Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
360 reviews
Fit
Large
(144)
True to Size
(172)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 5, 2012
A mix of Elegance and Beauty!
I rented the dress for a black tie wedding. I cannot describe the way this dress flows and hughs your body and at the same time you are able to move around and dance. I do agree and thank the preview girls that posted the reviews saying the dress runs a tad bigger because it does, that's the reason i went for a size smaller as my second option and I'm glad i did!! The items were delivered and wrapped carefully and the delivery date was exactly on time. The return indications were very simple as well. I also rented the accesories from the site!! Unfortunetely, i could only rely on my friends pictures and they do not make justice to the dress, but trust me "If you want to dress to impress... then this is your dress!"
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 9, 2012
Rent the Runway was amazing, I would use them again.
I wore this dress to a formal wedding. It is gorgeous. People commented all night on it. It is very dark blue-almost looks black. It is heavy material-very warm-I wouldn't want to wear it on a really hot summer night. '
RTR CustomerOctober 2, 2012
Hi! I was wondering, how high were your heels? Where you happy with the length? There are no longs available for my date and i was wondering if i could pull of the regular length? Im 5'6" as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 11, 2012
Beautiful color, gorgeous one shoulder detail
I am 5'1" and 135-140 lbs. I have a 34D bust and consider myself "hippy". That said, the dress ran large around my bust (at least an inch too big), fit the way I prefer dresses to fit over my hips - not hugging, but skimming. The color of the dress is a beautiful deep blue and the one shoulder detail is gorgeous. The dress is very heavy, though. It is also VERY long. Even with 4 inch heels, I needed the dress hemmed 2 inches. I usually wear an 8, but wore the 10 because of the way the dress fit my hips. The 8 did fit, but would have hugged my body closely - keep in mind when ordering. Paired the dress with Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drop earrings for a Red and Blue Ball.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2012
Stunning gown!
I wore this for a special date night, and it was even more beautiful than I expected! The color is a deeper navy than in the model photo, and looked beautiful with sparkly bracelet and earrings. I usually wear a size 8 or 10, and decided to go with a 10L based on fitting notes. It worked out, but I actually think an 8 would have fit slightly better as I found this a tad large for me. Anyway, this is a gorgeous, flattering dress that will make you feel like a movie star!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2012
Beautiful Gown
I ended up not wearing this dress due to liking my back up rental better, but in any other circumstance, I would have loved to wear this dress. The fit and fabric are very flattering, though I felt the dress lacked definition in the waist making me look a bit boxy. Perhaps a smaller size would have done the trick. It is a bit longer in the back than the front and at 5'8" with 4" heels, the long was definitely necessary, in fact my shoes showed a bit more than I would have liked in the front so have some shoe options depending on your height. If I have another formal event to attend, I will give this dress another try!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 26, 2012
Very pretty dress that is elegant and conservative!
I ended up not wearing this dress because both sizes I ordered were too big. It runs big in the waist but pretty normal everywhere else. I would recommend going smaller for the backup size. The dress is a good thick material and is very figure flattering if you get the right size. Customer service was great with my return and I will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 5, 2012
Loved this dress and felt wonderful
I rented this dress for a formal evening event. I am 5'8" and 145lbs and typically wear a size 10. Based on prior reviews I rented the 8R as my back up. I knew I would wear low heels with the dress so I went with the R length and it was perfect. The fabric is a quality, heavy material and feels wonderful on. I usually will not wear strapless clothing as I am self-concious about my shoulders but the ruffles draws the eye's attention and I felt great. I received a lot of compliments and I highly recommend the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 64
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 7, 2012
This was a beautiful gown--understated and elegant.
I am a pretty true size 8 but the size 6 fit me perfectly, including length with 3" heels. This was my backup dress but I ended up wearing it because my first choice was more low cut than I expected. This was my first experience with RTR and they are amazing. I will probably never buy another dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 8, 2012
Elegant slimming dress, perfect for a black tie affair
Fit was great. I had a post-baby body that I was unsure what size to order. I could have easily worn a 12, and probably a ten. But the 14 still looked great, hung draping down. So classic, elegant and slimming. I have an extremely large bust (nursing mom) and it was great. Wore my hair in a chignon, drop earrings, no necklace needed. I got the long, but should have gotten the regular. Was fine only because I wore TOWERING heels, but even so had to pick it up a little to walk. This was my back up dress, so glad I got the second choice. Is much more exciting in person/on than in the photo.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2012
Very elegant dress, understated glamor. I felt fabulous all night!
