Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$70 – $110 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
611 reviews
Fit
Large
(184)
True to Size
(335)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 13, 2017
The dress was perfect for a New Year's Eve formal wedding.
Good fit, true to size. Maybe a little short but made it so you could see my heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2017
Classy Dress!!
Dress is very classy!! Actually went with a smaller size since it runs big! Material is a little heavy but honestly fits great and got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 2, 2017
Gala Night
Dress was stunning in photos. Good fit, however a little big up top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 255lbs
February 26, 2017
I chose this one!
I ordered 4 dresses in varying sizes. This was my first time using RTR so I wasn't sure what to expect. customer service was amazing! I got my first dress (not this one) on a Friday for a gala on Saturday evening. It arrived early afternoon but did not fit. So, I called customer service and they promptly helped me find 3 more dresses in a range of sizes because I was so unsure after my first pick was so large. Customer services promised I would have them by noon Saturday morning. I was very skeptical. I got a package at 9am! This dress was one of the three alternatives, and the one I ended up wearing to my event. It fit perfectly. I have a midsection and this dress was flattering. I am a 38DD and this dress fit everywhere: my bust, hips, midsection, etc. I almost didn't wear it because we attended a gala and my husband was in a tux, and this dress is NOT floor length (I am 5'8). I did a last minute run to a shoe store and found strappy heals that I could tie up my shin and calf so as to make the length of the dress seem intentional. The dress was dressy enough elsewhere, just wish it had been floor length. Overall I felt great in it, and received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 22
Age: 30
February 3, 2017
Beautiful dress and I even got a compliment from the wedding photographer!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. The top and stomach area ran large, so I wore the smaller size. I felt comfortable and supported in this dress and danced the night away! The dress is shorter in the front and longer in the back, which I did not realize from any other the photos, so I wore some open toe gold shoes that popped against the black. The wedding photographer even complimented my dress, and I told her all about rent the runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
January 18, 2017
Very pretty and comfortable black dress from Carmen Marc Valvo!
This dress was comfortable and fit me very well. I received lots of positive comments about it during the evening! The petite length worked well with my 1/2" heels (basically flats). The fabric was not prone to wrinkle, so it did not need any ironing/steaming prior to wearing (thumbs up!). The material was not too thin, so it worked well for a chilly December event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
January 14, 2017
New Years Eve + Black tie perfection!
This dress was timeless and very flattering. I loved the simplicity of it and opted for a larger size than usual for added dance floor comfort as it was New Years Eve. I don't usually wear updo's but the structure of this lbd allowed for a more dramatic hairstyle. Overall - loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2017
Fun and versatile
Ran a bit large but I paired with a belt to cinch the waist. It was very comfortable, which was a plus
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 21, 2016
Not for a pear
I had to send this dress back and request an overnight shipment for an entirely different dress. The 6L fit my hips but was very large in the bust and mid-section. There was so much extra fabric in the middle that the zipper bulged out making me look much larger in the waist, which is my best feature.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 16, 2016
The dress is holding up very nice.
It's easy and comfortable to wear and hugging the figure well. I can dance all night in this dress. I love this dress a lot and would definitely recommend anyone to rent for a company party.
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 11, 2016
Perfect formal black dress
Stunning dress, super comfortable and not too tight around the midsection. Perfect for a gala.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 6, 2016
So many compliments!!
Loved this dress! I'm only 5'3 and I thought it ran pretty short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 5, 2016
Great dress!
Dress fit awesome! I ordered a 4p and 2 p and ended up wearing the 2 p. So comfortable and great fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
November 28, 2016
I was postpartum by about 6 months & was worried about the fit. This dress worked perfectly.
The material is super nice and a bit forgiving. Very classy. The best I felt dressed up postpartum.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2016
Great Dress, maybe a bit big.
