Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

375 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 226
Large 133
Photos 170
Gabby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 19, 2012

True to Size! Loved it!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was comfortable and looked great in pictures. I definitely recommend this one!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Gorgeous and Sophisticated!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this gown for a black tie wedding and received lots of compliments. I had a baby just a few weeks prior, and this dress was not too form fitting, but still very flattering. I ordered both a 2L and 4L- the 4L was very short, and the 2L was just right...not quite sure what that was about, but just a warning to fellow renters... Overall though, the dress was perfect and I can't wait to use RTR again!
Kendra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 19, 2012

This was a STUNNING dress!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved everything about this dress. It was extremely flattering and hung nicely on all of my curves without looking too tight. It looked like this dress was made for me! I got so many compliments, felt gorgeous and was still comfortable while dancing the night away! Thank you RTR!!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

such a classy dress!!!!!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
perfect fit-true to size, i got the regular rather than the petit due to the fact i wore 6in aldo heels, and it was right on!!!!!
Rachel
Age: 21
Nov 21, 2012

I loved this dress! It was absolutely stunning.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'8" and this dress was not long enough, it barely hit the floor. I used it for evening wear in a pageant and it looked beautiful under the lights. I had to buy a different pair of heels to wear with the dress because I didn't want to wear flats in the pageant, but if it had been 2-3" longer it would have been perfect. I included a picture with a side view so that you can see the length of the dress, I was wearing 2" heels in this picture.
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

I'm hooked on RTR because of this dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
For my first RTR rental, I chose this dress for a formal benefit and masquerade ball and could not have been happier with my selection and overall experience. It was perfectly tailored to my body in a way that was both comfortable and flattering, which is unusual for me given I have a small waist and fairly large bust (34DD). At 5'7", the regular was a perfect length on me with 3" heels. I highly recommend this gown for any formal occasion as it can be easily accessorized and the ruffled sleeve adds just enough intrigue. Fun and elegant all at once!
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 4, 2012

Head turner!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I needed something elegant for a black tie wedding in NYC and this dress was perfect! It was gorgeous and it made me feel AMAZING. It fit true to size and the 12L was actually a lot longer than I expected (I'm 5'9 and wore 2" heels and it dragged slightly). But it dragged in the most awesome way. I LOVED this dress. My boyfriend kept asking if I had to send it back!
Caroline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 24, 2012

This dress made me feel like a movie star.

Size worn: 6P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. The 6P was the perfect length for me with 4 inch heels. I got a 6 and an 8 just incase, but luckily the 6 was a little too big! I highly recommend this!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 2, 2013

Beautiful, beautiful gown.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the 10L, which was a little short on me. The 10L fit in the body better than the 12L did but the 12L had a better length for me. Ultimately I decided to go with the 10L. The dress is gorgeous, the material is forgiving and I didn't have to worry about wearing Spanx/control top undergarments to smooth me up. I was able to wear regular undergarments and look fine! Loved the dress, would highly recommend for a formal event.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Felt like I stepped off the runway!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress 2 months pregnant and it still looked great. Received tons of compliments, perfect for a formal dinner event.
Stacia M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

This dress is amazing. I wore it to a friends formal wedding and received numerous compliments!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 6 but the 4 fit better. It was a little snug around my arm but I am broad shouldered. Length was great on me with 3 inch heels. This dress was truly stunning though, I got so many compliments that I wish I owned this classic, gorgeous dress!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Twice that I have rented, I've picked my back dress! I got many compliments from women I did not kno

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Since it was the back up dress, I only had one size. I'm tall and taller than my husband as you can see from the picture...thankfully he doesn't care! The dress was VERY comfortable and it looked very elegant and classy. It was loose in the waist but fit my chest with an enhanced strapless bra so I'm not sure if a size 6 would have been too tight or not. I also wonder if the regular length may have been perfect for me to not wear heels but with the Long, I wore 3 inch platforms. The dress has a small train at the back which was very pretty but I did have people stepping on the back a few times. We were at the Detroit Auto Show Charity event and I received MANY compliments from women I did not know (so unsolicited comments) from the dress, my hair and I also rented earrings and bangles, so compliments from head to toe! I would rent this dress again! I'm 5-10.5, about 150 pds..enjoy and thanks again RTR!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Loved this classic dress!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress and the earrings! I felt very comfortable and received countless compliments. The dress was too big on me, however, because it's black and the venue was darkly lit, only I could tell it. It was classy, beautiful, and most importantly, I felt beautiful!
Lizzy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Awesome customer service, loved the dress!!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress fitted just right and it definitely was the highlight of the night
Erica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 1, 2013