The fabric + lining is heavy, which makes it both forgiving and a great choice for a fall/winter event. A belt, as shown by some of the other reviewers, is a great idea, however because the dress was very loose in the waist. Overall this dress was very comfortable and I received many compliments throughout the night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2012
Elegant black tie wedding dress
I rented this dress for a fall black tie wedding and could not have been happier! I received compliments on the dress all night. I am usually between a size 4 and 6. The smaller size was definitely a better fit and I would suggest renting a size smaller than usual. I'm a little taller than average and the long was a perfect choice with my 2.5 in. heels. I also added my own belt, which I felt complimented the dress well. Without the belt, there isn't any seeming to define your waist. I would suggest this beautiful dress to anyone for a wedding or formal event!
lolaSeptember 9, 2014
I love the belt. You look great!
JustineSeptember 15, 2014
Thank you! The belt is from White House Black Market.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 13, 2012
Beautiful deep color gown.
Lovely dress. Sleek lines in a fabric that does not cling. Fitted enough across the bustline that it could be worn braless. Perfect for a tall long waisted shape. The ruffles drape nicely. The dress did not work for me as I am short waisted with very long legs. It bunched a bit across my lower back.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2012
I wore this dress as a bridesmaid and it was perfect. I got so many compliments and I felt great!
The fit is super flattering to all body types, I and my three other bridesmaids all looked great in this dress and we were a range of sizes.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2012
Too loose to wear.
Runs very large! Go a size down
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2012
Perfect solution for bridesmaid dresses!
Love love LOVED wearing this dress as the maid of honor in my sisters wedding. I felt like a goddess.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 21, 2012
Dress was awesome - but it runs very large and very long.
The dress is gorgeous and extremely flattering - the color is great. Beware that it runs long and large, so size down. I usually wear an 8 or 10, and i got a 6 and 8 (after reading other reviews about how big it runs). The 6 fit well, but was still a little looser than I'd expect. Length - I'm 5'10" and was wearing 3 inch heels and the back of the dress was still dragging on the ground. The front was fine (it's kind of a 'shorter in the front, longer in the back' situation) though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2012
Loved, loved the dress! Perfect fit and would definitely rent it again.
I am 5'9" 165lbs. and normally wear a 12, but got a 10L and 12L since the reviews indicated it ran large. The 10L was perfect! Very flattering and comfortable.
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2012
Perfect fit and received lots of compliments!
Amazingly beautiful dress. This dress my my second choice as my first choice became unavailable 3 days before my event. Tough this was very disappointing, the RTR staff were amazingly helpful. They turned a very negative situation into a positive outcome. I am still an RTR fan. The dress was so well made and the fabric was the finest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 28, 2012
Excellent service and smooth delivery.
This is a great staple dress for a formal work event or "bridesmaid esque" dress for a wedding. I'm tall and slender, not too curvy, so i looked a bit plain jane in it. It looked more conservative on than i thought it would. i think it could be great for those with more curves (or trying to hide some curves), but for me it just didn't have much sex appeal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2012
Great choice - elegant and understated
This is a great choice for a black tie optional wedding. The color is deeper than pictured - a true navy, and is less expected than black. I normally wear a 14, but after having a baby I have no idea what is "normal" anymore, so I ordered a 12R and a 16R (the 14 was unavailable). The 16 was way too big, but the perfect length for me (I'm barely 5'7). The 12 fit great - the top was very slightly snug, but it was very short. I wore 3.5 inch heels, and I had to embrace really showing my shoes. The dress is cut pretty straight through the top and waist, which can create a bit of puckering along the side zipper if you have a larger bust, but I attribute this to the fact that I probably would have fit the 14 a bit better. I was worried about returns on Sunday, but the return was SO easy - just pop the dresses back in the enclosed bags and drop them in the blue USPS post boxes. I will definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2012
I got many compliments on the dress! Even in a sea of sparkles the timeless shape really stood out.
The dress fit really well. I was a little worried that the ruffle would be overwhelming, but it was a perfect accent to the style. The RTR staff was super helpful and so friendly; all the good things I've heard about their customer service is definitely true! My only issue was that the material was pretty thick and it was really hot underneath. Other than that I was very happy with the dress and will definitely be renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 8, 2012
Extremely comfortable, fit perfectly, looks great on curvy figures, had compliments all night. LOVE!
I wore this dress for a Marine Corps Ball. Like some of the other reviews the dress is a little tighter under the right arm but it isn't uncomfortable. I had people comment on it all night long. It felt awesome! The dress is form fitting in all of the right places and hides those areas we aren't all exactly "slim" in. My ball was in a different state and I was able to pack it in my carry-on and there were no wrinkles in it when I arrived. *Amazing* Overall, my experience with this dress and RTR was phenomenal. I will definitely be ordering through them again. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 11, 2012
Great dress for a formal affair
This was my back up dress for a black tie wedding I was attending. The 4R fit well overall - it was perfect at my bust and great length (I wore the dress with 4" heels). It was a bit loose in the waist/hip area though, which is why I belted it, which turned out fine I think. It's definitely a bit on the heavier side as far as material goes - so better for a cold weather affair. The dress was comfortable, but I kept finding myself adjusting the shoulder strap because it was digging into my skin at times which was a little annoying. Otherwise it's a beautiful, classic dress that's great for any formal affair where you don't want to stand out too much.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
I got so many complements wearing this dress to a Navy ball! Perfect.
