Carmen Marc Valvo

Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$77 to buy
$565 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
190 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(110)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 9, 2015
Great customer service.
Fit perfect. Color jewel-like. Length- fashion forward. Over-all opinion- I'm renting this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
December 12, 2014
Too conservative to wear to a party
Great quality! Neckline was too high and shape too conservative to wear for the fun event I was going to. This would be a great dress for a work-related affair. I'm a curvy size 12; so this dress was tight in the chest, very tight on my butt and thighs, and too loose in the stomach. If I had just planned to stand all night, I would have considered wearing it. The butt/hip area was soooo tight sitting down, but the fabric looked great and hid my imperfections. I loved my backup dress and wore that. If I had to wear this one, I'd wear a belt. I would consider renting again for a work event if I lost 10 pounds in my lower body.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 23, 2014
Great holiday party dress
I had originally chosen a different dress but was notified by RTR that it unexpectedly unavailable. I chose this dress as my alternative and it was perfect. The size 2 ran small and the size 4 ran normal so I opted for the size 4 which was slightly big for me. While the situation was less than ideal, RTR took really good care of me. Great customer service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 13, 2015
Lots of Compliments at Charity Event
This dress was great for an autism charity gala. The dress is not stretchy at all, so be careful when getting in/out of the car because the skirt doesn't give!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 14, 2015
The dress was great. Hit at the knee just right, Didn't wrinkle in my suitcase.
I'm a 34DD and felt/looked smooshed in the bust, and still had a good inch of room in the waist. If I had bought this dress, I would have gone up a size and had the waist taken back down to a 10 or even 8 so the girls would have more room. For a rental though, the fit was perfectly serviceable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
May 25, 2015
Great for curves
I've rented a few dresses from this designer and I think it's perfect for curvy girls . The design of every dress accents the curves perfectly !
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 29, 2015
Got a lot of compliments.
Great for a night wedding.
LorraineSeptember 12, 2015
Evelyn, please tell me did you shorten the dress? Perfect effect! Thanks. Lorraine
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 11, 2015
Loved this dress!
My friend asked if I would be an honorary bridesmaid and asked if I would wear emerald green. I couldn't find a dress, so I decided to use RTR for the first time. Loved the dress! It's a classy look and perfect for a wedding. It accentuated my curves and I received a lot of compliments! However, because I am more bottom heavy, to use the restroom I would have to take the dress off hahahah. Otherwise, a great dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
September 20, 2015
Lovely
Rented for a wedding... The fit is a little snug.. I could barely get Into my SUV because there is not a lot of room in the skirt. It is a very pretty dress though. I loved the glam floral pattern and the peplum is elegant and flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
October 10, 2015
Great color for fall wedding
Got lots of compliments and family and friends said I looked great. Great color for fall wedding and very flattering for my hour glass figure body. I am usually between an 8 and a 10 depending how forgiving or stretchy the lower half of the dress due to my hips/derrière. 8 fit good on top but tight on the hips so went with ten that fit like a glove. The "flaps" on the hip didn't perk up like they do on the model and more so rested right on the hip which was ok - but something to note for the "bigger" sizes compared to a 2-6 probably. Thick material - felt expensive as it should! Another RTR success!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
November 29, 2015
This may have been my favorite rental dress to date. It fit to a tee, and I got so many compliments!
It was just the perfect size. There is zero give in the dress. The dress is so well made and the material is very nice. I think I'm going to rent this again for my company Christmas party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Age: 33
December 5, 2015
Work Holiday Party
The top for like you would expect a 10 to fit. The bottom was pretty snug on me, but I've definitely got booty and thighs compared to my top half. Bending down and sitting were a little bit difficult. No long strides in this one! But the fabric was beautiful and thick. Lovely emerald green. Got lots of compliments. I think it looks better in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 27, 2015
Clean lines and fabulous color!
Got this overnight yes when my originals didn't fit correctly. The print/color are fabulous in person! I have a large chest and I love that it concealed that area (no cleavage falling out!) without looking frumpy. I am btwn a 10-12 in dresses (often need the 12 for the chest!), but the 12 in this was icy too large in the waist and hip area which made the peplum look a little frumpy on me. Another one that I would definitely try in the correct size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
December 8, 2014
Amazing dress for holiday party!
