David Meister

Black Seductive Sequin Gown

$135 rental
$648 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this sexy v-neck David Meister gown for that big black tie event you are attending. You'll stop everyone in their tracks when you walk in wearing this stunning style. Stack two beautiful bracelets like the Kate Spade's Putting on the Ritz Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle then earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey with sequin inset(100% rayon). V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

100 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 80
Large 6
Photos 28
Julie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 26, 2012

all the compliments I got!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress - it was really comfortable and it fit great! I got so many compliments on it.
NATI
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 14, 2012

Entering our works 'oscar' ceremony and having peeps want to take my photo on the red carpet

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I actually rented another dress and this was the back-up, but when i put this on it was a clear winner- perfect fit - I am 5,7, 115 pounds and in 2 inch heels was the perfect length too. I had to go on stage that evening and was afraid the dress would be too long and I'd trip, but it skimmed the floor - so i def recommend the L (long). the clever twists/panels mean you can hide any slight belly - so made it super comfortable. The neck line is very sexy though and i had a lot of comments about my rather eyecatching assets! ;) my biggest tip tho - i hired a Badgely Mishka necklace to go with this and it really made the dress, the massive bling with the black worked well, without it might have looked too plain for my black tie event overall 9/10
MM
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Feb 15, 2012

Loved the dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress. As others have mentioned, the cut isn't as low as it looks on the model, so it's not a deep V, but I still thought it was pretty and it fit very well.
Judy
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 2, 2012

My overjoyed husband :)

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect dress for my husband's charity event. He loved how it accentuated my curves and I loved the pretty swish of the mermaid-like skirt. It's also impossibly comfortable to be such a formal and elegant gown :) It definitely needs a beautiful blingy necklace and my "Mystery Bling," Kate Spade's Putting on the Ritz necklace was perfect! Thank you RTR!
Christina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Absolutely Perfect!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress has a gorgeous drape and with the addition of opera-length gloves, it was a hit at a party I atttended with the theme "Old Hollywood Glamour." With the way the bottom of the skirt moves as you walk, I felt like Rosemary Clooney in White Christmas singing "Love, You Didn't Do Right By Me."
Kami
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 26, 2012

How easy it was to find the perfect dress.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This fit exactly like I expected from the descriptions. I wanted a vintage looking gown for an art deco themed party and this was perfect! Loved it! I got a ton of compliments on it.
Dana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

So comfortable, absolutely beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wasn't as long as I thought it would be which was great cause I was tripping over the dress.
Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 27, 2012

Wore it to black tie gala for charity and received many compliments.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was true to size and fit well. It was very comfortable and very light to wear. It is a perfect dress for us curvy women.
Lesia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

The dress is so flattering and would work on a variety of shapes. The bonus: it's super comfortable!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie event. I loved that I could wear a bra with this dress and didn't need to pull at a strapless bra all night. The mermaid bottom accentuated my backside, and with 3 inch heels made me look super tall and lean. I loved the whole RTR experience, and appreciate that they got my dresses to me on time despite Hurricane Sandy. I would definitely do it again! (Note, pay attention to the guidelines for ordering a regular versus long. I was mistakenly sent a Regular in another style, and it was way too short. Kudos to RTR's excellent customer service for refunding me the rental fee on that dress!)
Ann
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Extremely flattering!!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'9" and unfortunately there was no 4L available so I wore the 4R which was a little short, even in flats, but not a deal breaker. I got the 2L also which was the right length but just a little to clingy around my hips. I have a hard time finding dresses that flatter my chest and body (I'm a 34D, but I don't have much of a butt or hips) but this dress was perfect. The V was flattering, but not too revealing and I never felt like I was going to fall out. I could also wear a normal bra and there was no tape!!! I really loved wearing this dress and will probably rent it again!
Domonique
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Feb 4, 2013

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly and I was very satisifed with the outcome!
Brenda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

The "Wow" I got from my boyfriend when I walked out of the bedroom with the dress on.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress. Usually wear a size 4 but with the heels it was way to short. Fortunately I ordered a second size in a 6 long. It was perfect with my 4 inch heels. Would definitely use this service again. Thank you
Kristan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

My brother said, "Wow, you look stunning!"

