Blue Nile Falls Gown

$61 to buy
$695 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Try lace for your next formal event wearing this gorgeous blue gown by David Meister. Bring out the beautiful royal blue hues with Oscar de la Renta's Globetrotter Earrings and finish off your look with Jules Smith’s Tribal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women, stretchy fabric allows extra room for fuller hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women, stretchy fabric allows extra room for fuller hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Royal blue lace (80% cotton, 20% nylon). Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
131 reviews
Fit
Large20
True to Size103
Small4
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135lbs
February 1, 2016
I felt like a million dollars!
The 4 fit better because the fabric is a bit stretchy. The 6 would have been fine but the 4 hugged a bit better. It was a bit heavy with all the fabric but didn't stop me from moving or dancing. I received so many compliments on the dress. Thank you Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
July 5, 2015
This dress is comfortable
I got many compliments on this simple dress. It was perfect for the masquerade ball that I attended. I went with the smaller size because the 8r was a little happy around the stomach area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
March 17, 2015
Not my first option, but perfect!
This wasn't my first option, but it was PERFECT and what I ultimately chose to wear for the night. I have a post baby belly and this dress (with the help of spanx) did wonders at hiding the belly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 17, 2015
Dress didn't make it to me & here's why I'm still happy...
This item recently became available to purchase... I had an event coming up that required a long dress and this was perfect. After a couple of days I noticed that it changed from "preparing to ship" to "not available to ship". While I was initially frustrated no one called me to let me know, talk to me about a refund... etc, I decided to make the call. That's when Tyler N. let me know the dress was damaged beyond repair and not up to their standards to sell (which is great they wouldn't sell you anything they don't see as worth it). She made sure I was refunded and she helped facilitate a replacement (this time a rental) that was in my price point. I am really pleased with how Tyler N. handled the situation and happy to know that when you purchase they want to make sure it's top quality. Kudos to the Rent the Runway gang.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 8, 2015
Great Fit!
This dress fit exactly the way I thought it would. It was a little long, but nothing a pair of heels couldn't fix!! My only warning to this dress is that it did rub in the armpit area. I loved this dress and would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
February 18, 2015
This dress was great I got so many compliments and it was very comfortable!
The color is brighter than it may appear online or in photos. It was a little long in the back but the right length in the front. I could have worn slightly higher heels. I did have to tug it up a few times as it was slightly bigger than I would have liked but overall a great dress and I felt great all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 12, 2015
Wear gold with this!
I wore this to my school's semi-formal as a second choice because UPS messed up the shipping label. I was devastated but the customer service at RTR was incredible and let me pick a new dress (this one), shipped it over night for free. This does run big in the top part and I have a large chest, do not be scared to get a size smaller than your usual size. I wore this with 3 inch heels and it was perfect. The color is even more amazing in person. I got so many compliments that evening and would recommend this dress to anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2015
Vibrant color, too short
Highlights: beautiful bright color and was comfortable dress to wear and dance in! Lowlights: way too short (I was only wearing 2 inch heels) and was a little loose in the midsection area. I used a belt to cinch up some of the loose fabric, but the ruching wasn't super flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 30, 2014
Felt and looked as if it were made for me
I absolutely ADORED this dress! I've never felt so good about myself as I did wearing this. It felt and looked as if it were made for my body, hugged my curves in all the right places. I received so many compliments. People mentioned it being too short, but I thought it was just right. It skimmed the tops of my heels, no ankle showed and it was easy to dance in. It was a little tight in the armpit of the strap side and a tad loose on the right bust but not noticeable after a drink or 2. Within an hour of wearing it I wanted to buy it so I could wear it again. If I owned this dress I'd wear it every where! Accessories: I wore it with gold 2.5 in heels, a simple gold necklace and gold bauble earrings. Also borrowed my grandma's mink coat to wear over it, fancy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2014
Went to my company party and brought my sister! We both did Rent the Runway - best decision!
Super snug - perfect length even with 2inch heels!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2014
would rent this again, i didn't get to wear it out!
super comfy, great fit, perfect length for 5'7"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2014
I felt like a glam princess all night long!
This dress is so comfortable. Easy fit and great color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 12, 2014
Gorgeous dress and great fit!
