Christian Siriano

Sapphire Sophisticate dress

$75 rental
$675 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This body conscious Christian Siriano dress is ultra-flattering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is fitted throughout with ruched detail that conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch fabric highlights backside so wear with SPANX to cinch in backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Royal silk jersey. Cowl neckline. Long sleeves with ruching at wrist. Draped skirt with side ruching. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2012
Great winter party dress
I wore this dress for my 30th birthday party and it was beautiful! It hides all the right areas while still giving the right amount of sexyness. I felt classy and super sexy in this dress and it was perfect for a night on the town in D.C.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 12, 2012
Love RTR. Use it all the time!
Loved the dress! The color is fabulous. Super comfortable. I wore this to my med school gala and received tons of compliments.I normally wear an 8 and the 8 fit perfectly, but I have a large bust. If you are small chested, I think it could be a little big.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 25, 2012
Definitely recommend!
I loved this dress. It fit great. I wore it to a cocktail charity event. If I had any complaints, it would be that it kept riding up a bit. The picture made it look a little longer. With it riding up, it sat more at my mid thigh. I also have a little pooch in my belly and hid it pretty well for a form fitting dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 29, 2012
Looked great!
I ordered this dress in both a 4 and a 6. I am 5'9, 127 pounds, 32e/26/36. I wore the size 4 and it fit perfectly. I could have done the 6, but the 4 fit a bit better. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner with nude patent leather pumps and got tons of compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2012
Receiving so many compliments and being able to spread the word about RTR :-)
I rented this dress for an early March wedding in Dallas. I was originally concerned that I would be too warm with long sleeves in Texas, despite the fact that the wedding was indoors. Luckily, Dallas was unseasonably chilly last weekend and the dress was perfect for the occasion. I'm 5'8" and usually a size 4-6, depending on the fit. The fabric is much lighter than I originally thought, which I was happy about. The dress description doesn't mention that the dress is a stretchy material - I was originally wondering what type of closure it had. There is none, since you can easily put it on over your head. The color and ruching are gorgeous and very flattering. As other reviewers have mentioned, it did ride up slightly throughout the night, but not significantly. I wore it with open-toed black pumps and chunky gold bracelets instead of a necklace. Needless to say, I loved the dress and received tons of compliments throughout the night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 15, 2012
Perfect mix of sexy & business
I wore this to my husband's work party. I wanted to look beautiful, sexy - but not revealing or over the top. This dress was the perfect choice. I was disappointed when I received it although I could tell it was dry cleaned it smelled like cigarette smoke. I was able to let it air out outside of my home the evening before the even and it was wearable to the event. I contacted the RTR customer service and they were wonderful. Because of their great response and the fact that the dress was a great quality, I will certainly be renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2012
I didn't have to worry about how I looked, because I felt amazing!
I rented this dress at the last minute. I needed something simple and clean, because of my statement shoes, and this was perfect. I definitely recommend getting your true size, I rented my size included a size smaller (for a snugger fit), but my size was perfect and you could see the detail in the sleeve as well as the draped neck. It was also very comfortable and a great sophisticated length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 215lbs
August 13, 2012
This dress kept me comfortable and attractive during my rehearsal dinner.
I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner and it was perfect! I wore it with see through black tights and black pumps, like the model, and a gold/crystal bib necklace. Since it covers everything it is very appropriate, but its tight, shiny material hugs curves and makes it ver flattering. The gathering on the sides hides tummy imperfections well, particularly when worn with Spanx. The sapphire blue is such a nice color on a variety of skin tones, particularly in the winter. I really love this dress and would wear it to a variety of functions- work events, wedding, cocktail party, etc.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 20, 2012
Pretty Blue
This dress was very pretty! I got lots of compliments. The only thing was that the elastic on the sides was a little stretched out from being previous rented. The fit was still good but if you are afraid of the elastic being stretched out as well, go a size down for the back up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 14, 2012
Awesome Dress
Wore this to a wedding, I got complements all night!! Very cute!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 19, 2012
Great fit! Many compliments
The dress felt amazing on! I actually used some tape to make the hemline a little shorter since it tends to want to hang out just above the knees. It drapes over the body well, and hides small imperfections that you would need to wear otherwise with spanx. I did not not wear spanx out of fear of getting too hot with dancing at a wedding, flawless. I wore this ensemble with a gold decorative necklace (not to chunky or delicate) and navy peep toe heels. Fantastic choice for end of summer/fall wedding :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 1, 2012
Beautiful but the dress had a few snags
This dress is really comfortable and flattering but the only problem was that it came with a few snags. The snags were not noticeable by others. It was overall a very nice dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 9, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress and I felt so confident and beautiful!
