Carmen Marc Valvo

Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$40 rental
$565 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

142 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 86
Large 26
Photos 73
Cydnee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

Festive and appropriate all in one!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this dress for a black-tie optional event honoring my boss during holiday season. I rarely choose body-conscious styles (this is form-fitting to the knee) and so I was a little uncomfortable, but everyone raved about the dress. Fabric was shinier and more formal in person, which definitely made it black-tie appropriate. I normally go between a 6 and an 8 - the fabric is not forgiving, so I went with an 8. I wouldn't rent this dress again but would reccomend it if this is a style that speaks to you!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

Great dress for a holiday party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a friend's holiday cocktail party. The dress was a hit. I was in between a 4 and a 6 so wish the fit would have been a bit better on me but overall a beautiful dress and classy and beautiful for the season.
Mollie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

I felt so festive!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is LOVELY and CLASSIC. Pairing it with the Kate Spade Clean Break Necklace really took it to another level. With my red hair and fair skin, the color was perfect. All of that being said, the fit was a little strange but still worth a shot. I normally wear an 8 in dresses. I have more of an athletic build and have had two children, so fit can sometimes be all over the place. I was sent the 10 in this, and while it worked, it was a little uncomfortable to wear during my evening out. The top of the dress fit well and I would say it was even a little large. It more than accommodated my 36C chest with room to spare. I don't think it looked TOO big, though I was aware that it was a bit on the larger side as I was wearing it. This fabric is heavy and will provide zero stretch, so I'd say that the top will be a good fit for anyone moderately well-endowed in the chest. If you are below a C and above a D cup, I'm not sure this would be a good fit. The bottom is where I had more problems. The waist was nice and tight so it definitely did a good job of cinching in any 'tummy problems'. However, the skirt was RIDICULOUSLY tight! I almost never have this problem because my legs are pretty slim, but I was shocked at how packed into this dress I was (on the bottom). It was a little uncomfortable to sit at first. After a few glasses of wine, I didn't really notice as much. Either it was the wine or perhaps the dress was being broken in a bit? Hard to tell. I did receive the dress brand new with the tags still on, so it's possible that it just needed a little 'wear' time. Overall, I think this was a gorgeous dress and I was happy to be able to wear it. I think the fit will be tricky for lots of people, though. I would highly recommend it to ladies who are more straight and narrow as it will give you the illusion of lots of beautiful curves. I would recommend going up a size simply for the bottom even if the top might feel a little too big.
Colleen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 12, 2012

Great dress! It was classy, perfect for a December wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. It was a little tight in the bust (I went braless it was so tight) and loose in the waist. It is not a full peplum skirt all the way around, even though it looks like it in the picture. There is a pleat around the hip bones where the peplum begins. It was my first dress from RTR and I am so excited to rent again!
Haley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Great for a work party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a work holiday party. It is festive and a great length. True to size for the most part. I usually wear a 0 or 2 depending on the top.
Coralin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Loved this dress! Suited me perfectly.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually am between a size 2 or size 4. The 4 wasn't available, so I thought I'd try the 2 since I loved it so much. It was snug, but zipped up perfectly! I received so many compliments and felt gorgeous all night! Thank you Rent the Runway :)
Clare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Beautiful, classic dress perfect for the holiday season

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fabric of this dress is outstanding. Very thick but has a very nice, flattering sheen to it. As you can see from the photos it is not a full peplum, however, i think the fact that the peplum is pinned down in the front keeps the wearer from getting those "peplum hips" that make many women steer clear of the style. Also, the green is very deep, much deeper than the picture--more emerald and black. I paired this with the Kate Spade earrings sent as a part of the stylist surprise, along with black tights and high black crocodile wedges and a black blazer (until i moved from working the room to the dance floor). This was perfect for an office holiday party, where you want to look nice but avoid being inappropriately dressed. All in all this is a beautiful dress that would be perfect for so many occasions--from a winter wedding shower, to a church event, brunch with the in-laws; i really think this is one of the best dresses I have rented. Yet another amazing RTR experience!
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

I loved this dress, perfect for a holiday party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit me true to size, however it was just slightly tight in the thigh area. I loved the colors and sheen to the fabric.
Kathleen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 27, 2012

I wore it to a Christmas party and it was perfect.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is such a beautiful dress and the picture doesn't do it justice. The green and black combination is amazing. This was a nice departure from the usual black cocktail dress I'd wear and it stood out amongst the various sequins dresses that are very popular this season. I am usually between an 8 and a 10 and I decided to go with the 8. It was a perfect fit. I'd rent this again. Very comfortable too.
Penny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

