Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$50 – $80 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
615 reviews
Fit
Large
(184)
True to Size
(336)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 8, 2017
My back-up dress i purchased was amazing!
I actually didn't even wear this dress for the event. The dress was way too short! The size 2 fit better than the size 4. I am 5'6" and 127 lbs. I have never worn a long length before.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
November 30, 2017
Dazzle in this elegant black gown!
This was my backup dress but ended up being gorgeous!!! I got TONS of compliments! I run between a 8-12 in gowns and this 10 was just a little big in the top but fit well in the hips. The one shoulder side did cinch into my armpit from underneath a little but not enough to size up. I tried the 8 in store and it was small enough to size up. I was worried it would be too plain and simple but the one shoulder detail and my sparkly accessories helped dress it up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 22, 2017
Classic and classy
The dress is beautiful with just enough flare to turn heads. The fit was a little off, that's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. It's tighter in the mid section than the top and the length is long. I chose my size and a size up and wish I had selected a size down as my back up. The size up was too long and floppy to even consider. The one true to my size was good for the midsection and length was fine but the top was loose and it does stretch as you wear it so by the end of the night it was really loose all over. Also, there is a strange bunching by the zipper. I can't describe it well but it doesn't sit flat on your body on the zipper side. Luckily it's black so not very noticeable to anyone but you but I was self conscious all night. I rented jewelry to match and wore my hair up to show off the top. I got a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
November 14, 2017
Perfect for a Black tie wedding
Minus my face in this photo, the dress was stunning! Very comfortable and a perfect length with my 2.5 inch heels. (I'm 5'6). The only thing slightly uncomfortable was that it was a little tight in the shoulder because I️ am a little broader shouldered. Definitely is flattering on an athletic body build with little curves
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2017
Loved the dress!
Wore this dress to an Air Force banquet. Really simple but elegant and perfect for formal events! After reading several reviews saying the dress runs large I ordered both a size 2R and 4R (I am typically a size 4). I ended up going with the 2R as it was a little more form fitting but I think the 4R would have worked as well! As for length many people said the dress ran very short and it was recommended that 5'6+ order the dress in a Long. Unfortunately the Long was unavailable in both the sizes I needed so I had to go with the Regular but the length was perfect! I wore the dress with 2.5-3inch heels and the back part of the dress just hit the floor and in the front it was a little off the floor which I didn't mind at all. I feel like if I had ordered the Long it may have been a little too long. Overall dress fit great, great, thick material, and will make you look and feel amazing! The one shoulder part of the dress did get a little tight throughout the night while I was sitting but nothing too unbearable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 12, 2017
Gorgeous dress - I could dance all night!!
I wore this with 1" wedges and the length was perfect (I'm 5'5") and I was able to dance all night in comfort without tripping. I added a thin red belt and accessorized it with a red pashmina, statement gold & black earrings, a gold cuff from RTR and a black and gold clutch. Got compliments ALL night. The dress was beautiful and draped gorgeously...
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2017
First time to RTR, and I'd do it again!
This dress is very elegant, the 4p and 6 p fit very similarly, but the 4p felt more secure in the top. I'm 5'2 and the length was perfect with 4" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 1, 2017
I wanted a floor-length ball gown for an annual fundraiser I attend. This dress was perfect!
This dress has a nice weight to it, not at all thin or flimsy, and it was fully lined. The one shoulder with slight ruffle combined with the black color and floor-length make it incredibly classy, stylish, and beautiful. I received a ton of compliments that the dress was stunning. I am 5'4" and weigh 123lbs. The size 2 fit better than the size 4. I was a little worried about it being too tight in the armpit area and I am small-chested, but after wearing it for awhile, I didn't notice it at all. I'm glad I went with the size 2. The size 4 was too loose in the waist and hips. I wore 4" heels and my toes just barely peaked out from under the dress. This dress made me feel gorgeous.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
October 29, 2017
Dress was great, received lots of compliments.
Nice fit, although I had a size that was too big -- I'd suggest ordering your backup as a size down from your usual. Length was great with 3 inch heels.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 37
October 17, 2017
LOVE this dress and would definitely rent it again!! It was so comfortable!
