Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
321 reviews
Fit
Large136
True to Size155
Small9
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 10, 2014
Beautiful holiday ball with a elegant dress.
The 12 fit my bottom half perfectly. I was comfortable all night. It was a little big on my top half but not a big issue. Nice material and length was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
December 8, 2014
Glamorous!
I'm so glad I got this second size as the 16R was huge! The 14 was a little big, but not noticeably. I probably could have gone for a 12 and been comfortable. No hemming required with small heels on my 5'3" frame. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2014
Really beautiful dress!
This dress was absolutely beautiful, I received so many compliments on it. The fit was great and pretty true to size. It is a very comfortable dress as well. I am short, so (very) high heels were needed. The only negative I have about the dress is that, the fabric surrounding the zipper isn't very tailored. I could tell that it was probably a sample dress of some sort but, since the zipper runs down your side, your arm covers it and no one else can really notice. Other then that, I would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 3, 2014
Dress looked great!
I usually wear a size 8, but the 6L was actually still a bit large, but still looked fine.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
December 3, 2014
The Samuel Heyman Service to America Medals in Washington, DC. AkA "the Oscars of the Government."
I wore this for a formal event my organization puts on every year. I needed something that was classy, yet versatile as throughout the night I was mixing with the guests, ensuring they had what the needed, and also doing some light setup and tear down. I loved how this dress looked in the pictures, and the elegance of it, however it ran very large and long. I am a very full busted woman, and I had to pin up the dress around my bust. All through the night I felt like it was falling down (and I also had to hold it whenever I walked for fear of tripping on it - and i had about 1 1/2 inch heels). It was a gorgeous dress, and I received many compliments on it, but I wished it had fit a bit better. Alas there were no 10s when I ordered it. I would easily say to go a size down on this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
November 20, 2014
This dress was perfect. It was elegant and extremely comfortable.
I with I had ordered a 16L as the dress was surprisingly short in the front, other than that the dress was absolutely wonderful. It is very flattering in all the right places. I would highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
November 17, 2014
I loved this dress! Perfect for a military ball!
Overall, dress fit well. It is not very fitted through the hips, which I liked. It was very comfortable and the fabric was gorgeous. I wore the dress with 3 inch heels and it was the perfect length
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
November 14, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Nice structure to the dress! Felt beautiful in it. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 10, 2014
AMAZING
OMG - This dress is amazing! It was a little too big but still looked stunning. I am so happy with this! I got complements all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2014
Classy gown with a great shape and material!
Dress runs fairly true to size, although a bit big around the waist, but I was okay with that since it was a long evening of drinks and eating. The fabric is heavy so is better for a fall or winter event. Lots of compliments. The only aspect to note, is it's not overly long. I'm only 5'3" and with heels they still peeked out.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 3, 2014
I was concerned that dress wouldn't be a show-stopper but I was wrong! ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!
Stunning dress! I rented this for a gala and received numerous compliments throughout the night. I typically wear a 2P, but since this dress isn't made in Petites, I opted for a siztss. I'm 5'1, wore 5" heels, and the fabric still dragged about 8" on the ground. I had to pick up the dress every time I was walking because I would have tripped over the fabric. The color is definitely darker than the stock photo -- more of a navy blue, rather than the vibrant blue that's shown. Also, the ruffle on the shoulder isn't as fully shaped as it appears in the stock photo, so keep that in mind. Overall, I would rent this dress again and recommend it to others!
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2014
Really elegant and well-fitting dress. Flattering on curves!
Would recommend this for anyone curvy and short like me, it flowed so nicely and flattered!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 28, 2014
Felt like I was walking the runway
I rented this dress for a spring wedding. I lost count of the number of complements I received that evening. I ordered both the 4L and 6L and decided upon the 6L because it fit more comfortably around my arm (the arm hole is tight!) The dress was perfect length with 3 inch heels. The color was a pretty, dark navy (almost black). The fabric was thick, but not hot. Overall, an amazing dress that made me look and feel beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 28, 2014
The dress was HUGE!
