Oscar Please Gown

$125 to buy
$995 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sexy Catherine Malandrino gown is truly red-carpet worthy. A halter neckline and all-over ruffle trim add a feminine touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for medium bust sizes - halter top is difficult to wear with bra
WAIST: Fitted - smocking at waist allows comfortable room and conceals midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long) Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6."

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for medium bust sizes - halter top is difficult to wear with bra
WAIST: Fitted - smocking at waist allows comfortable room and conceals midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long) Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6."

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk jersey. Halter neckline with double button closure. Smoking detail at waist. Diagonal ruffle trim on skirt. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large8
True to Size59
Small2
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2013
Great dress
The dress was very pretty but it was my backup so I never actually wore it besides when I tried it on. It definitely hugged all the right places and was extremely comfy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
January 5, 2013
Holy WOW!! Love loved loved every moment of the night in this dress!!
I wore this dress for a formal house New Years Eve party. I felt like a million bucks all night long--I have nothing but good to say about this dress and the overall RTR experience! The dress was an awesome fabric and was very flattering. It was low cut but I was able to wear a V-Plunge bra and double sided fashion tape to stay secured in the dress all night long! I actually paired it with ruby red accessories. Red suede shoes, very sparkly earrings and bracelet and placed several Swarovski crystal flowers in my hair that I did in a messy side up-do. I was very sad to have to return the dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2013
I loved it
I rented it for my Chrismas party, got tons of complaments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2012
At 5' 2" and unable to wear heels finding long dresses is a nightmare. The XS petite was PERFECT!!
I got the petite xs and it was a perfect length. I have a really hard time w dresses because I can't wear heels any longer to due to a foot injury. This always means $75 to get a dress hemmed, which pains me to do. Being able to order a dress at the perfect length was a HUGE reason I will continue to order from RTR. I am 5 foot 2, straight body, petite frame. The material of this dress is a jersey type material- I was so comfortable yet dressy and felt pretty all night long. Would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2012
This dress was absolutely amazing. I would wear it everyday if I could!
The only thing about this dress is that t is super long! I am 5'8 and had 4 inch heels on and it was still to long. Next time I would get the regular and not the long. Otherwise it fits like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 1, 2012
LOVED the swirling of the bottom of the dress when I spun!
I rented this for my boyfriend's holiday party. It was perfect the perfect length with my 5 inch heels. I absolutely loved twirling in it because the bottom looked so pretty when I did. It is rather low cut but it stayed in place and I did not need any fashion tape. It's hard to see in the picture and it was the end of the night, but I was going for the retro glam look. I had the red lips going and the side swept curls and it really completed the look. I wish I would have taken a picture earlier in the night with better lighting. It wasn't the most gorgeous dress, but the style is definitely VERY forgiving if in the stomach area. I was worried that the dress was going to look cheap because of the jersey fabric, but there is a sheen to it that dresses it up. I really cannot express how happy i am about the length of the dress turning out perfect with my shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2012
The look on my husbands face was priceless! He was so proud to have me on his arm.
This dress was PERFECTION. So many compliments, so many turned heads! Came off very elegantly b/c of my lack of cleavage (!). The deep v neckline would be too vulgar for larger breasted women, but since I am petite it still maintained a level of class due to the function I was attending. I loved the stretch, no bothering with closures or zippers. Hugged all the right places and with 4.5 inch heels the length was perfect. You can't miss with this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 2, 2012
Stunning gown!
This dress was amazing. I have a chest so I was nervous about it beign low cut and inappropriate, but I have one of those REALLY low bras leftover from my wedding so I wore that and some fashion tape and it worked perfectly. Just sexy enough. I'm 5'3" and wore 4 inch heels and the dress still hit the ground, but it was workable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 15, 2012
Love, love, LOVE!
I loved how this dress fit and felt! Super comfortable for a night of dancing! Very figure flattering and actually masks imperfections!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 7, 2012
I want to own this dress!
