Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$77 to buy
$565 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
190 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(110)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2014
Elegant in Emerald!
The fit was incredible! I'm a taller girl, so it fell just above the knees. The fabric itself was very rich and thick, providing amazing structure for the dress. The peplum silhouette as always, is very flattering. I'd also suggest wearing Spanx as the dress is form fitting - they always work like a charm!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 7, 2014
Great dress.
This was for a work Christmas party and I got lots of complements. From people who don't care one bit about fashion. My boyfriend's friends came over and said great dress and someone said I looked like a million bucks... (Not abnormal, but I think the dress def upped the ante!) Soo... Basically it's a tasteful chic dress that doesn't scream "look at me" for all the wrong reasons. & green is a great color on most skin tones and with most hair colors. :) enjoy
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 14, 2014
Ran small in hips but large up top.
It is a pretty dress (shinier in person than the picture shows) but unfortunately I was not able to wear either size. Usually wear a 6 and the 6 was tight in hips but too large up top. Probably not a good choice for people with wider hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2014
Very flattering
I wore this dress to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. The colors are beautiful, but the shiny fabric may be better for a holiday event. The dress was very flattering, however the bottom section around the thighs/knees doesn't stretch so make sure you can sit in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2014
The green pattern was very pretty
I have an hourglass figure, the dress was a little tight in the hip area. Otherwise it was very pretty.
LorraineOctober 18, 2014
Laura, I see some vertically challenged ladies have rented this. How was the length on you?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 22, 2014
So pretty, just just didn't fit right!
I ordered the 10 and the 12 for my brother's wedding. I'm 5'7 and have an hourglass figure but it just didn't fit right. The 10 was too tight in the hips and the 12 was too big in the waist and bust. Gorgeous dress, wish it would have worked!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2014
Great color - unique dress that stands out!
I rented this dress for an October wedding. The cut of the dress was extremely flattering, and the color and pattern are rich and eye-catching. Overall, a classy and unique option! The fabric has no give, which makes sitting for long periods of time a little difficult. I ordered a size 4 as back up, but the 2 fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 27, 2014
Wedding at the Texas Discovery Gardens, complete with a butterfly exhibit!
This was my backup option for a wedding. This dress is very pretty, but made out of heavy material, and would be better for a winter event, like a holiday party. Also, the size 12 was very narrow in the hips, but the size 14 was far too large in the bust. If I had to wear this dress to the wedding, I would have went with the 14 for comfort. Not a bad dress, but I doubt I would rent this look again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
February 9, 2013
This dress fit perfectly
The material was very thick, and the fit was easy to move in. It fit true to size. I wore this for a night out but it would be great for any evening event. The length was perfect it was a little longer than I usually wear but with high heels it was great. You can see the earrings and clutch in 2 of the photos, I felt gold really complimented this dress perfectly.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 3, 2014
Elegant, Gorgeous Dress
This dress fit me like a glove. The fabric is beautiful and the color is vibrant. The only downfall is that I have to return it. With RTR, I may never buy another formal dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 9, 2014
Gorgeous color, great cut, compliments all night long
This dress was perfect for a semi formal November wedding. The brocade fabric really helps take this dress up a notch and I loved the color (which can easily pair with a lot of different accessories). I did not notice a huge difference between the 8 and the 10 except in the hips. As I'm pretty straight through the hips I went with the 8. As other reviewers have mentioned, the fabric does not have give, so the dress has a tendency to ride up while sitting. That might be a reason to size up if your shape is curvier in the hips. As for the bust, I'm a 34F (DDD) and this dress really accommodated my bust. Because of the cut of the top, I could easily wear a bra with straps. What a great dress all around!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 13, 2014
Tons of compliments, great color!
could have worn 12 but need the room and then some in the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2014
Lovely dress! Poms are not distracting at all.
I ended up not wearing this one, while it was a great look, I was actually running the party. So this is a little longer, fit kind of tight in the hips for me, but a 6 would have been too large. Because it is longer, you can't move as freely and since I was hosting the event, I was running around and putting out fires - this was not the winner because it restricted me from moving freely. Wore with the Oscar de La Renta Luxembourg necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
November 14, 2014
A great holiday party dress! Really classic with a little fun because of the flounce.
