Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$60 – $80 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
593 reviews
Fit
Large
(182)
True to Size
(327)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 4, 2012
Perfect NYC Engagement Moment!
I wore this dress for my engagement photos and paired the dress with cowboy boots to pay homage to my Texas roots. Dress fit great. I am 5'11" and it was a little short, but nothing I couldn't live with. The fit is amazing!
sweetJanuary 4, 2013
It looks beautiful on you. I wish you a happy ever after:)
sweetJanuary 4, 2013
I know you say its a little short. I am 6'1'' and I am worried it will be too short. What do you think and how high are the heels you wore with it ?
PaigeJanuary 8, 2013
Hi, thanks for the compliment. I am 5'11 and the dress probably hit me a little below the start of my ankle with no shoes. So if you wear heals they would need to be kitten heels I would think.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
October 6, 2012
Nice Dress
Not a flashy dress, but great to wear with some statement earrings or bracelets. Stretchy material makes it very comfortable and received a lot of complements throughout the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 10, 2012
This was a great dress, but I ended up wearing the other option I ordered.
I did try it on. It was true to size and beautiful. I just liked the other dress I ordered better for the particular event I was going to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2012
It really made me feel glamorous- I wore it to an advertising awards party and it was a hit!
It was a little loose around the waist, but ended up being a good length for me with heels (I'm on the shorter side at 5'3." It was different enough from other long dresses that women were wearing to make
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2012
Pretty dress!
I ordered this dress as my back-up dress but did not end up wearing it. The fabric is very heavy and clings... which is fine for anyone has a perfect body! But, I do not. It showed every little imperfection in my stomach and butt. No good! It was pretty, but not the right dress for me. Length was just right on me with short (2") heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
This is a truly black tie-worthy dress that is as comfortable as it is gorgeous.
I thoroughly enjoyed wearing this dress but wish I had ordered it a size smaller (I wore the smaller of the 2 sizes I ordered). I was most surprised by how long it was...I'm 5'8" and intended to wear 3.5" heels, so I ordered the longer length after reading all the other reviews. It trailed on the floor, so I had to make an emergency run to CVS for some hem tape to make it work. That said, I still think it's an amazing dress for a black tie occasion and would highly recommend it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2012
Dress fit so comfortably! Felt Gorgeous!
Dress was so comfortable! My only complaint was the hanger loops, to help hang the dress, kept coming out of the top of the dress...not a huge deal though! I felt so great in this dress! I loved the earrings they sent with my dress! I cannot wait to rent another dress with RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Perfect for a formal, sophisticated event.
I loved this dress; was very special for being "just a black dress." It hit the nail on the head for the conservative, black-tie work event I wore it for... I felt awesome not be be wearing a blah, knee-length black lace dress like every other woman. My husband and I were the youngest people there by about 20 years and this dress felt young and fresh without standing out too much. The 0R was still in good condition for having been rented a lot (based on the current # of reviews). I would definitely rent it again. Also, I have a flat chest and this fit elegantly, didn't gape on the non-strap side. Oh and you'll probably want Spanx or the like! I rarely ever wear Spanx and am quite tiny, but still wanted a little extra help in the stomach-area.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2012
Classy, sophisticated and easy to wear.
I wore this dress to a black tie function with co-workers so I wanted something formal and sophisticated, but safe and professional. This dress proved to be the perfect combination of all of the above. I received a ton of compliments, and the fit was flattering but forgiving, so I felt entirely appropriate around my boss and colleagues. I am 5'4", but with heels around 5'8". I should have probably ordered the 6L, as the 6R was slightly short in the front (in the back the dress is longer and the hem fell right at the floor).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
Stunning and simple - The perfect black dress!
I rented this as a back up and though I didn't end up wearing it (my husband picked) it was gorgeous. It's very simple, and it hides every little extra bit you may have. I ordered a 10R and it was long enough. It was big though. I usually wear an 8 but was unsure this time. I should have gone with my instincts!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
A timeless knockout that will make you stand out in a good way!
The minute I put this dress on, I felt instantly glamorous. This is one of those dresses that you need to try on to see how amazing it is. I was a little unsure based on the pictures, but in person this dress seems to highlight all the positives. The ruffled shoulder helps create the illusion of curves and the fabric has just enough stretch that it drapes beautifully. While a one shouldered, black gown can seem a bit blah and overdone, this dress is anything but. This dress is timeless and elegantly chic. The reason I didn't give this dress 5 stars is because it was very long. I'm not sure if it was meant to have that pooling around the feet look or not. I'm 5'9" and wore 2.5 inch heels so the long should have fit perfectly, but this was easily an inch or so too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2012
Very Pretty Dress! If you have curves and a chest this dress is for you!