The dress was originally my "back up" but when i got it in the mail i immediately knew it was the one! I ordered a size 2L because I like to wear tall heels and it couldn't have fit me any better. I got many complements and it was the perfect gown for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2012
flattering
I am a true size 6. In this case I ended up calling RTR in a panic. I didn't have a backup size and had ordered the 6R. They ended up sending me the 4R in black overnight. It's a great dress but does run very big. I could have probably worn the 2 if my bust were a little smaller or if I wanted a more fitted look. The dress looked great though and I received lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2012
I wore this dress to the wedding of a friend's son.
The dress fit beautifully and was very flattering. My tummy was hidden. The dress was comfortable. I received many compliments. I would wear it again! Note that we needed to tape the hem so I would not trip over the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 19, 2012
Beautiful dress; very high quality!
The dress was a little long for my height (5'-2") with 1.5" heels. Used the hem tape and it worked out fine. The material is very nice, high quality. The dress is lined which is great as well. Dress did not need to be steamed or pressed - straight from the box it was ready to go. Wore the size 6; the size 4 was too tight in the arm pit. Loved this dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 178lbs
November 20, 2012
I felt glamorous!
Heavy fabric with a nice volume to make you look like you are on the catwalk as you glide across the room!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
November 26, 2012
Nice dress
Fit well but the zipper puckered. The dress arrived a day late, I was already gone for my event -- first time with RTRW and will think twice next time.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
November 27, 2012
I love wearing beautiful gowns only once!!!
I don't like owning too many long gowns because they are so memorable once you wear them. I like something new all the time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
November 30, 2012
Someone said it made me look like Kate Winslet--best compliment ever!
Very forgiving, runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 3, 2012
Great dress but runs a tad long!
I received so many compliments on this dress! It did run a tad big and should have went down a size but overall the dress fit well. It is a tad long on the bottom and had to put in some hem tape so it's not ideal for shorter women. I'm 5'2 and was wearing 4 inch heels and the dress still dragged to the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2012
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding!
I am 5'3" but still ordered the regular length because I love to wear very high heels. I actually only ended up wearing three-inch heels and if I had wanted to wear taller shoes, I would've needed the long length to make sure the dress touched the floor. I received so many compliments! I recommend wearing your hair because of the shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 8, 2012
Fantastic!
I loved this dress! I thought I would need a 10, but when I read the reviews and learned that the fit runs large, I ordered an 8 for my second size. The 8 fit perfectly! The length was perfect and I felt so comfortable and beautiful.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2012
The fact that no other woman in the room had a dress like mine!
Fit was absolutely perfect, as if I had it tailor-made for myself!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 17, 2012
It's a beautiful dress. Received many compliments!
Upon reading the reviews and noticing that it runs larger I ordered size 6 and size 8. I usually wear 8-10. But even size 8 was too big. Ended up wearing size 6. The color of the dress is not as bright as it is on the picture. It's much darker and looks more black then navy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2012
The dress was very elegant and perfect for the formal wedding I attended.
The material is very heavy, but very comfortable. I typically wear an 8 and actually ordered that as my primary size with the 6 as a back up. The 8 was way too big, but the 6 fit perfectly. I would suggest going a size down.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2013
RTR was an amazing experience!
This dress was absolutely beautiful!!! I received so many comliments - even a "you look like you should be on the red carpet in that dress!". I couldn't believe how well it fit me - it's so difficult to find a dress that fits my pear shaped body. Strapless dresses are out of the question unless altered to fit my very smal bust (34 a). I was pleasantly surprised that the 4 was small enough at the top ( with a padded strapless bra) yet still fit my 9 month post baby hips! The color was just gorgeous, a rich deep blue navy and the material vas very thick. Perfect length on me (5'5") with 2" heels. The condition of this dress was brand new. This was a great experience. Thank you RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
January 13, 2013
Great dress for a work formal event
I had a formal event I needed to attend with co-workers and my boss and this dress was perfect! It was so classy and I felt completely comfortable around my boss. It did run a little short. I am 5'7" and I ended up having to wear a very low kitten heel, so I may recommend ordering the long if you are tall or plan to wear taller heels. It was also a little tight under my arm, but my bust is on the larger size so it would probably be fine on anyone else. Overall really happy with this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
Felt like a movie star!
Very very comforable!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×