Rent the Runway

David Meister

Black Seductive Sequin Gown

$135 rental
$648 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this sexy v-neck David Meister gown for that big black tie event you are attending. You'll stop everyone in their tracks when you walk in wearing this stunning style. Stack two beautiful bracelets like the Kate Spade's Putting on the Ritz Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle then earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey with sequin inset(100% rayon). V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

104 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 83
Large 6
Photos 29
kdoodaa
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Unfortunately, this dress was too short, and I had to return it. If you are between the regular and long lengths, definitely go for the long. Beautiful dress otherwise!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a pretty dress, but not as stunning as I thought it would be. It's just your simple long black dress. It was almost too long for me. I wore 3 inch heels and it hit right at the floor. It fits true to size.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

Neckline is really high

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for the Marine Corp ball and did not wear it. The neckline is so high (not like it's shown on the model) and was the most unflattering dress I have ever put on because of the neckline and odd gathering. True to size.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

Slimming

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. It was very comfortable and slimming. I received several compliments on it. I ordered a 6L and a 4L and they both fit really well, but the 4 was a little tighter in the bust and since I am smaller chested, I went with that size. My only complaint was that it was not as long as I would have liked. I am also a high heel wearing gal though and happened to have some shoes from when I was in a previous wedding that worked with the dress. I did not want to go out and buy 2" heels that I will never wear again. Any heels taller than 3" would have been too much. Another comment was that the neckline is not as low as it looks on the model, you can still wear a regular bra with it. But overall great dress!
Madison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 19, 2011

Elegant, but short

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs short, so if you are between lengths, go for the long one because I could not wear high heels. Also, the neckline was much higher than it appears to be on the model. Otherwise it was great!
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

Elegant Black Dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie nye party! It is very elegant, but was just a black dress so I didn't stand out like I had hoped. I normally wear a 4 in dresses or 6 in pants. But the 2 fit great and was the most flattering. Definitely go with the long! I wore mine with 2 inch heels and at 5'8" ..wish it could have been a little longer.
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 25, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a great dress to wear to a formal event. The cut is very flattering and the material is so comfortable. I was able to wear a normal bra with it which was great. The bottom has great movement and made it very fun to dance in. I am almost 5'8" and wore 3 in heels and the length was perfect. Also, it isn't as low cut as it looks in the photo, so no worries there.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
May 2, 2012

Hollywood Glamour

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a fundraiser with the theme of Old Hollywood glamour. It was the perfect mix of modern and vintage. I received all kinds of complements and I felt beautiful in it. My only concern was that it seemed a little short (I'm 5'9" and it didn't hit the floor even barefoot) but it still worked out wonderfully.
Whitney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 18, 2012

Fantastic

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit my curves beautifully! I got so many compliments on it. It was a little difficult to find the right shoes.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Sexy Conservative

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress went very well with my curves adding a sleek conservative flair to my evening. The detail around the V neck was just the perfect touch.
Keri
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Body type: Pear
Sep 14, 2012

Nice dress - a bit worn

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was nice - it was definitely worn & not as striking as it looks in the picture, although I did get numerous complements. I was, however, a bit disappointed with the RtR service. I only received 1 dress (instead of 2) - thankfully the size I received fit - and the Spanx I purchased (as recommended) had a run.
Rhm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Sent me the wrong size.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered an 8R and must have received an 8P. Dress was above the ankles without shoes on. A bit conservative for me.
Jillian
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 3, 2012

I wore this for my Prom.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this gown for my prom. I really liked it, however, the back was a little strange. The material above my butt bunched up a bit. Additionally, it wasn't as low cut as I was hoping. Other than that, I would recommend it.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

Didn't wear

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not like the dress on me because it was a little too big and was not as low cut as the picture. Since it was too big, the dress flowed oddly when I walked. Besides that, I can see someone else really enjoying this dress.
Melysa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

Wore to a benefit ball, the added sequins gave it a beautiful and elegant touch.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very pretty dress, but not as fitted in the tummy as I had hoped.
mimi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

was an elegant gown

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
great fit without appearing toooooo revealing
Cass
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Elegant, slinky and the bottom moves 2 seconds after you do.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
No one mention the flounce skirt on the bottom! If you look closer the skirt has a angular seam from mid-thigh to knee. The bottom skirt has a flippy do-flounce that is Great for dancing... I felt like Ginger Rogers. I wore a 3 inch heel which made the regular length perfect and I could wear my standard bra. I'm curvy.... so the way the back lays can make you look like Pippa from the rear . :) Not a bad thing!
Beth
Age: 32
Nov 20, 2012

WAY too short

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I put it on, I was in love---until I put my heels on and realized it hit me above the ankle! Way too short to even consider. If you are petite, go for it!! You will love this dress, but if you are even a little on the tall side, you'll be disappointed.
Effie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

never wore

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was very disappointed in this dress because I ordered a size 2L and 4L based on the reviews that people gave and both of them were short on me without heels
Lili
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

WAY TOO SHORT

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5' 4'', and the dress hit above the ankles. It looked terrible with heels, and I ended up returning both dresses ASAP. Thank goodness I had a backup dress for my event. I ordered 2R and 4R, so I should have gone for long. The picture with the model wearing a floor-length gown is DECEIVING. Go for long unless you are very petite. And if you are tall, forget about it. Also, the flares on the stomach area are very unflattering as they puff out and create the illusion of a gut.
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2012

comfortable, classic black

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress was easy to wear and extremely comfortable. able to wear a normal bra and the dress wasn't very heavy. the v is not super deep, just deep enough - which i appreciated not needing fabric tape or maintenance. dress runs true to size which threw me a bit, almost every other dress i've rented ran large. only complaint is the dress doesn't photograph well - looks plain (looks better in real life).
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

underwhelming and short!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress fit fine but came to my ankles, and Im only 5'4! the black sequin detil is pretty and I adore rtr- it came on time in perfect condition and all that but the dress was not as pretty as the picture due to the shortness.
Grace
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Jan 13, 2013

I wore this to my senior prom and it was just perfect.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
A bit short, wish it would've been longer. The material was a bit heavy too so since I wore it in May, I was sweating at some points. Overall a great dress though, I got so many compliments on it. I thought the sequins would be too much but it was just enough.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Great dress. Fits like a glove and super comfortable.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely get the Longer dress if you're a taller girl. The 4L was almost too short on me.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×