Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$60 – $80 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
583 reviews
Fit
Large
(181)
True to Size
(321)
Small
(8)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
October 13, 2011
Wore this to a black tie wedding and got a ton of compliments! The material is both formal and comfortable, and it fit well. Order the long version if you're around my height.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156lbs
October 24, 2011
Beautiful dress and great fit
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
November 30, 2011
I received so many compliments on my attire that I felt like a 'marketing rep' for RTR for the evening! I had such a wonderful experience with my first time renting, I can't wait to do it again!
I rented this gown for a black tie wedding and absolutely LOVED wearing it. I felt so fabulous and got a ton of compliments on my attire. I'd highly recommend this gown for a nice wedding or black tie event. Add the Gerard Yosca Emerald Eye Chandelier Earrings for some added bling! **One thing to note, I am 5'4 and the size 4 gown length worked fine for a small heel, however, if you are taller, I recommend getting a larger size as the length might be too short on you.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
December 26, 2011
Flattering dress
This is a lovely, elegant dress. Perfect for a formal event. It runs big though. I am 5'9" and usually wear a size 4. In this dress, I could have worn a 2 or 0 - but was afraid the length would not have been long enough. I wore 2.5" heels and the 4 was the perfect length.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 3, 2012
Too Short
So I am tall, just shy of 6 feet. I ordered a size 6 and 8 both of the dresses fit my body but neither of them were long enough. Would recommend a different designer if you are tall. I ended up wearing a Badgley Mischka dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2012
Fabulous dress!
The drape and fit of this dress is very flattering - it runs a tad large. I am a size 10R, but really could have used the 8 in this dress. The length was perfect (I am 5'5" and wore 3" heels). Love the dress and received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2012
Tall girls beware!
I rented this dress for the symphony. When I tried on the 4, it fit like a dream (I normally wear a 6), but it was about 3 inches off the ground - WAY too short! When I put on heels, my best friend laughed out loud. You could see my ankles. I'm just a hair under 5'10" and I ordered the long size, but we weren't even close on this one. I gave it 3 stars because it otherwise was stunning: elegant and understated, hung beautifully. If you are over 5"7" and plan to wear heels, you might want to consider another dress.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
February 2, 2012
Fantastic dress!
This was my first rental with RTR and I have nothing but good things to say about this company and my rental items. This dress fit me perfectly and I felt like a million bucks while wearing it. The fabric has a slight stretch, so it lays nicely on the body. Very flattering.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 6, 2012
Comfortable, classy, beautiful
I loved this dress and received a TON of compliments on it. It was so comfortable to wear, also - an added bonus. I thought I ordered a 4 and a 6, but apparently messed up because I received a 2R -- and it fit me perfectly, so I say this runs a bit large. I would never consider myself to be a size 2.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2012
Very cute but runs big
I wore this to a charity event that my husband and I had to go to. The dress is really pretty in person and is made very well. I own a few Carmen Marc Valvo dresses and for some reason this one ran a bit large. Maybe because it is a long dress or maybe it had something to do with the type of fabric. Next time I'll rent two different sizes just to be safe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
February 15, 2012
Loved this dress!
This dress was perfect for the black tie wedding we attended this weekend. I should have ordered a size smaller though because there was room in the chest and waist. The length was perfect for me with heels on. I noticed the bottom of the hem was kind of frayed which I wasn't happy about but since the dress was black and so long I am comfortable that nobody noticed. Overall it was the perfect dress for a conservative black tie winter wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2012
One of my friends at work told me to wear the dress to work EVERY day because she loved it so much!
Simple but elegant! I wore this to a black-tie gala that I hosted for a charity fundraiser. It was a little big in the waist but still looked great! I loved it. I'm renting another fun dress for a formal party on Oscar night. LOVE RTR! So easy to wear and return!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
February 16, 2012
Wonderful Dress!
I was worried about the length, but it was the perfect length even in heels. The material feels great and is fairly light.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2012
So many complements!
LOVED this dress. Wore it to a military ball and it was perfect. So many complements and I felt so beautiful in it. I am 5'9 and the long was just the right length. (I wouldn't get the long if you are any shorter than me). Definitely would recommend it.
