Rent the Runway

Catherine Malandrino

Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

156 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 126
Large 4
Photos 42
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is amazing, I wore it to a wedding recently and received many compliments. I was a little surprised at how sheer the fabric is, though, especially at the bottom. I would rent it again for another event.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Sep 10, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I felt like a million dollars in this dress. It hugs you in the right places and the ruching hides any undesirables. Best quote of the evening, "I don't think you're allowed to look more beautiful than the bride on her wedding day."
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to my best friend's wedding and felt so gorgeous in it. I agree with the previous reviewer, the picture really doesn't do it justice.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful and flattering, perfect for when you want to stand out...but not too much! I am 5'2" 110 pounds and the size 2 was perfect. A little warning for the taller girls though- definitely shorter than in the picture. It was a perfect and appropriate length for me, but may be a bit short for anyone over 5'6"
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED IT! Fit perfectly! Looked elegant and classy, but sexy. You can't tell with the picture, but the material of the dress is really thin and delicate, but nothing showed through!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
GREAT dress! We went to a Cuban themed party and it was beautiful without looking like a costume. Fit was perfect!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I had tried this dress on in the store so was very comfortable renting it - great fit, true to size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments. It has a lot of stretch and is very comfortable. I'm very petite and only weigh 99 lbs but this dress was a perfect fit. I got the smallest size and it wasn't quite as long as it was on the model but was still long enough to be elegant and appropriate for the event which was black tie. I wore it with pearls and diamonds and a beautiful pair of silk peep toe pumps with red toes. Loved it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 29, 2011

Stunning!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress in a no brainer! It's HOT, classy, and an attention grabber!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Oct 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely LOVED this dress! Very true to size and perfect length... I ordered the 0 and 2 and both fit well... I ended up going with the smaller one so that it was a bit more fitted through the waist... only negative thing was that the size 2 dress (backup size) looked very worn (i.e., several pulls and stitching was coming out on the back). Would definitely recommend!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I am a size 0, and this dress fit perfectly! It was absolutely stunning, and extremely comfortable. I wore it to a holiday party and it was a huge hit!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Oct 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is so flattering and comfortable! I ordered it in a size 4 and 6, ended up wearing the 4 because it fit better across the shoulders. It was perfect for a destination fall wedding!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 31, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Although I am a fan of Catherine Malindrino I was very disapointed in this dress. I ordered it for a fall wedding. When the dress arrived although it says it is silk it felt more like a thin polyester. I put it on and it seemed more like a club dress skin tight and hitting mid thigh. I am usually a 0 or 2 and most of the reviews say true to size. Perhaps I should have went a size up to make it look more like the model on the left. If you are very curvy perhaps chat with a stylist before you rent to make sure it will fit. Had to return!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Nov 10, 2011

perfect for black tie!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a black tie wedding and it fit perfect. It looks so much more amazing in person. Would definitely recommend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2011

loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a fall wedding and received tons of compliments. The length was perfect for someone my height. The material is pretty stretchy and the dress was easy to dance in all night long! I did have to keep pulling the shoulder part down - probably should have used some fashion tape to keep it in place. This was my first rental and I will definitely be renting again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 20, 2011

Definitely go a size up

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 2 or 4, but the 4 was much more flattering and the hem hit at the knee. The 2 fit around my body but the hem was a little bit hoochie. Glad I ordered a size up instead of a size down, just in case. Got a few compliments and felt very elegant all night. Loved the curve enhancing ruffle.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 21, 2011

Amazing surprise!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as a backup to a floor length gown for a black tie preferred wedding in NYC. When I received my rentals I was so surprised by how much I loved this dress! I wound up wearing this instead of my initial choice. It flatters curves and hides any problem areas. It was sexy and classy. The fabric is thin and comfortable, great for dancing. I received so many compliments! Considering renting again for a December wedding in DC.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 22, 2011

I want to buy this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I love it! It fits true to size. I wear a 4 in "street clothes" and the 6 was perfect. Seriously, though... when can I buy this dress from RTR?
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 29, 2011

Slightly see-through

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a romantic and beautiful dress I wore for a more formal fashion event. I wore it with a stick-on "bra" as it didn't really work with my strapless one. It's slightly see-through at the bottom so try and wear it with a skirt slip.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

AMAZING DRESS

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so hot, I want to own it and tried to find it online after I wore it(unsuccessful). It was a show stopper for sure. I wore the 4, the 2 was too short, the 4 was almost perfect. I wouldn't have minded if it was a little snugger in the trunk, but to be fair, I just wasn't filling it out as well as others. It was perfect for my work Christmas party. I wanted to live in this dress for all 4 days. It was really amazing, I highly recommend it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 21, 2011

I want to buy this dress!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to our company holiday party and received compliments left and right! It accentuates curves and was neither too short or too long. It is a bit sheer though, which is fine around this time of the year since I wore it with tights. My husband wanted me to buy it!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 21, 2011

My favorite little black dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this black dress for my company's Holiday party. As soon as I put this dress on I knew it was AMAZING! It was flattering in all areas and so comfortable. There is some bunching in the belly area that hides any tummy troubles and the bunching in the back hides any booty insecurities. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a little black dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 4, 2012

NYE dress simple and beautiful

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is great on a curvy body but it's definitely not stretchy. I was limited in my range of walking movement and bending over but it was not big deal, I could still dance. It looks great, better with spanx as its definitely form fitting. It's not the most comfortable dress but it did the job!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