The dress is form-fitting so I wore the larger of the two sizes I ordered. I'm petite and it fit right on top of the knee. I wore it to a fundraising event. It's easy to dress up with jewelry and an elegant clutch. Overall, a great dress and I would certainly rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 10, 2012
Dress looked very expensive and fit great.
Looked like photo, material gives nicely to flatter body. Long sleeves add class and rouching adds sex appeal. I am 5'10 so I found myself pulling it down after walking as it will scoot up as you walk, but it was not enough to be annoying. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2012
Beautiful, sophisticated dress
This is not your everyday dress and that's why I liked it so much. The color is stunning - a dark deep blue and this dress fits like a glove. I paired it with some high heels, a big necklace, and little earrings and got compliments on it all night.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 15, 2012
HOLLYWOOD!!!
LOVED this dress! You can wear it to so many different events. My husband loved the dress as soon as I put it on. He gave me compliments all night long! ;-) I ordered an 8 and 10 due to some reviews because I'm curvy and have a bottom. The 8 was a great fit (true to size)! I accessorized with pewter all the way down to my pumps. I truly believe this color would go well on any skin tone. Most of my friends have commented that I looked like a Hollywood star! If you want something classy this is the perfect dress for you!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 16, 2012
Simple, great color
I loved the color, the ruching, and the long sleeves on this dress. But I don't think it was ideal for my body type. It would look amazing on someone more curvy. The shoulders and upper arms were a little saggy and I had trouble getting the neckline to lay right. Also, the material was a little snagged. It's not perfect, but it's great for a winter event where you want to be more covered up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 18, 2012
Left My Date Speechless!
Dress was beautiful and easy to wear. With the slight ruching, I didn't have to worry too much about wrinkles, which was a good thing since it was pouring rain! Wore it to a live theatre production and I was told by one of the ushers that it was the prettiest dress he had seen in several weeks. This was my first RTR experience; couldn't have been easier and it help make the occasion. Will be renting from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2012
Yet another amazing experience with RTR!
I felt amazing in the dress. It hugged in all the right places. When I rent, I typically always get my size and the size smaller just to see. I was able to fit in the smaller size which added to how amazing I felt. The long sleeves were perfect for a Fall wedding and the color was great too. Definitely recommend this one!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 1, 2012
It certainly accentuates your curves! And it travels great - came out of my suitcase looking perfect
When I initially took the dress out of the box, I was a little disappointed at how thin the fabric was - I was picture something more substantial. However, I was very please with the fit of this dress and received tons of compliments. I was able to wear this dress twice - once to a work gala on Thursday and then again to a wedding on Friday. I totally changed the look by wearing different accessories and was excited to get so much use out of one rental period. Though I was worried that the fit was too risque for a work event, I was assured that the conservative cut and color balanced that out, making it appropriate. Word to the wise - curvy girls, you better love your curves because this does show them off! I bet it even creates curves on those who are a bit more straight. Great dress overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 7, 2012
I didn't want to send it back!
This was my back up dress for my rehersal dinner. My initial dress proved to be a little too difficult for me to get on so I wore this one instead. I think this might have been the most comfortable dress I've ever worn. It fits like a glove and is VERY forgiving of problem areas. I was really sad I had to send it back. I think I'll have to rent it again if I ever have the right occassion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 11, 2012
Loved this dress!
This was my back up dress for a spring wedding. Since I didn't like the way the other dress fit, I went with this one. Good thing I did, as it was a cool evening and I appreciated having the sleeves. It was on the short side since I have long legs, but looked amazing (with a few strategic double stick tape placements). It was very comfortable for dancing. I got so many compliments and my husband loved how I looked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2012
It fits to my body in the most incredible way. It hugs all my curves.
I thought it was a dress I wasn't going to like, b/c I didn't like the ruffles on the side, but there was on complain once I put the dress on. The amount of attention I got with this dress on was out of this world. It's both sexy & classy at the same time.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
I rented this dress for a fundraising concert I was producing. I felt elegant & functional
This dress is a reliable choice for a woman with curves. The soft folds hug the right places and results in a look that is comfortable, moveable, and classically beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 14, 2012
Wonderful fit, runs true to size. A GORGEOUS DRESS!!
I wore this dress for a Halloween party-I dressed up as Kate Middelton-the dress was very similar to hers! It's a tighter fitting dress, but the ruching hid any problem areas. Very comfortable, and I recieved tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 17, 2012
Great fit!
