Rent the Runway

Carmen Marc Valvo

Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$40 rental
$565 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

159 reviews

Fit
Small 26
True to Size 96
Large 27
Photos 82
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

So-so dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am more heavy on the bottom so the size 4 was snug around my hip while it was big on the top. It was overall okay dress for the wedding but nothing too special.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 189 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is absolutely beautiful. The problem was it didn't fit. I have a big chest, I was able to zip but my boobs were smashed. The style of the dress is amazing. The fabric is very high quality. I do recommend it to anyone smaller than I
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 26, 2013

Perfect for a Christmas Party

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a friend's formal Christmas party and it was beautiful. The dress fit me like a glove and the fabric is a really beautiful brocade. I received many complements including from a friend who is a fashion blogger!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

The dress was perfect, elegant and made a statement.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My son was graduating from a Chicago area prep school and the commencement was held downtown. I didn't want to wear a boring suit or an over-the-top party dress wasn't right either. The dress was perfect for the celebration and exactly what I was looking for. I received so many compliments. I've raised the bar and now I'm looking forward to renting for my daughter's graduation in 2014.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

This dress is classy, classic perfection.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
A little bit roomy, but not to the point of being "too large" at all. If you want a more defined waist, though, maybe take a size down. I could move freely and bend comfortably in the thick, well-constructed material. The color is so beautiful in person, and I wished I could keep this one!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 183 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Very pretty but too small

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is stunning- pictures cannot capture how iridescent and elegant it is. Cut is flattering for both curvy woman and boy figures due to the peplum. Unfortunately, it was torn in the back so I didn't wear it but I tried it on anyway and the ten was pretty tight. Go up a size if you're curvy or athletic.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

Runs small, the lining is tight... Stunning dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for a wedding.... but, was small in the hips... Had to wear the 6, also ordered the 4 which was way to small.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

Elegant. Great compliments.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It ran really large in the waist and bust. I tried the size down, but it was too small in the hips.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

I didn't like this dress, runs big

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress did not look good on me. I am straight figured. It runs large. I am 5'8" and it was too long (below the knee) I didn't like it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

Stunning dress. Thrilled with it and will rent again. Lovely fit, looked stunning.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear either an 8/10 in a dress (Judith & Charles 10) but the 8 was a perfect fit. Plenty of room around the hips. It really is a lovely fit. Would describe myself as pear shaped and it did NOT accentuate that shape.. rather flattered it. Would highly recommend.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

Great unique look for fall wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Unique style was why I picked this out for a fall wedding. ran very small in the rib cage area for me so I had to wear a size up (usually I am a size 8) which made the hips little be loose than I would preferred. Overall a fun unique dress. Wear heels though otherwise you will look too frumpy / short with such a long hemline!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

I received so many complements in this dress!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 14 was a little loose, but it was great! There is even little clips on the top of the dress to hide your bra strap! While I was nervous about the peplum, it ended up hitting in just the right spot! I wore black shoes from Jcrew and a statement necklace! I felt like I could have been on the set of mad men, it was a fabulous dress with a wonderful rich green/jewel-tone color! It actually was originally my "second style" but when my primary style didn't work out, I'm so happy that I got this one! Just give it a whirl!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Perfect for a formal but professional event

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a size 4, and sometimes a size 2, but I found the 4 to be a little snug in the hips. I didn't look it, but when I was seated during dinner, I definitely felt uncomfortable. I don't think the 6 would have fit in other places. But the material/color is super luxe, and it looked very sophisticated. I would recommend this dress for a work party or another event where you need to look timeless and modest but don't want to settle for a boring black dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 20, 2014

Beautiful but didn't fit and wasn't able to wear it.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Size up if you have any hips
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

I felt sophisticated

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wish the dress photographed better because it really is a gorgeous dress. I wore it to a charity even I was being honored at and it was lady like and modest but also really pretty and fun to wear.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Really terrible for anyone with thighs or hips

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress did not fit me at all. It was way too tight on my legs and hips and was huge on top. I probably should have known better than to try peplum, but it definitely does not work with anyone with hips or thighs! I returned it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

This dress is beautiful in person, unfortunately I didn't get to wear it because it was so tight.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress runs small, it has no stretch in it. I decided to not wear it for the fear of having to be uncomfortable all night. I would recommend this dress to women who are not as curvy in the hips and bum area.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Perfect for an evening work function!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was fantastic! I'm sorry I don't have a photo of me in the dress, but it fit like a glove and I got tons of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Peplum waist is a flattering cut!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress runs large in the waist so I would consider sizing down if you're a true hourglass. The fabric is elegant and well lined.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

I really liked the dress for this wedding. The colors and shape of the dress were very flattering.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Everyone loved the dress and it was very formal. The only con was that the sizes runs a bit bigger and I should of older a smaller size. This dress is good for woman that a tall with larger bust sizes.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 4, 2014

Didn't end up wearing it because it ran a little big. Definitely more of a sophisticated look.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The emerald color is gorg and the pattern is really beautiful in person. That picture does it little justice. However, the dress fit just okay. Ran a little big in the hips, waist and chest. Length was to the knee. The peplum was a little stiff and didn't really justify the peplum. It was more like excess fabric that accented my hips. Definitely a sophisticated look. Sad I wasn't able to wear it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
May 7, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for my mom. She wore it to a bridal shower. Very comfortable. Ran true to size and well made. My mom was impressed with the whole rent the runway experience!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 109 lbs
May 11, 2014

I felt so sophisticated !

