David Meister

Black Seductive Sequin Gown

$159 to buy
$648 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this sexy v-neck David Meister gown for that big black tie event you are attending. You'll stop everyone in their tracks when you walk in wearing this stunning style. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be work with a standard bra even with deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Black matte jersey with sequin inset(100% rayon). V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
112 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(89)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 20, 2014
Stunning & Elegant

This dress is not only stunning and elegant, but it is also comfortable. So easy to wear all night long. The length was just right in kitten heels. May want to order long if you have high heels.

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 49
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 7, 2014
Beautiful dress

This was my primary dress but I ended i up wearing my backup dress. At 5'7'' it is a little short. It is timeless and elegant. And I guess this was just it. I felt it was beautiful but kind of boring.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2014
Pretty, but short.

This dress is much more of a "mermaid" style than what the photo indicates. It is also runs very short. I am 5'3" and ordered regular length. It was the perfect length without shoes. Adding heels made this dress short. A short mermaid dress is never a good thing on anyone. Thank goodness I had an extra dress in my closet. I would recommend a size long for anyone over 5'1" tall.

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2014
The entire evening was great, every part of it was unforgettable, especially the location.

I loved how this dress fit, and it was so comfortable wearing all night too. We attended a black tie event at the Smithsonian Portrait Gallery in Washington DC and this dress was just perfect for the evening. I felt comfortable enough to dance in it and sit and eat, which we know is important. It was very flattering and its very true to size. However I will say I usually don't order longs in dresses or pants and in this I ordered a 2L and a 4R, and the R was way too short on me, I needed the L, so I was very happy I did that. The heels I wore were about 2.5-3 inches high. Its a very simple and elegant dress and I was very pleased with how I felt all night in it. Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 5, 2014
Fit perfectly and looked stunning!

Fit very well. Was slightly tight across the thighs and the next size up was too big overall but it didn't bother me or ruin the shape of the dress. I am 5'3", wore 4inch heels and the length was perfect. The neckline is not as low as it seems in the pictures, its very classy but sexy. Loved it and would recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2014
This gown arrived in perfect condition. LookedBrand new.

It IS SHORT. I am 5'3" and had to resort to shorter (2.5 inch heels) and it didn't reach the ground.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 2, 2015
Not a flattering fit

So this dress did not work for me at all. What looks like cute ruching across the front in the photo for me bunched up and made me look pregnant! There is a seam across the mid-thigh that gathers all that fabric in a bad way. Either size up if you want to wear this or have very small legs (and mine are NOT huge)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 11, 2015
Comfortable, flattering, and sexy!

I rented this for a formal Christmas party; I am 5'2", but was able to wear the 8R with heels without any problems. It's very flattering and comfortable, and the material makes it very comfortable yet dressy.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2015
I LOVED THE DRESS. IT WAS PERFECT FOR THE BLACK TIE AFFAIR WE ATTENDED. I THOUGHT IT WAS FLATTERING

I AM 5'4" AND 140LBS. THE DRESS WAS SNUG THRU THE MIDSECTION AND BARELY LONG ENOUGH BUT I HAD BEAUTIFUL 2-3INCH HEALS THAT WERE PERFECT AND I WAS ABLE TO SHOW OFF.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2015
The dress is stunning. I felt so comfortable and super glam!

PROS: It was nice to be able to wear a regular strapped bra. CONS: Can't think of any. It was an amazing dress, loved it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2015
The neckline gives some amazing cleavage

I loved the fit of this. I am an exaggerated hourglass figure and it hugged my waist and left some stretch for my hips. I am almost 5'7 and the dress was way too short on me. If you're 5'6 of above I would recommend getting the long.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
February 15, 2012
Loved the dress

I really liked this dress. As others have mentioned, the cut isn't as low as it looks on the model, so it's not a deep V, but I still thought it was pretty and it fit very well.

JordanFebruary 15, 2012
How was the length on you?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2012
So comfortable, absolutely beautiful dress!

Wasn't as long as I thought it would be which was great cause I was tripping over the dress.

JadeOctober 24, 2012
Hi! How high were your heels in this photo?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 12, 2012
The dress is so flattering and would work on a variety of shapes. The bonus: it's super comfortable!

I wore this to a black tie event. I loved that I could wear a bra with this dress and didn't need to pull at a strapless bra all night. The mermaid bottom accentuated my backside, and with 3 inch heels made me look super tall and lean. I loved the whole RTR experience, and appreciate that they got my dresses to me on time despite Hurricane Sandy. I would definitely do it again! (Note, pay attention to the guidelines for ordering a regular versus long. I was mistakenly sent a Regular in another style, and it was way too short. Kudos to RTR's excellent customer service for refunding me the rental fee on that dress!)

