Madrid Madness Gown

$63 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing, vibrant colored gown by Catherine Malandrino for your prom or formal event. It will be the talk of the party! Pair with Slate & Willow's Platinum Record Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch jersey allows for larger cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - pleated waist and front draping conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretch jersey highlights backside
LENGTH: - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch jersey allows for larger cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - pleated waist and front draping conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretch jersey highlights backside
LENGTH: - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Blue jersey. V neckline with modesty inset. Pleated waist. Draped skirt. Sleeveless blue jersey gown with pleated waist and front draping. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 23, 2015
Beautiful color
Wore this dress 6months pregnant and it was beautiful- comfortable and looked stunning- lots of compliments- great dress if your pregnant!!!
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2015
Nice drape for maternity use, but too short.
I rented this dress for a black tie dinner, 30 weeks pregnant. The drape of the dress and stretch of the fabric accommodated my bump beautifully, and I'd highly recommend it for maternity use. However, the dress was far too short for me. I ordered a Small Long, and at 5'8" the hem fell mid-calf. Perhaps too much material was taken up by my belly, but renters should be aware of the possibility! I would also add that the fabric is very light weight - a stretchy jersey with sheen. It didn't feel quite as formal as I would have liked, and definitely requires seamless/smoothing undergarments.
Size worn:
XSL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 8, 2015
Bump Friendly for sure!
Wore this to a local charity ball & got compliments all night. I was 27 weeks pregnant and the dress complimented my bump perfectly! The color is gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
LR
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
February 19, 2015
Thankful I could return for refund since this dress did not fit.
I was 35 weeks pregnant when I rented this dress. Only size available was either LR or SR. I knew a small wouldn't fit since I would normally wear a MR. LR fit a little loose on shoulders and did not flatter my bump....instead of hugging my shape, the dress sagged underneath by belly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
February 2, 2015
Stunning, comfortable and I felt gorgeous!
I LOVED this dress... It was extremely comfortable (considering I was 8 months pregnant) ... I got compliments all night long. I started off in heels but because the dress was 2 or 3" from the floor (I'm 5'11" and wore the Long) I switched to flats, which was more comfortable on my swollen feet anyway... The material was nice and light, it had plenty of stretch to it. There is a built-in tank which didn't fit me because of my larger bosom, and there wasn't an option to remove it, so you can see the lines of it (in photo #2)... I would rent this dress again -- prego or not!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 26, 2015
I felt very glamorous and elegant despite being 6 months pregnant!
I was 6 months pregnant during Mardi Gras and needed something comfortable yet beautiful. This dress was exactly what I wanted! The size 4R accented my bump perfectly and I was able to wear a strapless bra for added support. I received several complements throughout the night as well. Beautiful blue color that photographs nicely. Definitely recommend this dress whether pregnant or not!
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
December 30, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable dress!
Perfect formal dress for someone who is pregnant! Super comfortable and flattering on my 5+ month belly. I got a lot of compliments and felt fabulous! Beautiful color and style. Perfect length with 3 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 1, 2014
Gorgeous blue, fit well and service was excellent! Having a back-up size was a PLUS!!
Had to wear HIGH heels with the regular length it was a bit long but overall the dress was wonderful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2014
Endless compliments, gorgeous color, flattering shape!
I was 20 weeks pregnant and just starting to show, so I spent a lot of time on RTR finding a bump-friendly dress. This dress would have accommodated even a late term pregnant belly. All night people said "wow" when they saw me, and particularly complimented the color! It is a gorgeous royal blue and certainly stands out among the crowd. The material was relatively thick and stretchy, it was super comfortable. They did not have the regular length by the time I booked it, but I'm so glad I got the long because it skimmed the floor with 2 inch heels and did not cause any problems at all. Even when I switched to flats, I didn't feel that it was too long. I loved that you can wear a regular bra with it. This dress is super well-designed with its flattering V-cut, but has a clever layer to prevent cleavage issues. Stunning and I would look forward to renting again soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
July 21, 2014
This dress looked gorgeous without drawing attention away from the bride :)
Fit perfectly, true to size. Regular was not too long with 2" heels.
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 10, 2014
Comfortable dress & fit my baby bump!
Thanks to all the previous reviews, I was able to figure out a size that would work with my baby bump (35 weeks). I usually wear a 2 pre pregnancy and the S fit. The material is stretchy so was comfortable to wear all day. Only downside was my bump filled out all the fabric so at 5' 7, even with the SL I had to wear flats - which I was totally fine with. Received lots of compliments and can't wait for my next rental.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 25, 2014
The stylist gave great advice and I was complimented time and time again.
Beautiful color. Fits beautifully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 9, 2014
It was nice, but not spectacular.
