Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(128)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
May 3, 2011
LOVED this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 10, 2011
Uh - the material is VERY clingy and VERY sheer - so please please be sure to wear black spanx with this baby. I didn't want to wear this dress to a black tie optional work event in November because I felt it was a bit TOO sexy with all of my curves (I'm a size 8). It really is a gorgeous and fun dress though.. maybe another time.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2011
Ordered this as a backup and LOVED it! I will definitely rent it again, so I can actually have the opportunity to wear it. Very comfortable and flattering, but I did rent a size up from usual. A bit too short on the smaller size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
June 10, 2011
The dress was a bit see through in high lighting. Runs true to size and fit very well ( a little shorter than shown on model) but I ended up wearing another RTR dress because the embellishment looked a little worn. Still a gorgeous dress with a black slip under it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 28, 2011
I rented this to wear to my 10 year high school reunion. Very cute! I rented sizes 2 and 4 and the 4 fit a little better, not super hugging. I spotted a teeny bit of thread fraying around the front abdomen area, but it wasn't very noticeable. Instead of wearing the sleeve pulled over and around the upper arm like the model, I just wore that part over my shoulder. I received quite a few compliments that night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 19, 2011
LOVED this dress! Usually I wear a 4 or 6 in dresses but after reading reviews I ordered the 6 and 8. The 6 was a little too snug so I ended up wearing the 8. Great length and very flattering, will definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 2, 2011
This is definitely a head turner! Stunning dress for curvy figures. I'm very petite but have a larger bust and hips, combined with small waist, so finding something suitable is a nightmare (I wear 10s or 12s and have the waist taken in). The dress hit to my knees, and fit perfectly. I went to a wedding and got so many compliments on it; my husband even offered to find it for me at retail because he loved it so much! Only downside is that it is very sheer (hence my 4 stars), so proper undergarments are necessary.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
August 7, 2011
I beyond LOVE this dress! It is my go-to for any fancy occasion when you want to look great but also blend in. The detailing gives it originality, and the black color lets you remain demure. True designer sizing. If you are a 0, you are a 0!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2011
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! I wore this to a wedding, and got more compliments than the bride!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2011
This is a pretty dress, although all of the ruffling and ruching was not nearly as dramatic as it appears on the model. On me it looked like your average (although very nice) little black dress. For narrow body types you might wear your usual size, but for hourglass shapes I recommend sizing up. I am almost always a 4 (and sometimes a 2) in dresses, and I ended up wearing a 6 in this style.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 24, 2011
I adore this dress. I got in a 2 and 4, but the 2 fit much better. It's a beautiful dress and I received many compliments. Would love to rent again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
August 29, 2011
This dress is amazing, I wore it to a wedding recently and received many compliments. I was a little surprised at how sheer the fabric is, though, especially at the bottom. I would rent it again for another event.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to my best friend's wedding and felt so gorgeous in it. I agree with the previous reviewer, the picture really doesn't do it justice.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 15, 2011
Someone came up and told me I won the prize for best dress in the room.
Wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding. I thought I ordered both a 0 and a 2 but the 2 was unavailable at the time. The 0 was pretty snug and short but I felt classy. There's more ruching than it looks like. Great dress! Felt like a million bucks !! Someone came up and told me I won the prize for best dress in the room.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 26, 2011
Beautiful and flattering, perfect for when you want to stand out...but not too much! I am 5'2" 110 pounds and the size 2 was perfect. A little warning for the taller girls though- definitely shorter than in the picture. It was a perfect and appropriate length for me, but may be a bit short for anyone over 5'6"
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2011
LOVED IT! Fit perfectly! Looked elegant and classy, but sexy. You can't tell with the picture, but the material of the dress is really thin and delicate, but nothing showed through!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2011
GREAT dress! We went to a Cuban themed party and it was beautiful without looking like a costume. Fit was perfect!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
September 28, 2011
I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments. It has a lot of stretch and is very comfortable. I'm very petite and only weigh 99 lbs but this dress was a perfect fit. I got the smallest size and it wasn't quite as long as it was on the model but was still long enough to be elegant and appropriate for the event which was black tie. I wore it with pearls and diamonds and a beautiful pair of silk peep toe pumps with red toes. Loved it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 29, 2011
Stunning!!!
This dress in a no brainer! It's HOT, classy, and an attention grabber!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 2, 2011
Absolutely LOVED this dress! Very true to size and perfect length... I ordered the 0 and 2 and both fit well... I ended up going with the smaller one so that it was a bit more fitted through the waist... only negative thing was that the size 2 dress (backup size) looked very worn (i.e., several pulls and stitching was coming out on the back). Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
October 13, 2011
I am a size 0, and this dress fit perfectly! It was absolutely stunning, and extremely comfortable. I wore it to a holiday party and it was a huge hit!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2011
This dress is so flattering and comfortable! I ordered it in a size 4 and 6, ended up wearing the 4 because it fit better across the shoulders. It was perfect for a destination fall wedding!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 10, 2011
perfect for black tie!
I wore this to a black tie wedding and it fit perfect. It looks so much more amazing in person. Would definitely recommend!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2011
loved it!
I wore this dress to a fall wedding and received tons of compliments. The length was perfect for someone my height. The material is pretty stretchy and the dress was easy to dance in all night long! I did have to keep pulling the shoulder part down - probably should have used some fashion tape to keep it in place. This was my first rental and I will definitely be renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2011
Definitely go a size up
I usually wear a 2 or 4, but the 4 was much more flattering and the hem hit at the knee. The 2 fit around my body but the hem was a little bit hoochie. Glad I ordered a size up instead of a size down, just in case. Got a few compliments and felt very elegant all night. Loved the curve enhancing ruffle.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 21, 2011
Amazing surprise!
