Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
536 reviews
Fit
Large171
True to Size303
Small7
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
March 17, 2016
I love this dress. I received so many complements and it was super comfortable.
I had to size down to the 2r. It was a littler shorter, so if your taller than 5'6" I would get the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 3, 2016
Unfortunately, the dress arrived 2 days AFTER my event!
This dress is G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S! When I tried it on, the material felt luxurious and it looked FANTASTIC on (even without Spanx) plus the 12 fit perfectly though my normal size is 14!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
February 28, 2016
Got so many compliments and this dress was so flattering!
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore this to a formal charity event, and I got so many compliments, especially from guy friends. It was so flattering on me and hit in all of the right places. I normally wear a 6 and am 5'4", and I ordered the 6R and 4R. The 4R fit better, mostly in the length and the hip area. It was still a little long on me, the petite length probably would have been better. The fabric is very nice and a little heavy, which helps the dress drape in a beautiful way. Overall this is an amazing and very glamorous dress, and I didn't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 27, 2016
Received many compliments on this dress. RTR was such a great experience for me.
I thought this dress was effortless. I never had to worry about readjusting, dancing, or sitting. It was comfortable and easily elegant. I normally wear a size 4 and the 4R was on the long side, but with heels, I thought it helped elongate my build. The 6P also fit well but was looser in the midsection and shorter in front. This dress is good for women that have a waist smaller than their hips. With the 4R, I wore Spanx to smooth things out and a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
February 25, 2016
Great dress!!
I wore this dress for a Heart Ball. Thought it was true to size and very comfortable. Lots of compliments all night long! I'm 5'3 and 165 pound pear shape so I was a bit concerned about the fit but it looked great and I would recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2016
Classy black dress with character
I think black dresses are so BORING, but when the red dress in this style was damaged RTR sent me this one. Pros: The fabric is incredibly luxurious with a hint of shine and hugs the body beautifully. The ruffle on the one shoulder gave this dress character and class. I wore 4 inch heels and it just skimmed the floor for me. If I had to wear a black dress again, I would choose this one. Cons: It was black. I would have loved to have worn this dress in the red color I originally wanted.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2016
Comfy dress to dance and eat in!
Great dress, the 6R was a little too big in the chest, waist and length, 6P might have been a better fit for me but the 4R worked out great for my size and build.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2016
Great dress! Husband loved my look.
Dress fit true to size. I am a busty woman, but I still am tall and lean so finding clothes sometimes is a challenge. Pros: Breathable fabric for a late summer wedding in the Nation's Capitol. Easy to move and dance in. You can pair almost any accessories with it. Cons: I wish the dress was slightly longer. My shoes where only 2 inches and the dress was still too short. Going up an extra size (i.e. 14L) and the dress would swallow me alive. Overall: Need an easy go to dress that won't let you down, this is the dress for you!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 63
February 21, 2016
My first time with RTR and I could not be more pleased.
I loved this dress! I wore it to the grand reopening of a 100 year old Theatre and I felt perfectly elegant. Typically I wear a 4, but thanks to the reviews which say the dress runs large and short, I ordered a 2L. The fit was exactly right with my 4" heels. This experience has been so positive I will most certainly rent again. Now, I just have to start filling up my social calendar!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
February 15, 2016
Dress ran large. I liked the one shoulder ruffle. Did not fit so it was not worn.
I thought the dress would be more form fitting but it was not. The seams down the side were crooked which took away from the fit and comfort. Overall, it gave me no shape and ran big so I was not able to wear it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
February 11, 2016
Wore this dress to a charity ball in Greenville, SC.
Dress fit great. A little big in the chest area, but I'm smaller up there, so that wasn't totally unexpected. If you have broader shoulders or muscular arms, the arm hole is a little snug, but it didn't bother me like I thought it would. Overall, great dress! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
February 10, 2016
This dress was so comfortable!
I wore this for a ball, and it was great. This was actually my backup dress and it worked perfectly! I normally wear a 6P, but I ordered an 8R since my size wasn't available. It was a little large through the stomach area, but I was pretty comfortable in it. I'm 5'1 and was still able to wear this with flat shoes without it dragging the ground, so tall girls beware!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
February 8, 2016
So Amazing, Five Other Women Wore the Same Dress to the Same Event...
