Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
302 reviews
Fit
Large131
True to Size151
Small8
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 6, 2014
This dress is absolutely stunning!!
My sister and I ordered these for our parents' wedding, and I couldn't have been happier with the entire experience! We read up on the comments on this dress and everyone is right, it does run large. I ordered the 0R and the 2L, the 0R was the better fit but was more than a bit too short for my 5'8" height. The material was heavy enough that the 2L only looked obnoxiously baggy when I was sitting down, I threw on a REALLY padded strapless bra and that helped take up some of the extra room I had at the ribcage. People could not stop gushing over these gowns, I received compliments all night long! I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
October 5, 2014
I received tons of compliments on this dress
I found this dress very forgiving. I just had a baby and wasn't really too excited about attending an event, but this dress ended up being perfect. Very comfy and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2014
One word: STUNNING
I can't say enough about this dress! I wore this in a friend's wedding and I could literally hear gasps as I walked down the aisle. I'm normally a size 14 and I rented the 14 and 12 as backup. I could have worn either, but went with the 14 just for a little more comfort for the reception.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
September 16, 2014
This dress is just incredible! The fit is just amazing. Definitely get a size smaller.
It is long but I wore the size 8 and 3 inch heels and it just barely swept the floor. It is beautiful material and probably the most beautiful dress I've ever worn.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2014
Fit well and looked good on me.
The color is A LOT darker than in the picture, that was a huge disappointment because the color really mattered to me. It looks more black than anything and I was hoping for the blue in the picture!!
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
September 14, 2014
Received compliments all night
The dress was sent as a rush backup when my first choice was way too small. It was shipped and arrived with plenty of time before the event. It has a slight train and does run a bit short. I am 5'6" and even with flats, my shoes were still visible just slightly. The dress is very sophisticated and I received compliments all evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100lbs
September 7, 2014
Pretty Dress
I rented several options for a gala I had to attend, and this was a backup dress. I didn't end up wearing it. I am very petite, and the length actually worked great with 4-5" heels, but the dress itself was too loose. The bust area wasn't really fitted, or the body, and the zipper kind of jutted out from the side awkwardly. It just wasn't very flattering and I decided to wear a different dress. I wouldn't recommend the dress for someone who is petite, but it is a beautiful gown, and I loved the color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2014
Stunning dress.COMPLIMENTS! great color, great length, MUST RENT THIS DRESS
so glad i rented a LONG. I'm barely 5'8'' but glad I wore the long because I wore 3'' heels and needed the length of the dress. wasn't too long to wear with flats though, just a tad long. gorgeous dress. perfect fit, especially my concern with my larger chest. it's ideal! it's slimming and elegant without being over-the-top. I already recommend RTR. my first RTR experience and I'm so so grateful!!! GREAT FANTASTIC DRESS!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
September 1, 2014
It was easy and quick and I didn't have any problems. Loved the dress!
I have broad shoulders the 10 was a little tight in the bust area, however, the 12 was too big. I wore the 10 and it was great! Would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 30, 2014
Emmy Night Elegance
This dress was absolutely beautiful. The flow of the material and the small train were elegant and just what I was looking for. A few notes: * I agree with the other reviews that this dress runs large (I typically wear a 6 but ended up using the 4). * I highly recommend getting a belt to accentuate the waist. Before the belt I added, the dress gave me no shape, but the belt added the definition I needed. * As others have said, the color is more of a navy than a vibrant blue. I would absolutely recommend this gown to others. Classic elegance!
AmyOctober 3, 2014
Where did you find your belt? I love it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 17, 2014
Elegant and Flattering Dress
I was a little last minute reserving my dress so I didn't get my first pick. However, this dress was phenomenal and I was so excited receiving the box with my dress and the extra size. The stomach area was a little big and that's why I sized down but that wasn't really a big concern. My biggest issue was with how small the shoulder opening was. I could feel myself getting red and agitated later into the night. This might be because my arms are fairly muscley so someone with daintier arms would be fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2014
Great dress but it runs very large I ordered a 6 and I really needed a 4 if not a 2.
