Lace Leather Chemise Dress

$40 rental
$375 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Romantic night ahead? Obsess over this flirty and fun Cynthia Rowley lace sheath. Pair with House of Harlow 1960's Crystal Sunburst Pendant, Lauren Merkin's Caroline Croc Clutch, and sky high heels to show off your curves.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra but bust area is very fitted, so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Verry fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow at hips so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra but bust area is very fitted, so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Verry fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow at hips so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black floral lace(100% cotton; lining: 100% silk). Crew neckline with leather trim. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size45
Small32
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 13, 2012
Great dress, which I received SO many compliments on, but a bit tight in the bust.
I loved the leather trim on this dress--it was a great way of taking away some of the sweetness of the lace. I'm not a true 8, and I usually go down in high end dresses to a 6, but this dress doesn't have a lot of give and bust was too tight for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2012
BEAUTIFUL DRESS!! compliments all night <3 RTR
This dress was even better in person--- the lace details and leather trim was beautiful!! I wore to an evening November wedding, and with black tights and black shoes it looked great. I easily gave the dress 5 stars based on how much i loved it, but the fit was not perfect on me. I am tall (5'10) and thin, and have wide hips--- normally, I wear a size 6. After reading the reviews I decided to order the 6, and 8 as a backup, which I am glad I did! The dress has NO STRETCH whatsoever, so I could barely get the 6 over my hips/butt area, and was very tight once on. I could have squeezed into the 6 and been mildly uncomfortable all night, so I went with the 8 which had extra room but was a bit baggy in the stomach/armpit/shoulder area but fit my bottom half better :) I was concerned the dress might be too short on a taller girl, but especially with the 8, it was not even close to be "too short". Whole RTR experience was great -- got dress on time and so easy to send back after the weekend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2012
Fun Lace
I rented this dress for a fall date function. I was a little worried about the leather around the neckline and arms, but I ended up loving it! It was super fun and very appropriate for a cocktail party. I would definitely rent this dress again!
TamiDecember 21, 2012
Where are these shoes from that you're wearing with the dress? They are so great! I want them if I rent this dress. :)
MorganJanuary 22, 2013
They're Jessica Simpson!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
October 23, 2012
Beautiful but ran small.
Loved this dress. I ordered it as my back-up and would have worn it if I sized up. I am usually a size 4 and ordered a 4. It fit, but for a conservative work event it was too tight. The lace was so pretty and I loved the leather detail. It was subtle, but different. I might order this again for another occasion in a size larger.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2012
My first rent the runway was a success!
I got so many compliments at my 10 year reunion on this dress! It was a little tighter than I would have liked. I am larger through the hips, and a 4 might have been a better fit for me. I am also shorter, and I was worried about the length, but it was perfect. Can't wait to rent again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
September 21, 2012
Perfect fit for a perfect night!
I rented this for a good friend's evening wedding. It was perfect for the occasion and it was a very flattering dress! I went with the 2 over the 0 because of the length and the 0 was a bit tight, I wanted to feel comfortable & be able to move around on the dance floor. I was not sure how i would feel about the leather trim but I actually did not mind it and ended up pairing the dress with a simple black leather clutch I own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
Fun twist on a conservative LBD
This dress looks even better in person and I received many compliments on it. It manages to be conservative, yet sexy - which is difficult to pull off. It fell a few inches above my knee on my 5'2" frame. Both dresses were in great shape - no pulls or snags on the lace. However, definitely size up! I usually wear a 0 and the 2 was tight - I might have gone with the 4 if I could. Note that it was also especially a tad snug around the armpits and the neck.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
Looks great on!
Great dress - fit well, albeit it's a snug fit so not a ton of room to move around to dance. Wore it for my birthday party, and got a lot of compliments. Special thanks to RTR for getting this dress to me so quickly after I didn't like the first one I rented (should've just gone with my instincts and gotten this one!) Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 95lbs
September 18, 2012
Unfortunately there was a rip in the lace upon arrival, so I couldn't wear for the event.
Rip in dress lace.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
Comfy!
