Kenneth Jay Lane

Ruby Red Drops

$60 to buy
$150 retail
Stylist Notes

Add a pop of ruby red to your look to catch everyone's eye at the party. These earrings by Kenneth Jay Lane are the perfect accessory to make any simple dress stand out.

Also available in clear, deep blue, emerald, and black.

Product Details

Gold plated clip-on earrings with red stones. 2 1/4'' long. Heavy weight.

Share
107 reviews
Fit
Large
(26)
True to Size
(62)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 29, 2015
Too heavy

These clip on earrings are way too big and heavy for me. I have rented them in another color and was not a fan so I was disappointed that these were sent as my "Mystery Bling"

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
June 15, 2016
Very pretty- a nice pop without being garish.

They were a little bit heavy, but overall really nice accessory with a cocktail dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2012
Such fun earrings that weren't something I'd normally wear--great to play dress up.

I thought they would be bigger based on the picture on the site. If you really want to make a statement, plan to wear your hair up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
A little smaller than I wanted but still great!

Worked great for the first 2 hours...but then the clip ons really started hurting me. I took the earrings off for about 20 mins at a time and then would put them back on. It killed me to have to take them off but my ears needed a little break. Overall I enjoyed them but probably wouldn't rent again

Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
August 10, 2015
Beautiful but hurt...

I rented the clip version of these earings and unfortunately they really hurt and I had to talke them off an hour into the event. They also left a painful red mark on my ears that lasted for a little while.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
January 5, 2012
Perfect!

I loved these earrings! They were not too heavy, but made a statement. Unlike the other reviewers I found them to be comfortable for 7 hours before I felt them pinch a little; perhaps the backs were changed for better comfort.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
January 31, 2012
amazing earrings!

these earrings are exactly what you see on the model. the color and size are the same. they're really fun and i got so many compliments on them. i was worried about wearing them since they're clip ons but they had no problems staying on my ears. in fact, by the end of the night my ears were a little sore. LOVED THEM!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Earrings

Great earrings! For a recent rehearsal dinner I did a throwback to old Hollywood style, these went perfect! Received tons of complaments! Beware that they are clip ons & they do pinch a bit.. I found if I took them off for a couple mins throughout the night I was fine

Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2012
I loveeeed these earrings!

I loved these earrings! They were so pretty. I highly recommend these with a red dress!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2012
Great statement piece!

Beautiful earrings that complimented my dress perfectly.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2012
Glamorous statement clip ons

The pads on the clips made these far more comfortable, and I wore them all evening. Beautiful and in great shape.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 11, 2012
Earrings pulled the whole look together!

They were somewhat heavy, but it only bothered me a few hours into wearing them. They stayed on and were perfect.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
December 16, 2012
Beautiful and bright earrings

These earrings are a great shade of red; they definitely stand out. They are heavy though, which I was fine with...until I began dancing. They're long and heavy enough that I had to take them off in order to actually dance. So I'd recommend them more for a cocktail party or any event where cutting a rug isn't part of the equation.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2012
I am not as young as I used to be but I love all the current trends - so as we were leaving the church a young girl said I love your earrings! This made me happy and all my friends thought they looked great!!!

The earrings arrived and I wore them to my step daughters wedding and I got so many compliments. They are large, gorgeous red color. Somewhat heavy that by the end of the night I did have to take them off, but other than that I was happy with them and would encourage others to rent.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful!!!

Stayed on all night, didn't bother or hurt at all. I will definitely rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
Gorgeous statement jewelry

I didn't like that these were clip ons

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
December 26, 2012
Very pretty, a bit heavy

These earrings, although beautiful were a bit heavy and pinched my earlobes a bit. I am not a huge fan of clip ons, but still beautiful!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 7, 2013
very nice red

These are pretty darn large. I loved them for that tho. I couldn't wear a necklace or bracelet so these were the perfect statement piece. The clip aspect was painful after a couple of hours- I have pierced ears if that makes a difference. They worked for what i needed them for.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 8, 2013
gorgeous but painful

absolutely loved these earrings, wish i could buy them and have in my permanent collection HOWEVER i wish i would have known they were clip ons because they were very very very painful and i sadly could not wear them for over 10/15 minutes

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 20, 2013
Bigger is always better; especially when it comes to these earrings!

