Oscar Please Gown

$125 to buy
$995 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sexy Catherine Malandrino gown is truly red-carpet worthy. A halter neckline and all-over ruffle trim add a feminine touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for medium bust sizes - halter top is difficult to wear with bra
WAIST: Fitted - smocking at waist allows comfortable room and conceals midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long) Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6."

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black silk jersey. Halter neckline with double button closure. Smoking detail at waist. Diagonal ruffle trim on skirt. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(59)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 13, 2013
Nicely constructed, divinely stretchy!
I loved this dress. It was very stretchy, so happily very forgiving. I did use fashion tape to avoid being too boobalicious (closer-up picture is BEFORE fashion tape, FYI), but just a little bit, and I didn't think about cleavage once I was taped. Seriously, this was very, very comfy -- and I tend to live in denim and sweats -- but looked elegant and was awesome for my extremely formal black-tie event. Even though it's a simple black dress, there's lots of detailing. I'm generally between a size 6 and 8, I've had two babies so I have a slightly rounded tummy. Because the "girls" hang lower than they did pre-baby, I used adhesive bra cups - but honestly, someone younger might be able to rock this dress without them. I tried both the SL and the M reg (they were out of the M long). Everyone agreed that the S fit better, and with 3 or 4 inch heels (forget which), I definitely needed that length. Recommend spanx because it hugs the rump and hips a little.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Picture doesn't accurately reflect the details.
This dress is a fabulous LBD. Perfect for a formal event. Comfortable, stylish, fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
June 25, 2013
Great First Pick!
I needed something for a huge televised event in LA and was a little nervous picking a dress from RTR for the first time that I'd be stuck scrambling for a dress last minute. The RTR staff was extremely helpful in allaying my fears about the size of the dress and how it would fit around the bust line. On the night of the event, I felt pretty and comfortable AND the bonus was that I could eat BREAD in this dress and still look thin! Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 16, 2013
Was my first time ordering and I was extremely impressed!
Great dress!! It was my backup. Should have ordered the Regular length. Love it though!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
November 25, 2013
Felt like a movie Star! This dress is so beautiful in person, the pictures do not do it justice.
I ordered a xsl and a sl and ended up wearing the xsl. I had on HUGE shoes; platform 5 inch pump style, and it was still a bit long. I am not sure if the regular would have been too short or not for 4-5inch shoes. It has this beautiful ruffle detail swirling the skirt and it swings out at your feet. The neckline is very plunging,not a good pick for those who do not like low cut dresses. The fabric was also amazing- very pretty with a satiny sheen to it. It was a very comfortable dress too as the material has stretch to it. Very flattering, it cinches your waist and hugs your hips and gradually getting roomier to the floor. I would definitely rent this dress again. I rented the Ben-Amun Deco Crystal Statement Necklace and it complimented it perfectly.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2013
Loved the dress!
I ordered a XSL and SR - I ended up going with the XSL because it fit the best. It was a little long, however I'd rather have longer than too short. I accented it with red...red clutch, bracelets, earrings and shoes. Do make sure to have double stick tape for the breast to hold in place....I'm very small on top, so I wanted to be sure there was no slippage. This dress is very forgiving and comfortable all at the same time. Would definitely consider renting it again. This was my second time ordering from rent the runway and I absolutely LOVE RTR!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 15, 2012
Love, love, LOVE!
I loved how this dress fit and felt! Super comfortable for a night of dancing! Very figure flattering and actually masks imperfections!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2013
I got so many compliments on how HOT this dress was!
Loved the stretchy fabric. Made it so comfortable to wear! Fit perfectly and I had on platform shoes. Would definitely rent this one again for another formal event. Absolutely Loved my first Rent the Runway experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
February 15, 2014
Great dress..sexy and sophisticated!
This was my first time ordering so I was skeptical on how the dress would fit, however It was perfect! I am petite and I didn't have to worry about the length at all with my 4 inch heels it was great. I did have to pin the top because it was a bit loose around the neck and I also used sticky tape so my cleavage was just right. Overall I was very pleased with the dress and the service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2014
The dress fit so well. I received so many compliments on it. It's a very sexy and elegant dress.
It's a stretchy fabric so it's forgiving when it comes to fitting. It's definitely low cut, but I didn't mind. It really shows off a good figure. I was worried about the length, but with a decent heel, it's fine. Amazing dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2014
I loved this dress! Very simple and pretty.
The length was perfect and the top was great for my large chest:)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2014
Great dress for a hollywood themed event.
longer than expected, but otherwise it was comfortable and styish
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
A great fit and so comfortable!
This dress was perfect. It is stylish and comfortable and moves really well. I have 4 kids and the texture and stretchy fabric worked well for "mommy tummy". I am small chested but it complimented what I do have better than I even hoped. I am 5' 6" and with 3" heels the hem of the R was exactly at floor length. I bought the stick on bra that RTR recommended and it was perfect for this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 22, 2014
My husbands gave when he looked at me in it
Fit was perfect. The length couldn't have better. I'm 5'8" and wore 3.5" heels. I tried on the XS long and it was a little shorter. I got so many compliments in this dress and it was so comfortable! I didn't wear a bra and didn't need double-sided tape. Gorgeous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 31, 2014
Amazing! So flattering!
Got this for a formal wedding 9 months after having a baby. I had lost most of my weight, but not all and was anxious getting dressed up for my first formal event in a while. This dress was hot stuff! I looked great and received compliments all night!
