Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
358 reviews
Fit
Large
(144)
True to Size
(172)
Small
(10)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2013
LOVED
I agree with a lot of other reviewers that the arm hole did run a bit small, and after a 5-hour night it started rubbing. It did NOT ruin my experience, though! I wore this to an Inaugural Ball and got so. many. compliments. It ran true to size, and while it was a bit looser in the waist than I would have liked, it wasn't baggie. I wore 3" heels with it and never had to worry about picking it up when walking. I wish I had another event to wear this to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 1, 2013
Great canvas for fun accessories!
Wore this dress to a formal event. It was a last-minute addition to my order due to some misinformation about how formal the event would be. Overall fit was slightly large, especially through the waist. Paired it with a skinny beaded belt (to help define a high waist), dangle earrings, and a gorgeous Carlos Falchi clutch (also RTR).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 1, 2013
Beautiful dress, but not the best fit.
I usually wear a 6 and the 6L was a good length, but too loose in the waist. The look of the dress is to be shorter in the front then in the back. Be aware because I didn't realize that until I got it. I wasn't crazy about my shoes showing in the front and having a small train in the back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
May 5, 2013
Not for me.
I ordered this dress for a black tie event. I normally wear a size 6 but I ordered the 4R and 6R. The 6R was way too big. The 4R fit my body but it was too SHORT! Even with flats the dress length looked awkward for a black tie event. Needless to say I had to rush to the mall last minute to buy a different dress for the event. Major bummer:(
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 7, 2013
Great for a wedding guest!
It fit true to size, my paranoid self got one size up too but the 4 was perfect. I am 5'9 and I had to wear flats, which is fine because I was more comfortable but its not super long for the taller girls. Other then that it was great! Tons of compliments at the wedding I went to.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
May 20, 2013
The dress is absolutely divine! I really could not be any happier!
Fit - I made the mistake of ordering two different lengths instead of two different sizes. I ordered a 2R and a 2L, when instead I should have rented a 2R and a 0R. But all in all, with the help of (a lot of) fashion tape, the fit was wonderful! However, I will continue on the thread that the dress is a bit airy around the torso, but personally, that didn't bother me at all. Pros - The dress is absolutely divine! I really could not be any happier! This dress is one of those very subtle but sophisticated and classy dresses. The one-shouldered ruffle is wonderful as well -- just the right amount of dramatic and not at all obnoxious. The color is also darker than the model picture, but the dark navy really plays to the sophisticated and classy side of the dress. Cons - The only downside to this dress, and I will also continue on the other thread, is that the dress is longer in the back. Seeing as how I wore this dress to my prom, I did run into the occasional problem of having the train of the dress stepped on (both my other people and by myself). Though this problem could be remedied with taller heels. Highlights - I really just felt so sophisticated and classy. I loved walking in this dress and receiving the second glances and compliments from people. And specifically pertaining to my prom, I really felt like I stood out because whereas other girls would be bedazzled or in sequins or layers, I felt like this dress really stood out in its subtly; and you can easily play it up or down. Really, just sososo satisfied and happy with the way this dress helped me define my prom night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 182lbs
June 7, 2013
Just heading out to Prom this year to chaperone and this dress is perfect! My eyes really pop!
Perfect length and the really comfortable. Loved the bracelet and earrings, too, though you can't really seem them here. Another great RTR rental!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
June 7, 2013
Wore to a Black Tie Gala at the Museum of Fine Art in Boston. Very elegant!
Dress was very comfortable and elegant. I felt very comfortable. I was worried that the one shoulder may not lay right and look funny but it was perfect. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
July 14, 2013
So easy and affordable!
This was my first experience with RTR and it was great! The dress fit perfectly. I'm 5'7" and the long was perfect with 3 inch heels. I got the dress in navy and the material was nice. Totally advise getting this dress if you have a formal affair coming up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 15, 2013
Elegant and comfortable
Beautiful elegant dress. My only complaint is that the arm hole was a bit tight but it was tolerable with a few adjustments. I got a lot of compliments and was easy to move in when it came time for dancing!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
August 26, 2013
Simply Elegant
This dress is lovely in the photos but much more beautiful in person. I wore this to a formal black tie event and received tons of compliments. It is very comfortable and elegant - highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 126lbs
September 12, 2013
Great dress, received lots of compliments!