It fit perfectly, a little roomy but in the best way!!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
October 4, 2017
Ordered the dress the week of the week of the event and it arrived exactly on time and fit perfectly
Very comfortable I am 5"8' and the length was perfect with my heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 30, 2017
Cute but short
Nice stretchy dress. I could only get a regular and it was far to short for anything but flats. Very comfortable and travels well without wrinkles
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 24, 2017
Gorgeous gown!
This dress was amazing! Fit perfectly, even the length! I wore the 10p and usually Vary between a 10-12 because I have a large bust. This dress was great! Totally recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2017
Beautiful flattering dress!
An elegant simple flattering dress is hard to find. This is it! Nicely lined and well tailored to be flattering and not too tight! Runs large. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 14, 2017
Great black backup dress option
Fits a bit big/loose. Loved the one shoulder detail but it was cutting off my circulation on that arm. I had a little dent near my armpit at the end of the night. Wearing 5inch heels-length was perfect. Zipper was a little wonky and does not lay flat on the fabric like it's suppose to on the dress. Maybe it just needs to be retired as a rental.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 11, 2017
Comfortable
Form fitting
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 22, 2017
Gorgeous for Black Tie Wedding
Dress was perfect for Black Tie Wedding at the New York Public Library
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2017
Great dress for a formal affair
I loved this dress! The fit, color, and cut were great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
August 18, 2017
I wore this to a corporate black tie event.
His dress is so classic and beautiful. I'm not sure if it's the cut of the dress or the tailoring on the particular dress I received but it was almost as though it was tailored improperly. You can see the bunching in one of the photos. I ended up getting my just in case dress as they did not have my backup size which made my decision on which dress to wear VERY difficult because both were beautiful but I really loved this one. Even with the strange tailoring I decided to go with this dress. The length was totally fine with a 3.5inch heel. The back is a little love never than the front which almost gives it a bit of an understated train situation that was really a nice touch. I will say this, this bad boy will make your legs feel like they are in their own personal summer. There is a lot of material here. It was easy to dance in, wasn't too heavy but it was warm. The bust was a bit larger than I had anticipated. I'm a busty girl at a 40D and I almost didn't fill it out all the way. The dress was a bit big in general. If there is one bit of advice I can give for even any dress is get a tailoring measuring tape and take your measurements! Do a google search for that particular designers measurements to help you pinpoint an appropriate size to order. Had I done this before I ordered I would have gotten a smaller size. All in all I really loved the dress even with the minor flaws in tailoring and size.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 7, 2017
Classic
Love this dress, classic with stunning aspects. Wore to a black tie wedding, got tons of complements and was comfortable dancing all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 38
August 1, 2017
Was a great time! Got tons of compliments on the dress!!
Was perfect fit in the bust area, but big around the hips and waist. Overall, just awesome!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
July 14, 2017
Fit great.
Comfortable, which I wasn't expecting!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
July 13, 2017
Great night!
This dress was very comfortable! True to size, a little heavy, but definitely fun to wear!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 28
July 8, 2017
Fabulous Dress!
I loved this dress! It fit perfectly with a little wiggle room for dancing! I had so many compliments all night and felt truly stunning in this gown!
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Age: 35
June 29, 2017
Great LBD with a bit of ruffle flare.
I'm 5'4" and it was perfect length to wear both high heels and flip flops. The fit was great, comfortable and was fun to wear.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Age: 43
June 24, 2017
AMAZING!
This dress fit like a glove! The fabric is very forgiving and the one shoulder is very flattering! I would rent this again in a heartbeat!