STUNNING!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress really turns heads. It's classy, extremely flattering, and comfortable. Like many other reviewers said, the picture does not do this dress justice. On me, the dress was a little shorter than in the photograph, and it was fine with a strapless bra. Because of the placement of the ruffles and ruching, the dress really enhances your curves. I would recommend it for almost any body type.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

Classy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR rental. I wore it to a NYE wedding and felt beautiful and classy. The dress was a little shorter on me than it appears in the photograph but overall a great rental.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 166 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as my back up for new year's eve & didn't end up wearing it, but it was beautiful on. My husband was very torn about which I should wear, but this one, although nice & short, was more on the "pretty" side and the other one I rented was more "sexy." The fabric of this dress is soft and super comfortable. This could easiely be worn for a more casual evening out or black tie wedding. I will definitely rent this one again to wear out!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 31, 2012

This dress and Emily saved me!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
guys, so i had rented the Nicole miller lace dress, which was stolen from my building door (crazy super scary, UPS left it outside) and from days to my event and full residency duties there was no way i would have time to go get another dress. Ive called RTR and one of the stylist Emily (she was amazing!) was able to overnight me this amazing dress and the party was saved and my reputation for fabulous designs when not in scrubs :-) heads up: make sure to ask for a signature delivery if u r ordering thru ups, is the only way to protect yourself. about the dress - amazing looks, totally cool. about RTR - will definitely use it again. love the experience. about help from the stylist Emily - she ROCKED! enjoy ur fashion, C
RTR Customer
Age: 39
Feb 4, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a very elegant black dress. I rented for a formal black tie event and felt great in it. The dress is pure silk and very thin. You may consider spanx or something similar to wear underneath for support if needed and to function as a slip. It was slightly see through at the skirt. Great dress overall!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Feb 23, 2012

Overall, a nice dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 2 and 4 and wore the 4. Honestly, the only difference between the two (that I noticed) was that on the 2 the shoulder strap was a bit tighter, so I figured I would be able to move my arm more comfortably in the larger size. Getting the shoulder strap to look right was also a little challenging.....but all in all I was happy with this dress. The entire rental experience was seamless and I would DEFINITELY rent from them again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 12, 2012

Didn't love

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a black tie event, but I wouldn't recommend it for even a cocktail party. The dress felt really cheap and thin. I can't imagine why this dress would ever retail for as much as it does. I felt really cheap and kind of trashy. I'm not a modest person and love showing off my figure, but this dress looked like it came from Forever 21. It is true to size, but if you have a large chest proportional to your figure you might want to size up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107 lbs
Apr 16, 2012

great dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress. Very comfortable and not too short. Top is a little tricky and might have worn it the wrong way now that I see the other reviews and pictures.. . but maybe this is one of the good features about this dress that it can be worn in different ways.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

Fantastic Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress. I rented it for a wedding, and received compliments all night. The fabric is stretchy enough to fit comfortably, and snug enough to pull you in, in all the right places. (I am a B/C cup and was fine without a bra - even on the dancefloor). This dress would be flattering on everyone - I was so happy I chose this one! I wore the size 2, but could also have probably worn the size 0. Size 4 (the 2nd option I chose) was too big.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 21, 2012

Love love love this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had a black-tie event (awards dinner) and this dress was perfect. I felt like a million bucks in it. It fit like a dream and was also super comfy. Gorgeous!! The ruching is fabulous and all the details are just so great. I paired it with red heels, like the model, and hair up, to show off the one-shoulder thing. I also chose the "suprise me" styling, which was a good choice. The earrings RtR sent me were fab. I had lots of compliments that night but who cares...I felt fabulous and that's what really matters.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 26, 2012

Amazing take on the LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my birthday dinner at a formal restaurant. Absolutely. Loved. It. It was so incredibly flattering, and sexy while still being classy. My boyfriend loved it, and he doesn't usually like ruffles. The off the shoulder ruffle detail thing is beautiful and lay perfectly...and it makes it a very unique LBD. I'd say this dress is pretty true to size, but might run a tiny bit small. So if you are between sizes, pick the larger size (I'm normally between a 4 and a 6 and I wore the 6). I love this dress so much that I recently searched for it at a RTR sample sale...no luck though :( Anyways, definitely rent this dress!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Aug 9, 2012

Loved! I ended up buying it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a perfect dress for a black-tie formal event and wedding!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Cute but...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I read all of the reviews before renting this dress. It was super flattering on, I loved the rouching. BUT you have to buy a slip. The dress is SUPER see-through. I wore it to a charity gala and got tons of compliments on it. I just hated having to keep pulling down my slip!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Gorgeous

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt chic and thin and beautiful. I got tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Super sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was too sexy for me to wear to the particular wedding I rented it for but I loved it! Fit beautifully and snug. My only complaint would be that it fit so snug around my legs that it wouldn't have been comfortable for dancing.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Very Pretty Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Looked so beautiful. I should have got a 0.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Cute

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cute dress. Very thin fabric, so consider wearing spanx. Nevertheless the cut of the dress is quite flattering. I didn't end up wearing it because there was a very obvious tear in the 10 that had been repaired at the bottom of the skirt. I carry a little more weight around my middle, so the 8 didn't fit, and I could only wear the 10. Luckily, I received a refund.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×