Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(149)
True to Size
(192)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2016
Classic and elegant dress
The dress fit well. It drapes beautifully and I loved how it moved. I am 5'4" tall and with 3" heels the length was perfect. It just skimmed the floor. I felt that the dress worked well for my body type. I carry weight in my middle and this dress was very flattering. Loved it!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
May 18, 2016
Wonderful service! Beautiful dress!
I originally ordered a different dress that didn't fit when it came in so RTR overnighted this dress and gave me credit for the difference between the 2 prices. The dress fit true to size and was comfortable except for a little pulling under the armpit. I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 26, 2016
Husband couldn't stop with the compliments!
LOVED this dress. Felt so comfortable and super sexy at the same time. Dress was a little shorter than I thought (I am 5'6" and a 34DDD) so I should have rented the long and not the regular. I also rented the Lulu Frost Nicandra drop earring so add a little edge to the outfit. Overall this was a WINNER!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
February 23, 2016
Easy pick up/drop off at my local store
Dress ran a little big but the length was perfect for my height.
MariaFebruary 23, 2016
Hi There! I am also 5'1" and am wondering if you wore heels with the petite size? I am just debating between P and R, since I plan to wear heels. Thanks!
MariaFebruary 23, 2016
oops, that should say 5 feet 1 inch!
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
September 25, 2016
Perfect fit!
First time trying Rent the Runway and I couldn't be happier. This dress was sent to me after my original dress became unavailable at the last minute. This dress was super flattering as the material drapes beautifully due to the satin liner. Received so many compliments and danced the night away as it was so comfortable. The petite size was about an inch too short (I'm 5'4") and I didn't wear a bra. Can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 5, 2017
Great dress for a work gala
I rented this dress for my work Christmas gala. It was true to the size, though it did bunch around the zipper. I really didn't notice it though. It's made of a great material and I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2017
Elegant
The color was darker in person than I expected (true navy). I'm 5'3 and with 3.5 inch heels - length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 19, 2017
Perfect fit
I could not have asked for the dress to fit any better. It was perfect. This was my fist time to rent and I will be doing it again soon.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 20, 2017
Perfect for the occasion
This dress was so pretty and I'm perfect condition. I ordered the 6 and 8 regular. The 6 fit great, just a little roomy in the waist. I wore this to a St. Patrick's Day ball. I got compliments all night. Great first experience and I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2017
Fancy
Too fitted for me around my hips and stomach area but cute dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
April 9, 2017
The perfect dress!
This dress was a back up to my back up, which was unavailable at the last minute. I picked this dress on a whim, and I'm so glad I did! It fit like a glove! The cut of the mid section is very flattering. I ended up wearing a corset underneath to give me a better profile, but honestly it would have been fine with regular spanx. I'm a little small up top, but a VS bombshell bra filled it out fine. If you're very chesty, this may not be the dress for you. I loved the color, which is a dark navy. My only very minor complaint is that I wish it were slightly longer. I'm 5'6" and wore a 1 1/2 inch heel and it was about an inch too short in the front. Very comfortable, no slipping on the top. Was able to mingle and dance all night without having to constantly readjust the dress. Overall, great first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2014
Gorgeous! I did not want to take it off!!
This dress was so great! It hugged me in all of the right places. I really liked the small train that flowed in the back. It was a little loose for me in the hip area, but it was still okay for me. I could have worn a belt with if, but I thought it might take away from its elegance. It was a great rental and I was somewhat sad to take it off! Love, Love,Love!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 8, 2015
Perfect for my black tie ball! Simple and stunning!
This dress is stunning! Photos don't do it justice. Such a flattering fit! This was my first time using RTR and it was such an amazing experience! Will definitely use again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 9, 2015
Lots of compliments!
I did select runs large, but I personally did not mind! It created a little bit of a draped effect on the side without the shoulder, and I kinda liked it! It was beautiful and I got compliments at and after my school's formal Sweetheart dance! Lovely dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
February 13, 2015
Felt like the belle of the ball.
This dress fit like a dream. I'm 5'4" 148lbs. It was the perfect length with 3" heels, it didn't drag on the ground or rose too high. I wore shape wear underneath because I'm self conscious about my stomach. But the dress was easy to sit/dance/eat/drink in. Highly recommend!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2015
Gorgeous dress for a perfect night!
I wore this dress for the 2014 submarine ball with my fiancé. It was gorgeous! The fit was very nice, and the length was just right with 4' heels (I'm 5'2) I loved it & was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210lbs
May 19, 2015
Classy and comfortable!
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. The dress is much roomier than I thought it would be given the silhouette. I would probably have gone down a size if I could. The color was beautiful and everyone told me how elegant I looked. Definitely recommend for girls with curves!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2015
Great dress comfy yet still showed your curves
I was surprised that I needed the long length so tall girls be aware this does tend to be a bit short. I wore this with 4 inch heels and length was perfect. Wore this to a charity ball and loved how comfortable the dress was to move and eat a full meal in all evening. I would rent this again, color is very dark blue and the ruffled shoulder was very subtle.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
September 21, 2015
Beautiful dress! Lots of compliments, felt great in it.
I am 5'4" so I need to wear 3.5-4" heels to get it off the ground. Strapless bra was best undergarment option as well. Heavy weighted fabric so dancing all night long was pretty hot. Would definitely choose this gown again if I selected all over again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
October 22, 2015
1
The fit of this dress was perfect for a black tie optional event! I wore it to my graduate school Alumni event . It was loose enough in the stomach to look flattering without being too tight. The dress was so comfortable, professional and classy. I would recommend this to a petite frame as it lengthens the body.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
February 6, 2016
Dress was noticeably worn and way too short. The backup size was a long but it wasn't sent.
