Christian Siriano

Sapphire Sophisticate dress

$75 rental
$675 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This body conscious Christian Siriano dress is ultra-flattering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is fitted throughout with ruched detail that conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch fabric highlights backside so wear with SPANX to cinch in backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Royal silk jersey. Cowl neckline. Long sleeves with ruching at wrist. Draped skirt with side ruching. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 6, 2011
I liked telling people about Rent the Runway.
This was nice to wear for a classy and elegant look, while still exhibiting a sizable amount of leg. It toes the line between slutty and refined really nicely. Since there were no size 6's I ordered a 4 and a 2 and shockingly chose the 2 - it had less of a bag appearance to me. I normally wear a 7/8 pant so to anyone who is considering the dress with a large butt, it runs bigger than I expected. I'm a newcomer to long sleeve dresses but I also liked that, looking back through the pictures it was kind of nice to worry about my undergarments too much. I agree with the comments that suggest this dress is of less quality than they had hoped or expected. Mine had strings poking out at the end of the sleeves, something I sort of thought a couture gown wouldn't have given the sticker price- it made me think these luxury items aren't that much better than the frocks sold in reasonably priced stores. But who knows, maybe it's just a fluke. One other thing that made me unsure and a little fidgety with the dress is that there is no defined length that it should be. I suppose the idea is whichever spot on your leg is most flattering is where the dress bottom should be, but I wasn't really ever sure I had it looking perfect. I tried to keep the ruches evenly spaced, but I still wasn't totally certain I had it hitting the right spot on my leg throughout the evening. It's the kind of thing you fix in the bathroom and tell yourself to forget about during the party, but if you're like me you wind up playing with it a little bit and seeming distracted and/or self conscious. Otherwise it was nice! Got many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
August 14, 2012
Sexy and comfortable
Awesome dress and perfect for accessories! It runs a little big so I would recommend getting 1 size smaller for your second size. But overall a beautiful dresses that makes you feel so sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
September 21, 2012
Great Dress for going out
I wore this out on a night on the town with friends. Just note that it does run a little large and the material is fairly thick, so this is a dress made for colder weather. Otherwise, it looks great on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 21, 2012
Very pretty and elegent
Love this dress. It was very pretty, flattering and elegent. At the time I rented this dress I wore a size 8 and the size 8 was a little big. It didn't look bad but the 6 would have been more flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 27, 2012
From Husky Tomboy to Glam Diva!!!!!
I am the tomboy of my group of friends and really felt like buying a dress is a waste of time for me. I stumbled upon this website and instantly fell in love. I have recently lost a few lbs but I am still a little jiggly in the tummy area. This dress was AMAZING! It is VERY forgiving in the midsection. I wore spanx and it actually was still too big in the midsection. I would suggest going a size down for sure. I wore an 8 but needed a 6. I am 100% going to rent this dress again. Thanks RTR for making me feel beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 13, 2012
Runs Large
I ordered this dress and thankfully an amazing backup because this dress was way too large (even in a size 0). I am petite, but this was long in both the arms and length and no amount of bunching could make it fall properly. I'm sure it would be great on someone taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2013
waaaaay too long
couldn't wear the dress. form fitted and beautiful color, but fell several inches below my knees and sleeves were about 1/2 inch too long. to make it fit at the knee required so much "ruching" that the dress looked ridiculous
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2013
Sassy fit
Beautiful color, though not as luxurious looking as I would have liked. Didn't seem suitable for a formal affair, possibly because of the snug fit. Very flattering though and can adjust the length to taste.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 10, 2013
Easy to wear; the gentle side gatherings hide any midsection flaws.
A bit large for size. I usually wear a 6; but only the 4 arrived in my delivery. I was worried it would be to snug. That wasn't an issue as the 4 seemed to a six in size to me. Be sure to order a size down as your backup.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
February 27, 2013
Love this dress!
I wore this to the tasting party for our wedding. It was comfortable and it was nice to have long sleeves in February.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 15, 2013
Loved it!
