Carmen Marc Valvo

Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$77 to buy
$565 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
190 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(110)
Small
(35)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 70
August 27, 2015
Elegant dress. Wonderful, vibrant signal-light green.
For a full figure, dress was a snug -- but not overly -- snug 8.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
November 18, 2015
Loved this dress, and received several compliments.
I added a thin gold belt to the dress and it really made the look. It would be great for a holiday party. I would absolutely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 2, 2016
Love this fabric
I did not end up wearing this dress for a wedding because it seemed a little overdressed but I wish I had. Super flattering! I will be renting again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 19, 2016
The dress fit perfectly for a Fall wedding!
I loved the unique body shape this dress provided as well as the length was perfect. I am a very tall female with LONG legs and it hit right below the knee cap. The design on the top was simply beautiful and the green color was stunning. I received MANY compliments on this all night. The one thing to note is that the under arm area did get a bit tender towards the end of the evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2012
Great dress for a holiday party!
I wore this dress for a friend's holiday cocktail party. The dress was a hit. I was in between a 4 and a 6 so wish the fit would have been a bit better on me but overall a beautiful dress and classy and beautiful for the season.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Great dress! It was classy, perfect for a December wedding.
Loved this dress. It was a little tight in the bust (I went braless it was so tight) and loose in the waist. It is not a full peplum skirt all the way around, even though it looks like it in the picture. There is a pleat around the hip bones where the peplum begins. It was my first dress from RTR and I am so excited to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2012
This dress is cut so well and very flattering.
The fabric is luxurious and the style is sophisticated. I looked oh, so very thin and was comfortable all night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2012
Great for a work party!
I wore this to a work holiday party. It is festive and a great length. True to size for the most part. I usually wear a 0 or 2 depending on the top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 19, 2012
I loved this dress, perfect for a holiday party!
The dress fit me true to size, however it was just slightly tight in the thigh area. I loved the colors and sheen to the fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
December 21, 2012
Perfect for dinner with Dad
I wore this to a wine dinner at a local restaurant with my dad, and it was perfect! This fit is true to size, and the peplums weren't too obtrusive. I wore it with nude heels, a black cardigan (it was cold), and a black clutch. I got plenty of compliments, and people couldn't believe I'd rented it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 23, 2012
Perfect for the holidays!
I rented this for a friends Christmas wedding, which was perfect! The color was gorgeous, and goes well with nice gold, chunky jewelry. I'm 5'4", so the skirt length was a little long for me, it hit under my knees. If it was a bit shorter, that would have been great, but no biggie. The torso fit great, and created a nice waistline. Definitely unique and different!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 24, 2012
Great color!
This dress is perfect for a party/formal affair due to its bold color and fun print. It helps add shape to your figure with the peplum design. It doesn't stretch at all so consider getting a size larger tomake sure it fits well. Perfect for all skin tones!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
I traveled to NY for Christmas and had the dress mailed to my destination. Saved luggage space!
I loved the material and the rich colors. I usually wear a size 4, got a 6 for backup, wore the 4 which was perfect. A very flattering and comfortable dress. Wore it for Christmas - very Christmas tree-like in a way. Was great not to have to pack this dress but rather have it waiting for me when I arrived.
BrookeDecember 27, 2012
You look great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 7, 2013
Gorgeous!
Wore this dress to a post-Christmas evening wedding. The fit was perfection. The look was sophistication. I felt so amazingly amazing in this dress. I certainly had to behave lady-like in it because there is no give. The only reason for docking a star is that it was obvious to me that someone a bit too large for the dress had worn it previously. There was a bit of a pooch in the mid section and the zipper was a bit off. It kept catching on itself, I don't think it will last much longer before needing repair. Only I noticed so not too bad.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
January 13, 2013
I rented this dress for a January Christmas party in DC and it was amazing!
I was drawn to the color, peplum detail and design of this dress and couldn't wait to wear it. It did not disappoint! My only (minor) complaint - it was a little hard to sit down in. (Since I also got a size 4 with my order I tried that one, but it was much bigger on me.) It was still the perfect dress choice for the party and I loved wearing it! It's very flattering and I couldn't stop staring at the bold green rose pattern!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 18, 2013
It was perfect! I loved it and receive many compliments. It fit like a glove and it looked amazing.
It was true to size. It fit perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
January 30, 2013
Very simple and beautiful dress!
4 wasn't available on short notice so I rented the 6 - loose fit on top but tight in the leg area. Still was a beautiful dress! The color is gorgeous and the style is very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 19, 2013
Great dress!
A little large in the waist and a little long for petite ladies.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 20, 2013
the color was perfect
for me it was a little long since im short but nothing some double tape fix the fit was perfect it made me feel sexy and classy at the same time
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 20, 2013
Everyone loved the dress. Tons of compliments.
A bit tight on the bust and a little roomy in the hips - which is usually my problem. I typically wear a 4 and wore a 2 in this dress, but it was snug on the top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2013
Chic and Classy Fit!
I previously rented a different dress that did not fit, so a stylist surprised me with this gem. The color is remarkable and the fabric is thick and luxurious. The peplum skirt is on trend and gives a classy, conservative look perfect for a holiday event. There is not much give in the fabric, so be sure to order the size that will fit your largest measurement. I also rented the Elizabeth Cole necklace that went perfectly with this dress. I got so many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
March 12, 2013
Fit like a glove and was perfectly appropriate for the Xmas party I wore it to.
