Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(149)
True to Size
(192)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 21, 2013
Best idea ever - never buying a formal dress again!

Like the previous reviewers said, the dress runs large and long. I ended up wearing the 8, although I may have been able to go a size smaller. The dress was gorgeous and both arrived in mint condition. I usually have problems in the chest department, but it fit perfectly there! I will say the side zipper bubbled a bit on both sizes, due to the weight of the fabric, but I was told no one else would notice it. I wore 3" heals and the dress skimmed the floor nicely. All in all a great process - the mail return bag doesn't fit in all mail slots well ( I ended up jamming up our box so the post office may not be too happy with me).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW

This dress runs large! I would definitely recommend getting your typical size, and then going down a size for the free back up. The length was also great for me. I was wearing a pair of 4in heels and it still hit the ground. It is also darker in person. I would also recommend this for someone with a larger bust as well. A great gown for any black tie event!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2013
This dress hugged and hid in the right places, I felt AMAZING at the Inaugural Ball I wore it to!

This dress looked AMAZING, especially with hair in a swept-to-the-side up-do (down was a little overwhelming). Just be forewarned that it comes out almost black, not navy in most pictures. The length was perfect for a short person wearing tall-ish heels, and it covered my "issue" areas by skimming, not hugging, which made it flattering. The only caution I'd have

MichelleJanuary 24, 2013
Is this photo of you with heels? I'm the same height and I wanted to see how it would fit. Loved how you accessorized!
MichelleJanuary 24, 2013
Hi, this was without heels. It was still a tiny bit long with 3" heels, so I'd say either wear bigger heels, or use some hem tape. Have fun!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 26, 2013
Sadly, the dress did not work.

I will not be able to wear the dress to my formal event because it is too big throughout the chest and waist, and the hem was too short-- up to my ankles even without shoes on.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
January 27, 2013
Beautiful, deep navy gown. Very comfortable and easy to wear.

The shoulder makes the gown! It runs very large so keep that in mind when ordering (I am usually a 12 in all designer gowns/dresses but the 10R was perfect in this one and the 12R way too large). Length was great for me (5'7") with low heels. If you're tall or like to wear heels over 2" I would suggest getting the extra length. It was a very comfortable, easy gown to wear. I received several compliments on the gown.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2013
Great gown for a formal affair - tons of compliments!

I loved this gown. It was the perfect dress to wear for the presidential inauguration. The material was great but I wish I had ordered a size smaller because it was way too big on me. I also could've used an extra inch or two on my heels because it was a bit long. Still, great dress and I highly recommend it for anyone going to a formal affair.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
February 15, 2013
Pretty dress, flattering fit

I ordered this dress as a back up for a formal event and didn't end up wearing it out. The color was a very deep blue, I liked the detail on the one shoulder, the lines of the dress were very flattering. The gown was a bit loose all over, especially in the waist and I had ordered one size down. I am 5'8 and ordered a 10R and the dress barely hit the floor with no shoes on so it does run on the short size as well. Overall it is a very pretty and flattering gown.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2013
This dress was amazing! It fit almost perfectly. The material was great for wearing in the winter.

I first ordered the size 6 for this dress in black and it was too big around the bust and the waist for me. I called customer service right away and they were super helpful. They overnighted me the size 4R and it fit much better. They only had the 4L in the black and it was still took long even with my 4 1/2-5 inch heels, so I went for the 4R in the blue. The dress is a lot darker than it appears on the website. It is navy blue, but comes out black in most pictures, unless the flash is really good. The dress is a total eye catcher! All night people were coming up to me asking where I got the dress from! Overall, I had a great experience and will totally rent from RTR again!! Maybe next time I will go for the red!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 11, 2013
Loved it

The size 6 was a little big in the waist but fit everywhere else. The length was perfect and I wore flats. The fabric is thick but it was not too hot or heavy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 1, 2013
Great canvas for fun accessories!

Wore this dress to a formal event. It was a last-minute addition to my order due to some misinformation about how formal the event would be. Overall fit was slightly large, especially through the waist. Paired it with a skinny beaded belt (to help define a high waist), dangle earrings, and a gorgeous Carlos Falchi clutch (also RTR).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 1, 2013
Beautiful dress, but not the best fit.

I usually wear a 6 and the 6L was a good length, but too loose in the waist. The look of the dress is to be shorter in the front then in the back. Be aware because I didn't realize that until I got it. I wasn't crazy about my shoes showing in the front and having a small train in the back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 15, 2013
Elegant and comfortable

Beautiful elegant dress. My only complaint is that the arm hole was a bit tight but it was tolerable with a few adjustments. I got a lot of compliments and was easy to move in when it came time for dancing!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 126lbs
September 12, 2013
Great dress, received lots of compliments!

Great dress, received lots of compliments!

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2013
I loved this dress. Got tons of complements!