This dress was super comfortable, the color was very rich. It was long enough to not be risque but the ruching (sp) made it sexy. Would be great for fall or winter. I did run a little big, so consider sizing down for your back up.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
March 25, 2013
Amazing dress!
I loved this dress!!! I got it smaller because of previous reviews said it is stretchy and a size 6 was not available. It was really stretchy and looked great! I got so many compliments and now I want to buy this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 29, 2014
Comfort meets fashion
I wore this dress for my birthday dinner. At first glance it may not ordinary but with a few accessories its perfect. Form fitting yet comfortable. No need to get a size up because the material gives.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
February 16, 2011
I usually love tight dresses that show off my curves and fit body but this was not very flattering. Super long nad ruched in the wrong places. I wouldn't rent it again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2011
Order a size up!
I ordered this dress thinking it would be very flattering on all body types, because according to the stylists' notes it was, but I wouldn't say this dress is all that flattering if youre not 6 feet tall and a size 4. I'm pretty curvy all over and every picture taken of me in this dress really showed that, and not in a good way. But the dress was better in person, so if you're not a stick figure order a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
October 21, 2012
Pretty dress, lovely color.
I thought it had more stretch than it did, so I ended up wearing a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2013
Not for tall
Odd fit. Wore other style. Prob ok for average height girls.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2010
The dress was super comfortable, however it was VERY long and I had to false hem it with double-sided tape about 6 inches for it to hit me in the same spot as it does on the model. If I didn't do that, it would have looked like a nightgown. However, when all was said and done, I felt very confident in the dress. I wore it to a work event. I would caution those that have a butt to make sure you don't feel self conscious in something body hugging or feel like something that tight would be inappropriate for your event. It definitely showed off my curves and my boyfriend LOVED it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 13, 2010
Very Comfortable. I wore this to an outdoor wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 22, 2010
This dress was super comfortable, and it fit me almost exactly like it looks in the photo.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
November 23, 2010
I wore this as Maid of Honor for my Maid of Honor's wedding! It was very slimming and just overall flattering. It fit true to size and I didn't feel it was too long, but maybe because the occasion required something more demure. I wore a necklace similar to the one shown in the pic, but it would have looked great with a number of accessory options. I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
December 14, 2010
Beautiful color, comfortable dress, timeless styling but with a little edge. This dress looks exactly as it does in the picture and photographs beautifully. I received many compliments in this dress and it was very comfortable to wear. It hugs your body but in a very flattering way. I am 5'5" and 132 and the small fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again for as a sure options.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2011
I wore this to the RTR Chanel launch event with the RTR team! All the ladies in this photo are wearing RTR :)
I loved this dress so much I'm considering buying it. Incredibly comfortable and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 21, 2011
When my orthodox family said I looked perfect.
This dress is GORGEOUS! Looks exactly like the picture. It is long - the hem hit about an inch below my knees. However, I was at a conservative affair, so it was perfect. It's silky and hugs in all the right places without being skanky. It is also very comfortable and easy to wear. Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
February 12, 2011
This dress was even more impressive than the pic. It was extremely slimming and comfortable and I got tons of compliments that it looked just like Kate Middleton's engagement dress! I would definitely reccommend it. It was true to size for me and fit very well
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 1, 2011
Being compared to the beautiful Kate Middleton was an amazing compliment that I heard throughout the night.