This dress was absolutely perfect for my father's holiday party. It fit like a glove and I got so many compliments on it all night. The dress is very true to size and was a little tight in the hips/ butt area but not too tight. It's a great color, perfect for this time of year and could not be happier with my rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2014
Fabulous color and fabric!
I rented this for a cocktail party. It fit well but was a little big. Should have rented the 6 & 8. Very comfortable dress and tons of compliments. Very pleased with it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 5, 2015
Customer Service
I would say generous through the chest. Beautiful color. Great fabric. I would go snug because the fabric covers any lumps and bumps. My first RTR. Great Customer Service
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 9, 2015
Couldn't zip it, no give.
Pretty dress but I could not get it on, has no stretch so if you're a curvy girl, you should go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 30, 2012
I mistakenly ordered this dress for the wrong weekend. The RTR team changed the date and the items!
This dress is beautiful. The colors, fit, and style. The dress did run a little big. I am usually a 2 or a 4, but I could've used a 0 around my waist. I got the privilege of taking the tags off the dress so wear did not have a factor in running large. I am 5' 2" and the dress hit me right below the knees, but I used Temporary Hem Tape and it worked perfectly. I accessorized with the Kate Spade Clean Break Statement Necklace and it took the dress to another level. The colors complemented each other beautifully. I wore this dress to a December wedding with a burgundy pashmina and everyone loved it - I received so many compliments. The dress is the perfect combination of classic and fashionable and in 20 years I will not look back and say "what was I wearing?" I would recommend this dress to anyone and especially to those women who want to remain classy and timeless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 4, 2012
Gorgeous Holiday Party Dress
This is a gorgeous dress, but it was too large from the waist down. I ended up having to return it because the size 6 wasn't available. I was so sad because it really was stunning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 10, 2013
Great holiday party dress!
Dress is a gorgeous fabric and pattern. Th length is elegant and flattering. The dress was big around my waist, I usually wear a 4 and wore a 4 in this dress. Also recommend getting the temporary hem for shorter women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2013
Great style and color
Dress was pretty but seemed to run large. I am a 34ddd but this dress ran large through the top. Very sophisticated dress. Loved the fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 31, 2013
Beautiful dress, loved the fabric and color but it didn't fit quite right.
The size 6 fit perfectly in the hips and butt area as well as the chest (I could wear a bra with it), however, it was HUGE in the true waist/stomach area. I opted to wear the size 4 which was tight under the arms and chest (unable to wear a bra) and around the hips and butt. It was perfect in the midsection though. There is no stretch in this dress but the back slit does help allow movement. I really feel like I was in between sizes. I didn't have time to pick another dress because I needed this for a Holiday photoshoot. I would not rent again because of the fit issues, but it is a gorgeous dress and color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
April 21, 2013
Love the print! Photos online don't do it justice
I'm a seize smaller on top than on bottom so at times dresses are a hard fit for me. Overall the dress was true to size but a bit big on the top for me which happens a lot. This dress has no stretch whatsoever, so it was a bit hard to sit down. I had a minor freak out when it ripped a few inches up the back slit but I was able to get a sewing kit at my hotel and it was a quick fix. Everyone who asked about my dress was so surprised that I had rented it without ever trying it on. Next time I would definitely make an appointment at the NYC showroom to try on beforehand because I live in the city.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 7, 2013
Cute dress but ran big.
The color and pattern of this dress was gorgeous but the bottom ran big and made me look bottom heavy so I returned it and did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 25, 2013
Bummed
I was so excited for this dress - but the waist was wayy too loose. The cut is kind of boxy the whole way down so I don't think it's appropriate for people who have natural curves.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
December 22, 2013
Elegant. Great compliments.
It ran really large in the waist and bust. I tried the size down, but it was too small in the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
December 30, 2013
I didn't like this dress, runs big
This dress did not look good on me. I am straight figured. It runs large. I am 5'8" and it was too long (below the knee) I didn't like it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 25, 2014
Peplum waist is a flattering cut!
The dress runs large in the waist so I would consider sizing down if you're a true hourglass. The fabric is elegant and well lined.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2014
I really liked the dress for this wedding. The colors and shape of the dress were very flattering.
