David Meister

Blue Nile Falls Gown

$61 to buy
$695 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Try lace for your next formal event wearing this gorgeous blue gown by David Meister. Bring out the beautiful royal blue hues with Oscar de la Renta's Globetrotter Earrings and finish off your look with Jules Smith’s Tribal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women, stretchy fabric allows extra room for fuller hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Royal blue lace (80% cotton, 20% nylon). Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
131 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 23, 2014
Fit great! Loved the color
Wore it to a military ball! Color was unique to the many other black dresses
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 12, 2014
Gorgeous dress and great fit!
Hugs your body in all the right places. 2R was long even with 3" heels but easily taken up with hem tape. I got compliments all night! The material is light but lining provides warmth (I wore it to a winter wedding). Overall, a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2014
I felt like a glam princess all night long!
This dress is so comfortable. Easy fit and great color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
July 5, 2015
This dress is comfortable
I got many compliments on this simple dress. It was perfect for the masquerade ball that I attended. I went with the smaller size because the 8r was a little happy around the stomach area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 12, 2014
Dress is pretty.
This was a stylist pick for me to replace another dress which was unable to be shipped to me. I normally wear a 12 and tried a 12R. I'm fairly large in the chest and this was a bit big on me. The rest of the dress shows any lumps and bumps you have, so spanx are a must! I definitely would have needed a long in this dress had I worn it. With the right length and undergarments I could have made this work if needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Age: 31
May 22, 2014
Great experience was easy and reliable.
Size runs a little large.
AngelaSeptember 17, 2014
You look stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2014
The most perfect dress that made me feel so comfortable attending my first wedding ever!
This dress was so perfect! The royal blue color and lacey design were complimenting. Since the dress didn't fit so snug they you can't breath, I was able to eat (so much food at the wedding-yes!). The dress was a little long but once I put on my heels the bottom just ever so slightly grazed the floor. I love it and would definitely rent it again (ugh dear my friends, please hurry up and get married so I can have another chance to wear it!! )
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2014
Pretty dress but I am not sure it was worth the $90+ to rent.
I am about 5'6 and the 2 Long was a perfect length with the small heels I wore. I am 120lbs and usually wear a 2-4 in pants and 4-6 in dress but this 2 was a little big in the top (I am a 34B) and loose in the waist but that I didn't mind because I was comfortable. The blue is beautiful and the lace was in great condition. I think I could have purchased something similar. But rent the runway was a great a experience and I will try it again. The shipment arrived on time and was easy to return.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 11, 2014
This dress definitely grew on me!
I rented this dress for my sister in laws wedding and it wasn't love at first sight. I didn't initially like the dress, it was a little big on me and didn't give me as much shape as I hoped for. I called RTR and they sent me several replacement dresses, fantastic customer service, and I ended up going with this dress after all. It was a little less formal than the runner up. I received SO many compliments on this dress, I was on cloud 9 by the end of the night! The length was perfect with my 4" heels. Definitely order down for back up. I'm long and lean and I really could have used a 0L in the dress!! I am so pleased with RTR, this was my first experience and even though I didn't have the best luck with sizes, I'll definitely be renting for my next wedding/event!! So much fun!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
November 21, 2014
This dress was SO comfortable. My Fiance loved it. I would rent it again in a heartbeat.
I wore this to an NY fall black tie wedding. I got the 4R and the 2L and decided to wear the 2L with 3 inch heels (I am 5'7 1/2"). I wear a 27" jean if that helps for sizing. I also wore a strapless shaping bra because otherwise the top would have been slightly baggy. Loved the dress. It looks classy and fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2014
This was my first RTR experience and I felt FLAWLESS!!!!!!!!!
I received this dress the day before my military ball and i was so nervous that the dress wouldn't fit. I have recently gained a bit of weight and I thought I was going to feel uncomfortable. When i put the 10r on i felt comfortable but you could see my little tummy I've put on myself over the last few months but the dress was overall very loose. After some coaxing i tried on the 8r and it was a slim fit. it hugged every curve of my body. I felt like a princess in this gown. The royal blue complimented my husbands uniform as well as his eyes. This was my first experience with RTR and i was very pleased to say the least. The gown god a little looser as the night went on but it didnt fail to amaze me and i got compliments all night long! I cant wait to order from RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2013
Pretty, but not for me!