I loved this dress. It was my backup, but it fit well and looked very classy and elegant. The ruffle adds just a touch of drama. I don't normally wear dresses with this cut, preferring A-line styles, but I felt very feminine and pretty (and having a slightly larger size was helpful). I probably could have pulled off my normal 10, but the 12 was comfortable and helped me from feeling too self conscious. The biggest problem was when checking in for the event, I immediately ran into another woman in the same dress. Over the course of the night, I saw two other women in the black version of this dress, and two women in the red version. We were all different sizes and body types, so that goes to show you that this dress will work for everyone - but I felt a little disappointed and a lot less special. Now, this is a DC event, and we all tend to be kind of conservative - I might have guessed this would happen, but since it's an older style, I was hoping it wouldn't. Because this is such a flattering and elegant gown, I wouldn't be surprised if this happens again with this dress. I think Rent the Runway should try out a Pro-type program where you pay extra to ensure no one else is wearing the same dress as you at an event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 2, 2016
Back up dress and didn't need it!
Dress is beautiful but I ordered a size too big.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 27, 2016
This is a great dress. Comfortable and does not cling to the mid section.
I am 5 feet, 115 lbs and the 2P fit very nicely. It was about an inch too long, but overall the length was fine - I am on the short side. It was comfortable to move in and very flattering. The 4 was a little too big for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2016
Elegant bridesmaids dress
This dress ran quite large. I typically wear a size 6 or even an 8 and in this dress the size four was a little large. It is meant to be somewhat loose as the fabric is thick and without much give. I would have liked to wear the size 2 actually but unfortunately the one I received was quite a few inches shorter than the size 4. It worked out for the occasion but I probably wouldn't rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 21, 2016
Classy look!
I rented this for a winter black tie wedding. The 4L would have been a better fit, but the zipper was broken. I wore the 6L and I don't think anyone could tell it ran large. I called RTR and I couldn't get another dress in time, but their customer service was amazing as always!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 66
January 21, 2016
The dress was lovley
Perfect fit
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 21, 2016
Black tie charity event
I got lots of compliments on this dress it is so flattering! However, as many of the other reviewers said it is a bit short. I wore probably 3 1/2" heels but I probably should've worn lower ones.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 20, 2016
Great first experience with RTR. Easy to reserve two sizes of this gown and it arrived on time.
The dress fit well throughout. It did not cling or feel to tight in any area. I typically wear a 4 but the 2 was definitely a better fit in the waist and bust for me. I wore 1-inch heels and the dress did not drag. A higher heel would have been too high since it would have exposed my shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
January 20, 2016
Great dress, slimming fabric - would love to buy this one!
Other reviews were right, I advise ordering your back-up a size down. The fabric was thick and draped beautifully and no wrinkles straight out of the packaging. Perfect length with 2.5in heels.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 23
January 13, 2016
Simple, elegant, classy
This dress was large on me (I usually wear a 4 but they were out), but it still looked fantastic. The open shoulder side had to be adjusted occasionally, but if the dress had been tighter, it wouldn't have moved around at all. Super comfortable, great heavy material, and very attractive. I'm 5'10" and 140 pounds and the dress was the perfect length on me with some kitten heels. When I was barefoot the dress touched the ground and covered my feet and with some 2" heels it perfectly brushed the floor in the back and only showed the front tips of my shoes. I did get a little hot in it after dancing but it's very easy to maneuver in and you don't have to worry about it moving around too much. I do wish I could've tried a 4L but I think that size would've been too short... If you're tall and slender I would recommend choosing the larger size rather than the smaller size because imo this dress would look worse too short vs. too big. There was lots of space left in the dress when I wore it but you really can't tell in photos. Overall, fantastic dress and I would totally rent it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 9, 2016
Stunning gown that is sure to turn heads!
This dress was absolutely perfect. I wore it for a bridesmaid dress for my sisters wedding. It runs a little short so it would be best worn with flats. I am normally a size 2, but this dress ran a little big!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 53
January 7, 2016
I loved this dress! It felt elegant and comfortable.
I'm short but busty and this dress felt slenderizing and fit well really well. I hadn't worn a strapless bra before and didn't have one so I had to McGyver a regular bra, which worked out fine.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
January 5, 2016
easy & comfortable dress that was classy & elegant. Great for black tie wedding
Great dress, very classy. I got multiple compliments on it throughout the night. Very comfortable. Unfortunately, the length was very short & barely touched the ground. I would have been able to size down another size, but the length stopped me. Runs big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2016
Beautiful dress for smaller chests.