Great dress, received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 192lbs
September 18, 2013
I received this as part of the At Home Try On program
Gorgeous color. Because I am short-waisted, the length from the shoulder to the waist was a bit too long and the zipper on the side of the dress wouldn't lay flat. There was also some extra room in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
October 1, 2013
Beautiful gown
Fit my curves like a glove, and the regular length was perfect for me (I'm 5'2").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 9, 2013
just stunning
i loved this dress, i felt so special in it. i got lots of complements, it was very slimming and i was even able to dance comfortably in it all night.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2013
I loved this dress. Got tons of complements!
Like many others, I ordered this as my back-up dress. The other dress I ordered was pretty too. This one just looked more elegant and I loved the solid navy color of it (much darker than the photo shown). My two complaints were that the zipper was kind of stretched out when I got it and I thought it was just a little big in the waist. But it worked as I sometimes have a hard time finding a dress that fits in the bust. The dress is lined so it is nice and warm for the fall/winter month events. I am 5'8 and I wore 3" heels and it was still a tad long in the back. But nearly perfect for my height. Overall this dress was great. I got tons of complements and I felt comfortable all night in the cool weather. I will definitely use RTR again in the future and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice rental.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 16, 2013
I was interview on the event red carpet. The dress was very understated but stunning.
No cons. it fit very well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 24, 2013
It's a good quality dress
I liked the dress, it was just too big for me. It was my backup dress anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 3, 2013
The color of the dress and earrings I rented to match were perfect!
I rented a size 6 and size 4. I went right to the 4! I am normally a size 6 but after reading the helpful reviews I went a size lower. The fabric is extremely nice, heavy and flows perfectly. The heels I wore were about 3.5 inches, and that worked was perfect for the dress length.. it was almost to the floor ( I am 5'9). I would rent this exact same dress again. It is classic and beautiful and makes you feel just that!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2013
Simple, gorgeous and comfortable!
I normally shy away from strapless/one-shoulder dresses, but once I put this dress on, I couldn't say no. It runs quite large (even the 8R was a bit large on me in places), but overall, the fit was great. I received so many compliments throughout the night and the fabric was perfect for a chilly fall evening. I'm 5'2 and wore 3.5 inch heels, though wish I had gone with 4+ inches, as I had to keep picking up the dress so I wouldn't trip.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2013
Made me feel spectacular!
I wasn't sure about the one shoulder style, but it looked amazing. I received compliments all night.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 8, 2013
Classic fit, classic look.
Runs big since the material does stretch some, but it's great quality. I received many compliments, it was comfortable, but too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2013
really clean lines, pretty dress AND comfortable!!!!
followed reviewers advice and sized down for back up …wore the 6R instead of the 8R. Length was perfect with 3 inch heels…will rent this dress again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 195lbs
November 20, 2013
Sooooo comfortable.
I chose this dress based on everyone saying it was great for the curvy girl. It. Was ok. The color is not as nice as the picture, it just looked black, which I love black, just not when I order what I thought to be a blue dress. The neckline and ruffle is gorgeous, and the fabric is lovely, super comfortable and luxurious, but the fit is just ehh. It did fit my large chest, but did not hang correctly from there. It didn't do anything for my waist. Not very flattering in the midsection. And I am only 5'6, and thank goodness I got a long, because, it just barely showed my shoes. Although it fits a large chest, you sacrifice fit everywhere else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
November 23, 2013
It was very beautiful in person. Darker than I had expected, almost black.
The arm hole is very tight and was a little uncomfortable to move around. It is also very heavy, I would recommend for colder weather events. I ended up wearing my extra dress because this one made me pretty warm. I got the regular and long, the regular ( with four inch heels ) was about two inches too short. The long went to the floor, I had to be careful not to trip.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2014
Look very nice on. I received so many complements when I wore it. Very comfortable too!
Good for a black tie affair. Runs big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2014
This dress was gorgeous and comfortable! A perfect combination for a formal event.
