Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$60 – $80 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
643 reviews
Fit
Large
(186)
True to Size
(345)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
A classy, elegant dress!

I wore this dress to a black-tie-optional wedding this weekend. Overall, I was happy with it. The shoulder ruffles add some fun flair to an otherwise classic gown. I wish that I had ordered a 2, because the dress was a bit big (although definitely still workable, so I didn't bother trying to exchange it). Probably because it was a little large, I didn't feel like it was quite as flattering as it could have been--it was especially loose-fitting in the waist. I wore low-ish heels (probably 1.5 to 2 inches) and the dress dragged on the ground a bit, but not too much. In sum, I would advise sizing down for your backup size, but it's a really beautiful, fun dress! I got a lot of compliments.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2012
Great dress, but ran big through the chest area and also was too short on me wearing flats!

Great dress, but ran big through the chest area and also was too short on me wearing flats!

Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 24, 2012
This dress made me feel like a movie star.

I loved this dress. The 6P was the perfect length for me with 4 inch heels. I got a 6 and an 8 just incase, but luckily the 6 was a little too big! I highly recommend this!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
January 2, 2013
So many compliments!

This dress was a dream. I carry my weight in my hips/butt region and this dress skimmed those areas beautifully. I got compliments all night and even considering purchasing the dress to own - it would be a great addition for any last minute black tie events. I wore a 4R, but probably could have gotten away with a 2R.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 172lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful, beautiful gown.

I wore the 10L, which was a little short on me. The 10L fit in the body better than the 12L did but the 12L had a better length for me. Ultimately I decided to go with the 10L. The dress is gorgeous, the material is forgiving and I didn't have to worry about wearing Spanx/control top undergarments to smooth me up. I was able to wear regular undergarments and look fine! Loved the dress, would highly recommend for a formal event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
This dress is amazing. I wore it to a friends formal wedding and received numerous compliments!

I usually wear a 6 but the 4 fit better. It was a little snug around my arm but I am broad shouldered. Length was great on me with 3 inch heels. This dress was truly stunning though, I got so many compliments that I wish I owned this classic, gorgeous dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 23, 2013
THE DRESS IS MASSIVE. SIZE DOWN TWO SIZES.

I usually wear a 10 or 12 and I literally could have worn a 6. I wish I would have gotten the long size, but also I'm super tall.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
January 27, 2013
Pretty gown. Runs very large.

I ordered 2 sizes, 10R and 12R, and ended up wearing the 10R as the 12R was way too large. I am usually a 12R in all designer gowns/dresses and the 12R was way too large. The 10R fit well and was beautiful and comfortable to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 27, 2013
This was my backup! Never worn

Never worn!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 28, 2013
Loved this classic dress!

I absolutely loved this dress and the earrings! I felt very comfortable and received countless compliments. The dress was too big on me, however, because it's black and the venue was darkly lit, only I could tell it. It was classy, beautiful, and most importantly, I felt beautiful!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 6, 2013
Simple, elegant, but runs big.

I wore this dress to the NAACP Image Awards. I'm a solid 8, with a curvy top and bottom and this dress was too big. I placed my order late at night and for some reason ordered my size and a size up instead of a size down. I'm only 5'2" so it was long on me too, but I wore these gorgeous gold shoes and got to show them off while holding my dress up all the time. It was perfect for the occasion, not to fancy, not too plain, just right.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 11, 2013
Such a glamorous gown!

I am normally a size 6 and I am 5'6/7 but the long dress was a bit short with my 3 inch heels. I rented both the 6 & the 4 and both fit but the 4 was much more flattering -- so size down! Was also very tight in the chest which made it difficult for me to wear a bra. But overall, it was a gorgeous dress and I got lots of compliments on it!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 18, 2013
Spectacular dress. Very elegant and comfortable. Loved it!

It fits very nicely and the fabric is soft and nice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 151lbs
August 15, 2012
Great Dress

Very heavy/nice material. A lot of compliments. Beautiful and comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 174lbs
December 19, 2012
Loved it!

Simple and elegant, can't wait for next formal event to use rent the runway.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2013
Classic, sexy and comfy!

This dress is lovely! I ordered a 4R and 6R. The 4R fit me wonderfully except the zipper did NOT lay properly. It made a huge bubble. I think maybe it has been replaced because it was really noticeable. So, I ended up wearing the 6R and it was fine just didn't fit as nicely. It just sort of hung there. I wore about 3" heels and it was perfect. I do think this dress runs a little big.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 5, 2013
Classic and pretty!

I ordered a 2R and 4R. The 4R was a little big, but perfect length with 4'' heels. The 2R fit perfectly, but was a little too short for my heels, so I ended up wearing the larger size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 19, 2013
Gorgeous dress in person, but unfortunately, it was a little too large in the chest area.

Gorgeous dress in person, but unfortunately, it was a little too large in the chest area. Not the dresses's fault!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 3, 2013
did not wear, ran big

beautiful dress

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
April 3, 2013
CLASSIC! Loved it!

This is such a classic dress! It ran a little big, but a little short. I rented late, but I would have liked a 2L or a 4L. I would totally rent this again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 18, 2013
Sadly this dress didn't work for me at all...

I was fairly disappointed by this dress. I am a very consistent 4 but this dress was HUGE on me and didn't fit my waist at all, so much so that I ended up wearing my back up RTR dress instead. I was also surprised by the material, it was very heavy and thick and had a train on the back that I wasn't expecting. The long was way too long on me, even with my highest heels, but since I was working at my non-profit's black tie gala that night I knew the train wouldn't work and someone was going to step on the back of it. Overall, I still love the ruffle on the shoulder, but it's just not built for girls with any hips that don't want to look like tents.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 27, 2013
I picked this as a backup. I didn't wear it, but it was lovey.