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved wearing this dress. It was the most comfortable I have ever been in a formal gown. It was extremely flattering from all angles. I am 5’2 and I wore five inch platforms, and the 6R was the perfect length, not dragging on the ground at all. I loved the whole rent the runway experience. Easy, fast and way more reasonably priced than buying and altering even an inexpensive gown. This is a wonderful option for military wives or girlfriends who attend lots of formal events.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Incredible Elegant Dress

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was actually my back-up dress but it was so beautiful I had to wear it. The pictures do not do it justice. It is flattering, SO comfortable and the sequin accent is perfect. I'm very glad that I got the long because the length was perfect with 3" heels.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 18, 2013

Perfect for a black tie event

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would order the long. I am 5'6 and I wish the dress would have been a little longer. But the overall fit was perfect and lots of compliments.
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Elegant dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was actually my back up dress but fit me perfectly. It's also really comfortable which was perfect for dancing all night at a wedding. It just barely reached the ground so might be too short on taller people.
Regan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Elegant, Yet Comfortable

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's black tie, New Years Eve wedding. I wanted something elegant and formal, that wouldn't be constrictive on the dance floor or uncomfortable to wear for 8 hours (the time between the ceremony and the end of the night). PROS: The pinched midsection and low neckline accentuated my figure in just the right places. The fabric was totally forgiving and the cutouts at the waist added just a bit of sparkle. CONS: While the length of the 6L was glamorous in theory, the mini-train was hard to manage in 4 inch heels. I was also doused by a falling glass of champagne around midnight (not my own, thank god), which unfortunately made the fabric of the dress smell TERRIBLE and sulfuric (think: rotten eggs, marsh at low tide). It must have been a reaction between the alcohol and dry cleaning chemicals ... not a fault of RTR, but a word of caution to be careful around liquids! All in all, a great first RTR experience and an unforgettable night :)
Aly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Tons of compliments at my boyfriend's holiday party!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I'm trying to find a good picture for this dress, everything I've found is just from my chest up. Overall I was happy with how the dress fit, but it did seem to run a little big. I'm typically around a 2/4 and easily could have fit in the 0 I think. I rented the 2L and 4R as that is all that was available. I didn't even try on the 4 since the 2 was a bit loose. Also, if you're at all tall I would definitely recommend the long size. I'm 5'8" and with barely 2" heels the dress was just skimming the ground. update: photos added! Sorry about the glowsticks... Ke$ha and Snoop Dogg/ Lion were there
lisa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Feb 8, 2014

Sexy and comfy!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits exactly as described by others. I'm 5'6" and in 2 1/2 heels it barely touched the top of my foot. I did wear a regular brA which was great and just control top hose. Would definitely rent again
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Flattering Dress

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love the dress. After reading all the comments of how short it was I went with a 6 long and it fit perfect with my 3 inch heals. The dress was very comfortable and flattering at the same time. I will be using rent the runway for all my formal events.
Alice
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 4, 2014

I absolutely LOVED this gown! I received so many compliments; I felt absolutely beautiful all day.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 6L and and an 8R- the 6 long was perfect with 3.5 inch heels. This gown was very comfortable and fit beautifully. I rented this for my goddaughter's wedding, so it had to be special. I wore it to the church and to the reception. People were asking me where I got thegown so I told them all about RTR. Some of them got right on their cellphones to look at all the beautiful clothing you have. I would recommend this gown to anyone who wants to feel glamorous and chic.I will definitely use RTR again. Thanks for making my day beautiful.
Johanna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 10, 2014

Queen of the party

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect fit, i loved this dress
JOJO
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 16, 2014

Elegant dress. Not as low as it looks on the model.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It wasn't as short as I thought it would be based on other's reviews. However, I was glad to order the long size. I would not have ordered long if it weren't for the reviews and it was definitely perfect in the long.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 19, 2014

Easy to wear

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a black tie function. I found it very comfortable and easy to wear. The only exception is that the sequins under caused a few scratches on my arm, but nothing serious. The dress is the perfect length for someone under 5'3" with three inch heels, anyone taller should get the long. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Ryan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 2, 2014

