Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
541 reviews
Fit
Large
(172)
True to Size
(306)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 27, 2015
Loved the dress. It was classic, simple and elegant. I wore it to a black tie wedding in NYC.
I'm a 0 or 2 pretty much across the board. This dress fit great in a 2, but also think a 0 would have fit, may have just been a bit more snug.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2015
Classic and beautiful!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding at the Harvard Club, so it was very formal. The dress was beautiful and perfect for the event - both formal and reserved. It was a bit short, you could see my shoes - which were about 4 inches and I am 5'6. Otherwise, the fabric is thick and doesn't wrinkle and the cut is lose enough around the middle to allow for plenty of eating and celebrating. I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 7, 2015
Dress looked great!
I thought the dress would end up being too long based on the reviews but it fit just right as is. The black blended into everyone else's black tuxes and dresses so it was hard to see the shape of the dress in photos.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
July 23, 2015
Wore this classic gown to a formal event and it was wonderful
Great first experience with RTR, flattering fit despite my imperfect body type and i felt like a princess!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
June 25, 2015
It's pretty but the fit was a little awkward and the long was short.
I ordered the 12R and 12L. The regular was at my ankles and the long didn't hit the ground with bare feet. It's a beautiful dress and I got lots of compliments but the fit around the bust was funny - there's some ruching on the side that didn't fit to my form correctly, I think my natural waist is lower that that of the dress - hence the issue. Usually dresses are far too small for me in the bust so I was surprised that this fit as well as it did.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2015
I orders the 6 and 4 and the 4 fit perfect. Always great when the smaller size fits.
It was fabulous. Great quality, great fit and great price. Thank you RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2015
Perfect for a black tie!
I rented this dress for a black tie gala and it was perfect. I rented the 0 Regular and the 0 Long and I'm glad I got the long because the regular was way too short (I'm 5'7"). It does have a slight hi lo going on, so the front shows your shoes a little bit and the back is longer. Overall, great dress! Sad to send it back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
June 22, 2015
Simple and elegant
This dress was so much fun to wear to a scholarship ball. It's simple but so classic and elegant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2015
I loved the ruffle
the fit was great other than it being a little short I had to wear flats but otherwise it was great and I received so many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
June 17, 2015
It was a comfortable dress but slightly baggy through the hips (which is generally not my issue)
Fit is roomy through the middle. Dress is flattering but I would suggest sizing down for your extra size. It is forgiving material.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 3, 2015
I got so many compliments and felt very fancy! Can't wait to rent another dress.
I was afraid of the dress being too long since I don't like big heels and many reviews mentioned wearing high ones. Ultimately I should have gotten the long option. It was a little too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 3, 2015
This dress fit like a glove! Beautiful! I am 5'8"and wear a size 6. The 6L was perfect!
I would definitely recommend a long in this dress if you're 5'6" or taller and planning to wear heels. Gorgeous dress. And comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 2, 2015
A little too plain...
This dress was a back-up and I ended up not wearing it. I am an hourglass and the waist was too loose-fitting and made the dress look frumpy on me. I tried to get a beaded belt to go with it, but it didn't work. I think a 10 would have worked fine, it just wasn't available. Length was good for me being on the taller side. Customer service was excellent!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2015
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments!!!
Just fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
June 1, 2015
It was classic. I got tons of compliments. It was also really comfortable which was an added bonus.
It fit true to size and hugged my curves. The length was perfect for me with 4" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 178lbs
May 24, 2015
From the minute I got out of the car, I received complements on this dress!
The fabric of this dress is so lovely. Everything lays nicely. I had complements all night and I am not a small gal. I normally wear a solid 12. But, the 10L fit well on me - there was even some room. Although, it is a bit of a heavy dress, so if wearing it in the summer you may be a little warm at times. I would get this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2015
Great experience- great dress!
Initially I ordered the 6L with the 8L as the back up. I'm usually a size 6 or 8 depending on the dress- and I'm 5'5" so I went with the L to ensure length with heels. The 6 was too big. I was *thankfully* able to have a 4R sent overnight and it fit perfectly! Definitely recommend going a size down. The dress had a little give and it was comfortable and elegant.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2015
Stunning, stunning dress!
I originally ordered the dress in a 6 in navy blue and they didn't have the 4 available for a backup. As soon as I tried it on and realized it was too big and I called RTR to ask if a 4 had become available. The 4 in blue wasn't available but they over-nighted the black and red options (I just had to pay shipping! They are awesome!) and they both fit perfectly. I wore 4 inch heels and the length was absolutely perfect! I could not believe how well the dress fit with no alterations- not an easy thing for someone who is 5'3! I didn't even have to wear a bra. The dress is super comfortable and very flattering. The only negative thing was having to send it back! I was sad when the event was over because the dress is so beautiful it really makes you feel stunning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 18, 2015
The dress was for my 17 year old for voice recital, very elegant and such a classic.
Fit perfect but runs a little big should have gotten a 2 but I do not regret she received so many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
May 11, 2015
This dress was perfect for the NYC Black Tie Wedding I attended!
This dress was a perfect fit. I thought I would need the 4 but it was too large on on the top. The 2R was perfect. I wore a pump with this dress and it was the perfect length for me, once I changed to flats for dancing until 5am, i did drag a bit on the floor but it didn't keep me from dancing the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 9, 2015
comfortable dress
true to size; very comfortable to sit, dance and move around in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
May 8, 2015
Classic dress, beautiful fabric!
I ordered this for a black tie charity gala and this dress was perfect! The heavy crepe hung perfectly and skimmed my body. I probably needed the OL since the 2L was loose on my waist and hips, but it wasn't available. I felt comfortable, perfectly dressed and classy all night. This was my first RTR and I'll definitely be back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 7, 2015
I wore this to a black tie gala work event; it was beautiful and I received many compliments!