This was a knockout! Runs true to size but is a bit longer than pictured. Wore this to a fundraising gala and received numerous compliments - many compared to Kate Middleton's signature 'blue dress'. Was perfect for dinner, dancing and of course the afterparty. If you are thinking about renting - go for it - its a great choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2011
I have never received so many compliments as I did wearing this dress. Its amazing. I could have slept in it, it was so comfortable. I'll rent it many more times, so I should probably just buy it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2011
I agree with other reviews that this dress was very comfortable. The ruching helps you feel at ease while wearing it over the course of an entire evening without having to worry about constantly sucking in. Unlike the other reviewers though I actually felt that the dress could be a little short. The side seams that have the ruching are elasticized and tend to ride up when walking or dancing, which was a little unfortunate seeing as I wore this to a wedding. Also I have to admit that I was a little surprised at at how thin the fabric was considering that this dress runs for $675. With all that said I have to admit that my husband loved me in it and I did receive another compliment and the long sleeves were definitely a good choice for an early spring wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 1, 2011
GREAT dress! It fit well, was comfortable and I received a ton of compliments!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
June 7, 2011
This dress is very flattering and photographs well. It hides imperfections and is very slenderizing. My only negative comment is that upclose you can tell the fabric is cheap and not couture quality at all. However if you have a night time event that you will be photographed at I would recommend it. Also, I agree with the previous comment - the dress is made for someone with long arms and legs if you are petite it might not look right on you. I'm 5'6 and 125 lbs and the size 2 fit perfectly
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2011
This was my back up rental for NYE. I ended up wearing it and was completely satisfied. Very comfortable but still a sexy fit.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2011
Smart, comfy, sexy. Hem hit just a little higher than then on the model. The color just popped. It felt like a dream, all shimmy and shimmer. Great value. Go down a size for your alternate...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 159lbs
October 5, 2011
A vogue editor complimented the dress... doesn't get any better than that!
I would have! I wore this to a fashion show and received so many complements!It was comfortable and flattering. The length hit me where it shows in the picture. A great find!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 27, 2011
This dress was comfortable and flattering at the same time - a rare combination! For a curvy woman, I felt very sexy without having to show any cleavage. Wore this to an outdoor wedding and received many compliments. Perfect for some wedding dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2011
FABULOUSLY PERFECT FIT!
I wore this to my wedding rehersal dinner and never looked better. Im short and very curvy and often worry about tight fitting clothing, this dress hides every bump and lump while still flattering your natural curves. Highly reccomend!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 2, 2011
Seeing my husband look at me so lovingly with a hint of lust was so fantastic and made me feel great.
I wore this to my sister-in-law's wedding. It was great to wear as I was helping to make sure everything went well. It was comfortable and felt great. The ruching on the side helped to hide my less than flattering tummy. I got so many compliments on my dress, which is saying something considering everyone is supposed to be paying attention to the bride. I do wear something between an 8 and a 6, and I think i may try the 6 next time as I think it might fit a little better. I truly felt like a million bucks. Sorry the picture isn't great, it's a camera phone pic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
December 11, 2011
Loved the fit of this dress!
This dress is great. Fit me longer than the model but I am very short (5'1) and expected that and thought it looked classier longer. The ruching hid any trouble spots which was great. The bonus? The fabric was super comfortable!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2012
loved the customer service!
My first RTR experience and I am extremely pleased! Dress was perfect for outdoor NYE party at the beach -- chic, flattering and very comfortable. I usually wear a 4 or 6, but the size 6 was not available so I went with a 4 hoped for the best. I was happy with the fit, but I think the 6 would have been better as it was snug in the chest and shoulders - not uncomfortable at all (very comfortable dress), just would have draped a little better. The rouching makes it flattering and versatile -- you could scrunch it up for a mini look or pull it down for more conservative. I can't wait to RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 23, 2012
Beautiful color!
This dress is prettier in person than in the photo. The color is gorgeous and the cut makes you look curvy and sexy. The fabric is a little thin, though - I expected a thicker material. Also it is LONG. Be aware that the model in the photo must be about 5'9". If you are 5'5" like I am, it will go down to your knees. Great for a wedding where you want to look sexy, but not skeezy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2012
I wore this for my boyfriend's graduation from the US Marshal Service so it was an incredibly proud moment for both of us. I felt so glamorous!
I rented this dress after being inspired by the engagement photos released by Kate Middleton and Prince William and I was NOT disappointed. This dress was so classy and chic. It fit at a modest length above the knees and the fabric was quite flattering. I wore this with nude pumps and minimalist jewelry as I wore this for a daytime graduation ceremony.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×