Sapphire Sophisticate dress

$75 rental
$675 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This body conscious Christian Siriano dress is ultra-flattering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is fitted throughout with ruched detail that conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch fabric highlights backside so wear with SPANX to cinch in backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is fitted throughout with ruched detail that conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch fabric highlights backside so wear with SPANX to cinch in backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Royal silk jersey. Cowl neckline. Long sleeves with ruching at wrist. Draped skirt with side ruching. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size88
Small3
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
March 31, 2014
Perfect for winter with tights - super cute. Wore this for my birthday dinner.
The gathering makes you look a lot smaller which I appreciated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 29, 2014
Comfort meets fashion
I wore this dress for my birthday dinner. At first glance it may not ordinary but with a few accessories its perfect. Form fitting yet comfortable. No need to get a size up because the material gives.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 4, 2013
Great for a rehearsal dinner dress!
Comfortable, and photographed well! I paired it with a necklace I already owned.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 26, 2013
I got this for a night out at a Broadway show in NYC. I felt amazing in this dress!
The ruching is very flattering. I would rent this again! The long sleeves made it perfect for a cold night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
June 19, 2013
It was fun to wear something new.
I don't have such a large bust, and yet it stretched unflatteringly anyway. It fit well other than that, Also the front dips lower than in the picture. I am 5'3" and it was right at the knee for me
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2013
I still felt sexy even though I was 6.5 months pregnant!
I rented this dress for my Aunt & Uncle's 50th wedding anniversary. I was 6.5 months at the time and didn't find out that my backup size 6 wasn't available until I received my package. I would've preferred a size 6, but I think it showcased my bump just fine.The dress was really snug around my belly & bust but I got away with it for the day. I want to rent this again now that I'm bump free so I can give a better review, but for preggo ladies, I highly recommend. The color was beautiful and I received a lot of compliments. I didn't gain much weight during my pregnancy so I stuck with sizes that I normally wear, especially because it's stretchy material. You can adjust the length to short or long which is great and the ruching is really forgiving.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Comfortable and pretty dress!
I actually ordered a different dress which became unavailable so I was sent this instead and ended up really liking it! I was sent a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 2. It fit perfectly around the middle and was the perfect length. The color is a little darker than royal blue. I don't have many pics of the dress but pictures really don't do it justice. The sleeves added a little something to make the dress stand out even more. Ended up being perfect for a daytime, winter wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
April 14, 2013
Beautiful and Sophisticated!
Simple, yet sophisticated beautiful dress. I wore size 4, I could have fit best on size two but the size 4 was very appropriate for the Bris I attended to, it fell just above my knee, accentuated my curves beautifully and in a tasteful manner. Perfect for a winter event!! Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2013
Good winter dress
I ordered two dresses & ended up preferring the other one. The royal blue color was wonderful, I liked the sleeves & long length ~ perfect for a winter occasion! The reason I did not wear it was the gathers/ruching. The top of the dress was slightly gathered, and if you spread out the bottom to look similarly gathered it was LONG~ below the knees ~ surprising for me since I am so tall! Or you could pull up the dress to an above knee length and the dress looked very gathered at the bottom & not matching the top. During the 10 minutes I tried the dress on I couldn't stop pulling & playing with the ruching... I figured I would be doing that all night if I wore it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 2, 2013
Comfortable and Elegant
I'm quite tall and often have trouble finding a dress that's an appropriate length, but this was more than long enough. It's very flattering and the quality is gorgeous. Under 30 crowd: It may be a tad conservative for a night out on the town, but it's perfect for a fall or winter wedding.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
March 25, 2013
Amazing dress!
I loved this dress!!! I got it smaller because of previous reviews said it is stretchy and a size 6 was not available. It was really stretchy and looked great! I got so many compliments and now I want to buy this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 15, 2013
Loved it!
This dress was super comfortable, the color was very rich. It was long enough to not be risque but the ruching (sp) made it sexy. Would be great for fall or winter. I did run a little big, so consider sizing down for your back up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
February 27, 2013
Love this dress!
I wore this to the tasting party for our wedding. It was comfortable and it was nice to have long sleeves in February.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2013
Not for tall
Odd fit. Wore other style. Prob ok for average height girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
February 21, 2013
Best dress I've worn in ages!!
I absolutely love this dress. The color is beautiful, material is comfortable and stylish. You can wear it short, or longer so it's a little flexible on what kind of look you're going for. It is forgiving in your trouble spots (for me, it's that dreaded lower-tummy) which is fantastic. I wore it for a work affair and every man in that room was a fan, and the ladies liked the class. Highly recommend this beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 10, 2013
Easy to wear; the gentle side gatherings hide any midsection flaws.
A bit large for size. I usually wear a 6; but only the 4 arrived in my delivery. I was worried it would be to snug. That wasn't an issue as the 4 seemed to a six in size to me. Be sure to order a size down as your backup.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 14, 2013
Loved this classy dress!
Fit perfect, love the fabric!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2013
Sassy fit
Beautiful color, though not as luxurious looking as I would have liked. Didn't seem suitable for a formal affair, possibly because of the snug fit. Very flattering though and can adjust the length to taste.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
January 3, 2013
I wore this for a work event and it was great! Fit nice and was incredibly comfortable.
I had to wear this to a formal dinner for work that included cocktail hour and presentations. Great choice as it looked formal but still allowed me to show my figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2013
waaaaay too long
couldn't wear the dress. form fitted and beautiful color, but fell several inches below my knees and sleeves were about 1/2 inch too long. to make it fit at the knee required so much "ruching" that the dress looked ridiculous
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2012
Beautiful!