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for graduation, and I was comfortable during the whole ceremony. The print is beautiful. I could see Michelle Obama rocking this. It was somewhat tight around the knee. So I had to do some quick small steps when walking, but that's really the only con.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 16, 2014

Unique and Classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fabric, conservative yet sexy cut of dress. Overall a good choice-wore it for a fundraiser
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 22, 2014

The green pattern was very pretty

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I have an hourglass figure, the dress was a little tight in the hip area. Otherwise it was very pretty.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Perfect for a perfect day!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I host a huge 1000 person wine event and this was a stunning outfit! I felt absolutely professional and stunning all day while working!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Runs Large

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not end up wearing this dress at all, it was too large. I received a size 6 and 8 because I had read that it ran a bit small but that was definitely not the case for me. The size 6 I was swimming in, large through the hips and bust. With the thick brocade fabric, this needs to fit well or it looks terrible. The weight and quality of the fabric was nice and the design was beautiful. Too bad.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2014

Stunning dress! Great quality and beautiful pattern. I received lots of compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a very beautiful dress. It runs small so I had to size up for it. Though this was my replacement dress I am glad I had the chance to wear it. It was a much better choice than my original dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 7, 2014

Elegant in Emerald!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was incredible! I'm a taller girl, so it fell just above the knees. The fabric itself was very rich and thick, providing amazing structure for the dress. The peplum silhouette as always, is very flattering. I'd also suggest wearing Spanx as the dress is form fitting - they always work like a charm!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Great dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was for a work Christmas party and I got lots of complements. From people who don't care one bit about fashion. My boyfriend's friends came over and said great dress and someone said I looked like a million bucks... (Not abnormal, but I think the dress def upped the ante!) Soo... Basically it's a tasteful chic dress that doesn't scream "look at me" for all the wrong reasons. & green is a great color on most skin tones and with most hair colors. :) enjoy
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Ran small in hips but large up top.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It is a pretty dress (shinier in person than the picture shows) but unfortunately I was not able to wear either size. Usually wear a 6 and the 6 was tight in hips but too large up top. Probably not a good choice for people with wider hips.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Very flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. The colors are beautiful, but the shiny fabric may be better for a holiday event. The dress was very flattering, however the bottom section around the thighs/knees doesn't stretch so make sure you can sit in it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

So pretty, just just didn't fit right!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 10 and the 12 for my brother's wedding. I'm 5'7 and have an hourglass figure but it just didn't fit right. The 10 was too tight in the hips and the 12 was too big in the waist and bust. Gorgeous dress, wish it would have worked!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Pretty dress with quality fabric and beautiful color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have been wearing a 2 in dresses but needed to wear a 4 in this dress. The bust fit fine but it was a little tight on the bottom. Overall, beautiful dress with rich colors and nice fabric!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 13, 2014

Tons of compliments, great color!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
could have worn 12 but need the room and then some in the chest.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

A great holiday party dress! Really classic with a little fun because of the flounce.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really liked the way the fit of the dress worked in the work party setting - it was cut conservatively enough that I didn't need to worry too much about the bra but fitted enough to be a very attractive. It felt fancy because of the fabric but not too shiny and the peplum was not too much. I am an apple in shape and there was enough room for my tummy and a little camouflage because of the flounce. I also got the 14 which fit almost as well, but it was mostly loose in the bust and the armholes which were too big for me (the bra showed a lot). I will say in terms of bra, a regular strap will not stay hidden very easily. I opted for a black bra that, when it peeked through in terms of straps did not destroy the look and crossed my fingers. Racerback or strapless may be a better option. The little snaps which hold bra straps in place would have worked okay, but only one of the two on each dress was attached, which made for unattractive bunching on one side and bra strap showing on the other so I did not bother to try to fix it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

I wore it to a wedding. It was a little matronly, but I wore it anyway.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits great. I wore the 4 and could barely bend over because the material does not give. However, the 6 was a little too big. I am 5'6" and the dress came to an awkward length. It was a little longer than I would have liked but I wore it anyway.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Beautiful dress, weird fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really wanted to love this dress. The fabric and style were great, but the fit was completely off. I had to wear the size 4 to get the top to fit, but then it was super tight around the hips - making it almost impossible to sit down! I was able to make it work at a cocktail party where I was standing the whole time, but if you plan to dance I would not recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 115
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Sophisticated and Fun

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Holiday Jazz Brunch. I am a size 2 at the top and a size 4 in the hip area. I can usually wear a 2 if there is some stretch but there was NO stretch to this dress. The 4 fit well enough (though a little large in the top). I got tons of compliments. It was pretty comfortable too. It's a really pretty dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Beautiful dress - perfect for evening wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was awesome and overall fit true to size. It was definitely very snug for sitting down - I almost wore the larger size (4) because of that but the 2 fit perfectly when standing up so I ultimately wore the 2. The fabric is gorgeous and I got tons of compliments throughout the evening. The fabric is pretty thick, so it was perfect for a fall wedding
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×