Rent the Runway

David Meister

Blue Nile Falls Gown

$61 to buy
$695 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Try lace for your next formal event wearing this gorgeous blue gown by David Meister. Bring out the beautiful royal blue hues with Oscar de la Renta's Globetrotter Earrings and finish off your look with Jules Smith’s Tribal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women, stretchy fabric allows extra room for fuller hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women, stretchy fabric allows extra room for fuller hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Royal blue lace (80% cotton, 20% nylon). Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

130 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 103
Large 20
Photos 94
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 23, 2013

Really loved this dress!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful color and fit. Very comfortable. I'm 5'4" and wore 3 inch heels; the dress just skimmed the ground. I would definitely rent this again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

OK dress....

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back up dress. My first choice turned out to be way too short to even consider. This dress was pretty but it didn't quite fit me. A size 0 would have been perfect but RTR does not carry that. I could have worn it despite the fit but I just didn't feel pretty in it. The arm hole was a bit snug while the dress was too loos from the waist up. The length was great though. I could have easily worn some great heels with this dress. Didn't end up wearing it though. This order was my first major disappointment with RTR as everything got sent back and I wore my own dress instead. My fear is that with the growing popularity of RTR, it's just not what it used to be.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 27, 2013

Beautiful vibrant color, flattering fit

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was near-perfect, I might have even been able to go down a size. length was just slightly long with 3 1/2" heels and I am 5'8" - got caught on the bottom a bit while walking. Super comfortable, I was able to wear a bra with one strap detached. The color is nearly identical to multiple Emmy dresses I saw, and the dress worked great for an afternoon ceremony with a printed sweater on top. Loved it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2013

Beautiful color, great fit!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great for the black-tie wedding I attended. I wore it with the necklace and earrings shown in the picture and suggested by RTR. The outfit came together great. I wore the dress with 3 inch heels and the length was absolutely perfect. Very comfortable and easy to wear - no fashion tape, special bra or spanx needed.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

Color was stunning and I had many compliments

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was perfect. Definitely needed the long length. I am 5'8 and wore 5" heels. It was form fitting and sophisticated. No spanx needed as the stretch of the fabric held everything in the right place. Not over or under dressed for a black tie affair.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

Wonderful!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit wonderfully! It hit the curves in all the right places, and looked great. My only problems were the arm hole was a little tight, and the dress hem was a little bit short. I'd recommend it, either way though. And for you Army Ladies, this looks okay with the Dress Blues. It looks great with the jacket, and okay with the pants. Almost clashes, but not enough to worry about.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

Super comfy and very flattering

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a black tie wedding in NYC and it was incredibly comfortable and I certainly stood out in a sea of black. Like other reviews have mentioned, the zipper is a little awkward, its in the back, but it feels like it should be a side zipper. If your double jointed - you can get the zipper all the way up, ha! There's a bit of a stretch in the fabric which made it easy to dance in and the length was great. I'm 5"7 and wore the long with 3" heels and it was perfect. All in all, I would definitely wear this again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

LOVE this dress/did not wear

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only reason I didn't wear this dress is b/c it was my back up size and my husband preferred my first choice. It fit me like a glove, just perfectly, not too tight or loose. The length was perfect, too. Will save it for future formal affair.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Nov 26, 2013

Beautiful!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is gorgeous and fits great. It was a bit big from the waist down. I should have gone down a size. I wore a 10R since I am a bit busty -36C. I wore the dress with a multi way bra so I have the one shoulder strap on the bra as with the dress. I wore Spanx to ensure no underwear lines would show. The dress is very comfortable and with 3.5 inch heels it was perfect. I am 5'4. Loved the experience, loved the dress. Will rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 27, 2013

great dress. had blue dy jewelry with it, and looked beautiful. got many compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
very comfortable, true to size...would rent it again!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

