Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$80 – $95 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
606 reviews
Fit
Large
(184)
True to Size
(331)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 29, 2015
The way the dress fit and looked!
Was a great dress!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable
It was really fun and easy to wear. I'm 5'3" and wore 3" heels and the 4R worked perfectly. I also got the 6R but didn't even need to try it on. The middle has a lot of room which was good for me. Loved it so much!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 2, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress. I received so many compliments. Made me feel like a million bucks
The dress was heavier than I expected but so well worth it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 13, 2015
Classy and slimming!
This dress was classy and slimming - 11 days after giving birth, I was shocked how much I loved it! I paired it with a pretty gold belt, pulled my hair back, and wore gold and green chandelier earrings.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 25, 2015
This dress was fit perfectly-- it was simple and stunning!
The crepe makes it hang and you didn't have to suck in your tummy! Perfect and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2015
I must have looked good, because he proposed!
Even though the 4 was loose through the waist (so loose that the zipper bunched when I sat down), it was a better fit in the bust than the backup size 2, which was perfect through the waist and hips but way too snug up top. I was incredibly happy and comfortable in the 4. I chose a small heel, about 2 inches, and the length was perfect. It is a stunning dress and I felt very glamorous.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 7, 2015
Great dress for a wedding!
The dress was stunning and fits pretty true to size. I'm typically a 6 but didn't want the dress to be skin tight so I went up a size to the 8. It was perfect. A few tips: If you're a tall girl like me, you'll definitely want the long vs. regular. The regular just grazed the floor so I ended up wearing dressy flats for the event, but I would have felt more comfortable with the long in heels. I also wore spanx under the dress so I didn't have to suck in all night (especially after dinner) which was a great call.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2015
This dress was perfect for the occasion! I received so many compliments! It was very comfortable!
The dress runs small. I absolutely loved the dress. It was very comfortable to wear and did not fit too tight although it appears to be a tight fitting dress. My only con would be the under layer seemed to be crooked. I'm not sure if that's because they try to replace it?
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 16, 2015
Classic black dress. Fit great. Paired with emerald statement earring.
fit great. elongated my petite frame.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
November 21, 2015
Beautiful but big
Rented this as my backup but it was too large. I would say size down if you get this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2015
Simple but Elegant
I would have worn this if the hook and eye were not missing! The fabric flows beautifully, and fits true to size. I would have worn the 4L, to be able to wear heels with it. I will probably rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2016
Beautiful dress for smaller chests.
The cons of the dress are the armpit holes. They gapped open too much for me. It might work better for a smaller bust.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 128lbs
January 21, 2016
Black tie charity event
I got lots of compliments on this dress it is so flattering! However, as many of the other reviewers said it is a bit short. I wore probably 3 1/2" heels but I probably should've worn lower ones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 21, 2016
Classy look!
I rented this for a winter black tie wedding. The 4L would have been a better fit, but the zipper was broken. I wore the 6L and I don't think anyone could tell it ran large. I called RTR and I couldn't get another dress in time, but their customer service was amazing as always!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2016
Elegant bridesmaids dress
This dress ran quite large. I typically wear a size 6 or even an 8 and in this dress the size four was a little large. It is meant to be somewhat loose as the fabric is thick and without much give. I would have liked to wear the size 2 actually but unfortunately the one I received was quite a few inches shorter than the size 4. It worked out for the occasion but I probably wouldn't rent this dress again.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 27, 2016
This is a great dress. Comfortable and does not cling to the mid section.
I am 5 feet, 115 lbs and the 2P fit very nicely. It was about an inch too long, but overall the length was fine - I am on the short side. It was comfortable to move in and very flattering. The 4 was a little too big for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 15, 2016
Dress ran large. I liked the one shoulder ruffle. Did not fit so it was not worn.
I thought the dress would be more form fitting but it was not. The seams down the side were crooked which took away from the fit and comfort. Overall, it gave me no shape and ran big so I was not able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2016
Excellent quality, I felt like a million bucks!
Perfect fit, perfect length. I am petite and got a 6P and 8P, and the 6P fit amazing.
Size worn:
18WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
April 16, 2016
I wore the dress to chaperone high school prom.
The dress fits true to size. No issues with the zipper. I wore the long and a 2 inch heel and it was perfect. The dress is comfortable. I was able to enjoy the evening without worrying about the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 4, 2016
I received lots of compliments!
I am 5'5" and typically wear a size 2. The 2 that I received was significantly shorter and the side zipper would not lay flat. I ordered regular length in both sizes so I'm not sure why there was such a difference in the lengths. The 4 was slightly big around my bust and waist but not too big that I couldn't wear it. I wish the 2 had not had those issues because it definitely was a better fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2016
Beautiful & Elegant
This dress is beautiful and elegant. I wore it as the maid of honor in my sister's wedding. It does run a little big, so I could have probably fit into the 2R (wore 4R), but just had a baby and wanted room to dance. I had many compliments and felt fancy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 8, 2016
This dress is simple and elegant. Showstopper. Love it, and it made me look taller.
