Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

421 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 246
Large 148
Photos 193
Vicki
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

The event I went to was a Black Tie 'Night of Superstars" Children's Charity Event. Amazing event.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was amazing ! This was the first time for RTR. I usually have a difficult time finding a good fit in dresses, so i was a little concerned getting one...in the mail. There was only the 12L ( no 14L ) so i went with it. It was perfect. True to size. Very comfortable. I felt like Cinderella at the Ball. Many compliments... but most of all, I felt good in it. I had a great phone representative. I explained to her that I had breast cancer, with surgery scars. That needed to be considered in picking a dress. This was one of the dresses she assisted me with. I rented the earrings on the model. Loved them !!!! Great experience. Will RTR again.
AB
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 3, 2015

I got so many compliments and felt very fancy! Can't wait to rent another dress.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was afraid of the dress being too long since I don't like big heels and many reviews mentioned wearing high ones. Ultimately I should have gotten the long option. It was a little too short.
RTR Customer
Jun 3, 2015

This dress fit like a glove! Beautiful! I am 5'8"and wear a size 6. The 6L was perfect!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would definitely recommend a long in this dress if you're 5'6" or taller and planning to wear heels. Gorgeous dress. And comfortable.
Shoshana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 2, 2015

I loved this dress! I got so many compliments!!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Just fabulous!
Jess
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

It was classic. I got tons of compliments. It was also really comfortable which was an added bonus.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit true to size and hugged my curves. The length was perfect for me with 4" heels.
Michele
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 19, 2015

Stunning, stunning dress!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered the dress in a 6 in navy blue and they didn't have the 4 available for a backup. As soon as I tried it on and realized it was too big and I called RTR to ask if a 4 had become available. The 4 in blue wasn't available but they over-nighted the black and red options (I just had to pay shipping! They are awesome!) and they both fit perfectly. I wore 4 inch heels and the length was absolutely perfect! I could not believe how well the dress fit with no alterations- not an easy thing for someone who is 5'3! I didn't even have to wear a bra. The dress is super comfortable and very flattering. The only negative thing was having to send it back! I was sad when the event was over because the dress is so beautiful it really makes you feel stunning.
Jaime
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
May 11, 2015

This dress was perfect for the NYC Black Tie Wedding I attended!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a perfect fit. I thought I would need the 4 but it was too large on on the top. The 2R was perfect. I wore a pump with this dress and it was the perfect length for me, once I changed to flats for dancing until 5am, i did drag a bit on the floor but it didn't keep me from dancing the night away!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
May 8, 2015

Classic dress, beautiful fabric!

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this for a black tie charity gala and this dress was perfect! The heavy crepe hung perfectly and skimmed my body. I probably needed the OL since the 2L was loose on my waist and hips, but it wasn't available. I felt comfortable, perfectly dressed and classy all night. This was my first RTR and I'll definitely be back!
Mandy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 7, 2015

I wore this to a black tie gala work event; it was beautiful and I received many compliments!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Work
This was my first time using Rent the Runway, and this dress was exactly what I was looking for. I loved the one-shoulder, timeless, elegant style; I wasn't sure how sizing ran, so I ordered a 4P and 6P; the 6 was too big and the 4 fit much better, but I think a 2P would have been perfect (that size wasn't available on my rental dates). The 4 was a bit loose in the waist area, but I didn't mind, as I'm not a fan of super-tight clothing; based on the description, it seems that it may have fit correctly (it looks loose on the model in the picture, too). I'm 5'1" tall and wore 3" heels and still felt the dress was a bit too long, but the dress was beautiful, I received many compliments throughout the night, and I will definitely be renting again in the future!
Rush
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
May 6, 2015

Elegant, classy dress. You won't be disappointed!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very forgiving. It was incredibly comfortable and gorgeous. I loved looking beautiful and being comfortable at the same time. Some reviewers have noted that it runs short. I'm a solid 5'6" and wore a 1.5 in Nina heel. Frankly, I loved not needing a super high heel, but if you like a taller heel you may want to consider the longer version of this dress.
stillersays
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 3, 2015

Great!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very happy I ordered the tall! Would have been too short otherwise with 3" shoes.
RTR Customer
May 1, 2015

I felt like a million bucks in this dress!! Hated having to take it off to send back.

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is the perfect material - heavy enough that it hangs well and skims your curves where needed. I ordered the regular length rather than the long because I usually do not wear super high heels, but it was almost too short. Thankfully, I had some kitten heels that worked well. I loved the fanned-out flounce of the skirt at the bottom. It is an amazing dress that I'll come back to if I have the opportunity again.
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Mar 30, 2015

Lots of compliments. Classic look is always a favorite . Would rent again.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs a little large in bust but 8 was little tight so went with 10.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Apr 22, 2015

This was my first rental experience and this dress couldn't have been more perfect!

