Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(82)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 6, 2013
1st time I used RTR & I love it!
I have Full D breasts & it did feel a bit tight there. Otherwise, hot dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 6, 2013
Fantastic dress! Great fit, solid material.
This dress will probably fit well on MOST body types. The gathered sides are very slimming and comfortable. The material was light but not too thin, and the dressed moves well with you. Minimal skirt-pulling-down action. I have an athletic build, larger arms and thighs, and this still fit and looked great.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2013
This is my 5th rental from RTR and the only time that I did not wear the dress.
The dress fit fine but I did not wear it fo the following reasons. 1. The side zipper on this fitted dress tended to pucker when moving. 2. The material looked inexpensive. 3. Did not like the mix of smooth & ruched material, especially the ruching on the derriere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
February 20, 2013
It was a cute dress - not as forgiving as I had hoped
THe dress was cute, i love any long sleeved dress that isn't dowdy. Wasn't my favorite
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2013
My boyfriend loved the way I looked in this dress for Valentine's day. He told me I should buy it!
I loved the neckline and the snug fit. The ruching helped cover any areas that needed some camouflage. My only negative would be the length. I wished it was a bit shorter, but I have short legs. I'm 5'3 and it hit right above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
Very flattering fit, fits quite close to body.
Fits close to the body, very nice sleek fit. Rucching on sides helps conceal any potential flaws
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2013
LOVE IT!
This dress was amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 3, 2013
Just OK
This dress was adorable on the model, but for some reason the shape of the dress didn't flatter my top half. Smaller chested girls might find that this doesn't give them the curves they hope in this dress. The neckline was interesting, it was true to size, but just not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 2, 2013
There were a couple fit issues, but it looked great!
I'm a petite gal who is also quite short-waisted. I rented this dress for an NYE dinner and rented both a Petite and a Small. The Petite was snug in the boob and waist area and the small was quite large in the shoulders. I decided to go with the Petite (and spanx), and some hollywood tape was required to keep the left shoulder up. The overall look was great, and I received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
December 14, 2012
Slimming but...
I actually have rented this dress before and loved it though I never wore it... When I ordered it this time I was SO excited becasue I remember feelign sleek and fabulous when I had originally tried it on... This past time I felt slightly self-conscious because I am all about clean lines if they're intended and the zipper DID pucler and ripple! I am a very regular medium. I suppose to avoid this next time order a slightly larger size. THAT BEING SAID! I got a lot of compliments from everyone, so likely my own fixation on the zipper didn't come across to the rest of the party, and I wowed em at work!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
Fits the curves just right
n/a
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 13, 2012
i didnt wear it
I LOVED THIS DRESS, however i didn't wear it because the medium was just too small for me. i think if i had had a large it might have fit my chest, an important note about this dress is that it has a kind of funky detail on the chest that runs across the middle of one boob and it flattened mine out, im going to try and rent it again in a larger size and see if it would fit better. it was the perfect size every where else except my chest.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
December 11, 2012
I wore a fabulous dress but not from you!
This is a going out clubbing dress, not an elegant affair dress, unless you are extremely tall & thin with amazing legs! I am 5'2" and 105 pounds. The Petite, was inappropriately short & tight, and the small was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2012
Very comfy!
The zipper puckered on the side which made my hips look a lot wider than they should! It was a very comfy dress but chose to wear my back-up dress as I didn't find this one flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
November 26, 2012
Perfect fit!
Fits well, great quality AND its comfy -- people were hugging me all night and loved the feel of the dress. I was celebrating a very sentimental ocassion -- making it out of chemo. And although I wasn't feeling my best and had no hair, the dress helped me to look like I was the most beautiful woman in the room. Would highly recommend.
PKNovember 28, 2012
congrats Christina! I'm so happy for you- am glad you celebrated in style :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
A bit vampy...
I had ordered the red version of this dress but since it was out of stock, this came as a replacement. I figured you can't go wrong with black, but it's a shiny, almost lycra-looking material. It looked very costume-y, and sort of matronly as well. I sent it back and was overnighted a new dress that I ended up loving even more than my original choice. No complaints from me, RTR has some of the best customer service around!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 24, 2012
This dress was tight but very flattering!
I loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2012
No go
Just wasn't the right dress for me. Pretty, but not me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
Not quite what I was hoping for
The dress was nice, but not for me. The material was more shiny, and a bit cheaper feeling that I expected. The rouching did not help hide anything, but rather accentuated some parts I did not want accentuated. I am shorter with an athletic/curvy shape, so perhaps on someone taller and longer the dress would have been better. The dress itself, though, was in excellent shape, so well done RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 17, 2012
Super Hot, perfect for blacktie optional
This dress was so easy to wear! Its October that time of year where you hate showing too much of you recently paled skin, and this dress showed that I had a body without showing too much of that body. Definitely size down, the medium was falling off of me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
September 26, 2012
looked like a diva!
runs true to size, very comfortable and it makes your curves look nice. I loved the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Poorly placed zipper...