I got a lot of compliments on this dress. The length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2012
This dress was awesome! I loved it!
This dress fit great, and the ruching is super flattering! It was perfect for the fall wedding that I wore it too!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 25, 2012
This dress was great! The colour is richer and more vibrant in person.
I wore this to my work's holiday party- it was perfect. Eye catching, but not too revealing. If you are betweeen sizes, I would get a size smaller.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
December 3, 2012
I can't wait for more events, so I can rent more dresses!
Great fit & can be work short or long because of the slinky material.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2012
Perfect company Christmas Party dress!
This dress was very comfy and the gathering is very flattering. Looked great with black hose and black heels. Sophisticated enough for a work event but fitted enough to still look hot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
December 11, 2012
Wore this for our Engagement dinner!
This dress was my best rental yet! The color is gorgeous and the cut/ruching made this a stunner - my (now) husband couldn't compliment me enough. It hugged in all the right places. I was sad to send it back because I would LOVE to own this dress! I would suggest for petite girls thinking of renting to add fashion tape to your order in case the hem hits too long - I did, and was able to work to shorten it just right - quick fix!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2012
Felt like Kate Middleton
I rented this very Kate Middleton-esque dress for my rehearsal dinner. I liked it, but not as much as I thought I would (which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5). The ruching seemed a little big to me... normally ruching gives me the illusion of curves (which I don't have), but this ruching just seemed kind of bunchy and not fantastic. I also wasn't a huge fan of the shoulders of the dress. Overall, it's a good dress, but I probably wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 18, 2012
great dress except for the weird shoulder detail...
the puffy shoulders really ruined it for me - was an otherwise streamlined, chic dress. the material was very soft and luxurious. the cut of the dress is flattering. i just don't like the puffy shoulders, which you don't really see in the photo. i guess without those it's just a really great, average dress. nothing wrong with that! the color is beautiful and the length is just right. this was my back-up dress and i didn't wear it. i rented an 8 but i should have gotten the 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 14, 2013
Loved this classy dress!
Fit perfect, love the fabric!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
February 21, 2013
Best dress I've worn in ages!!
I absolutely love this dress. The color is beautiful, material is comfortable and stylish. You can wear it short, or longer so it's a little flexible on what kind of look you're going for. It is forgiving in your trouble spots (for me, it's that dreaded lower-tummy) which is fantastic. I wore it for a work affair and every man in that room was a fan, and the ladies liked the class. Highly recommend this beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2013
Good winter dress
I ordered two dresses & ended up preferring the other one. The royal blue color was wonderful, I liked the sleeves & long length ~ perfect for a winter occasion! The reason I did not wear it was the gathers/ruching. The top of the dress was slightly gathered, and if you spread out the bottom to look similarly gathered it was LONG~ below the knees ~ surprising for me since I am so tall! Or you could pull up the dress to an above knee length and the dress looked very gathered at the bottom & not matching the top. During the 10 minutes I tried the dress on I couldn't stop pulling & playing with the ruching... I figured I would be doing that all night if I wore it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
April 14, 2013
Beautiful and Sophisticated!
Simple, yet sophisticated beautiful dress. I wore size 4, I could have fit best on size two but the size 4 was very appropriate for the Bris I attended to, it fell just above my knee, accentuated my curves beautifully and in a tasteful manner. Perfect for a winter event!! Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Comfortable and pretty dress!
I actually ordered a different dress which became unavailable so I was sent this instead and ended up really liking it! I was sent a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 2. It fit perfectly around the middle and was the perfect length. The color is a little darker than royal blue. I don't have many pics of the dress but pictures really don't do it justice. The sleeves added a little something to make the dress stand out even more. Ended up being perfect for a daytime, winter wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2013
I still felt sexy even though I was 6.5 months pregnant!
I rented this dress for my Aunt & Uncle's 50th wedding anniversary. I was 6.5 months at the time and didn't find out that my backup size 6 wasn't available until I received my package. I would've preferred a size 6, but I think it showcased my bump just fine.The dress was really snug around my belly & bust but I got away with it for the day. I want to rent this again now that I'm bump free so I can give a better review, but for preggo ladies, I highly recommend. The color was beautiful and I received a lot of compliments. I didn't gain much weight during my pregnancy so I stuck with sizes that I normally wear, especially because it's stretchy material. You can adjust the length to short or long which is great and the ruching is really forgiving.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
June 19, 2013
It was fun to wear something new.
I don't have such a large bust, and yet it stretched unflatteringly anyway. It fit well other than that, Also the front dips lower than in the picture. I am 5'3" and it was right at the knee for me
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×