I loved this dress that I rented for a formal wedding. Good fabric, thick, but still stretchy. Runs short, and big in my opinion. Wore a 4L (definitely order the L) could have worn the 2 L but they were all out! But I still loved it! Held up to me chasing around my one year old all evening!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Age: 28
November 22, 2016
This dress was beautiful, I felt amazing in this dress!
Fits perfect hugs all the right places and was very comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 19, 2016
Beautiful gown
In my experience with this dress, order early enough to exchange if necessary. It was extremely wrinkled but I had to wear this! Had to have it pressed! Elegant yet sexy! Falls nicely. Keep in mind it was just short of being too big on the side and I'm a 36 bust but a size smaller would have been too small in bodice. Perfect length for me with 3 1/2 inch heels. Received lots of compliments and ended up forwarding lots of RTR referrals and this actual dress. I might actually try to find it to buy it! Love!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
November 16, 2016
Classy and elegant
This dress was great. I loved it and received so many compliments. It was a little big on me and I probably could've used a smaller size because it was heavier and I kept having to twist the dress slightly so that it'd wear properly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2016
Elegant perfection!
I loved this dress and received many compliments throughout the evening. I was worried it would be too long because I am rather short but it was perfect with a pair of heels. Not sure the height of the heels but probably about 2 inches. The fabric is a bit revealing so I wore the dress with a smoothing shaper and it fit and looked great. This dress was definitely a hit!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 14, 2016
Perfect simple black dress
This is the perfect simple black dress if you want understated elegance. Fit was perfect and was super comfortable to wear. First RTR rental was a success!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
November 13, 2016
Great dress. However, I ordered a 4P and a 4R and only the 4R arrived. I think the 4P would have fi
A little long for me but a beautiful dress! I received so many compliments.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2016
Elegant with comfort
Very flattering cut and forgiving in the waist area. Wore to a black tie wedding. Not necessarily a stand out dress but that was good because we didnt know many people there. However, because it is comfortable and hits you in all the right places, you make a statement by wearing with ease. Highly recommend if you are picking a first dress that you are nervous about, this is a great back up. I wore same style in navy last year and knew it was a great go to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
November 7, 2016
Loved this dress as soon as I laid eyes on it. Perfect for the gala.
Went two sizes up and it was a little too big. Gorgeous dress, though. Received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 23, 2016
Great dress - wrong size
I ended up wearing the size 12R because Rent the Runway was unable to ship the 10R because it was damaged. While they sent a 10P and another dress in similar style, both were too small and opted for the size 12 which fit ok, but was slightly too big in the bust. Received tons of compliments and it was very comfortable! Just wish I could've tried the 10R as I'm sure I would've ended up wearing that one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
October 19, 2016
This is a very flattering dress!!!
Excellent quality, beautiful fabric. The ruffles lay nicely, and it was a prefect length!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
October 12, 2016
Black tie wedding- I was the matron of honor. This dress is gorgeous- so classy!
I wore the 10L vs. the 8L. I'm normally size 6-8 and 5'8" but just had a baby. The 8L length was way shorter than the 10L and I had trouble with the 8L zipper. It got stuck a couple times (maybe because it was so tight?) I was able to wear 2 inch heels with the 10L.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2016
Too Big!
Looks like a beautiful dress but definitely runs big! I thought it would be much more fitted, but it was too lose to wear and look right.
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
October 10, 2016
You want to feel fabulous? Wear this dress!
I loved this dress. I wear size 16/18 jeans so I chose a size 18 dress. I wish I would have gone with a size 16 because the top was a little big. But not so big that it was noticeable. It was very comfy and I felt so skinny! The dress has a lining that makes all your imperfections pretty much disappear (even tho I still wore my spanxx). I was so pleased with RTR, I will order again and again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
October 4, 2016
Fits like a glove and felt like I was having a red carpet moment.