This dress was elegant and simple and really figure flattering! Worn for Inaugural Ball!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My first choice was the red color but they were out it for that day. The dress fit me perfectly, and I'm really top heavy (34DDD) so I normally have a problem with the chest in dresses. This zipped up easily and my one strap bra did not show underneath. The material is really great so it doesn't show all of your bra lines. I'm 5'6 and I got the regular size that just hit the floor in flats (I have an injury and couldn't wear heels). If you want to wear high heels and are over 5'5, I'd consider getting a longer length. The RTR process was awesome. I will definitely be renting again!
MissO
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Simple, elegant, but runs big.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the NAACP Image Awards. I'm a solid 8, with a curvy top and bottom and this dress was too big. I placed my order late at night and for some reason ordered my size and a size up instead of a size down. I'm only 5'2" so it was long on me too, but I wore these gorgeous gold shoes and got to show them off while holding my dress up all the time. It was perfect for the occasion, not to fancy, not too plain, just right.
Katy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Just perfecdt!!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress. Wore it to the South Carolina State Society Inaugural Ball and thought it was perfect for the occasion!
Anna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

My date kept telling me I was the most beautiful girl at the party. I felt so beautiful in my dress.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a perfect fit and fit best in heels.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

Seven years out from Stage 3B breast cancer, double mastectomy - this dress made me feel gorgeous.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is simply beautiful, rich and flowing skirt. The one shoulder is flattering, even with a lymphedema sleeve on! Gorgeous, stunning dress.
C
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Classic, sexy and comfy!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is lovely! I ordered a 4R and 6R. The 4R fit me wonderfully except the zipper did NOT lay properly. It made a huge bubble. I think maybe it has been replaced because it was really noticeable. So, I ended up wearing the 6R and it was fine just didn't fit as nicely. It just sort of hung there. I wore about 3" heels and it was perfect. I do think this dress runs a little big.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Perfect length!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect! I was concerned about the length so I ordered an 8R and a 6L and ended up wearing the 6L. Both were about the same length, but the dress actually looked better a little on the snug side. I got compliments all night and everyone loved the one shoulder. I also really loved the bottom of the dress (can't see in this picture) because it flared out just enough that I felt like Princess Diana in the picture where she is dancing with John Travolta.
Christine
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Mar 10, 2013

This dress made me feel glamorous!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. It was perfect and so very suitable for the black tie wedding! I Ordered the 8R and 10R as I'm between sizes and the 8 fit great! It was the perfect length. I am 5'5 and wore 3.5 inch heels and it swept the floor just right. The only thing was that it was a bit big in the bust area, but not unbearable. With that being said, I never felt so glamorous wearing this dress!
Cate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 23, 2013

NYE Wedding Perfection

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit so perfectly. I had knee surgery and couldn't wear heels and this dress was perfect for me to wear with my flat sandals. I'm not super curvy and it made me look like I was. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Complete strangers complimented me about "my" beautiful gown! (It screams couture!)

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'4" and I am a true size 2, but I opted to order the 0L and the 2L because I like to wear very tall, platform heels. I am delighted I made that decision because the L was the perfect length to accommodate the shoes I wanted to wear. I used the 0L because I am very slight on the top and it was perfect. The fabric of the dress is such high quality it falls beautifully. The cut is perfect and not clingy or tight, so it would work on any shape of body. I was delighted and surprised that the bottom of the gown swirls slightly when you walk- like poetry in motion. I'm sad I have to give her back...... but overjoyed by my rent the runway experience.
Jenny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 4R and the 6R. I wore the 4R and it was easy to move around in and comfy.
Christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 12, 2013

Next time!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and really hoped it would work, but was a bit too large for my small frame. Wish I could have gotten the 2P but it was all sold out.
Nakali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 189 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Accidentally Received, Not thought to be my style, turned out perfectly!!!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The girl before me that rented the dress I originally rented destroyed it and so they sent me this one as a replacement. I never thought I would like myself in this dress but it was wonderful on, I received compliments all night. It is very elegant and I loved how the hem kicked up in flutters as I walked. A 100% win and I will rent it again.
Janelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

I fit in the smaller size!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have some extra weight on me that I haven't lost from going overboard during pregnancy. I carry most of it in my belly, so it is sometimes hard to look good, especially since I used to be tiny. This dress was nice for giving a sleek look. The smaller size held everything in better. I wore spanx to smooth everything out and it looked great. Great dress. Very comfortable.
Amy
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

What a wonderful night with my hubby at our Deb Ball!

