Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
618 reviews
Fit
Large
(184)
True to Size
(338)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2017
Beautiful flattering dress!
An elegant simple flattering dress is hard to find. This is it! Nicely lined and well tailored to be flattering and not too tight! Runs large. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 24, 2017
Gorgeous gown!
This dress was amazing! Fit perfectly, even the length! I wore the 10p and usually Vary between a 10-12 because I have a large bust. This dress was great! Totally recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 30, 2017
Cute but short
Nice stretchy dress. I could only get a regular and it was far to short for anything but flats. Very comfortable and travels well without wrinkles
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2017
First time to RTR, and I'd do it again!
This dress is very elegant, the 4p and 6 p fit very similarly, but the 4p felt more secure in the top. I'm 5'2 and the length was perfect with 4" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
November 14, 2017
Perfect for a Black tie wedding
Minus my face in this photo, the dress was stunning! Very comfortable and a perfect length with my 2.5 inch heels. (I'm 5'6). The only thing slightly uncomfortable was that it was a little tight in the shoulder because I️ am a little broader shouldered. Definitely is flattering on an athletic body build with little curves
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 22, 2017
Classic and classy
The dress is beautiful with just enough flare to turn heads. The fit was a little off, that's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. It's tighter in the mid section than the top and the length is long. I chose my size and a size up and wish I had selected a size down as my back up. The size up was too long and floppy to even consider. The one true to my size was good for the midsection and length was fine but the top was loose and it does stretch as you wear it so by the end of the night it was really loose all over. Also, there is a strange bunching by the zipper. I can't describe it well but it doesn't sit flat on your body on the zipper side. Luckily it's black so not very noticeable to anyone but you but I was self conscious all night. I rented jewelry to match and wore my hair up to show off the top. I got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
November 30, 2017
Dazzle in this elegant black gown!
This was my backup dress but ended up being gorgeous!!! I got TONS of compliments! I run between a 8-12 in gowns and this 10 was just a little big in the top but fit well in the hips. The one shoulder side did cinch into my armpit from underneath a little but not enough to size up. I tried the 8 in store and it was small enough to size up. I was worried it would be too plain and simple but the one shoulder detail and my sparkly accessories helped dress it up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 12, 2018
Stylish yet comfortable
Dress fit perfectly and was very comfortable. I was able to wear a covertible bra with one strap. The length was just right with a 4P. I'm 5'3" but wore 3" heels and I still did not trip on the dress when I switched over to flip flops later in the evening. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable
It was really fun and easy to wear. I'm 5'3" and wore 3" heels and the 4R worked perfectly. I also got the 6R but didn't even need to try it on. The middle has a lot of room which was good for me. Loved it so much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 21, 2016
Classy look!
I rented this for a winter black tie wedding. The 4L would have been a better fit, but the zipper was broken. I wore the 6L and I don't think anyone could tell it ran large. I called RTR and I couldn't get another dress in time, but their customer service was amazing as always!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2016
Elegant bridesmaids dress
This dress ran quite large. I typically wear a size 6 or even an 8 and in this dress the size four was a little large. It is meant to be somewhat loose as the fabric is thick and without much give. I would have liked to wear the size 2 actually but unfortunately the one I received was quite a few inches shorter than the size 4. It worked out for the occasion but I probably wouldn't rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 15, 2016
Dress ran large. I liked the one shoulder ruffle. Did not fit so it was not worn.
I thought the dress would be more form fitting but it was not. The seams down the side were crooked which took away from the fit and comfort. Overall, it gave me no shape and ran big so I was not able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 8, 2016
This dress is simple and elegant. Showstopper. Love it, and it made me look taller.
Pro: Silhouette it creates, quality of fabric, and it stands out. Very classy. If you need a great black dress, then this is it. Cons: Side zip, It suprisingly was roomy in the stomach area. I ordered this dress before in red andgot a 4R, and it was too long, but it was snug. The 4P was too big in the mid area, so I wore a waiste trainer and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
June 20, 2016
A classic, elegant and crazy-comfortable dress made my evening a spectacular success!
This was actually a replacement dress for a Marchesa that was unable to ship. I attended a 1920's-themed black tie gala for our city's orchestra, and needed something that would look good in motion and still be comfortable enough to sit through a dinner and lengthy symphony performance. This dress knocked it out of the park - elegant and conservative enough for an older crowd, but the dramatic ruffle detail added interest. I could probably have sized down - while the dress stayed up and in place with the addition of a small amount of fashion tape, it was a bit roomy throughout the body and the zipper accordingly crinkled a bit - I think it may have been stretched out over time. Also might have benefited from the long - my dress grazed the floor in back and skimmed the top of my toes in the front. Thank goodness the shoes were cute :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
August 15, 2016
Perfect for a black tie affair
After reading all the wonderful reviews of this dress I was so excited when it arrived. The long length fit perfect, I definitely recommend long for anyone 5'6" and taller. My only complaint about this dress was the fit on the side with the zipper. It did not fit flush to my body, but instead it was all bumpy. I know the dress fit because the next size up was way too big. Maybe this is just a dress that is better fit if it's tailored to you? I'm not sure but it bothered me and I stood in pictures so you could not see it. I did not read this complaint in other reviews so maybe I just got a bad dress. It was also horribly wrinkled and I had to steam it. I felt very beautiful overall, just wish it fit better. #blacktie
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2016
Too Big!
