Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
512 reviews
Fit
Large169
True to Size292
Small7
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2016
Beautiful & Elegant
This dress is beautiful and elegant. I wore it as the maid of honor in my sister's wedding. It does run a little big, so I could have probably fit into the 2R (wore 4R), but just had a baby and wanted room to dance. I had many compliments and felt fancy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 4, 2016
I received lots of compliments!
I am 5'5" and typically wear a size 2. The 2 that I received was significantly shorter and the side zipper would not lay flat. I ordered regular length in both sizes so I'm not sure why there was such a difference in the lengths. The 4 was slightly big around my bust and waist but not too big that I couldn't wear it. I wish the 2 had not had those issues because it definitely was a better fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
April 22, 2016
Bridesmaid at a Wedding
I am 5'7" 175 pounds with 38DDD boobs and a mom pooch but barely any booty. I wore a 16R with a strapless bra and ballet flats. This dress fit perfectly and wasn't too clingy in the stomach but looked like it was made for me. The quality is thick and great. I loved that the one shoulder had a frill but also loved that it didn't stick up as shown on the model so it gives it an elegant flair but not too crazy. The bride was freaking out about how great it looked so I definitely have to give this dress 5 stars.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 22, 2016
This dress is beautiful!
I thought this dress was extremely flattering. Having a curvy figure makes it difficult to find dresses. I thought the dress fit well it was still a little baggy for my taste through the waist even in the size 2 and I'm normally a size 4. I'm sure no one noticed but me. I wore a pretty high heel so the L fit even though I'm only 5ft 2. Overall an extremely positive experience that I would use again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
April 19, 2016
Loved it!!
Perfect fit! Loved this dress...didn't want to return it! Received lots of compliments.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
April 18, 2016
Stunning neckline made up for awkward zipper.
Was one of the lucky Lady LTs to wear a dress to the Submarine Ball, and boy did it slay! The only downside was the zipper on the specific dress that I had; you could tell that it had been slightly ripped and later repaired which in turn caused that (external) part of the seam to be awkwardly bunched. It didn't lie as smoothly as I expected it to, but the killer neckline on this thing made up for it! Definitely recommend renting a size down, especially if you want the dress to hug your curves at all, otherwise it will drape loosely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
April 18, 2016
This is a dress I would love to have in my closet. It's understated yet elegant.
I ordered my true size in long (I'm 5'9"). It fit perfectly.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2016
Lovely
Fit was true to size. Fabric draped nicely and the black was still crisp and not faded. The slight train presented a few challenges, but it was so elegant. Received many compliments and hate to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2016
A classic
Classic, timeless beauty. Glad I read the reviews bc this definitely runs large, but a bit short - I typically wear a 2R in dresses, but the 0L was perfect. I usually have pretty high heels, so the L worked well. It was very comfy and flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
April 16, 2016
I wore the dress to chaperone high school prom.
The dress fits true to size. No issues with the zipper. I wore the long and a 2 inch heel and it was perfect. The dress is comfortable. I was able to enjoy the evening without worrying about the dress.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2016
never actually ended up wearing the dress. It didn't fit.
a little tight on the shoulder. ordered a petite but it was to short, it hit right at the bottom of my feet, so i recommend the regular if you plan on wear heels. A little big in the torso, overall great dress just didn't fit me. So, I returned it for another.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2016
Excellent quality, I felt like a million bucks!
Perfect fit, perfect length. I am petite and got a 6P and 8P, and the 6P fit amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 12, 2016
Stylist Review
This one shouldered black gown is so beautiful and versatile! Running true to size, I would suggest sizing up for backup in this style. The fabric is pretty heavy and does not allow for much stretch, and for that reason I would say this style works best for A to C bust sizes. With the one shoulder look on this gown, I would suggest going with a strapless bra. The natural waist is definitely very fitted, but it did allow comfortable room throughout the midsection. I would suggest sizing up for fuller hips as that area is definitely quite fitted. The one shoulder sleeve was definitely a bit tight on my broader shoulders, so that's definitely something to keep in mind. At 5'7" this hit right at the bottom of the floor without heels so I would definitely suggest a long length for women my height or taller. This dress is perfect for a black tie wedding or gala, and I would pair it with a beautiful pair of long earrings, a shiny clutch and strappy heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Weight: 140lbs
March 23, 2016
I didn't get to wear the dress but I tried it on when it arrived.