I traveled to NY for Christmas and had the dress mailed to my destination. Saved luggage space!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the material and the rich colors. I usually wear a size 4, got a 6 for backup, wore the 4 which was perfect. A very flattering and comfortable dress. Wore it for Christmas - very Christmas tree-like in a way. Was great not to have to pack this dress but rather have it waiting for me when I arrived.
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a post-Christmas evening wedding. The fit was perfection. The look was sophistication. I felt so amazingly amazing in this dress. I certainly had to behave lady-like in it because there is no give. The only reason for docking a star is that it was obvious to me that someone a bit too large for the dress had worn it previously. There was a bit of a pooch in the mid section and the zipper was a bit off. It kept catching on itself, I don't think it will last much longer before needing repair. Only I noticed so not too bad.
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Jan 13, 2013

I rented this dress for a January Christmas party in DC and it was amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was drawn to the color, peplum detail and design of this dress and couldn't wait to wear it. It did not disappoint! My only (minor) complaint - it was a little hard to sit down in. (Since I also got a size 4 with my order I tried that one, but it was much bigger on me.) It was still the perfect dress choice for the party and I loved wearing it! It's very flattering and I couldn't stop staring at the bold green rose pattern!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Feb 9, 2013

This dress fit perfectly

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The material was very thick, and the fit was easy to move in. It fit true to size. I wore this for a night out but it would be great for any evening event. The length was perfect it was a little longer than I usually wear but with high heels it was great. You can see the earrings and clutch in 2 of the photos, I felt gold really complimented this dress perfectly.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little large in the waist and a little long for petite ladies.
BKB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Everyone loved the dress. Tons of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A bit tight on the bust and a little roomy in the hips - which is usually my problem. I typically wear a 4 and wore a 2 in this dress, but it was snug on the top.
LaineyB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 11, 2013

Chic and Classy Fit!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I previously rented a different dress that did not fit, so a stylist surprised me with this gem. The color is remarkable and the fabric is thick and luxurious. The peplum skirt is on trend and gives a classy, conservative look perfect for a holiday event. There is not much give in the fabric, so be sure to order the size that will fit your largest measurement. I also rented the Elizabeth Cole necklace that went perfectly with this dress. I got so many compliments!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

gorgeous dress that could be dressed up or down - felt great in it all night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
true to size, fabulous fit, could be worn to a cocktail event or black tie, and the dresses that arrived to me had never been worn (tags still on). i felt fabulous all night and loved the way it photographed.
Darcey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 11, 2013

Mad Men Engagement Shoot + This Dress = Perfect!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
We did a Mad Men Engagement shoot, and this dress was the perfect thing for it! It runs a little small, especially if you are curvy in the bust and hips/butt. However, with some Spanx, I felt confident and ready to bring out my inner Joan. :)
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 22, 2014

The green pattern was very pretty

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I have an hourglass figure, the dress was a little tight in the hip area. Otherwise it was very pretty.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Perfect for a perfect day!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I host a huge 1000 person wine event and this was a stunning outfit! I felt absolutely professional and stunning all day while working!
Keeks
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Runs Large

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not end up wearing this dress at all, it was too large. I received a size 6 and 8 because I had read that it ran a bit small but that was definitely not the case for me. The size 6 I was swimming in, large through the hips and bust. With the thick brocade fabric, this needs to fit well or it looks terrible. The weight and quality of the fabric was nice and the design was beautiful. Too bad.
Joanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2014

Stunning dress! Great quality and beautiful pattern. I received lots of compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a very beautiful dress. It runs small so I had to size up for it. Though this was my replacement dress I am glad I had the chance to wear it. It was a much better choice than my original dress.
JAH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 7, 2014

Elegant in Emerald!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was incredible! I'm a taller girl, so it fell just above the knees. The fabric itself was very rich and thick, providing amazing structure for the dress. The peplum silhouette as always, is very flattering. I'd also suggest wearing Spanx as the dress is form fitting - they always work like a charm!
amina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Great dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was for a work Christmas party and I got lots of complements. From people who don't care one bit about fashion. My boyfriend's friends came over and said great dress and someone said I looked like a million bucks... (Not abnormal, but I think the dress def upped the ante!) Soo... Basically it's a tasteful chic dress that doesn't scream "look at me" for all the wrong reasons. & green is a great color on most skin tones and with most hair colors. :) enjoy
Lindsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Ran small in hips but large up top.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It is a pretty dress (shinier in person than the picture shows) but unfortunately I was not able to wear either size. Usually wear a 6 and the 6 was tight in hips but too large up top. Probably not a good choice for people with wider hips.
Bryanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Very flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. The colors are beautiful, but the shiny fabric may be better for a holiday event. The dress was very flattering, however the bottom section around the thighs/knees doesn't stretch so make sure you can sit in it!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

