Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(82)
Small
(19)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2012
When I saw this picture of me I was happy because I looked exactly how I wanted to.

This dress was perfect for my party it fit great and it was super comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 2, 2012
feel short of expectations

I usually adore every dress that I rent, but this wasn't my cup of tea. I don't think the cut was flattering for my body type and the fabric wasn't what I expected. Overall I was a little disappointed. I found the dress to run narrow across bust which made it impossible for me to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2012
Looked good, but I did not like the sleeves or ruching

Fits tight, ruching was a bit uncomfortable.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 19, 2012
Almost perfect

The side zipper puckered at the waist and made it look like I had a fat roll on one side, but otherwise the dress was extremely flattering, fit well, and didn't ride up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2012
Gorgeous.

My friend wore this...unique neckline and short length balanced out the 3/4 length sleeves...ruching was so flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Poorly placed zipper...

I rented this dress for a party, and I was really hoping it would have fit better than it did :( It's beautiful in the photos, but the zipper is placed on the side of the dress, causing a strange ripple to occur on one side. It makes you appear to have a roll on one side of your body, and bunched up with the slightest movement. It went straight back to RTR...I'm glad I rented a backup!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 17, 2012
Super Hot, perfect for blacktie optional

This dress was so easy to wear! Its October that time of year where you hate showing too much of you recently paled skin, and this dress showed that I had a body without showing too much of that body. Definitely size down, the medium was falling off of me.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 215lbs
October 22, 2012
Not quite what I was hoping for

The dress was nice, but not for me. The material was more shiny, and a bit cheaper feeling that I expected. The rouching did not help hide anything, but rather accentuated some parts I did not want accentuated. I am shorter with an athletic/curvy shape, so perhaps on someone taller and longer the dress would have been better. The dress itself, though, was in excellent shape, so well done RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 24, 2012
This dress was tight but very flattering!

I loved it

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
December 14, 2012
Slimming but...

I actually have rented this dress before and loved it though I never wore it... When I ordered it this time I was SO excited becasue I remember feelign sleek and fabulous when I had originally tried it on... This past time I felt slightly self-conscious because I am all about clean lines if they're intended and the zipper DID pucler and ripple! I am a very regular medium. I suppose to avoid this next time order a slightly larger size. THAT BEING SAID! I got a lot of compliments from everyone, so likely my own fixation on the zipper didn't come across to the rest of the party, and I wowed em at work!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 13, 2012
Fits the curves just right

n/a

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
Very flattering fit, fits quite close to body.

Fits close to the body, very nice sleek fit. Rucching on sides helps conceal any potential flaws

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2013
My boyfriend loved the way I looked in this dress for Valentine's day. He told me I should buy it!

I loved the neckline and the snug fit. The ruching helped cover any areas that needed some camouflage. My only negative would be the length. I wished it was a bit shorter, but I have short legs. I'm 5'3 and it hit right above the knee.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
February 20, 2013
It was a cute dress - not as forgiving as I had hoped

THe dress was cute, i love any long sleeved dress that isn't dowdy. Wasn't my favorite

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2013
This is my 5th rental from RTR and the only time that I did not wear the dress.

The dress fit fine but I did not wear it fo the following reasons. 1. The side zipper on this fitted dress tended to pucker when moving. 2. The material looked inexpensive. 3. Did not like the mix of smooth & ruched material, especially the ruching on the derriere.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 6, 2013
Fantastic dress! Great fit, solid material.

This dress will probably fit well on MOST body types. The gathered sides are very slimming and comfortable. The material was light but not too thin, and the dressed moves well with you. Minimal skirt-pulling-down action. I have an athletic build, larger arms and thighs, and this still fit and looked great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2013
Great fit!!!!!!!

I loved the fit of this dress, It runs true to size, I got tons of compliments and my hubby loved it as well....

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 17, 2013
Love it so much...THAT I BOUGHT IT.

Beyond obsessed with this dress. Loved it so much when I rented it that I ended up buying it when RTR did a sale.

Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 26, 2013
Sexy, yet sophisticated

I ordered the dress in a Petite and a Small. The small was a little bit more loose on me and came right above my knee. The Petite hit mid thigh and was much more fitted to my body. They only complaint I have is that the zipper on the side puckered a little. I thought it was because maybe the dress was too small, but the Small also puckered on the zipper. It was conservative enough that I didn't stand out in a bad way, but it was sexy enough that I felt youthful and fun.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2013
The best body slimming LBD!!!

