Black Bombshell Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Catherine Malandrino creates a delicate draping silhouette that flatters your curves. This chiffon style is definitely siren material.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with jersey waistband with some stretch
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted in hips with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetric hemline goes high up on upper left thigh, especially on very full hips/ backside or tall girls

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra though standard bra could be worn under sheer fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with jersey waistband with some stretch
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted in hips with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetric hemline goes high up on upper left thigh, especially on very full hips/ backside or tall girls

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra though standard bra could be worn under sheer fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Crepe silk chiffon. Cowl neckline. Seamed skirt with asymmetric hemline. Tiered ruffle in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
August 27, 2012
Very Comfortable
I rented this dress for a friend's graduation ceremony. It was perfect for the semi-formal event and super comfortable all night. It did come quite low on me in the front, but nothing some fashion tape couldn't fix. The bottom is not as poofy as my pic shows. It was windy that night, it was actually quite streamlined. I'd definitely recommend this dress for almost any occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 19, 2012
Great Party Dress
It fits pretty much to size, I'd recommend some dress tape along the bust line, it tended to slip around without it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 17, 2012
nice twist on LBD
overall fit was great. had a nice formal feel to it for a dress that was not floor-length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2012
Perfect for the Roaring 20's
I wore this to a murder mystery party that was set in the 20's. This dress was perfect with a long strand of pearls. I normally wear a 6, but the 8 fit better. It might have had something to do with the fact that I had the flu and was not feeling so hot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2012
Perfect for Homecoming!
This was perfect for my daughter's HS Homecoming dance. She had a unique dress and because of the fabric, it fit perfectly.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
July 18, 2012
Fast easy service!
I chose the size 0 and 2 and went with the 0 because the drape at neck was too floppy and exposing on the size 2. Great fit... super comfy. Size 2 had a faint cig smell...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
May 2, 2012
no apple types here
If you are apples shaped this dress will not fit. I have no problem finding dresses in department stores but this site does not understand women with apple shapes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2012
Great Dress, Poor Fit
The dress was beautiful and I loved the side slit, but there was so much room in the bust! I had to return it without wearing it because I just couldn't even get close to filling it out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2012
Great party dress
Loved the dress! I am quite busty and the dress as very large on the top. I think the 10 would have fit better, but I received the wrong back-up size. As mentioned in other reviews the short side is much shorter than it looks in the picture, but was fine with tights. I wore to a roaring 20's party and got tons of of compliments.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 22, 2012
Gorgeous and feminine!
This was my back-up dress and I got it in the 8 and 10. The 10 was really large, and the 8 was almost perfect - except the bust area was more loose than I had hoped. I wear 36C, so size shouldn't have been an issue. The dress tends to have some static, but it was really gorgeous. I felt comfortable and the length was great for me - I am only 5"2' though. I wore it with black sheer hose, but imagine it would've looked great with bare legs or nude hose as well. There is a soft fabric panel across the mid section, and on the size 10 that I received, the fabric was pilling. I didn't wear that one, but had I needed to wear that one, I would've been disappointed. Great first rental experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Asymmetric hemline
This was a fun and light dress I wore to a Christmas party. You will feel so beautiful. The asymmetric tulle is beautiful but very delicate. Don't step on it or it may tear. (Speaking from experience, ahem.)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011
This dress was very flattering in the bust area but the slit was VERY high. It barely covered my butt. I felt the pitcures were misleading b/c it didn't show how high the slit went up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 14, 2011
I am a 10 with a full bust- I ordered both a 10 & 12 just in case. I am going to wear the 12. It is fitted in the waist & ribcage. The top looks really sloppy on me, not elegant like this photo. The sides (under the arms) seem loose as does the top fabric. I just would not suggest it for a busty figure like mine. I love the fabric, flow & feel of the dress from the waist down!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2011
I wore this dress to a roaring 20s party, and it worked great. The fit was perfect. I was concerned beforehand because several reviews mentioned it ran narrow in the ribs, but I had no problem with it (and I'm a 34D). I would definitely rent it again.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
July 13, 2011
I picked this dress for a formal event, but was unable to wear it because it was way shorter on me than I thought it would be. It also seemed to run a bit tighter in the rib cage area for me. Beautiful dress, just did not work for me.
RTR CustomerOctober 2, 2015
so it didnt fall down or slip? im thinking of adding straps, woul dthat look bad?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 5, 2011
I rented this dress to go to the Opera... it is stunning. The neckline is gorgeous; great if you have a medium size chest :). The draping is very flattering and on my frame the length was about 3 inches longer (better as the side slit is high). I loved wearing it and felt amazing. My date's reaction when I opened the door? "Wow".
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2011
I loved this dress, I wore it 8 weeks after having a baby and it looked great, hid the extra weight well. It is cut pretty high on the thigh which is hard to see from the picture.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 21, 2011
This dress was perfect for a New Year's Eve! Flirty, great for dancing, I got so mny compliments. I was surprised at the lack of finish on the handkerchief edges and the left side was higher than I expected but overall, I would recommend it and rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2010
This dress is so flattering! I paired it with nude hose, red patent pumps and bag. I have a full bust and it was just complimentary enough without overdoing the cleavage.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 14, 2010
Elegant dress. A little on the long side for shorter ladies, but quite beautiful. For the right event, I would rent again. Pretty flow.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
December 5, 2010
A lovely dress. I'm a B cup/size 4 and it fit quite well, after some strategic taping in the cleavage area. I think it would look even better on someone taller though, so the ruffles fall above the knee. Proper styling is vital, because it could look witch-y with the wrong shoes and accessories, especially on someone short. It was great for the opera.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2010
I agree with the prior review - the dress is not as dressy or sophisticated as it appears in the photo. I wore it to a black-tie event and felt a bit underdressed. It fits well, however, and is flattering. Warning - the short side is very short - mid to upper thigh. But I am on the tall side, so that could account for some of that.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2010
Very happy with this dress. I'm between a 10 & a 12 and went with the 12 because it zipped up just right through the waist & ribs. The dress really fit just right. Very fun & flirty layers, got lots of complimnets!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2010
I was a bit disapointed in this dress. It did not look as sophisticated as it does in the photo. I also think it is narrow through the rib cage area.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2010
Little Black Dress with Lots of Flexibility! This dress was a perfect fit for a night at the opera. I'm a little shorter, so the dress length was slightly longer on me in person than on the model online. Also, the neckline could be bustled with minimal dress tape to show little to lots of cleavage depending on the preference of the wearer. I received several compliments in this dress, and absolutely loved it!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×