I traditionally wear a size 0 but the dress was huge.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2014
This is the most flattering dress I've ever worn!
This dress it absolutely wonderful! The fit was perfect and the color was beautiful. It was an excellent choice for the occasion of a formal wedding and I felt very comfortable wearing this into the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2014
Look very nice on. I received so many complements when I wore it. Very comfortable too!
Good for a black tie affair. Runs big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 21, 2014
Classy dress and perfect for military balls!
I felt amazing in this dress and like the belle of the ball! It is a classy style which I really like, worked with my curves and wasn't restrictive. After a few hours the fabric by my underarm started rubbing a little but it was manageable, and I forgave it because it looked so great! I am 5'8" so I always get the L's; the length wasn't bad with 3" heels but would've been perfect and touched the ground with ballet slippers (both would've looked great). I'm usually between a 6 and 8 for most RTR dresses but the 6L definitely worked perfectly. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
October 19, 2014
Looked great!
I wore this for my husband's work black tie gala so I wanted something that looked professional but elegant. The dress was a touch too big at the waist, but for my pear shape, fit very well on the bust and hugged my hips. The first dress I rented didn't fit and RTR was great about sending me a second dress overnight. This was my first experience with RTR but I will be renting again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2014
Great dress, runs small
Overall, I was very happy with this rental. However, it came in a fairly small box and thus was wrinkled. I was at an out of town wedding but luckily a friend had a handheld steamer. The 2R fit well with 3" heels as the 4R was a bit large in the waist area. It was my first time doing RTR and would do it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 6, 2014
This dress is absolutely stunning!!
My sister and I ordered these for our parents' wedding, and I couldn't have been happier with the entire experience! We read up on the comments on this dress and everyone is right, it does run large. I ordered the 0R and the 2L, the 0R was the better fit but was more than a bit too short for my 5'8" height. The material was heavy enough that the 2L only looked obnoxiously baggy when I was sitting down, I threw on a REALLY padded strapless bra and that helped take up some of the extra room I had at the ribcage. People could not stop gushing over these gowns, I received compliments all night long! I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
October 5, 2014
I received tons of compliments on this dress
I found this dress very forgiving. I just had a baby and wasn't really too excited about attending an event, but this dress ended up being perfect. Very comfy and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2014
One word: STUNNING
I can't say enough about this dress! I wore this in a friend's wedding and I could literally hear gasps as I walked down the aisle. I'm normally a size 14 and I rented the 14 and 12 as backup. I could have worn either, but went with the 14 just for a little more comfort for the reception.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
September 16, 2014
This dress is just incredible! The fit is just amazing. Definitely get a size smaller.
It is long but I wore the size 8 and 3 inch heels and it just barely swept the floor. It is beautiful material and probably the most beautiful dress I've ever worn.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2014
Fit well and looked good on me.
The color is A LOT darker than in the picture, that was a huge disappointment because the color really mattered to me. It looks more black than anything and I was hoping for the blue in the picture!!
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
September 14, 2014
Received compliments all night
The dress was sent as a rush backup when my first choice was way too small. It was shipped and arrived with plenty of time before the event. It has a slight train and does run a bit short. I am 5'6" and even with flats, my shoes were still visible just slightly. The dress is very sophisticated and I received compliments all evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100lbs
September 7, 2014
Pretty Dress
I rented several options for a gala I had to attend, and this was a backup dress. I didn't end up wearing it. I am very petite, and the length actually worked great with 4-5" heels, but the dress itself was too loose. The bust area wasn't really fitted, or the body, and the zipper kind of jutted out from the side awkwardly. It just wasn't very flattering and I decided to wear a different dress. I wouldn't recommend the dress for someone who is petite, but it is a beautiful gown, and I loved the color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2014
Stunning dress.COMPLIMENTS! great color, great length, MUST RENT THIS DRESS
so glad i rented a LONG. I'm barely 5'8'' but glad I wore the long because I wore 3'' heels and needed the length of the dress. wasn't too long to wear with flats though, just a tad long. gorgeous dress. perfect fit, especially my concern with my larger chest. it's ideal! it's slimming and elegant without being over-the-top. I already recommend RTR. my first RTR experience and I'm so so grateful!!! GREAT FANTASTIC DRESS!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
September 1, 2014
It was easy and quick and I didn't have any problems. Loved the dress!