Like many others, I ordered this as my back-up dress. The other dress I ordered was pretty too. This one just looked more elegant and I loved the solid navy color of it (much darker than the photo shown). My two complaints were that the zipper was kind of stretched out when I got it and I thought it was just a little big in the waist. But it worked as I sometimes have a hard time finding a dress that fits in the bust. The dress is lined so it is nice and warm for the fall/winter month events. I am 5'8 and I wore 3" heels and it was still a tad long in the back. But nearly perfect for my height. Overall this dress was great. I got tons of complements and I felt comfortable all night in the cool weather. I will definitely use RTR again in the future and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice rental.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 24, 2013
It's a good quality dress

I liked the dress, it was just too big for me. It was my backup dress anyway.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 3, 2013
The color of the dress and earrings I rented to match were perfect!

I rented a size 6 and size 4. I went right to the 4! I am normally a size 6 but after reading the helpful reviews I went a size lower. The fabric is extremely nice, heavy and flows perfectly. The heels I wore were about 3.5 inches, and that worked was perfect for the dress length.. it was almost to the floor ( I am 5'9). I would rent this exact same dress again. It is classic and beautiful and makes you feel just that!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2013
Simple, gorgeous and comfortable!

I normally shy away from strapless/one-shoulder dresses, but once I put this dress on, I couldn't say no. It runs quite large (even the 8R was a bit large on me in places), but overall, the fit was great. I received so many compliments throughout the night and the fabric was perfect for a chilly fall evening. I'm 5'2 and wore 3.5 inch heels, though wish I had gone with 4+ inches, as I had to keep picking up the dress so I wouldn't trip.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 8, 2013
Classic fit, classic look.

Runs big since the material does stretch some, but it's great quality. I received many compliments, it was comfortable, but too long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2013
really clean lines, pretty dress AND comfortable!!!!

followed reviewers advice and sized down for back up …wore the 6R instead of the 8R. Length was perfect with 3 inch heels…will rent this dress again

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 195lbs
November 20, 2013
Sooooo comfortable.

I chose this dress based on everyone saying it was great for the curvy girl. It. Was ok. The color is not as nice as the picture, it just looked black, which I love black, just not when I order what I thought to be a blue dress. The neckline and ruffle is gorgeous, and the fabric is lovely, super comfortable and luxurious, but the fit is just ehh. It did fit my large chest, but did not hang correctly from there. It didn't do anything for my waist. Not very flattering in the midsection. And I am only 5'6, and thank goodness I got a long, because, it just barely showed my shoes. Although it fits a large chest, you sacrifice fit everywhere else.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2014
Look very nice on. I received so many complements when I wore it. Very comfortable too!

Good for a black tie affair. Runs big.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2014
This dress was gorgeous and comfortable! A perfect combination for a formal event.

I ordered the dress in an 8 and a 10 because formal gowns tend to run small. The 8 was still too big in the top and way too long. I bought 3.5 inch heels and the dress drug the floor. I am broad across the shoulders and have a large chest, so I was very surprised to need a 6. I called RTR and they cold not have been more helpful about over-nighting me the dress in a smaller size. The 6 fit like a glove and I was able to wear my silver sandals with a kitten heel. Much more comfortable for a long night of dancing.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 16, 2014
Beautiful, elegant dress

I had rented this dress as my backup, so I didn't end up wearing it, but it was very elegant and flattering. However, I felt it ran a bit big and a size 4 would have fit better.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 9, 2014
A little loose

Overall the dress fit very well, except the zipper bunched up and stuck out. I ended up not wearing it, but if I had gotten the 8 I probably would've worn it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2014
Beautiful Classic Dress!

It was a very tough decision to not wear this dress as I ordered it as a back up style. I would never have thought that a semi-form fitting dress would look so good. It hugged in all the right places, but the fabric gave it a great structure. I did order one size smaller than I normally wear. Maybe next time!

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 10, 2014
What made my night unforgettable was when everyone who rented a dress from RTR did a photo together

The dress was darker than I thought but it actually matched perfectly with my husbands mess dress for his dining out!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
March 12, 2014
So comfortable

Fit a little bigger than I planned so it lost a little shape. It was really comfortable and really elegant though!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
March 31, 2014
Dress was ill-fitting and too short. Would not recommend.

I have had great luck on renting dresses from RTR before, but this was my first bad experience. The dress was tight on the best (I am average chested) and way to loose in the waste/hips/butt. It was so bad, i didn't end up wearing it. At 5'8 and with 3 inch heels the long was too short. I thought the dress was ill-fitting and I would not recommend it for rental. Shame, because I have had such great experiences with RTR before.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 11, 2014
Didn't wear this dress

I selected this as my backup dress but wound up wearing my original selection. This dress didn't do anything for my figure it just hung straight down.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
April 12, 2014
Lovely dress, but didn't fit like I would have liked it too.