Rented the L and M ended up wearing the M w/o Spanx too. My fave detail of the dress was the asymmetrical neckline. An easy LBD to accessorize. Wish I could have kept it in my closet. Thanks RTR for your help!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 9, 2013
Very flattering dress!

Fit like a glove! I got a lot of complements on it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 12, 2013
Not flattering or comfortable

I was so excited for this dress because the other reviews were mostly great. When I received the dress, though (in size small and medium), neither size fit at all. The dresses weren't necessarily too big or too small, but they were just awkwardly cut. The zipper on the side puckered and didn't lay flat. The material was scratchy. I ended up not wearing the dress. It's too bad because all of my other rentals have been perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2013
LOVE this dress

I wish I owned this dress- it's amazing, I felt spectacular all night! TTS, didn't need spanx, tons of compliments- killer.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2013
Sophisticated twist on the LBD!

This dress is sophisticated without being stuffy- the asymmetrical neckline makes the dress just that much more interesting and exciting. It's also a tad hard to tell in the pictures, but the ruching does a good job of showing off your figure while hiding any imperfections you may have. I found that because I am pretty curvy, the dress fell nicely above my knee. The only thing that made me knock a star off was really the fit of the neckline- I have small shoulders and found that the shoulders of the dress would slip off occasionally if I wasn't careful. But overall a great rental! As my husband put it- he wanted to know if I could "buy the runway" after he saw this on me : )

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2013
This a great dress. It's sexy while at the same time classy.

This dress is also comfortable and easy to wear. It is a body-con dress, so I do recommend a little added help from Spanx or something similar. The ruching helps, but the side panel is smooth. My husband loved the dress and I felt very confident and comfortable in it - a definite recommend.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2013
Husband loved this dress & I felt great in it!

Fit like a glove! I ordered the S and P and ended up wearing the small- the ruching on this dress is what makes it incredibly flattering, you can bunch it up for a shorter skirt or pull it down for a more modest length. Loved this dress!!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2013
LOVE IT!

This dress was amazing!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 6, 2013
1st time I used RTR & I love it!

I have Full D breasts & it did feel a bit tight there. Otherwise, hot dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2013
.

.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129lbs
December 27, 2013
Super Cute!

I really like this dress --it is super flattering on the waist, legs, bust, etc. The only cut that isn't flattering is side angle booty. Other than that, rent away!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 5, 2014
The style was great and I wanted to love it but it just wore too tight

It seemed a little cheap for the event I was wearing it to. Overall too fitted and not in a classy structured way.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 10, 2014
Not the dress for me!

This dress is for someone looking for a sexy clubbing dress as opposed to attending a classy event. I ordered the xs which was way too small in the sleeves and too short and also the small which was falling off on the top. I had to return. This would look great on someone with a fuller figure which is not me.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2014
The dress is amazing, but you really need the spans undies with it!

Good fit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 30, 2014
I wore the dress for a good friend's bachelorette party in NYC.

I received a lot of compliments on the dress. It hugged every curve perfectly!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 29, 2014
Great dress, but needs accessories

I got this as a back up for a wedding and while I didn't end up wearing it, it was a great fit. I just didn't have the right accessories to take it from funeral to wedding. If you have curves, the ruching along the waist is VERY flattering (and forgiving) but I'd be sure you've got a fun pop of color in the shoes or necklace to avoid feeling too somber.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 9, 2014
Formal Event in Southern CA

I ordered the small and should have definitely gotten the P. The dress ran a little big and it was just a bit too roomy but still looked ok. I got lots of compliments on the dress and it was sexy but still classy. Again, I wish I had gotten the smallest size because it could have fit a lot more snug but overall I was happy with the dress, however I wouldn't order it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2014
This dress is absolutely beautiful. I felt very sexy for my date with my husband.

Fitted and very comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 9, 2014
bunches if you have a short abdomen

I don't have a long torso so this dress bunched in the most unflattering ways. It was so bad I couldnt wear it. Wasted rental

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
Didn't get to wear it

The small was too big and the Xs was too short

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
September 18, 2014
Great customer service

Eh didn't really like it . Didn't feel pretty in it . Thought it was going to be way sexier .

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×