I rented this dress as a backup to a floor length gown for a black tie preferred wedding in NYC. When I received my rentals I was so surprised by how much I loved this dress! I wound up wearing this instead of my initial choice. It flatters curves and hides any problem areas. It was sexy and classy. The fabric is thin and comfortable, great for dancing. I received so many compliments! Considering renting again for a December wedding in DC.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Slightly see-through
This was a romantic and beautiful dress I wore for a more formal fashion event. I wore it with a stick-on "bra" as it didn't really work with my strapless one. It's slightly see-through at the bottom so try and wear it with a skirt slip.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Body type: Petite
July 27, 2011
Beautiful dress, runs a little small, very tight, I recommend a larger size. Received a ton of compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2011
AMAZING DRESS
This dress is so hot, I want to own it and tried to find it online after I wore it(unsuccessful). It was a show stopper for sure. I wore the 4, the 2 was too short, the 4 was almost perfect. I wouldn't have minded if it was a little snugger in the trunk, but to be fair, I just wasn't filling it out as well as others. It was perfect for my work Christmas party. I wanted to live in this dress for all 4 days. It was really amazing, I highly recommend it!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 19, 2011
Even before I left home, I felt amazing.
I wore this for a night out to the Theater and fancy schmany dinner with my man... I felt like a million bucks! The material is very thin, it's silk, so make sure you wear a long coat. I wore the shoulder piece with the ruffles up, unlike the picture. Also I normally wear a size 10, it fit, but I just felt more comfortable in the 12 and there is overall stretch, so it still hugged in the right places. There is rouching on the butt, so it kinda gives room for your butt when you sit down. The ruffles help hide any flaws. Loved the dress!! It was my first RTR dress and won't be my last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2011
I received so many compliments on how flattering this dress was! How could I really choose one over another!
I wore this black dress for my company's Holiday party. As soon as I put this dress on I knew it was AMAZING! It was flattering in all areas and so comfortable. There is some bunching in the belly area that hides any tummy troubles and the bunching in the back hides any booty insecurities. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a little black dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2011
My favorite little black dress
I wore this black dress for my company's Holiday party. As soon as I put this dress on I knew it was AMAZING! It was flattering in all areas and so comfortable. There is some bunching in the belly area that hides any tummy troubles and the bunching in the back hides any booty insecurities. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a little black dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2012
NYE dress simple and beautiful
This dress is great on a curvy body but it's definitely not stretchy. I was limited in my range of walking movement and bending over but it was not big deal, I could still dance. It looks great, better with spanx as its definitely form fitting. It's not the most comfortable dress but it did the job!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 5, 2012
STUNNING!
This dress really turns heads. It's classy, extremely flattering, and comfortable. Like many other reviewers said, the picture does not do this dress justice. On me, the dress was a little shorter than in the photograph, and it was fine with a strapless bra. Because of the placement of the ruffles and ruching, the dress really enhances your curves. I would recommend it for almost any body type.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 6, 2012
Classy
This was my first RTR rental. I wore it to a NYE wedding and felt beautiful and classy. The dress was a little shorter on me than it appears in the photograph but overall a great rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
January 6, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I rented this dress as my back up for new year's eve & didn't end up wearing it, but it was beautiful on. My husband was very torn about which I should wear, but this one, although nice & short, was more on the "pretty" side and the other one I rented was more "sexy." The fabric of this dress is soft and super comfortable. This could easiely be worn for a more casual evening out or black tie wedding. I will definitely rent this one again to wear out!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 31, 2012
This dress and Emily saved me!
guys, so i had rented the Nicole miller lace dress, which was stolen from my building door (crazy super scary, UPS left it outside) and from days to my event and full residency duties there was no way i would have time to go get another dress. Ive called RTR and one of the stylist Emily (she was amazing!) was able to overnight me this amazing dress and the party was saved and my reputation for fabulous designs when not in scrubs :-) heads up: make sure to ask for a signature delivery if u r ordering thru ups, is the only way to protect yourself. about the dress - amazing looks, totally cool. about RTR - will definitely use it again. love the experience. about help from the stylist Emily - she ROCKED! enjoy ur fashion, C
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2012
My husband loved the dress so much, he asked if there was an option to buy.
This was my first rental and I was nervous, but very pleasantly surprised with how well the dress fit and how positive the entire experience was. This dress was beautiful and sexy and fit like a glove... my husband asked if there was an option to buy :) I am short (5'2") and curvy, and wear b/t an 8-10. After reading the very helpful reviews I ordered a 10 and 12 in this dress, and the 12 fit perfectly. The bottom hit about 2 inches above my knee so I was able to still wear spanx. Spent under $100 and felt like a million bucks! Would rent again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 12, 2012
All of the compliments on recieved on the dress and how affordable it was to rent the dress + accessories
I wore this dress to a formal black tie dinner. I received many compliments on the dress! I decided to wear it as a one shoulder instead of pulling the ruffles and material down as shown in the RTR picture. The ruffles flowed together perfectly and I felt much more comfortable with it up. The dress runs VERY true to size! I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 23, 2012
Overall, a nice dress
I ordered the 2 and 4 and wore the 4. Honestly, the only difference between the two (that I noticed) was that on the 2 the shoulder strap was a bit tighter, so I figured I would be able to move my arm more comfortably in the larger size. Getting the shoulder strap to look right was also a little challenging.....but all in all I was happy with this dress. The entire rental experience was seamless and I would DEFINITELY rent from them again.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×