CaitlinApril 13, 2012
Thanks for the great review! Did you wear tall heels with this dress? I'm just trying to figure out what length to get, since I'm 5'8. Thanks!
RTRMay 9, 2012
Hi Caitlin, you will want to order the Long length with up to a 3" heel!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215lbs
February 27, 2012
So pleased!
This was my first RTR experience. I was very nervous because it seemed that most of the comments on this site were from people who are size 0-6! I had a baby at two months ago also, so I just didn't know what to expect. I ordered the size 12 and it fit great. I felt beautiful and glamorous! :) This dress was a great fit for my body. I'm not stick thin. It covered my post baby belly well. I would highly recommend!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
February 29, 2012
I loved it!
This dress is so flattering and I got so many compliments. I wore it with large turqouise earrings for a pop of color. My only complaint is that it fit generously all over except in the arm hole, that was slightly snug.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
March 1, 2012
Great, elegant black dress
This dress is very pretty and I received many compliments on it. The material is very nice- and pretty thick, not thin and jersey like. It does run a little big and I do wish it had been a little more fitted through the waist area. Great for shorter people as well- I am 5'4 and wore 2 inch heels and it was perfect. I am in between a 2 and 4- and I might have been able to wear the sz0
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
March 7, 2012
Beautiful Dress but Runs Large
I loved this dress but couldn't wear it because I ordered the size I thought I would be and a size up. Oops. I would wear it in a heartbeat if I had the right size.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2012
Went to a very fun event and felt completely confident in my RTR choice!
I wore this dress to the White House Correspondents' Dinner and felt very glamorous among all the celebrities and media present. The dress runs true to size, is made of a nice, substantial material and the long size was great because even with my height I was able to wear heels. I would highly recommend this dress. In the photo, my daughter is also wearing a RTR dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
May 4, 2012
Fabulous dress
This is a gorgeous dress. It fit great and was very flattering. I think it would be beautiful on a number of body types. It is very forgiving. The fabric is gorgeous. I'm a 10/12 and ordered the dress in both sizes. I'm 5'6'' and after reading the reviews ordered the long. It was the perfect length with three inch heals.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
May 5, 2012
Perfect
When the backup dress I ordered wasn't available in my size, the RTR stylist called me. I asked him to use his judgement in sending a replacement. He sent this and it was the one. I did have to get them to send me the smaller size, which they did the next day in time for my event.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2012
Fabulous!!
This gown is gorgeous! It looked great on and was so comfortable! I received numerous compliments and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 19, 2012
True to Size! Loved it!
I loved this dress! It was comfortable and looked great in pictures. I definitely recommend this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 24, 2012
A real standout
I wore this dress to a black tie, evening wedding at a private club in NYC. It was stunning, classy, and just the right amount of sexy. (I'm married with a young child, so wanted to look age appropriate but still hot enough to impress my husband's college friends.) Women were stopping me all night to tell me how much they loved my dress. It really did the trick! My only negative comment about this dress is that it is really big in the middle. First of all, there is no way I am a size 4. I am in decent shape but still have a bit of a mommy pouch, and it was still big on me. It definitely can hide imperfections, but I found myself actually wishing it was tighter in the waist. This never, ever happens to me. I actually ended up wearing shapewear not because I needed to smooth out my belly, but to add some definition to my curves because the dress just wasn't doing it. However, there was room to eat, and sit, and not feel gross! Also the zipper on the dress I was sent had been carelessly re-sewn into the inner lining, causing a pretty obvious twisted bump on an otherwise impeccably smooth silhouette. While I found it really annoying, and almost didn't wear the dress because of it, my husband assured me no one would notice. He was probably right, but I carried my clutch over that spot just to be safe. All in all, though, a really gorgeous dress. I almost hope I have an occasion to rent it again sometime.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 12, 2012
amazing RTR customer service getting this dress replaced with hours to spare!
Originally I rented the navy version of this dress, but it arrived damaged and RTR was able to replace it overnight with the black version. For some strange reason, the black run significantly shorter than the navy. Not awful, but something to think about if you're debating between the two. Otherwise, I loved this dress and found it to run a bit large (I normally wear a 2 but had to wear the 0) Got tons of compliments and loved having a black dress that still stood out from the crowd.