In a perfect world it would have been one inch shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
It is a unique, stunning dress, and it was fun to wear.
There is no wiggle room; the fabric does not give, so you might need to wear spanx, and you will definitely need to be comfortable in a form fitting dress. But it is really beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 15, 2013
So elegant!
This dress was beautiful and elegant. I don't think that it's the type of dress that's going to immediately stand out at an event -- which makes it a great wedding guest dress. It polished and classic and a great bet for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2013
This looked so beautiful. It was classic and elegant, but fun and made a statement
It fit like a glove. It gave a waist and hips and was slimming as well
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2013
ended up not wearing it but it is a beaut!
I am currently a 10 but ordered the 12 since the dress didn't seem to have any give. Ordered this as my back up dress and unfortunately, it was too loose and didn't have a back up size. It is really gorgeous however and the material and color is spectacular. I also loved that it hit right below my knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 28, 2013
Sophisticated and fun!
Loved this dress. I felt very sophisticated and chic, yet still fun. I would say I am somewhere between a 12 and a 14, and went with the 14 for a more comfortable fit but the dress runs pretty true to size if not a little on the small side. The fabric is a really great bright floral print that is more far spectacular in person than in the picture. I would highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
May 21, 2013
This was my back up dress. Good fit and very pretty dress but it is best for evening only.
Very pretty dress and the colors are rich but in my opionion it is certainly best suited for a nightime event. I had it for a graduation event that was during the day and it was "too much" for a daytime Spring event. The texture, quality and colors are very nice. My daughters thought it was a bit too long but I am only 5'4".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
May 23, 2013
This was perfect. I received nothing but compliments all night long.
Was hard to sit in and I'm not hippy but fit in the bust area perfectly and I have large a large bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2013
Perfect cocktail dress.
The dress is well-tailored and the fabric looks even better in person than in the photos. A forewarning that the fabric has no stretch whatsoever, but I could still dance comfortably. For larger busted gals, this dress actually works well. The notes on the dress are confusing because it notes that it is only for an A-C cup, but is good for larger busts. I gave it a shot and it was not tight. One of the positive parts of this dress is that you can wear it in either a modern or classic way via shoes/jewelry. My fiance really loved it as did the other wedding guests. After all of the compliments, I am highly tempted to buy it!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
September 29, 2013
I received a TON of complements on this dress! Loved it for a late February with black tights.
Fit really well and the cut at the shoulders is really flattering. FYI: make sure to bring along a good steamer. There was a center crease that I couldn't get out with an iron.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
October 2, 2013
So-so dress.
I am more heavy on the bottom so the size 4 was snug around my hip while it was big on the top. It was overall okay dress for the wedding but nothing too special.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 18, 2013
Amazing, elegant, classy, structured.
I love this dress! The fit is divine. I'm curvy yet this dress pulled me in, made my waist look teeny tiny and just oozed elegance. I was looking for a conservative dress for an awards dinner but I wanted something that would stand out a little. this dress did the trick! the color is rich and vibrant. The length was perfect for the event. it is definitely a stiff dress in that sitting is a little tricky if the dress is very fitted but its worth it. my favorite rental so far.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173lbs
October 23, 2013
Glamorous Green!
I was sad to let this one go! Fit like a GLOVE. Very form fitting, not a lot of give in the fabric, but true to size. Received compliments from family and strangers! Definitely needed the chunky necklace (also rented) to break up the neckline and create the perfect package. I felt so elegant in this dress. The green/black pattern was also wonderful for a fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2013
Perfect for a Christmas Party
I rented this dress for a friend's formal Christmas party and it was beautiful. The dress fit me like a glove and the fabric is a really beautiful brocade. I received many complements including from a friend who is a fashion blogger!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 14, 2013
Great fit and beautiful color!
The fit was great, I ordered a 8 and 10 and was so excited when I could wear the 8. The 8 was more form-fitting and a better cut. Received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
December 1, 2013
Perfect sophisticated Christmas party look.
You will be thrilled with this stunning cocktail dress. The fabric is absolutely gorgeous. It has a sheen to it, making it formal enough for an evening occasion. If you generally favor the sheath style, as I do, this dress will be perfect. It is well cut and elegant. I've never worn peplum before this dress, and I did not feel at all uncomfortable. I ordered the 2 and 4, and the 2 fit perfectly. I accessorized it with druzy earrings, a gold clutch, and black satin pumps. I would definitely rent this dress again for a holiday occasion.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 10, 2013
Very cool peplum dress! Went very well with my red hair!
i rented this for my friend's October wedding at Harvest on Hudson in NY. Luckily she had shawls provided because I was freezing for the outdoor (very windy) ceremony. The dress was not AS form fitting as I would have liked, but you take what you can get when you have a 30'' waist and DDD chest....Overall I enjoyed wearing this dress and received a few compliments, too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2013
Great for a holiday party
I wore this dress to a work holiday party and it was flattering and appropriate for a work function. The bottom was a bit fitted for a gal with some curves and it was a little long for someone my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 17, 2013
I felt like I was in the Great Gatsby!
This dress was so gorgeous & comfortable, the fabric is beautiful and the peplum was perfect.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×