Black Bombshell Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail
Stylist Notes

Catherine Malandrino creates a delicate draping silhouette that flatters your curves. This chiffon style is definitely siren material.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with jersey waistband with some stretch
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted in hips with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetric hemline goes high up on upper left thigh, especially on very full hips/ backside or tall girls

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra though standard bra could be worn under sheer fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with jersey waistband with some stretch
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted in hips with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetric hemline goes high up on upper left thigh, especially on very full hips/ backside or tall girls

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra though standard bra could be worn under sheer fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Crepe silk chiffon. Cowl neckline. Seamed skirt with asymmetric hemline. Tiered ruffle in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2010
I was a bit disapointed in this dress. It did not look as sophisticated as it does in the photo. I also think it is narrow through the rib cage area.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2010
Very happy with this dress. I'm between a 10 & a 12 and went with the 12 because it zipped up just right through the waist & ribs. The dress really fit just right. Very fun & flirty layers, got lots of complimnets!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2010
I agree with the prior review - the dress is not as dressy or sophisticated as it appears in the photo. I wore it to a black-tie event and felt a bit underdressed. It fits well, however, and is flattering. Warning - the short side is very short - mid to upper thigh. But I am on the tall side, so that could account for some of that.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 21, 2011
This dress was perfect for a New Year's Eve! Flirty, great for dancing, I got so mny compliments. I was surprised at the lack of finish on the handkerchief edges and the left side was higher than I expected but overall, I would recommend it and rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2011
I loved this dress, I wore it 8 weeks after having a baby and it looked great, hid the extra weight well. It is cut pretty high on the thigh which is hard to see from the picture.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 5, 2011
I rented this dress to go to the Opera... it is stunning. The neckline is gorgeous; great if you have a medium size chest :). The draping is very flattering and on my frame the length was about 3 inches longer (better as the side slit is high). I loved wearing it and felt amazing. My date's reaction when I opened the door? "Wow".
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2011
I wore this dress to a roaring 20s party, and it worked great. The fit was perfect. I was concerned beforehand because several reviews mentioned it ran narrow in the ribs, but I had no problem with it (and I'm a 34D). I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 14, 2011
I am a 10 with a full bust- I ordered both a 10 & 12 just in case. I am going to wear the 12. It is fitted in the waist & ribcage. The top looks really sloppy on me, not elegant like this photo. The sides (under the arms) seem loose as does the top fabric. I just would not suggest it for a busty figure like mine. I love the fabric, flow & feel of the dress from the waist down!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011
This dress was very flattering in the bust area but the slit was VERY high. It barely covered my butt. I felt the pitcures were misleading b/c it didn't show how high the slit went up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Asymmetric hemline
This was a fun and light dress I wore to a Christmas party. You will feel so beautiful. The asymmetric tulle is beautiful but very delicate. Don't step on it or it may tear. (Speaking from experience, ahem.)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 22, 2012
Gorgeous and feminine!
This was my back-up dress and I got it in the 8 and 10. The 10 was really large, and the 8 was almost perfect - except the bust area was more loose than I had hoped. I wear 36C, so size shouldn't have been an issue. The dress tends to have some static, but it was really gorgeous. I felt comfortable and the length was great for me - I am only 5"2' though. I wore it with black sheer hose, but imagine it would've looked great with bare legs or nude hose as well. There is a soft fabric panel across the mid section, and on the size 10 that I received, the fabric was pilling. I didn't wear that one, but had I needed to wear that one, I would've been disappointed. Great first rental experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2012
Great party dress
Loved the dress! I am quite busty and the dress as very large on the top. I think the 10 would have fit better, but I received the wrong back-up size. As mentioned in other reviews the short side is much shorter than it looks in the picture, but was fine with tights. I wore to a roaring 20's party and got tons of of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2012
Great Dress, Poor Fit
The dress was beautiful and I loved the side slit, but there was so much room in the bust! I had to return it without wearing it because I just couldn't even get close to filling it out.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
July 18, 2012
Fast easy service!