The 4 did not fit over my butt (sigh..), but the 6 fit like a glove - so I would recommend you size up on this one. Super comfortable, great for a late afternoon wedding! I would definitely rent this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 111lbs
September 7, 2012
Amazing
Fit like a glove, true to size. Conservative but short enough to be really fun, I wore it to vegas and it was wonderful.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 5, 2012
Fabulous
Wore this to a fashion show and got so many compliments! It was a perfect fit, I will rent for every event I attend in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 29, 2012
Great for a fun night out!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress and got many compliments. It was a little tight on the top and if you have a bigger bust I would recommend going up a size. Overall a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 24, 2012
Gorgeous dress
The design on this dress is amazing... unfortunately the material is a little thin so it may not hide everything in the stomach-region as much as you might like! Other than that aspect though, got compliments all throughout the night on it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 23, 2012
Perfect fit!
What the title of this review says. Felt comfortable and beautiful all night long. Rented for a gala in DC and loved it so much, I rented again for the Manhattan Cocktail Classic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
gorgeous!
This dress is absolutely beautiful in person. The details are amazing! The fabric is just as described, and is had no stretch. It is quite short, but is conservative on top. I received various compliments and will probably rent again! this would be great for a winter wedding or party with sheer black tights!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2012
Perfect!
I wore this to an induction ceremony, and I received many compliments. I felt so confident, and I would definitely recommend this dress. It sits about mid-thigh, so it wasn't too short or too long. The dress is form fitting, however, the textured lace hides any imperfections. 5/5 stars!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 23, 2012
Perfect fit..received so many compliments all night!
I couldn't have been happier with this dress! Since I am petite, it is always difficult to find dresses that fit well. I was worried the dress would be too big but it fit perfectly! It was an appropriate length, not too short or too long, and very comfortable! I received so many compliments all night! Will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 5, 2012
Stunning Dress
I wore this dress to a graduation and wished I didn't have to send it back! It was perfect for the event. My preferred size was a little small, so I'm glad it came with a backup. I will most definitely be renting again in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 27, 2012
Walking the red carpet with the Real Housewives of Miami...too fun!
I rented this dress to wear to a film festival premier/party while on vacation. It is a very simple dress but the leather detail, body hugging fit and nude lining really give it some edge. I am 5'8 and normally wear a Med/8. When I first tried on the dress it felt a bit snug, but did stretch just a bit and fit great! It is short on a taller girl, but I liked the length!
sgaSeptember 9, 2013
awesome shoes! looks like Sam Edelmans
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2012
Beautiful and elegant
Very beautiful and appropriate dress for my boyfriend's awards ceremony. I have an athletic body type with narrow hips and the dress fit me just right, so I would definitely recommend sizing up if you have any curves whatsoever. The dress was great for socializing and dinner, but doesn't have much give for dancing.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
March 6, 2012
I felt like a princess wearing such a gorgeous, elegant dress, and it made my Valentine's Day extra special.
This was the first dress I rented from RTR, and I loved it! I wore the dress on Valentine's Day, when my boyfriend took me out for a fancy dinner followed by a movie. I received many compliments on the dress, and I especially loved the juxtaposition between the pretty lace fabric and the edgier leather trim. When it first arrived, it looked longer than I expected it to, but once I put the dress on, it was the perfect length - sexy yet classy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2012
So hard to send back ....
I loved this dress!! I wore it to my best friends wedding! I received so many compliments on it and it truly made me feel beautiful! My finace was so adament about me not sending it back, but sadly I had too! The fit was great! I ordered the 6 as well and it looked good too, I loved how tight the 4 was and accentuated every curve (yet still comforatble) I chose to were the 4! Im a 34 C and the only issue was that there is no room for the bust (regardless of the 4 or the 6 it was the same) so it squished the boobies a bit, nevertheless - Love RTR, Loved the dress, Hated sending it back :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
February 15, 2012
I got compliments all night on my wonderful dress I will definitely be renting again soon!
Fit well and worked great for the night out, zipper is a little hard to get up but understandable considering all the thick lace!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2012
Cute LBD
Loved this LBD for date night in NYC. Personally, I found that it ran slightly small - I usually wear a size 6. The leather detailing is subtle and the dress is made beautifully. I wore with opaque black tights and it looked awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
February 12, 2012
RTR's customer service is the best!
