Carmen Marc Valvo

Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$77 to buy
Final sale, like new condition
Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
190 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(110)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 22, 2014
Loved, loved this dress.
I wore this dress to a Ovarian Cancer Fundraiser. I received so many complements and lots of people wanted to know where I had bought it. I ordered a 12 & a 14 as I usually wear a 12 but the reviews made me think it ran small. The 12 was a little tight and I didn't want to be uncomfortable. The 14 was a tad big but looked beautiful on! Loved the length and loved the overall structure of the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2014
Perfect for the Holidays!
This dress is a beautiful emerald green! I wore it for our engagement party in December and I felt like it was the perfect dress to brighten the holidays. However, did run a little big so if you're in between sizes, order a size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2014
Stunning dress! Great quality and beautiful pattern. I received lots of compliments on this dress.
This is a very beautiful dress. It runs small so I had to size up for it. Though this was my replacement dress I am glad I had the chance to wear it. It was a much better choice than my original dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2014
I loved my Rent The Runway dress! I received so many compliments - felt like a celebrity!
So happy to have two size choices. The size 6 - my regular size - ran too big, so I went with the size 4 based on other reviews I read. It fit perfectly. I just wish I had remembered to take a full-length picture. And it was so easy to return the dress the next day... just found the closest UPS box and dropped it off. My daughter and I both rented dresses -- she said she felt like a princess!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 10, 2014
Runs Large
I did not end up wearing this dress at all, it was too large. I received a size 6 and 8 because I had read that it ran a bit small but that was definitely not the case for me. The size 6 I was swimming in, large through the hips and bust. With the thick brocade fabric, this needs to fit well or it looks terrible. The weight and quality of the fabric was nice and the design was beautiful. Too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
June 29, 2014
Great color and dress!!
I am a true pear shape and this dress is not made for people with hips and backside like me. I had to get a size bigger to fit that are but was a little small on the upper area. It has great color and received several compliments! The dress was great!!
RTR CustomerSeptember 9, 2015
Lycia Loo......Tell me about the dress. I think it quite lovely and have asked Andrea to rent it for me to wear to your wedding. What do you think?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2014
Perfect for a perfect day!
I host a huge 1000 person wine event and this was a stunning outfit! I felt absolutely professional and stunning all day while working!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 16, 2014
Beautiful dress for Rehearsal Dinner
Definitely a more structured dress. The 4 was a little tight in the hips but the 6 was too loose in the bust. Went with the four and wore Spanx to smooth everything out. Received so many complements on this dress at the rehearsal dinner at the Botanical Gardens. Perfect shade of green!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
June 11, 2014
Color was beautiful!
I really wanted an emerald dress for symbolization at this event and I thought the color and pattern of this dress was perfect. It was really flattering for the most part but the thigh area was so tight it almost created more volume on the tummy area since it was hugging my thighs so tight. Overall loved the dress but if you have thick thighs, I would rent a size up :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 1, 2014
Felt Great!!!
My mom wore this dress, first time renting. The 12 fit better in the hips but was fairly large in the chest so ended up wearing the 10 (spanx helped). The dress is a beautiful green color and loved the different take on peplum!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2014
The green pattern was very pretty
I have an hourglass figure, the dress was a little tight in the hip area. Otherwise it was very pretty.
LorraineOctober 18, 2014
Laura, I see some vertically challenged ladies have rented this. How was the length on you?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2014
My first time using RTR...I loved the unique pattern, and the shipping process was GREAT!
The dress was nice, I think the only thing that was a bit underwhelming, is that the skirt is very structured-- even though I could fit the 4 in the bust area, I could not sit down in the dress-- I wore the 6, because it catered a bit better for those who have a curvier bottom. But overall, it was great--- got a lot of compliments!
LorraineOctober 18, 2014
Ambre, how was the length on you at 5'3"? Did you have to shorten it? I've had my eye on this one for months but at 5'2" I hesitate to rent it. Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2014
Unique and Classy
Great fabric, conservative yet sexy cut of dress. Overall a good choice-wore it for a fundraiser
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
May 11, 2014
I felt so sophisticated !
