Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$60 – $80 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
643 reviews
Fit
Large
(186)
True to Size
(345)
Small
(9)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 2, 2014
Perfect for a black tie affair

I wore this for a black tie wedding. I received numerous compliments! I just had a baby 8 weeks ago and was nervous about the sizes. Before baby I wore an 8 so I ordered the 10 and 12 to be safe. Much to my surprise the 10 was still a little big on me, but worked well for the evening as I felt comfortable and didn't have to suck it in all night! :) I would have been interested in seeing how the 8 fit! But overall such a great experience, would absolutely use RTR again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
December 18, 2014
The dress was beautiful! Very formal, fit perfectly!

The dress was perfection! I was able to wear a strapless bra with an extra side shoulder support which was great! Always have a hard time finding dresses that work with my full bust size! Length was perfect with a mid-sized heel (2-1/2 to 3") any higher heel I would have needed the tall version. Very classic silhouette and feel very formal, definitely a black tie type of dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 30, 2014
Dress is fabulous - tons of compliments. Fit well too!

Pros of fit is that it's true to size and is really elegant! Cons of fit is that It kind of cramped my larger breasts (they're always soooo annoying). I am an size 8 and a size 10 (10 up top always) and 8 everywhere else...this dress squished them a little and was a little loose fitting elsewhere, but overall the 10 was good! Perfect length as well (10R).

Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 10, 2015
Very elegant and made me look great!!

Perfect fit!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 3, 2015
Beautiful dress. Comfortable fit

I borrowed both the 6 and 8. The 8 was too large throughout the body. But comfortable for the bust. The size 6 dress fit better throughout. I usually wear a size 8 dress because of my bust size. I could fit comfortably into the 6. It did smush my breasts a little but for overall comfort I went with the 6. The ruffle in the shoulder I did notice flipped up a few times in pictures which looked funny at times.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2015
Classy

Lovely dress that ran true to size and was comfortable all night. I was a little hesitant to order the long size at 5'7", but the length was absolutely perfect with my 3" heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2015
#1 Stunner!

Perfect dress, my husband loved it. I'm a pear and the 4 long was a great fit. High quality. Would definitely recommend! The photo doesn't do the dress justice.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2015
Perfect Customer Service!

This was actually a back up dress.... But worked great as a bridesmaids dress. I received lots of compliments. The length was perfect with wedges (I was on my feet all day and night and wanted something comfy). You couldn't see them at all. The waist/tummy area was a little loose but that's my only negative. Beautiful dress! I rented another dress that was too short when it arrived. I called RTR, and they helped me pick out this dress and overnight end them to me! This dress worked! I will definitely recommend RTR and can't wait to rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
March 15, 2015
Easy black tie gown

This is a very elegant and classy gown that fit right in at the black tie event I attended. I wore the 12L with two or three inch heels and had to pick up the hem while walking. Not a huge problem, and the dress was otherwise very comfortable. Based on the reviews and comments from others, I went a size down for my back-up. Normally, this is probably good advice unless you have broad shoulders. I wore my normal size of 12L because the 10L was tight across the shoulder, and its zipper would not lay flat, causing a weird wrinkle effect on my side. So I wore the 12L, though it hid my shape/curves more than the smaller size.

Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 3, 2015
Great!

Very happy I ordered the tall! Would have been too short otherwise with 3" shoes.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
April 21, 2015
Very comfortable dress! Loved the one shoulder detail. I received so many compliments all night!

I rented both the 2R and the 4R not sure which one would fit better. The 2R fit perfectly! The length was right on top of my feet so it was perfect with 3" heels. Definitely a form fitting dress, but the fabric is heavy enough so the dress doesn't cling to your body. Very comfortable dress! I would definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
April 22, 2015
This was my first rental experience and this dress couldn't have been more perfect!