StephApril 23, 2013
Hi Hilary, I am considering either the black or navy version of this dress. I am blond. What was your preference? Thank you, Stephanie
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2012
Just Gorgeous!!
I wore this dress to a formal Christmas party for my work. When it arrived I had to immediately try it on. It fit like a glove! I received so many compliments on it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 16, 2012
Long Black Dress
The dress fit perfectly except I was told to get a 10L. I am 5 ft 6 in and the dress was too long for me. Besides that, it was perfect.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
August 24, 2012
Prom 2012.
Such an awesome dress! It's true to its size and absolutely wonderful. Can't complain one bit about it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 27, 2012
Best bridesmaid dress
I wore this as a bridesmaid in my friend's wedding and it was a hit! Very comfortable - runs somwhat large as the top was a bit loose. Very elegant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 1, 2012
Hollywood beautiful
I loved this dress!! I felt beautiful all night. Wore this for an after-five party that I had for my husband's appointment as judge. I wanted to look elegant and this dress was it !! Hated to send it back!! Definitely need spanx if you are curvy in hips and tummy area. Length was perfect with 3 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 20, 2012
LOVED THIS GOWN! WORE IT IN MY SISTERS WEDDING!
Love this gown. My sister told me to wear a long black gown as her matron of honor and I went straight to rent the runway! This is simple and classy. This is the 4th time I have rented this gown, I have rented the navy, the red and the black twice. I need to buy it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 9, 2012
Gorgeous and Sophisticated!
I rented this gown for a black tie wedding and received lots of compliments. I had a baby just a few weeks prior, and this dress was not too form fitting, but still very flattering. I ordered both a 2L and 4L- the 4L was very short, and the 2L was just right...not quite sure what that was about, but just a warning to fellow renters... Overall though, the dress was perfect and I can't wait to use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 9, 2012
Great gown
I loved wearing this gown. It feels and falls like a high end gown should. This was such an easy wear and the one shoulder ruffle added just enough flair to this simple, elegant black gown. I wore very simple vintage earring and carried a fully beaded vintage bag that popped against, but didn't compete with the gown.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 19, 2012
loved this dress! it was a great fit and very flattering!
having had a baby a few months prior, i needed a dress that would flatter my changing shape! i received so many compliments on this dress and was so pleased with RTR's service!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Feeling regal and like a salsa dancer with the ruffles!
This was super comfortable. The one shoulder was not constricting at all, and I received tons of compliments. The ruffles were the perfect amount of mature, and not too girly. Also, the ruffle extended down around my underarm - which was a flattering feature. The skirt was surprisingly flowy - yet contained - so it was SO fun to dance in!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2012
The dress was amazing and easy to wear - completely comfortable!
Fit was true to size - perhaps a bit generous - definitely great for a curvy figure. AMAZING!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
This dress is unforgettable. My husband's jaw actually dropped.
Fit perfectly. Not too clingy, but curves in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
September 27, 2012
Stunning!
I wore this gown to an opera gala and received many compliments. It's a lovely dress, very well made and comfortable. I'd rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
October 1, 2012
Gorgeous elegant dress!
Everyone loved the dress and wanted to know where I got it from. Perfect for an evening formal wedding.
TaraOctober 17, 2012
Hello. I'm looking at getting this dress. But nervous as its my first time renting on the website. I'm 128, 5'5" as well..wear a 2 typically. Sounds very similar :) was the dress fitting for you? Form fitting? Length was ok?mid say my body type is more athletic (as in I don't like strapless on me at all...) any suggestions would be VERY appreciated. tarahuinker@gmail.com
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I rented this dress for a high-society wedding. While browsing for options I was hesitant at first because I thought it was maybe a little too plain, but it was just perfect – the fabric is heavenly, flows beautifully (the tourists at St Patrick’s Cathedral were thrilled), and the ruffle detail is stunning. Super comfortable, which you wouldn’t necessarily expect. For a little sparkle I accessorized with Jimmy Choo navy glitter heels and mini-tube clutch - I was complimented all night long. The dress is chic without being overkill – you cannot go wrong with it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×