David Meister

Black Seductive Sequin Gown

$159 to buy
$648 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this sexy v-neck David Meister gown for that big black tie event you are attending. You'll stop everyone in their tracks when you walk in wearing this stunning style. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Black matte jersey with sequin inset(100% rayon). V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
112 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(89)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 2, 2016
Classic dress
Got lots of complements wearing this dress to a black tie event. Very easy to move around in, very easy to accesorize.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2016
Elegant cut
Did not wear as the dress is cut on the bias and looked hippy on me. As I was attending a professional event, did not want to call attention so chose another more appropriate dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 8, 2011
This is a pretty dress, but not as stunning as I thought it would be. It's just your simple long black dress. It was almost too long for me. I wore 3 inch heels and it hit right at the floor. It fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
November 17, 2011
Neckline is really high
Rented this for the Marine Corp ball and did not wear it. The neckline is so high (not like it's shown on the model) and was the most unflattering dress I have ever put on because of the neckline and odd gathering. True to size.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2011
Elegant, but short
Runs short, so if you are between lengths, go for the long one because I could not wear high heels. Also, the neckline was much higher than it appears to be on the model. Otherwise it was great!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2012
Elegant Black Dress!
I wore this to a black tie nye party! It is very elegant, but was just a black dress so I didn't stand out like I had hoped. I normally wear a 4 in dresses or 6 in pants. But the 2 fit great and was the most flattering. Definitely go with the long! I wore mine with 2 inch heels and at 5'8" ..wish it could have been a little longer.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
February 14, 2012
Entering our works 'oscar' ceremony and having peeps want to take my photo on the red carpet
I actually rented another dress and this was the back-up, but when i put this on it was a clear winner- perfect fit - I am 5,7, 115 pounds and in 2 inch heels was the perfect length too. I had to go on stage that evening and was afraid the dress would be too long and I'd trip, but it skimmed the floor - so i def recommend the L (long). the clever twists/panels mean you can hide any slight belly - so made it super comfortable. The neck line is very sexy though and i had a lot of comments about my rather eyecatching assets! ;) my biggest tip tho - i hired a Badgely Mishka necklace to go with this and it really made the dress, the massive bling with the black worked well, without it might have looked too plain for my black tie event overall 9/10
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2012
My overjoyed husband :)
Perfect dress for my husband's charity event. He loved how it accentuated my curves and I loved the pretty swish of the mermaid-like skirt. It's also impossibly comfortable to be such a formal and elegant gown :) It definitely needs a beautiful blingy necklace and my "Mystery Bling," Kate Spade's Putting on the Ritz necklace was perfect! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
May 2, 2012
Hollywood Glamour
I rented this dress for a fundraiser with the theme of Old Hollywood glamour. It was the perfect mix of modern and vintage. I received all kinds of complements and I felt beautiful in it. My only concern was that it seemed a little short (I'm 5'9" and it didn't hit the floor even barefoot) but it still worked out wonderfully.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 18, 2012
Fantastic
This dress fit my curves beautifully! I got so many compliments on it. It was a little difficult to find the right shoes.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 26, 2012
all the compliments I got!
I loved this dress - it was really comfortable and it fit great! I got so many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Body type: Pear
September 14, 2012
Nice dress - a bit worn
The dress was nice - it was definitely worn & not as striking as it looks in the picture, although I did get numerous complements. I was, however, a bit disappointed with the RtR service. I only received 1 dress (instead of 2) - thankfully the size I received fit - and the Spanx I purchased (as recommended) had a run.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 24, 2012
Absolutely Perfect!
This dress has a gorgeous drape and with the addition of opera-length gloves, it was a hit at a party I atttended with the theme "Old Hollywood Glamour." With the way the bottom of the skirt moves as you walk, I felt like Rosemary Clooney in White Christmas singing "Love, You Didn't Do Right By Me."
RTR CustomerNovember 15, 2012
You look gorgeous!
KelleyAugust 30, 2013
Classy, classic! Made for YOU!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2012
How easy it was to find the perfect dress.
This fit exactly like I expected from the descriptions. I wanted a vintage looking gown for an art deco themed party and this was perfect! Loved it! I got a ton of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 17, 2012
Sent me the wrong size.
I ordered an 8R and must have received an 8P. Dress was above the ankles without shoes on. A bit conservative for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
October 27, 2012
Wore it to black tie gala for charity and received many compliments.
The dress was true to size and fit well. It was very comfortable and very light to wear. It is a perfect dress for us curvy women.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
November 7, 2012
Didn't wear
I did not like the dress on me because it was a little too big and was not as low cut as the picture. Since it was too big, the dress flowed oddly when I walked. Besides that, I can see someone else really enjoying this dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 9, 2012
Wore to a benefit ball, the added sequins gave it a beautiful and elegant touch.
Very pretty dress, but not as fitted in the tummy as I had hoped.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
November 19, 2012
Elegant, slinky and the bottom moves 2 seconds after you do.