Hugs your body in all the right places. 2R was long even with 3" heels but easily taken up with hem tape. I got compliments all night! The material is light but lining provides warmth (I wore it to a winter wedding). Overall, a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2014
Nice dress but not for me
I purposely got a size bigger than I usually wear AND this was a back up dress for me. The 6 DID NOT fit my boobs. WAY too small. And the tummy area was way too loose. Granted I'm a true hour glass shaped girl and I have this problem a lot. I choose not to wear it and stick with my first choice.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2014
This was my first RTR experience and I felt FLAWLESS!!!!!!!!!
I received this dress the day before my military ball and i was so nervous that the dress wouldn't fit. I have recently gained a bit of weight and I thought I was going to feel uncomfortable. When i put the 10r on i felt comfortable but you could see my little tummy I've put on myself over the last few months but the dress was overall very loose. After some coaxing i tried on the 8r and it was a slim fit. it hugged every curve of my body. I felt like a princess in this gown. The royal blue complimented my husbands uniform as well as his eyes. This was my first experience with RTR and i was very pleased to say the least. The gown god a little looser as the night went on but it didnt fail to amaze me and i got compliments all night long! I cant wait to order from RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 9, 2014
Incredible color! Fit like a glove!
This is a gorgeous dress and is definitely figure hugging so spanx is a MUST, but despite that, it's not so close that it's uncomfortable or TOO tight. The color is incredible especially paired with gold accents. I would totally rent this gown again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 29, 2014
Beautiful, standout dress! Vibrant blue!
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's spring fling for his law school. I was way overdressed for the event, but with this dress it didn't matter! People kept complimenting it all night, and apparently my boyfriend was receiving head nods and various hand signs from other guys at the event about my dress--supposedly signs of approval in man-code. As for fit, it is great if you have an hourglass figure, because it shows off your curves without being too risqué/showy. I ordered the 2L and the 4L and went with the 2L (though I could've chosen either--4L was "comfier" but 2L was like BAM!). I was able to wear my sky high Brian Atwood pumps w/it also. It is a beautiful, vibrant royal blue in real life, and the lace applique is stunning.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
November 23, 2014
Fit great! Loved the color
Wore it to a military ball! Color was unique to the many other black dresses
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
November 21, 2014
This dress was SO comfortable. My Fiance loved it. I would rent it again in a heartbeat.
I wore this to an NY fall black tie wedding. I got the 4R and the 2L and decided to wear the 2L with 3 inch heels (I am 5'7 1/2"). I wear a 27" jean if that helps for sizing. I also wore a strapless shaping bra because otherwise the top would have been slightly baggy. Loved the dress. It looks classy and fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 20, 2014
Everything was perfect
I wore this dress to my cousins wedding this past June. I loved it. I am not a dressy dress gal but I loved every bit of this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 18, 2014
This dress has a lot of stretch to it. I did not end up wearing this dress. Beautiful color.
The length was ok. I did not end up wearing this dress. The fabric was stretchy and kind of tight. Pretty true to size as it seems the dress is supposed to be fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2014
Easy to wear and perfect for someone with hips that are on the narrow side.
I'd recommend Spanx if you have tummy issues. The ruching isn't very forgiving.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
October 18, 2014
Hey ladies! This was my very 1st RTR experience & I loved it!
This dress for very well:) I have 38 DD's. I got the long version & wore it with closed toe Rachel Roy pumps, they were black with trims of that same Royal/Pepsi Blue. My bag/clutch was black satin with gold studs. I wore gold draped earrings & a gold cuff bracelet. No necklace & sorry for the blurry picture. I had to use someone else's picture that they took because my phone was dead :/ no shaper undergarments were worn (this time lol) I'd definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 11, 2014
This dress definitely grew on me!
I rented this dress for my sister in laws wedding and it wasn't love at first sight. I didn't initially like the dress, it was a little big on me and didn't give me as much shape as I hoped for. I called RTR and they sent me several replacement dresses, fantastic customer service, and I ended up going with this dress after all. It was a little less formal than the runner up. I received SO many compliments on this dress, I was on cloud 9 by the end of the night! The length was perfect with my 4" heels. Definitely order down for back up. I'm long and lean and I really could have used a 0L in the dress!! I am so pleased with RTR, this was my first experience and even though I didn't have the best luck with sizes, I'll definitely be renting for my next wedding/event!! So much fun!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 9, 2014
Great color but tight bust
Rented this for a wedding in New York and got a 6L and an 8L. Both dresses for through the body but the 6L was a little constricting in the bustline. Also, I always have issues deciding between a R or an L. I'm 5'6"/5'7" which is on the line and I think I could have gone with either length in this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 4, 2014
My husband thought I looked beautiful & sexy!