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is made for a lady with curves! Best fit of my life! LOVED it!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215 lbs
May 15, 2013

I got lots of compliments!

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit well and I'm curvy/full-figured. I did wear spanx which helped it to fit well.
SC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

It looked like it was tailored for me!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect choice for our black tie formal dinner. Love the one shoulder sleeve detail. Stunning dress. Nice fabric, well made.
Rosalind
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 24, 2013

Perfect! Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a formal dress to wear to the Tony Awards in New York and this dress was perfect! It's very simple but elegant and with the right accessories, can make people stop and take notice!
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

Perfect for a Professional Black Tie Gala!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my second choice dress and I wish I woul dhave ordered it in a size smaller because it fit but was a little roomie, but I selected it because it was elegant and classy but had a little bit of flare with the ruffle on the one shoulder. As someone with a larger chest this dress had plenty of room and it only required a strapless bra and I did add a body shaper to smooth out around the hips. The dress was also a little longer for someone of my height so I recommend at least a 3 inch heel if you are 5'5 or shorter. I recieve many, many compliments on the dress, no one could believe that I rented the dress online!
Darcy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Very Elegant!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress! The bottom skirt has a lot of fabric, so it flows nicely around the legs. This also makes the dress a bit heavy, which might work better in the winter time. I am very tall, but the 8L was the exact right length.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Gorgeous dress helped me bring home the crown!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a Ms. Pageant last weekend and it was simply stunning! The dress is extremely comfortable and drapes very nicely. I ordered the 6L and 8L. I would have prefered to wear the 6L for a tighter fit but that dress was too short for me to wear with 4-inch platform heels so I went with the 8L instead. The dress is shorter in the front than in the back. It is very comfortable. This is a simple but extremely elegant dress. Loved it!
Hali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

This dress was simple and elegant and fit like a glove!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was a little worried when I reserved this dress that it would be too narrow in the hips; however, it fit perfectly. The material was heavy enough that I didn't have to constantly worry about undergarment lines, but it wasn't so heavy that it was too much for an outdoor summer event. There was a slight train in the back, so I had to be careful not to snag that on anything. I absolutely loved the slight flare at the bottom of the skirt so the dress swooshed as I walked. I couldn't be happier with this dress and my overall RTR experience.
Suzanne
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 10, 2013

Glamourous black tie dress

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie fundraiser gala and it was PERFECT! It was so comfortable and elegant. I got so many compliments at the event and even text messages the next day asking where I go the beautiful gown! It runs a bit large in the top but not too bad. I ordered a 12L and the length was perfect (I am 5'6" and wore 4 inch heels). The bottom was so flowy and fun! I would def rent it again!
Kristyn
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2013

I wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding. It was amazing! Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I read so many reviews of this dress. Many people said it ran big, but that was really not the case for me. It was pretty true to size. It wasn't that long (even with the long). I am pretty tall, but I had to wear flats with it. I was planning on wearing them anyways, but just keep that in mind when ordering. I also had to get another dress overnighted to me and the customer service at RTR was amazing. You might be on hold for a little while, but they will get you taken care of, that is for sure! I am honestly so happy with this dress and so glad I decided to rent it.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Nov 13, 2013

Loved how elegant I felt!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The whole, "Rent the Runway" experience was phenomenal. The dress came on time, fit great and the entire process was easy. I ordered another dress for a wedding immediately after. I am hooked!
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Nov 19, 2013

This dress was gorgeous. Loved the shoulder detail.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a bit looser but still snug enough where it didn't look bad. Unfortunately, the long was still too short as I am 5'10". I didn't wear heels though, so I was able to conceal my shoes for the most part.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×