The 4L fit beautifully through the chest, waist and hips, but I was disappointed with the length. I am 5'9" and like to wear heels, but it would have been too short with shoes. (I am barefoot in this picture.)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
March 22, 2016
Great dress for Black Tie Engagement Party!
The 10L worked best and was even slightly big. I'm 5'5' and glad I got the long, it worked perfect with heels. Definitely eventuates the hips so made for a good hour glass shape! I'd rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2016
This dress is so figure flattering and fabulous. I wore it to a formal charity event. Loved it!
Not much jewelry needed to deck out this dress. oversized earrings and simple updo make this dress a knockout.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
March 17, 2016
I love this dress. I received so many complements and it was super comfortable.
I had to size down to the 2r. It was a littler shorter, so if your taller than 5'6" I would get the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 3, 2016
Unfortunately, the dress arrived 2 days AFTER my event!
This dress is G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S! When I tried it on, the material felt luxurious and it looked FANTASTIC on (even without Spanx) plus the 12 fit perfectly though my normal size is 14!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
February 28, 2016
Got so many compliments and this dress was so flattering!
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore this to a formal charity event, and I got so many compliments, especially from guy friends. It was so flattering on me and hit in all of the right places. I normally wear a 6 and am 5'4", and I ordered the 6R and 4R. The 4R fit better, mostly in the length and the hip area. It was still a little long on me, the petite length probably would have been better. The fabric is very nice and a little heavy, which helps the dress drape in a beautiful way. Overall this is an amazing and very glamorous dress, and I didn't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 27, 2016
Received many compliments on this dress. RTR was such a great experience for me.
I thought this dress was effortless. I never had to worry about readjusting, dancing, or sitting. It was comfortable and easily elegant. I normally wear a size 4 and the 4R was on the long side, but with heels, I thought it helped elongate my build. The 6P also fit well but was looser in the midsection and shorter in front. This dress is good for women that have a waist smaller than their hips. With the 4R, I wore Spanx to smooth things out and a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
February 25, 2016
Great dress!!
I wore this dress for a Heart Ball. Thought it was true to size and very comfortable. Lots of compliments all night long! I'm 5'3 and 165 pound pear shape so I was a bit concerned about the fit but it looked great and I would recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2016
Classy black dress with character
I think black dresses are so BORING, but when the red dress in this style was damaged RTR sent me this one. Pros: The fabric is incredibly luxurious with a hint of shine and hugs the body beautifully. The ruffle on the one shoulder gave this dress character and class. I wore 4 inch heels and it just skimmed the floor for me. If I had to wear a black dress again, I would choose this one. Cons: It was black. I would have loved to have worn this dress in the red color I originally wanted.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2016
Comfy dress to dance and eat in!
Great dress, the 6R was a little too big in the chest, waist and length, 6P might have been a better fit for me but the 4R worked out great for my size and build.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2016
Great dress! Husband loved my look.
Dress fit true to size. I am a busty woman, but I still am tall and lean so finding clothes sometimes is a challenge. Pros: Breathable fabric for a late summer wedding in the Nation's Capitol. Easy to move and dance in. You can pair almost any accessories with it. Cons: I wish the dress was slightly longer. My shoes where only 2 inches and the dress was still too short. Going up an extra size (i.e. 14L) and the dress would swallow me alive. Overall: Need an easy go to dress that won't let you down, this is the dress for you!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 62
February 21, 2016
My first time with RTR and I could not be more pleased.
I loved this dress! I wore it to the grand reopening of a 100 year old Theatre and I felt perfectly elegant. Typically I wear a 4, but thanks to the reviews which say the dress runs large and short, I ordered a 2L. The fit was exactly right with my 4" heels. This experience has been so positive I will most certainly rent again. Now, I just have to start filling up my social calendar!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
February 15, 2016
Dress ran large. I liked the one shoulder ruffle. Did not fit so it was not worn.
I thought the dress would be more form fitting but it was not. The seams down the side were crooked which took away from the fit and comfort. Overall, it gave me no shape and ran big so I was not able to wear it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
February 11, 2016
Wore this dress to a charity ball in Greenville, SC.
Dress fit great. A little big in the chest area, but I'm smaller up there, so that wasn't totally unexpected. If you have broader shoulders or muscular arms, the arm hole is a little snug, but it didn't bother me like I thought it would. Overall, great dress! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
February 10, 2016
This dress was so comfortable!