I was initially skeptical of renting a dress but I am so glad I did. You just can't beat it. This dress is so much more stunning in person and looks very classy for any occasion. I wore it to a military function and got lots of compliments all night. My only complaint was the size zipper didn't want to lay flat, but I was able to mostly disguise it with a little ironing. I am usually between an 8-10 in dress sizes and I rented an 8 and a 6, since the size chart suggested to order a size down. The 8 fit like a glove and was very flattering! I definitely would recommend this dress and RTR.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 24, 2015
I wore this to a black tie optional affair and received tons of compliments

The dress ran large. I maybe could have worn a 6L and trust me I'm not a size 6. I think if you are 5'7 or above and plan on wearing any sort of heel you need to opt for the long. This was a nice option for a conservative formal affair.

Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 1, 2015
I felt like a million bucks in this dress!! Hated having to take it off to send back.

This is the perfect material - heavy enough that it hangs well and skims your curves where needed. I ordered the regular length rather than the long because I usually do not wear super high heels, but it was almost too short. Thankfully, I had some kitten heels that worked well. I loved the fanned-out flounce of the skirt at the bottom. It is an amazing dress that I'll come back to if I have the opportunity again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
May 8, 2015
Classic dress, beautiful fabric!

I ordered this for a black tie charity gala and this dress was perfect! The heavy crepe hung perfectly and skimmed my body. I probably needed the OL since the 2L was loose on my waist and hips, but it wasn't available. I felt comfortable, perfectly dressed and classy all night. This was my first RTR and I'll definitely be back!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
June 3, 2015
This dress fit like a glove! Beautiful! I am 5'8"and wear a size 6. The 6L was perfect!

I would definitely recommend a long in this dress if you're 5'6" or taller and planning to wear heels. Gorgeous dress. And comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
June 22, 2015
Simple and elegant

This dress was so much fun to wear to a scholarship ball. It's simple but so classic and elegant!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2015
Perfect for a black tie!

I rented this dress for a black tie gala and it was perfect. I rented the 0 Regular and the 0 Long and I'm glad I got the long because the regular was way too short (I'm 5'7"). It does have a slight hi lo going on, so the front shows your shoes a little bit and the back is longer. Overall, great dress! Sad to send it back.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2015
I orders the 6 and 4 and the 4 fit perfect. Always great when the smaller size fits.

It was fabulous. Great quality, great fit and great price. Thank you RTR

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
September 14, 2015
This dress was super comfortable and very flattering.

I'm 5'6, 140 lbs. and usually wear a 4 or a 6. I wore the 4R with 1.5 inch heels and the length was good on the regular.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 20, 2015
This dress made me feel glamorous and beautiful'

I received a ton of compliments on this dress! It was comfortable all night long. It does hug your curves, so if you're a little self conscious, wear Spanx or other body smoothing undergarments. The only negative was that the zipper didn't lay flat against me, but no one seemed to notice.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 17, 2015
Stunning and comfortable.

This dress runs large, I'd suggest sizing down for your backup dress. I ordered a size 16 and a size 14. While the 14 fit perfectly, the length of the dress was quite short. The size 16 had a couple extra inches in length so I ended up wearing the larger one despite it being too roomy in the bust. The zipper on the dress was a little warped and kept puckering; it wouldn't lay flat for anything. But overall the dress was gorgeous.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 2, 2015
Very elegant dress.

Even though I ordered a long, it was still short and I had to wear flats. I'm 5'8". Loved the dress but was disappointed in how short it was.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 11, 2015
Perfect fit- great quality!

I wore this to a charity Gala dinner event and the dress was perfect! The dress is well made and fits well. It is important to note that the front hem is shorter than the back. The 0l fit slightly better in the bust and waist, but length too short in front. I am normally a size 2 dress size. I am 5'8" and 125 lbs. classic style.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2015
Almost loved it.

The 2L really fit better, but it was SO short. You could see my bare feet in it, and I'm only 5'4"! I ended up going for the 4L because it covered my shoes (4 inch heels) and then some. I don't think the 2L was really a long! Unfortunately the 4L zipper laid awkwardly on the side, giving me lumps and bumps I don't have! But I opted for that over a high-water dress. All in all its a nice dress. I got lots of compliments. It was very comfortable to be in for 6+ hours.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
December 27, 2015
Fabulous dress and felt so pretty!

Wore to a formal winter wedding. Would've like it a little longer since I was wearing heels, but it looked great and made it better to walk in.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 28, 2015
This dress was so forgiving and elegant!

