Rent the Runway

Catherine Malandrino

Madrid Madness Gown

$75 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing, vibrant colored gown by Catherine Malandrino for your prom or formal event. It will be the talk of the party! Pair with Slate & Willow's Platinum Record Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch jersey allows for larger cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - pleated waist and front draping conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretch jersey highlights backside
LENGTH: - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch jersey allows for larger cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - pleated waist and front draping conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretch jersey highlights backside
LENGTH: - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Blue jersey. V neckline with modesty inset. Pleated waist. Draped skirt. Sleeveless blue jersey gown with pleated waist and front draping. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

76 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 64
Large 8
Photos 50
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Jun 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
It fit me a little long, but i blame that on MY height, not the dress. It does fit true to size. I got so many compliments on this dress. I loved it.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! I am around 5'7, 130lbs, and I ordered the SR. The dress came right above my toes in my heels, and dragged just a little on the floor without shoes. The color was slightly richer than in the picture which I LOVED, and everything about it fit PERFECTLY! I wore it to my prom, it was stretchy and comfortable, and really easy to dance in! From the picture, I was a little worried about the front draping looking a little funny, but it ended up being very slimming and it looked great. It was such a beautiful dress, I hated having to send it back!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
this is a hot dress, i recommend it, however it clings when it gets around your legs when you walk. over all it was a lovely wear!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress ran long on me, but fit my curves perfectly. I wasn't expecting the material to be like it was though, so I had to use a dryer sheet to get the static cling off of my legs. This is a good dress if you're in shape, but if you're not, it's going to show off everything you'd rather not show. Loved the dress :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely loved this dress! I received both the XS and S and ended up wearing the XS. I'm just a tad under 5'7" and both sizes were actually a bit short on me. You could see my shoes and they were probably only 2.5 inches high. The color on this dress is stunning, great choice for an event where you don't want to be the center of attention but you want some color on you!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Oct 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for an out of town event because I didn't want to buy something to wear one time only. The color was remarkable. The fit fabulous. It was elegant, classy & sexy all at once. I was complimented many times over. I was very much red carpet ready. I will use this service time & time again. Get your dress! Note the fit is long but was perfect with 4 inch heels. Wear Higher heels if you are average height.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a ball and loved it! It fit great and was very flattering with my curves. I received a lot of compliments. The regular was a perfect length with heels.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 10, 2011

Amazing dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is perfect for a semi formal event. I am so pleased with this dress which Is very elegant but not over the top. I am a mother of 4 and this dress did hide my belly pooch :). Just wear spanks and let me tell u for my straight not perfect figure this dress gave me great shape. Length is also perfect, I'm a little over 5'3 and wore 3.5 in heels and it hits just right above the bottom of the heel of my shoe so my toe only peaks out and I don't have to hold the dress when I walk. Color is so rich and vibrant that will look good with any skin tone.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 14, 2012

not as I expected

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress and I would have loved to have worn it, but the M was too tight in the bust and the L was too big. Also, the MR was really short ( I am 5' 4") If I ever see this dress for purchase, I would get the LR and have it altered. This is obviously a very popular rental. There were definite signs of wear and tear. Maybe time to retire !
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Mar 14, 2012

Flattering for Curves

Size worn: LL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was originally my back-up dress for a fundraiser, but I liked it so much I ended up wearing it over my first pick. I'm 5'10" and right between a size 10 and 12, but the size large in this dress was just perfect. The material is very stretchy so if you're in-between sizes like me this is a good choice. I loved that I could wear a regular bra with this dress. I highly recommend some SPANX, because the jersey fabric clings to everything. The seams at the waist and the draping are very flattering- it really helped to accentuate my waist without feeling constrictive at all. The color is the best part, it's very vibrant and I think it would look nice on all skin tones. Since I'm tall I usually struggle with dresses being long enough, but in the large long I was still able to wear 2-3" heels and have the hem graze the floor. Perfect!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

Wedding Affair

Size worn: LR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding in Philly this past weekend. While I did like the color, the slouching in the front of the dress gave it a maternity feel to me. Another part I did not like was that the zipper on the left side of the dress bunched up a bit.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 24, 2012

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress as my back-up, but loved it so much I ended up wearing it. The color is beautiful and it photographs well. The draping is very figure flattering and I was able to dance all night without having to constantly adjust my dress. Only downside, there was another girl in the same dress and she ordered it from RTR too!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 20, 2012

Gorgeous and comfortable!

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would normally consider myself a medium, and the medium fit perfectly! It is form-fitting, so make sure you have a good undergarments, I am about 5' 3", and it hit right at my foot. I wore about 4" heels and you could still see most of the shoes. This was an event with dancing, and I was able to dance without any problems.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Totally Glam!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this for a work event and it was an excellent choice. Fabric has some give so it was comfortable all evening. The color is a bright, deep blue and very pretty. I paired it with drop earrings for a classic look. I felt totally sexy but also ladylike - a good dress for feeling pretty *and* professional. I didn't have the length issue other people have mentioned, and wore this with a very moderate 2" heel. One downside is that the fabric bunches just a little at the midsection, giving you a "pooch." I wore Spanx to get around this.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 31, 2012

Super comfortable and stylish!

