Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$60 – $80 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
644 reviews
Fit
Large
(186)
True to Size
(345)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2016
A classic

Classic, timeless beauty. Glad I read the reviews bc this definitely runs large, but a bit short - I typically wear a 2R in dresses, but the 0L was perfect. I usually have pretty high heels, so the L worked well. It was very comfy and flattering!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 8, 2015
Perfect for curvy bodies!

This dress is perfect for curvy body types! I am 5'2", size 8/10 dress, pear shaped. Normally, I opt for dresses with fuller skirts or A line styles. This dress made me feel glamorous and I was confident with the fit. The top was big but I needed the 10 for my hips. Overall, great memories in this dress!

Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Age: 28
November 21, 2015
Beautiful but big

Rented this as my backup but it was too large. I would say size down if you get this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34A
May 4, 2016
I received lots of compliments!

I am 5'5" and typically wear a size 2. The 2 that I received was significantly shorter and the side zipper would not lay flat. I ordered regular length in both sizes so I'm not sure why there was such a difference in the lengths. The 4 was slightly big around my bust and waist but not too big that I couldn't wear it. I wish the 2 had not had those issues because it definitely was a better fit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 8, 2016
Gorgeous dress and perfect fit!!!

I wore this for a black tie gala and received so many compliments. I'm 5'10 and wore heels and the 12 long was absolutely perfect. This was my first RTR experience and I was very hesitant about this dress because of pear shape and height.... I was pleasantly surprised. The material is also heavy enough that it hides trouble areas well. You won't be disappointed with this dress. I can't wait to get rent again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 38
May 16, 2016
I was running for woman of the year for LLS and raised 20k for cancer research! so any compliments!

It was the perfect fit. The only thing was the hanger tags popped out a lot. Other than that it was perfect!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 22, 2016
You can always count on your dress to arrive on time.

This dress runs large in the middle.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 4, 2016
Elegant!

6L for well but there was room at the waist. Loved this dress - so elegant and sophisticated.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
June 6, 2016
Great one shoulder dress

Fits great.

Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 7, 2016
Elegant and comfortable to wear

The dress was very comfortable to wear, it fits right to your body which is perfect and gives a very nice silhouette! The picture does no justice, it is really beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 12, 2016
Simple and elegant

This was my back-up dress and I liked it more than my first choice. I would recommend a strapless bra and spanx for a smooth look. I'm 5'7" and the 4L was almost too short with 4 inch heels. If you're not sure go with a longer length

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 205lbs
June 26, 2016
Life Saver!

This was my 3rd dress after one didn't fit, another the zipper broke then this gem. A little big but comfy! I felt beautiful in it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
July 9, 2016
Dress was pretty but beware of one shoulder

Dress was very pretty and fabric was comfortable. The only downside was that the arm hole for the one shoulder was very tight and by the end of the night it was digging into my skin. I don't have unusually large arms but I couldn't wait to get it off by the time the wedding was over.

Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 11, 2016
AMAZING DRESS

So many compliments. It was so flattering!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
July 22, 2016
Classic and comfortable!

This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding in Chicago. I'm from Oregon and rented the 4 and the 2. The 4 was slightly big and long, the 2 fit well but was too short. Luckily there was a RTR store in Chicago right next to our hotel so I brought in my dresses and they had me try the 4 Petite which fit PERFECTLY! Awesome customer service. I got soooo many compliments the whole night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
August 14, 2016
Overnighted 2cnd dress that was more amazing than my first pick

I'm so glad my first pick didn't fit. This dress is amazing. I wore the 18 but def could've done the 16, which is my true size. I'm 5'1, 220lbs and the length was perfect with 3" heels. The dress is a very flattering heavier material. This dress made a curvier girl look and feel beautiful all night. Thank you RTR!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
October 10, 2016
You want to feel fabulous? Wear this dress!

I loved this dress. I wear size 16/18 jeans so I chose a size 18 dress. I wish I would have gone with a size 16 because the top was a little big. But not so big that it was noticeable. It was very comfy and I felt so skinny! The dress has a lining that makes all your imperfections pretty much disappear (even tho I still wore my spanxx). I was so pleased with RTR, I will order again and again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 23, 2016
Great dress - wrong size

I ended up wearing the size 12R because Rent the Runway was unable to ship the 10R because it was damaged. While they sent a 10P and another dress in similar style, both were too small and opted for the size 12 which fit ok, but was slightly too big in the bust. Received tons of compliments and it was very comfortable! Just wish I could've tried the 10R as I'm sure I would've ended up wearing that one.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2016
Elegant with comfort

Very flattering cut and forgiving in the waist area. Wore to a black tie wedding. Not necessarily a stand out dress but that was good because we didnt know many people there. However, because it is comfortable and hits you in all the right places, you make a statement by wearing with ease. Highly recommend if you are picking a first dress that you are nervous about, this is a great back up. I wore same style in navy last year and knew it was a great go to.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
November 16, 2016
Classy and elegant

This dress was great. I loved it and received so many compliments. It was a little big on me and I probably could've used a smaller size because it was heavier and I kept having to twist the dress slightly so that it'd wear properly.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 19, 2016
Beautiful gown

In my experience with this dress, order early enough to exchange if necessary. It was extremely wrinkled but I had to wear this! Had to have it pressed! Elegant yet sexy! Falls nicely. Keep in mind it was just short of being too big on the side and I'm a 36 bust but a size smaller would have been too small in bodice. Perfect length for me with 3 1/2 inch heels. Received lots of compliments and ended up forwarding lots of RTR referrals and this actual dress. I might actually try to find it to buy it! Love!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2016
Great Dress, maybe a bit big.

