Kenneth Jay Lane

Ruby Red Drops

$60 to buy
$150 retail
Stylist Notes

Add a pop of ruby red to your look to catch everyone's eye at the party. These earrings by Kenneth Jay Lane are the perfect accessory to make any simple dress stand out.

Also available in clear, deep blue, emerald, and black.

Product Details

Gold plated clip-on earrings with red stones. 2 1/4'' long. Heavy weight.

Share
106 reviews
Fit
Large
(26)
True to Size
(62)
Small
(3)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 19, 2013
Earrings looked amazing
I didn't realize they were clip-ons. I never wear clips. My ears still hurt 4 days later. No chance they will fall off your ears.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
January 7, 2014
Ruby Red Disappointment
I should've paid attention to the details and read the description more carefully. I wasted $$ on renting these when I did not even wear them. These are CLIP-ON earrings!! I don't wear clip-on earrings because they get easily lost. I was disappointed because I liked the design of the earrings..... only if they weren't CLIP-ONs!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 169lbs
January 14, 2014
These were a gorgeous addition to the black dress I wore. It really made the outfit pop.
They are big statement earrings and are gorgeous but beware they are heavy and after wearing them for 8 hrs my earlobes were really sore. However it was totally worth it because they were awesome haha
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
February 16, 2014
Excellent earrings! They are large, and sure to take any outfit to the next level :D
Not terribly uncomfortable for clip on earrings. I've felt worse.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
February 16, 2014
Beautiful!
Did not wear them, I ordered them to pair with a dress for a work event and felt that it was to much for the outfit. Although I did not use them this time around, I may order them again in the future.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
March 20, 2014
stunning!
These are big, bold and beautiful! Can't wait to find a reason to rent the emerald ones! They are clip on, so by the end of the night, my ears hurt a bit because I am not used to clips. Other than that, for as large as they are , the didn't hurt as much as expected.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 2, 2014
Love the red with black and white dress
Great earrings, they are significant and have a little heft, but stay on fine.
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2014
They looked great and were good statement jewelry
As great as they looked, they were too heavy for my ears!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
April 8, 2014
Great pop of color
I was a little worried, as many of the reviews I read mentioned the weight, but I didn't find it to be a problem for me! I'm not normally a clip-on wearer, but these worked out really well. Not too heavy, didn't pinch too much.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2014
Amazing!
I rented these for a formal gala and they are awesome! I love them so much, I'm probably going to buy them!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2014
Cute drop of color earrings!
Funny enough, I forgot to put these on before zipping out the door late for the party. However, they were very cute! Sadly they didn't leave the box. I suggest them for any gals out there who don't have their ears pierced (like myself) but would love to throw some earrings into the jewelry occasion for a night.
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
April 27, 2014
Great statement earrings.
The original pair of earrings I selected were damaged so these were a back up. I was less excited about these but ended up being really happy with them. They were my first experience with clip ons and they ended up being a bit painful towards the end of the night but overall happy with them!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230lbs
May 1, 2014
Beautiful product!
I didn't get to wear these because I returned the dresses due to not fitting into them, but they were gorgeous! If I could have kept the earrings, I would have!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 66
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 14, 2014
Simply Stunning
I loved the Ruby Red drop earrnings and wore it with casual /dressy clothes. They were very comfortable on the ears and the clip-ons did not pinch my ear lobes.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 19, 2014
Just what I needed!
These earrings are gorgeous and just what I expected. Like others have said, they're a bit hard to wear for long periods of time due to being somewhat heavy clip-ons. I was able to wear them for a few hours though- I quickly got used to the feeling. The clasps have small amounts of padding on them which help them to be a little more comfortable. I had small impact marks on my ears for a while after taking them off! I would definitely rent again though- they looked fabulous and went perfectly with my outfit/school colors.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
June 8, 2014
The picture does not do the red justice!
This is the most beautiful red I have ever seen, but for the clip-ons they were quite heavy, but not as heavy as I expect. Very comfortable, but they fall off easily when you're moving around a lot. Beautiful earrings, they went with my dress perfectly!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 28, 2014
Had a Reese Witherspoon "yellow & red" at the Oscars moment!
I wore these earrings with a yellow gold brocade dress (rented from rtr) and ruby red heels. The yellow and red combo was a huge hit! You can't see the earrings very well, but they were beautiful. Very "I got these from my rich Nana's estate" looking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