I ordered this in the 20 and 22 because I normally wear a 22. I never thought I could wear what looks like a straight dress. The pictures do not do it dress justice. It is such a flattering and forgiving fit. It hugs you in all the right places while camouflaging all the problem areas. It is also comfortable and easy. Just put it on and go. No adjusting or fussing or fidgeting with it at all. It has great flow and movement. Simple and elegant with slight pizzazz. I received compliments all night long. Was sorry to ship it back.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 6, 2016
My first rental was a total bust so I ordered this one last minute!
This dress runs true to size. I am typically a 2 or 4 but the 2 fit perfectly for a black tie wedding. The only con was that it was a little snug under the arms but not enough difference to go up a size. The dress runs short, even at 5'1 I was able to wear a simple 2" heel and it wasn't dragging to the floor.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2016
Perfect for a 5-months preggo woman! The black was slimming and there was plenty of bump room.
The dress I wanted wasn't available, so I ordered this one at the suggestion of an associate. It was perfect! Mamas, if you need to look great and you're 5 months pregnant, this is the way to go. I usually wear a size 2 or 4, so I ordered a 6 and an 8 and ultimately went with the 8. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
August 15, 2016
Perfect for a black tie affair
After reading all the wonderful reviews of this dress I was so excited when it arrived. The long length fit perfect, I definitely recommend long for anyone 5'6" and taller. My only complaint about this dress was the fit on the side with the zipper. It did not fit flush to my body, but instead it was all bumpy. I know the dress fit because the next size up was way too big. Maybe this is just a dress that is better fit if it's tailored to you? I'm not sure but it bothered me and I stood in pictures so you could not see it. I did not read this complaint in other reviews so maybe I just got a bad dress. It was also horribly wrinkled and I had to steam it. I felt very beautiful overall, just wish it fit better. #blacktie
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
August 14, 2016
Overnighted 2cnd dress that was more amazing than my first pick
I'm so glad my first pick didn't fit. This dress is amazing. I wore the 18 but def could've done the 16, which is my true size. I'm 5'1, 220lbs and the length was perfect with 3" heels. The dress is a very flattering heavier material. This dress made a curvier girl look and feel beautiful all night. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 9, 2016
Classy & Comfy
This is one of 3 dresses I rented to choose from to wear to a formal wedding, and my first RtR experience. I went ahead and joined their unlimited program so I had extra time choosing and keeping the right dress. I usually wear a SS 0 or 2 and the 2R fit perfectly. I don't usually wear heels, so I thought the length was fine for my 2" pumps, but if they were any higher I would have needed the long. I didn't end up keeping this dress for the wedding, mostly because my friends and hubby liked one that was a little sexier, but I really loved this dress and thought it was the easiest to wear and definitely the most comfortable of the three.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Weight: 148lbs
July 30, 2016
Dress is amazing. Easy to accessorize
Pros: easy to accessorize, fits to body Cons: order 6R and it fit my body but was too short. If above 5'7.5" I recommend ordering the Long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
July 22, 2016
Classic and comfortable!
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding in Chicago. I'm from Oregon and rented the 4 and the 2. The 4 was slightly big and long, the 2 fit well but was too short. Luckily there was a RTR store in Chicago right next to our hotel so I brought in my dresses and they had me try the 4 Petite which fit PERFECTLY! Awesome customer service. I got soooo many compliments the whole night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
July 20, 2016
I absolutely loved being comfortable and gorg at the same time for my in laws vow renewal!
This dress dropped on my shape so nicely. It is probably the best dress I've ever worn. True to size and the lining was the icing on the cake.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2016
The perfect dress for a formal wedding!
This dress was perfect for a very formal wedding! Great quality material and a very flattering cut. I'm 5'8'' and the Long size was the right length for me in 2" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 11, 2016
AMAZING DRESS
So many compliments. It was so flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
July 9, 2016
Dress was pretty but beware of one shoulder
Dress was very pretty and fabric was comfortable. The only downside was that the arm hole for the one shoulder was very tight and by the end of the night it was digging into my skin. I don't have unusually large arms but I couldn't wait to get it off by the time the wedding was over.
See more reviews:
2 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×