Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$60 – $80 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
593 reviews
Fit
Large
(182)
True to Size
(327)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 27, 2013
I picked this as a backup. I didn't wear it, but it was lovey.
The fit runs a little big. I ordered the 10, which is my most true size and this ran roomy. The top was large (and I am a 38 C/D). It lovey, but a little "run of the mill" unless you snaz it up in some other way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
April 30, 2013
LOVE!
This gown is gorgeous!!!!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013
Gorgeous black dress. Fits well.
Fit is a tiny bit big. Beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 2, 2013
beautiful
this fit like a glove. was the perfect length and I felt super sexy. The ruffle wasn't stiff, which I was happy about.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215lbs
May 15, 2013
I got lots of compliments!
This dress fit well and I'm curvy/full-figured. I did wear spanx which helped it to fit well.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
May 28, 2013
Beautiful dress for a special occasion
I rented this dress as a test-run for a friend's wedding. It was in beautiful condition, the perfect length for my frame and quite a stand-out. The only drawback was a bit of a gap in the bust, which in combination with shoulder design, swallowed me up a bit. It is perfect for a girl taller with a larger bust!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
June 5, 2013
Dramatic but a little too old for my event
This dress is very pretty and dramatic, but I thought it was a little matronly for my event. Make sure to order a size down!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 5, 2013
Perfect black tie event dress!
Overall, the dress was perfect! It does seem to run on the large side, probably could have gotten away with wearing a 4R, but the 6R was fine. The material is heavy enough to cover flaws, but not so heavy that I felt weighed down by it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2013
It looked like it was tailored for me!
Perfect choice for our black tie formal dinner. Love the one shoulder sleeve detail. Stunning dress. Nice fabric, well made.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2013
Elegant dress, great for formal occasion.
This was my back-up dress and I didn't end up wearing it to my event. However, I definitely would have as it is a beautiful dress, I was surprised it was as nice as it was. It is on the conservative side so would be great for black-tie, formal, etc. The material is thick and drapes very nicely creating a smooth silhouette, skimming the body nicely, without hugging anywhere too tightly. I thought the shoulder detail was very pretty and asymmetrical trend is still going strong.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 24, 2013
Perfect! Fit like a glove!
I needed a formal dress to wear to the Tony Awards in New York and this dress was perfect! It's very simple but elegant and with the right accessories, can make people stop and take notice!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 25, 2013
Perfect for a Professional Black Tie Gala!
This was my second choice dress and I wish I woul dhave ordered it in a size smaller because it fit but was a little roomie, but I selected it because it was elegant and classy but had a little bit of flare with the ruffle on the one shoulder. As someone with a larger chest this dress had plenty of room and it only required a strapless bra and I did add a body shaper to smooth out around the hips. The dress was also a little longer for someone of my height so I recommend at least a 3 inch heel if you are 5'5 or shorter. I recieve many, many compliments on the dress, no one could believe that I rented the dress online!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 1, 2013
Very Elegant!
This is a beautiful dress! The bottom skirt has a lot of fabric, so it flows nicely around the legs. This also makes the dress a bit heavy, which might work better in the winter time. I am very tall, but the 8L was the exact right length.
AlexandraFedockOctober 18, 2013
How tall are you heels? I am the same height!
DarcyOctober 25, 2013
I'm 5'11" in bare feet...so about 6'2" in heels!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2013
I was the mother of the groom. The dress got raves and made me feel like a million bucks!
Comfortable to wear... sleek look...true to size...wore with high heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2013
Gorgeous dress helped me bring home the crown!
I wore this dress for a Ms. Pageant last weekend and it was simply stunning! The dress is extremely comfortable and drapes very nicely. I ordered the 6L and 8L. I would have prefered to wear the 6L for a tighter fit but that dress was too short for me to wear with 4-inch platform heels so I went with the 8L instead. The dress is shorter in the front than in the back. It is very comfortable. This is a simple but extremely elegant dress. Loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
September 4, 2013
Sophisticated and fun.
The dress is heavy fabric that holds up very nicely, but is probably too much for a summer wedding. The detail on the shoulder surprisingly stays up well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2013
This dress was simple and elegant and fit like a glove!
I was a little worried when I reserved this dress that it would be too narrow in the hips; however, it fit perfectly. The material was heavy enough that I didn't have to constantly worry about undergarment lines, but it wasn't so heavy that it was too much for an outdoor summer event. There was a slight train in the back, so I had to be careful not to snag that on anything. I absolutely loved the slight flare at the bottom of the skirt so the dress swooshed as I walked. I couldn't be happier with this dress and my overall RTR experience.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2013
Received so many compliments on this dress!
I think I actually could have gone one size smaller as it ran a bit larger through the midsection, but that also made it incredibly comfortable throughout the night.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 1, 2013
The dramatic one shoulder!