Looks like a beautiful dress but definitely runs big! I thought it would be much more fitted, but it was too lose to wear and look right.
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Age: 41
November 7, 2016
Loved this dress as soon as I laid eyes on it. Perfect for the gala.
Went two sizes up and it was a little too big. Gorgeous dress, though. Received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 21, 2016
Not for a pear
I had to send this dress back and request an overnight shipment for an entirely different dress. The 6L fit my hips but was very large in the bust and mid-section. There was so much extra fabric in the middle that the zipper bulged out making me look much larger in the waist, which is my best feature.
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 22
Age: 31
February 3, 2017
Beautiful dress and I even got a compliment from the wedding photographer!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. The top and stomach area ran large, so I wore the smaller size. I felt comfortable and supported in this dress and danced the night away! The dress is shorter in the front and longer in the back, which I did not realize from any other the photos, so I wore some open toe gold shoes that popped against the black. The wedding photographer even complimented my dress, and I told her all about rent the runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
March 23, 2017
This was a very beautiful dress!
The top was a little big...I could have worn the 16 back up but since I ordered a petite it was actually too short. Odd because I'm only 5'0...the 18 fit well and I had worn 4in heels so it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2017
Runs a little large
Wore this to a black tie gala and was comfortable all night. I'm normally a size 4 but other reviews suggested it ran large so I got a 2 as my backup size. Glad I did as the 4 was too roomy on the top for me and sagged down. If you have a large bust, it could work but I'm 32DD and it was too big. The 2 was petite, and that worked out well, since I'm only 5'2". I wore 3" heels with it and the length was OK for walking in. Did not care for it coming up above my ankles when sitting down though. It's kind of a high-lo cut on the bottom mermaid flare. On the dress I got, the side seems were off and it just felt like it was sewn crooked to me but no one else could tell. The zipper would not lie flat against my left hip and puckered out but I just posed with my hand on that hip to hide it. Overall, fit was perfect for me. For reference, at the time I wore this dress I was 28" waist 39" hip and overall bust 35". Hope that helps!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 10, 2017
I loved the dress! It was packaged well and in perfect shap.
I wish I would've had a size smaller, it was looser fitting than I would have liked. I am 5'2 and the length was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
December 26, 2011
Flattering dress
This is a lovely, elegant dress. Perfect for a formal event. It runs big though. I am 5'9" and usually wear a size 4. In this dress, I could have worn a 2 or 0 - but was afraid the length would not have been long enough. I wore 2.5" heels and the 4 was the perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2012
Fabulous dress!
The drape and fit of this dress is very flattering - it runs a tad large. I am a size 10R, but really could have used the 8 in this dress. The length was perfect (I am 5'5" and wore 3" heels). Love the dress and received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2012
Tall girls beware!
I rented this dress for the symphony. When I tried on the 4, it fit like a dream (I normally wear a 6), but it was about 3 inches off the ground - WAY too short! When I put on heels, my best friend laughed out loud. You could see my ankles. I'm just a hair under 5'10" and I ordered the long size, but we weren't even close on this one. I gave it 3 stars because it otherwise was stunning: elegant and understated, hung beautifully. If you are over 5"7" and plan to wear heels, you might want to consider another dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 6, 2012
Comfortable, classy, beautiful
I loved this dress and received a TON of compliments on it. It was so comfortable to wear, also - an added bonus. I thought I ordered a 4 and a 6, but apparently messed up because I received a 2R -- and it fit me perfectly, so I say this runs a bit large. I would never consider myself to be a size 2.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2012
Very cute but runs big
I wore this to a charity event that my husband and I had to go to. The dress is really pretty in person and is made very well. I own a few Carmen Marc Valvo dresses and for some reason this one ran a bit large. Maybe because it is a long dress or maybe it had something to do with the type of fabric. Next time I'll rent two different sizes just to be safe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
February 15, 2012
Loved this dress!
This dress was perfect for the black tie wedding we attended this weekend. I should have ordered a size smaller though because there was room in the chest and waist. The length was perfect for me with heels on. I noticed the bottom of the hem was kind of frayed which I wasn't happy about but since the dress was black and so long I am comfortable that nobody noticed. Overall it was the perfect dress for a conservative black tie winter wedding!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
February 29, 2012
I loved it!