It's a gorgeous dress. I usually wear a size 8 regular, but there were no dresses of my size for the date I needed it by so I rented the 6L and 10R. Both fit me but not in the way I would have liked it too. The dress is very forgiving meaning that it will hide things you want it to hide but for me it was too loose. I wanted something a little tighter. I would have wore it if I didn't have another dress. The other thing was that the back is longer than the front so you have to be careful with stepping on the back. It is darker than it looks in the picture but it's really elegant.

Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2014
Simple, but classy.

I ordered the 14 and 12L (I read from a few other reviews to go for the long if you're over 5"6) but they didn't have the 14L. Tried both on and the 12L was actually perfect! As much as I'd like to think I'm skinnier than I think, I'm pretty sure it just ran a bit large. It is a little bit of a high-low style (the front is shorter than the back) but not terribly noticeably, but you will definitely see your shoes, so keep that in mind. The style is really flattering. This was my first time using RTR and it was a great experience.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2014
Very comfortable, but short!

It worked just fine, but it was big in the waist, and just short enough that 4inch heels made it fall at a weird length.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
April 25, 2014
Wore this to a formal wedding and felt great in it!

I usually wear a size 6 sometimes a size 8 because of my hips, so I ordered a size a 6R and a 8R for back up. I wish I would have ordered a 6R and the 4R for backup. While the 6 fit well, I think the top was just a little loose. However, the elegance, weight of the fabric and cut of the silhouette more than made up for it! If you don't have a large chest I suggest sizing down or ordering the the smaller backup. Loved the dress and have already considered ordering it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 4, 2014
Classy

This dress is really nice - it is a bit of a heavy material, but it's pretty. My only 2 complaints: the dress runs really large; the 2 was actually too big, so I didn't end up wearing it. The zipper was also strange on the side, and it folded in a weird way, but that could be possibly due to the fact that the dress was too large. It's not as form fitting as I would have liked either, but again, the dress runs large. I usually wear a 2, sometimes a 4, and the 2 was still too big.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
May 20, 2014
Flattering and wonderful dress, runs large

I rented this dress for a black-tie wedding I attended in January. I am always nervous to order a size down but did based on the other reviews. I ended up wearing the smaller size and I probably could have even worn the next size down but the 6 fit pretty well. I would recommend this dress to anyone. It is a great material, thicker so it was nice for the winter when i wore a shawl for my shoulders but I would definitely wear this dress in the spring/summer as well. I would rent it again in a heartbeat!

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
May 28, 2014
A black tie gala for a wonderful cause.

The dress and color were beautiful. My only complaint was that I wished the waist was more fitted. There seemed to be a lot of extra fabric in that area and my waist isn't overly thin. Because of that, I didn't feel like the dress was very slimming. Also, the arm hole for the side with a strap was pretty tight in my arm pit, so I probably wouldn't have been able to fit in a smaller size. I was happy with the way I looked that night, but it's not a dress I would buy due to the fit. The whole experience with RTR was a very positive one and I will definitely be renting again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
June 9, 2014
Pretty color

Did not wear it, because it fit awkwardly. The zipper created a bulge. Very heavy fabric. I and 5'5 and ordered the R and it was too short for my taste. I could not have worn any size heels with it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 15, 2014
Compliments all night

This was my first RTR experience, and wore this to a black tie wedding. I was a little nervous, as my package didn't arrive until almost 7:00 on delivery day, but that was the only issue, and not RTR's fault. The 6L was too big, but the 4L fit almost perfectly. It tugged slightly to the side with the one-shoulder style, but I was the only one who noticed. There is no stretch to the fabric, but the fit is very flattering. Definitely more navy than it appears in pictures, it was nice to not wear the typical black. I wore 3" nude heels, and the length was perfect. I received compliments all night long- I was sad to return it. I would absolutely rent this dress again, and will be using RTR in the future!

Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2014
SO COMFORTABLE!!

I normally wear a 14, but the 16 was available. However, I made it work once I tried the dress on. It is super, super flattering for a full figured woman. It floated over those problem areas, but also flattered the shoulders and breast area. I received several compliments. The other reviewers are correct, this dress is very, very dark blue (almost black.) It is also roomy, so go down a size. I loved dress so much, though that I made it work with some double sided tape and pins. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress, not to mention how accommodating RTR was with making my experience wonderful. I will use this for all my formal events in the future.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 17, 2014
Elegant and Flattering Dress

I was a little last minute reserving my dress so I didn't get my first pick. However, this dress was phenomenal and I was so excited receiving the box with my dress and the extra size. The stomach area was a little big and that's why I sized down but that wasn't really a big concern. My biggest issue was with how small the shoulder opening was. I could feel myself getting red and agitated later into the night. This might be because my arms are fairly muscley so someone with daintier arms would be fine.

See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×