I chose the size 0 and 2 and went with the 0 because the drape at neck was too floppy and exposing on the size 2. Great fit... super comfy. Size 2 had a faint cig smell...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2012
Perfect for Homecoming!
This was perfect for my daughter's HS Homecoming dance. She had a unique dress and because of the fabric, it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2012
Perfect for the Roaring 20's
I wore this to a murder mystery party that was set in the 20's. This dress was perfect with a long strand of pearls. I normally wear a 6, but the 8 fit better. It might have had something to do with the fact that I had the flu and was not feeling so hot.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 19, 2012
Great Party Dress
It fits pretty much to size, I'd recommend some dress tape along the bust line, it tended to slip around without it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 9, 2012
Better for taller girls
This dress was too long on me and did not flatter me like it does on the model. It was a back up dress that I did not end up wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Flattering, easy to wear, and comfortable. I got a ton of compliments on this dress.
The slit goes slightly high on the side - so if you're attending a more conservative event, you might want something different. But for the formal-but-fun party I went to, this dress was perfect.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
I this dress wore on a date with my boyfriend to a Broadway show. Very classy, made the night!
a little extra space in the bust, but nothing major. The neckline fell nicely.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 20, 2012
The compliments kept coming.
I only have a B-cup and I felt that that this dress needs a little bit bigger bust than that. There was lots of fabric just hanging around and I had to use a lot of fabric tape to keep it in place. It was impossible to find a bra that would not show under this dress. The neckline and under the arms is really deep cut, so I chose not to wear a bra at all. Now with my cup size I could get away with it and still keep the girls in place. After a few adjustments it was an overall fabulous dress that definitely turned some heads.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2012
very comfortable
i got this as my back up dress and wound up wearing it, i wish i got one size larger as it was a little short on the side/back, it looked great and got a lot of compliments all night.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 6, 2012
Flattering for any figure. Great, go-to LBD!
Slightly shorter (on the short side) than I thought, but so flattering it didn't matter. However, if you plan on wearing a spanx down onto your thigh this is not the dress for you. This dress is easy to wear. Good for any figure - shrinks the waistline of an hourglass, good to camo pear shapes or give volume to women with a smaller chest. Great find!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2013
I loved the dress! It was fun and comfortable to wear
I loved the simple top and the textured bottom. I wore it with black printed tights, black shoes and silver and pearl jewelry. If I had a lighter pair of tights, I probably would have opted to wear that instead to highlight for of the bottom of the dress, but it wasn't a big deal. I did have to use the fashion tape that came with the order (thank you RTR!) for the top on both the top of the cups and straps. It was a great dress that was comfortable to wear all night. It was light and fun!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
January 21, 2013
Perfect formal little black dress!
I loved this dress and it ended up fitting perfectly! I'm 5'8" and the short side of the dress was definitely very short, I had planned to wear it with tights and I am very glad I had, because I would not have been very comfortable showing that much leg. I ended up using some fashion tape in the bust area on the side where the zipper was as that part seemed to hang a little bit looser somehow. Overall I was very happy with it and felt beautiful! Rent the Runway made the experience great and very easy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 18, 2013
Wore this for a Mardi Gras ball and it was great! Got tons of compliments.
It fit me perfectly. I'd ordered the back-up a size up (8) from my usual (6) just in case, considering I'm 4 months pregnant. However, the 6 fit wonderfully and it has a little give around the tummy area to hide any of those potential problem areas! ( I tried to include pictures that show the overall dress, the way it angles at the bottom, and the bust of the dress ) Pros: -Fit VERY well -Was very comfortable -Would flatter most body types (would avoid if you need larger than a 10) -Perfect length (left side is a little shorter than finger tips and angles down to below knee on right) Cons: -If you're busty (like me) you will definitely need the fashion tape they so awesomely provide! -The straps kept moving to the side, but wouldn't have been a problem if I had used the tape. (and only a problem for me because I'm unable to go bra-less) so I'd suggest wearing a black bra as well.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 22, 2012
nice. elegant
It is not a show stopper but it was very elegant and I enjoyed wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2013
Fun dress, revealing on the bust
Really cute dress that was perfect for a 1920's Speakeasy themed bachelorette party. Loved it but would caution against wearing it if you're smaller in the chest. I wore a black strapless bra and was comfortable with a little bit of it showing given the particular event I was at, but if you're going someplace more conservative or don't have a very full chest to fill it out, some fashion tape would probably be necessary.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 27, 2013
Love the look, but didn't quite work!