I wore this dress for graduation, and I was comfortable during the whole ceremony. The print is beautiful. I could see Michelle Obama rocking this. It was somewhat tight around the knee. So I had to do some quick small steps when walking, but that's really the only con.
LorraineOctober 18, 2014
Samantha, how was the length and did you shorten it?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 7, 2014
Great dress!
Rented this dress for my mom. She wore it to a bridal shower. Very comfortable. Ran true to size and well made. My mom was impressed with the whole rent the runway experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it because it ran a little big. Definitely more of a sophisticated look.
The emerald color is gorg and the pattern is really beautiful in person. That picture does it little justice. However, the dress fit just okay. Ran a little big in the hips, waist and chest. Length was to the knee. The peplum was a little stiff and didn't really justify the peplum. It was more like excess fabric that accented my hips. Definitely a sophisticated look. Sad I wasn't able to wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 1, 2014
Great dress, a little snug in the booty
Beautiful dress. Lots of compliments. The fabric isn't very forgiving. I have a bit of a booty so it was a little uncomfortable when I was sitting. Could maybe have done an 8 and it would have fit more comfortably but might have been too baggy in the chest. Rented if for a charity event though and it was a great dress for a 3 hour event. On a different body type it might have been absolutely perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2014
I really liked the dress for this wedding. The colors and shape of the dress were very flattering.
Everyone loved the dress and it was very formal. The only con was that the sizes runs a bit bigger and I should of older a smaller size. This dress is good for woman that a tall with larger bust sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 25, 2014
Peplum waist is a flattering cut!
The dress runs large in the waist so I would consider sizing down if you're a true hourglass. The fabric is elegant and well lined.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2014
Perfect for an evening work function!
It was fantastic! I'm sorry I don't have a photo of me in the dress, but it fit like a glove and I got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 8, 2014
The dress is elegant and comfortable
The size I choose (10) was too tight in the chest so I wore the 12 and taped up a hem of a few inches. The dress allows a bra and doesn't require tight undergarments, making it very comfortable to wear for a long evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
March 18, 2014
This dress is beautiful in person, unfortunately I didn't get to wear it because it was so tight.
This dress runs small, it has no stretch in it. I decided to not wear it for the fear of having to be uncomfortable all night. I would recommend this dress to women who are not as curvy in the hips and bum area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 18, 2014
Really terrible for anyone with thighs or hips
This dress did not fit me at all. It was way too tight on my legs and hips and was huge on top. I probably should have known better than to try peplum, but it definitely does not work with anyone with hips or thighs! I returned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
March 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress with incredible sheen. Received so many compliments and I might rent this one again!
I am large busted (38D) and it fit perfectly. I was shocked that the peplum did not exaggerate my curves but actually created a very flirty look. Skirt is very straight so sitting could be a bit challenging for someone with hips. Also I loved the length because I am not fond of my shapeless legs, but at 5'8" it hit me at the bottom portion of my knee which was perfect. A very gorgeous dress and perfect for cool weather.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 8, 2014
This dress made me feel so regal!
I wore this dress to two parties ... one at my country club and one at our local art center. The dress made me feel so elegant & sophisticated at both! The art center party was emerald themed, so my friends and I all got green RTR dresses. At both the country club and the art center we were turning heads all night! I wish we'd have had RTR referral cards to give out! I absolutely recommend this dress to any girl with some curves. The peplum is low-profile enough as not to add unwanted bulk around the hips, but pronounced enough to show off the trend. I'm a bit pear-shaped, so the 12 was tight around my hips, but fit perfectly around the bust. The 14 was perfect around my hips, but a bit too loose around the bust, so I went with the 12. Everyone kept saying it fit me like a glove, so maybe I'm just being paranoid about it being tight. :) Gorgeous dress. Great friends. A wonderful night. Hope everyone else who rents this dress has the same!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 21, 2014
I felt sophisticated
I wish the dress photographed better because it really is a gorgeous dress. I wore it to a charity even I was being honored at and it was lady like and modest but also really pretty and fun to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2014
Beautiful but didn't fit and wasn't able to wear it.