The fit runs a little big. I ordered the 10, which is my most true size and this ran roomy. The top was large (and I am a 38 C/D). It lovey, but a little "run of the mill" unless you snaz it up in some other way.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013
Gorgeous black dress. Fits well.

Fit is a tiny bit big. Beautiful dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215lbs
May 15, 2013
I got lots of compliments!

This dress fit well and I'm curvy/full-figured. I did wear spanx which helped it to fit well.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
June 5, 2013
Dramatic but a little too old for my event

This dress is very pretty and dramatic, but I thought it was a little matronly for my event. Make sure to order a size down!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 5, 2013
Perfect black tie event dress!

Overall, the dress was perfect! It does seem to run on the large side, probably could have gotten away with wearing a 4R, but the 6R was fine. The material is heavy enough to cover flaws, but not so heavy that I felt weighed down by it.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2013
Elegant dress, great for formal occasion.

This was my back-up dress and I didn't end up wearing it to my event. However, I definitely would have as it is a beautiful dress, I was surprised it was as nice as it was. It is on the conservative side so would be great for black-tie, formal, etc. The material is thick and drapes very nicely creating a smooth silhouette, skimming the body nicely, without hugging anywhere too tightly. I thought the shoulder detail was very pretty and asymmetrical trend is still going strong.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 25, 2013
Perfect for a Professional Black Tie Gala!

This was my second choice dress and I wish I woul dhave ordered it in a size smaller because it fit but was a little roomie, but I selected it because it was elegant and classy but had a little bit of flare with the ruffle on the one shoulder. As someone with a larger chest this dress had plenty of room and it only required a strapless bra and I did add a body shaper to smooth out around the hips. The dress was also a little longer for someone of my height so I recommend at least a 3 inch heel if you are 5'5 or shorter. I recieve many, many compliments on the dress, no one could believe that I rented the dress online!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2013
Gorgeous dress helped me bring home the crown!

I wore this dress for a Ms. Pageant last weekend and it was simply stunning! The dress is extremely comfortable and drapes very nicely. I ordered the 6L and 8L. I would have prefered to wear the 6L for a tighter fit but that dress was too short for me to wear with 4-inch platform heels so I went with the 8L instead. The dress is shorter in the front than in the back. It is very comfortable. This is a simple but extremely elegant dress. Loved it!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 1, 2013
The dramatic one shoulder!

The 10 was actually a little big through the waist on me and very long, even with heels. I think I could have even gone with the 8.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210lbs
November 11, 2013
Simply, elegant

My boyfriend actually picked this dress for a formal wedding we were attending. I ordered a 14 with a 16 as my back up size. Both sizes were a bit big on the top but the 14 fit better. Unfortunately, the 14 was too short to wear. I definitely wish I would have gotten it in a long. If you are curvy, consider getting this in a longer length. Other than the sizing issues, the dress turned out great. My mom pinned the top for me and I wore a shoe with a smaller heel. I felt gorgeous in it and got many compliments throughout the night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
November 13, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering!

Ran a little big.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 13, 2013
Loved how elegant I felt!

The whole, "Rent the Runway" experience was phenomenal. The dress came on time, fit great and the entire process was easy. I ordered another dress for a wedding immediately after. I am hooked!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 8, 2013
LOVED IT!

It made me look awesome - very glamorous, but comfortable. I was able to dance in it all night too :) Perfect dress for a formal affair. I'm sure I'll be coming back for this one again in the near future.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2014
Gorgeous, classy, elegant.

I wore this dress for a black tie wedding in D.C. !!! It was definitely a great fit. I wore a strapless bra and used some of the fashion tape to help secure the dress in all the right places. All you need is some statement earrings, and you are set! Definitely recommend. I liked it so much I almost rented it again for another black tie wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 23, 2014
2

runs large in the hips and waist... i'm 5'1 and ordered a regular and the tops of my shoes were visible.

Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 16, 2014
Overall, I loved this dress and was pleased with the rental.

The reviews helped me to select the right size. I was happy that the dress was not to clingy through the tummy/rear. However, I did have to secure the top with the fashion tape that was provided. This dress would work well for someone who is bustier than me.

MandyFebruary 16, 2014
I forgot to mention the length was perfect with a 3" heel. There is a little bit of a 'train' in the back, but it never caused me any trouble even though we danced most of the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
February 17, 2014
Classic, comfortable and GREAT in pictures!

The fit of this dress definitely runs on the larger side. I wear a 6 in 'street clothes' but rarely EVER anything smaller than an 8 in formal dresses. The 8 in this was very large and loose on me. I'm glad I ordered the 6P for my backup. The length was PERFECT - I'm 5'1" and I wore 3" heels. And the fit was incredible! I wore a strapless bra (I tend to HATE strapless bras b/c they fall constantly) - but this dress was snug enough on top that it held it all in - and the waist was just fitted enough that I was able to add a stretch beaded belt for a little "bling." I had SO many compliments all night! Thank you RTR for the perfect dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 21, 2014
Felt like a million bucks

Love love love this dress and would buy in a heartbeat. It's just a great dress to wear for black tie when you aren't quite sure how dresses up people are going to get. Very classy and font too tight though it still shows off curves. Sexy but restrained.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
February 22, 2014
Sent as a replacement dress

This was sent as a replacement for a dress that was damaged. It is a beautiful gown, but runs big in the torso area so I felt frumpy in the tummy region with this. The gown itself is stunning...if you could find a great sash to tighten up the tummy it would be a beautiful statement dress. I didn't wear it, but if the tummy region was tighter on the dress it would have been a knock out!

See more reviews:
4 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×