Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
484 reviews
Fit
Large162
True to Size278
Small7
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
February 16, 2015
The dress looked amazing!
True to size and perfect length with heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 8, 2015
Perfect for curvy bodies!
This dress is perfect for curvy body types! I am 5'2", size 8/10 dress, pear shaped. Normally, I opt for dresses with fuller skirts or A line styles. This dress made me feel glamorous and I was confident with the fit. The top was big but I needed the 10 for my hips. Overall, great memories in this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2015
#1 Stunner!
Perfect dress, my husband loved it. I'm a pear and the 4 long was a great fit. High quality. Would definitely recommend! The photo doesn't do the dress justice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2015
Classy
Lovely dress that ran true to size and was comfortable all night. I was a little hesitant to order the long size at 5'7", but the length was absolutely perfect with my 3" heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 3, 2015
Beautiful dress. Comfortable fit
I borrowed both the 6 and 8. The 8 was too large throughout the body. But comfortable for the bust. The size 6 dress fit better throughout. I usually wear a size 8 dress because of my bust size. I could fit comfortably into the 6. It did smush my breasts a little but for overall comfort I went with the 6. The ruffle in the shoulder I did notice flipped up a few times in pictures which looked funny at times.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2015
I really liked the dress.
fit great and the length was perfect!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 26, 2015
Most Elegant, great fitting, complimenting crown pleasing dress to wear. LOVE IT!
Moveable, sleek, slimming and stunning.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
January 20, 2015
I liked the dress alot!
I was supposed to recieve the dress in two sizes and only got the one size. Luckily it fit but if it hadnt i would have been out of luck.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 19, 2015
This is the PERFECT dress!
This dress runs true to size - I wore the 12L but I should have worn a 10L as it was a little too large. The fabric is heavy so you can wear it on a cold night. I've rented this dress in other colors as well and I love it. I am 5'4" and I wear 5.5" heels with it, so keep that in mind when you are renting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 19, 2015
Dress was beautiful, comfortable, simply amazing! Very very very flattering!
#jakieO
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 17, 2015
This dress was way to short. It was not a long
I would have loved it if it had been long enough
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 17, 2015
This dress was perfect!
This dress was perfect! I recently had a baby and was unsure about the size. It fit perfectly. I am also not a very tall person. I thought it would drag on the ground but it went right to my shoe. I LOVE this dress. I highly recommend it!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 13, 2015
Simple, Elegant.
Im 5'5, 120lbs and small busted and typically wear a 2 or 4. Im glad I ordered a long even though I don't typically wear long/tall clothes. I wore 3 inch heels with the dress and it lightly touched the ground.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2015
I wore this to Auto Prom. It was the perfect dress for a formal event.
It's pretty long, so make sure to wear a shoe with a little heal. it's formal but comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2015
Gorgeous dress - very chic!!!
The dress was very comfortable and perfect for a black tie wedding. The dress fit a little large over all, particularly in the waist and hips, but was the perfect length for a 3 inch heel. I used tap to make sure the shoulder strap stayed in place.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 10, 2015
Very elegant and made me look great!!
Perfect fit!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2015
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding, tons of compliments and very happy with it!
Initially I thought it was frumpy looking as there isn't much shape between the bust and the hips. But in the end it wasn't even noticeable since everything else about the dress is stunning. I loved the flowey back of the dress and it paired perfectly with kitten heels at this length. I would definitely rent again!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2015
This was an amazing dress, I had to wear 4inch heels.. I'm on 5'2. Lots of compliments though!
This fit well and true to size.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2015
This dress was perfect, very slimming.
The dress was wonderful, and Rent the Runway has the best customer service I've ever experienced!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2015
Looked beautiful, felt extremely comfortable
I wore the dress to a black tie wedding/New Years eve bash. As many have said, it did run big - I am closer to a size 10/12 in dresses but wore an 8 in this dress. The zipper on the side did bump a little, but not bad, I had the 10L too but it would have been a bit too long and I didn't like that it seemed a little baggy. Length ended up great. I got a lot of compliments on it and felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 30, 2014
Dress is fabulous - tons of compliments. Fit well too!
Pros of fit is that it's true to size and is really elegant! Cons of fit is that It kind of cramped my larger breasts (they're always soooo annoying). I am an size 8 and a size 10 (10 up top always) and 8 everywhere else...this dress squished them a little and was a little loose fitting elsewhere, but overall the 10 was good! Perfect length as well (10R).
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 24, 2014
Mother of the groom and I felt like a million bucks.
The quality of the dress was spectacular and it fit true to size.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
December 18, 2014
The dress was beautiful! Very formal, fit perfectly!
The dress was perfection! I was able to wear a strapless bra with an extra side shoulder support which was great! Always have a hard time finding dresses that work with my full bust size! Length was perfect with a mid-sized heel (2-1/2 to 3") any higher heel I would have needed the tall version. Very classic silhouette and feel very formal, definitely a black tie type of dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2014
Appropriate for a formal wedding
This dress arrived in great condition and the ruffle on the shoulder was very cute and fun. The length was good...I'm 5'6", wore a 4L and 3" heels. You could see the toes of my shoes and the length in the back was good. The fit around the bust was slightly loose but not so loose that it was unwearable. The armhole was a bit snug...by the end of the night I have a red line rubbed into my skin. All in all the dress was fine for the wedding I attended, however it didn't make me feel as if I stood out among the guests.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2014
Classy, youthful, beautiful dress!