I really liked the way the fit of the dress worked in the work party setting - it was cut conservatively enough that I didn't need to worry too much about the bra but fitted enough to be a very attractive. It felt fancy because of the fabric but not too shiny and the peplum was not too much. I am an apple in shape and there was enough room for my tummy and a little camouflage because of the flounce. I also got the 14 which fit almost as well, but it was mostly loose in the bust and the armholes which were too big for me (the bra showed a lot). I will say in terms of bra, a regular strap will not stay hidden very easily. I opted for a black bra that, when it peeked through in terms of straps did not destroy the look and crossed my fingers. Racerback or strapless may be a better option. The little snaps which hold bra straps in place would have worked okay, but only one of the two on each dress was attached, which made for unattractive bunching on one side and bra strap showing on the other so I did not bother to try to fix it.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 17, 2014
Absolutely LOVED this dress.
I wore this dress for an outdoor evening wedding and I must say that the dress fit the occasion perfectly. The material was great and the fit was perfect. I received SO many compliments the entire night. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 8, 2014
This dress was gorgeous! I wish I could keep it.
The dress fit really well- the length was nice- I'm 5'10 and it was an appropriate length. It fit my bust and my hips very nicely, but I'm quite curvy and so I ended up wearing a narrow belt because I didn't have much waist. I think it looked great though! I would definitely rent this again. The color was perfect for me (a natural auburn, currently black-haired woman with green eyes), and is less "showy" than you think it's going to be.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2014
I wore it to a wedding. It was a little matronly, but I wore it anyway.
This dress fits great. I wore the 4 and could barely bend over because the material does not give. However, the 6 was a little too big. I am 5'6" and the dress came to an awkward length. It was a little longer than I would have liked but I wore it anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
December 12, 2014
Too conservative to wear to a party
Great quality! Neckline was too high and shape too conservative to wear for the fun event I was going to. This would be a great dress for a work-related affair. I'm a curvy size 12; so this dress was tight in the chest, very tight on my butt and thighs, and too loose in the stomach. If I had just planned to stand all night, I would have considered wearing it. The butt/hip area was soooo tight sitting down, but the fabric looked great and hid my imperfections. I loved my backup dress and wore that. If I had to wear this one, I'd wear a belt. I would consider renting again for a work event if I lost 10 pounds in my lower body.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2014
Beautiful dress, weird fit
I really wanted to love this dress. The fabric and style were great, but the fit was completely off. I had to wear the size 4 to get the top to fit, but then it was super tight around the hips - making it almost impossible to sit down! I was able to make it work at a cocktail party where I was standing the whole time, but if you plan to dance I would not recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 117
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2014
Sophisticated and Fun
I rented this dress for a Holiday Jazz Brunch. I am a size 2 at the top and a size 4 in the hip area. I can usually wear a 2 if there is some stretch but there was NO stretch to this dress. The 4 fit well enough (though a little large in the top). I got tons of compliments. It was pretty comfortable too. It's a really pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2014
Beautiful dress - perfect for evening wedding!
This dress was awesome and overall fit true to size. It was definitely very snug for sitting down - I almost wore the larger size (4) because of that but the 2 fit perfectly when standing up so I ultimately wore the 2. The fabric is gorgeous and I got tons of compliments throughout the evening. The fabric is pretty thick, so it was perfect for a fall wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 23, 2014
Great holiday party dress
I had originally chosen a different dress but was notified by RTR that it unexpectedly unavailable. I chose this dress as my alternative and it was perfect. The size 2 ran small and the size 4 ran normal so I opted for the size 4 which was slightly big for me. While the situation was less than ideal, RTR took really good care of me. Great customer service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2014
Perfect holiday dress
Worn for Thanksgiving dinner. Length was right above knee on 5'10" frame, which kept it family dinner appropriate. Loved the interesting, unique print and deep emerald color. Highly recommend for any holiday party. Peplums are sleeker to body than pictured (in a good way.) Great neckline for big jeweled necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 14, 2015
beautiful fabric and great silhouette.
I wore this to a company holiday party and it was great, however based on the other reviews stating over and over that it was an unforgiving fabric and tight in the hips I sized up and it was too big. I wore it anyway, but it felt a little baggy and I would have been more comfortable in a size down. I did get compliments on it and the fabric and the shape of the dress are just beautiful.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 21, 2015
Perfect fit and color!