Pro: Silhouette it creates, quality of fabric, and it stands out. Very classy. If you need a great black dress, then this is it. Cons: Side zip, It suprisingly was roomy in the stomach area. I ordered this dress before in red andgot a 4R, and it was too long, but it was snug. The 4P was too big in the mid area, so I wore a waiste trainer and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 8, 2016
Gorgeous dress and perfect fit!!!
I wore this for a black tie gala and received so many compliments. I'm 5'10 and wore heels and the 12 long was absolutely perfect. This was my first RTR experience and I was very hesitant about this dress because of pear shape and height.... I was pleasantly surprised. The material is also heavy enough that it hides trouble areas well. You won't be disappointed with this dress. I can't wait to get rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
May 13, 2016
Perfect dress!
I wore this to a company gala and loved everything about it. The ease of ordering and service was phenomenal. I will be using RTR again and again.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
May 16, 2016
I was running for woman of the year for LLS and raised 20k for cancer research! so any compliments!
It was the perfect fit. The only thing was the hanger tags popped out a lot. Other than that it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 22, 2016
You can always count on your dress to arrive on time.
This dress runs large in the middle.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2016
Pretty dress, nice fit, too short!
I actually was not able to wear this dress as it was too short. I'm 5'9" and was very surprised that the 6L was too short. Other than the length it was a pretty nice fit and fabric.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220lbs
May 31, 2016
Black tie military ball, celebrating son's graduation from the US Naval Academy. Unforgettable.
You can't go wrong with this gown. I am very curvy and it wasn't too tight nor gappy. I'm 5'2 and wear 38ddd. Fit perfectly. The fabric is beautiful and breathed well in an over crowded hot space. Almost touched the floor, was perfect length for me. I felt wonderful in it and would rent it again in a snap.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 4, 2016
Elegant!
6L for well but there was room at the waist. Loved this dress - so elegant and sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 6, 2016
Great one shoulder dress
Fits great.
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 7, 2016
Elegant and comfortable to wear
The dress was very comfortable to wear, it fits right to your body which is perfect and gives a very nice silhouette! The picture does no justice, it is really beautiful.
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
June 7, 2016
Beautiful event - lovely dress!
I'm 6'1 so length is a huge challenge for me! This dress is flexible for tall women as the length still works at the ankle. Very comfortable, simply and elegant dress. Thank Goodness!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 9, 2016
The dress was perfect for the gala evening.
The 10L was a perfect fit with my 5 inch heels. The only negative was the wrinkles and fortunately they didn't show from a distance.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 12, 2016
Simple and elegant
This was my back-up dress and I liked it more than my first choice. I would recommend a strapless bra and spanx for a smooth look. I'm 5'7" and the 4L was almost too short with 4 inch heels. If you're not sure go with a longer length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
June 13, 2016
Simple and classic dress
I wore this dress for a fall gala and received several compliments. Ironically, the host was wearing the same dress from here but in red so we looked liked twins and rocked the dresses! It's a very classic dress and fit true to size. I wore some statement earrings with it and it didn't need any more accessories than that. I'm 5'3" and the regular length was perfect with 4 inch heels; the petite would've been too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
June 20, 2016
A classic, elegant and crazy-comfortable dress made my evening a spectacular success!
This was actually a replacement dress for a Marchesa that was unable to ship. I attended a 1920's-themed black tie gala for our city's orchestra, and needed something that would look good in motion and still be comfortable enough to sit through a dinner and lengthy symphony performance. This dress knocked it out of the park - elegant and conservative enough for an older crowd, but the dramatic ruffle detail added interest. I could probably have sized down - while the dress stayed up and in place with the addition of a small amount of fashion tape, it was a bit roomy throughout the body and the zipper accordingly crinkled a bit - I think it may have been stretched out over time. Also might have benefited from the long - my dress grazed the floor in back and skimmed the top of my toes in the front. Thank goodness the shoes were cute :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
June 20, 2016
Loved the dress for a black tie charity event
I loved this dress. So much I wanted to buy it. Fit me like a glove. Didn't need to make any alterations. I am tall and the dress came in tall and was perfect for my 5'10" height. It was elegant and I received a ton of compliments. I am busty but this helped tone it down a bit
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 200lbs
June 20, 2016
Feeling elegant
The fit was true to size but felt very comfortable. Although the bust was a little loose, so I had to pin it. Overall I felt elegant.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 205lbs
June 26, 2016
Life Saver!
This was my 3rd dress after one didn't fit, another the zipper broke then this gem. A little big but comfy! I felt beautiful in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
June 30, 2016
Dress was perfect, comfortable and not tight around the mid section!
Perfect length for 5'9 and a little heel, not too tight around mid section, comfortable and easy to move in! Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×