August 7, 2014
Bigger than expected
The earrings are a beautiful color and shape but they were larger and heavier than expected.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 11, 2014
Perfect for outfit, but...
Ouch! After about an hour the clip ons hurt! I didn't worry they would fall off though! And they really are beautiful in person. Sometimes, we have to sacrifice for fashion!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Apple
February 25, 2015
Pretty
These are clip on
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
May 5, 2014
Fun splash of color!
I was worried these clip-ons would be heavy, but they were comfortable all night! I love the large size and the deep red color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 27, 2011
These earings were gorgeous, however I didn't realize that I had ordered clip ons. I was in pain by the end of the night. They really gave me a headache.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2014
Spiced up a LBD with red earrings and red shoes!
These are beautiful earrings and really make an outfit pop. Just be aware they are clip-on, so your ears may be sore by the end of the night, unless you are used to clip-ons.
Rented for:
Wedding
October 14, 2014
Beautiful earrings! Felt like a movie star.
They're beautiful and bright. But they are heavy, my ears were sore after. Also, they're clip ons so not the best for dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
October 29, 2014
Very Cute!
Oh I loved these - a bit heavier than I expected but the perfect touch of red I was looking for.
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
December 11, 2014
Fun color and size
They were not too heavy, went great with the red dress I got, clip ins but stayed put very well
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2015
Very nice but heavy and large.
MY RTR stylist surprised me with these earrings for my birthday rental. So sweet! I am not such a fan of clip-on earrings. These were quite heavy and larger than I thought but overall very nice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
February 12, 2015
not what I expected
This were larger than I expected. The color is a MUCH darker red than in the picture, not bright happy red I was anticipating. The fact that they're clip-on make them very uncomfortable, add their weight and they're falling off your ears. I rented them for Valentine's day to be a pop of red on a black dress with red shoes. I didn't wear them. Disappointed
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 24, 2015
Clip-On earrings
I thought the weight of the earrings would bother my ears, but in the end it was more the tightness of the clip on part that started to hurt after a few hours. I think they might have been uncomfortable if they were post earrings instead of clip on because of the weight.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 13, 2015
This was my surprise sparkle and though I liked the color... They were CLIP ON. OUCH
I would choose my jewelry next time,
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
March 15, 2015
Did not end up wearing
Pretty earrings, but did not end up wearing to the wedding I went to.
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 27, 2015
Great statement earrings - clip ons
These are great statement earrings! They're clip on which I found to be a little uncomfortable at times, but they definitely stay on which a good thing! I would recommend
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 3, 2015
Not these earrings.
Accessorizing is not my strong suit, so I put my faith in the RTR stylists and their "surprise bling" and was not a happy camper when I discovered these earrings with my rental. They looked good on the model, but they were large and heavy clip-ons, and when I tried them on, one of my guy friends said they looked like something in his grandma's jewelry box. Needless to say, I didn't wind up wearing them to the event and it was unfortunately a waste of $15.
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2015
Easy and effective
Aren't bad for clip ons although I did have an issue when dancing-while they stayed on most of the night, they fell off once or twice during 'Shout'
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2015
Awesome. Long but not heavy.
I would rent these again
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 22, 2015
Great night! Loved the earrings, great addition to any outfit!
A little heavy, but beautiful!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2015
Nice Earrings!
Nice earrings for my engagement photo shoot.
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
August 10, 2015
Beautiful but hurt...
I rented the clip version of these earings and unfortunately they really hurt and I had to talke them off an hour into the event. They also left a painful red mark on my ears that lasted for a little while.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 11, 2012
Perfection! Completed my outfit!
Wore with the Carmen Marc Valvo navy blue one shoulder gown to a Red and Blue Ball. The earrings are substantial and very heavy. They made my outfit, though. The earrings are clip ons and pinch the ears pretty tightly which can be uncomfortable. I took them off a few times to let my ears "breathe" a little before putting them back on. I have rented these earrings in black previously - so obviously the pain hasn't deterred me yet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 166lbs
January 6, 2016
Not so hot
I did not expect that there are clips and not earrings. Looked too red for a red dress that they were recommended. Did not wear these.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×