I felt so sexy in this dress! It gives the illusion that you're just wearing black lace...my husband loved it and I got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
February 7, 2012
Very cute
I really liked this dress. I wore it out for my birthday, and I got a lot of compliments! The only issue I have is that my figure is pretty straight, and it made me look like I had no figure. Definitely a better dress for someone with curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
February 2, 2012
Beautiful dress, great service and lots of compliments!
I rented this as a back up for a party and wore it to the daytime event instead. I dressed it down with black tights, boots and a sweater and it was perfect. Since I am pear shaped, it was more snug on the bottom, but I noticed that it loosened as the day wore on (like spandex in jeans!) I loved wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 28, 2012
Everyone commented on how cute the dress was.
Loved this dress it looked great but I definitely needed to go up a size. I have a 36C bust and the 10 was very fitted. I can usually wear a 6, 8, or 10 in a dress depending on the cut and I am very glad I decided to rent the 8 and the 10 for my event. For anyone who is busty or curvy make sure to rent the next size up for your event. Very fitted through hips and bust. As long as you get the right size the dress is super cute and can easily be dressed up or dressed down for a more casual party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2012
Favorite Dress Ever
I absolutely loved this dress. I felt incredibly hot and stylish in it, but still classy enough to be at a wedding. My only complaint was that the opening at the bottom was a little tight for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2012
The look on my fiance's face when he admitted that yeah, maybe I should try to buy this one...
I started looking to rent a NYE dress late, so pretty much everything I wanted was already gone in my size. This dress was probably my 7th or 8th choice - and they didnt even have my backup size (the 4 or the 8) - so I was a little nervous about the whole thing. This dress turned out to be my favorite RTR rental yet! I have J. Lo hips, so putting it on required some shimmying, but I felt so unbelievably sexy in this dress. If you're on the shorter side, I could see how the style might feel a little more formal, but at 5'7, the dress was just short enough to attract some serious attention, while still being classy. The leather trim is a fabulous detail, and I really really regretted having to mail this one back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2011
Everything!
I rented this dress for Christmas Eve. Perfect for a family affair because it is conservative and classy without being too boring. I would defintely buy this dress! It fits perfectly.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 22, 2011
love
This was my first rent the runway experience and I am absolutely in love! I ordered the dress for the same day that I needed it and it came just as guarenteed. I wore it to my boyfriends company christmas party and then on a dinner date, it was perfect- classy and sexy.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 19, 2011
Great dress!
This dress fits true to size, but it is definitely on the more fitted side, so order the back up size bigger if you're worried about it being too tight. I'm tall (5' 10") and it was borderline too short, but I loved that it was balanced--covered on top and shorter on the bottom. Overall, I loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2011
Goes anywhere
This dress goes anywhere. So classy, but still youthful and fun. Wore it to a fund-raiser at a country club. Didn't want to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 4, 2011
Love this dress!
I rented this dress for a holiday party and absolutely loved it! I would recommend sizing up for your backup - it ran a little tight in the hips and bust. Although my usual size (6) fit the 8 was more comfortable - especially if you plan on dancing. The dress is also so much prettier in person, received lots of compliments. It was also the perfect length on me - not short at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 28, 2011
Love this dress!
This runs true to size but slightly small. The hips run a little narrow so size up if you're curvy. The material also does not stretch so if you're busty, size up as a backup! It hit me about mid-thigh - I wore it with black tights and pumps and it was perfect for a dinner date!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 18, 2011
Pretty but conservative
I'm glad RTR uploaded new pictures with a new model, because the old pictures made this dress look extremely short and sexy/form-fitting, which is why I rented it. I rented this for my Engagement party, and although the fabric is beautiful, I felt I looked way too conservative for my party. This dress would be a good work-function dress to pair with a cardigan.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2011
A great LBD alternative
This dress fit true to size and was fun to wear. I am 5' 6", so the dress was a bit short, but the conservative neckline provided a nice balance. A great alternative to the LBD.... I recommend it!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×