I have broad shoulders the 10 was a little tight in the bust area, however, the 12 was too big. I wore the 10 and it was great! Would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 30, 2014
Emmy Night Elegance
This dress was absolutely beautiful. The flow of the material and the small train were elegant and just what I was looking for. A few notes: * I agree with the other reviews that this dress runs large (I typically wear a 6 but ended up using the 4). * I highly recommend getting a belt to accentuate the waist. Before the belt I added, the dress gave me no shape, but the belt added the definition I needed. * As others have said, the color is more of a navy than a vibrant blue. I would absolutely recommend this gown to others. Classic elegance!
AmyOctober 3, 2014
Where did you find your belt? I love it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 17, 2014
Elegant and Flattering Dress
I was a little last minute reserving my dress so I didn't get my first pick. However, this dress was phenomenal and I was so excited receiving the box with my dress and the extra size. The stomach area was a little big and that's why I sized down but that wasn't really a big concern. My biggest issue was with how small the shoulder opening was. I could feel myself getting red and agitated later into the night. This might be because my arms are fairly muscley so someone with daintier arms would be fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2014
Great dress but it runs very large I ordered a 6 and I really needed a 4 if not a 2.
It was beautiful but it runs very large so I went with my 1st choice.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 7, 2014
Gorgeous, classy MOH dress - Absolutely perfect
This dress was absolutely perfect for my best friend's wedding in Chicago. It was perfectly feminine and classy. I was nervous that all of my less favorable aspects would show through, and this dress hid everything beautifully. It was roomier than I expected as well. Being shorter, I needed some higher than normal heels for this dress and then it was totally fine. Cannot say enough good things - I adore this dress and wish I could rationalize purchasing it permanently! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2014
Didn't end up wearing this one but it was a beautiful gown!
Overall fit was great but I'm 5'5 and the Regular was a bit too short. I would go with long next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2014
Rented this for a bridesmaid dress is august loved it!
fit is true to form, but you must order long if you are on the taller side.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 4, 2014
Everyone loved my dress. I was told by multiple people that I looked "stunning"!
I was surprised that a one piece dress fit my bust, waist and bottom at the same time. If it were mine, I may or may not have had tiny alterations in the waist but it wasn't an absolute necessity. Also, with heels, the length of the dress was spot on. At 5'4", that's also basically unheard of!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
July 25, 2014
non-profit awards dinner (black tie, high $) had to be elegant, comfortable but not frumpy
Fit very well - nice color dark blue but a nice change from black. flattering fit, nice drape and hangs well. Tons of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 15, 2014
meh!
I order this as a back up and thank God I didnt need it. It was unflattering and looks like a bridesmaid dress. It defently did not fit my body type. Since I am fuller in the mid section it was not forgiving!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2014
Stunning dress! So easy to wear, and glamorous!
Runs slightly large, I normally wear a 4R, and the 2R was a perfect fit. This dress is simple elegance, it is a statement all on it's own.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2014
SO COMFORTABLE!!
I normally wear a 14, but the 16 was available. However, I made it work once I tried the dress on. It is super, super flattering for a full figured woman. It floated over those problem areas, but also flattered the shoulders and breast area. I received several compliments. The other reviewers are correct, this dress is very, very dark blue (almost black.) It is also roomy, so go down a size. I loved dress so much, though that I made it work with some double sided tape and pins. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress, not to mention how accommodating RTR was with making my experience wonderful. I will use this for all my formal events in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
June 29, 2014
Loved the dress
The dress could have been a bit more right around my belly. But if I were to go down a size my chest wouldn't fit.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×