I'm normally a size 10, but in trying on designer dresses I was finding I was a 10 or 12. However, I should have ordered the size 8. I'm 5'9, 160lbs. I'm smaller on top but I have an athletic body, which sometimes means my rear end makes me go to a larger size. It still fit me well, but it would have been even better in an 8. I loved the way I felt in it. It was classy, youthful, and elegant. I received many compliments.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 10, 2014
Loved this dress.
It fit great. Felt great. Got lot's of compliments. I was worried about the length since I am only 5' 3", but with heels it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 9, 2014
Perfect classic black tie dress.
Fit well and was perfect for the black tie event. Unfortunately forgot to take a photo. Material is a little thin so spanx were needed to keep it all smooth.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2014
The dress was the perfect bridesmaid's dress- comfortable, classic, and elegant
Wish I had ordered a size down, dress was easy to wear. I'm 5'7" and the L with heels was the perfect length.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 2, 2014
pretty gown
dress was pretty but it was a little long - had to tape it up.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 2, 2014
Perfect for a black tie affair
I wore this for a black tie wedding. I received numerous compliments! I just had a baby 8 weeks ago and was nervous about the sizes. Before baby I wore an 8 so I ordered the 10 and 12 to be safe. Much to my surprise the 10 was still a little big on me, but worked well for the evening as I felt comfortable and didn't have to suck it in all night! :) I would have been interested in seeing how the 8 fit! But overall such a great experience, would absolutely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 1, 2014
Overall, I had a ton of compliments on the dress and would definitely rent again!
The 2L ended up being a much better fit, the length was perfect with a 2-3 inch heel for someone my height (5'8). The bodice was slightly looser than I had imagined but it ended up for a better flow of the whole dress, although I had wished it fit a little more snug for the style of the dress. I do have to say I usually I wear a 0L however, the fit was weird. Where the dress zippers (side zipper) there it had an unappealing "bunching" effect, almost as if it had been hemmed by someone, and it made my hips look uneven and unflattering. The other thing was the 0L actually ran a little shorter than I expected, most likely due to it being a size 0. The 0L would probably be a better fit for a shorter person, maybe someone 5'6 and someone more petite, which might help the hemline situation.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 25, 2014
BEAUTIFUL DRESS!!!!
the 10L was a little big, however the 8L would have been perfect, RENT THE RUNWAY was unable to send me that size but did send me 2 similar style dresses. the one shoulder looked super cute!!! received a lot of compliments on the dress. the bottom of the back of the dress was a little longer so it kept getting stepped on so i had to pick it up. aside from that, i was extremely happy and felt beautiful in the dress. wore this to my best friends wedding and i am glad i chose it :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
November 24, 2014
Very elegant gown for a black tie event - received a lot of compliments!
The shoulder ruffle was really nice and the fit well. The dress was also good quality - thick material and a nice lining. The reason I gave it 4 starts was that it was a bit big in the hips and there was a small crease at the top across where your bra goes. The dress was also the right length but I'm 5'7 and wore heels so don't recommend to someone who is short.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2014
perfect fit very comfy material. I'm tall and the 4L was perfect.
Its true to size, very comfortable, great material. It works for any black tie optional event.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 20, 2014
This was for a formal affair and no one had a similar dress
This dress fits true to size. It's a little big up top but it worked. It seems like a simple black dress but in person, it's gorgeous. It's just right for a formal affair. I would recommend this dress to anyone.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185lbs
November 19, 2014
Received so many compliments on this dress!
Dress fit perfectly. I am a 36B and it seemed a little big in the top for me but didn't look too big. I wore 3 inch heels and it fell right to the ground. I did try a 3 inch heel with a slight platform and you could see my feet. Not sure if that's a deciding factor for some! Get the long if you're wearing higher heels. Loved it! Definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2014
Volunteered at a black tie event, and the dress was perfect! A very classic dress.
Usually wear a 4, but ordered a size down based on the reviews. Definitely runs large, and the 2R was perfect! A beautiful dress, and would definitely rent it again. I wore 3.5" heals and it worked perfectly with the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 17, 2014
Beware - you'll receive a ton of compliments. Beautiful dress, super elegant, and comfortable too.
I was torn between this dress (which by the grace of Rent the Runway was a replacement since another dress I ordered was damaged) and a short dress for an outdoor fall wedding in Florida. I went back and forth and asked opinions from everyone (including the bride). Not a single person chose the other dress. This was a knockout...I received so many compliments, it was super comfortable, and the fabric is very forgiving. The armhole sleeve was a little snug at first but I barely even noticed it as the night went on. The fabric does bunch on the side where the zipper is, but nobody except myself seemed to notice. It's a bit of a high-low dress on the bottom, but it's very subtle. Do yourself a favor and give this dress a try, you won't be sorry!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
November 17, 2014
I wore this to a gala at my club.
It fit amazingly. The fabric and color are forgiving. The bottom flairs out, which makes it a great dancing dress. I would definitely recommend going down a size so it's a bit more form fitting. I wore it with simple jewelry (gold earring, necklace, and bracelets and a long pearl necklace) and the ruffle did the rest. So many compliments!
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
November 16, 2014
Ill-fitting.
I rented this dress for a wedding but ended up wearing something I already owned. The size is strange: true to size at the shoulders and hips, but loose around the waist. It's pretty forgiving, I suppose, but people who wear a size 0 usually don't need the extra fabric around the waist.
See more reviews:
4 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×