st RTR experience & I loved it!
This dress for very well:) I have 38 DD's. I got the long version & wore it with closed toe Rachel Roy pumps, they were black with trims of that same Royal/Pepsi Blue. My bag/clutch was black satin with gold studs. I wore gold draped earrings & a gold cuff bracelet. No necklace & sorry for the blurry picture. I had to use someone else's picture that they took because my phone was dead :/ no shaper undergarments were worn (this time lol) I'd definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2014
Easy to wear and perfect for someone with hips that are on the narrow side.
I'd recommend Spanx if you have tummy issues. The ruching isn't very forgiving.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
November 21, 2014
This dress was SO comfortable. My Fiance loved it. I would rent it again in a heartbeat.
I wore this to an NY fall black tie wedding. I got the 4R and the 2L and decided to wear the 2L with 3 inch heels (I am 5'7 1/2"). I wear a 27" jean if that helps for sizing. I also wore a strapless shaping bra because otherwise the top would have been slightly baggy. Loved the dress. It looks classy and fun.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
November 23, 2014
Fit great! Loved the color
Wore it to a military ball! Color was unique to the many other black dresses
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 29, 2014
Beautiful, standout dress! Vibrant blue!
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's spring fling for his law school. I was way overdressed for the event, but with this dress it didn't matter! People kept complimenting it all night, and apparently my boyfriend was receiving head nods and various hand signs from other guys at the event about my dress--supposedly signs of approval in man-code. As for fit, it is great if you have an hourglass figure, because it shows off your curves without being too risqué/showy. I ordered the 2L and the 4L and went with the 2L (though I could've chosen either--4L was "comfier" but 2L was like BAM!). I was able to wear my sky high Brian Atwood pumps w/it also. It is a beautiful, vibrant royal blue in real life, and the lace applique is stunning.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 9, 2014
Incredible color! Fit like a glove!
This is a gorgeous dress and is definitely figure hugging so spanx is a MUST, but despite that, it's not so close that it's uncomfortable or TOO tight. The color is incredible especially paired with gold accents. I would totally rent this gown again!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2014
This was my first RTR experience and I felt FLAWLESS!!!!!!!!!
I received this dress the day before my military ball and i was so nervous that the dress wouldn't fit. I have recently gained a bit of weight and I thought I was going to feel uncomfortable. When i put the 10r on i felt comfortable but you could see my little tummy I've put on myself over the last few months but the dress was overall very loose. After some coaxing i tried on the 8r and it was a slim fit. it hugged every curve of my body. I felt like a princess in this gown. The royal blue complimented my husbands uniform as well as his eyes. This was my first experience with RTR and i was very pleased to say the least. The gown god a little looser as the night went on but it didnt fail to amaze me and i got compliments all night long! I cant wait to order from RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2014
Nice dress but not for me
I purposely got a size bigger than I usually wear AND this was a back up dress for me. The 6 DID NOT fit my boobs. WAY too small. And the tummy area was way too loose. Granted I'm a true hour glass shaped girl and I have this problem a lot. I choose not to wear it and stick with my first choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 12, 2014
Gorgeous dress and great fit!
Hugs your body in all the right places. 2R was long even with 3" heels but easily taken up with hem tape. I got compliments all night! The material is light but lining provides warmth (I wore it to a winter wedding). Overall, a great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2014
would rent this again, i didn't get to wear it out!
super comfy, great fit, perfect length for 5'7"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 8, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW!
FANTASTIC color! A really great vibrant blue. It's not a heavy lace at all, which is good because the lining does have some stretch too it! I would recommend going with your true size and one size up as the dress will still be fitted! Another great dress from this designer, very flattering and comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 25, 2013
amaaaaazing dress
Could not possibly have fit any better.. sad to see it go back! Usually wear an 8 nowadays so I ordered regular length and the long just incase. I ended up wearing the long one with 4 inch heels, and it was just off the floor. It covered my shoes when standing still but I didn't feel like I was going to trip over it at all. The regular length would have been perfect for either flat shoes or less than a 2 inch heel. The style is very flattering, I loved the color and it is really comfortable!!
KKOctober 5, 2013
i assume you wore a strapless bra with this or one of those can you can configure with one shoulder strap?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 26, 2013
Such a pretty color for a black tie event!
This dress was incredibly comfortable and the most gorgeous shade of blue. I am more likely to wear a 4, but it had enough stretch in it that the 2 hugged my curves just enough to make it sexy, yet still be wearable. I got the 2R and wore flats (long night of dancing!). The only negative I'd say is that the lace is delicate and my jewelry snagged on it a couple of times throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2013
Pretty, but not for me!
I did not end wearing this. It felt almost too plain for a black tie wedding (for me). I ordered the 2L and it didn't hug my curves like I thought it should. I'm 5'8" and it was too short to wear with my 2" heels. Pretty but not for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 9, 2013
color on the model is misleading
The dress is actually a deeper blue. I am normally a 6 in pants and after chatting with a specialist she advised I size up vs down because of the fit on the hips. I am normally a 4 in dresses if they only cinch at the waist. Anyway, the fit around the hips was snug but the middle section was a little loose. I could have gotten away with it but I did a swap instead. Thank goodness RTR delivers same day in NYC!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 18, 2013
Beautiful & Comfortable Dress
I loved wearing this dress. The color was beautiful and it showed off my curves. I wore the size 10 due to the bust size. The length was a little shorter than I had expected. I am 5 4-1/2" and ended up wearing 1-1/2" heels.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×