This dress runs big. I usually wear a 6 in David Meister and Bagley Mischka but the 6L was way too big on me. Probably need at least a size 4. However my sister who is 6 foot, usually wears a size 12, 36D chest had this dress in a 8L and looked stunning! So for all you girls with a chest and curves this dress is what you need! (Wish I had that because I love this dress.)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
November 9, 2012
Usually you have to compromise between beauty and comfort, but this dress was the best of both!
I was worried the dress would be too long, but in 2.5 inch heels, it just barely touched the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2012
Flattering fit!
This is a great dress! Overall, lots of compliments. However, it does run large. I am ALWAYS a size 6. Sometimes a 6 is even tight through the bust and I have to go to an 8. I had to call to get the size 4R in this dress when my 6 arrieved and was huge. If I wanted a more fitted look, the 2 would probably have fit. The style and fabric are very forgiving. I wore spanx, but didn't have to. Great dress, but order smaller than you think.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Felt like a million bucks for a black tie affair!
Great cut for women who are large on top. Did not feel like I was going to pop out while dancing the night away. Fabric is forgiving and the cut is not fitted through the bodice. Great with 3" heels! Elegant and stunning with a unique one-shoulder ruffle. I ordered a 2 and 4 to be sure and I was super comfy with the 4. Order a size smaller for your second option.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2012
Great Dress!
The dress fit great. I wore it for a wedding. I got tons of complements. It fit perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 14, 2012
The dress was beautiful and I received many compliments throughout the night.
I rented a 4R and 6R. I typically wear a 4, but this 4 was a but baggy in the mid section area. The 6 would have been way too big. I wore the 4R and it looked fine, but I would have preferred if it was a little smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 16, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this
Didn't like how it fit on me and the shoulder design was a little much for me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2012
Very basic black dress
This dress I didn't choose, it just was very plain.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 19, 2012
such a classy dress!!!!!
perfect fit-true to size, i got the regular rather than the petit due to the fact i wore 6in aldo heels, and it was right on!!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
November 21, 2012
I loved this dress! It was absolutely stunning.
I am 5'8" and this dress was not long enough, it barely hit the floor. I used it for evening wear in a pageant and it looked beautiful under the lights. I had to buy a different pair of heels to wear with the dress because I didn't want to wear flats in the pageant, but if it had been 2-3" longer it would have been perfect. I included a picture with a side view so that you can see the length of the dress, I was wearing 2" heels in this picture.
RTR CustomerJanuary 23, 2013
what color accessories did you put with the dress?
RTR CustomerJanuary 24, 2013
Hi! You can really do anything with this dress, but I suggest our Glimmer Of Radiance Earrings by Ciner, they look gorgeous with this dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2012
Hot and regal
Amazing - looked and felt fantastic in this. The shoulder is so fun and can be worn in a couple of different ways, I found. Great fabric - feels expensive and is form fitting without being clingy. Got compliments all night - felt like a million bucks. May rent this in red and blue, too, in the future.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2012
This dress was PERFECT for the formal affair we went to! I had a fabulous first RTR experience!
This dress fit like a glove. I am 5'7, typically wear a size 4 and wore 2.5 in heels and the 4L was perfect! The fabric was so flattering and hit the floor beautifully. It fit slim through the waist and was a little looser through the hips which is perfect. it is so comfortable, even for a long night of dancing! I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone who needs a formal dress!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
I'm hooked on RTR because of this dress!
For my first RTR rental, I chose this dress for a formal benefit and masquerade ball and could not have been happier with my selection and overall experience. It was perfectly tailored to my body in a way that was both comfortable and flattering, which is unusual for me given I have a small waist and fairly large bust (34DD). At 5'7", the regular was a perfect length on me with 3" heels. I highly recommend this gown for any formal occasion as it can be easily accessorized and the ruffled sleeve adds just enough intrigue. Fun and elegant all at once!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 3, 2012
Absolutely loved it!
Wore the dress for a friend's black tie event, and I have never gotten so many compliments on a dress! It fit perfectly, and I felt amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 4, 2012
Head turner!