This dress is a beautiful dress, but other than the color it added no wow factor to the evening. I looked nice, it fit well, but it was not the type of dress people remember.
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2014
Great mix of elegant but not too formal. Perfect for a late afternoon outdoor wedding in San Diego.
I rented the small and xs long. The material looked like it was going to be very clingy and show panty lines, so I was going to wear the small to minimize lines. The small fit fine, but I tried on the xs just for fun and it fit better than the small. No panty lines, and had room where I need it (shoulders and hips). It was more fitted in the waist, but still room to eat a big wedding feast without showing a food baby. It was very comfortable and the color is really great, too. I received tons of compliments.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 10, 2014
Great dress for showing off the baby bump
At 16.5 weeks pregnant, I was starting show, but still in that "is she fat or is she pregnant stage?". This dress was the perfect compliment to rocking the baby bump loud and proud. Paired with maternity spanx, I felt super comfy and beautiful in this dress. The draping in the front ended up stretching nicely to highlight the fact that I was pregnant, whereas other dresses I had tried at this stage felt like I was a whale in a circus tent, trying to cover up being overweight. I did feel that it ran large - I am usually a medium and with the little bit of extra weight I am carrying now, I did not expect a small to fit, but I am glad I got it! It paired perfectly with 3 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2014
Flop
Didn't wear the dress, color was fantastic, the 8 fit well in the bust and hips however it was about 6 inches to long with heels. I tried the hem tape but it showed through the fabric. Sadly, I wore and old dress I had in my closet.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2014
Very pretty
I wore this dress to a military ball and it looked beautiful. The only comment I have is that it had a bit of a static issue. The dress kept clinging to my legs, and was continuously getting caught inbetween my legs as I walked. I'd recommed this dress only if you have static-guard handy.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2014
The color was great for a holiday party.
I have been wearing L and had plenty of room in the M. It was very forgiving and slimming.
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
January 6, 2014
This dress was simply amazing. the color was perfect against my skin tone
The fit was perfect. Wore my spanx underneath for a flawless look. I received tons of compliments and I truly felt sexy. kudos to Rent the Runway! This was my first time and I would do it again.......
JessicaJanuary 15, 2014
It's insane how much better this dress looks on you than the model. I'd legitimately scan right past this dress seeing the original photo, but seeing you in it makes it instantly become a to-die for piece. Love the look!
kynaJanuary 17, 2014
Thanks for the compliment. The dress is amazing on!
JessikaJanuary 31, 2014
You look amazing! The color and the fit...so flattering!
jessicaJune 13, 2014
I feel like because you look so good in it I'm not going to rent it because I'll look like a sack of potatoes compared to you lol. Gorgeous!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
December 13, 2013
Great dress and perfect for my baby bump
I am 6 months pregnant and the dress fit great around my belly. The fabric was soft and strechy so it kept me comfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
December 2, 2013
pretty, but..
got this dress for a formal affair and I never ended up wearing it. It is a great dress but definitely not for pear shaped gals. This dress makes your hips pop even more and it's something I wanted to avoid. Plus the front draping part hangs funny, like a oversize adult bib. However that could have been the fact that it just didn't work for my body. Overall the dress is beautiful and great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 22, 2013
Can't go wrong!
I was 6 weeks post partum and this dress was perfect! I ordered a size larger than I would normally wear (given the recent baby) and the dress fit perfectly - I wore 3 inch heels and the long length was perfect. It was comfortable, flattering and I got so many compliments on the dress and the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
November 15, 2013
Going to a military ball with my husband almost 8 months pregnant and had compliments all night!
Because of my baby belly I ordered a medium long and large regular. Both fit relatively the same, the large provided more fabric in the nether regions for draping so nothing was skin tight. The only problem I had was the way the dress is finished on the sides at the top under the armpit. The way it's cut makes it look as if the dress is coming unzipped. The great thing is you can wear a regular bra with this. I'm 5'4" and wore four inch heels which were perfect with my belly and the length. Just barely scraped the ground so it was wonderful. The color is timeless and stands out. I got compliments all night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
November 6, 2013
Comfortable dress for awards program
This dress is very comfortable, but runs a little long--with 3 inch heels, I was hitching this dress up all night. I think it made me look a little "hippier" than I am, but the other dress I rented didn't work at all, so I went with this one. The color is beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 3, 2013
Comfortable & flattering
no complaints
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 29, 2013
So happy I chose this dress!
After just having my second child 4 months ago, I was not looking forward to trying on a bunch of dresses for this year's Marine Corps ball. I needed something forgiving that still made me feel pretty. This dress was it. I ordered both the Small Regular and the Extra Small Long, I ended up wearing the Extra small because the length was better for the high shoes I had my heart set on wearing and the bust held me in tighter than the regular. The color is amazing, bright, rich cobalt I received a ton of compliments. I didn't want to give this dress back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 8, 2013
A+++ Perfect for the gala I attended-- I got compliments all night and even days later!!