I ordered the dress in an 8 and a 10 because formal gowns tend to run small. The 8 was still too big in the top and way too long. I bought 3.5 inch heels and the dress drug the floor. I am broad across the shoulders and have a large chest, so I was very surprised to need a 6. I called RTR and they cold not have been more helpful about over-nighting me the dress in a smaller size. The 6 fit like a glove and I was able to wear my silver sandals with a kitten heel. Much more comfortable for a long night of dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2014
Great for colder evenings.
I wore it for a black tie wedding after a huge snow storm. I was undecided between dresses then saw that this one is lined. It's perfect for a fall/winter event. The 2Long was my back-up, I usually wear a 4R, but once I put on 3-4 inch heels i needed the longer one. It just barely swept the floor on the back. the hem is slightly higher in the front making it easier to walk (and shows off great shoes). It sways a bit when you walk giving off a model sashay. I didn't notice much of a difference in the 2 and 4, maybe tighter on the arms, it's a very flattering dress, not too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 16, 2014
Beautiful, elegant dress
I had rented this dress as my backup, so I didn't end up wearing it, but it was very elegant and flattering. However, I felt it ran a bit big and a size 4 would have fit better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 5, 2014
I did not end up wearing this dress.
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding because i loved the vibrant blue. It is not bright, it is navy and its so dark its hard to tell if its navy or black. it fits well, but its really hard to get the clasp at the top to hook by yourself.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 9, 2014
A little loose
Overall the dress fit very well, except the zipper bunched up and stuck out. I ended up not wearing it, but if I had gotten the 8 I probably would've worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2014
Beautiful Classic Dress!
It was a very tough decision to not wear this dress as I ordered it as a back up style. I would never have thought that a semi-form fitting dress would look so good. It hugged in all the right places, but the fabric gave it a great structure. I did order one size smaller than I normally wear. Maybe next time!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
February 18, 2014
Didn't end up wearing the dress; both sizes were too big.
Color is much darker in person, almost black. Can't comment on fit since apparently I am much smaller than a 2 unlike what I originally thought. Simple and elegant, would have been a nice dress to wear.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2014
This dress was amazing!
The fit of this dress was true to size and beautifully made. I wore it to a formal military dinner and it was beautiful but still conservative enough as well. I wore the long and it was just right with 3 inch heels. Highly recommend for any formal occasion!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
February 25, 2014
Wore to a black tie ball for the Junior League of Dallas. Lovely/Flattering Dress!
I received a ton of compliments on this dress and would recommend it to any woman with tummy issues (apple shape) as I felt is concealed my problem area well. I was disappointed in the color of the dress when it arrived. On the website it was a more vibrant blue and in person (and photos) looked black. Also, there was very strange puckering down the side on the zipper. I thought is may have just been this dress but when I tried on the back-up size it was the same on that dress. This was my first time using RTR and the process of renting and receiving the dress was great and I will definitely be using RTR in the future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2014
Very flattering dress!
I'm usually a size 4 and wore the 4L in this dress. It fit really nicely and was really slimming. There was a little bit of room in the waist, but it still looked great. I'm 5'8'' and am SO glad I ordered the long. I wore 3-4 inch heels and you could see my shoes so the regular length definitely would have been too short. Just keep in mind that your shoes will show so have a pair that you like. I wore Spanx with it which was really helpful because I didn't feel like I needed to suck in all night. Overall, it's a very beautiful (and comfortable!) dress. It's a great quality fabric, beautiful dark navy color and is super flattering. I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 1, 2014
Amazing dress. LOVED wearing it. It was very comfy! It moves very elegantly. True to size.
Fits perfectly! I was very happy with the dress. You'll see in the photos that there is a string that kept coming out. That was annoying. Otherwise, I felt like a movie star!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 3, 2014
Glamorous Gown Perfect for Awards Season!
I rented this dress for an evening of Oscar parties and I loved it. The 6R was a little short so my shoes showed but the 6L wasn't that much longer and was only available in black so I went with the 6R and loved the Navy blue color. It was very comfortable and flattering, I wore it for over 12 hours and it was never too tight or itchy. I would love to rent again in another color!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 10, 2014
What made my night unforgettable was when everyone who rented a dress from RTR did a photo together
The dress was darker than I thought but it actually matched perfectly with my husbands mess dress for his dining out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
March 12, 2014
So comfortable
Fit a little bigger than I planned so it lost a little shape. It was really comfortable and really elegant though!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×