Lifetime Love Gown

$80 – $95 rental ?
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
558 reviews
Fit
Large
(174)
True to Size
(314)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 128lbs
January 21, 2016
Black tie charity event
I got lots of compliments on this dress it is so flattering! However, as many of the other reviewers said it is a bit short. I wore probably 3 1/2" heels but I probably should've worn lower ones.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 20, 2016
Great first experience with RTR. Easy to reserve two sizes of this gown and it arrived on time.
The dress fit well throughout. It did not cling or feel to tight in any area. I typically wear a 4 but the 2 was definitely a better fit in the waist and bust for me. I wore 1-inch heels and the dress did not drag. A higher heel would have been too high since it would have exposed my shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
January 20, 2016
Great dress, slimming fabric - would love to buy this one!
Other reviews were right, I advise ordering your back-up a size down. The fabric was thick and draped beautifully and no wrinkles straight out of the packaging. Perfect length with 2.5in heels.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 23
January 13, 2016
Simple, elegant, classy
This dress was large on me (I usually wear a 4 but they were out), but it still looked fantastic. The open shoulder side had to be adjusted occasionally, but if the dress had been tighter, it wouldn't have moved around at all. Super comfortable, great heavy material, and very attractive. I'm 5'10" and 140 pounds and the dress was the perfect length on me with some kitten heels. When I was barefoot the dress touched the ground and covered my feet and with some 2" heels it perfectly brushed the floor in the back and only showed the front tips of my shoes. I did get a little hot in it after dancing but it's very easy to maneuver in and you don't have to worry about it moving around too much. I do wish I could've tried a 4L but I think that size would've been too short... If you're tall and slender I would recommend choosing the larger size rather than the smaller size because imo this dress would look worse too short vs. too big. There was lots of space left in the dress when I wore it but you really can't tell in photos. Overall, fantastic dress and I would totally rent it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 9, 2016
Stunning gown that is sure to turn heads!
This dress was absolutely perfect. I wore it for a bridesmaid dress for my sisters wedding. It runs a little short so it would be best worn with flats. I am normally a size 2, but this dress ran a little big!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 54
January 7, 2016
I loved this dress! It felt elegant and comfortable.
I'm short but busty and this dress felt slenderizing and fit well really well. I hadn't worn a strapless bra before and didn't have one so I had to McGyver a regular bra, which worked out fine.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
January 5, 2016
easy & comfortable dress that was classy & elegant. Great for black tie wedding
Great dress, very classy. I got multiple compliments on it throughout the night. Very comfortable. Unfortunately, the length was very short & barely touched the ground. I would have been able to size down another size, but the length stopped me. Runs big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2016
Beautiful dress for smaller chests.
The cons of the dress are the armpit holes. They gapped open too much for me. It might work better for a smaller bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 4, 2016
Pretty dress but BAD tailoring/fixes
The fit was as expected per reviews, however the long was nothing of the sort, it was VERY short in the front. I am 5'11, so ordered a size up and the long, and it was still too short, with flats. The zipper in mine had clearly been replaced and done VERY poorly, it was all bumpy, and didnt lay fat, which looked very strange. I was pretty disappointed with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 30, 2015
Elegant black number
Wore this to a debutante ball. It is a very classic black dress. The one shoulder ruffle is a nice touch but if you have long hair and wear it down it detracts from this detail. Considered a side pony but thought that it looked like I was overcompensating for the one shoulder. I am 5'6" and for sure needed the long size so I could wear heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 28, 2015
This dress was so forgiving and elegant!
I ordered this dress to wear as a bridesmaid for my best friends wedding. We were only supposed to wear a long, simple black dress and this was perfect! The fit is a little loose around the tummy so it was very, very forgiving. I usually wear a 12 petite, but ordered a 10 petite after reading the reviews and I am so happy I did! I didn't even try on the 12 because the 10 fit so well. The material was very nice and thick but i was comfortable even though it was an outdoor wedding in Florida. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
December 27, 2015
Fabulous dress and felt so pretty!