Size up if you have any hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2014
Perfect for a formal but professional event
I am usually a size 4, and sometimes a size 2, but I found the 4 to be a little snug in the hips. I didn't look it, but when I was seated during dinner, I definitely felt uncomfortable. I don't think the 6 would have fit in other places. But the material/color is super luxe, and it looked very sophisticated. I would recommend this dress for a work party or another event where you need to look timeless and modest but don't want to settle for a boring black dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
February 10, 2014
I received so many complements in this dress!
The 14 was a little loose, but it was great! There is even little clips on the top of the dress to hide your bra strap! While I was nervous about the peplum, it ended up hitting in just the right spot! I wore black shoes from Jcrew and a statement necklace! I felt like I could have been on the set of mad men, it was a fabulous dress with a wonderful rich green/jewel-tone color! It actually was originally my "second style" but when my primary style didn't work out, I'm so happy that I got this one! Just give it a whirl!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
January 31, 2014
Great unique look for fall wedding!
Unique style was why I picked this out for a fall wedding. ran very small in the rib cage area for me so I had to wear a size up (usually I am a size 8) which made the hips little be loose than I would preferred. Overall a fun unique dress. Wear heels though otherwise you will look too frumpy / short with such a long hemline!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
January 19, 2014
Stunning dress. Thrilled with it and will rent again. Lovely fit, looked stunning.
I usually wear either an 8/10 in a dress (Judith & Charles 10) but the 8 was a perfect fit. Plenty of room around the hips. It really is a lovely fit. Would describe myself as pear shaped and it did NOT accentuate that shape.. rather flattered it. Would highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2014
Beautiful color
Loved the color and pattern- it is really beautiful. The cut and length made it feel a bit more "buttoned-up" than I was hoping, which made it perfect for the office holiday party but not as fun as I was hoping for dinner with friends the next night. I normally wear a six with most designers, but I went with the 8 for this dress as the fabric is not forgiving and the straight down cut of the skirt was quite snug around my hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
December 30, 2013
I didn't like this dress, runs big
This dress did not look good on me. I am straight figured. It runs large. I am 5'8" and it was too long (below the knee) I didn't like it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2013
Incredibly elegant dress! Necklace was the perfect combo!
I am usually a 4 or 6 and ordered the 4. I have to say it was a little hard to sit in, because there is no stretch in the dress - but again I am between sizes so I think this would be great for a true size 4, etc. The print is AH-MA-ZING. So vibrant and saturated with emerald!! I wore Kate Spade's "Clean Break" necklace and the colors matched perfectly. Great styling choice by RTR. The peplum is perfect on this dress because it is only on the sides/back, not the front where it could make you look a little bigger. Very very flattering & elegant! Felt like such a sophisticated lady!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
December 22, 2013
Elegant. Great compliments.
It ran really large in the waist and bust. I tried the size down, but it was too small in the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 18, 2013
loved this dress fabric was exquisite, really looked one of a kind & high end!
really faltering and slimming work s well if you have a larger bust like me.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 17, 2013
I felt like I was in the Great Gatsby!
This dress was so gorgeous & comfortable, the fabric is beautiful and the peplum was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2013
Great for a holiday party
I wore this dress to a work holiday party and it was flattering and appropriate for a work function. The bottom was a bit fitted for a gal with some curves and it was a little long for someone my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 10, 2013
Very cool peplum dress! Went very well with my red hair!
i rented this for my friend's October wedding at Harvest on Hudson in NY. Luckily she had shawls provided because I was freezing for the outdoor (very windy) ceremony. The dress was not AS form fitting as I would have liked, but you take what you can get when you have a 30'' waist and DDD chest....Overall I enjoyed wearing this dress and received a few compliments, too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2013
Perfect sophisticated Christmas party look.
You will be thrilled with this stunning cocktail dress. The fabric is absolutely gorgeous. It has a sheen to it, making it formal enough for an evening occasion. If you generally favor the sheath style, as I do, this dress will be perfect. It is well cut and elegant. I've never worn peplum before this dress, and I did not feel at all uncomfortable. I ordered the 2 and 4, and the 2 fit perfectly. I accessorized it with druzy earrings, a gold clutch, and black satin pumps. I would definitely rent this dress again for a holiday occasion.
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×