KelleyNovember 12, 2012
Lovely and sexy...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2013
Perfect for a black tie event

I would order the long. I am 5'6 and I wish the dress would have been a little longer. But the overall fit was perfect and lots of compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2014
Flattering Dress

Love the dress. After reading all the comments of how short it was I went with a 6 long and it fit perfect with my 3 inch heals. The dress was very comfortable and flattering at the same time. I will be using rent the runway for all my formal events.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2014
Wonderful dress for a formal affair

I ordered a 6L and an 8L. I think they sent a 6R because I put it on, the size was perfect but the length was disappointing as you could see my entire shoe, the dress was nowhere near the ground. The 8L was a bit big but I still wore it because I couldn't wear the high-water dress. Overall it's beautiful, I wore tights because it was a little chilly, but didn't wear spanks. Loved that I could wear a normal bra.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2016
Gorgeous!

This dress fits perfectly! The weight of the dress is very flattering because it hides and bumps you may have. It is a little low cut but that just made me conscious of my posture. No slouching for me. :) I received many compliments on it.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 2, 2011

Unfortunately, this dress was too short, and I had to return it. If you are between the regular and long lengths, definitely go for the long. Beautiful dress otherwise!

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
March 25, 2012
Loved it!

This is a great dress to wear to a formal event. The cut is very flattering and the material is so comfortable. I was able to wear a normal bra with it which was great. The bottom has great movement and made it very fun to dance in. I am almost 5'8" and wore 3 in heels and the length was perfect. Also, it isn't as low cut as it looks in the photo, so no worries there.

ChristieMarch 25, 2012
Do you think a 2 would fit 5'6", 108-110 lbs, 25 waist? Worried it would be too big, but I love it.
RTRMarch 25, 2012
Hi Christie, you sound a bit more like a zero. This dress does have some stretch to it and can be worn with a standard bra. We recommend trying the size 2 and adding a back up style for just $25!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 10, 2012
Sexy Conservative

This dress went very well with my curves adding a sleek conservative flair to my evening. The detail around the V neck was just the perfect touch.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2012
I wore this for my Prom.

I rented this gown for my prom. I really liked it, however, the back was a little strange. The material above my butt bunched up a bit. Additionally, it wasn't as low cut as I was hoping. Other than that, I would recommend it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
comfortable, classic black

the dress was easy to wear and extremely comfortable. able to wear a normal bra and the dress wasn't very heavy. the v is not super deep, just deep enough - which i appreciated not needing fabric tape or maintenance. dress runs true to size which threw me a bit, almost every other dress i've rented ran large. only complaint is the dress doesn't photograph well - looks plain (looks better in real life).

Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2013
They were great about returns when the dress was too short.

I was excited to wear this to an Inaugural Ball but it was WAY too short even without heels. Otherwise a beautiful dress and very flattering on top. I also wish the sequins on top showed a bit more but it was really the length that made it unworkable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2013
Fit like a glove!

This was my first RTR rental and was very pleased. I read all sizing criteria carefully and my dress fit like a glove. I am 5'4 and about 105. I wore the 2R with three inch heels and it was just right. I will absolutely rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 20, 2013
Awkward Fit

I didn't actually wear this dress. I ordered it as a backup. I tried it on and I felt that the fit was very awkward at the hips. It made it seem like I had much larger hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2013
Very Unflattering

I am so glad I ordered a backup dress for this event! I really didn't like this dress. The mid-section, hip, and upper leg parts of the dress are really unflattering. It gave me a lumpy, boxy shape. I don't even thing spanx would have helped. It is super long too. Definitely wouldn't recommend it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2013
Smashing at Carnegie Hall!

My high school performed at Carnegie Hall, and this dress made the perfect statement. It was simple yet stunning. The detailing on the side made the dress stand out, and contoured my body well. I have nothing bad to say about this dress; it's a great investment.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 3
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
July 21, 2014
nice dress

This was my backup dress. It fit like a glove. It is extremely forgiving. I opted to wear another dress because I wanted more of a WOW factor. Very comfortable!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 10, 2014
Perfect Bond girl dress!

jersey fabric was SO comfortable. Could wear a normal bra (which is key!). Had a million compliments. I would definitely order this one again. Wish I could buy it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
May 3, 2015
Much to love, but watch out for the length.

I ended up with this dress as a backup when RTR ran out of my normal size 4. I was able to fit into the 2L but was shocked by how short it ended up cutting. I'm 5'6" with 3 inch heels and the dress landed above my ankle! I ended up going with a different dress. The dress itself is lovely... but hedge on the longer length.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 25, 2015
Back up, did not use

It was about 3 inches too short

See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×