The dress was large in the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 20, 2016
Glamorous dress
I normally wear an 8 but easily fit into the 6. I felt very glamorous in this dress and received so many compliments. The color is classic and the fabric/cut was flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2016
Gorgeous dress for a black tie wedding!
Loved this dress! I got so many complements at the wedding we attended. It definitely runs big, I typically wear a 2 but would have wanted to wear a 0. I'm about 5'5 and wore flats and the length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 230lbs
April 3, 2016
Classy and understated
This dress fit very nicely with a simple long-line smoother underneath- surprisingly roomy through the hips even though it comes across as form fitting. The strapless side is cut high enough, so I never had any moments where I worried about needing to pull it up or adjust it. Very comfortable and lined, which I love. Only problem is what others have mentioned, that the zipper side is very bunched up all along the seam; I suppose the fabric and zipper are just too bulky to lay flat and flow nicely. Overall, I didn't feel that it ruined the line of the dress or felt strange/annoying. Lots of compliments on the style and found it to be a flattering dress that allowed a little sexy with good coverage on a larger size girl. ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2016
Very comfortable dress!! Everyone liked it!
Very flattering, not too hot, runs larger through abdomen
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 23, 2016
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was perfect for the Red Shoe Gala.
I was able to wear a size down and it fit like a glove. The only negative is that it puckered a lot along the zipper area and was somewhat unflattering on the left side. I'm glad I ordered a long because it was the perfect length with and without a 3'inch heel. The regular would have been way too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 15, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable!
A gorgeous dress. I ordered a 12R and 8L, the size 10 wasn't available. Both sizes fit, but the 12 offered more room through the bust. The dress is a heavy fabric and is cut on the bias, so it skims over the figure and would work for a wide variety of shapes. The regular length was a little short and a 10L probably would have fit best, but because of the cut an exact fit isn't required. I pinned the dress hangers inside with tiny safety pins, otherwise they would have been popping out the whole night. My husband actually asked if I could buy the dress to wear to other events - may have to rent the black or red in the future!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
April 18, 2017
Made me feel like a queen 4 months postpartum.
First time renting the Runway. Can't believe how easy and beautiful the gown was. Came to the rescue for my dad's wedding. True to size, wore w/o bra and with shape wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 30, 2017
NYS Police Gala
Love love this dress. The material is wonderful and doesn't cling. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
April 30, 2017
Compliments all night long!!
This dress was beautiful!! The length was perfect with 3.5 inch shoes - didn't need to hold it up when walking. Fit okay around the top, but there was definitely some forgiving fabric around the waist. Could have used a belt to give it a bit more shape, but I ended up going without. Blue color was beautiful, and the shoulder gave it a sophisticated touch. Definitely will rent again!
IritApril 30, 2017
with 3.5 inch heels, did the dress hit the floor or was it shorter than that? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 2, 2017
The dress was very comfy and easy for me to move in!
The stomach area was loose which made me photograph like I had a pooch but it was so comfortable I didn't mind it to much. The main cons were the strings that are on it for the hangers!! I was constantly having to tuck them back in...also the dress I ordered was navy but it was basically black.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2017
Bridesmaid dress for brothers wedding
I'm a true size 6 and felt I could have worn the 4 but the one should sleeve was very tight around my arm in both dresses. I wouldn't consider my arms large for my body frame. I went with the larger dress because it was more comfortable on the arm but the 4 fit better everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 21, 2017
Felt wonderful in this dress
Loved the fit and style, very comfortable and elegant #runwaytohope2017
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2017
Perfect fit, so comfortable and gorgeous!
Wore this to a military gala and loved wearing this dress! You can't tell by the photo but when you walk in this gown, it flows so beautifully. You feel like you're walking down a runway. I normally wear an 8 and the 6 felt better. It was form fitting and I didn't need to wear a bra. I thought about getting a petite bc I'm only 5'4, but my heels were 2-3inches so the regular was the better choice. I danced a ton at this gala and this dress held up in comfort :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 14, 2017
Beautiful dress, super flattering!!
This dress fit me like a glove. I am 5'3 and about 140 lbs, with athletic shoulders/arms, and curvy bust (36 C or 34 D) and curvy hips. The 6R fit perfectly. The 8R was too big in the chest for me. This dress was incredibly slimming and elegant. I got a million compliments all night long. I was a bridesmaid and this is the dress the bride chose for me. I couldn't have been happier! It was also very comfortable and fun to dance in. I did not wear a bra, but you easily could wear a strapless if you wanted too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 143lbs
August 12, 2017
Comfortable and elegant
I don't often wear long gowns since I don't like super high heels and I'm 5'3". This gown in 10p was the perfect length and the weight of the fabric allowed it to drape nicely. I was comfortable (very important to me) and I felt like I was dressed approximately for the gala I attended without drawing extraordinary attention to myself simply because of my attire (which is my preference.). I paired it with some drop earrings also from RTR and they marched beautifully. Dress was darker than I expected from the pictures - a deep navy color but I liked it a lot. I did feel plenty pretty in this dress and received a number of compliments. This is not my first RTR experience but after this one I did sign up for unlimited!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 38
August 14, 2017
The dress had a very noticeable flaw
There was a snag on the stomach area of this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2017
Excellent fit
This dress was a heavy fabric which was perfect for a cool evening formal wedding. I absolutely loved the navy color, and the silhouette of this dress is perfect for someone who is a little hippy with a smaller waist. The one shoulder was just enough, and I received plenty of compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
August 21, 2017
Dress was gorgeous and return was seamless!!!
Runs a little big in the torso but nothing I couldn't deal with.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
October 4, 2017
Great quality
Short than I would have liked
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×