I did not end wearing this. It felt almost too plain for a black tie wedding (for me). I ordered the 2L and it didn't hug my curves like I thought it should. I'm 5'8" and it was too short to wear with my 2" heels. Pretty but not for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Weight: 110lbs
May 15, 2013
N/A
Dress runs large. Florida Gator blue color. Lace is not as pretty as Monique Lhullier's but the ruching in the mid section is nice. The only reason I'm giving it three stars is because my friends loved the dress, it was just not very "me", but it was the first time a 2 was ever too large on me (and 2 is the smallest size). True 0 girls should not rent the dress. The 2R was the perfect length for 5'4" with 3 -4 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 13, 2013
Being told the dress "fit me like a glove"
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding, and LOVED it! It was classy but also stood out with its beautiful bright (cobalt) blue color. I got lots of compliments the whole night but the best part was that I felt super comfortable in it! I am usually a 4, sometimes can wear a 6, and very rarely a 2, but I wore a 2R in this dress as the fabric was stretchy and the 4 felt a bit loose in the chest area (I'm a 34B). The R length was perfect for me, I would say if you're any taller than 5'3 and wearing heels, get the long...I wore 2.5 inch heels and the bottom didn't hit the floor, my toes peeked out. Highly recommend this dress! The lace detail is subtle but beautiful, the fabric light and airy, and I loved the mermaid-y bottom. Super flattering and slimming with some ruching around the waist that defined my waist line, super comfortable, and a great color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2013
Loved the dress but it was stretched out and worn.
I actually tried this dress on at a dept store before renting it. Usually I am a size 0, 2 or sometimes a 4. I tried on a size 4 and it fit perfectly so that's the size I rented. I was really disappointed when I got the dress and tried it on. The size 4 didn't fit the same way it did when I tried it on, and it seemed stretched out in the stomach and chest. I am a size 34C/D with a 26 inch waist, so to say there was too much room in the chest is rare for me. It wasn't so big I couldn't wear it, but big enough that I didn't feel my best for my event. Overall I would recommend this dress but make sure you get a second size even if you have tried it on before.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2013
Beautiful color, great fit!
This dress was great for the black-tie wedding I attended. I wore it with the necklace and earrings shown in the picture and suggested by RTR. The outfit came together great. I wore the dress with 3 inch heels and the length was absolutely perfect. Very comfortable and easy to wear - no fashion tape, special bra or spanx needed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2013
Perfect for my performance at a fundraising gala
LOVE this dress! Beautiful color, material, and shape. SO comfortable. It does stretch, so I'm glad I took the advice and ordered a 10. Perfect length for 3 inch heels on my 5'10' frame. Got complimented the entire night. Also easy to sit in, which is important for a pianist. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2013
Brilliant blue lace, eye catching but so comfortable while staying classy!
I rented the 2R and 4R because I planned on wearing flats, and the reviews said the dress ran a little large. The 4R fit PERFECT, I even could have worn a small one or two inch heel. The 2R fit but was on the tighter side but was MUCH shorter than the 4R. I am only 5'4" and it didn't even touch the floor. The color of the dress however was very brilliant blue and matched perfectly with my husbands marine corps dress blues. I am a 34DD wore a one strap bra and a tight body slip but didn't have to because the dress hides those minor flaws. Extremely comfortable for sitting through a ceremony and dancing all night! I would rent this dress and the gorgeous earrings again.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 23, 2014
Simple Yet Stunning
Wore this dress for my sister's wedding and felt like a million bucks! The lace gives this simple form-fitting gown a little extra something that makes it truly unique. It's very stretchy material so I would recommend getting the smaller size if you're between two sizes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 7, 2014
Pretty color, nice style, lots of compliments
I wore this dress for a black-tie optional charity gala. I got the 2R and the 4R just in case. I normally wear a 2 but am about 4 months pregnant so ordered the additional size as well. The 2 still fit and worked out great (but in other dresses I tried on, I needed a 4 so this particular dress might run a little large). Overall, it fit well, the style was nice, very pretty color. The only "complaint" is that it was actually a little shorter than I would've liked. I'm pretty short at 5'4" so wouldn't have thought to order the long option because that's usually way too long. But with 3-inch heels, this was just a tad too short for my liking.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 23, 2014
Perfect for my law school formal.
Gorgeous dress, gorgeous color. The fit wasn't quite right for me (it was a little big around the waist and bust), but I think it still looked great. I'm only 5'1" and I was wearing 5" heels the night I wore this dress which made the length almost perfect if just a tad too long still. I got tons of compliments all night! I paired the dress with a curly side pony, black chandelier earrings, and black open-toed heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 23, 2014
Beautiful dress! A ton of compliments!
Dress fit like a glove; however, it is a little short for my taste. I wore 16L and could only wear 2 inch heels. (I am 5'5.5" exactly and my husband is 6"3", so i live in 4 inch heels.) Other than that, this dress is made for me and all curvy women!! My measurements are 44" bust, 39" waist and 49" hips. According to these measurements I am closer to a size 18 on a chart; however, the 16 fit perfectly. It is a wonderful dress for those girls, who do not fit in standard sizes, but are not quite plus size either. This was my first time renting from RTR, and I absolutely loved it!! Can't wait for my next event so that I can Rent The Runway again!! Dresses arrived ready to wear in a lovely garment bag (which you get to keep! yay!), and all I have to do is mail them back tomorrow in the pre-postage UPS envelope bag provided. Amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 29, 2014
awkward fit
i chose this dress because of all the positive reviews and how it was great for girls with curves. The top runs large -it was loose on the sides but not fitted in proportion to the hips/waist Great dress - just not for me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 12, 2015
Wear gold with this!