I love this dress! It's extremely comfortable, very forgiving in the midsection and extremely flattering for the chest! I wore a U-plunge bra and nothing showed except cleavage! Husband loved it too! The middle panel is actually smocked so its very stretchy around your stomach, but still very flattering. I am 5'7" and I wore 2.5" pr 3" heels and the MR was perfect. ML was out of stock, but I'm happy it was as it would have been ridiculously too long!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2012
LOVE this dress!!
We were invited to a Black Tie Gala and my husband said" We can go but you can't buy a new dress' so I said " OK- no problem." ( I RENTED ONE !!!!!) This dress is AMAZING. I love Catherine Maladrino anyway but this was superb. It is very well constructed , the fabric is very good quality that is heavy enough to lay without being bulky.It has a slight amount of stretch to it so it moves with you. The details don't show in the picture. ( there are tiny ruffles going diagonally across the bottom that give a slendering effect). I loved this so much I inquired about purchasing it. I would rent this again. Just an FYI ~ I loved this dress SO much I rented it again. They didn't have the 4R so I ordered the 4L ~ I am 5'8 with Long legs so thought the tall would be fine. I could just wear higher heels. WRONG. It was HUGE ! The waist was wider , and looked awful. I was unable to wear the dress. So keep in mind a 4 is not a 4 - The 4L is bigger everywhere. Lesson learned.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
September 24, 2012
perfect black tie dress
This is an extremely flattering dress, but the SR was too short and had a lot of pulls in the material. The MR fit ok, but was a little longer than I would have wanted, but I just wore taller shoes. The deep V neckline makes it impossible to wear a bra, which was okay for me, but since the larger size was also a little loose, but I used some fashion tape to hold it in place and it ended up being great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2012
Quick and easy return when the dress didn't fit.
Very fitted, too long (being 5'7" even with heels) and didn't accentuate the right areas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
September 22, 2012
This dress is very beautiful!
I ordered this dress for a wedding. Although it look really nice on me , I ended up not wearring it because the raffles made it look too casual for the wedding I was attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
Gorgeous and Sexy (yet comfortable) Dress - a definite showstopper!
I ordered this dress because it looked gorgeous on the model and I liked that it was stretch jersey...I hoped that would increase the odds that it would fit. I am very curvy at the hips and have wide shoulders and rib cage, so I often have difficulty zipping into formal gowns. This gown did not disappoint! I ordered the SL and ML and the Small fit perfectly. It stretched where I needed it to and it made me feel so sexy. The length was perfect with tall heels. The back of the dress is a bit longer than the front, so even with tall heels I had to pick it up when I was walking around. But otherwise the fit was perfect and the dress made me feel like a movie star. If I could purchase this dress I would!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 19, 2012
Great, comfortable formal dress!
This dress fit really well and was super comfortable to wear all night. The length was perfect (ordered a small long fit). However, I had to use fashion tape to make sure the top stayed in place since the neck line is so low cut. Other than that, a fantastic, fun dress! Definitely more fun than your average LBD!
AliFebruary 12, 2013
Kiersten - what sized heel did you wear? I'm also 5'9" - a C-cup an 5 lbs heavier overall...ordered an SL and a MR (no ML available) - I think the SL should work, but not sure what sized heel would work. If you have recommendations, they are most welcome! You look fantastic in the photo!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
September 12, 2012
Fitst RTR rental, loved it!
Great dress, many compliments. Ended up wearing the Small Reg over the Ex Small Reg because the XS was a little short. Although the S fit great I would have like to see the fit of the XSLong. Still an awesome dress that I loved!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 28, 2012
Fabulous!
This dress was so flattering and so comfortable and I got tons of compliments. I would rent it again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Classy and sexy!
This dress was perfect for the charity ball my husband and I attended. It was sexy and classy on all in one! This runs true to size and highlights the positives and minimizes the negatives. Love RTR!
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
Stunning! tons of compliments!