Everyone loved the dress and it was very formal. The only con was that the sizes runs a bit bigger and I should of older a smaller size. This dress is good for woman that a tall with larger bust sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it because it ran a little big. Definitely more of a sophisticated look.
The emerald color is gorg and the pattern is really beautiful in person. That picture does it little justice. However, the dress fit just okay. Ran a little big in the hips, waist and chest. Length was to the knee. The peplum was a little stiff and didn't really justify the peplum. It was more like excess fabric that accented my hips. Definitely a sophisticated look. Sad I wasn't able to wear it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 10, 2014
Runs Large
I did not end up wearing this dress at all, it was too large. I received a size 6 and 8 because I had read that it ran a bit small but that was definitely not the case for me. The size 6 I was swimming in, large through the hips and bust. With the thick brocade fabric, this needs to fit well or it looks terrible. The weight and quality of the fabric was nice and the design was beautiful. Too bad.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2014
I loved my Rent The Runway dress! I received so many compliments - felt like a celebrity!
So happy to have two size choices. The size 6 - my regular size - ran too big, so I went with the size 4 based on other reviews I read. It fit perfectly. I just wish I had remembered to take a full-length picture. And it was so easy to return the dress the next day... just found the closest UPS box and dropped it off. My daughter and I both rented dresses -- she said she felt like a princess!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2014
Perfect for the Holidays!
This dress is a beautiful emerald green! I wore it for our engagement party in December and I felt like it was the perfect dress to brighten the holidays. However, did run a little big so if you're in between sizes, order a size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2014
Perfect holiday dress
Worn for Thanksgiving dinner. Length was right above knee on 5'10" frame, which kept it family dinner appropriate. Loved the interesting, unique print and deep emerald color. Highly recommend for any holiday party. Peplums are sleeker to body than pictured (in a good way.) Great neckline for big jeweled necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 14, 2015
beautiful fabric and great silhouette.
I wore this to a company holiday party and it was great, however based on the other reviews stating over and over that it was an unforgiving fabric and tight in the hips I sized up and it was too big. I wore it anyway, but it felt a little baggy and I would have been more comfortable in a size down. I did get compliments on it and the fabric and the shape of the dress are just beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2013
Fit was strange and fabric was unattractive in person
Rented this for an interview and ended up wearing the backup dress. The fabric is much more brocade in person and it was meant for night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 9, 2015
The color and fabric is great!
Loved the color and fabric but the fit is a little too big. I ended up wearing it with a belt but it would have been better tighter to show the figure instead of fitting like a sheath. I definietly would recommend but in a smaller size!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
October 15, 2015
Lovely fabric and overall attractive dress.
Fit was not great on me (36-28-38). I got a size six as that was the size recommended for me plus the eight as a spare as it was suggested that one should size up for the spare. The six fit but was too loose in the torso. It fit reasonably well around the hips and thighs. Overall I could have done with a four. The peplum looked a bit odd too. But in general it was a perfectly OK dress for the event. Dress was knee-length on me at 5'8".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2012
Beautiful, classic dress perfect for the holiday season
The fabric of this dress is outstanding. Very thick but has a very nice, flattering sheen to it. As you can see from the photos it is not a full peplum, however, i think the fact that the peplum is pinned down in the front keeps the wearer from getting those "peplum hips" that make many women steer clear of the style. Also, the green is very deep, much deeper than the picture--more emerald and black. I paired this with the Kate Spade earrings sent as a part of the stylist surprise, along with black tights and high black crocodile wedges and a black blazer (until i moved from working the room to the dance floor). This was perfect for an office holiday party, where you want to look nice but avoid being inappropriately dressed. All in all this is a beautiful dress that would be perfect for so many occasions--from a winter wedding shower, to a church event, brunch with the in-laws; i really think this is one of the best dresses I have rented. Yet another amazing RTR experience!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2013
Great dress for many occasions
This dress was my backup for a semi-formal affair. My first choice arrived damaged with the backup size of 6 (in this dress) being a little too large. I called customer service where they immediately shipped me a size 4 and gave complete credit for the damaged dress. I loved this dress. Thick material allowed me to wear it without any spanx and the sheen to the dress gave it a more formal feel. Honestly, the 4 was tight but compared to the 6 I was happier in the tighter fit than it being too loose. It hid all flaws which is always a bonus!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×