It was beautiful but it runs very large so I went with my 1st choice.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 7, 2014
Gorgeous, classy MOH dress - Absolutely perfect
This dress was absolutely perfect for my best friend's wedding in Chicago. It was perfectly feminine and classy. I was nervous that all of my less favorable aspects would show through, and this dress hid everything beautifully. It was roomier than I expected as well. Being shorter, I needed some higher than normal heels for this dress and then it was totally fine. Cannot say enough good things - I adore this dress and wish I could rationalize purchasing it permanently! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2014
Didn't end up wearing this one but it was a beautiful gown!
Overall fit was great but I'm 5'5 and the Regular was a bit too short. I would go with long next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2014
Rented this for a bridesmaid dress is august loved it!
fit is true to form, but you must order long if you are on the taller side.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 4, 2014
Everyone loved my dress. I was told by multiple people that I looked "stunning"!
I was surprised that a one piece dress fit my bust, waist and bottom at the same time. If it were mine, I may or may not have had tiny alterations in the waist but it wasn't an absolute necessity. Also, with heels, the length of the dress was spot on. At 5'4", that's also basically unheard of!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
July 25, 2014
non-profit awards dinner (black tie, high $) had to be elegant, comfortable but not frumpy
Fit very well - nice color dark blue but a nice change from black. flattering fit, nice drape and hangs well. Tons of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 15, 2014
meh!
I order this as a back up and thank God I didnt need it. It was unflattering and looks like a bridesmaid dress. It defently did not fit my body type. Since I am fuller in the mid section it was not forgiving!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2014
Stunning dress! So easy to wear, and glamorous!
Runs slightly large, I normally wear a 4R, and the 2R was a perfect fit. This dress is simple elegance, it is a statement all on it's own.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2014
SO COMFORTABLE!!
I normally wear a 14, but the 16 was available. However, I made it work once I tried the dress on. It is super, super flattering for a full figured woman. It floated over those problem areas, but also flattered the shoulders and breast area. I received several compliments. The other reviewers are correct, this dress is very, very dark blue (almost black.) It is also roomy, so go down a size. I loved dress so much, though that I made it work with some double sided tape and pins. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress, not to mention how accommodating RTR was with making my experience wonderful. I will use this for all my formal events in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
June 29, 2014
Loved the dress
The dress could have been a bit more right around my belly. But if I were to go down a size my chest wouldn't fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
June 18, 2014
Beautiful formal gown!
I attended a wedding that was black-tie. This was my backup dress but when I wore it I felt totally glamourous. This gown was gorgeous and hung beautifully, although it was a tad big in the hips. However, if it had been any smaller it probably would have been uncomfortable. My favorite part besides the beautiful neckline was the train - really upped the wow factor. I have no waist, so it's difficult finding dresses that work on me, would definitely rent this again. Make sure you fashion tape as the hanger straps were a pain.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 15, 2014
Compliments all night
This was my first RTR experience, and wore this to a black tie wedding. I was a little nervous, as my package didn't arrive until almost 7:00 on delivery day, but that was the only issue, and not RTR's fault. The 6L was too big, but the 4L fit almost perfectly. It tugged slightly to the side with the one-shoulder style, but I was the only one who noticed. There is no stretch to the fabric, but the fit is very flattering. Definitely more navy than it appears in pictures, it was nice to not wear the typical black. I wore 3" nude heels, and the length was perfect. I received compliments all night long- I was sad to return it. I would absolutely rent this dress again, and will be using RTR in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
June 10, 2014
Gorgeous
I wanted something comfortable and flattering and this was the perfect dress. Unlike strapless dresses where you spend the night pulling your dress up, this one shoulder look rested comfortably enough that the end of the night we were playing cornhole at a local bar and I felt just as beautiful as I did at the ball. Overall fit was perfect, simple elegant lines, would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
June 9, 2014
Pretty color
Did not wear it, because it fit awkwardly. The zipper created a bulge. Very heavy fabric. I and 5'5 and ordered the R and it was too short for my taste. I could not have worn any size heels with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 7, 2014
Great basic dress
This dress was true to size and is a great classic fit. It was a little baggie in the stomach area but otherwise a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 5, 2014
Another work event
I was most concerned about the 12L fitting my bust (36DDD), but it worked out fine! The dress is a bit heavy, so I would've been hot and uncomfortable if my event had been outside. The dress would be great for winter black-tie events, though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 4, 2014
Felt like a movie star.