Great dress, both fit and color. Wore to a holiday party and received many compliments. Very flattering! Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 25, 2015
Amazing but too small.
Incredible dress. The fabric was amazing the I loved the color. Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear the dress because it didn't fit. I have pretty big hips and it was just too tight. Fit perfect on top but just couldn't fit around my rear :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2013
Fit was strange and fabric was unattractive in person
Rented this for an interview and ended up wearing the backup dress. The fabric is much more brocade in person and it was meant for night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 17, 2015
Backup Dress
I'm not exactly a youngster anymore, but this dress made me feel old. The fabric was too heavy, the peplum was awkward and I neither looked nor felt my best. If you aren't (or don't feel) old enough to attend your own child's college graduation keep moving (away from this dress)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 195lbs
March 31, 2015
This dress has a beautiful shape that is very flattering on my apple shape.
I would choose one size up for the backup because it doesn't have much give.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 9, 2015
The color and fabric is great!
Loved the color and fabric but the fit is a little too big. I ended up wearing it with a belt but it would have been better tighter to show the figure instead of fitting like a sheath. I definietly would recommend but in a smaller size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 13, 2015
Lots of Compliments at Charity Event
This dress was great for an autism charity gala. The dress is not stretchy at all, so be careful when getting in/out of the car because the skirt doesn't give!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 14, 2015
The dress was great. Hit at the knee just right, Didn't wrinkle in my suitcase.
I'm a 34DD and felt/looked smooshed in the bust, and still had a good inch of room in the waist. If I had bought this dress, I would have gone up a size and had the waist taken back down to a 10 or even 8 so the girls would have more room. For a rental though, the fit was perfectly serviceable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
April 25, 2015
Subtlety stood out at a professional awards ceremony.
I wore this dress as an honoree at a professional awards ceremony, paired with black tights, patent leather skinny belt and patent leather pumps. I received many compliments including 'Best Dressed'. When I received the dress, I felt the lining and zipper showed some wear, but the fabric itself looked and felt luxurious. I wore size 2 which was true to size, but slim in the hips. There is no stretch in the fabric which makes walking up steps difficult. The hemline was a bit long for me, going a bit past the knee. The hidden bra strap holders are useful and the base of the peplum is sewn into the dress, which does not allow it to flare out. Overall, a great dress for my evening business event that included cocktails, dinner, and speech ceremony!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
April 27, 2015
This was an elegant evening event for work - needed to shine without a lot of bling.
Incredible fabric, and nice, figure-shaping fit. Not too tight, with a nicely tailored skirt that hugged my knees a bit and made my legs look long. Theses a very elegant dress that I needed for an evening cocktail event where I wanted to stand out, but NOT because of cleavage, bling, or too much leg. The fabric has a little shine to it, without being overt. Really, really classy, but the cut-in shoulders and lovely shape still give it a little sex appeal without being too much. Will rent again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2015
Wore this dress for my sister's NYC wedding. I received so many compliments! Loved the color!
The peplum hid my momma pooch and created a nice waist. It was true to size and fit just right. It was a sit down dinner with no dancing, but the skirt may have inhibited my moves if i had a chance to show them off.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2015
Wore this for a Mad Men event and it worked perfectly with my pillbox hat and pearls.
Wore this for a Mad Men event and it worked perfectly with my pillbox hat and pearls. This dress fit perfectly in the chest and waist. The length just covered my knees. It was slightly snug in the hips, but it worked fine. There was no give to the fabric, so the skirt rode up some when I was seated for awhile. Otherwise, the fabric was luxurious and the dress made me feel so glamorous.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 4, 2015
This was a beautiful dress. I was very happy with the rental.
The dress was beautiful. It fit me great. No complaints.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 14, 2015
Loved the retro feel.
The dress is very comfortable and fits well. I got tons of compliments. Only issue...make sure you can get the bottom of the pencil skirt over your hips, otherwise, the only way to use the restroom is to take the dress off completely. Luckily, I was able to, but if my hips were ANY bigger, I would have had a big challenge. I will definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
May 25, 2015
Great for curves
I've rented a few dresses from this designer and I think it's perfect for curvy girls . The design of every dress accents the curves perfectly !
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 29, 2015
Got a lot of compliments.
Great for a night wedding.
LorraineSeptember 12, 2015
Evelyn, please tell me did you shorten the dress? Perfect effect! Thanks. Lorraine
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×