I needed something elegant for a black tie wedding in NYC and this dress was perfect! It was gorgeous and it made me feel AMAZING. It fit true to size and the 12L was actually a lot longer than I expected (I'm 5'9 and wore 2" heels and it dragged slightly). But it dragged in the most awesome way. I LOVED this dress. My boyfriend kept asking if I had to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
December 6, 2012
The dress fit perfectly and I got so many compliments!
I called RTR one day before my black tie event and they were able to have the dress to me by 2pm the next day. The girl I spoke with was very helpful and I am so grateful to RTR for helping me out so last minute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
A classy, elegant dress!
I wore this dress to a black-tie-optional wedding this weekend. Overall, I was happy with it. The shoulder ruffles add some fun flair to an otherwise classic gown. I wish that I had ordered a 2, because the dress was a bit big (although definitely still workable, so I didn't bother trying to exchange it). Probably because it was a little large, I didn't feel like it was quite as flattering as it could have been--it was especially loose-fitting in the waist. I wore low-ish heels (probably 1.5 to 2 inches) and the dress dragged on the ground a bit, but not too much. In sum, I would advise sizing down for your backup size, but it's a really beautiful, fun dress! I got a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2012
Great dress, but ran big through the chest area and also was too short on me wearing flats!
Great dress, but ran big through the chest area and also was too short on me wearing flats!
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 24, 2012
This dress made me feel like a movie star.
I loved this dress. The 6P was the perfect length for me with 4 inch heels. I got a 6 and an 8 just incase, but luckily the 6 was a little too big! I highly recommend this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
January 2, 2013
So many compliments!
This dress was a dream. I carry my weight in my hips/butt region and this dress skimmed those areas beautifully. I got compliments all night and even considering purchasing the dress to own - it would be a great addition for any last minute black tie events. I wore a 4R, but probably could have gotten away with a 2R.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful, beautiful gown.
I wore the 10L, which was a little short on me. The 10L fit in the body better than the 12L did but the 12L had a better length for me. Ultimately I decided to go with the 10L. The dress is gorgeous, the material is forgiving and I didn't have to worry about wearing Spanx/control top undergarments to smooth me up. I was able to wear regular undergarments and look fine! Loved the dress, would highly recommend for a formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2013
Felt like I stepped off the runway!
Wore this dress 2 months pregnant and it still looked great. Received tons of compliments, perfect for a formal dinner event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 7, 2013
Classic, comfortable, perfect!
This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be back. My husband and I were attending a black tie wedding. I normally wear a 6 or 8 in dresses, and both the 6L and 8L fit pretty well, but the 6 fit just a little better. I'm 5'11'' and wore 3 inch heels agd the length was perfect. Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
January 10, 2013
Amazing dress! A little short
This dress was wonderful. My only problem with it is that even the "long size" was a little short with heels on. Other than that, I would absolutely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
This dress is amazing. I wore it to a friends formal wedding and received numerous compliments!
I usually wear a 6 but the 4 fit better. It was a little snug around my arm but I am broad shouldered. Length was great on me with 3 inch heels. This dress was truly stunning though, I got so many compliments that I wish I owned this classic, gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 20, 2013
Twice that I have rented, I've picked my back dress! I got many compliments from women I did not kno
Since it was the back up dress, I only had one size. I'm tall and taller than my husband as you can see from the picture...thankfully he doesn't care! The dress was VERY comfortable and it looked very elegant and classy. It was loose in the waist but fit my chest with an enhanced strapless bra so I'm not sure if a size 6 would have been too tight or not. I also wonder if the regular length may have been perfect for me to not wear heels but with the Long, I wore 3 inch platforms. The dress has a small train at the back which was very pretty but I did have people stepping on the back a few times. We were at the Detroit Auto Show Charity event and I received MANY compliments from women I did not know (so unsolicited comments) from the dress, my hair and I also rented earrings and bangles, so compliments from head to toe! I would rent this dress again! I'm 5-10.5, about 150 pds..enjoy and thanks again RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 23, 2013
THE DRESS IS MASSIVE. SIZE DOWN TWO SIZES.
I usually wear a 10 or 12 and I literally could have worn a 6. I wish I would have gotten the long size, but also I'm super tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 23, 2013
Spectacular
I wore this dress to a black tie event for the Junior League. It fit beautifully.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 25, 2013
This dress works well with all body types, very flattering.
I decided not to wear this size, the 4L, and went with the 4R instead. I wanted to wear flats that evening and the 4R just hit the floor for me. I'd recommend wearing heels with the 4L for my height.
See more reviews:
2 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×