The dress is a stretch material that holds everything and is super comfortable. The only complaint was it was a little big around the neck.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 14, 2012
Simple but elegant
Wore this to a black tie event, and it was great. Super comfortable, very flattering cut that accentuates curves. I am a very petite 5'1" and this dress was almost short on me. Fit great, but in 4 inch heels the dress was too short so definitely plan on shorter heels. Also, I am not busty so had to pin the very bottom of the v to prevent the bust area from bulging and revealing my bra, and also had to use some padding. It was a simply fix and worked fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 27, 2012
The man next to me wearing nothing but gold paint!
This dress is rediculous! It is so comfortable and low maintenance. I didn't even wear a bra. I'm very small on top so I ordered the XSR. It could have been a few inches longer, but whatever, it was drop dead amazing. I wore it to a local Oscar party.The strech silk was the most incredible fabric. This is what couture is all about! It is slimming and flattering and sexy and everything I want in a dress. It was so sad to mail it back :(
View photos (2)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 16, 2011
Perfect dress and easy return
I was so impressed with this dress! The plunging neckline was dramatic (but they send fashion tape along and it works great). I'm 5'6 118 lbs and the small fit like it was made for me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2011
Beautiful dress!
Loved this dress! The fit is very flattering - it's a jersey-like fabric that is snug yet comfortable. The neckline was perfect; I'm 34C and used a backless, strapless bra which I then glued to the dress with the enclosed double-sided tape - it stayed put all night. I'm 5'6, 125lbs, 35-27-37 and the Small fit perfectly. I did order the Regular and feel that with my height and using 4" heels, the Long would have been better, but no matter - this was a beautiful dress and my only regret was having to send it back!
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 22, 2011
BEST DRESS EVER!!!
I love, love, love this dress!!! The only thing bad about it was that I didn't get to keep it forever! I was a bridesmaid in my sister's wedding this weekend and I definitely had the best dress. It fit perfectly, I looked curvy in all the right places, the length was great, the neckline is very flattering on small boobs. Also, the included double sided tape was very helpful. I highly recommend this dress and if I have a black tie event to go to, I would want to rent this dress again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2011
Best dress EVER! I wore it as a bridesmaid's dress in a wedding where the bride wanted us all in long black dresses. It was such a huge hit and it felt spectacular to wear. I have an athletic but thin build and small boobs and the low neckline was very flattering. I wore low-ish heels so the size small, regular fir perfectly. The detail on the dress is just beautiful and it felt great to be wearing a Catherine Malandrino to a black tie L.A. Wedding for $100!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 19, 2011
This dress is way too short. I am 5'6" and it didn't touch the ground. I would have had to wear flats with it so hence didn't wear it. If you are over 5'2" I would order a long.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 15, 2011
Awesome Dress! Hugs the body in all the right places. Wore it with 4 inch heels and it did not touch the floor at all- absolutely perfect length! Needs a little double sided sticky tape to hold the dress in place in the chest area. Would highly reccomend it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2011
I didn't end up wearing this dress because I didn't have the right size (I had a SR, and needed a XSR), but the dress was very slimming. My complaints, however, were that 1) the dress was too long (5'3" + 4 inch heels wasn't enough, but not a big deal), 2) the material felt kind of cheap, and 3) the ruffle trim stuck out weirdly, but that may have been because the whole skirt was just too big. If I had had the right size, it might've looked as good as on the model!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Apple
May 23, 2011
This dress was amazing!! The small fit like a glove (I'm somewhat petite and very curvy) and the lenghth was perfect. Very sexy yet still a classy, black dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
March 29, 2011
Felt and looked like a starlet! This dress fit perfectly, and it moves very well. I used tape as I have a small bust and needed the straps to stay in place. Loved, loved, loved this dress. I'm 5'2 and wore 4 inch heels and it was maybe a cm off the floor or less.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 6, 2010
This dress is absolutely stunning! I wore it to a black tie wedding and felt gorgeous in it all night long. It's a bit shinier material than it looks in the picture, but in a way that makes the dress a bit more formal (not a cheap shine at all). Great for dancing! I am 5'6" and the regular length was perfect in my 31/2 inch heels. I would definitely rent this dress again!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×