Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(128)
Small
(26)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2012
Easiest ever!! There is no point for me anymore in buying expensive dresses that I know I will only wear once. RTR is my new best friend!
I ordered the 2 and the 4. I am normally a 2 but I have always had issues because I have a 35 inch bust. The 2 fit, but the 4 was much more comfortable. The dress was just as I pictured it would be. Paired with a pair of Badgley Mischka Randee heels, it was a hit! Loved it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 9, 2012
Loved! I ended up buying it!
This was a perfect dress for a black-tie formal event and wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Cute but...
I read all of the reviews before renting this dress. It was super flattering on, I loved the rouching. BUT you have to buy a slip. The dress is SUPER see-through. I wore it to a charity gala and got tons of compliments on it. I just hated having to keep pulling down my slip!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 15, 2012
Gorgeous
I felt chic and thin and beautiful. I got tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
Renting this dress was so easy. I was able to get a second size since this was my first rental with this designer. RTR also gives you other items you may need, even a cloth to wipe away deodorant marks (great for black dresses!). Everyone loved this dress and still remembers it.
I wore this dress to an October wedding in Florida at the Ritz Carlton (not usually where I attend weddings! This was a once-in-a-lifetime event), and this dress was perfect. It's different without being odd or wacky. In fact, it's memorable and classy. It fit well and has some stretch. I would not say that I'm exactly hourglass figure (that was the closet choice for Body Type), but I do have hips. This dress hugged the hips and accentuated the waist. Also, I'm tall, so this dress was not too short, which is often a problem for me. Seems like it would be flattering for most figures! I definitely recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 20, 2012
Everyone in my department and some of the other attendees thought my dress was one of the most stylish they'd seen that night. It felt great to look like a star without spending like one!
I wore this dress to The Joffrey Ballet's Couture & Cocktail event in Fall of 2011. It was a great fit and the perfect dress for this event. Easy. Comfortable. Fancy and very stylish (which is great for an event focused on fashion). And renting with RTR was so easy! In love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Sexy little black dress
I got in a 4 and 6 I believe, and wore the smaller size. I got a lot of compliments at the wedding. The dress was quite short and the shoulder strap didn't really stay in place while dancing, but it was very comfortable and I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2012
Cute
Cute dress. Very thin fabric, so consider wearing spanx. Nevertheless the cut of the dress is quite flattering. I didn't end up wearing it because there was a very obvious tear in the 10 that had been repaired at the bottom of the skirt. I carry a little more weight around my middle, so the 8 didn't fit, and I could only wear the 10. Luckily, I received a refund.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 26, 2012
Very Sexy!
This dress is very flattering and ultra sexy! You will not regret this one if you want to look sexy. The fabric is thin, but not too thin that you can see through it. The fabric is puckered in all the right places so that you don't have to worry either!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2012
Wedding
I read most of the reviews for this dress and decided to get it for a wedding. It is true that the fabric at the bottom of the dress is very shear and kind of cheap looking. But overall I felt great in it, very form fitting, and it is my boyfriends favorite dress that I have rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 31, 2012
Thin fabric
Unfortunately the fabric of this dress was very thin and did not make me feel great about wearing it. I ended up returning the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2012
Loved it!
I received sooo many compliments on this dress! It fit true to size and made me look a little more curvy than I am (in a good way!). The material is a little more sheer/thin than I hoped, but not in an inconvenient way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
September 14, 2012
Fun party dress.
True to size; except the shoulder strap slipped a bit. Cute and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Pretty but flimsy
This dress looks very pretty, but the material is thin, so be sure to wear something under it. Very flattering tho and gets lots of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
September 20, 2012
gorgeous dress
perfect fit! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
September 22, 2012
Nice dress!
This dress is very pretty. I loved how nice it looked on me. I ended up not wearring it because my bf loved my back up dress better on me for the wedding we were attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 23, 2012
Basic, comfortable and wedding appropriate.
It fit very well. The ruffled strap can be adjusted up or down which is a nice function. I would rent again when in a pinch. It was slightly longer than I'd prefer but overall a solid choice for formal wear.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 24, 2012
I just adore this dress. If only I could make it my go to LBD!
The construction of this dress gave my 5'0'' petite frame the curves I've always wanted! The hem hit me just above the knee, which I loved and the one shoulder design made this a fun and unique LBD. I couldn't have asked for a better dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect Bachelorette Dress!
Had the best night on the town in this dress! It is so fun and is an awesome twist on the LBD! LOVE!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2012
Loved the light, comfortable material!
I really liked how the dress would conform to my size, showing off the good and hiding the bad. Wore it to a formal date party with my boyfriend. Everyone was amazed when they saw me. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2012
Didn't end up wearing this
It's a little too risque for a wedding, particularly one in a church and probably for a lot of more formal black tie events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
Very pretty dress - a little sheer, though.
This dress was very sexy. It was shorter than I expected and I was wearing it to a wedding so I was a little nervous at first but...it turned out to be a hit! I did have to strategically place my purse in front of my dress since it was very sheer but by evening, all was good and I felt great in this beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2012
The dress fit perfectly and is so stylish.