Beautiful fit, color, and comfortable stretchy material. For all the short girls out there--it was pretty long and I had to use double sided tape for a temporary hem. The draping is great to create shape and hide a tummy-- however still make sure to wear shapewear/spanx as the fabric is thin. It was an amazing coincidence that I had the PERFECT shoes to go with it-- the same blue in a satin with sparkles, peep toes slingback heels (from Shoedazzle, but RTR should look into shoes too!!)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 29, 2013
Beautiful color and super comfortable. Great first RTR experience!
Wore this to a black tie wedding and it was a great choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
September 26, 2013
Beautiful Color and Neckline
This dress has a beautiful, vibrant color and I was complimented on how it looked with my red hair. The neckline is really nice- not too low, but still sexy. I didn't care for the draping in front; it didn't look BAD, but I felt like it created curves where I didn't have them and didn't want them. Probably a plus if you want to camouflage "problem" areas, but not as flattering if you don't have anything to hide. That said, I DID love how long the skirt was, and how it fell. ( I am somewhere between "straight and narrow" and "hourglass"... probably a little more on the "straight & narrow" side.) I am 5'8, ~120 lbs, 32C, usually a dress size 0-2. I wore 3'' heels and the 0 Long was perfect.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2013
Comfortable, elegant and sexy.
It was a little long on me, but I am 5'1" so most things are. I had 6 iinch heels and still needed to be careful walking not to trip, so if you need to move fast and have short legs maybe not. Otherwise this dress was perfect. The blue color is vibrant and the fabric is super comfortable and silky without wrinkling and the cut is very flattering and hides all the insecurities. Plus you can wear a normal bra which is a huge plus. I felt incredible for the award show I wore it to.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2013
Didn't get to wear it... loved the color though... too long.
It was pretty - but the 0 Long was VERY long. I am 5'4" and even with 4.5" heels, I felt that the dress was too long (couldn't walk in it). Also - the back bunched up a around the waist - not as flattering/fitted. Really wanted to rock it - but ended up going with the back up dress..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2013
Black tie wedding and wasn't sure how to create a look without breaking the bank. Till this dress!
The dress was a perfect fit. I am 5'9" and I wore 4 inch heels and the dress did not touch the floor. It was comfortable. The stretchy material does show underwear and the gathering in the front felt a little weird at first. I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 7, 2013
I hate
filling these things out. The dress is made of a stretchy material. Fit just fine. Needed to wear heels with it though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
August 7, 2013
Love this dress. It was a showstopper!!!
I ordered a size 6R, it was a little big, I think that the 4R would have fit perfectly. Notwithstanding, I recieved so many compliments on the gown I felt like royalty. I would recommend this gown to anyone who has a formal event they are attending and needs a classy elegant look. This is it!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 23, 2013
Rented this for a Royal Wedding party and it was just perfect. I channeled my inner Duchess.
The fit was great, and the dress was so, so comfortable. Wish I had it in my closet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 18, 2013
Felt like a million buck...didn't spend close to it!
I had a black tie event with my husband and was 18 weeks pregnant at the time so I didn't want to spend on a dress that I knew I would for sure never wear again so I decided to give it a try with RTR. I originally ordered the Badgley Mischka Flora Chiffon Gown and the Barbuda Beach Gown but none of them fitted me nice. The first one just felt too tight on my rib cage (I had to wear it a bit higher than the waist line in order to be above the belly) and I couldn't fill the cups of the second one in the size I needed to wear to fit my belly. Now I'll be honest with you, the Caterine Malandrino wasn't even one that I looked at but the the stylist assured me I would love it and feel comfortable in it and she was 150% right! This dress is stunning, show your curves and is extremely comfortable (kept telling my husband I felt like I was wearing one of my cute summer dress!). The picture on the website doesn't do it justice, trust me! Go for it, pregnant or not, it's a gorgeous dress!!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
May 28, 2013
I got tons of compliments, and it was comfortable for the entire night.
The fit was true to size, it was easy to walk and dance in, and it complemented by pear shaped body type wonderfully. I wish I had gotten it in regular length because at 5'4" with four inch heels on, the dress did drag a bit. Otherwise, I had a wonderful time in it.
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 22, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering. Previously viewed comments were correct, it runs short.
The L was the perfect length.
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 161lbs
April 10, 2013
beautiful gown. Light and forgiving with the pleating. color is gorgeous
A little short for me, but I'm 5'11. The medium long was long enough but a bit too lose.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
February 13, 2013
Beautiful in person. Fabric was light weight.
The dress had enough stretch to make a comfortable fit. The color was splendid. The draping in the front of the gown hides any flaws.
See more reviews:
1 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×