This dress was incredibly flattering on an hourglass figure and made me feel super special for my friend's black tie wedding.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
May 28, 2014
A black tie gala for a wonderful cause.
The dress and color were beautiful. My only complaint was that I wished the waist was more fitted. There seemed to be a lot of extra fabric in that area and my waist isn't overly thin. Because of that, I didn't feel like the dress was very slimming. Also, the arm hole for the side with a strap was pretty tight in my arm pit, so I probably wouldn't have been able to fit in a smaller size. I was happy with the way I looked that night, but it's not a dress I would buy due to the fit. The whole experience with RTR was a very positive one and I will definitely be renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 24, 2014
This dress is great
I rented this dress for my cousins wedding and because I am both busty and hippy I was a bit skeptical of the fit, but the dress worked out fine. It was a bit big in the bust but it still worked out well. My only regret is that it doesn't come in petites, being that I am a petite curvy woman it would have helped tremendously had the dress been available in petite, but I loved it all the same. Great rental, great time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
May 24, 2014
I wore this dress to prom
Very nice fit, not too tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
May 20, 2014
Flattering and wonderful dress, runs large
I rented this dress for a black-tie wedding I attended in January. I am always nervous to order a size down but did based on the other reviews. I ended up wearing the smaller size and I probably could have even worn the next size down but the 6 fit pretty well. I would recommend this dress to anyone. It is a great material, thicker so it was nice for the winter when i wore a shawl for my shoulders but I would definitely wear this dress in the spring/summer as well. I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2014
This dress was fabulous! It was so comfortable. I loved the feel and everything about it!
I did not have to wear a bra with it! Two layers of fabric so you don't feel exposed! Moves with your body. Classy and elegant and did the job!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
May 14, 2014
Gorgeous Formal Dress that is also comfortable!
Loved this dress! Great classic look and it felt super elegant. It ran just a little large through the body, but not in a way that made it look to large, just made it comfortable. Thick fabric also made it pretty warm.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2014
Beautiful Dress
Great dress, perfect fit! The front runs slightly shorter than the back but it was just long enough.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 5, 2014
Loved it! Great material! Little big in waist and hips
Great dress and my husband loved it. Overall loved the dress design and material. I hate clingy materials because they are so unforgiving, but this fabric was great. The fit was a bit larger than I would have expected though in the hips and waist. I typically have dresses run tight in that area and loose in the chest, but this dress was the opposite. It fit great in the chest but was really loose on the waist and hips. Would have preferred it to fit a little more snug. GREAT DRESS though overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 4, 2014
Classy
This dress is really nice - it is a bit of a heavy material, but it's pretty. My only 2 complaints: the dress runs really large; the 2 was actually too big, so I didn't end up wearing it. The zipper was also strange on the side, and it folded in a weird way, but that could be possibly due to the fact that the dress was too large. It's not as form fitting as I would have liked either, but again, the dress runs large. I usually wear a 2, sometimes a 4, and the 2 was still too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 1, 2014
Absolutely loved this dress.
So flattering. Material very high end.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2014
Great option
Wore this to a black tie event with colleagues. I didn't want anything revealing or flashy and this dress was perfect. Very understated and elegant. Flattering fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2014
Excellent dress for a black tie event!
I wore this to a black tie wedding in April and it was great!! I rented both the 2L and the 4R (2R was unavailable), and the length was the only problem I had. I am right under 5'5" and even with high heels on, the L length was a bit too long. 4R was too big and ill fitting. The size 2 fit perfectly though, so I just went with the longer length. Found myself holding up the train in the back to keep people from dancing on top of it, but it all worked out just fine.
See more reviews:
3 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×