The 10 was actually a little big through the waist on me and very long, even with heels. I think I could have even gone with the 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 5, 2013
Beautiful dress!
The fit was a little short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2013
This dress is classic and flattering
I really liked the shape and overall fit. It was flattering and elegant. The black was nicer than the blue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2013
Great
The arm hole is comicly small, but overall it was a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2013
I rented this for a bridesmaid dress in a wedding! It was a hit. Everyone loved it and it.
It fit very well with a 3 in heel. It was a tiny bit long but nothing too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2013
Simple, but elegant dress!
I received numerous compliments on the dress - an ideal night! I ordered the size 2L and 4L and ended up wearing the latter. The 2L fit a little better, but was too short. The 4L fit OK and was the perfect length with a 1.5" heel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
November 8, 2013
Simple yet stunning
This was the backup dress I ordered but I ended up going with it instead. The one shoulder makes it a bit more fun and interesting than a plain black strapless dress. The dress might run just the slightest bit big, but is cut on the bias so it's very figure flattering and body skimming through the middle (at least for me). With a fun box clutch and some sparkly earrings I was good to go! I felt very understated yet elegant.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 10, 2013
Glamourous black tie dress
I wore this to a black tie fundraiser gala and it was PERFECT! It was so comfortable and elegant. I got so many compliments at the event and even text messages the next day asking where I go the beautiful gown! It runs a bit large in the top but not too bad. I ordered a 12L and the length was perfect (I am 5'6" and wore 4 inch heels). The bottom was so flowy and fun! I would def rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210lbs
November 11, 2013
Simply, elegant
My boyfriend actually picked this dress for a formal wedding we were attending. I ordered a 14 with a 16 as my back up size. Both sizes were a bit big on the top but the 14 fit better. Unfortunately, the 14 was too short to wear. I definitely wish I would have gotten it in a long. If you are curvy, consider getting this in a longer length. Other than the sizing issues, the dress turned out great. My mom pinned the top for me and I wore a shoe with a smaller heel. I felt gorgeous in it and got many compliments throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2013
I wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding. It was amazing! Gorgeous dress!
I read so many reviews of this dress. Many people said it ran big, but that was really not the case for me. It was pretty true to size. It wasn't that long (even with the long). I am pretty tall, but I had to wear flats with it. I was planning on wearing them anyways, but just keep that in mind when ordering. I also had to get another dress overnighted to me and the customer service at RTR was amazing. You might be on hold for a little while, but they will get you taken care of, that is for sure! I am honestly so happy with this dress and so glad I decided to rent it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2013
Very comfortable!
Fit was good- could have been more snug, the 4R fit well but was not tight to fit. Everyone loved it and was perfect for black tie!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
November 13, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering!
Ran a little big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 13, 2013
Loved how elegant I felt!
The whole, "Rent the Runway" experience was phenomenal. The dress came on time, fit great and the entire process was easy. I ordered another dress for a wedding immediately after. I am hooked!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2013
This dress was perfect for the debutant ball I attended! I got so many compliments!
The fit was perfect! Great, durable material and the length was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 66
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2013
So gorgeous
The dress fit perfectly. This was my "back up" dress. It was a little long for the shoes I needed to wear so I wore the other dress. Beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 8, 2013
LOVED IT!
It made me look awesome - very glamorous, but comfortable. I was able to dance in it all night too :) Perfect dress for a formal affair. I'm sure I'll be coming back for this one again in the near future.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2013
Amazing dress and the process couldn't be easier!
This was my first time using Rent the Runway. The dress was absolutely amazing - comfortable, true to size and elegant.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 19, 2015
Great dress, very flattering
I am VERY short, and this dress was still too short. At my height, it needed about 2 more inches to be the right size.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2013
Great dress!
I ordered the 4R and the 6R. I wore the 4R and it was easy to move around in and comfy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 11, 2012
Perfect Fit
Fits true to size. I got lots of compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 139lbs
December 17, 2013
Dress was gorgeous - very flattering and was complimented all night!
Dress ran true to size - I had tried it on in the showroom so only ordered my normal size. Recommend no necklace, but instead wear fun long earrings (which I rented from RTR as well) Also recommend wearing hair up to show off the shoulder of the dress. Length is perfect for my height + heels. Wore 3.5 inch heels. Amazing dress for a very formal event! Comfortable and danced all night long.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2013
The customer service was great and I loved wearing this dress!
I waited until the last minute to order a dress, so this one is my fault. I usually wear a 2P, but since that wasn't available, I got a 4P and a 2R. The R was wayyy too long and the 4P was a little big, but I still decided to go with the 4. The great thing about this dress is that the material is a little bit thicker which is good for the winter, but also is a little more flattering - no need for spanx! It was super comfortable and I felt great in it! Wish i had more pictures in it!
See more reviews:
4 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×