Beautiful Dress! Excellent Quality!!!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a size 0, 30DDD, 109-113lbs, 5'1. I added a black sash around the waist and it was perfect paired with black 5 1/4" heels. Stunning-lots of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

I don't know that I will ever buy another dress from the store! RTR was a fantastic experience.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not end up wearing this dress. I am 5' 8.5" and the 4L was too short for anything other than flats - and they would have shown. As far as fit in the body - the 4 was perfect.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

Got it as a back up

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is stretchy and forgiving, and the lace is beautiful. The color looks a little more subtle in real life than in the picture. (I got 2 dresses, and this was beautiful. Hard choice, but I went with the other.)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Beautiful color, beautiful snug fit.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress as a backup and did not wear it. I tried it on, though, and it's a beautiful dress. It does run small, so size down. My stomach and hips are not perfectly flat, and curves really show in this dress, even with Spanx. I recommend this most for hour glass figures, so if you have rockin curves and a tight stomach, this would be amazing.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 8, 2014

Very well fitting dress. Forgiving in the stomach and very sleek! Comfortable and elegant.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The lace at the bottom occasionally got caught up in my heels, which is the only issue I had with the dress all night. I have a large bust and this dress covered me perfectly and comfortably, while the one shoulder and gorgeous color gave it that very elegant look.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

I enjoyed wearing it very much

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is perfect fit dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

This dress was amazing!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a black tie event my nonprofit was running so I needed something elegant that I could work in also. This dress was perfect. Beautiful, fit me great everywhere & I was so comfortable in it! The color is also stunning! I am very fair skinned and the deep blue color added so much. Rent it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 22, 2014

Beautiful color and style

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as my first choice, but the 2R was damaged from the previous renter so I had the 4R and it was too big...the 2R would have been the perfect fit so I didn't get to wear it. I will definitely try again when the 2R is available in this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Mar 7, 2014

Pretty color, nice style, lots of compliments

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a black-tie optional charity gala. I got the 2R and the 4R just in case. I normally wear a 2 but am about 4 months pregnant so ordered the additional size as well. The 2 still fit and worked out great (but in other dresses I tried on, I needed a 4 so this particular dress might run a little large). Overall, it fit well, the style was nice, very pretty color. The only "complaint" is that it was actually a little shorter than I would've liked. I'm pretty short at 5'4" so wouldn't have thought to order the long option because that's usually way too long. But with 3-inch heels, this was just a tad too short for my liking.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Felt beautiful!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress just hugs in all the right places! I felt comfortable, beautiful and sexy! What more could you ask for in a formal gown. I wore capri length shapers underneath to smooth everything out but the lace nicely camouflages any seams those might leave. The color is gorgeous. I am 5'10" and wore around 2-3" heels and had just about the right length (maybe just a bit too much) with the 10L.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2014

It's a lovely dress...

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true-to size. I had planned to wear this dress for a charity gala I was photographing, but decided to go with the back-up Nicole Miller Lady in Waiting gown instead. The color of this dress is fabulous! The lace is a bit heavy but soft so it falls very nicely and drapes quite well at the hemline. I wore the 8L because I was wearing 3 3/4" heels with a 1/2" platform, and as recommended, the length worked out well. The bodice fit snuggly, but not tightly, so it's a comfortable wear. If you are a busty lady and need more support than the tape-bras offer, you can probably wear this with a convertible bra if you can adjust the shoulder straps around the perimeter of the bra's torso strap so that you don't have to fear having the straps peeking under the neckline.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 20, 2014

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got complements on the color and the rouching on the side is flattering. Low maintenance--staying up and pretty all night dancing!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

awkward fit

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
i chose this dress because of all the positive reviews and how it was great for girls with curves. The top runs large -it was loose on the sides but not fitted in proportion to the hips/waist Great dress - just not for me
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