I rented these for a night out with my beau, and these made the statement I wanted! They were made extremely well, but unfortunately, they seemed to weigh a bit too much on my ears. We all know what they say - beauty is pain, and I toughed it out the rest of the night! They were fun though, but I wouldn't rent again. They are clip on!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 9, 2013
Cute!

Pretty earrings! i couldnt wear them long, though because i cant wear fake earnings, they irritate my ears.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2013
Beautiful earrings! Large enough to get noticed but classic enough to get lots of compliments.

These earrings really stood out and added a great color pop to the entire outfit. I have pierced ears so wearing clip-on earrings all night made my ears a little sore by the end of the evening. However, it was worth it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 23, 2013
Beautiful, but large and heavy Clipons.

I loved the look of rhe earrings, but they are clipons and will weigh heavy on your ear lobes. I had to take them off after a few hours because they started to hurt my ears. They would have been fine if they had posts.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 7, 2013
A little more red and less oxblood color than I expected.

I didn't realize they were clip ons! Which is my fault, but I had to take them off mid-wedding because they were getting too heavy.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 21, 2013
Wish I knew these were clip-ons!

I love these earrings and have rented them in black before, but I wasn't expecting clip-ons (the black ones I previously rented were not). In any case, I didn't end up wearing them because they were uncomfortable and you could see the clip from the front.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2013
These were gorgeous. It took me a little while to get used to clip, but ended up great!

Clip earrings, very gorgeous color.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 18, 2013
They were "OK"

I didn't like them at all when they first arrive. i thought they were too big and cheap looking (they're clip on also).... They kind of grew on me by end of night though

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
November 6, 2013
Cute and comfortable

Loved these earrings. Went great with my red hair! Pretty and comfortable. Clip-ons.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 19, 2013
Earrings looked amazing

I didn't realize they were clip-ons. I never wear clips. My ears still hurt 4 days later. No chance they will fall off your ears.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
January 7, 2014
Ruby Red Disappointment

I should've paid attention to the details and read the description more carefully. I wasted $$ on renting these when I did not even wear them. These are CLIP-ON earrings!! I don't wear clip-on earrings because they get easily lost. I was disappointed because I liked the design of the earrings..... only if they weren't CLIP-ONs!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 169lbs
January 14, 2014
These were a gorgeous addition to the black dress I wore. It really made the outfit pop.

They are big statement earrings and are gorgeous but beware they are heavy and after wearing them for 8 hrs my earlobes were really sore. However it was totally worth it because they were awesome haha

Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
February 16, 2014
Excellent earrings! They are large, and sure to take any outfit to the next level :D

Not terribly uncomfortable for clip on earrings. I've felt worse.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
February 16, 2014
Beautiful!

Did not wear them, I ordered them to pair with a dress for a work event and felt that it was to much for the outfit. Although I did not use them this time around, I may order them again in the future.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
March 20, 2014
stunning!

These are big, bold and beautiful! Can't wait to find a reason to rent the emerald ones! They are clip on, so by the end of the night, my ears hurt a bit because I am not used to clips. Other than that, for as large as they are , the didn't hurt as much as expected.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 2, 2014
Love the red with black and white dress

Great earrings, they are significant and have a little heft, but stay on fine.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
April 8, 2014
Great pop of color

I was a little worried, as many of the reviews I read mentioned the weight, but I didn't find it to be a problem for me! I'm not normally a clip-on wearer, but these worked out really well. Not too heavy, didn't pinch too much.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2014
Amazing!

I rented these for a formal gala and they are awesome! I love them so much, I'm probably going to buy them!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2014
Cute drop of color earrings!

Funny enough, I forgot to put these on before zipping out the door late for the party. However, they were very cute! Sadly they didn't leave the box. I suggest them for any gals out there who don't have their ears pierced (like myself) but would love to throw some earrings into the jewelry occasion for a night.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230lbs
May 1, 2014
Beautiful product!

I didn't get to wear these because I returned the dresses due to not fitting into them, but they were gorgeous! If I could have kept the earrings, I would have!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 67
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 14, 2014
Simply Stunning

I loved the Ruby Red drop earrnings and wore it with casual /dressy clothes. They were very comfortable on the ears and the clip-ons did not pinch my ear lobes.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×