I've rented this dress twice now for weddings and have gotten tons of compliments. The fit is fantastic and while it's black, the ruffle makes the dress visually interesting. The material is thin enough that I've felt more comfortable wearing spanx underneath, but you could go either way.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 32D
November 21, 2012
This dress was more upscale than many of the ones that the wedding guests wore.
I felt that I had the 2nd best dress in the room. The bride was #1 of course. I should have used the adhesive that was included because the rufffles rolled in the wrong direction all night, but I still felt sexy and beautiful. My dress was sent to the hotel due to time constraints and it worked out perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2012
I did love the dress but it came with a hole in it!
The hole was stitched up poorly and never should have been sent to me. It's great dress but I think a little cheaply made. I got compliments though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2012
So sexy!
I really loved this dress... but it was damaged / worn from previous use, so I wore something else. But wow, it was lovely. I really like this designer... and bonus, I could wear a regular bra by tucking the strapless side strap under my arm :-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 30, 2012
See through
The fit was fine but I couldn't wear the dress because you could see right through it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 11, 2012
One word: Fabulous!
I pulled this dress on in a size 6. It fit every curve, but the strategic ruching meant I didn't have to wear Spanx to cover any problem areas. This dress has light stretch for just enough cling and the one shoulder with ruffle detailing set me apart from all the other women dressed in black for this holiday cocktail party. I must have looked great because my boyfriend couldn't stop staring all night and I even got a compliment: "gorgeous body!" from another woman there! Trust me, it wasn't my body--this dress is a definite win. Note that this dress is rather thin material so be strategic with undergarments. Up close you could see my black thong. :-/ Also, the zipper poked out once the dress was zipped. I think it's because i have a shorter torso than the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
December 19, 2012
Smokin is Right
I wore this to an event for New Years Eve in Miami and also at formal recruitment for my sorority. The fabric is thin, but the ruching is constructed expertly and it flatters. Due to the ruching and the thin fabric though, the bottom portion of the dress is a bit tighter than you might expect - it stretches obviously, but if you are self conscious about your bottom half you might steer clear of this dress. I loved it though! Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
February 4, 2012
Great dress
This was a very elegant black dress. I rented for a formal black tie event and felt great in it. The dress is pure silk and very thin. You may consider spanx or something similar to wear underneath for support if needed and to function as a slip. It was slightly see through at the skirt. Great dress overall!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 30, 2012
I had more compliments on this dress than anything in my closet!
Fantastic dress!!!!!! I wore this to my film premiere and it was perfect. It fits like a glove and is truly a comfortable dress! Don't hesitate- rent it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2013
Beautiful dress, but a little sheer in the back.
I didn't end up wearing this dress because I went with the back up dress instead, but this dress was still really gorgeous! THe only issue is that the dress is thin and a tad sheer in the back. I recommend wearing panty hose with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
January 22, 2013
Beautiful dress but wrong material!
I rented this dress for a wedding and was unable to wear it because the material was not flattering at all! It is very thin, so it made me appear bigger than I was since it sat on the body very poorly. It was difficult to wear a strapless bra or any undies with it because it showed throught so much and it was not the kind of dress you could go pantyless in! I was very disappointed and sent the dress back right away and got credit to rent a different one!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 31, 2013
I'm 5'1 and 105lbs. I wore a size 2 and loved the way it fit.
I wore this for a black time ball and got a bunch of complements. The dress fit awesome and the way it kind of bunched over the stomach hid anything I was not very proud of.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2013
Loved the dress! Comfy, too!
It was a very easy dress to manage and it worked so well all through the night! Would wear again for sure!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 11, 2013
One of the stylists recommended this dress to me, it was fabulous!
The dress fit perfectly, I would never have chosen from the picture, but it is so much more exciting in person. You really need to see it for yourself. The only complaint i have is the trim around the bottom feels constrictive, but it looks so cute on you don't really care.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 29, 2013
One of the most beautiful dresses I ever wore.
Not too short. Covered everything I needed it to for a formal party. I was caught under dressed for it last year but not this year!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 8, 2013
Perfect fit
I normally have a difficult time finding a dress to fit like a glove but this one certainly did the job! Its beautiful and elegant, the fabric offers a slight stretch and good quality fabric. It is a little sheer but not obvious. It's the perfect dress for an elegant night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2013
Such a comfortable, flattering, classic dress! I didn't want to ever take it off!
The 8 fit well but was a little bit short on me w/ 4 inch heels. The 10 was slightly longer and more comfortable for dancing! I would highly recommend this dress. I got so many compliments all night! Seriously, this is my favorite dress I've ever worn. RENT IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
September 9, 2013
Pretty Black Dress
This is a great spin on a LBD. I wore it to a wedding and was very comfortable. I usually wear a 4, but had to go a size up to be more comfortable in the bust area. If you are large busted I would suggest sizing up.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×