A very comfortable and flattering dress. The color is better than the picture.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was a little heavier than I like but the 8R fit my 5'4" 135 lbs beautifully. Very comfortable, very flattering and forgiving. The color is lighter than the pictures on line. I'd call it Royal Blue. I'd wear this dress again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

The dress fit like a glove and was made of high quality fabric.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was true to size and I have almost no hips but I do have a larger chest (34D), and I was able to wear this without a bra. It was tight enough on the top to hold the girls up and not show any nips, and it also hugged the rest of my curves (I'm 120lbs). It was the perfect length, I wore it with 4 1/2" inch heels and the dress barely touched the ground. That being said, if you are taller than 5' 7" or plan on wearing heels higher than 5", this wouldn't be a good pick. I wore it to my friend's army ball and it was perfect; modest and elegant while still extremely flattering.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 10, 2014

Beautiful, Fun Gown

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a masquerade Gala and it was almost perfect. Fit was great, color is fantastic, fabric feels rich, but it was a bit short. I'm 5'5 so most dresses are perfect with a 3" heel or higher, not this one. Besides the small shoe debacle, everything else was great!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

PERFECT!!!!!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting and I couldn't have for a better experience. I was a bit apprehensive as I'm 5"2" and was concerned with the length. The dress fit perfectly. It's a beautiful colbolt blue. Got compliments all night long. I would recommend wearing some sort of support garment. I wore a Spanks slip that fit from my ribcage down. It helped smooth out everything. My only suggestion would be to try a size smaller. I felt like the dress stretched a bit as the evening went on. The dress was very comfortable and the ruching was very flattering. Over all perfect!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Beautiful dress and was so comfortable! Color was vibrant and got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'6 and got the long. I usually wear a 6 but was afraid that would be too tight because it's fitted. The 8 was perfect and I could maybe have done the 6. Very comfortable dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2014

BEAUTIFUL DRESS!!!!!!!! Would rent again!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a black tie formal wedding. The color is stunning! The fit was true to size. Received tons of compliments. Would highly recommend it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 27, 2014

Too short!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a long, and the dress was still too short. Kind of blah overall too.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

A knockout!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is gorgeous and sexy. I got the 8, which is my regular size, and it fit absolutely perfectly, like a glove. It shows off all the right curves (booty especially) and the one shoulder is so elegant. The lace and the bright blue color are incredible too. i actually did not end up wearing this (I ordered it for prom) but I will definitely rent it again to wear to something else!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Very Beautiful

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a very beautiful dress, I had allot of great compliments through out the night
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Absolutely LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very comfortable, and it fits true to side. I was complemented on it all night long. The color is very vibrant. Overall, it is a great dress; if I found it in a store I would purchase it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 195 lbs
Aug 1, 2014

Military Ball

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this dress, it was very pretty though. Definitely body hugging, so needs spanx. I wish the blue was a little richer looking.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

Too short and has an odd bottom to the dress.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really didn't like the bottom of this dress. It was way too short too. Just looked odd. May work for shorter people
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 18, 2014

This dress has a lot of stretch to it. I did not end up wearing this dress. Beautiful color.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The length was ok. I did not end up wearing this dress. The fabric was stretchy and kind of tight. Pretty true to size as it seems the dress is supposed to be fitted.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 20, 2014

Everything was perfect

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my cousins wedding this past June. I loved it. I am not a dressy dress gal but I loved every bit of this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Incredible color! Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a gorgeous dress and is definitely figure hugging so spanx is a MUST, but despite that, it's not so close that it's uncomfortable or TOO tight. The color is incredible especially paired with gold accents. I would totally rent this gown again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Nice dress but not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I purposely got a size bigger than I usually wear AND this was a back up dress for me. The 6 DID NOT fit my boobs. WAY too small. And the tummy area was way too loose. Granted I'm a true hour glass shaped girl and I have this problem a lot. I choose not to wear it and stick with my first choice.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

would rent this again, i didn't get to wear it out!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
super comfy, great fit, perfect length for 5'7"
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×