Wore to a formal winter wedding. Would've like it a little longer since I was wearing heels, but it looked great and made it better to walk in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2015
Simple but Elegant
I would have worn this if the hook and eye were not missing! The fabric flows beautifully, and fits true to size. I would have worn the 4L, to be able to wear heels with it. I will probably rent it again.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
December 14, 2015
Wore this to a very fancy Christmas Party for work at the Ritz-Carlton. Beautiful!
Would have liked to have had one size smaller since the dress runs big, but it wasn't available. I had to use clothing tape to tape it to my strapless bra so it didn't gap. Otherwise, a beautiful dress that I received compliments on all evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2015
Great bridesmaid dress !
The length was perfect with heels ... I got a lot of compliments !! Material is heavy and is good quality ... great formal affair dress.
SandyJanuary 24, 2016
Planning on ordering the dress for a black tie, wondering how high your heels were since I plan on ordering a 2P! Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2015
Gorgeous
The dress fit perfect. It hung well due to the great material, and was fitted enough but not too much . The regular length was great with 2 inch heels- and the bust area was roomy enough(34DDD).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2015
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. Perfect for a black tie wedding!
This dress fits very comfortably! I had a baby 4 months before wearing it and was worried about the sizing. I hadn't lost all the baby weight yet, but both my sizes fit fine. Was even able to squeeze into the 6R and I was comfortable all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 10, 2015
Beautiful gown! Heavy and lined fabric; easy to order and return... Will rent this one again!
Received compliments all night! Very elegant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
December 9, 2015
Absolutely loved my first RTR!
Perfect fit! Would definitely recommend for any black tie affair.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
December 5, 2015
SUCH an amazing dress!
Loved this dress! I actually ordered a 6L and a 4L as a backup, and the 4L fit a bit better and was more form-fitting. I wore 3 inch heels, which were perfect because the back of the gown is about 2 inches longer than the front, so my feet peeking at the bottom didn't look awkward. If you're nervous about sizing, order your normal dress size and then size down for something a little tighter around your curves. The material is heavier than I thought and was extremely comfortable! You can never go wrong with a classic black gown, and RTR didn't fail to impress! The only thing negative I will say is that the zipper on the side of the gown did not lay flat against my body, so it was almost "wrinkled" and needed to be flattened throughout the night. Shipping was easy, as they already give you the pre-paid label and package to mail it back in. I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 67
December 5, 2015
Very pretty and flattering dress. Received lots of compliments!
I ordered a 6P and a 4P as I usuallly wear a size 6 - the petite bacause I'm 5'3" and was hoping that it wouldn't be too long. The 4P fit was great. I probably could have even worn a 2P, but didn't feel that the 4P was too large. The style of the dress is very forgiving. I tacked in bra pads so I didn't need a bra. The length was about 2 " too long in the front with 3 inch heels, but I had a seamstress tack it up. I removed the tacking,steamed it afterwards. and it shows no sign that it was turned up. Loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 25, 2015
Perfect length for a short girl!
I ordered the regular and petite just to make sure that it wasn't going to be too long as I'm 5'2" and was nervous about the length. I picked the dress up in the store, tried on the 2R and it fit perfectly. The material is heavy and great quality, especially good for a Fall/Winter affair. There is no stretch to the material so it doesn't really hug your curves but falls more like a sheath. I got so many compliments and absolutely loved the dress. I'd wear it again if there weren't so many other options available.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
November 24, 2015
This dress was incredibly comfortable and flattering!
I loved reading all the reviews. I went down a size and ordered a long since everyone said it ran big and was on the shorter side. I wore 3" heels. Perfect suggestions!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2015
Almost loved it.
The 2L really fit better, but it was SO short. You could see my bare feet in it, and I'm only 5'4"! I ended up going for the 4L because it covered my shoes (4 inch heels) and then some. I don't think the 2L was really a long! Unfortunately the 4L zipper laid awkwardly on the side, giving me lumps and bumps I don't have! But I opted for that over a high-water dress. All in all its a nice dress. I got lots of compliments. It was very comfortable to be in for 6+ hours.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 21, 2015
Beautiful but big
Rented this as my backup but it was too large. I would say size down if you get this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2015
I received SO many compliments on this beautiful gown!