No one mention the flounce skirt on the bottom! If you look closer the skirt has a angular seam from mid-thigh to knee. The bottom skirt has a flippy do-flounce that is Great for dancing... I felt like Ginger Rogers. I wore a 3 inch heel which made the regular length perfect and I could wear my standard bra. I'm curvy.... so the way the back lays can make you look like Pippa from the rear . :) Not a bad thing!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
November 20, 2012
WAY too short
When I put it on, I was in love---until I put my heels on and realized it hit me above the ankle! Way too short to even consider. If you are petite, go for it!! You will love this dress, but if you are even a little on the tall side, you'll be disappointed.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2012
Extremely flattering!!!
I'm 5'9" and unfortunately there was no 4L available so I wore the 4R which was a little short, even in flats, but not a deal breaker. I got the 2L also which was the right length but just a little to clingy around my hips. I have a hard time finding dresses that flatter my chest and body (I'm a 34D, but I don't have much of a butt or hips) but this dress was perfect. The V was flattering, but not too revealing and I never felt like I was going to fall out. I could also wear a normal bra and there was no tape!!! I really loved wearing this dress and will probably rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2012
WAY TOO SHORT
I am 5' 4'', and the dress hit above the ankles. It looked terrible with heels, and I ended up returning both dresses ASAP. Thank goodness I had a backup dress for my event. I ordered 2R and 4R, so I should have gone for long. The picture with the model wearing a floor-length gown is DECEIVING. Go for long unless you are very petite. And if you are tall, forget about it. Also, the flares on the stomach area are very unflattering as they puff out and create the illusion of a gut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2013
underwhelming and short!
this dress fit fine but came to my ankles, and Im only 5'4! the black sequin detil is pretty and I adore rtr- it came on time in perfect condition and all that but the dress was not as pretty as the picture due to the shortness.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 13, 2013
I wore this to my senior prom and it was just perfect.
A bit short, wish it would've been longer. The material was a bit heavy too so since I wore it in May, I was sweating at some points. Overall a great dress though, I got so many compliments on it. I thought the sequins would be too much but it was just enough.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
Great dress. Fits like a glove and super comfortable.
Definitely get the Longer dress if you're a taller girl. The 4L was almost too short on me.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 17, 2013
If at first you dont succeed...call RTR and they will make it happen
RTR really needs to amend the picture, as well as the style & fit section for this dress. As noted by many reviewers before me, this dress looks/fits nothing like the picture. It is NOT a deep v by any stretch of the imagination and therefore makes the dress look rather mature rather than elegant and sexy as pictured. I suspect the model sized up to get the look in the picture. I normally wear a size 0 but ordered a 2 and the fit was snug but not uncomfortable). Finally, the dress is extremely short! I am 5'2 which is considered petite by most standards and the dress did not hit the floor in my bare feet. The actual length measurements at 55 inches, not 58 as noted in the description. The good news is, I called RTR and the representative was quite patient in helping me to find a replacement dress at the last minute. Keeping my fingers crossed that the second time will be a charm. I think I'm in love with RTR.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2013
Beautiful dress!
It fit perfectly and I was very satisifed with the outcome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
February 5, 2013
Very elegant
I wore this one to the ballet. It is perfect for performing art events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
February 12, 2013
Too short.
I loved this dress. The shape was super flattering, but it was too short to wear. I'm only 5'6, so I'm not sure who this is made for. Definitely order a long.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 22, 2013
The "Wow" I got from my boyfriend when I walked out of the bedroom with the dress on.
I loved the dress. Usually wear a size 4 but with the heels it was way to short. Fortunately I ordered a second size in a 6 long. It was perfect with my 4 inch heels. Would definitely use this service again. Thank you
CynthiaSeptember 28, 2013
You look great!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2012
was an elegant gown
great fit without appearing toooooo revealing
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
I did not wear the dress
I liked the dress but could not wear it because it was too short. If you are over 5'4" the regular length will be too short.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2013
Beautiful fit!
This dress fit me perfect. Length was also perfect which I was worried about- I'm 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels. Received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2013
Beautiful dress.
Kind of heavy, but it hugs you in all the right (or wrong for some) places.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2013
My brother said, "Wow, you look stunning!"
I loved wearing this dress. It was the most comfortable I have ever been in a formal gown. It was extremely flattering from all angles. I am 5’2 and I wore five inch platforms, and the 6R was the perfect length, not dragging on the ground at all. I loved the whole rent the runway experience. Easy, fast and way more reasonably priced than buying and altering even an inexpensive gown. This is a wonderful option for military wives or girlfriends who attend lots of formal events.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
Pretty dress for an older audience
Even the long sizes were too short. I would not have been able to wear this dress with heels. Returned it and wore something I already had. RTR always provides great customer service. The other girls I had suggested RTR to for this event were extremely satisified with their dress choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 25, 2013
Sizing didn't work out and had to send it back :(
I ordered a 4L and a 6R just in case....I am 5'4 and had on 3 inch heels and the 4L was too short. The 6R was too big so I couldn't wear either one. So sad to send them back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 22, 2013
More mermaid shape than I realized!
I should have looked more closely at the pictures as this dress is much more mermaid shape than I expected. The dress itself was lovely, but I do not have a bodyshape that is flattered by mermaid cuts so this was immediately a no go. Good thing my first pick worked out perfectly!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2013
Fit very well, and was very flattering
-
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
May 28, 2013
It was too short. I am 6'1 and 6'4 heels, dress came right above my ankles
Dress did not fit my tall frame, i went larger in size but it was too short.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×