The cons of the dress are the armpit holes. They gapped open too much for me. It might work better for a smaller bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 4, 2016
Pretty dress but BAD tailoring/fixes
The fit was as expected per reviews, however the long was nothing of the sort, it was VERY short in the front. I am 5'11, so ordered a size up and the long, and it was still too short, with flats. The zipper in mine had clearly been replaced and done VERY poorly, it was all bumpy, and didnt lay fat, which looked very strange. I was pretty disappointed with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 30, 2015
Elegant black number
Wore this to a debutante ball. It is a very classic black dress. The one shoulder ruffle is a nice touch but if you have long hair and wear it down it detracts from this detail. Considered a side pony but thought that it looked like I was overcompensating for the one shoulder. I am 5'6" and for sure needed the long size so I could wear heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 28, 2015
This dress was so forgiving and elegant!
I ordered this dress to wear as a bridesmaid for my best friends wedding. We were only supposed to wear a long, simple black dress and this was perfect! The fit is a little loose around the tummy so it was very, very forgiving. I usually wear a 12 petite, but ordered a 10 petite after reading the reviews and I am so happy I did! I didn't even try on the 12 because the 10 fit so well. The material was very nice and thick but i was comfortable even though it was an outdoor wedding in Florida. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
December 27, 2015
Fabulous dress and felt so pretty!
Wore to a formal winter wedding. Would've like it a little longer since I was wearing heels, but it looked great and made it better to walk in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2015
Simple but Elegant
I would have worn this if the hook and eye were not missing! The fabric flows beautifully, and fits true to size. I would have worn the 4L, to be able to wear heels with it. I will probably rent it again.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
December 14, 2015
Wore this to a very fancy Christmas Party for work at the Ritz-Carlton. Beautiful!
Would have liked to have had one size smaller since the dress runs big, but it wasn't available. I had to use clothing tape to tape it to my strapless bra so it didn't gap. Otherwise, a beautiful dress that I received compliments on all evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2015
Great bridesmaid dress !
The length was perfect with heels ... I got a lot of compliments !! Material is heavy and is good quality ... great formal affair dress.
SandyJanuary 24, 2016
Planning on ordering the dress for a black tie, wondering how high your heels were since I plan on ordering a 2P! Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2015
Gorgeous
The dress fit perfect. It hung well due to the great material, and was fitted enough but not too much . The regular length was great with 2 inch heels- and the bust area was roomy enough(34DDD).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2015
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. Perfect for a black tie wedding!
This dress fits very comfortably! I had a baby 4 months before wearing it and was worried about the sizing. I hadn't lost all the baby weight yet, but both my sizes fit fine. Was even able to squeeze into the 6R and I was comfortable all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 10, 2015
Beautiful gown! Heavy and lined fabric; easy to order and return... Will rent this one again!
Received compliments all night! Very elegant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
December 9, 2015
Absolutely loved my first RTR!
Perfect fit! Would definitely recommend for any black tie affair.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
December 5, 2015
SUCH an amazing dress!
Loved this dress! I actually ordered a 6L and a 4L as a backup, and the 4L fit a bit better and was more form-fitting. I wore 3 inch heels, which were perfect because the back of the gown is about 2 inches longer than the front, so my feet peeking at the bottom didn't look awkward. If you're nervous about sizing, order your normal dress size and then size down for something a little tighter around your curves. The material is heavier than I thought and was extremely comfortable! You can never go wrong with a classic black gown, and RTR didn't fail to impress! The only thing negative I will say is that the zipper on the side of the gown did not lay flat against my body, so it was almost "wrinkled" and needed to be flattened throughout the night. Shipping was easy, as they already give you the pre-paid label and package to mail it back in. I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 67
December 5, 2015
Very pretty and flattering dress. Received lots of compliments!
I ordered a 6P and a 4P as I usuallly wear a size 6 - the petite bacause I'm 5'3" and was hoping that it wouldn't be too long. The 4P fit was great. I probably could have even worn a 2P, but didn't feel that the 4P was too large. The style of the dress is very forgiving. I tacked in bra pads so I didn't need a bra. The length was about 2 " too long in the front with 3 inch heels, but I had a seamstress tack it up. I removed the tacking,steamed it afterwards. and it shows no sign that it was turned up. Loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 25, 2015
Perfect length for a short girl!
I ordered the regular and petite just to make sure that it wasn't going to be too long as I'm 5'2" and was nervous about the length. I picked the dress up in the store, tried on the 2R and it fit perfectly. The material is heavy and great quality, especially good for a Fall/Winter affair. There is no stretch to the material so it doesn't really hug your curves but falls more like a sheath. I got so many compliments and absolutely loved the dress. I'd wear it again if there weren't so many other options available.
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×