I ordered this dress to wear as a bridesmaid for my best friends wedding. We were only supposed to wear a long, simple black dress and this was perfect! The fit is a little loose around the tummy so it was very, very forgiving. I usually wear a 12 petite, but ordered a 10 petite after reading the reviews and I am so happy I did! I didn't even try on the 12 because the 10 fit so well. The material was very nice and thick but i was comfortable even though it was an outdoor wedding in Florida. I would definitely recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 30, 2015
Elegant black number

Wore this to a debutante ball. It is a very classic black dress. The one shoulder ruffle is a nice touch but if you have long hair and wear it down it detracts from this detail. Considered a side pony but thought that it looked like I was overcompensating for the one shoulder. I am 5'6" and for sure needed the long size so I could wear heels.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 50
February 25, 2016
Great dress!!

I wore this dress for a Heart Ball. Thought it was true to size and very comfortable. Lots of compliments all night long! I'm 5'3 and 165 pound pear shape so I was a bit concerned about the fit but it looked great and I would recommend it!

Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 27, 2016
Received many compliments on this dress. RTR was such a great experience for me.

I thought this dress was effortless. I never had to worry about readjusting, dancing, or sitting. It was comfortable and easily elegant. I normally wear a size 4 and the 4R was on the long side, but with heels, I thought it helped elongate my build. The 6P also fit well but was looser in the midsection and shorter in front. This dress is good for women that have a waist smaller than their hips. With the 4R, I wore Spanx to smooth things out and a strapless bra.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 30
March 22, 2016
Great dress for Black Tie Engagement Party!

The 10L worked best and was even slightly big. I'm 5'5' and glad I got the long, it worked perfect with heels. Definitely eventuates the hips so made for a good hour glass shape! I'd rent again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
December 10, 2015
Beautiful gown! Heavy and lined fabric; easy to order and return... Will rent this one again!

Received compliments all night! Very elegant!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 22, 2016
This dress is beautiful!

I thought this dress was extremely flattering. Having a curvy figure makes it difficult to find dresses. I thought the dress fit well it was still a little baggy for my taste through the waist even in the size 2 and I'm normally a size 4. I'm sure no one noticed but me. I wore a pretty high heel so the L fit even though I'm only 5ft 2. Overall an extremely positive experience that I would use again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2015
I wore this dress to a black tie political event.

I loved this dress! It was classy and elegant. It did run a bit large in the waist but I couldn't size down because of my chest. (34 DD) Overall it was a great fit. I wore a 6L and with 3 inch heels my shoes showed slightly but it didn't bother me. Will definitely use RTR again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
April 15, 2015
Arrived on time and fit great!

The 14 and 16 ran close in size but the 14 was VERY short. I'm 5'4 and it was too short. The fit was great, forgiving material and very comfortable. I would highly recommend it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 3, 2015
I wanted to keep this dress!

Absolutely stunning dress, wish I could've worn the 10L because I'm tall and I ended up wearing flats with it (the 10L wasn't available for my event day). Pretty true to size, but it's hard for me to say because I wear between a 6 and a 12 depending upon brand honestly. a great dress to be low key but still beautiful! Looked perfect next to my soldier! :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2015
Gorgeous

The dress fit perfect. It hung well due to the great material, and was fitted enough but not too much . The regular length was great with 2 inch heels- and the bust area was roomy enough(34DDD).

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 9, 2016
Stunning gown that is sure to turn heads!

This dress was absolutely perfect. I wore it for a bridesmaid dress for my sisters wedding. It runs a little short so it would be best worn with flats. I am normally a size 2, but this dress ran a little big!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 20, 2016
Great first experience with RTR. Easy to reserve two sizes of this gown and it arrived on time.

The dress fit well throughout. It did not cling or feel to tight in any area. I typically wear a 4 but the 2 was definitely a better fit in the waist and bust for me. I wore 1-inch heels and the dress did not drag. A higher heel would have been too high since it would have exposed my shoes.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 31
March 17, 2016
I love this dress. I received so many complements and it was super comfortable.

I had to size down to the 2r. It was a littler shorter, so if your taller than 5'6" I would get the long.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×