I wore this for a ball, and it was great. This was actually my backup dress and it worked perfectly! I normally wear a 6P, but I ordered an 8R since my size wasn't available. It was a little large through the stomach area, but I was pretty comfortable in it. I'm 5'1 and was still able to wear this with flat shoes without it dragging the ground, so tall girls beware!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
February 8, 2016
So Amazing, Five Other Women Wore the Same Dress to the Same Event...
I loved this dress. It was my backup, but it fit well and looked very classy and elegant. The ruffle adds just a touch of drama. I don't normally wear dresses with this cut, preferring A-line styles, but I felt very feminine and pretty (and having a slightly larger size was helpful). I probably could have pulled off my normal 10, but the 12 was comfortable and helped me from feeling too self conscious. The biggest problem was when checking in for the event, I immediately ran into another woman in the same dress. Over the course of the night, I saw two other women in the black version of this dress, and two women in the red version. We were all different sizes and body types, so that goes to show you that this dress will work for everyone - but I felt a little disappointed and a lot less special. Now, this is a DC event, and we all tend to be kind of conservative - I might have guessed this would happen, but since it's an older style, I was hoping it wouldn't. Because this is such a flattering and elegant gown, I wouldn't be surprised if this happens again with this dress. I think Rent the Runway should try out a Pro-type program where you pay extra to ensure no one else is wearing the same dress as you at an event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 2, 2016
Back up dress and didn't need it!
Dress is beautiful but I ordered a size too big.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 27, 2016
This is a great dress. Comfortable and does not cling to the mid section.
I am 5 feet, 115 lbs and the 2P fit very nicely. It was about an inch too long, but overall the length was fine - I am on the short side. It was comfortable to move in and very flattering. The 4 was a little too big for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2016
Elegant bridesmaids dress
This dress ran quite large. I typically wear a size 6 or even an 8 and in this dress the size four was a little large. It is meant to be somewhat loose as the fabric is thick and without much give. I would have liked to wear the size 2 actually but unfortunately the one I received was quite a few inches shorter than the size 4. It worked out for the occasion but I probably wouldn't rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
January 21, 2016
Classy look!
I rented this for a winter black tie wedding. The 4L would have been a better fit, but the zipper was broken. I wore the 6L and I don't think anyone could tell it ran large. I called RTR and I couldn't get another dress in time, but their customer service was amazing as always!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 65
January 21, 2016
The dress was lovley
Perfect fit
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 21, 2016
Black tie charity event
I got lots of compliments on this dress it is so flattering! However, as many of the other reviewers said it is a bit short. I wore probably 3 1/2" heels but I probably should've worn lower ones.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 20, 2016
Great first experience with RTR. Easy to reserve two sizes of this gown and it arrived on time.
The dress fit well throughout. It did not cling or feel to tight in any area. I typically wear a 4 but the 2 was definitely a better fit in the waist and bust for me. I wore 1-inch heels and the dress did not drag. A higher heel would have been too high since it would have exposed my shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
January 20, 2016
Great dress, slimming fabric - would love to buy this one!
Other reviews were right, I advise ordering your back-up a size down. The fabric was thick and draped beautifully and no wrinkles straight out of the packaging. Perfect length with 2.5in heels.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 23
January 13, 2016
Simple, elegant, classy
This dress was large on me (I usually wear a 4 but they were out), but it still looked fantastic. The open shoulder side had to be adjusted occasionally, but if the dress had been tighter, it wouldn't have moved around at all. Super comfortable, great heavy material, and very attractive. I'm 5'10" and 140 pounds and the dress was the perfect length on me with some kitten heels. When I was barefoot the dress touched the ground and covered my feet and with some 2" heels it perfectly brushed the floor in the back and only showed the front tips of my shoes. I did get a little hot in it after dancing but it's very easy to maneuver in and you don't have to worry about it moving around too much. I do wish I could've tried a 4L but I think that size would've been too short... If you're tall and slender I would recommend choosing the larger size rather than the smaller size because imo this dress would look worse too short vs. too big. There was lots of space left in the dress when I wore it but you really can't tell in photos. Overall, fantastic dress and I would totally rent it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 9, 2016
Stunning gown that is sure to turn heads!
This dress was absolutely perfect. I wore it for a bridesmaid dress for my sisters wedding. It runs a little short so it would be best worn with flats. I am normally a size 2, but this dress ran a little big!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 53
January 7, 2016
I loved this dress! It felt elegant and comfortable.
I'm short but busty and this dress felt slenderizing and fit well really well. I hadn't worn a strapless bra before and didn't have one so I had to McGyver a regular bra, which worked out fine.
See more reviews:
1 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×