This was my first time using Rent the Runway, and this dress was exactly what I was looking for. I loved the one-shoulder, timeless, elegant style; I wasn't sure how sizing ran, so I ordered a 4P and 6P; the 6 was too big and the 4 fit much better, but I think a 2P would have been perfect (that size wasn't available on my rental dates). The 4 was a bit loose in the waist area, but I didn't mind, as I'm not a fan of super-tight clothing; based on the description, it seems that it may have fit correctly (it looks loose on the model in the picture, too). I'm 5'1" tall and wore 3" heels and still felt the dress was a bit too long, but the dress was beautiful, I received many compliments throughout the night, and I will definitely be renting again in the future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
May 7, 2015
Loved this dress! Very elegant and sophisticated. I got complimented all night.
No cons. Perfect fit on my body type. The 4L was also a good fit but I went with the 6L for the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
May 6, 2015
Elegant, classy dress. You won't be disappointed!
This dress is very forgiving. It was incredibly comfortable and gorgeous. I loved looking beautiful and being comfortable at the same time. Some reviewers have noted that it runs short. I'm a solid 5'6" and wore a 1.5 in Nina heel. Frankly, I loved not needing a super high heel, but if you like a taller heel you may want to consider the longer version of this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2015
Classy and sexy!
This was my backup dress but I liked it better than my original selection. At first I thought it would be very boring and plain, but instead it is simple, classic, and sexy! It is also a very comfortable dress to wear. I added large earrings, a bracelet, and beaded clutch for a little interest. I will definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2015
Sleek and classy dress
Fit well, arm hole was a little small. Zipper didn't lay flat and that bothered me a lot. Gorgeous material, thick fabric helped it hang well and the neckline was very nice. It just looked a little too mature for me, being in my early 20's. Went with my first dress instead.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 3, 2015
Great!
Very happy I ordered the tall! Would have been too short otherwise with 3" shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 1, 2015
I felt like a million bucks in this dress!! Hated having to take it off to send back.
This is the perfect material - heavy enough that it hangs well and skims your curves where needed. I ordered the regular length rather than the long because I usually do not wear super high heels, but it was almost too short. Thankfully, I had some kitten heels that worked well. I loved the fanned-out flounce of the skirt at the bottom. It is an amazing dress that I'll come back to if I have the opportunity again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
April 30, 2015
This was my first Rent the Runway experience and I can't wait to do it again!
The dress was a little loose in the bust and a little snug in the hips (not unusual for me). I rented the 6R and 8R. The 6R was too short for me with 2.5" inch heels and a too snug in the hips. The 8R was a tiny bit long, but worked fine and a little big in the bust. I added a bra enhancer and it worked fine. I am a House Mom at a sorority and definitely did not want to look old! I received compliments all night long. The dress was formal and elegant without being over the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
April 29, 2015
fabulous dress! got SO many compliments.
was a little bit loose but the style worked that way. i'm very hippy, but i think this would work well on a variety of body types.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 24, 2015
I wore this to a black tie optional affair and received tons of compliments
The dress ran large. I maybe could have worn a 6L and trust me I'm not a size 6. I think if you are 5'7 or above and plan on wearing any sort of heel you need to opt for the long. This was a nice option for a conservative formal affair.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
April 22, 2015
This was my first rental experience and this dress couldn't have been more perfect!
I was initially skeptical of renting a dress but I am so glad I did. You just can't beat it. This dress is so much more stunning in person and looks very classy for any occasion. I wore it to a military function and got lots of compliments all night. My only complaint was the size zipper didn't want to lay flat, but I was able to mostly disguise it with a little ironing. I am usually between an 8-10 in dress sizes and I rented an 8 and a 6, since the size chart suggested to order a size down. The 8 fit like a glove and was very flattering! I definitely would recommend this dress and RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
April 21, 2015
Very comfortable dress! Loved the one shoulder detail. I received so many compliments all night!
I rented both the 2R and the 4R not sure which one would fit better. The 2R fit perfectly! The length was right on top of my feet so it was perfect with 3" heels. Definitely a form fitting dress, but the fabric is heavy enough so the dress doesn't cling to your body. Very comfortable dress! I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 20, 2015
I enjoyed wearing the dress. It was perfect for the black tie event.
I ordered the 2L and 4L. I wore the 2L. Perfect fit. I normally wear a size 4. The length was perfect with my 3" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 19, 2015
Great dress, very flattering
I am VERY short, and this dress was still too short. At my height, it needed about 2 more inches to be the right size.
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 15, 2015
Arrived on time and fit great!
The 14 and 16 ran close in size but the 14 was VERY short. I'm 5'4 and it was too short. The fit was great, forgiving material and very comfortable. I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
April 14, 2015
Quick and easy
Runs a little short....0L fit on top but was about 1 inch too short when wearing 4 inch heals... Shorter heal and would be fine though!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 12, 2015
This dress was very flattering. It was perfect for my law school formal event.
The dress hit in exactly the right places! I usually wear an 8 or 10, but I ordered an 8 and 6 because I saw the reviews. I ended up wearing the 6 and it fit perfectly! I definitely recommend going down at least one size because it does run big! The material is nice because it is flattering. It is fully lined, so it might be a little warm if it is summertime.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2015
Great comfortable dress!
I basically chose to wear another RTR dress (the choice was difficult..but I basically flipped a coin). I only had one concert to go to and 3 dresses, so I had to make an executive decision. This dress is very comfortable and fits pretty true to size. I would definitely order down one size if you are unsure. I normally wear size 2-4 dress and the 2L fit great with 3.5 inch heels.
See more reviews:
4 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×