Rent the Runway

Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

417 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 244
Large 146
Photos 193
Becca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

I received so many compliments on my attire that I felt like a 'marketing rep' for RTR for the evening! I had such a wonderful experience with my first time renting, I can't wait to do it again!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this gown for a black tie wedding and absolutely LOVED wearing it. I felt so fabulous and got a ton of compliments on my attire. I'd highly recommend this gown for a nice wedding or black tie event. Add the Gerard Yosca Emerald Eye Chandelier Earrings for some added bling! **One thing to note, I am 5'4 and the size 4 gown length worked fine for a small heel, however, if you are taller, I recommend getting a larger size as the length might be too short on you.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

One of my friends at work told me to wear the dress to work EVERY day because she loved it so much!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Simple but elegant! I wore this to a black-tie gala that I hosted for a charity fundraiser. It was a little big in the waist but still looked great! I loved it. I'm renting another fun dress for a formal party on Oscar night. LOVE RTR! So easy to wear and return!
Michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 1, 2012

The ease of selecting, renting and returning a beautiful gown without the expense of purchasing a gown to wear once and add to the collection in my closet that I will never wear again. Great experience

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting from RTR and I must say, they are AWESOME! This dress is stunning! I received so many compliments and felt as if I was the best dressed there. I will definately be renting again.
Sierra
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Apr 25, 2012

It was perfectly on time and the dresses were in perfect condition.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress! It was so classy, simple, and elegant! I added small red accents just to spice up the dress a little. I definitely recommend this dress to those considering ordering it!
Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 4, 2012

Went to a very fun event and felt completely confident in my RTR choice!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the White House Correspondents' Dinner and felt very glamorous among all the celebrities and media present. The dress runs true to size, is made of a nice, substantial material and the long size was great because even with my height I was able to wear heels. I would highly recommend this dress. In the photo, my daughter is also wearing a RTR dress!
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 14, 2012

I absolutely adore this dress! It fit perfectly and I got tons of compliments on it! I felt so confident and glamorous!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my prom and I loved it! It was elegant and years down the line I will look back knowing I made the perfect choice! It slimmed my body and fit like a glove! I couldn't have asked for a better dress!
Gabby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 19, 2012

True to Size! Loved it!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was comfortable and looked great in pictures. I definitely recommend this one!
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 12, 2012

amazing RTR customer service getting this dress replaced with hours to spare!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Originally I rented the navy version of this dress, but it arrived damaged and RTR was able to replace it overnight with the black version. For some strange reason, the black run significantly shorter than the navy. Not awful, but something to think about if you're debating between the two. Otherwise, I loved this dress and found it to run a bit large (I normally wear a 2 but had to wear the 0) Got tons of compliments and loved having a black dress that still stood out from the crowd.
shea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Aug 24, 2012

Prom 2012.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Such an awesome dress! It's true to its size and absolutely wonderful. Can't complain one bit about it!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Gorgeous and Sophisticated!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this gown for a black tie wedding and received lots of compliments. I had a baby just a few weeks prior, and this dress was not too form fitting, but still very flattering. I ordered both a 2L and 4L- the 4L was very short, and the 2L was just right...not quite sure what that was about, but just a warning to fellow renters... Overall though, the dress was perfect and I can't wait to use RTR again!
Peggy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Feeling regal and like a salsa dancer with the ruffles!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was super comfortable. The one shoulder was not constricting at all, and I received tons of compliments. The ruffles were the perfect amount of mature, and not too girly. Also, the ruffle extended down around my underarm - which was a flattering feature. The skirt was surprisingly flowy - yet contained - so it was SO fun to dance in!!
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 3, 2012

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a high-society wedding. While browsing for options I was hesitant at first because I thought it was maybe a little too plain, but it was just perfect – the fabric is heavenly, flows beautifully (the tourists at St Patrick’s Cathedral were thrilled), and the ruffle detail is stunning. Super comfortable, which you wouldn’t necessarily expect. For a little sparkle I accessorized with Jimmy Choo navy glitter heels and mini-tube clutch - I was complimented all night long. The dress is chic without being overkill – you cannot go wrong with it!
Paige
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Perfect NYC Engagement Moment!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my engagement photos and paired the dress with cowboy boots to pay homage to my Texas roots. Dress fit great. I am 5'11" and it was a little short, but nothing I couldn't live with. The fit is amazing!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