So pretty, just just didn't fit right!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 10 and the 12 for my brother's wedding. I'm 5'7 and have an hourglass figure but it just didn't fit right. The 10 was too tight in the hips and the 12 was too big in the waist and bust. Gorgeous dress, wish it would have worked!
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Pretty dress with quality fabric and beautiful color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have been wearing a 2 in dresses but needed to wear a 4 in this dress. The bust fit fine but it was a little tight on the bottom. Overall, beautiful dress with rich colors and nice fabric!
aSk
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 13, 2014

Tons of compliments, great color!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
could have worn 12 but need the room and then some in the chest.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

A great holiday party dress! Really classic with a little fun because of the flounce.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really liked the way the fit of the dress worked in the work party setting - it was cut conservatively enough that I didn't need to worry too much about the bra but fitted enough to be a very attractive. It felt fancy because of the fabric but not too shiny and the peplum was not too much. I am an apple in shape and there was enough room for my tummy and a little camouflage because of the flounce. I also got the 14 which fit almost as well, but it was mostly loose in the bust and the armholes which were too big for me (the bra showed a lot). I will say in terms of bra, a regular strap will not stay hidden very easily. I opted for a black bra that, when it peeked through in terms of straps did not destroy the look and crossed my fingers. Racerback or strapless may be a better option. The little snaps which hold bra straps in place would have worked okay, but only one of the two on each dress was attached, which made for unattractive bunching on one side and bra strap showing on the other so I did not bother to try to fix it.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

I wore it to a wedding. It was a little matronly, but I wore it anyway.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits great. I wore the 4 and could barely bend over because the material does not give. However, the 6 was a little too big. I am 5'6" and the dress came to an awkward length. It was a little longer than I would have liked but I wore it anyway.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Beautiful dress, weird fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really wanted to love this dress. The fabric and style were great, but the fit was completely off. I had to wear the size 4 to get the top to fit, but then it was super tight around the hips - making it almost impossible to sit down! I was able to make it work at a cocktail party where I was standing the whole time, but if you plan to dance I would not recommend this dress.
Aura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 115
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Sophisticated and Fun

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Holiday Jazz Brunch. I am a size 2 at the top and a size 4 in the hip area. I can usually wear a 2 if there is some stretch but there was NO stretch to this dress. The 4 fit well enough (though a little large in the top). I got tons of compliments. It was pretty comfortable too. It's a really pretty dress.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Beautiful dress - perfect for evening wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was awesome and overall fit true to size. It was definitely very snug for sitting down - I almost wore the larger size (4) because of that but the 2 fit perfectly when standing up so I ultimately wore the 2. The fabric is gorgeous and I got tons of compliments throughout the evening. The fabric is pretty thick, so it was perfect for a fall wedding
Eliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 30, 2014

Perfect holiday dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Worn for Thanksgiving dinner. Length was right above knee on 5'10" frame, which kept it family dinner appropriate. Loved the interesting, unique print and deep emerald color. Highly recommend for any holiday party. Peplums are sleeker to body than pictured (in a good way.) Great neckline for big jeweled necklace.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

beautiful fabric and great silhouette.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a company holiday party and it was great, however based on the other reviews stating over and over that it was an unforgiving fabric and tight in the hips I sized up and it was too big. I wore it anyway, but it felt a little baggy and I would have been more comfortable in a size down. I did get compliments on it and the fabric and the shape of the dress are just beautiful.
Meg
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Perfect fit and color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress, both fit and color. Wore to a holiday party and received many compliments. Very flattering! Would rent again.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Amazing but too small.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Incredible dress. The fabric was amazing the I loved the color. Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear the dress because it didn't fit. I have pretty big hips and it was just too tight. Fit perfect on top but just couldn't fit around my rear :(
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Backup Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm not exactly a youngster anymore, but this dress made me feel old. The fabric was too heavy, the peplum was awkward and I neither looked nor felt my best. If you aren't (or don't feel) old enough to attend your own child's college graduation keep moving (away from this dress)
Melissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Downtown Chicago wedding!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs large on top. The size 4 was huge at the chest. The size 2 was too small at the hips. I am long waisted and the dress had no give. I think that if my waist would have been shorter--and my hips would have hit higher in the dress--the size 2 may have fit. I sent both dresses back and RTR provided an awesome substitute.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×