This dress is so flattering and I got so many compliments. I wore it with large turqouise earrings for a pop of color. My only complaint is that it fit generously all over except in the arm hole, that was slightly snug.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
March 1, 2012
Great, elegant black dress
This dress is very pretty and I received many compliments on it. The material is very nice- and pretty thick, not thin and jersey like. It does run a little big and I do wish it had been a little more fitted through the waist area. Great for shorter people as well- I am 5'4 and wore 2 inch heels and it was perfect. I am in between a 2 and 4- and I might have been able to wear the sz0
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
March 7, 2012
Beautiful Dress but Runs Large
I loved this dress but couldn't wear it because I ordered the size I thought I would be and a size up. Oops. I would wear it in a heartbeat if I had the right size.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
May 5, 2012
Perfect
When the backup dress I ordered wasn't available in my size, the RTR stylist called me. I asked him to use his judgement in sending a replacement. He sent this and it was the one. I did have to get them to send me the smaller size, which they did the next day in time for my event.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 24, 2012
A real standout
I wore this dress to a black tie, evening wedding at a private club in NYC. It was stunning, classy, and just the right amount of sexy. (I'm married with a young child, so wanted to look age appropriate but still hot enough to impress my husband's college friends.) Women were stopping me all night to tell me how much they loved my dress. It really did the trick! My only negative comment about this dress is that it is really big in the middle. First of all, there is no way I am a size 4. I am in decent shape but still have a bit of a mommy pouch, and it was still big on me. It definitely can hide imperfections, but I found myself actually wishing it was tighter in the waist. This never, ever happens to me. I actually ended up wearing shapewear not because I needed to smooth out my belly, but to add some definition to my curves because the dress just wasn't doing it. However, there was room to eat, and sit, and not feel gross! Also the zipper on the dress I was sent had been carelessly re-sewn into the inner lining, causing a pretty obvious twisted bump on an otherwise impeccably smooth silhouette. While I found it really annoying, and almost didn't wear the dress because of it, my husband assured me no one would notice. He was probably right, but I carried my clutch over that spot just to be safe. All in all, though, a really gorgeous dress. I almost hope I have an occasion to rent it again sometime.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 27, 2012
Best bridesmaid dress
I wore this as a bridesmaid in my friend's wedding and it was a hit! Very comfortable - runs somwhat large as the top was a bit loose. Very elegant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
This is a truly black tie-worthy dress that is as comfortable as it is gorgeous.
I thoroughly enjoyed wearing this dress but wish I had ordered it a size smaller (I wore the smaller of the 2 sizes I ordered). I was most surprised by how long it was...I'm 5'8" and intended to wear 3.5" heels, so I ordered the longer length after reading all the other reviews. It trailed on the floor, so I had to make an emergency run to CVS for some hem tape to make it work. That said, I still think it's an amazing dress for a black tie occasion and would highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2012
Very Pretty Dress! If you have curves and a chest this dress is for you!
This dress runs big. I usually wear a 6 in David Meister and Bagley Mischka but the 6L was way too big on me. Probably need at least a size 4. However my sister who is 6 foot, usually wears a size 12, 36D chest had this dress in a 8L and looked stunning! So for all you girls with a chest and curves this dress is what you need! (Wish I had that because I love this dress.)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2012
Flattering fit!
This is a great dress! Overall, lots of compliments. However, it does run large. I am ALWAYS a size 6. Sometimes a 6 is even tight through the bust and I have to go to an 8. I had to call to get the size 4R in this dress when my 6 arrieved and was huge. If I wanted a more fitted look, the 2 would probably have fit. The style and fabric are very forgiving. I wore spanx, but didn't have to. Great dress, but order smaller than you think.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 14, 2012
The dress was beautiful and I received many compliments throughout the night.
I rented a 4R and 6R. I typically wear a 4, but this 4 was a but baggy in the mid section area. The 6 would have been way too big. I wore the 4R and it looked fine, but I would have preferred if it was a little smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2012
Very basic black dress
This dress I didn't choose, it just was very plain.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
A classy, elegant dress!
I wore this dress to a black-tie-optional wedding this weekend. Overall, I was happy with it. The shoulder ruffles add some fun flair to an otherwise classic gown. I wish that I had ordered a 2, because the dress was a bit big (although definitely still workable, so I didn't bother trying to exchange it). Probably because it was a little large, I didn't feel like it was quite as flattering as it could have been--it was especially loose-fitting in the waist. I wore low-ish heels (probably 1.5 to 2 inches) and the dress dragged on the ground a bit, but not too much. In sum, I would advise sizing down for your backup size, but it's a really beautiful, fun dress! I got a lot of compliments.
See more reviews:
3 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×