It really made me feel glamorous- I wore it to an advertising awards party and it was a hit!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little loose around the waist, but ended up being a good length for me with heels (I'm on the shorter side at 5'3." It was different enough from other long dresses that women were wearing to make
Julie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 21, 2012

Dress fit so comfortably! Felt Gorgeous!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was so comfortable! My only complaint was the hanger loops, to help hang the dress, kept coming out of the top of the dress...not a huge deal though! I felt so great in this dress! I loved the earrings they sent with my dress! I cannot wait to rent another dress with RTR!!!
Kathryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Classy, sophisticated and easy to wear.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a black tie function with co-workers so I wanted something formal and sophisticated, but safe and professional. This dress proved to be the perfect combination of all of the above. I received a ton of compliments, and the fit was flattering but forgiving, so I felt entirely appropriate around my boss and colleagues. I am 5'4", but with heels around 5'8". I should have probably ordered the 6L, as the 6R was slightly short in the front (in the back the dress is longer and the hem fell right at the floor).
Shelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

Total Elegance

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Had my heart set on a completely different gown that I wasn't able to receive due to Hurricane Sandy. Rented this one because it was available...and I'm glad I did. This dress is so simple and elegant at the same time...I felt 100 ft tall in this dress! You don't always need to have beading, sequins and so forth. The simplicity of this dress made it speak volumes. Absolutely stunning! This fit is very forgiving, slightly body consicous but not so much that it shows all your imperfections. If you are tall, you must get the Long size, especially if you like 4+ inch heels like myself. I will surely rent this dress again!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

Very Pretty Dress! If you have curves and a chest this dress is for you!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs big. I usually wear a 6 in David Meister and Bagley Mischka but the 6L was way too big on me. Probably need at least a size 4. However my sister who is 6 foot, usually wears a size 12, 36D chest had this dress in a 8L and looked stunning! So for all you girls with a chest and curves this dress is what you need! (Wish I had that because I love this dress.)
Riley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Nov 9, 2012

Usually you have to compromise between beauty and comfort, but this dress was the best of both!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried the dress would be too long, but in 2.5 inch heels, it just barely touched the floor.
kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Felt like a million bucks for a black tie affair!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great cut for women who are large on top. Did not feel like I was going to pop out while dancing the night away. Fabric is forgiving and the cut is not fitted through the bodice. Great with 3" heels! Elegant and stunning with a unique one-shoulder ruffle. I ordered a 2 and 4 to be sure and I was super comfy with the 4. Order a size smaller for your second option.
Michelle
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 14, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great. I wore it for a wedding. I got tons of complements. It fit perfect!
Kendra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 19, 2012

This was a STUNNING dress!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved everything about this dress. It was extremely flattering and hung nicely on all of my curves without looking too tight. It looked like this dress was made for me! I got so many compliments, felt gorgeous and was still comfortable while dancing the night away! Thank you RTR!!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

such a classy dress!!!!!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
perfect fit-true to size, i got the regular rather than the petit due to the fact i wore 6in aldo heels, and it was right on!!!!!
Rachel
Age: 21
Nov 21, 2012

I loved this dress! It was absolutely stunning.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'8" and this dress was not long enough, it barely hit the floor. I used it for evening wear in a pageant and it looked beautiful under the lights. I had to buy a different pair of heels to wear with the dress because I didn't want to wear flats in the pageant, but if it had been 2-3" longer it would have been perfect. I included a picture with a side view so that you can see the length of the dress, I was wearing 2" heels in this picture.
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

I'm hooked on RTR because of this dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
For my first RTR rental, I chose this dress for a formal benefit and masquerade ball and could not have been happier with my selection and overall experience. It was perfectly tailored to my body in a way that was both comfortable and flattering, which is unusual for me given I have a small waist and fairly large bust (34DD). At 5'7", the regular was a perfect length on me with 3" heels. I highly recommend this gown for any formal occasion as it can be easily accessorized and the ruffled sleeve adds just enough intrigue. Fun and elegant all at once!
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 4, 2012

Head turner!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I needed something elegant for a black tie wedding in NYC and this dress was perfect! It was gorgeous and it made me feel AMAZING. It fit true to size and the 12L was actually a lot longer than I expected (I'm 5'9 and wore 2" heels and it dragged slightly). But it dragged in the most awesome way. I LOVED this dress. My boyfriend kept asking if I had to send it back!
Caroline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 24, 2012

This dress made me feel like a movie star.