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was initially skeptical of renting a dress but I am so glad I did. You just can't beat it. This dress is so much more stunning in person and looks very classy for any occasion. I wore it to a military function and got lots of compliments all night. My only complaint was the size zipper didn't want to lay flat, but I was able to mostly disguise it with a little ironing. I am usually between an 8-10 in dress sizes and I rented an 8 and a 6, since the size chart suggested to order a size down. The 8 fit like a glove and was very flattering! I definitely would recommend this dress and RTR.
Hannah
Age: 23
Apr 21, 2015

Very comfortable dress! Loved the one shoulder detail. I received so many compliments all night!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented both the 2R and the 4R not sure which one would fit better. The 2R fit perfectly! The length was right on top of my feet so it was perfect with 3" heels. Definitely a form fitting dress, but the fabric is heavy enough so the dress doesn't cling to your body. Very comfortable dress! I would definitely rent it again!
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

I enjoyed wearing the dress. It was perfect for the black tie event.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 2L and 4L. I wore the 2L. Perfect fit. I normally wear a size 4. The length was perfect with my 3" heels.
RTR Customer
Apr 15, 2015

Arrived on time and fit great!

Size worn: 16R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 14 and 16 ran close in size but the 14 was VERY short. I'm 5'4 and it was too short. The fit was great, forgiving material and very comfortable. I would highly recommend it!
Nicole
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

This dress was very flattering. It was perfect for my law school formal event.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress hit in exactly the right places! I usually wear an 8 or 10, but I ordered an 8 and 6 because I saw the reviews. I ended up wearing the 6 and it fit perfectly! I definitely recommend going down at least one size because it does run big! The material is nice because it is flattering. It is fully lined, so it might be a little warm if it is summertime.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 30, 2015

Elegant simple gown.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a black tie wedding, dress ran a bit big but I was pleased with it overall. Classic, classy, and elegant. I would recommend it!
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Gorgeous dress- so flattering!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 6L, which was a little big on me (I usually wear a 6 or an 8). I pinned the strapless side to my bra to hold it up and it was perfect. I ordered the long since my heels were high, but I could have probably gotten away with the regular. Loved this dress!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 12, 2015

Over the top fund raiser for the charlotte ballet with a dancing with the stars contest

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I wore a regular strapless bra. I could move easily in the dress. It was very elegant and tasteful. Well made dress with good quality fabric. The long size was perfect for wearing heels with my 5'9' height. R would have been too short
Paige
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

I felt very elegant in this dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was simple but elegant and very comfortable. I also loved that it has a small train in the back. The dress is made of a thicker material, so it fit perfectly without being too tight or hugging my midsection. I debated between ordering a regular vs. petite size, mostly afraid of it being too long since I am only 5'1. I went with the regular and somehow, it looked like it was tailored to my height, the length was perfect! I wore 3" heels.
Tatum
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 24, 2015

I wore this dress to a black tie political event.

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was classy and elegant. It did run a bit large in the waist but I couldn't size down because of my chest. (34 DD) Overall it was a great fit. I wore a 6L and with 3 inch heels my shoes showed slightly but it didn't bother me. Will definitely use RTR again!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 21, 2015

Perfect Customer Service!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
This was actually a back up dress.... But worked great as a bridesmaids dress. I received lots of compliments. The length was perfect with wedges (I was on my feet all day and night and wanted something comfy). You couldn't see them at all. The waist/tummy area was a little loose but that's my only negative. Beautiful dress! I rented another dress that was too short when it arrived. I called RTR, and they helped me pick out this dress and overnight end them to me! This dress worked! I will definitely recommend RTR and can't wait to rent again!
Ryan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

#1 Stunner!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect dress, my husband loved it. I'm a pear and the 4 long was a great fit. High quality. Would definitely recommend! The photo doesn't do the dress justice.
Vanessa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 6, 2015

Classy

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Wedding
Lovely dress that ran true to size and was comfortable all night. I was a little hesitant to order the long size at 5'7", but the length was absolutely perfect with my 3" heels.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

Beautiful dress. Comfortable fit

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I borrowed both the 6 and 8. The 8 was too large throughout the body. But comfortable for the bust. The size 6 dress fit better throughout. I usually wear a size 8 dress because of my bust size. I could fit comfortably into the 6. It did smush my breasts a little but for overall comfort I went with the 6. The ruffle in the shoulder I did notice flipped up a few times in pictures which looked funny at times.
blakely
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Dress was beautiful, comfortable, simply amazing! Very very very flattering!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
#jakieO
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