I ordered this dress when my first choice did not fit correctly. I am SO glad that I did -- it was such a flattering gown with a simple, elegant detail that stood out all evening. I am 5'7" and wore 3" heels and it was perfect. This dress can easily be dressed up even more with a pair of statement earrings. If you are considering this dress - do it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 19, 2015
LOVED THIS GOWN!
I would say that this runs a little large but honestly it was very comfortable for a full evening event. The fit wasn't so large that it looked "frumpy" but it didn't hug any curves.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
November 17, 2015
Wore this to a hospital fundraiser event (black tie) and fit in perfectly.
I have a very large bust (G cup) and the top fit extremely well - plenty of room. My normal size is a 12 and the 10 I ordered as backup was still loose around the waist, with some slightly strange bunching (probably only I noticed this). I got many compliments all night, I was very comfortable (the dress has an awesome lining that feels great) and it was great for dancing.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 16, 2015
Classic black dress. Fit great. Paired with emerald statement earring.
fit great. elongated my petite frame.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 16, 2015
I wore this to a Charity Fall Ball black tie event. The dress was perfect for the event.
I wish it was a little longer. I probably could have went another size smaller. Very comfortable and easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
November 13, 2015
Very elegant I felt very confident wearing this dress.
I usually wear size 8 but after reading reviews and talking to one of RTR specialist, I got size 6 and it was perfect from top to bottom. It was a wise choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
November 11, 2015
Perfect fit- great quality!
I wore this to a charity Gala dinner event and the dress was perfect! The dress is well made and fits well. It is important to note that the front hem is shorter than the back. The 0l fit slightly better in the bust and waist, but length too short in front. I am normally a size 2 dress size. I am 5'8" and 125 lbs. classic style.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2015
This dress was perfect for the occasion! I received so many compliments! It was very comfortable!
The dress runs small. I absolutely loved the dress. It was very comfortable to wear and did not fit too tight although it appears to be a tight fitting dress. My only con would be the under layer seemed to be crooked. I'm not sure if that's because they try to replace it?
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
November 5, 2015
Gorgeous dress- simple and stunning! My husband loved!
Gorgeous dress! simple but stunning!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
November 4, 2015
The dress was great! All of the reviews were VERY accurate.
Lots of compliments on the dress! The weird seam on the left is true, but I hid it with my arm for the most part. Dress definitely runs large. I hated to give it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2015
Amazing dress! Wish I could buy it.
Perfect fit and super comfortable
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 3, 2015
I wanted to keep this dress!
Absolutely stunning dress, wish I could've worn the 10L because I'm tall and I ended up wearing flats with it (the 10L wasn't available for my event day). Pretty true to size, but it's hard for me to say because I wear between a 6 and a 12 depending upon brand honestly. a great dress to be low key but still beautiful! Looked perfect next to my soldier! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 2, 2015
Very elegant dress.
Even though I ordered a long, it was still short and I had to wear flats. I'm 5'8". Loved the dress but was disappointed in how short it was.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
October 19, 2015
Pretty dress, but you could tell it has been worn a lot...
Left side which has zipper, is extremely lumpy. Was not sure why, but maybe because it has been worn and dry cleaned too many times? It was black so it wasn't horribly noticeable, but I would not rent the dress again.
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 17, 2015
Stunning and comfortable.
This dress runs large, I'd suggest sizing down for your backup dress. I ordered a size 16 and a size 14. While the 14 fit perfectly, the length of the dress was quite short. The size 16 had a couple extra inches in length so I ended up wearing the larger one despite it being too roomy in the bust. The zipper on the dress was a little warped and kept puckering; it wouldn't lay flat for anything. But overall the dress was gorgeous.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 14
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×