Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
516 reviews
Fit
Large170
True to Size293
Small7
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 44
October 1, 2015
Black Tie Wedding of best friend
The dress is very elegant, not too snug but just fitted enough, I wore the 4R (5'4", 120lbs.) It was pretty long since I am 5'4", I brought 2 pair of shoes with me, I had 5 inch heels that worked and could walk in the dress without it touching the floor. Then I switched to more comfortable 3 inch heels for the dancing, it touched the floor a bit but was fine and danced until 2 am!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2015
I must have looked good, because he proposed!
Even though the 4 was loose through the waist (so loose that the zipper bunched when I sat down), it was a better fit in the bust than the backup size 2, which was perfect through the waist and hips but way too snug up top. I was incredibly happy and comfortable in the 4. I chose a small heel, about 2 inches, and the length was perfect. It is a stunning dress and I felt very glamorous.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 25, 2015
This dress was fit perfectly-- it was simple and stunning!
The crepe makes it hang and you didn't have to suck in your tummy! Perfect and comfortable.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
September 24, 2015
After my orig dress was stolen, RTR came thru and found me this backup. EVERYONE had a compliment.
It fit a little strange around my waist and stomach, but there's also a large differential between my waist and hips, and with the material not having a lot of give, that strange fit was unsurprising. The Long would've been preferable, but the Regular was fine with my platform heels-- you can see the toes poking out in the photo.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 21, 2015
Tons of compliments all night long!
The dress fit perfectly and I got a ton of compliments all night! I wore about 4 inch heels and the dress skimmed the floor perfectly! I would highly recommend!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 20, 2015
This dress made me feel glamorous and beautiful'
I received a ton of compliments on this dress! It was comfortable all night long. It does hug your curves, so if you're a little self conscious, wear Spanx or other body smoothing undergarments. The only negative was that the zipper didn't lay flat against me, but no one seemed to notice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 17, 2015
I unfortunately do not have a single picture of myself in this dress, but it was lovely.
I had just had a baby and was very unhappy with my size. This dress made me feel gorgeous and I got a lot of compliments. Fits true to size and is extremely flattering.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
September 14, 2015
This dress was super comfortable and very flattering.
I'm 5'6, 140 lbs. and usually wear a 4 or a 6. I wore the 4R with 1.5 inch heels and the length was good on the regular.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 14, 2015
Perfect bridesmaid dress!
I wore this in a friend's wedding since she let us all chose different floor length black dresses. This was stunning! With 4 inch heels, I needed to go with the XL length. The regular length was too short for me. The fabric is expensive and drapes really well. High recommend this for any black tie event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 13, 2015
Classy and slimming!
This dress was classy and slimming - 11 days after giving birth, I was shocked how much I loved it! I paired it with a pretty gold belt, pulled my hair back, and wore gold and green chandelier earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2015
Gorgeous dress
I received lots of compliments on this dress. The size 4 was too tight in the bust and the size 6 was a tiny bit too big. I went with the 6 and it was fine. It looked great and I felt comfortable. Nice, heavy fabric moves beautifully. Great dress. Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 2, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress. I received so many compliments. Made me feel like a million bucks
The dress was heavier than I expected but so well worth it.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
September 1, 2015
Black tie outdoor wedding
I had ordered the 8 Long based on previous reviews and the fact that I am usually a size 8 in dresses. However, the 8 L was too long for me, even in heels (I'm 5'9"). Then, I tried on my back up 6 L, and it was perfect! It was a comfortable and beautiful dress that I received compliments on all night long. I wish I could have kept it!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable
It was really fun and easy to wear. I'm 5'3" and wore 3" heels and the 4R worked perfectly. I also got the 6R but didn't even need to try it on. The middle has a lot of room which was good for me. Loved it so much!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 29, 2015
The way the dress fit and looked!
Was a great dress!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 27, 2015
Loved the dress. It was classic, simple and elegant. I wore it to a black tie wedding in NYC.
I'm a 0 or 2 pretty much across the board. This dress fit great in a 2, but also think a 0 would have fit, may have just been a bit more snug.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2015
Classic and beautiful!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding at the Harvard Club, so it was very formal. The dress was beautiful and perfect for the event - both formal and reserved. It was a bit short, you could see my shoes - which were about 4 inches and I am 5'6. Otherwise, the fabric is thick and doesn't wrinkle and the cut is lose enough around the middle to allow for plenty of eating and celebrating. I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 7, 2015
Dress looked great!
I thought the dress would end up being too long based on the reviews but it fit just right as is. The black blended into everyone else's black tuxes and dresses so it was hard to see the shape of the dress in photos.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
July 23, 2015
Wore this classic gown to a formal event and it was wonderful
Great first experience with RTR, flattering fit despite my imperfect body type and i felt like a princess!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
June 25, 2015
It's pretty but the fit was a little awkward and the long was short.
I ordered the 12R and 12L. The regular was at my ankles and the long didn't hit the ground with bare feet. It's a beautiful dress and I got lots of compliments but the fit around the bust was funny - there's some ruching on the side that didn't fit to my form correctly, I think my natural waist is lower that that of the dress - hence the issue. Usually dresses are far too small for me in the bust so I was surprised that this fit as well as it did.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2015
I orders the 6 and 4 and the 4 fit perfect. Always great when the smaller size fits.
It was fabulous. Great quality, great fit and great price. Thank you RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2015
Perfect for a black tie!