This is the PERFECT dress!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs true to size - I wore the 12L but I should have worn a 10L as it was a little too large. The fabric is heavy so you can wear it on a cold night. I've rented this dress in other colors as well and I love it. I am 5'4" and I wear 5.5" heels with it, so keep that in mind when you are renting.
Donna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 13, 2015

Simple, Elegant.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im 5'5, 120lbs and small busted and typically wear a 2 or 4. Im glad I ordered a long even though I don't typically wear long/tall clothes. I wore 3 inch heels with the dress and it lightly touched the ground.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

I wore this to Auto Prom. It was the perfect dress for a formal event.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's pretty long, so make sure to wear a shoe with a little heal. it's formal but comfortable.
natacha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Wore this dress to a black tie wedding, tons of compliments and very happy with it!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Initially I thought it was frumpy looking as there isn't much shape between the bust and the hips. But in the end it wasn't even noticeable since everything else about the dress is stunning. I loved the flowey back of the dress and it paired perfectly with kitten heels at this length. I would definitely rent again!!
Julie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Looked beautiful, felt extremely comfortable

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the dress to a black tie wedding/New Years eve bash. As many have said, it did run big - I am closer to a size 10/12 in dresses but wore an 8 in this dress. The zipper on the side did bump a little, but not bad, I had the 10L too but it would have been a bit too long and I didn't like that it seemed a little baggy. Length ended up great. I got a lot of compliments on it and felt beautiful.
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

Perfect for a black tie affair

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a black tie wedding. I received numerous compliments! I just had a baby 8 weeks ago and was nervous about the sizes. Before baby I wore an 8 so I ordered the 10 and 12 to be safe. Much to my surprise the 10 was still a little big on me, but worked well for the evening as I felt comfortable and didn't have to suck it in all night! :) I would have been interested in seeing how the 8 fit! But overall such a great experience, would absolutely use RTR again!
Ashley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Overall, I had a ton of compliments on the dress and would definitely rent again!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 2L ended up being a much better fit, the length was perfect with a 2-3 inch heel for someone my height (5'8). The bodice was slightly looser than I had imagined but it ended up for a better flow of the whole dress, although I had wished it fit a little more snug for the style of the dress. I do have to say I usually I wear a 0L however, the fit was weird. Where the dress zippers (side zipper) there it had an unappealing "bunching" effect, almost as if it had been hemmed by someone, and it made my hips look uneven and unflattering. The other thing was the 0L actually ran a little shorter than I expected, most likely due to it being a size 0. The 0L would probably be a better fit for a shorter person, maybe someone 5'6 and someone more petite, which might help the hemline situation.
janet
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

BEAUTIFUL DRESS!!!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
the 10L was a little big, however the 8L would have been perfect, RENT THE RUNWAY was unable to send me that size but did send me 2 similar style dresses. the one shoulder looked super cute!!! received a lot of compliments on the dress. the bottom of the back of the dress was a little longer so it kept getting stepped on so i had to pick it up. aside from that, i was extremely happy and felt beautiful in the dress. wore this to my best friends wedding and i am glad i chose it :)
Kelly
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Received so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit perfectly. I am a 36B and it seemed a little big in the top for me but didn't look too big. I wore 3 inch heels and it fell right to the ground. I did try a 3 inch heel with a slight platform and you could see my feet. Not sure if that's a deciding factor for some! Get the long if you're wearing higher heels. Loved it! Definitely recommend this dress.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Beware - you'll receive a ton of compliments. Beautiful dress, super elegant, and comfortable too.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was torn between this dress (which by the grace of Rent the Runway was a replacement since another dress I ordered was damaged) and a short dress for an outdoor fall wedding in Florida. I went back and forth and asked opinions from everyone (including the bride). Not a single person chose the other dress. This was a knockout...I received so many compliments, it was super comfortable, and the fabric is very forgiving. The armhole sleeve was a little snug at first but I barely even noticed it as the night went on. The fabric does bunch on the side where the zipper is, but nobody except myself seemed to notice. It's a bit of a high-low dress on the bottom, but it's very subtle. Do yourself a favor and give this dress a try, you won't be sorry!
hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

This dress is great for big busted women!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress runs large as everyone said, but it fit me perfectly and I am hard to fit with a small waist and big bust. The length was also perfect and I wore 3 inch heals. Great experience!
Beth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Elegant and comfortable

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress - it was the perfect blend of elegant sophistication. Runs true to size, if not slightly big. Thicker fabric, which makes it hang really well. Very comfortable to wear and move in. Like many others mentioned, the dress runs shorter than most long dresses - I could have easily worn a Long. This could also easily be dressed up or down. Loved the dress and will definitely rent again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×