I rented this dress for a party, and I was really hoping it would have fit better than it did :( It's beautiful in the photos, but the zipper is placed on the side of the dress, causing a strange ripple to occur on one side. It makes you appear to have a roll on one side of your body, and bunched up with the slightest movement. It went straight back to RTR...I'm glad I rented a backup!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2012
Gorgeous.
My friend wore this...unique neckline and short length balanced out the 3/4 length sleeves...ruching was so flattering!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 19, 2012
Almost perfect
The side zipper puckered at the waist and made it look like I had a fat roll on one side, but otherwise the dress was extremely flattering, fit well, and didn't ride up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2012
Looked good, but I did not like the sleeves or ruching
Fits tight, ruching was a bit uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 2, 2012
feel short of expectations
I usually adore every dress that I rent, but this wasn't my cup of tea. I don't think the cut was flattering for my body type and the fabric wasn't what I expected. Overall I was a little disappointed. I found the dress to run narrow across bust which made it impossible for me to wear.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2012
When I saw this picture of me I was happy because I looked exactly how I wanted to.
This dress was perfect for my party it fit great and it was super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 31, 2012
Ehh
I wasn't a big fan of the rouching. It was a bit combersome. However, I love the off the shoulder . Only down side is that the other should kept dropping too. Perhaps, I am too short for this dress? I loved the shirt portion and the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2012
Very flattering!
This dress is great for any body type. Thr rouching gives smaller girls great curves while giving curvier girls smooth lines. It is the perfect LBD! It is simple enough for dinner but sassy enough for a crazy night out, Very comfortable, and everything stays in place!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2012
Stunning dress
This dress is amazingly flattering and sexy. The neckline is striking and glamorous. The dress is VERY form-fitting though, and although it is flattering the material is not very forgiving so spanx may be necessary to smooth out any bumps. The zipper puckers a lot which I didn't like but at an evening event or in dim lighting I doubt anyone would notice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 30, 2012
Fantastic dress
I've rented this dress twice. I am a large 38 DD and this dress has plenty of room. It is very comfortable to wear and very slimming. I love this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 30, 2012
Flattering Fit
The cut and fit were flattering, and it was true to size. I wore it for my friends bachelorette party and even after a long night it was still comfortable at the end of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 20, 2012
Great Dress, Super Flattering
I wore this dress for a friend's birthday out in Atlantic City. Loved the fit, very flattering. I am normally a size 6 or 8 and wore a small. The neckline is super cute, although it is hard to raise your arms up high over your head. I would recommend renting this dress!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
This dress had everyone in awe! Got a lot of compliments and pictures taken.
I am a size 5 (juniors) with wide hips and small fit perfect. I was expecting the dress to be a bit tighter around my thighs but the design of the dress complimented it enough. I was very comfortable and never found myself having to pull the dress down throughout the night.
CarolineAugust 11, 2013
What shoes are these?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
This dress had everyone in awe! Got a lot of compliments and pictures taken.
I am a size 5 (juniors) with wide hips and small fit perfect. I was expecting the dress to be a bit tighter around my thighs but the design of the dress complimented it enough. I was very comfortable and never found myself having to pull the dress down throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 6, 2012
Pretty, but worn
Got many compliments on this dress, but the length was longer than expected. I'm 5' 9", and the dress was knee length - much longer than I expected based on the description. This may just have been because it was slightly worn out. Also, the small back-up dress had a tattered hem. Overall, pretty, even tough not exactly what I was expecting.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2012
I got compliments all night and felt great in this dress!
I absolutely loved this dress. it was perfect with the long sleeves for winter and it was super comfortable. I was worried about the fit, thought it might be too tight but it was very flattering. Loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
December 29, 2011
Great for Large Busts
This dress was perfect for my trip to Vegas. I'm a 36DD and it was perfect for my bustline. Usually, I'm frantically searching for a dress that doesn't make me look larger. This was actually flattering. Someone else in a posting mentioned that the zipper doesn't lay flat on your body and they were correct. Keep that in mind because I was pulling the pucker down all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2011
Very nice
Wore it for an office party. Sexy but appropriate for the event. Wore a small and it was a little tight - I had a little bunching on the sides - but the medium just looked awful. I usually wear between a 4-6. would definitely rent again.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 4, 2011
very elegant
I loved this dress and got so many compliments. The neckline is really elegant and flattering and the rouching definitely hides unwanted areas but really shows off curves. I also loved the length of the sleeves... perfect for a late fall/winter formal (I didn't even have to wear a jacket around). My only complaint was the length. In the photo it looks great on the model but in reality it was really pretty long. I'm 5'6" and the length was way too matronly- it came pretty close to my knees. I fixed this by creating new hem with some fashion tape but it would have been nice not to have to do that. Overall though- beautiful and classy dress!
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×