I wore this to my school's semi-formal as a second choice because UPS messed up the shipping label. I was devastated but the customer service at RTR was incredible and let me pick a new dress (this one), shipped it over night for free. This does run big in the top part and I have a large chest, do not be scared to get a size smaller than your usual size. I wore this with 3 inch heels and it was perfect. The color is even more amazing in person. I got so many compliments that evening and would recommend this dress to anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2013
Not flattering on me
I rented this as a back-up option and decided not to go with it since it wasn't flattering on me. I am 5'10" and the long was too short for me in heels. The cut/ stretchy fabric accentuated my hips. It might work for other body types but wasn't great on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 19, 2014
I don't know that I will ever buy another dress from the store! RTR was a fantastic experience.
I did not end up wearing this dress. I am 5' 8.5" and the 4L was too short for anything other than flats - and they would have shown. As far as fit in the body - the 4 was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 27, 2014
Beautiful color, beautiful snug fit.
I ordered this dress as a backup and did not wear it. I tried it on, though, and it's a beautiful dress. It does run small, so size down. My stomach and hips are not perfectly flat, and curves really show in this dress, even with Spanx. I recommend this most for hour glass figures, so if you have rockin curves and a tight stomach, this would be amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 9, 2014
Great color but tight bust
Rented this for a wedding in New York and got a 6L and an 8L. Both dresses for through the body but the 6L was a little constricting in the bustline. Also, I always have issues deciding between a R or an L. I'm 5'6"/5'7" which is on the line and I think I could have gone with either length in this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
BEAUTIFUL DRESS!!!!!!!! Would rent again!
I wore this dress for a black tie formal wedding. The color is stunning! The fit was true to size. Received tons of compliments. Would highly recommend it!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 9, 2014
LOVE this dress!
Love, love, love this dress! Wish I could have gotten the longer size, but the regular was ok (the hem didn't quite hit the floor, so my heels just peeked out a little - I'd recommend the long if you're tall and it's available though). Very comfortable, and definitely a compliment magnet. The gathering at the hip and two layers of fabric work well to camouflage unwanted curves, but just be aware that it is still formfitting down to the mid-thigh. Also, I'm a 34DD and had no problems at all with the top of the dress. I rented the necklace pictured with the dress also, and the two are stunning together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
May 13, 2014
Lots of compliments!!
True to size, loved the blue and patterns on this dress. I felt very comfortable in it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
May 20, 2014
Tons of compliments
I waited until last minute to buy my dress and this was the only one available. Dress fit okay. I would have preferred a 4 but could get away with wearing a 6. I wore a strapless bra and used a tiny bit of fashion tape to keep my bra from showing where it draped under my arm. I'm pretty short (5'1) and wore 3 inch heels and it was just a tad long, but nothing that anyone would notice. The dress felt pretty plain so I added a statement necklace to dress it up. It shows your curves so I think it would look better on someone more stick thin. Not really my style dress but I received tons of compliments from everyone so I guess it worked out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2014
A knockout!
This dress is gorgeous and sexy. I got the 8, which is my regular size, and it fit absolutely perfectly, like a glove. It shows off all the right curves (booty especially) and the one shoulder is so elegant. The lace and the bright blue color are incredible too. i actually did not end up wearing this (I ordered it for prom) but I will definitely rent it again to wear to something else!!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful color and fabric
Being 5'10 I wish this were a few inches longer, with heels on it didn't reach the floor. Other then that, loved it. Comfortable, beautiful color, stretchy fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
June 9, 2014
They were so helpful and the dress was easily delivered and I LOVE MY DRESS
Everything was beautiful and I absolutely love my dress, and would definitely go to here again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
June 15, 2014
Felt so pretty in it
It was perfect, rouched at waist, no need to wear bra. Spanx were a must, it is form fitting. Felt so comfortable in it, dances the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2014
Very Beautiful
This was a very beautiful dress, I had allot of great compliments through out the night
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 3, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this dress!
This dress was very comfortable, and it fits true to side. I was complemented on it all night long. The color is very vibrant. Overall, it is a great dress; if I found it in a store I would purchase it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2014
Wedding in Newport, RI.
This dress made me feel like a movie star! The color is gorgeous and the dress is very comfortable. I'm usually a size 12 but the 14 was roomier around the waist and longer so I opted for that size. Great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2014
The constant compliments of my daughter and I looking fabulous.
This dress was amazing, I was afraid it wouldn't look right or fit well since the royal sweet 16 was four days away, but was so excited when I put it on and became ecstatic! I received so many compliments all night of the dress and danced just great in it :) totally worth it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×