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2014
I got many compliments on this dress!
The dress was a hit, very sexy. My only "complaint", and it's not really even that, is the top was VERY snug. I am a 34 F and this dress had to work to cover the girls! I ordered an XS and S, based on reviews and the Small was the right size everywhere but the top. I think a Medium would have been too big everywhere, so maybe if I had ordered a Medium and Small I still would have worn the small, but who knows.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2012
LOVE this dress!!
We were invited to a Black Tie Gala and my husband said" We can go but you can't buy a new dress' so I said " OK- no problem." ( I RENTED ONE !!!!!) This dress is AMAZING. I love Catherine Maladrino anyway but this was superb. It is very well constructed , the fabric is very good quality that is heavy enough to lay without being bulky.It has a slight amount of stretch to it so it moves with you. The details don't show in the picture. ( there are tiny ruffles going diagonally across the bottom that give a slendering effect). I loved this so much I inquired about purchasing it. I would rent this again. Just an FYI ~ I loved this dress SO much I rented it again. They didn't have the 4R so I ordered the 4L ~ I am 5'8 with Long legs so thought the tall would be fine. I could just wear higher heels. WRONG. It was HUGE ! The waist was wider , and looked awful. I was unable to wear the dress. So keep in mind a 4 is not a 4 - The 4L is bigger everywhere. Lesson learned.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Apple
May 23, 2011
This dress was amazing!! The small fit like a glove (I'm somewhat petite and very curvy) and the lenghth was perfect. Very sexy yet still a classy, black dress.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 30, 2013
Overall, great fit
I wore this dress for a black tie event. I am very petite (usually wear a 00P/0P) and the stretch material of the dress was a perfect fit in flattering curves. Also, the dress was super comfortable. My one complaint is that the dress was a little big around the torso and neck area. I had to pin the area that goes around the neck to make it tighter. Thankfully, my hair covered this up. And, I used fashion tape to close in the a portion of the bust area to not show my bra. Overall, simple fixes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
April 18, 2013
Beautiful and Comfortable
I got both the MR and LR. The MR fit better but the length wasn't long enough. So I wore the LR mostly for the lenght. And as the dress is made entirely of stretchy fabric, very forgiving on minor size differences.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
July 24, 2013
Beyond YUMMY - fit wonderfully, material felt amazing on and was a perfect choice for the evening!
This dress was my second choice but as soon as I put it on I knew. I was attending the Oscars and this dress was perfect. Sexy, fit great (stretchy material) and had a bit of a train. Undergarments are a bit tricky....used a unique bra. Everything with RTR went perfect - I'll be back!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2014
The dress was so comfortable. The material was stretchy and breathable.
The straps were a little big, so I had to use a safety pin at my neck. I also bought the tape to go with it which took me a minute to get the hang of. I wore high heels since I am only 5'3.5. I would not have been able to wear shorter shoes with this.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
Gorgeous and Sexy (yet comfortable) Dress - a definite showstopper!
I ordered this dress because it looked gorgeous on the model and I liked that it was stretch jersey...I hoped that would increase the odds that it would fit. I am very curvy at the hips and have wide shoulders and rib cage, so I often have difficulty zipping into formal gowns. This gown did not disappoint! I ordered the SL and ML and the Small fit perfectly. It stretched where I needed it to and it made me feel so sexy. The length was perfect with tall heels. The back of the dress is a bit longer than the front, so even with tall heels I had to pick it up when I was walking around. But otherwise the fit was perfect and the dress made me feel like a movie star. If I could purchase this dress I would!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 14, 2012
Simple but elegant
Wore this to a black tie event, and it was great. Super comfortable, very flattering cut that accentuates curves. I am a very petite 5'1" and this dress was almost short on me. Fit great, but in 4 inch heels the dress was too short so definitely plan on shorter heels. Also, I am not busty so had to pin the very bottom of the v to prevent the bust area from bulging and revealing my bra, and also had to use some padding. It was a simply fix and worked fine.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
Stunning! tons of compliments!
The dress is a stretch material that holds everything and is super comfortable. The only complaint was it was a little big around the neck.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 2, 2012
Stunning gown!
This dress was amazing. I have a chest so I was nervous about it beign low cut and inappropriate, but I have one of those REALLY low bras leftover from my wedding so I wore that and some fashion tape and it worked perfectly. Just sexy enough. I'm 5'3" and wore 4 inch heels and the dress still hit the ground, but it was workable.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2013
Great dress
The dress was very pretty but it was my backup so I never actually wore it besides when I tried it on. It definitely hugged all the right places and was extremely comfy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
January 21, 2013
Stunning dress !
Very flattering cut, material is gorgeous !
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2013
The look when I walked into the room!
Fit was perfect! I am petite so it was a bit long, but nothing some heels can't fix.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2013
lots of complements
very low cut must have proper bra
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
September 15, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this, because I rented two and chose the other one.
Loved this dress! The fabric is thick and stretchy, so very forgiving. It's almost like a "spanx" dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 8, 2014
Best dress so far!
I have rented quite a few dresses over the last few years and this is hands down my favorite so far. I loved everything about it; the fabric, the ruffles, the way it's cut, the plunging back... All of it. Sometimes I find black dresses to be boring but this one stands out. It is pretty low cut in the front but I didn't need any tape or anything; it stayed put nicely. And it's a dress you can dance in. I would wear longer earring with it bc of the plunging neckline. You can carry off big colorful earrings with this dress! Just loved it!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×