Cute dress on the hanger/in the picture, but didn't wear it. Too tight through the hips - not recommended for pear or hourglass figures. ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2013
This has been my Favorite Dress so Far!!
This was my backup dress. I tried it on, and I just had to wear it. It fit like a glove, and it just flowed with me when I walked. I felt incredibly beautiful, and I got a ton of compliments. It was fun to dance in, and it was also extremely comfortable. It was slightly longer on me than the model, it probably came down to a little bit below my knees. Since I have a full bust, I did wear a black Spanx Cami underneath, otherwise it would have showed too much cleavage for a wedding. Another solution would have been fashion tape, but I liked the cami better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 18, 2013
Fun flirty dress - not for the timid
I am a size 8-10 and the 8 fit well all lover (10 was too big) except: 1. It's cut high on the left side and rides up a bit when you sit down so takes some navigating. I wore Spanx and would have to make sure you couldn't see them when sitting. 2. The bust was a bit big so became too low cut - my tatas were more exposed than would have liked. I wore a black bra and it kept peeking out. The condition was excellent - no tears or rips. I think it would be great for someone a bit shorter and a fuller bust - 5'5 with a 36C would look terrific!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 220lbs
May 29, 2013
Loved this dress!
Really slimming and was great on the dance floor!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 23, 2013
Such a flattering style and perfect for a countryside evening wedding
I loved this dress!! I got it as my bridesmaid dress for a country wedding. The bride wanted us to have black dresses that were fancy but not full length and this was exactly perfect for the occasion. The fit could not have been better! For a full-figured hourglass girl like myself, it had a flattering waistline but enough room to move in the hips and a comfortable bust. The asymmetry makes it stand-out, the ruffles in the back make it flirty, and the cowl neck is undeniably sexy. Perfect for dancing and so elegant!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 26, 2013
Love this Dress!!
I wore this dress for my niece's wedding and got so many compliments on it. I even told a few people that it was a rental and they couldn't believe it! My boyfriend liked it so much he said he would buy it for me, but I told him it wasn't for sale. Since then I have been checking constantly to see if it is being offered for sale. Unfortunately, not yet. But I will keep checking until it is. It fit me perfectly and the slit was not too high at all. I wore black stockings and strappy black heels, along with a stack of bangle bracelets that I also rented from RTR. ( I wanted to buy them too! )
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 29, 2013
Backup dress, didn't wear it.
I think this dress would be more appropriate for a younger woman. I'm tall, and the dress was very, very short. It also looked like it might have seen better days (maybe time to pull this one from the rentals?)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2013
This dress was just okay in my opinion.
Was tight around the waist. Also, the flowiness of the bottom made me look hippier. It was nice but wasn't what I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
November 22, 2013
RTR sent both a 4 and a 2
This dress was perfect for my black swan costume for Halloween. The overall fit was true to size but since I have a pretty large chest it was a little hard to zip. Once I was in I had no problems all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 4, 2013
After I wore this dress to a business event, I tried to find it on-line to BUY.
In designer clothes I am a solid size 12 and this fit me perfectly. No fancy undergarments necessary. I wore underwear and a regular bra - not even tights or stockings. The fabric is textured, so it hides little bumps and lumps. I got complements all night!! I really did want to buy this dress, but couldn't find it on-line anywhere....I will keep looking! RTR offered me 'mystery' stylist selected accessories for $15, which I accepted and that was the amazing necklace that I am wearing. Loved that as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
December 12, 2013
Flattering! Fun! Flirty!!!
This was an excellent dress! I danced the night away, and got quite a few compliments!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2013
Disappointment
Both sizes I ordered were too large in the bust and didn't fit right. Also, they both smelled like moth balls! I'm very disappointed and now will have to go emergency shopping tomorrow and hope I find something.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×