Nice but very basic

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as my backup dress and didn't end up wearing it. Nice classic black dress, not too showy, good coverage and slimming. To me, it just really lacks a wow factor.
Jenny
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 2, 2014

Wore this dress to ball

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit absolutely perfect, the sequins under the arm were a little bit uncomfortable and irritating. But overall it was super comfortable and a flattering fit
Liz
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Dress was pretty great for a curvy body!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Way too short for me even in a long!
Mary
Age: 47
Jun 2, 2014

The dress I did wear not this one but this dress is beautiful

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very sexy and I would of wore this bit my first choice was the dress for me
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Jun 6, 2014

Classy and elegant.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the way this dress looked, It was such a great pick. I would rent it again.
Heather
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

The dress was highly complimented at a business gala I attended! Steph (also pictured) was jealous!!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. However, I am a true size 12. I am 5'8", so I was worried that a "L" may not be long enough with heels. But it worked out wonderfully. I will definitely rent again!
Jana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 20, 2014

Stunning & Elegant

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is not only stunning and elegant, but it is also comfortable. So easy to wear all night long. The length was just right in kitten heels. May want to order long if you have high heels.
carol
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 0
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

nice dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress. It fit like a glove. It is extremely forgiving. I opted to wear another dress because I wanted more of a WOW factor. Very comfortable!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 31, 2014

Wonderful dress for a formal affair

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 6L and an 8L. I think they sent a 6R because I put it on, the size was perfect but the length was disappointing as you could see my entire shoe, the dress was nowhere near the ground. The 8L was a bit big but I still wore it because I couldn't wear the high-water dress. Overall it's beautiful, I wore tights because it was a little chilly, but didn't wear spanks. Loved that I could wear a normal bra.
Carmen
Usually wears: 2
Age: 47
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my primary dress but I ended i up wearing my backup dress. At 5'7'' it is a little short. It is timeless and elegant. And I guess this was just it. I felt it was beautiful but kind of boring.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Perfect Bond girl dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
jersey fabric was SO comfortable. Could wear a normal bra (which is key!). Had a million compliments. I would definitely order this one again. Wish I could buy it.
pdp1997
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Pretty, but short.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is much more of a "mermaid" style than what the photo indicates. It is also runs very short. I am 5'3" and ordered regular length. It was the perfect length without shoes. Adding heels made this dress short. A short mermaid dress is never a good thing on anyone. Thank goodness I had an extra dress in my closet. I would recommend a size long for anyone over 5'1" tall.
Lea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

The entire evening was great, every part of it was unforgettable, especially the location.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved how this dress fit, and it was so comfortable wearing all night too. We attended a black tie event at the Smithsonian Portrait Gallery in Washington DC and this dress was just perfect for the evening. I felt comfortable enough to dance in it and sit and eat, which we know is important. It was very flattering and its very true to size. However I will say I usually don't order longs in dresses or pants and in this I ordered a 2L and a 4R, and the R was way too short on me, I needed the L, so I was very happy I did that. The heels I wore were about 2.5-3 inches high. Its a very simple and elegant dress and I was very pleased with how I felt all night in it. Thanks RTR!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Fit perfectly and looked stunning!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit very well. Was slightly tight across the thighs and the next size up was too big overall but it didn't bother me or ruin the shape of the dress. I am 5'3", wore 4inch heels and the length was perfect. The neckline is not as low as it seems in the pictures, its very classy but sexy. Loved it and would recommend.
Amber
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 24, 2014

This gown arrived in perfect condition. LookedBrand new.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It IS SHORT. I am 5'3" and had to resort to shorter (2.5 inch heels) and it didn't reach the ground.
Ann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

This dress commands attention!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally intended this dress to be my backup, but I fell in love with it. Fit: The material is very stretchy, so your body type has a lot to do with how it looks. However, there is some ruching in the front that gives the illusion of a flat stomach. Length: I wore 2.5 inch heels, and the dress hit the floor perfectly. Cons: The dress is very low cut--more than what I thought it would be after looking at the photos. After some clever use of double stick tape, I felt much more secure. Overall, this dress is very sexy and will definitely catch everyone's eye!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×