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
June 22, 2017
Perfect gown for a black tie evening
I absolutely loved this dress! I know it was the perfect choice when I didn't want to take it off. The one thing to pay attention to is the length you rent if you are curvy. I'm 5'5" and fit into the 16R, but it was too short. I wore the 18WR because of the length (it was actually too big but it worked.). I will rent this again and go with the L sizing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
June 18, 2017
Timeless and elegant
I loved this dress. It was very comfortable. It ran a bit shorter than I had expected. I'm just under 6'7" tall and the 18 only worked because it was too big. I think that the 16 fit better but because of how the fabric is cut it was too short whereas the 18 was too big so it hung longer. I also had to tuck my bra in on the side with the zipper since the dress cut lower than my bra but I was able to contain large chest. The 16 did bunch more on the side than the 18. I wore flats with the 18 and it was about 1/2 inch shorter than I would have preferred.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38F
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2017
Beautiful & Comfortable!!!
The dress was beautiful- received so many compliments. Wore this to a black tie event for my husband's office and I felt beautiful but not like I was the Cinderella of the place (in a good way). I'm a F bust and had plenty of room. I'm also first tri pregnant so based on the size recommendations I ordered a size up and had too much room. I'd definitely order your size and then order up for backup. The dress was also super comfortable!! It had stretch and movement! I loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Age: 61
May 31, 2017
Looked good therefore I felt good!!!!!
It fit perfect! Loved it, many many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
May 22, 2017
Beautiful comfortable dress
This dress runs large as everyone has mentioned. I'm a pretty true 6, wore the 4 in this dress but wish I had the 2. Tons of compliments and I didn't want to return it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
May 16, 2017
This dress was perfect!
Every year my company hosts a formal black tie dinner for our clients and every year I always need a new dress. I have tried RtR in the past and have had some good experiences and some bad. This year I booked an appointment with a stylist at the Topanga location and it was the way to go! She pulled this dress for me and a few other selections. Since I'm top heavy and curvy sizing is a pain to figure out with these dresses. I originally tried on a 14 in red but it wouldn't zip up all the way so I asked to try on a 16 but that size was not available in the store. The stylist was able to book me a 16L in black for my event and it fit great the day I got it and I got so many compliments on it at the dinner. It was such a relief to not have to stress about the size up to the event! My boss even told me the next day I should invest in the dress and keep it (I did return it) but will be looking for something similar to it to own! Bravo RtR stylist!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2017
Classic and elegant
My sister in law was getting married... I wanted to look formal and classic but also understated and this dress nailed it! So many compliments and dress was so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 18
May 5, 2017
I couldn't upload the picture but this dress was for my daughters prom. She was stunning!
The fit was great a bit loose but I'd rather have it a little large than a lot too small. I'm 5"10 and in heels over 6"0 and the gown was still a little long.
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2017
So elegant... so comfortable!
This was a back-up dress that I ended up having to wear. But I'm so glad it came to that! I loved it... felt beautiful and it was so comfortable! I usually find myself having to tug at/reposition dresses as I wear them... but not this one! It stayed in place and looked great. I probably could have worn a size smaller, but ended up in an 8P because the 6P wasn't available. I am 5' 2.5", and the R was definitely too long. Would definitely rent again, as I got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
April 30, 2017
Simply sophiscated, easy fit
This was my back up dress but I ended up wearing this one over the other! It was comfortable, a touch big but I think the 10L would have been just a bit too tight so I'm happy I rented the 12. This dress was long enough in the front which was important since I'm 5'9". Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2017
Glamorous and a perfect fit! Perfect for a curvy figure
Due to other reviews, I saw that this would be a great fit. I am curvey and was worried that a straight dress would be snug - It was tailored just right. I wore a strapless bra - no gaps in the top. Armpit was perfect too. I took an 8 as a backup but the 6P was perfect. RTR sent me an additional backup dress that was gorgeous, but too sexy for a business event
View photos (3)
Size worn:
18R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
April 23, 2017
Elegant and flattering
My daughter decided to go to prom last minute and we were able to order this dress days before the event. It was perfect. It was flattering and tasteful. She received so many compliments!
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
April 19, 2017
I loved how it appropriately hugged my curves, I literally felt like a celebrity in this gown
No cons for me, the dress was absolutely perfect.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 10, 2017
I loved the dress! It was packaged well and in perfect shap.
I wish I would've had a size smaller, it was looser fitting than I would have liked. I am 5'2 and the length was perfect!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×