Size worn: 6P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. The 6P was the perfect length for me with 4 inch heels. I got a 6 and an 8 just incase, but luckily the 6 was a little too big! I highly recommend this!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Beautiful, beautiful gown.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the 10L, which was a little short on me. The 10L fit in the body better than the 12L did but the 12L had a better length for me. Ultimately I decided to go with the 10L. The dress is gorgeous, the material is forgiving and I didn't have to worry about wearing Spanx/control top undergarments to smooth me up. I was able to wear regular undergarments and look fine! Loved the dress, would highly recommend for a formal event.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Felt like I stepped off the runway!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress 2 months pregnant and it still looked great. Received tons of compliments, perfect for a formal dinner event.
Stacia M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

This dress is amazing. I wore it to a friends formal wedding and received numerous compliments!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 6 but the 4 fit better. It was a little snug around my arm but I am broad shouldered. Length was great on me with 3 inch heels. This dress was truly stunning though, I got so many compliments that I wish I owned this classic, gorgeous dress!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Twice that I have rented, I've picked my back dress! I got many compliments from women I did not kno

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Since it was the back up dress, I only had one size. I'm tall and taller than my husband as you can see from the picture...thankfully he doesn't care! The dress was VERY comfortable and it looked very elegant and classy. It was loose in the waist but fit my chest with an enhanced strapless bra so I'm not sure if a size 6 would have been too tight or not. I also wonder if the regular length may have been perfect for me to not wear heels but with the Long, I wore 3 inch platforms. The dress has a small train at the back which was very pretty but I did have people stepping on the back a few times. We were at the Detroit Auto Show Charity event and I received MANY compliments from women I did not know (so unsolicited comments) from the dress, my hair and I also rented earrings and bangles, so compliments from head to toe! I would rent this dress again! I'm 5-10.5, about 150 pds..enjoy and thanks again RTR!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Loved this classic dress!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress and the earrings! I felt very comfortable and received countless compliments. The dress was too big on me, however, because it's black and the venue was darkly lit, only I could tell it. It was classy, beautiful, and most importantly, I felt beautiful!
Lizzy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Awesome customer service, loved the dress!!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress fitted just right and it definitely was the highlight of the night
Erica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 1, 2013

This dress was elegant and simple and really figure flattering! Worn for Inaugural Ball!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My first choice was the red color but they were out it for that day. The dress fit me perfectly, and I'm really top heavy (34DDD) so I normally have a problem with the chest in dresses. This zipped up easily and my one strap bra did not show underneath. The material is really great so it doesn't show all of your bra lines. I'm 5'6 and I got the regular size that just hit the floor in flats (I have an injury and couldn't wear heels). If you want to wear high heels and are over 5'5, I'd consider getting a longer length. The RTR process was awesome. I will definitely be renting again!
MissO
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Simple, elegant, but runs big.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the NAACP Image Awards. I'm a solid 8, with a curvy top and bottom and this dress was too big. I placed my order late at night and for some reason ordered my size and a size up instead of a size down. I'm only 5'2" so it was long on me too, but I wore these gorgeous gold shoes and got to show them off while holding my dress up all the time. It was perfect for the occasion, not to fancy, not too plain, just right.
Katy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Just perfecdt!!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress. Wore it to the South Carolina State Society Inaugural Ball and thought it was perfect for the occasion!
Anna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

My date kept telling me I was the most beautiful girl at the party. I felt so beautiful in my dress.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a perfect fit and fit best in heels.
Bran
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 2, 2015

A little too plain...

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a back-up and I ended up not wearing it. I am an hourglass and the waist was too loose-fitting and made the dress look frumpy on me. I tried to get a beaded belt to go with it, but it didn't work. I think a 10 would have worked fine, it just wasn't available. Length was good for me being on the taller side. Customer service was excellent!
Meredith
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
Jun 17, 2015

It was a comfortable dress but slightly baggy through the hips (which is generally not my issue)

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit is roomy through the middle. Dress is flattering but I would suggest sizing down for your extra size. It is forgiving material.
sam
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 17, 2015

I loved the ruffle

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the fit was great other than it being a little short I had to wear flats but otherwise it was great and I received so many compliments
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×