I loved this dress that I rented for a formal wedding. Good fabric, thick, but still stretchy. Runs short, and big in my opinion. Wore a 4L (definitely order the L) could have worn the 2 L but they were all out! But I still loved it! Held up to me chasing around my one year old all evening!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
December 5, 2016
Great dress!

Dress fit awesome! I ordered a 4p and 2 p and ended up wearing the 2 p. So comfortable and great fit!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 6, 2016
So many compliments!!

Loved this dress! I'm only 5'3 and I thought it ran pretty short.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 11, 2016
Perfect formal black dress

Stunning dress, super comfortable and not too tight around the midsection. Perfect for a gala.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2017
Fun and versatile

Ran a bit large but I paired with a belt to cinch the waist. It was very comfortable, which was a plus

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
January 14, 2017
New Years Eve + Black tie perfection!

This dress was timeless and very flattering. I loved the simplicity of it and opted for a larger size than usual for added dance floor comfort as it was New Years Eve. I don't usually wear updo's but the structure of this lbd allowed for a more dramatic hairstyle. Overall - loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 255lbs
February 26, 2017
I chose this one!

I ordered 4 dresses in varying sizes. This was my first time using RTR so I wasn't sure what to expect. customer service was amazing! I got my first dress (not this one) on a Friday for a gala on Saturday evening. It arrived early afternoon but did not fit. So, I called customer service and they promptly helped me find 3 more dresses in a range of sizes because I was so unsure after my first pick was so large. Customer services promised I would have them by noon Saturday morning. I was very skeptical. I got a package at 9am! This dress was one of the three alternatives, and the one I ended up wearing to my event. It fit perfectly. I have a midsection and this dress was flattering. I am a 38DD and this dress fit everywhere: my bust, hips, midsection, etc. I almost didn't wear it because we attended a gala and my husband was in a tux, and this dress is NOT floor length (I am 5'8). I did a last minute run to a shoe store and found strappy heals that I could tie up my shin and calf so as to make the length of the dress seem intentional. The dress was dressy enough elsewhere, just wish it had been floor length. Overall I felt great in it, and received a lot of compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 2, 2017
Gala Night

Dress was stunning in photos. Good fit, however a little big up top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2017
Classy Dress!!

Dress is very classy!! Actually went with a smaller size since it runs big! Material is a little heavy but honestly fits great and got a lot of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2017
Stunning dress

Dress runs very large and very very short-I wore the 4L and am not even 5'7

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2017
Classic and elegant

My sister in law was getting married... I wanted to look formal and classic but also understated and this dress nailed it! So many compliments and dress was so comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
May 22, 2017
Beautiful comfortable dress

This dress runs large as everyone has mentioned. I'm a pretty true 6, wore the 4 in this dress but wish I had the 2. Tons of compliments and I didn't want to return it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38F
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2017
Beautiful & Comfortable!!!

The dress was beautiful- received so many compliments. Wore this to a black tie event for my husband's office and I felt beautiful but not like I was the Cinderella of the place (in a good way). I'm a F bust and had plenty of room. I'm also first tri pregnant so based on the size recommendations I ordered a size up and had too much room. I'd definitely order your size and then order up for backup. The dress was also super comfortable!! It had stretch and movement! I loved the dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
18R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
June 18, 2017
Timeless and elegant

I loved this dress. It was very comfortable. It ran a bit shorter than I had expected. I'm just under 6'7" tall and the 18 only worked because it was too big. I think that the 16 fit better but because of how the fabric is cut it was too short whereas the 18 was too big so it hung longer. I also had to tuck my bra in on the side with the zipper since the dress cut lower than my bra but I was able to contain large chest. The 16 did bunch more on the side than the 18. I wore flats with the 18 and it was about 1/2 inch shorter than I would have preferred.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
June 22, 2017
Perfect gown for a black tie evening

I absolutely loved this dress! I know it was the perfect choice when I didn't want to take it off. The one thing to pay attention to is the length you rent if you are curvy. I'm 5'5" and fit into the 16R, but it was too short. I wore the 18WR because of the length (it was actually too big but it worked.). I will rent this again and go with the L sizing.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 7, 2017
Classic

Love this dress, classic with stunning aspects. Wore to a black tie wedding, got tons of complements and was comfortable dancing all night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2017
Great dress for a formal affair

I loved this dress! The fit, color, and cut were great!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 22, 2017
Gorgeous for Black Tie Wedding

Dress was perfect for Black Tie Wedding at the New York Public Library

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 14, 2017
Great black backup dress option

Fits a bit big/loose. Loved the one shoulder detail but it was cutting off my circulation on that arm. I had a little dent near my armpit at the end of the night. Wearing 5inch heels-length was perfect. Zipper was a little wonky and does not lay flat on the fabric like it's suppose to on the dress. Maybe it just needs to be retired as a rental.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×