Size worn: LR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the feel, color and overall fit. I'm renting for a second time, I loved it so much! The color blue is perfect for my skin tone (I have fair olive skin). I wore silver jewelry with it but I think it would go great with silver or gold. The rouching is perfect to hide any "problem" areas and the the full back allows me to wear a supportive bra which I need (I'm a 36 D).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 19, 2012

Great Dress for Black Tie

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is super flattering. I'm 5'11", and the long was the perfect length for heels. I'm also a DD, and this was great for large chests. Also really comfortable and forgiving in all the right places. I wish I could wear it for every black tie wedding!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Just ok

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fabric is very thin and just didn't seem dressy enough for this occasion.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 12, 2012

The birthday coupon was so special.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ended up wearing another dress but tried this one on anyway. Loved the way it draped my body and the gathering in the front was very pretty. Definitely need some reinforcement in the backside area if you are not super toned. The color was beautiful. I would rent this again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

So many compliment!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This gown is so very elegant, and comfortable! The blue is so rich, and the draping of the gown compliments the hour glass figure perfectly. I can't count how many compliments I got, and ladies asking where I got it! Thank you RTR!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

Very pretty, but ended up going with my other choice.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful color, and I loved the way the top looks. I liked the other dress I rented just a little bit more, so I didn't end up wearing this one, but it was still a very nice choice.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Great fit, Great color.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Always lookig for extra length and this defiitely had it. Fit well, maybe a little large for size. Would rent it again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

The color of the dress is beautiful -- stands out in a sea of black tie without sequins...classy!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! So comfortable. Beautiful color. Very flattering! Ran alittle large -- I ordered the 4 and 6, wore the 4....could have worn a two.....fabric has lots of stretch and the draping hides tummy bulge. Would get regular size and one size down next time.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Beautiful in person. Fabric was light weight.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress had enough stretch to make a comfortable fit. The color was splendid. The draping in the front of the gown hides any flaws.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Apr 22, 2013

Very comfortable and flattering. Previously viewed comments were correct, it runs short.

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The L was the perfect length.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
May 28, 2013

I got tons of compliments, and it was comfortable for the entire night.

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size, it was easy to walk and dance in, and it complemented by pear shaped body type wonderfully. I wish I had gotten it in regular length because at 5'4" with four inch heels on, the dress did drag a bit. Otherwise, I had a wonderful time in it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Love this dress. It was a showstopper!!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a size 6R, it was a little big, I think that the 4R would have fit perfectly. Notwithstanding, I recieved so many compliments on the gown I felt like royalty. I would recommend this gown to anyone who has a formal event they are attending and needs a classy elegant look. This is it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 7, 2013

I hate

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
filling these things out. The dress is made of a stretchy material. Fit just fine. Needed to wear heels with it though
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 19, 2013

Didn't get to wear it... loved the color though... too long.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was pretty - but the 0 Long was VERY long. I am 5'4" and even with 4.5" heels, I felt that the dress was too long (couldn't walk in it). Also - the back bunched up a around the waist - not as flattering/fitted. Really wanted to rock it - but ended up going with the back up dress..
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 26, 2013

Beautiful Color and Neckline

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress has a beautiful, vibrant color and I was complimented on how it looked with my red hair. The neckline is really nice- not too low, but still sexy. I didn't care for the draping in front; it didn't look BAD, but I felt like it created curves where I didn't have them and didn't want them. Probably a plus if you want to camouflage "problem" areas, but not as flattering if you don't have anything to hide. That said, I DID love how long the skirt was, and how it fell. ( I am somewhere between "straight and narrow" and "hourglass"... probably a little more on the "straight & narrow" side.) I am 5'8, ~120 lbs, 32C, usually a dress size 0-2. I wore 3'' heels and the 0 Long was perfect.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Dec 2, 2013

pretty, but..

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
got this dress for a formal affair and I never ended up wearing it. It is a great dress but definitely not for pear shaped gals. This dress makes your hips pop even more and it's something I wanted to avoid. Plus the front draping part hangs funny, like a oversize adult bib. However that could have been the fact that it just didn't work for my body. Overall the dress is beautiful and great color.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Great dress and perfect for my baby bump

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 6 months pregnant and the dress fit great around my belly. The fabric was soft and strechy so it kept me comfortable all night.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 15, 2014

The color was great for a holiday party.

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have been wearing L and had plenty of room in the M. It was very forgiving and slimming.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Very pretty

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a military ball and it looked beautiful. The only comment I have is that it had a bit of a static issue. The dress kept clinging to my legs, and was continuously getting caught inbetween my legs as I walked. I'd recommed this dress only if you have static-guard handy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Flop

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't wear the dress, color was fantastic, the 8 fit well in the bust and hips however it was about 6 inches to long with heels. I tried the hem tape but it showed through the fabric. Sadly, I wore and old dress I had in my closet.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Great dress for showing off the baby bump

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
At 16.5 weeks pregnant, I was starting show, but still in that "is she fat or is she pregnant stage?". This dress was the perfect compliment to rocking the baby bump loud and proud. Paired with maternity spanx, I felt super comfy and beautiful in this dress. The draping in the front ended up stretching nicely to highlight the fact that I was pregnant, whereas other dresses I had tried at this stage felt like I was a whale in a circus tent, trying to cover up being overweight. I did feel that it ran large - I am usually a medium and with the little bit of extra weight I am carrying now, I did not expect a small to fit, but I am glad I got it! It paired perfectly with 3 inch heels.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Great mix of elegant but not too formal. Perfect for a late afternoon outdoor wedding in San Diego.

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the small and xs long. The material looked like it was going to be very clingy and show panty lines, so I was going to wear the small to minimize lines. The small fit fine, but I tried on the xs just for fun and it fit better than the small. No panty lines, and had room where I need it (shoulders and hips). It was more fitted in the waist, but still room to eat a big wedding feast without showing a food baby. It was very comfortable and the color is really great, too. I received tons of compliments.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×