Didn't have my size so went one size up. Slightly big but worked well. Color was beautiful and fit was so comfy. Would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2012
The dress arrived on my 60th birthday . . . a birthday I wasn't looking forward to.
But I put on the dress and felt years younger! Awesome dress and so comfortable for the Christmas party I attended several days later. I loved the neckline and the shirring. Very attractive. I got lots of compliments (even with the orthopedic boot I was wearing on my left leg!) and introduced my friends to the "Rent the Runway" concept. The whole transaction from order to return could not have been any easier. I'm sure I'll turn to "Rent the Runway" for future special events. In the future, please add more dresses with sleeves to your selections.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 18, 2012
great dress except for the weird shoulder detail...
the puffy shoulders really ruined it for me - was an otherwise streamlined, chic dress. the material was very soft and luxurious. the cut of the dress is flattering. i just don't like the puffy shoulders, which you don't really see in the photo. i guess without those it's just a really great, average dress. nothing wrong with that! the color is beautiful and the length is just right. this was my back-up dress and i didn't wear it. i rented an 8 but i should have gotten the 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
Great dress - received a lot of compliments!
Rides up a little bit if you have curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2012
Felt like Kate Middleton
I rented this very Kate Middleton-esque dress for my rehearsal dinner. I liked it, but not as much as I thought I would (which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5). The ruching seemed a little big to me... normally ruching gives me the illusion of curves (which I don't have), but this ruching just seemed kind of bunchy and not fantastic. I also wasn't a huge fan of the shoulders of the dress. Overall, it's a good dress, but I probably wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 13, 2012
Runs Large
I ordered this dress and thankfully an amazing backup because this dress was way too large (even in a size 0). I am petite, but this was long in both the arms and length and no amount of bunching could make it fall properly. I'm sure it would be great on someone taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
December 11, 2012
Wore this for our Engagement dinner!
This dress was my best rental yet! The color is gorgeous and the cut/ruching made this a stunner - my (now) husband couldn't compliment me enough. It hugged in all the right places. I was sad to send it back because I would LOVE to own this dress! I would suggest for petite girls thinking of renting to add fashion tape to your order in case the hem hits too long - I did, and was able to work to shorten it just right - quick fix!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2012
Perfect company Christmas Party dress!
This dress was very comfy and the gathering is very flattering. Looked great with black hose and black heels. Sophisticated enough for a work event but fitted enough to still look hot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 7, 2012
Navy Knockout!
This dress was great because it fit with the 8 but it wasn't too curve hugging. Had I been at an event other than a wedding, I would have wanted a 6 just to have it fit a little tighter. This dress is beyond comfortable and I got tons of compliments. Love RTR as always.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
December 3, 2012
I can't wait for more events, so I can rent more dresses!
Great fit & can be work short or long because of the slinky material.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 27, 2012
From Husky Tomboy to Glam Diva!!!!!
I am the tomboy of my group of friends and really felt like buying a dress is a waste of time for me. I stumbled upon this website and instantly fell in love. I have recently lost a few lbs but I am still a little jiggly in the tummy area. This dress was AMAZING! It is VERY forgiving in the midsection. I wore spanx and it actually was still too big in the midsection. I would suggest going a size down for sure. I wore an 8 but needed a 6. I am 100% going to rent this dress again. Thanks RTR for making me feel beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 25, 2012
This dress was great! The colour is richer and more vibrant in person.
I wore this to my work's holiday party- it was perfect. Eye catching, but not too revealing. If you are betweeen sizes, I would get a size smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2012
Very pretty and elegent
Love this dress. It was very pretty, flattering and elegent. At the time I rented this dress I wore a size 8 and the size 8 was a little big. It didn't look bad but the 6 would have been more flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2012
This dress was awesome! I loved it!
This dress fit great, and the ruching is super flattering! It was perfect for the fall wedding that I wore it too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 17, 2012
Great fit!
I got a lot of compliments on this dress. The length was perfect.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 14, 2012
Wonderful fit, runs true to size. A GORGEOUS DRESS!!
I wore this dress for a Halloween party-I dressed up as Kate Middelton-the dress was very similar to hers! It's a tighter fitting dress, but the ruching hid any problem areas. Very comfortable, and I recieved tons of compliments!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 13, 2012
I rented this dress for a fundraising concert I was producing. I felt elegant & functional
This dress is a reliable choice for a woman with curves. The soft folds hug the right places and results in a look that is comfortable, moveable, and classically beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2012
It fits to my body in the most incredible way. It hugs all my curves.
I thought it was a dress I wasn't going to like, b/c I didn't like the ruffles on the side, but there was on complain once I put the dress on. The amount of attention I got with this dress on was out of this world. It's both sexy & classy at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 11, 2012
Loved this dress!
This was my back up dress for a spring wedding. Since I didn't like the way the other dress fit, I went with this one. Good thing I did, as it was a cool evening and I appreciated having the sleeves. It was on the short side since I have long legs, but looked amazing (with a few strategic double stick tape placements). It was very comfortable for dancing. I got so many compliments and my husband loved how I looked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 7, 2012
I didn't want to send it back!
This was my back up dress for my rehersal dinner. My initial dress proved to be a little too difficult for me to get on so I wore this one instead. I think this might have been the most comfortable dress I've ever worn. It fits like a glove and is VERY forgiving of problem areas. I was really sad I had to send it back. I think I'll have to rent it again if I ever have the right occassion.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×