Black Mikado Dress

$196 to buy
$980 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this adorable and high fashion Christian Siriano black, full skirt dress. A great style to pair with a colorful statement necklace and trendy tights for those colder days of the year.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk mikado. Boat neckline. V back. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
58 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(39)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2014
Sophisticated chic!
The skirt on this dress drapes beautifully, and though it is full, is still figure flattering. The simple neckline and subtle V in the back are just the perfect touches on this classic LBD, which manages to evoke the effortless elegance of Audrey Hepburn while looking polished and modern. I am not sure whether I am drawn more to the fabulous cut of this dress, or the gorgeous fabric - which has just a hint of sheen and looks as expensive as it feels. Fit runs pretty true to size, perhaps even slightly on the large side. Would have given the rental a 5-star rating, but the dress clearly has signs of wear at the zipper and the hem (which kept dropping and I found myself adjusting it constantly). But the design of the dress is beautiful and overall, I was very happy with this rental!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2014
Fun and flirty
I rented this for a bachelorette party. I got the 8 but it ended up being too large to wear. I normally wear a 6 but thought I would give it a try.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 9, 2014
Fantastic dress!
The dress was fantastic. The 8, which I normally wear, was a tight across the bust. But the 10 was perfect. The size 10, however, had some abrasions on the neckline which was off putting, but I had no other options to wear. Luckily, I also rented a necklace that covered the flaws. Absolutely perfect dress for black tie optional, would definitely do it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2014
Beautiful
Great fabric. I just had a baby 5 months ago and it covered my tummy well without being too obvious. Looks great with chunky accessories! I'm normally a 10, but it wasn't available last minute- I was able to squeeze into the 8, it was just a little tighter than I would've liked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2014
Felt great in an audience full of 18 year old cheerleaders!!
Great fit, although, I had enough room that the 6 might have fit better, but all in all, wonderful!!!! Seriously, the hotel we were at had a cheerleading convention of some sort, plus Katy Perry was playing. This dress was just cute enough to make my 35 year old self feel confident, without feeling like I was trying too hard. The draping on the skirt is beautiful. Only negative is the weight of the fabric, but I got over it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 17, 2014
Beautiful dress, simple and elegant.
Beautiful dress, the picture doesn't really does it justice. The fabric has a really nice fall and it accentuates your body without being tight or clingy. I wore this to a mad men party with a nice statement necklace and got compliments all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 30, 2014
Felt like an IT uptown girl!
Dress had a great silky satin feel but very high quality.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 9, 2014
As my first time renting from RTR, it was thrilling to receive! It's such a brilliant concept!
The dress (Es) were gorgeous! ... Just not on me! Though the quality of the material and the overall make of the dress were outstanding, unfortunately I didn't feel it looked fabulous enough on me to wear to an occasion where I felt I needed to look absolutely perfect; and nothing less would do. On the right person it would definitely be a winner. I have big arms and the dress really showed that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 4, 2014
Absolutely lovely!
Pros: Fit wonderfully Could wear a bra underneath Length went to just above knees, so not too short Received so many compliments Cons: None :) The material was thick but not in a heavy way. It also had a lovely sheen that made it look even better. The bodice hugged my shape and accentuated curves. The skirt flared and looked good when twirling. I paired the dress with the Swirl Triple Row Necklace by Kate Spade (can be found on site), chevron-esk black tights, black Guess booties, and a silver Jennifer Lopez (I think) clutch/purse. I would really recommend wearing a necklace other wise the front looks too plain. Loved the retro chic feel and would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
August 29, 2011
Thick and expensive fabric, but the fit didn't work for me. Ended up not wearing to the event...
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100lbs
October 14, 2012
I wore this dress for NYE at a club in NYC. I got a never ending stream of compliments.
The fit was perfect, with the flare of the skirt it allowed for dancing. The dress is simply made well; it is easy to tell that this is an expensive dress at first look. If you need a classy and simply stunning dress this is not going to disappoint. I paired it with a red belt to add a little color into the mix.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 20, 2012
People were coming up to me all night telling me I was the best dressed!
This dress is so gorgeous! For my prom, I wanted to go with a Audrey Hepburn inspired look. So, I was scrolling though RTR looking for 'the one' and when this dress came into view I literally gasped. It was perfect! When it arrived I was thrilled. This dress looks so luxurious. However, I would have to say it runs a little big. I usually wear a 0 or a 2 but, disappointingly, this dresses smallest size is a 2. I ordered the 2 and 4 and wore the 2 even though it had about a inch of extra fabric around the waist band. Also, It is worth mentioning that this dress is especially suited for tall girls because it has a longer length. Often when ordering a short dress, it turns out to be scandalous but this dress pleasantly hit mid-thigh. Score! At prom, I received SO many compliments. People were coming up to me all night telling me I was the best dressed. I'd never felt better! Overall, I had a great experience and would recommend this dress to anyone. The only bad things about the dress is it runs slightly big and it is going to be a challenge to top next year! Hopefully, with some wore help from RTR, I will be able to!
View photos (3)
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2011
I rented this dress for a work event. While the dress on me certainly wasn't as short as on the model, I ended up having my usual problem of the dress being too big on top. Also for those who rent it in the future: it needs to be accessorized with a belt (not for fit purposes, just look purposes).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 20, 2012
great fabric, classy style
loved it but needed a 0 which was unavailable in this dress
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2012
So fun to dance in
I wore this to a black tie wedding. I got some nice compliments and I felt totally comfortable. The full skirt is so much fun to twirl around the dance floor in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2012
Felt beautiful and received tons of compliments!
Beautiful dress, great fit, and perfect for a date.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
December 29, 2012
Wore to company holiday party. Amazing and beautiful dress.
Pros: Beautiful fabric, amazing quality. I felt extremely classy and chic in this dress, but still fun and flirty, and I got compliments all night! Cons: FIts true to size, although ran a bit large in the waist for me. The dress was still beautiful though! Overall: Definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
March 21, 2014
I wore this for a winter wedding and it was perfect.
the boatneck collar gives it an edge but still very classy. Fits true to size. I was impressed at the high quality fabric. The fabric is thicker so it may be too warm for an outside summer event.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×