This dress fit very well, and my husband loved it. I was concerned about it staying up, but needn't have worried. It stayed put without any tugging or adjusting. It was slightly shorter than I expected. I was able to wear it with a pair of kitten heels, but it would have been fine with flats as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2014
Pretty dress but I am not sure it was worth the $90+ to rent.
I am about 5'6 and the 2 Long was a perfect length with the small heels I wore. I am 120lbs and usually wear a 2-4 in pants and 4-6 in dress but this 2 was a little big in the top (I am a 34B) and loose in the waist but that I didn't mind because I was comfortable. The blue is beautiful and the lace was in great condition. I think I could have purchased something similar. But rent the runway was a great a experience and I will try it again. The shipment arrived on time and was easy to return.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 21, 2014
Awesome! Made my evening!
I wore this to a black tie optional awards event and felt amazing and confident in it. I had a baby four months ago so I was worried about how it would look and fit-- turns out there was no need to worry, it was great! Even the bust fit well, and that is usually my biggest problem area for formalwear (I'm a 38DD). One tiny complaint is that the dress was a bit short. I am 5'4" and got the regular length, and it only just touched the floor with no shoes on. Overall, though, super-satisfied!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 21, 2014
Too short and has an odd bottom to the dress.
I really didn't like the bottom of this dress. It was way too short too. Just looked odd. May work for shorter people
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2014
Beautiful, flattering dress!
Dress looked great! Fit nicely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 70
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
August 21, 2014
Having a dress that fit to perfection without spending hours searching the stores.
Fit is form fitting from shoulder thru hips. Doubt it would be comfortable for a well endowed bust as the fabric may be tight at the armhole. Fit is wonderful for a small waist, full hips. Fabric stretch defines waist so dress works well even for the long waisted. Would have liked another 1+" in length so I could wear more than a 1 1/2" heel. Dress is made for dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 195lbs
August 1, 2014
Military Ball
I didn't end up wearing this dress, it was very pretty though. Definitely body hugging, so needs spanx. I wish the blue was a little richer looking.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2014
I rented this dress for a wedding and loved it!
It fit true to size with a little wiggle room. Beautiful material and color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2014
The most perfect dress that made me feel so comfortable attending my first wedding ever!
This dress was so perfect! The royal blue color and lacey design were complimenting. Since the dress didn't fit so snug they you can't breath, I was able to eat (so much food at the wedding-yes!). The dress was a little long but once I put on my heels the bottom just ever so slightly grazed the floor. I love it and would definitely rent it again (ugh dear my friends, please hurry up and get married so I can have another chance to wear it!! )
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
July 26, 2014
Everyone complimented on how beautiful the color was of the dress. It is a really bright royal blue!
Dress is extremely roomy. Great fit! On the 10 the length was a little short so I wore flats and I am 5'4 if you wanted to wear heels I suggest going with a bigger size. Love rtr!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2014
The constant compliments of my daughter and I looking fabulous.
This dress was amazing, I was afraid it wouldn't look right or fit well since the royal sweet 16 was four days away, but was so excited when I put it on and became ecstatic! I received so many compliments all night of the dress and danced just great in it :) totally worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2014
Wedding in Newport, RI.
This dress made me feel like a movie star! The color is gorgeous and the dress is very comfortable. I'm usually a size 12 but the 14 was roomier around the waist and longer so I opted for that size. Great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 3, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this dress!
This dress was very comfortable, and it fits true to side. I was complemented on it all night long. The color is very vibrant. Overall, it is a great dress; if I found it in a store I would purchase it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2014
Very Beautiful
This was a very beautiful dress, I had allot of great compliments through out the night
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
June 15, 2014
Felt so pretty in it
It was perfect, rouched at waist, no need to wear bra. Spanx were a must, it is form fitting. Felt so comfortable in it, dances the night away!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×