I rented this dress for a black tie gala and it was perfect. I rented the 0 Regular and the 0 Long and I'm glad I got the long because the regular was way too short (I'm 5'7"). It does have a slight hi lo going on, so the front shows your shoes a little bit and the back is longer. Overall, great dress! Sad to send it back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
June 22, 2015
Simple and elegant
This dress was so much fun to wear to a scholarship ball. It's simple but so classic and elegant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2015
I loved the ruffle
the fit was great other than it being a little short I had to wear flats but otherwise it was great and I received so many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
June 17, 2015
It was a comfortable dress but slightly baggy through the hips (which is generally not my issue)
Fit is roomy through the middle. Dress is flattering but I would suggest sizing down for your extra size. It is forgiving material.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 3, 2015
I got so many compliments and felt very fancy! Can't wait to rent another dress.
I was afraid of the dress being too long since I don't like big heels and many reviews mentioned wearing high ones. Ultimately I should have gotten the long option. It was a little too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 3, 2015
This dress fit like a glove! Beautiful! I am 5'8"and wear a size 6. The 6L was perfect!
I would definitely recommend a long in this dress if you're 5'6" or taller and planning to wear heels. Gorgeous dress. And comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 2, 2015
A little too plain...
This dress was a back-up and I ended up not wearing it. I am an hourglass and the waist was too loose-fitting and made the dress look frumpy on me. I tried to get a beaded belt to go with it, but it didn't work. I think a 10 would have worked fine, it just wasn't available. Length was good for me being on the taller side. Customer service was excellent!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2015
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments!!!
Just fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
June 1, 2015
It was classic. I got tons of compliments. It was also really comfortable which was an added bonus.
It fit true to size and hugged my curves. The length was perfect for me with 4" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 178lbs
May 24, 2015
From the minute I got out of the car, I received complements on this dress!
The fabric of this dress is so lovely. Everything lays nicely. I had complements all night and I am not a small gal. I normally wear a solid 12. But, the 10L fit well on me - there was even some room. Although, it is a bit of a heavy dress, so if wearing it in the summer you may be a little warm at times. I would get this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2015
Great experience- great dress!
Initially I ordered the 6L with the 8L as the back up. I'm usually a size 6 or 8 depending on the dress- and I'm 5'5" so I went with the L to ensure length with heels. The 6 was too big. I was *thankfully* able to have a 4R sent overnight and it fit perfectly! Definitely recommend going a size down. The dress had a little give and it was comfortable and elegant.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2015
Stunning, stunning dress!
I originally ordered the dress in a 6 in navy blue and they didn't have the 4 available for a backup. As soon as I tried it on and realized it was too big and I called RTR to ask if a 4 had become available. The 4 in blue wasn't available but they over-nighted the black and red options (I just had to pay shipping! They are awesome!) and they both fit perfectly. I wore 4 inch heels and the length was absolutely perfect! I could not believe how well the dress fit with no alterations- not an easy thing for someone who is 5'3! I didn't even have to wear a bra. The dress is super comfortable and very flattering. The only negative thing was having to send it back! I was sad when the event was over because the dress is so beautiful it really makes you feel stunning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 18, 2015
The dress was for my 17 year old for voice recital, very elegant and such a classic.
Fit perfect but runs a little big should have gotten a 2 but I do not regret she received so many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
May 11, 2015
This dress was perfect for the NYC Black Tie Wedding I attended!
This dress was a perfect fit. I thought I would need the 4 but it was too large on on the top. The 2R was perfect. I wore a pump with this dress and it was the perfect length for me, once I changed to flats for dancing until 5am, i did drag a bit on the floor but it didn't keep me from dancing the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 9, 2015
comfortable dress
true to size; very comfortable to sit, dance and move around in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
May 8, 2015
Classic dress, beautiful fabric!
I ordered this for a black tie charity gala and this dress was perfect! The heavy crepe hung perfectly and skimmed my body. I probably needed the OL since the 2L was loose on my waist and hips, but it wasn't available. I felt comfortable, perfectly dressed and classy all night. This was my first RTR and I'll definitely be back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 7, 2015
I wore this to a black tie gala work event; it was beautiful and I received many compliments!
This was my first time using Rent the Runway, and this dress was exactly what I was looking for. I loved the one-shoulder, timeless, elegant style; I wasn't sure how sizing ran, so I ordered a 4P and 6P; the 6 was too big and the 4 fit much better, but I think a 2P would have been perfect (that size wasn't available on my rental dates). The 4 was a bit loose in the waist area, but I didn't mind, as I'm not a fan of super-tight clothing; based on the description, it seems that it may have fit correctly (it looks loose on the model in the picture, too). I'm 5'1" tall and wore 3" heels and still felt the dress was a bit too long, but the dress was beautiful, I received many compliments throughout the night, and I will definitely be renting again in the future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
May 7, 2015
Loved this dress! Very elegant and sophisticated. I got complimented all night.
No cons. Perfect fit on my body type. The 4L was also a good fit but I went with the 6L for the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
May 6, 2015
Elegant, classy dress. You won't be disappointed!
This dress is very forgiving. It was incredibly comfortable and gorgeous. I loved looking beautiful and being comfortable at the same time. Some reviewers have noted that it runs short. I'm a solid 5'6" and wore a 1.5 in Nina heel. Frankly, I loved not needing a super high heel, but if you like a taller heel you may want to consider the longer version of this dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×